View Full Version : Jack Ross.

Torto7
16-02-2020, 06:24 PM
Given the winter break was probably the first real length of training JR has had with the players and the form since we returned. I think its safe to say we have a goodun here.

Add in his willingness to alter formations his use of the players and the attacking style. How ***** must it be to be a Jambo just now.:jamboak:

1 8 7 5
16-02-2020, 06:25 PM
I like him.

I like him a lot.

Torto7
16-02-2020, 06:27 PM
I like him.

I like him a lot.

Me too. He's like a summers morning compared to the stormy Lennon or the pish dour Grey rain of PH.

16-02-2020, 06:28 PM
Tonight was a good example of good game management. Slivka off for Omeonga who specialises in winning second balls. Allan off for Horgan who was full of energy when Killie were throwing everything at us. Thought he got it spot on again. It's nice being able to trust a manager again.

16-02-2020, 06:30 PM
****ger 👍

Torto7
16-02-2020, 06:32 PM
Tonight was a good example of good game management. Slivka off for Omeonga who specialises in winning second balls. Allan off for Horgan who was full of energy when Killie were throwing everything at us. Thought he got it spot on again. It's nice being able to trust a manager again.

Yeah trust I think is the key word. If we trust him then it will all filter through to the atmosphere as a whole. We're starting to build some momentum now. Easter Road will be rocking for the Livvy game.

16-02-2020, 06:32 PM

He makes excellent use of his subs almost every week...not afraid to change things

16-02-2020, 06:33 PM
How SH*T was Paul Honkinbottom!! Ross is like a breath of fresh air

16-02-2020, 06:34 PM
He’s come into his own recently. We improved when he came in, we still weren’t great, but we’ve really kicked on since the break.

007 Mickey Weir
16-02-2020, 06:35 PM

Yup how I saw it. Well done JR

16-02-2020, 06:41 PM
But but they interviewed him and didn’t want him 😂😂😂

16-02-2020, 06:45 PM

But but a team managed by their manager once finished above a team managed by our manager so they're the big team and Daniel Stendel is really ace and if you are one of his friends and friends he might let you play with his Scalextrix.

16-02-2020, 06:47 PM
But but a team managed by their manager once finished above a team managed by our manager so they're the big team and Daniel Stendel is really ace and if you are one of his friends and friends he might let you play with his Scalextrix.

They'll need to organise that open top bus for Barnsley finishing above Sunderland

16-02-2020, 06:47 PM
Get him on a longer contract. This guy is taking us places.

16-02-2020, 06:49 PM

Much better to go for a German that hadn’t heard of them, who took a lot of convincing and a £12k a week wage packet

horseflesh
16-02-2020, 06:49 PM
Me too. He's like a summers morning compared to the stormy Lennon or the pish dour Grey rain of PH.

Is it wrong that I still miss Lennon?
Loved nearly every minute he was our manager, never settled for anything less than every ounce our players could give and sometimes that wasn’t enough. Will be a happy camper if Jack can do what Lennon did for us - never been many times in my lifetime when I truly believed we would beat the old firm home or away every time

16-02-2020, 06:51 PM
When he took charge we were 1 point ahead of Hearts.

Torto7
16-02-2020, 06:52 PM
Loved nearly every minute he was our manager, never settled for anything less than every ounce our players could give and sometimes that wasn’t enough. Will be a happy camper if Jack can do what Lennon did for us - never been many times in my lifetime when I truly believed we would beat the old firm home or away every time

No its not wrong. I loved winning under Lennon. It was the other times I didn't like. Hibs are always going to have rough patches of form. Lennon couldn't handle that.

16-02-2020, 06:58 PM
On the day Craig Levein was sacked I was having a bit of a mental tantrum because I thought that them getting rid of him before we got rid of Heckingbottom would allow them to steal a march on us and go for Ross. Luckily for us they are useless and we sacked Heckingbottom a week later and moved quickly to get him.

