View Full Version : Post split -top 6 for 3rd and 4th

17-02-2020, 02:52 PM
The run into the split for top six is interesting. The fights for the four places behind the 'cheeks' are going to produce some very tense games. The fight for 3rd and 4th will be hectic. Look at the reamaining league matches for the team's currently in contention.
Us
Livi (h)
Yams (h)
Dons (a)
Saints (h)
Accies (a)
Green cheek (h)

Dons
Staggies (h)
Killie (a)
Us (h)
Well (a)
Livvi (a)
Yams (h)

Livi
Us (a)
Green cheek (h)
Saints (a)
Yams (h)
Dons (h)
Killie (a)

Killie
Green cheek (a)
Dons (h)
Accies (h)
Saints (h)
Well (a)
Livi (h)

Well
Accies (a)
Staggies (h)
Yams (a)
Dons (h)
Killie (h)
Blue cheek (a)

Looks like a bookie-fest to me. Wonder what odds for us 3rd or 4th?

17-02-2020, 03:03 PM
The run into the split for top six is interesting. The fights for the four places behind the 'cheeks' are going to produce some very tense games. The fight for 3rd and 4th will be hectic. Look at the reamaining league matches for the team's currently in contention.
Us
Livi (h)
Yams (h)
Dons (a)
Saints (h)
Accies (a)
Green cheek (h)

Dons
Staggies (h)
Killie (a)
Us (h)
Well (a)
Livvi (h)

Livi
Us (a)
Green cheek (h)
Saints (a)
Yams (h)
Dons (h)
Killie (a)

Killie
Green cheek (a)
Dons (h)
Accies (h)
Saints (h)
Well (a)
Livi (h)

Well
Accies (a)
Staggies (h)
Yams (a)
Dons (h)
Killie (h)
Blue cheek (a)

Think you've missed Hawrts at home for Dons but very interesting. I know there remains lots of opposition to the split but there's going to be some really competitive fixtures coming up.

17-02-2020, 03:03 PM
Think you’ve missed a Dons game. Last post split is v Hearts
All played 27 except Motherwell and St Johnstone
Dons 41 Pts
Motherwell 41pts (game in hand)
Livingston 37pts
Hibernian 36pts
Kilmarnock 32pts
St Johnstone 31pts (game in hand)

I think we’ll need around 8/9 points to at least secure top 6. Shows you just how massive yesterday’s win was for Hibs

17-02-2020, 03:09 PM
Us
Livi (h)
Yams (h)
Dons (a)
Saints (h)
Accies (a)
Green cheek (h)

Dons
Staggies (h)
Killie (a)
Us (h)
Well (a)
Livvi (h)

Livi
Us (a)
Green cheek (h)
Saints (a)
Yams (h)
Dons (h)
Killie (a)

Killie
Green cheek (a)
Dons (h)
Accies (h)
Saints (h)
Well (a)
Livi (h)

Well
Accies (a)
Staggies (h)
Yams (a)
Dons (h)
Killie (h)
Blue cheek (a)

We're 25/1 to finish 3rd with bet365

SonOfDavidFrancey
17-02-2020, 03:10 PM
No one really in top form apart from Celtic above Hibs. Could get interesting indeed if we can hold our run.

17-02-2020, 03:15 PM
Think you’ve missed a Dons game. Last post split is v Hearts
All played 27 except Motherwell and St Johnstone
Dons 41 Pts
Motherwell 41pts (game in hand)
Livingston 37pts
Hibernian 36pts
Kilmarnock 32pts
St Johnstone 31pts (game in hand)

I think we’ll need around 8/9 points to at least secure top 6. Shows you just how massive yesterday’s win was for Hibs

Thanks. Edited.

