View Full Version : Josh Taylor

northgreen24
25-02-2020, 06:06 PM
Next fight will be announced tomorrow for 2nd May and will be in Scotland according to Frank Warren, always said he wants to fight at Easter Road and with new top rank deal this might be last chance?

25-02-2020, 06:08 PM
Suggestions online that the Hydro is booked already.

northgreen24
25-02-2020, 06:11 PM
That is the likely place just a pitty as unlikely to ever happen ......Shame

25-02-2020, 06:18 PM
There’s still two rounds of League fixtures after that weekend, so it’s not at ER

25-02-2020, 06:22 PM
Josh's recent criminal conviction might harm his ability to travel to and work in America. I've no doubt his promoters will be able to assist him with it but possibly not this quickly which will have helped their decision to keep this fight in the UK.

25-02-2020, 06:38 PM
Josh's recent criminal conviction might harm his ability to travel to and work in America. I've no doubt his promoters will be able to assist him with it but possibly not this quickly which will have helped their decision to keep this fight in the UK.

It won't, worse case scenario he has to go to the consulate in Belfast before being granted a visa.

coldingham hibs
25-02-2020, 06:51 PM
Edinburgh Castle?

25-02-2020, 06:54 PM
Edinburgh Castle?

Not sure it's big enough? Would be amazing though.

25-02-2020, 06:55 PM
It won't, worse case scenario he has to go to the consulate in Belfast before being granted a visa.

Is it that easy to get a visa with a criminal record for the US? Also it's not a standard tourist visa - he'd need a work visa.

MagicSwirlingShip
25-02-2020, 06:58 PM
Edinburgh Castle?

More likely for one of his fights against a bigger name once he moves up to 147lbs. Mikey Garcia & Terence Crawford have both expressed an interest in squaring off against Josh at welterweight in the past week.

Hydro most likely for this mandatory, with the unification against Ramirez most likely to be a US fight

25-02-2020, 07:13 PM
Is it that easy to get a visa with a criminal record for the US? Also it's not a standard tourist visa - he'd need a work visa.

Yeah, there is a specific list, it usually gets relevant in most cases when you've been jailed. It's based on the US judicial system rather than ours. The worst thing you can do is lie on your ESTA. They don't like that.

25-02-2020, 07:40 PM
Edinburgh Castle Concerts have a big announcement at 9am tomorrow morning. Coincidence?

25-02-2020, 07:45 PM
Next fight will be announced tomorrow for 2nd May and will be in Scotland according to Frank Warren, always said he wants to fight at Easter Road and with new top rank deal this might be last chance?

Think it would be great to have a fight at ER but it would undoubtedly wreck the pitch. So I can’t really see it happening unless it was right after the last home game of the season.

25-02-2020, 07:46 PM
Edinburgh Castle Concerts have a big announcement at 9am tomorrow morning. Coincidence?

What is the capacity at the Castle gigs normally?

25-02-2020, 07:48 PM
Would Hibs allow Boxing fans into the Famous Five Lower?

25-02-2020, 07:55 PM
Would Hibs allow Boxing fans into the Famous Five Lower?

Nah, if folk stood up it would kick off.

25-02-2020, 07:55 PM
What is the capacity at the Castle gigs normally?

25-02-2020, 07:56 PM

Roughly 6000 more at the Hydro. That's a hell of a lot of gate receipts difference.

Frank Warren is promoting it, his shows are poor compared to Matchroom.

25-02-2020, 08:18 PM
It’s the Hydro. 2 months too early for the Castle. The stands aren’t finished until July.......and capacity would be way too low. Wrestling event at the Hydro the following night.

25-02-2020, 08:22 PM
Just realised that it's the May weekend and we are away to a caravan.

25-02-2020, 08:25 PM
Roughly 6000 more at the Hydro. That's a hell of a lot of gate receipts difference.

Frank Warren is promoting it, his shows are poor compared to Matchroom.

Seriously, he's done not to bad wi The Gypsy King.

25-02-2020, 08:27 PM
Be a nice change for the seagulls to watch some boxing

25-02-2020, 08:30 PM

He'll be fine.