Torto7
16-02-2020, 07:06 PM
[QUOTE=Ozyhibby;6087290]On the day Craig Levein was sacked I was having a bit of a mental tantrum because I thought that them getting rid of him before we got rid of Heckingbottom would allow them to steal a march on us and go for Ross. Luckily for us they are useless and we sacked Heckingbottom a week later and moved quickly to get him.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE

Pretty much. Hilarious from our point of view. Have Hearts got anything right in the last few years? Mismanagement on a colossal scale.:thumbsup:

Tug Wilson
16-02-2020, 07:11 PM
Fascinating how things can change so quickly.

Of our summer signings, Doidge, Newell and Jackson are now proving to be excellent additions.

In Doidge and McNulty we now have a strike force that really compliments each other.

And with the energy of Docherty and Omeonga added this has freed Scott Allan to be the playmaker we need.

Suddenly, or reasonably suddenly, Jack Ross has reinvented and reinvigorated Hibs.

He has given us all a glimpse of what might be. The future could be bright. Still work to be done, especially getting Docherty, McNulty and Omeonga permanently.

What an improvement in such a short space of time.

Percy Vere
16-02-2020, 07:41 PM
He’s come into his own recently. We improved when he came in, we still weren’t great, but we’ve really kicked on since the break.

Signed a few decent players tho. Credit where credits due.

16-02-2020, 07:43 PM

16-02-2020, 07:45 PM
The longer he is here the better we will get. This is just the beginning.

hibbydog
16-02-2020, 08:10 PM
When Hibs and Hearts sacked their managers within a week of each other, both were down the bottom end of the league.

Hibs acted swiftly and got in someone who knows the Scottish game and are now pushing for Europe.

Hearts dithered and eventually appointed a buffoon who doesn’t know the league, and they’re rock bottom of the league.

Mucking fagic

16-02-2020, 08:17 PM
He is doing a great job but I can't help but think the biggest change, initially at least, is that Boyle is back. The standard excellent winter window has improved us further. Players who heck signed liked Newell, Doidge and Jackson are now some of our most important players. No doubt Jack is doing a great job but there is no way of knowing what would have happened to all those draws Heck got if you add Boyler to the equation

16-02-2020, 08:18 PM
When Hibs and Hearts sacked their managers within a week of each other, both were down the bottom end of the league.

Hibs acted swiftly and got in someone who knows the Scottish game and are now pushing for Europe.

Hearts dithered and eventually appointed a buffoon who doesn’t know the league, and they’re rock bottom of the league.

Mucking fagic

Hibs got the best young up and coming manager in the Scottish game.

16-02-2020, 08:24 PM
Really delighted we got him.

Everything about him is spot on so far, he came into a tough job and recognised what the supporters want and implemented it instantly with attacking play.

He is very adaptable and changes personnel and shape when he’s not happy and the majority of the time it’s worked very well for us.

Really looking forward to seeing us under Ross with a pre season and new signings, think he will make us a force.

16-02-2020, 08:25 PM

They lost out on Derek Adams and Jack Ross which both would, IMO, have been good signings for them. Although unexciting they'd have been able to get a tune out of that team and finished 7th or 8th. Given a couple of transfer windows then they could have built a reasonable team challenging for top six consistently.

Stendel was the first mistake. He never looked as if he wanted to join Hearts and they'd have been far better IMO looking for a boring but safe choice. Not quite a Neil McCann, but a Stuart McCall would have been a good bet. Someone who knows the league, knows the players and knows the club.

One thing they did right was clearing out the deadwood but they shouldn't have gotten rid of Berra. A leader in the dressing room who knows and gets Hearts and even if just on the bench, their presence in the team lets new recruits know what it's about. He's our equivalent of Darren McGregor (but not quite as good).

After that, their new recruits are by and large terrible. Boyce, fair enough. Would have him here as well. Avdjaj, a poor signing on a short term deal with a poor attitude it would seem. Langer looks like another Levein signing that plays twice and you never see him again. Neither know the league, neither know Hearts. You need people who will break their bodies for the club and that only comes from people who know and live the club.

They have a team of not good enough merceneries playing a style of football that they can't play by a manager who doesn't know anything else.

They're where they are because of a series of mistakes from top to bottom that can't be rectified quickly.

