View Full Version : FAO Scouse

28-02-2020, 01:31 PM
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2020/02/28/no-guarantee-liverpool-would-crowned-premier-league-champions/

28-02-2020, 01:33 PM
Sorry, I hadn't seen the other thread.

28-02-2020, 01:42 PM
You just know Hearts will stay up because of something like Coronavirus, such is there luck.

28-02-2020, 01:46 PM
You just know Hearts will stay up because of something like Coronavirus, such is there luck.

It really wouldn't surprise me in the slightest

28-02-2020, 01:57 PM
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2020/02/28/no-guarantee-liverpool-would-crowned-premier-league-champions/

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/2e/6b/6d/2e6b6d4cd6682b6cf109f378ac42a264.jpg

28-02-2020, 01:58 PM
Desperate stuff from the anti-liverpool brigade

28-02-2020, 02:00 PM

I'm not anti-Liverpool. But it would still be quite funny.

28-02-2020, 02:10 PM

Anti-Liverpool?

HibeeHibernian4
28-02-2020, 02:15 PM
Anti-Liverpool?

As in the middle England lot who harbour an unhealthy amount of hatred for Liverpool as a city and its people, which comes out in the form of ‘banter’ against its biggest football club.

Thatcher tells them jump and they ask how high? A disgusting legacy of a sustained attack on a fantastic socialist city.

28-02-2020, 02:30 PM
As in the middle England lot who harbour an unhealthy amount of hatred for Liverpool as a city and its people, which comes out in the form of ‘banter’ against its biggest football club.

Thatcher tells them jump and they ask how high? A disgusting legacy of a sustained attack on a fantastic socialist city.

Dearie me! It's just folk having a bit of banter.

SingaporeHibs
28-02-2020, 02:34 PM
As strange as situation might be, IF it got to the point that the UK government banned large gatherings of people like Football matches, could the leagues make the decision to complete league matches behind closed doors??
TV cameras are at all the English Premier league games anyway, it wouldn’t be difficult for the government to temporarily amend the rules on broadcasting to allow all games to be available via TV via red button for example. If we got to that stage I’m sure Sky would love nothing more than making a big gesture of allowing everyone free access for the remainder of the season.
Might be harder in Scotland but could be done.
Would be a very strange end to the season watching games in empty stadiums but it would be better to have them completed than just stopping the league and wiping out everything that’s been done.

28-02-2020, 02:42 PM

That's funny. 👍

28-02-2020, 02:50 PM
As strange as situation might be, IF it got to the point that the UK government banned large gatherings of people like Football matches, could the leagues make the decision to complete league matches behind closed doors??
TV cameras are at all the English Premier league games anyway, it wouldn’t be difficult for the government to temporarily amend the rules on broadcasting to allow all games to be available via TV via red button for example. If we got to that stage I’m sure Sky would love nothing more than making a big gesture of allowing everyone free access for the remainder of the season.
Might be harder in Scotland but could be done.
Would be a very strange end to the season watching games in empty stadiums but it would be better to have them completed than just stopping the league and wiping out everything that’s been done.

Inter Milan played a Europa tie last night with no fans present so no reason why it couldn`t happen here.

28-02-2020, 02:51 PM
This coronavirus stuff is hysterical drivel. Papers putting out guff stories like the one in the OP to drive clicks. The headline may as well be 'No guarantee Liverpool would be crowned champions in the event of nuclear holocaust'.

HibeeHibernian4
28-02-2020, 03:03 PM
Dearie me! It's just folk having a bit of banter.

Aye and where does that banter come from? Decades of stereotypes about scousers and managed decline of their city. I completely accept that some people just dislike Liverpool because of football rivalries (although I personally have no interest in English football whatsoever), a lot of it seems to stem from a Middle England dislike of a working class city that votes left.

28-02-2020, 03:13 PM
Aye and where does that banter come from? Decades of stereotypes about scousers and managed decline of their city. I completely accept that some people just dislike Liverpool because of football rivalries (although I personally have no interest in English football whatsoever), a lot of it seems to stem from a Middle England dislike of a working class city that votes left.

I think you’re taking it all a bit too seriously mate, this scouser likes to give it out and can certainly take it back. Most scousers have joined in with the stereo typical branding and revelled in it. Of course people will be laughing at the possibility of Liverpool not lifting the league, however unlikely it is to actually happen I would be pishing myself if it were to happen to one of our rivals 😂

Cataplana
28-02-2020, 03:20 PM

Are there a lot of Middle Englanders on Hibs.net?