17-02-2020, 03:16 PM
Going to be interesting and very tight. After that and the split is in play, it could really go either way for those two EL places. I’ve predicted the following:

Us
Livi (h) W
Yams (h) W
Dons (a) D
Saints (h) W
Accies (a) W
Green cheek (h) L
Total - 13 points

Dons
Staggies (h) W
Killie (a) D
Us (h) D
Well (a) L
Livvi (h) D
Yams (h) W
Total - 9 points

Livi
Us (a) - L
Green cheek (h) - L
Saints (a) - D
Yams (h) - W
Dons (h) - D
Killie (a) - D
Total - 6 points

Killie
Green cheek (a) - L
Dons (h) - D
Accies (h) - W
Saints (h) - W
Well (a) - D
Livi (h) - D
Total - 9 points

Well
Accies (a) - W
Staggies (h) - W
Yams (a) - W
Dons (h) - W
Killie (h) - D
Blue cheek (a) - D
Total - 14 points

3rd Motherwell - 55 points
4th Aberdeen - 50 points
5th Hibs - 49 points
6th Livingston - 43 points
7th Kilmarnock - 41 points

17-02-2020, 03:16 PM
Think you've missed Hawrts at home for Dons but very interesting. I know there remains lots of opposition to the split but there's going to be some really competitive fixtures coming up.

Thank. Edited.

17-02-2020, 03:18 PM
Think you’ve missed Dons at home to Hearts, last game post split😄

Fixed now and post edited 👍🏽

foxy
17-02-2020, 03:26 PM
You've also got Dons beating Livi & Livi beating Dons

Hibee Ryan
17-02-2020, 03:26 PM
Going to be interesting and very tight. After that and the split is in play, it could really go either way for those two EL places. I’ve predicted the following:

Us
Livi (h) W
Yams (h) W
Dons (a) D
Saints (h) W
Accies (a) W
Green cheek (h) L
Total - 13 points

Dons
Staggies (h) W
Killie (a) D
Us (h) D
Well (a) L
Livvi (h) W
Yams (h) W
Total - 11 points

Livi
Us (a) - L
Green cheek (h) - L
Saints (a) - D
Yams (h) - W
Dons (h) - W
Killie (a) - D
Total - 8 points

Killie
Green cheek (a) - L
Dons (h) - D
Accies (h) - W
Saints (h) - W
Well (a) - D
Livi (h) - D
Total - 9 points

Well
Accies (a) - W
Staggies (h) - W
Yams (a) - W
Dons (h) - W
Killie (h) - D
Blue cheek (a) - D
Total - 14 points

4th Aberdeen - 52 points
5th Hibs - 49 points
6th Livingston - 45 points

You've got Livi and Aberdeen both winning the same fixture!

But apart from that I really don't see everyone being that consistent. Saints picked up a few points in recent weeks and Hamilton always seem to sneak a couple of vital wins this time of the season. Personally see Well dropping a couple of points in the next couple of games whether that be Accies or Aberdeen I'm not sure! Interesting for sure, but if we can remain consistent and beat the teams we should beat we should be within touching distance of at least 4th by the time the split comes around.

17-02-2020, 03:33 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200217/d1ed9778722ed64d6aa684aaac2f4a43.jpg
Since the shut down Aberdeen and Motherwell have been poor.

17-02-2020, 03:37 PM
Us
Livi (h)
Yams (h)
Dons (a)
Saints (h)
Accies (a)
Green cheek (h)

Dons
Staggies (h)
Killie (a)
Us (h)
Well (a)
Livvi (a)
Yams (h)

Livi
Us (a)
Green cheek (h)
Saints (a)
Yams (h)
Dons (h)
Killie (a)

Killie
Green cheek (a)
Dons (h)
Accies (h)
Saints (h)
Well (a)
Livi (h)

Well
Accies (a)
Staggies (h)
Yams (a)
Dons (h)
Killie (h)
Blue cheek (a)

The dons looked to have the toughest fixture list. As long as we can stay in touch with the dons and well going into the split we have have them both at home after the split if we make the top six.

17-02-2020, 03:43 PM
We're 25/1 to finish 3rd with bet365

£10 on that loses you £10.

Steven79
17-02-2020, 03:52 PM
The dons looked to have the toughest fixture list. As long as we can stay in touch with the dons and well going into the split we have have them both at home after the split if we make the top six.