16-02-2020, 08:25 PM
He’s the real deal imo.

Obviously form, transfer business, luck, fine margins and a host of other factors come into play, but I feel very confident that JR is a good fit for us and can achieve great things.

16-02-2020, 08:27 PM
Hibs got the best young up and coming manager in the Scottish game.

The best old one too.

16-02-2020, 08:29 PM
https://youtu.be/kjcuO1GTeeg

16-02-2020, 08:52 PM
I'm delighted that Ross is the boss.

He has totally lived up to his billing so far as one of the hottest managerial prospects in Scottish football. It's a hard to put a finger on the difference but Ross has managed to "get a tune" out of the whole team and particularly the likes of Doidge and Newall in a way that seemed to completely elude Heckingbottom. I suppose one of the obvious differences is a tactical flexibility which just seemed to be beyond Heck. But an individual thing which I have taken to is his tendency to do it all with a smile on his face. Every manager is different and that's something I've noted about Ross - his comments have been measured and intelligent but always delivered with a sense of relaxed assuredness and that smile on his face which suggests that, regardless of all the pressures, he is genuinely in a happy place. I choose to believe that comes from an appreciation of doing the job he loves doing at what he recognises to be a fantastic footballing institution like Hibs. That's exactly the attitude we need - allied to genuine managerial-coaching talent and I think we are getting that from Jack Ross. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

16-02-2020, 08:53 PM
He is doing a great job but I can't help but think the biggest change, initially at least, is that Boyle is back. The standard excellent winter window has improved us further. Players who heck signed liked Newell, Doidge and Jackson are now some of our most important players. No doubt Jack is doing a great job but there is no way of knowing what would have happened to all those draws Heck got if you add Boyler to the equation

Boyle is a factor but Hecky was hopeless...stubborn with his formations and couldnt get the best out of players he signed. We are well rid

Hibs4185
16-02-2020, 08:58 PM
Boyle is a factor but Hecky was hopeless...stubborn with his formations and couldnt get the best out of players he signed. We are well rid

1 up top and his refusal to change was Hecky’s downfall. Eddie may fixed it within a couple of days of him leaving and we haven’t looked back since.

I’m a firm believer that hibs should always play 2 upfront and attacking apart from the odd occasion.

16-02-2020, 08:58 PM
Ross has got the best out of the players, and is tactically astute. Knows when to gamble and when to collect. He's shaping the side slowly how he wants it. He's saved a season, which, let's face it, was at best writing off and at worst heading for an ugly relegation battle. Now interest is high and we have an outside shot at some glory.

TelaStella
16-02-2020, 09:05 PM
Aye but Stendal’s Barnsley finished above him. In all seriousness the good times really do feel like they’re on their way back, cheers to Jack Ross.

16-02-2020, 09:05 PM
I feel myself in every interview calling him Jack ‘in the main’ Ross says it every time 😂 reminds me of my mar when he used to say ‘d’you know’ in his after match 😂

Doing a great job deserves loads of credit seems a top bloke aswell

16-02-2020, 09:09 PM
Fascinating how things can change so quickly.

Of our summer signings, Doidge, Newell and Jackson are now proving to be excellent additions.

In Doidge and McNulty we now have a strike force that really compliments each other.

And with the energy of Docherty and Omeonga added this has freed Scott Allan to be the playmaker we need.

Suddenly, or reasonably suddenly, Jack Ross has reinvented and reinvigorated Hibs.

He has given us all a glimpse of what might be. The future could be bright. Still work to be done, especially getting Docherty, McNulty and Omeonga permanently.

What an improvement in such a short space of time.

Absolutely correct. The thing is though, in early season for me Jackson was the only one of Heck's signings that looked decent. He was then out of the team through injury and Porteous and McGregor coming back in the frame. Boy has he come storming back. A rock in defence and 2 goals in 2 games. Well done big man, you'll be a permanent fixture in the team if you keep this level of form up.

16-02-2020, 09:43 PM

I felt the same until we appointed Ross.

He’s the ideal man to take us forward and is already going some way to building the feelgood factor we had when Lennon was here.