28-02-2020, 03:25 PM

I feel you may perhaps be getting your knickers in a twist on this thread over an entirely implausible source. The Scousers are unsurprisingly desperate to end this 30 year wait for a title and with that desperation comes increasing scope for comedy for the rest of us, although I hope it doesn't happen on this occasion as Liverpool have been brilliant this season.

28-02-2020, 03:37 PM

I worked a lot in Liverpool and all over the UK and I never met anyone on the same wavelength as you. Just the same variety of folk (good, bad and in between) as in any big town.You need help (or a couple of brain cells)

28-02-2020, 03:42 PM
This coronavirus stuff is hysterical drivel. Papers putting out guff stories like the one in the OP to drive clicks. The headline may as well be 'No guarantee Liverpool would be crowned champions in the event of nuclear holocaust'.

My thoughts too.
:agree::agree:

28-02-2020, 03:44 PM
Well Hearts caught a cold in 1986 and that cost them the title. :greengrin

28-02-2020, 04:08 PM

Genuine question as I don't understand... why do you keep going on about "middle England" in relation to this thread?

HibeeHibernian4
28-02-2020, 06:22 PM
Genuine question as I don't understand... why do you keep going on about "middle England" in relation to this thread?

It looks like their attitude has drifted over the border and got into the system of the sort of person who has an English team - something I’ve got little time for, speaking frankly.

CloudSquall
28-02-2020, 06:25 PM

If a post could sum up why I can't stand the "more than a club" pretentious pish that Celtic and Liverpool partake in, this would be as close as you can get to it.

28-02-2020, 06:27 PM
I obviously don't want any deaths but I would quite literally pish myself if Liverpool were prevented from winning the league because the season got cut short because of Coronavirus. :faf:

28-02-2020, 06:30 PM
If a post could sum up why I can't stand the "more than a club" pretentious pish that Celtic and Liverpool partake in, this would be as close as you can get to it.

HibeeHibernian4
28-02-2020, 06:33 PM

I don’t like Liverpool Football Club, by the way. Much prefer the blue half of Merseyside.

28-02-2020, 09:27 PM
I don’t like Liverpool Football Club, by the way. Much prefer the blue half of Merseyside.

You're tying youself in knots fella. Thought you said you had no interest in English football whatsoever yet you dont like Liverpool and prefer the blue half of merseyside.:greengrin

28-02-2020, 09:35 PM
You're tying youself in knots fella. Thought you said you had no interest in English football whatsoever yet you dont like Liverpool and prefer the blue half of merseyside.:greengrin

😂😂

28-02-2020, 09:41 PM

Some of it is for sure - our media is a click bait nightmare - but we do have a serious problem here.

28-02-2020, 09:45 PM

You’re being a wee bit paranoid. The English shires are a big problem but most cities in the UK are left wing.

It’s not just Liverpool that gets it in the neck - we are all metropolitan elite as far as they are concerned.

HibeeHibernian4
28-02-2020, 10:26 PM

As in I haven't watched an English Premier League game in about five years, not that I don't have instinctive favourites from my childhood!

29-02-2020, 01:08 AM
It looks like their attitude has drifted over the border and got into the system of the sort of person who has an English team - something I’ve got little time for, speaking frankly.

Post something that makes sense to someone other than yourself.

29-02-2020, 01:16 AM
I obviously don't want any deaths but I would quite literally pish myself if Liverpool were prevented from winning the league because the season got cut short because of Coronavirus. :faf:

With a post like that you should either change your user name or hang your head in shame. We are all entitled to an opinion but your bitterness strays into a perversion.

29-02-2020, 03:36 AM
Well Hearts caught a cold in 1986 and that cost them the title. :greengrinSomeone got the squits.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

29-02-2020, 04:15 AM
With a post like that you should either change your user name or hang your head in shame. We are all entitled to an opinion but your bitterness strays into a perversion.

29-02-2020, 05:17 AM

Don’t be bitter pal 😂

wpj
29-02-2020, 05:21 AM
Don’t be bitter pal 😂

Have you two ever met? This is one of the longest rivalries of all time on .net albeit a very friendly one.

29-02-2020, 05:24 AM
Have you two ever met? This is one of the longest rivalries of all time on .net albeit a very friendly one.

He’s taking me for a pint when Liverpool win the league 😁

wpj
29-02-2020, 05:29 AM

Ouch!that'll hurt him

29-02-2020, 07:14 AM

AltheHibby
29-02-2020, 07:24 AM
Are there a lot of Middle Englanders on Hibs.net?

I'm an accountant in the Midlands with a granny from Berwick. Does that count?

29-02-2020, 07:26 AM

Aw come on, it was some guy having a joke with a mate.