I suspect that we will have another trip to Aberdeen after the split depending on who makes the top six.

Last season we had 3 home games against them so they should have sorted out this.

17-02-2020, 03:55 PM

Us
Livi (h) W
Yams (h) W
Dons (a) D
Saints (h) W
Accies (a) W
Green cheek (h) L
Total - 13 points

Dons
Staggies (h) W
Killie (a) D
Us (h) D
Well (a) L
Livvi (h) W
Yams (h) W
Total - 11 points

Livi
Us (a) - L
Green cheek (h) - L
Saints (a) - D
Yams (h) - W
Dons (h) - W
Killie (a) - D
Total - 8 points

Killie
Green cheek (a) - L
Dons (h) - D
Accies (h) - W
Saints (h) - W
Well (a) - D
Livi (h) - D
Total - 9 points

Well
Accies (a) - W
Staggies (h) - W
Yams (a) - W
Dons (h) - W
Killie (h) - D
Blue cheek (a) - D
Total - 14 points

4th Aberdeen - 52 points
5th Hibs - 49 points

Way over estimated Well and maybe under estimated the Sheep.

Aberdeen clear third we are fighting for 4th imho of course :greengrin

17-02-2020, 03:59 PM

Us
Livi (h) W
Yams (h) W
Dons (a) D
Saints (h) W
Accies (a) W
Green cheek (h) L
Total - 13 points

Dons
Staggies (h) W
Killie (a) D
Us (h) D
Well (a) L
Livvi (h) W
Yams (h) W
Total - 11 points

Livi
Us (a) - L
Green cheek (h) - L
Saints (a) - D
Yams (h) - W
Dons (h) - W
Killie (a) - D
Total - 8 points

Killie
Green cheek (a) - L
Dons (h) - D
Accies (h) - W
Saints (h) - W
Well (a) - D
Livi (h) - D
Total - 9 points

Well
Accies (a) - W
Staggies (h) - W
Yams (a) - W
Dons (h) - W
Killie (h) - D
Blue cheek (a) - D
Total - 14 points

4th Aberdeen - 52 points
5th Hibs - 49 points

This looks about right except for Motherwell - I think they will begin to falter and would be surprised if they take 10+ points from those games.

Should be an exciting set of fixtures post split with a few clubs vying for Europe.

17-02-2020, 04:00 PM
This looks about right except for Motherwell - I think they will begin to falter and would be surprised if they take 10+ points from those games.

Should be an exciting set of fixtures post split with a few clubs vying for Europe.

I agree, Motherwell sold one of their best players during the window and appear to be struggling for form since.

17-02-2020, 04:00 PM
I suspect that we will have another trip to Aberdeen after the split depending on who makes the top six.

Last season we had 3 home games against them so they should have sorted out this.

That could be a possibility, but depending who else makes Top 6 Livvi or Killie with Hibs
Think we’re only due 2 at home post split, which if it’s Livvi instead of Killie, based on who we’ve played home or away so far
Celtic Away
Rangers Home
Aberdeen Home
Motherwell Home
Livvi Away

It it’s Killie instead of Livvi
Celtic Away
Rangers Home
Aberdeen Home
Motherwell Home
Killie Home

I’ll leave it to the SPFL to sort that out

cam75
17-02-2020, 04:12 PM
I’m thinking after we beat Aberdeen we will be 1point behind and after the next game we will be 2 in front 🤞

17-02-2020, 05:28 PM
Seemingly if Top 6 stays as it is, Celtic would be due 5 home games, based on who they’ve played home and away pre split

17-02-2020, 05:32 PM
Us
Livi (h)
Yams (h)
Dons (a)
Saints (h)
Accies (a)
Green cheek (h)

Dons
Staggies (h)
Killie (a)
Us (h)
Well (a)
Livvi (a)
Yams (h)

Livi
Us (a)
Green cheek (h)
Saints (a)
Yams (h)
Dons (h)
Killie (a)

Killie
Green cheek (a)
Dons (h)
Accies (h)
Saints (h)
Well (a)
Livi (h)

Well
Accies (a)
Staggies (h)
Yams (a)
Dons (h)
Killie (h)
Blue cheek (a)

These are PRE split fixtures not Post.... Maybe need a wee edit on the thread title?