Amir Khan once tried to enter the US without declaring a conviction (driving related). He had to detour to Canada for a day or 2 then was let in.

Whether a guy going for a 2 week break to Florida who made the same 'mistake' would have been treated similarly is for others to decide.

25-02-2020, 08:36 PM
Nah, if folk stood up it would kick off.

😁

25-02-2020, 08:53 PM
Seriously, he's done not to bad wi The Gypsy King.

I meant his boxing shows, crap stewarding, inflated bar prices etc. Nothing to do with Fury etc.

GoalsMcGinley
25-02-2020, 08:54 PM
It’s at the hydro. Spoke to him last week.

25-02-2020, 09:04 PM
I meant his boxing shows, crap stewarding, inflated bar prices etc. Nothing to do with Fury etc.

👍

25-02-2020, 09:07 PM

Probably. Regular Music do the castle concerts and I’d be surprised if they were promoting a boxing match.

26-02-2020, 02:08 AM
He'll be fine.

Amir Khan once tried to enter the US without declaring a conviction (driving related). He had to detour to Canada for a day or 2 then was let in.

Whether a guy going for a 2 week break to Florida who made the same 'mistake' would have been treated similarly is for others to decide.

Usually if you have a record you will need to provide specific information at an interview at a US embassy or consulate.

As you say Khan got round it by a quick detour and IIRC Joshua has a drug conviction and fought at MSG. I am sure that many football players who have been on tour with DD and other convictions have been allowed.

It does help if you are a famous sports person I suppose!!

26-02-2020, 09:32 AM
This against that Thai fella?

26-02-2020, 10:55 AM
This against that Thai fella?

Yip

26-02-2020, 11:10 AM
He'll be fine.

If his name was Amir Khan and he had the same skin colour as the boxer.. I have my doubts :wink:

26-02-2020, 11:27 AM
If his name was Amir Khan and he had the same skin colour as the boxer.. I have my doubts :wink:

Ryanair wouldn't even let him on the flight.

26-02-2020, 02:16 PM
Yip

What’s his first name

26-02-2020, 02:41 PM
What’s his first name

Khongsong

delbert
27-02-2020, 11:07 AM
Khongsong

Da‘Mour, ratatatatat !!

27-02-2020, 11:16 AM
Da‘Mour, ratatatatat !!

😅😅

02-03-2021, 05:28 PM
Unification fight vs Ramirez confirmed for 22 May. How good would it be had it been able to be held at ER.

02-03-2021, 05:32 PM
Unification fight vs Ramirez confirmed for 22 May. How good would it be had it been able to be held at ER.

Even if full crowds were allowed unfortunately the finances dictate it would always have been held in Vegas.

This is being billed as a 5050 fight but for me it's a considerably easier fight than Josh had against Prograis who is better then Ramirez from what I've seen. Taylor wins by knockout somewhere around 9 or 10 IMO.

If JT does win he will become the first British fighter in history to hold all 4 recognised world titles at the same time (and The Ring Magazine title which in some quarters is regarded as the highest accolade of all the available belts).

02-03-2021, 05:42 PM
Will be huge event but almost certain it will be in the US.

02-03-2021, 05:53 PM
Will be huge event but almost certain it will be in the US.

It's going to be in Vegas according to JT but the exact venue is TBC. That is going on an interview I seen with him on IFL TV earlier today.

MagicSwirlingShip
02-03-2021, 06:29 PM
Plenty big fights on the horizon for JT. One of them will land at ER

02-03-2021, 06:50 PM
Gutted we can’t travel to Vegas for this.

02-03-2021, 07:00 PM
Gutted we can’t travel to Vegas for this.

I think we will be able to by then (I hope). Big win then a huge fight with Catterall in Edinburgh as his homecoming. Cannot wait for it!

02-03-2021, 07:02 PM
I think we will be able to by then (I hope). Big win then a huge fight with Catterall in Edinburgh as his homecoming. Cannot wait for it!

You'll probably be able to travel there but you'll need to quarantine in a hotel coming back. If you've got a spare £1750 to do that then you'll be ok.