Really like the way he speaks about the game and he gets us. It comes across in every interview. Hope he’s here a long time.

16-02-2020, 09:52 PM
Absolutely correct. The thing is though, in early season for me Jackson was the only one of Heck's signings that looked decent. He was then out of the team through injury and Porteous and McGregor coming back in the frame. Boy has he come storming back. A rock in defence and 2 goals in 2 games. Well done big man, you'll be a permanent fixture in the team if you keep this level of form up.

I think JR will be our Derek McInnes, consistent and will have us challenging for Europe but hopeless against the old firm.

16-02-2020, 10:44 PM
I think JR will be our Derek McInnes, consistent and will have us challenging for Europe but hopeless against the old firm.

This, but with more attractive football than Aberdeen. Knows when to hold ‘em, knows when to fold ‘em - we will get points from game management alone but won’t be on the same level as the top two due to their spending.

16-02-2020, 10:49 PM
The best old one too.

Perfect balance 👍

16-02-2020, 11:06 PM
Jack Ross seems a great fit for Hibs. When he came in he said he was here for the long term. I certain hope so. I think the club could really go places under his guidance. The man is class.

17-02-2020, 06:10 AM
He was my choice before we'd even fired Hecky. Doing a good job so far. The fact we're even talking about Europe says it all really. Only slight negative is he hasn't really got to grips with the OF yet but he's learning and I'm sure he'll crack it next season

17-02-2020, 07:42 AM
I think Hearts sacking (kind of) Levein and Ross becoming available prompted Hibs to releive Hecky of his duties. It was too good an opportunity to miss. Apparently Ross is who Ron Gordon wanted straight away.

I've got to admit I was on the fence with it but my worries were gone after a couple of games and listening to to him. Very much a McInnes going to Aberdeen type situation.

17-02-2020, 07:54 AM
I wasn’t excited about the prospect of Jack Ross but I’m delighted to be proven wrong.

He’s been a great appointment.

Leith's finest
17-02-2020, 08:05 AM
Just needs to start wearing a jacket with hibs badge on it

17-02-2020, 08:36 AM
Just needs to start wearing a jacket with hibs badge on it

Nah...smarter without it ....

17-02-2020, 08:50 AM
Nah...smarter without it ....

Suspect that was a dig at a manager of another club’s attire.

17-02-2020, 08:56 AM
Suspect that was a dig at a manager of another club’s attire.

Aaah....I see....whoosh :)

17-02-2020, 09:08 AM
No its not wrong. I loved winning under Lennon. It was the other times I didn't like. Hibs are always going to have rough patches of form. Lennon couldn't handle that.

Lennon was great when things were going well but not so good when he was challenged by the fact that we're too small a club to buy our way out of difficult times, like Celtc do.

When we lost what was arguably the best midfield trio in Scotland and didn't have money to replace like-for-like, he seemed to have a meltdown.

No ill feeling toward him from me but he's best suited to Celtc.

scooby
17-02-2020, 09:16 AM
https://youtu.be/kjcuO1GTeeg

He comes across really well. A man who believes in himself and who others can believe in.
Really excited about the future.

17-02-2020, 05:34 PM

Lennon was great when things were going well but not so good when he was challenged by the fact that we're too small a club to buy our way out of difficult times, like Celtc do.

When we lost what was arguably the best midfield trio in Scotland and didn't have money to replace like-for-like, he seemed to have a meltdown.

No ill feeling toward him from me but he's best suited to Celtc.

Great summary of Lennon and I totally agree. Also he always acted like he was too good for us which got my goat a bit. Loved his first 2 seasons with us...but it was downhill all the way after his Tiny Meltdown v1 in the May.

17-02-2020, 06:10 PM
Lennon was the manager I’d always hoped for in terms of his fire and passion but we couldn’t relax because you never knew when his next hissy fit was due.

There’s no doubt that he saw Hibs as a bigger proposition than we see ourselves as and got angry when players, fans, board didn’t see it his way.

I thought JR would be a dull steady Eddie but he’s proving to be far more so far and I’m delighted.