17-02-2020, 05:33 PM
The old adage about one game at a time really applies here.

17-02-2020, 06:38 PM
Wouldn`t rule St Johnstone out of top 6 yet . They have a game in hand .

17-02-2020, 06:58 PM
These are PRE split fixtures not Post.... Maybe need a wee edit on the thread title?

Last time I start a thread - already edited it twice. :greengrin Journalism not for me then.

17-02-2020, 06:58 PM
Seemingly if Top 6 stays as it is, Celtic would be due 5 home games, based on who they’ve played home and away pre split

Yeah they would.

17-02-2020, 09:09 PM
Us
Livi (h)
Yams (h)
Dons (a)
Saints (h)
Accies (a)
Green cheek (h)

Dons
Staggies (h)
Killie (a)
Us (h)
Well (a)
Livvi (a)
Yams (h)

Livi
Us (a)
Green cheek (h)
Saints (a)
Yams (h)
Dons (h)
Killie (a)

Killie
Green cheek (a)
Dons (h)
Accies (h)
Saints (h)
Well (a)
Livi (h)

Well
Accies (a)
Staggies (h)
Yams (a)
Dons (h)
Killie (h)
Blue cheek (a)

Motherwell also have St Mirren at home, which was postponed on Saturday.

17-02-2020, 09:26 PM
Wouldn`t rule St Johnstone out of top 6 yet . They have a game in hand .

Think that is against Rangers though.

18-02-2020, 01:42 AM
Aberdeen probably have the toughest run in going into the split. Hopefully we can close the gap even further in that time. Avoiding defeat there will be important.

18-02-2020, 07:48 AM
The wife just messaged me asking what the two Thursdays in June are for those possible games abroad so she can put holiday sheets in.

We're on our way lads, pity she is coming but we are on our way nonetheless.

Edit-realise that it is July, she can go the week before.

murray26
18-02-2020, 07:53 AM
First and foremost 3 points and Saturday is a absolute must if we’re going to mount any kind of a challenge.

18-02-2020, 07:54 AM
Current form table for reference

1 Celtic FC Celtic Scottish Champion 18/19Scottish cup winner 18/19 6 6 0 0 21:3 18 18 W W W W W W
2 Livingston FC Livingston FC 6 4 0 2 8:6 2 12 W W W L W L
3 Hibernian FC Hibernian FC 6 3 2 1 10:6 4 11 W D D L W W
4 St. Johnstone FC St. Johnstone 6 3 2 1 9:7 2 11 L W D W W D
5 Rangers FC Rangers 6 3 1 2 6:5 1 10 W L D W L W
6 Kilmarnock FC Kilmarnock FC 6 3 0 3 11:11 0 9 L L W W W L
7 Heart of Midlothian FC Heart of Midl. 6 1 3 2 9:14 -5 6 D W D L L D
8 Aberdeen FC Aberdeen FC 6 1 2 3 4:5 -1 5 L D D L W L
9 Ross County FC Ross County 6 1 2 3 4:10 -6 5 D L L W L D
10 Motherwell FC Motherwell FC 5 1 1 3 2:7 -5 4 W D L L L
11 St. Mirren FC St. Mirren 5 0 3 2 4:6 -2 3 L D D D L
12 Hamilton Academical FC Hamilton Acad. 6 0 2 4 8:16 -8 2 L L L D L D

18-02-2020, 07:58 AM
Read in bbc gossip column this morning that if the top 6 remains as is at the split Celtc will be due 5 home games! That’ll be an interesting one to sort out!

18-02-2020, 07:58 AM
Read in bbc gossip column this morning that if the top 6 remains as is at the split Celtc will be due 5 home games! That’ll be an interesting one to sort out!