02-03-2021, 07:05 PM
You'll probably be able to travel there but you'll need to quarantine in a hotel coming back. If you've got a spare £1750 to do that then you'll be ok.

By the end of may? I highly doubt it with the noises being made over the last week or so, especially today. Narrative around summer holidays is changing every day. All my opinion of course. Plus come back via Ireland and there is no quarantine.

02-03-2021, 07:22 PM
By the end of may? I highly doubt it with the noises being made over the last week or so, especially today. Narrative around summer holidays is changing every day. All my opinion of course. Plus come back via Ireland and there is no quarantine.

Or via England and self isolate at home

03-03-2021, 03:39 PM

Easy, fly to vegas, win big on the tables and that's the quarantine fees sorted!

04-03-2021, 11:34 PM
Easy, fly to vegas, win big on the tables and that's the quarantine fees sorted!

Or just lump on a Taylor win!!

05-03-2021, 09:20 AM
Or just lump on a Taylor win!!

At 4/9 you’d need to pile on.

05-03-2021, 12:06 PM
At 4/9 you’d need pile on.

Probably be cheaper and safer than a few nights in the casino’s 😂

06-03-2021, 07:18 AM
Even if full crowds were allowed unfortunately the finances dictate it would always have been held in Vegas.

This is being billed as a 5050 fight but for me it's a considerably easier fight than Josh had against Prograis who is better then Ramirez from what I've seen. Taylor wins by knockout somewhere around 9 or 10 IMO.

If JT does win he will become the first British fighter in history to hold all 4 recognised world titles at the same time (and The Ring Magazine title which in some quarters is regarded as the highest accolade of all the available belts).

I think I'm right in saying when the like of Ken Buchanan was undisputed champion there only might have been the WBA and WBC.

Without checking I'm sure WBO and IBF came along later.

06-03-2021, 07:31 AM
I think I'm right in saying when the like of Ken Buchanan was undisputed champion there only might have been the WBA and WBC.

Without checking I'm sure WBO and IBF came along later.

2 belts for Buchanan made him undisputed champion. Somebody once wanted to bet me that there was only 1 at that time. He was astonished to find out there had been 2 for several years.

06-03-2021, 07:40 AM
2 belts for Buchanan made him undisputed champion. Somebody once wanted to bet me that there was only 1 at that time. He was astonished to find out there had been 2 for several years.

I'm sounding like a parrot but I really wish there was only one governing body.

Two semis and a final could sort it out if there were four different holders, and other permutations could be sorted out by even less unification fights.

In my idealistic little world there should only be one world champion and for potentially four boxers claiming that is just wrong.

06-03-2021, 07:42 AM

WBA formed 1962
WBC formed 1963
IBF formed 1977 fully recognised 1983
WBO formed 1988 fully recognised 2004

06-03-2021, 07:46 AM

Two semis and a final could sort it out if there were four different holders, and other permutations could be sorted out by even less unification fights.

In my idealistic little world there should only be one world champion and for potentially four boxers claiming that is just wrong.

It would be a far better setup for the fans but perhaps less so for the fighters. Having 4 recognised world titles allows fighters to compete for world titles who otherwise wouldn't and earn the money that such fights can generate.

The UFC is fantastic for the fans as the best always fight the best, they are effectively told who to fight and it they don't they are cut from the roster, but possibly not better for the fighters. The UFC as one company now effectively has a monopoly on mixed martial arts and that's great for viewers but gives the fighters less options as they simply don't have anywhere else to go (atleast not at the same level as UFC) so have little influence negotiating things like pay and who they fight and when.

A single governing body in boxing would likely end up the same. That would not be good for promoters (apart from the ones involved in that setup) managers and fighters which is why it's unlikely to ever happen.

06-03-2021, 08:07 AM
It would be a far better setup for the fans but perhaps less so for the fighters. Having 4 recognised world titles allows fighters to compete for world titles who otherwise wouldn't and earn the money that such fights can generate.