17-02-2020, 06:20 PM
Lennon took over Hibs at the clubs highest ever ebb. He couldn't have picked a better time. Worked for him for two seasons. Ross has inherited a Hibs where the team were regularly being booed from the stands and confidence on the park at a low. He's done a brilliant job so far. We picked up when Hecky replaced Lennon so not getting too carried away but this feels different.

17-02-2020, 06:28 PM
I was delighted when he arrived and I am very pleased with how things have gone so far. Feels like a perfect match - he has got us playing again and is demonstrating clearly he is very astute in adapting our game and getting the most out of what he has at his disposal from game to game. His signings look solid as well.

As others have said - for all he shows on the pitch, he comes across as a thoroughly likeable, level-headed, classy, intelligent and happy guy off it with his feet well and truly on the ground. Think we have a good one here and he is here to stay for quite a while.

hibs#1
17-02-2020, 07:03 PM
Have to admit I didn't want him here, so far looks like I got that spectacularly wrong.

Unfortunately not for the 1st time I was delighted when Butcher came and well...

Dmas
17-02-2020, 07:14 PM
Have to admit I didn't want him here, so far looks like I got that spectacularly wrong.

Unfortunately not for the 1st time I was delighted when Butcher came and well...

Could be worse I was hoping for stendel instead of jack ross....

17-02-2020, 07:28 PM
The Jack Ross table (form table since JR took over 15 league games ago)

The Stendel table (form table since he took over 11 league games ago)

17-02-2020, 07:45 PM
Lennon was the manager I’d always hoped for in terms of his fire and passion but we couldn’t relax because you never knew when his next hissy fit was due.

There’s no doubt that he saw Hibs as a bigger proposition than we see ourselves as and got angry when players, fans, board didn’t see it his way.

I thought JR would be a dull steady Eddie but he’s proving to be far more so far and I’m delighted.

Nah. He certainly doesn’t outpoint my ambition for our club.

I liked Lennon as our manager and it was a fun ride for most of his tenure, but he made plenty of mistakes too, and didn’t quite understand what it takes to get Hibs to the next level.

I just think he sees Scottish football through a Celtc prism.

tonyrougier123
28-02-2020, 10:03 PM
Managing the squad superbly jack ross,very good game management and using the experience in the squad wisely.
Formations good,nothing too rigid,still room for improvements in the squad,but it's ticking along really well for us under ross.
Hope the players are happy at the moment because it's all looking positive from the stands.
Big game again tuesday and if we are as up for it again can only imagine it will be a wee rendition oF SOL on tuesday under the lights.👍😀.

BRING IT ON!!

28-02-2020, 10:09 PM

Totally agree. I was gutted when Lennon left and thought we’d struggle to find anyone close to him.

Well I think we have him in Jack Ross. He just oozes class and confidence. A steely determination. In every interview he talks about where we should be and the type of football we should be playing. All massively positive.

Hell be here long term and with the increased resources we’re aiming to provide him it’s going to be a hugely exciting few seasons ahead.

Loving it

ABZHFC
28-02-2020, 10:11 PM
I really, really, really am starting to like the guy a lot

28-02-2020, 10:13 PM
Totally agree. I was gutted when Lennon left and thought we’d struggle to find anyone close to him.

Well I think we have him in Jack Ross. He just oozes class and confidence. A steely determination. In every interview he talks about where we should be and the type of football we should be playing. All massively positive.

Hell be here long term and with the increased resources we’re aiming to provide him it’s going to be a hugely exciting few seasons ahead.

Loving it

Yeah its exciting times to be a Hibee...especially with the struggles of our Pink Chums across the way.
Really like Jack Ross, hes classy, understated and just oozes confidence. Seems such a good fit for Hibs and looks like he loves it here. It was great for 2 seasons under Lennon but he always gave off the impression we weren't good enough for him.
Jack has us playing some exciting stuff going forward, if he can sort that leaky defence in the summer we will be in for another exciting season. As for this year, considering where we were when Hecky got the boot, it's looking like an exciting end to the season

28-02-2020, 10:18 PM
1 defeat in 11 games so far in 2020. He's a good manager.