Bet you they won’t send them to Ibrox 3 times

18-02-2020, 08:02 AM
The run in for the top 6 is massive, a couple of games could change the outlook massively.

A good or poor run could see us 3/4th or 7/8th.

Hopefully with the players we have now and new formation we really pick up results. Add to that hopefully Mallan returns soon and gives us another good option Behind the striker, his goals and assists could play a massive part.

18-02-2020, 08:04 AM

Aye of course but whatever way the SPFL deal with it, they will have major issues and complaints from many quarters, should be interesting to watch. 😃

18-02-2020, 08:33 AM
IMO, finishing 5th or 6th wouldn't be a disaster, given where we were when Hecky left, but qualifying for Europe would be great.

Let's just keep aiming to overtake the team above us and see where it gets us.

18-02-2020, 08:36 AM

IMO, finishing 5th or 6th wouldn't be a disaster, given where we were when Hecky left, but qualifying for Europe would be great.We might just have to win the cup instead

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

18-02-2020, 08:38 AM
We might just have to win the cup instead

I'd be reasonably happy with that.

😉

18-02-2020, 08:45 AM
I see us going into the split in the top 6, 5 points of 4th place. So it will be all to play for and hope if we don’t win the cup the bigots do.

18-02-2020, 09:02 AM

Why would they? Their due 5 home games.

18-02-2020, 09:06 AM
Aberdeen probably have the toughest run in going into the split. Hopefully we can close the gap even further in that time. Avoiding defeat there will be important.

It's marginal I think. Livi away will be tough but then they don't play either of the Old Firm. Still, if we can win our own games it could be close.

hibsboy07
18-02-2020, 09:32 AM

Does that mean rangers should have 5 away games ??

DTS
18-02-2020, 10:02 AM
I’ve taken us to finish 3rd 25/1 with bet365 mainly because the value in it. But I also have some reasoning, if we’re within striking distance going into the split for me we’re faves as we have dons and Motherwell at home both who have been comfortably tucked away already this season. Neither would have the “benefit” of a home game against either OF that we wouldn’t both due rangers home and Celtic away so would expect all 3 to take a max of 1/6 from they two

18-02-2020, 10:34 AM

They're not due 5 home games, that would mean they played a few more games at home than away.

Probably 21 at home and 17 away, that won't be allowed to happen.

18-02-2020, 10:41 AM
They're not due 5 home games, that would mean they played a few more games at home than away.

Probably 21 at home and 17 away, that won't be allowed to happen.

I was under the impression that if the top 6 stayed the same they would be due 5 home games.

18-02-2020, 10:56 AM
The run in for the top 6 is massive, a couple of games could change the outlook massively.

A good or poor run could see us 3/4th or 7/8th.

Hopefully with the players we have now and new formation we really pick up results. Add to that hopefully Mallan returns soon and gives us another good option Behind the striker, his goals and assists could play a massive part.

We’ve got enough of a cushion that it’ll be 6th at worst for us now IMO, even if we do drop some points between now and the split, which we will.

In terms of challenging for Europe the next two are must win.

Aberdeen and Motherwell play each other prior to the split as well so something obviously needs to give that weekend and we need to take advantage.

18-02-2020, 11:09 AM
I think IF Celtic are due the 5 home games and that if they are gonna have to play 2 teams away for a third time, we will be one of them. They'll get huns, Aberdeen and Motherwell at home. Us and livi away, which should actually be a massive help to us. Especially if say we got them last game of season and they've already won the league.