The UFC is fantastic for the fans as the best always fight the best, they are effectively told who to fight and it they don't they are cut from the roster, but possibly not better for the fighters. The UFC as one company now effectively has a monopoly on mixed martial arts and that's great for viewers but gives the fighters less options as they simply don't have anywhere else to go (atleast not at the same level as UFC) so have little influence negotiating things like pay and who they fight and when.

A single governing body in boxing would likely end up the same. That would not be good for promoters (apart from the ones involved in that setup) managers and fighters which is why it's unlikely to ever happen.

What boxing needs is more champions fighting champions. Younger fighters seem to be doing that more and more now. Unification bouts and undisputed champions should become more regular. I also think promoters are realising with the rise in streams and IPTV that PPV needs to be of real high quality to be worthwhile.

06-03-2021, 08:28 AM

The problem with that was it was really difficult for European fighters to get a shot at a title, it was pretty much a closed shop in America.

06-03-2021, 09:52 PM
WTF is Josh on tonight. Gushing about the Huns winning the league on Twitter!

https://twitter.com/joshtaylorboxer/status/1368242654476140544?s=21

06-03-2021, 09:55 PM

Not exactly hard to work out, he’s got huge fights in the next few years to sell. He’s spent years taking the piss out of them and Frampton about it, he’s now getting them onside.

06-03-2021, 09:56 PM
Not exactly hard to work out, he’s got huge fights in the next few years to sell. He’s spent years taking the piss out of them and Frampton about it, he’s now getting them onside.

Whilst alienating everyone else? I watched an interview with him the other day and he was banging on about not wanting to be aligned to one football club when he was asked about fighting at ER. He wants the entire nation behind him. Not sure this is the way to do it.

06-03-2021, 09:58 PM
Whilst alienating everyone else? Not the best move.

Everyone else? If you take the hump at someone saying congrats to a team on Twitter, a team a few of his best pals support then more fool you. Very touchy bunch on here tonight.

BegbieHSC
06-03-2021, 09:59 PM
We’re gonna see a hun love-in from high profile individuals till the end of the season I’m afraid.

Gonna avoid Twitter for the foreseeable - keep my ragin Hibs outbursts for .net.

DarrenSQH
06-03-2021, 09:59 PM
Wanted Hibs fans money on the way up. Parading round ER and its his dream to fight here etc.

Maybe took a few too many blows to the head.

06-03-2021, 10:00 PM
Everyone else? If you take the hump at someone saying congrats to a team on Twitter, a team a few of his best pals support then more fool you. Very touchy bunch on here tonight.

Yes everyone else. I don’t think it’s a huge leap to suggest every other club in Scotland despises the Sticky Buns. Look at the reaction on Twitter. Not many non Huns in support of him. I think it’s a huge mistake.

06-03-2021, 10:02 PM
Yes everyone else. I don’t think it’s a huge leap to suggest every other club in Scotland despises the Sticky Buns. Look at the reaction on Twitter. Not many non Huns in support of him. I think it’s a huge mistake.

We’ll see when he continues to sell out the Hydro and becomes Scotland’s biggest star.

06-03-2021, 10:07 PM
We’ll see when he continues to sell out the Hydro and becomes Scotland’s biggest star.

Mate, I’m a huge boxing fan. Been to more fights in the last 25 years than anyone I know and been to several of Josh’s fight. If there’s any way I can, I’ll be in Vegas in May. You don’t need to sell him to me. Probably why I’m so disappointed by this tonight. I stand by my opinion, he’s made a huge mistake........Oh and he hasn’t sold out the Hydro to date.

06-03-2021, 10:10 PM
Mate, I’m a huge boxing fan. Been to more fights in the last 25 years than anyone I know and been to several of Josh’s fight. If there’s any way I can, I’ll be in Vegas in May. You don’t need to sell him to me. Probably why I’m so disappointed by this tonight. I stand by my opinion, he’s made a huge mistake........Oh and he hasn’t sold out the Hydro to date.

He will easily have net gained fans after that tonight. Majority couldn’t care less other than some touchy Hibs and Celtic fans jumping on the bandwagon - the majority of which won’t have been to a boxing event in their puff. Their insecurities about Rangers are clear to see.

06-03-2021, 10:11 PM
Josh Taylor is a boxer not a football team. He's popular because he's a good, very good in fact not because he supports Hibs, Rangers Melchester Rovers or the Harlem Globetrotters. Maybe thats me with a boxing fan head on but in the real world not everything is green and white. He isnt a piece of Hibs merchandise he's at the top of his game in his field. It shouldnt be about Hibs.

The Baldmans Comb
06-03-2021, 10:14 PM

Someone with no self respect and held in utter contempt by all reasonable thinking people isn't a "star".

Taylor again plays to the lowest common
denominator and knows exactly what he is doing and already has a history that clarifies exactly what he is.

06-03-2021, 10:18 PM
Someone with no self respect and held in utter contempt by all reasonable thinking people isn't a "star".

Taylor again plays to the lowest common
denominator and knows exactly what he is doing and already has a history that clarifies exactly what he is.

I’m sure he’ll be crying himself to sleep tonight because ‘the baldmans comb’ said he wasn’t a star 😂

MagicSwirlingShip
06-03-2021, 10:31 PM
It’s hardly like he’s came out with a Rangers strip on. He’s a sportsman, congratulating a sports team on their success. Take the green & white tinted specs off - it’s is a great achievement they have won the title after starting off again in the bottom league.

Doesn’t make it any easier to swallow, I despise that club more than any other. But I’ve congratulated a few Rangers supporting pals, as they deserve the league - best team in the division. I’d hope they would do the same for me if Hibs were to ever win the league,

06-03-2021, 10:37 PM
It’s hardly like he’s came out with a Rangers strip on. He’s a sportsman, congratulating a sports team on their success. Take the green & white tinted specs off - it’s is a great achievement they have won the title after starting off again in the bottom league.

Doesn’t make it any easier to swallow, I despise that club more than any other. But I’ve congratulated a few Rangers supporting pals, as they deserve the league - best team in the division. I’d hope they would do the same for me if Hibs were to ever win the league,

In a nutshell. The fact he mentioned ‘relegation’ has rattled a number of cages. Weird after all their success recently that Celtic fans are still seriously insecure about their noisy neighbours.

The Baldmans Comb
06-03-2021, 10:40 PM
I’m sure he’ll be crying himself to sleep tonight because ‘the baldmans comb’ said he wasn’t a star 😂

"Crying" more like laughing his heid off as is playing "the dafties" for all they are worth and "the dafties" absolutely lap it up as they also crave that allusive self respect that neither Taylor or his acolytes can ever attain.

yonder1875
07-03-2021, 12:36 AM
Jeez.

And I thought his anti vax pish was bad enough, guys a bit of a roaster.

07-03-2021, 01:47 AM
I was initially a bit ruffled by his praise for the. rangers. But actually, so what. I’ve enjoyed watching a young lad from the Edinburgh area become a huge name in boxing. And he’s clearly that, a Scottish lad with little media training. I believe his best mate is a Rangers fan, and maybe he just wants to support his mate. I’m not gonna stop following his story cos he’s congratulated “them”. He’s a good connection to our club, and he’s a Scotsman that’s close to becoming the undisputed world champion. Gawn yerself JT!!

NC1875
07-03-2021, 07:58 AM
Whilst alienating everyone else? I watched an interview with him the other day and he was banging on about not wanting to be aligned to one football club when he was asked about fighting at ER. He wants the entire nation behind him. Not sure this is the way to do it.

Behave. He’s being a man about the situation and congratulated them on coming back to the top of Scottish football. I don’t know Josh personally but know a good few of his mates and a good number of them are Rangers fans as has been said.

Making a deal out of nothing springs to mind

07-03-2021, 08:16 AM
Jeez.

?

07-03-2021, 08:27 AM
Jeez.

Yup. Follow him on Twitter and he’s come out with some nonsense.

07-03-2021, 08:38 AM

Hardly "gushing". I despise the Sticky Buns but have pals who support them and would say "hats off" to them as a mild way of recognising that they will be deserving winners of the league. In fact I'd go so far as to say it's a way of saying "I don't really respect you but have to accept that on this occasion you have done well."