18-02-2020, 11:14 AM
Current form table for reference

1 Celtic FC Celtic Scottish Champion 18/19Scottish cup winner 18/19 6 6 0 0 21:3 18 18 W W W W W W
2 Livingston FC Livingston FC 6 4 0 2 8:6 2 12 W W W L W L
3 Hibernian FC Hibernian FC 6 3 2 1 10:6 4 11 W D D L W W
4 St. Johnstone FC St. Johnstone 6 3 2 1 9:7 2 11 L W D W W D
5 Rangers FC Rangers 6 3 1 2 6:5 1 10 W L D W L W
6 Kilmarnock FC Kilmarnock FC 6 3 0 3 11:11 0 9 L L W W W L
7 Heart of Midlothian FC Heart of Midl. 6 1 3 2 9:14 -5 6 D W D L L D
8 Aberdeen FC Aberdeen FC 6 1 2 3 4:5 -1 5 L D D L W L
9 Ross County FC Ross County 6 1 2 3 4:10 -6 5 D L L W L D
10 Motherwell FC Motherwell FC 5 1 1 3 2:7 -5 4 W D L L L
11 St. Mirren FC St. Mirren 5 0 3 2 4:6 -2 3 L D D D L
12 Hamilton Academical FC Hamilton Acad. 6 0 2 4 8:16 -8 2 L L L D L D

Wow!

For a moment there I thought I was in the Matrix.

18-02-2020, 11:17 AM
IMO, finishing 5th or 6th wouldn't be a disaster, given where we were when Hecky left, but qualifying for Europe would be great.

I agree.

Top 6, with hearts bottom 6 is the main thing.

Anything else would be a bonus. A very welcome one, but a bonus nonetheless.

18-02-2020, 11:21 AM
Wow!

For a moment there I thought I was in the Matrix.Copy and paste job, sorry!

18-02-2020, 11:23 AM
Wow!

For a moment there I thought I was in the Matrix.

How can you be sure you're not?

18-02-2020, 12:01 PM
I’ve taken us to finish 3rd 25/1 with bet365 mainly because the value in it. But I also have some reasoning, if we’re within striking distance going into the split for me we’re faves as we have dons and Motherwell at home both who have been comfortably tucked away already this season. Neither would have the “benefit” of a home game against either OF that we wouldn’t both due rangers home and Celtic away so would expect all 3 to take a max of 1/6 from they two

For whatever reason we always end up playing Celtic in the split when the titles still up for grabs.

Playing them after they have won it is also a Huge advantage.

Sheep_Nae_Mair
18-02-2020, 03:10 PM
Us
Livi (h)
Yams (h)
Dons (a)
Saints (h)
Accies (a)
Green cheek (h)

Dons
Staggies (h)
Killie (a)
Us (h)
Well (a)
Livvi (a)
Yams (h)

Livi
Us (a)
Green cheek (h)
Saints (a)
Yams (h)
Dons (h)
Killie (a)

Killie
Green cheek (a)
Dons (h)
Accies (h)
Saints (h)
Well (a)
Livi (h)

Well
Accies (a)
Staggies (h)
Yams (a)
Dons (h)
Killie (h)
Blue cheek (a)

Saints are only 1 point behind Killie with a game in hand.

If you use a simple formula - home game against team currently below - 3 pts, ditto, v. currently above - 1 pt. Away game against team currently below - 1 pt, ditto currently above - 0 pts, you get:-

Us 36 + 9 = 45
Livi 37 + 8 = 45
Well 41 + 9 = 50
Dons 41 + 12 = 53
Killie 32 + 9 = 41
Saints 31 + 7 = 38

Of course there's no way it'll work out like that but it's a rough guide taking into account the strength of opposition and whether games are home or away.

18-02-2020, 03:44 PM

Title race over before split. Send them to Ibrox.

18-02-2020, 03:46 PM

They will not get 5 games. 3 at most

18-02-2020, 03:57 PM
They will not get 5 games. 3 at most

I know.

I think IF Celtic are due the 5 home games and that if they are gonna have to play 2 teams away for a third time, we will be one of them. They'll get huns, Aberdeen and Motherwell at home. Us and livi away, which should actually be a massive help to us. Especially if say we got them last game of season and they've already won the league.

18-02-2020, 04:09 PM
Title race over before split. Send them to Ibrox.

For a guard of honour

18-02-2020, 04:10 PM
For a guard of honour

😁😁😁