Chorley Hibee
07-03-2021, 08:50 AM

The second team in a two horse race, with an overspend of nigh on £100 million since their inception, finally win the league.

A club that stiffed the taxpayer and creditors to the tune of millions.

"Great achievement" my arse.

07-03-2021, 08:56 AM
FFS he’s said nothing wrong. He’s congratulated the team that’s won our league. I personally could not care less and it certainly does not not make him any less of a Hibs fan. Some people need to grow up a bit.

07-03-2021, 09:11 AM
Would be incredibly childish and petty to think less of him because of those remarks.
As I possess both of these traits in abundance he can ram it.

07-03-2021, 10:09 AM
FFS he’s said nothing wrong. He’s congratulated the team that’s won our league. I personally could not care less and it certainly does not not make him any less of a Hibs fan. Some people need to grow up a bit.

I think it's his use of the "R" word that has rattled a lot of cages. That was probably an uninformed mistake on his part (which, TBF, he held his hands up to), but it's given the mob justification for pitchforks.

OstKurve Hibs
07-03-2021, 10:20 AM
The second team in a two horse race, with an overspend of nigh on £100 million since their inception, finally win the league.

Spot on ! Dont care what anyone says, you congratulate them then you are congratulating bigotry and all they stand for to go with it.

07-03-2021, 03:57 PM
Would be incredibly childish and petty to think less of him because of those remarks.
As I possess both of these traits in abundance he can ram it.

:agree::agree: No self respecting Hibby would say what he did.

Bridge hibs
07-03-2021, 04:17 PM
FFS he’s said nothing wrong. He’s congratulated the team that’s won our league. I personally could not care less and it certainly does not not make him any less of a Hibs fan. Some people need to grow up a bit.Playing devils advocate here, would you have the same train of thought if there was a thread started on here by a hibs fan congratulating the rangers ? Because although a hibs forum its for other football discussion too

07-03-2021, 04:33 PM
People need to get over it. It’s a sportsman congratulating a team winning the league. Were people raging when St Johnstone were congratulated by people last weekend?

It’s very strange that a large amount of our fan base seem more upset about Rangers winning the league than Celtic fans seem to be.

Bridge hibs
07-03-2021, 04:48 PM
People need to get over it. It’s a sportsman congratulating a team winning the league. Were people raging when St Johnstone were congratulated by people last weekend?

It’s very strange that a large amount of our fan base seem more upset about Rangers winning the league than Celtic fans seem to be.You think hibs fans are more upset than celtic fans, oh yeah, Nurse, we have a broken person 😆

07-03-2021, 04:50 PM
Burn him.

07-03-2021, 04:57 PM

It’s very strange that a large amount of our fan base seem more upset about Rangers winning the league than Celtic fans seem to be.
You aren't even capable of praising Hibs never mind The Rangers.

07-03-2021, 05:20 PM

There appears to be one or two self respecting Hibbies (presumed) jumping to the defence of all things Hun across this forum this weekend my old friend.

07-03-2021, 05:27 PM

green with envy
07-03-2021, 05:35 PM

So true.

08-03-2021, 06:19 AM

If that was genuinely the intention then he forgets the example set by CR Smith and Carling to name but two - if you're going to kiss an Old Firm erse cheek (however unpalatable that concept may be to most of us) you must kiss both cheeks with equal affection to have any net gain.

08-03-2021, 06:23 AM
If that was genuinely the intention then he forgets the example set by CR Smith and Carling to name but two - if you're going to kiss an Old Firm erse cheek (however unpalatable that concept may be to most of us) you must kiss both cheeks with equal affection to have any net gain.

Those who have supported him up until now won’t stop supporting him because of a tweet he put out, chances are those upset by it don’t care about boxing and want their petty old firm point scoring. If he’s gained a few ticket buying supporters from the blue side over it then I’d wager a bet he’s gained out of it. By the time his next fight in Scotland comes around absolutely nobody with any interest in buying tickets or PPV will care less about his tweet.

08-03-2021, 07:16 AM
Those who have supported him up until now won’t stop supporting him because of a tweet he put out, chances are those upset by it don’t care about boxing and want their petty old firm point scoring. If he’s gained a few ticket buying supporters from the blue side over it then I’d wager a bet he’s gained out of it. By the time his next fight in Scotland comes around absolutely nobody with any interest in buying tickets or PPV will care less about his tweet.

I just hope he's no got any Jambo pals. Wonder if he'll congratulate the Hertz when they win the league.

08-03-2021, 07:40 AM
Hardly "gushing". I despise the Sticky Buns but have pals who support them and would say "hats off" to them as a mild way of recognising that they will be deserving winners of the league. In fact I'd go so far as to say it's a way of saying "I don't really respect you but have to accept that on this occasion you have done well."
My hat is staying firmly on my head after yesterday and the The Rangers refusal to do anything to discourage their fans mass gatherings.

Anthony Soprano
08-03-2021, 10:52 AM

Exactly. it's embarrassing that this is only their first major trophy

Anthony Soprano
08-03-2021, 11:03 AM
I'll still watch his fights and want him to do well as a Scotsman, but he does come across on twitter as a bit of a roaster with his anti-lockdown, anti-vaccine pish. And congratulating a team is fine, someone in his position should be neutral to maximise support but for a self-proclaimed Hibs fan calling them the teddy bears and sucking up to them like he has makes me cringe. Screams "Please like me Rangers".

08-03-2021, 12:07 PM
I'll still watch his fights and want him to do well as a Scotsman, but he does come across on twitter as a bit of a roaster with his anti-lockdown, anti-vaccine pish. And congratulating a team is fine, someone in his position should be neutral to maximise support but for a self-proclaimed Hibs fan calling them the teddy bears and sucking up to them like he has makes me cringe. Screams "Please like me Rangers".

Being anti lockdown isn’t pish, it’s a matter of opinion and even the lead scientists in the country have differing views on its effectiveness.

08-03-2021, 12:13 PM
We really are sensitive souls sometimes! I’ve messaged a couple of Rangers mates congratulating them and telling them to enjoy the celebrations, does that make a Rangers sympathiser also?🤔 The same Rangers fans who congratulated me and took it on the chin after 2016, not every Rangers fan is a knuckle dragging bigot.

Anthony Soprano
08-03-2021, 01:51 PM
We really are sensitive souls sometimes! I’ve messaged a couple of Rangers mates congratulating them and telling them to enjoy the celebrations, does that make a Rangers sympathiser also?🤔 The same Rangers fans who congratulated me and took it on the chin after 2016, not every Rangers fan is a knuckle dragging bigot.

No no, of course not. Only the vast majority.

08-03-2021, 02:11 PM

I must confess to texting a Hun pal “ Congratulations on your first top league title , just the three behind us now !
Different club but the same horrible fans .
Josh must have never had the misfortune to sit in the away end at Greyskull and try and watch the game and dodge the coins and cups of piss , thrown by the Orcs .

08-03-2021, 02:40 PM
Being anti lockdown isn’t pish, it’s a matter of opinion and even the lead scientists in the country have differing views on its effectiveness.

Being an anti-vax is a bit moronic though.

08-03-2021, 03:03 PM
Being an anti-vax is a bit moronic though.

Not just moronic but dangerous too, the anti-vax movement is causing real issues in healthcare now and we are getting outbreaks of previously controlled diseases. I watched a post JT had on twitter saying I don't need vaccines because I am young and healthy. He didn't mention that he, like most other in this country, he has gone through all his necessary vaccines as a child. He should travel to poorer countries in the world where measles, mumps, rubella and polio still kill hundreds of thousands kids each year due to the lack of vaccines.

08-03-2021, 03:39 PM
Not sure why anyone would be taking the advice of someone who's job it is to batter folk for a living on the effectiveness of vaccines.

08-03-2021, 03:42 PM
Not sure why anyone would be taking the advice of someone who's job it is to batter folk for a living on the effectiveness of vaccines.

It's natural selection :greengrin

Tobias Funke
08-03-2021, 03:59 PM

I could count on one finger the number of times this numpty has praised the team he supposedly supports. Strange, weird poster.