28-02-2020, 10:48 PM
Was delighted when we got him, and bar a couple of home draws, don’t think things could have gone any better, really.

Got a real shot at 3rd the way current form is in the league. But for losing leads and missed penalties, we might already be there. Which is amazing considering where we were.

Given the limited time he’s had, and there’s only been one transfer window, I couldn’t be more excited about where we could go.

Allies nicely with Big Ron’s ambitions too.

Kaff
28-02-2020, 11:03 PM
No coincidence that our upturn in form is when Jack Ross and Boyler entered and reentered the fray, wouldn't be at all surprised that Ron's new template for the club in terms of raising squad budget is aimed at these two as well as Docherty perhaps.
Stay with Hibs and we'll double your wage is hopefully enough to keep Jack and Boyler while Docherty can see what we did for John McGinn longterm and he gets a good wage in the meantime.
Good PR by the club as our growth as a club really does centre round our ability to keep our diamonds just that little bit longer to create a more constant squad than relying on loanees in the Jan window?

28-02-2020, 11:21 PM
I told you bro

I told you about Jack Ross

29-02-2020, 01:28 AM
I was desperate for him to get the job and thankfully he is proving why.

He really gets hibs and what the fans want to see. Yes we’ve lost some leads or conceded poor goals but he knows we’re at our best when we attack and that’s exactly what he’s set us out to do. He has found a formation to get all of our best players in and it’s working.

He comes across brilliantly too imo and I think he will really take us to the next level.

I’m really looking forward to his recruitment in the summer and think he will make some really shrewd signings that know the league or will come in and instantly do a job.

McNulty - Permanent
Docherty - Permanent
Omeonga - Permanent
Kevin Nisbet
McLaughlin - Contract ends with Sunderland in summer

Would be a good starting point 😅

Think we will see a couple leave

Slivka
James
Whittikar
Hallberg?

Fuzzywuzzy
29-02-2020, 06:52 AM
What's the jack Ross s3x pest pish on the kickback match thread about? Don't ever recall seeing/hearing any of this before?

29-02-2020, 06:57 AM
What's the jack Ross s3x pest pish on the kickback match thread about? Don't ever recall seeing/hearing any of this before?

Sure he had a relationship or something with the hearts physio. Left under a cloud.

Grasping at straws I would suggest!

29-02-2020, 06:58 AM

There were rumours he was friendly with the Hearts physio and thats why Levein sacked him.

29-02-2020, 06:58 AM
Think I’ve missed the whole Ross / Hearts thing.

I don’t know what happened when he was there before and did they really interview and offer him the job this time around before he came to us?

29-02-2020, 06:59 AM
Doing a fine job. Getting to a cup semi and competing for Europe would be unthinkable under Hecky. JR has turned our season around. Look forward to seeing what he can do in a whole season.

29-02-2020, 07:00 AM

I give you Graham Rix.

Hearts fans on sickbag are total fannies. I have no idea why anyone gives them any airtime.

29-02-2020, 07:04 AM

Pure and utter jealously. They're seek that they've ended up with Daniel Stendel and we got Jack.

Fuzzywuzzy
29-02-2020, 10:04 AM
Cheers gents. Didn't know that. Can't ever remember hearts having a kitty

29-02-2020, 10:39 AM
Ross is doing great but i cant fathom what he's thinking putting 1st Slivka and now Whittaker ahead of Omeonga these last few weeks . Went to all that trouble to hijack his move then play an off form Slivka and an aging dithering Whittaker instead

29-02-2020, 10:42 AM
Ross is doing great but i cant fathom what he's thinking putting 1st Slivka and now Whittaker ahead of Omeonga these last few weeks . Went to all that trouble to hijack his move then play an off form Slivka and an aging dithering Whittaker instead

Have we been winning? Isn't that hard to fathom when we are getting good results from his decisions.

SJNB Hibby
29-02-2020, 11:01 AM
Doing a fine job. Getting to a cup semi and competing for Europe would be unthinkable under Hecky. JR has turned our season around. Look forward to seeing what he can do in a whole season.

In fairness PH got us to a cup semi, it was our performance and setup in said semi that was part of his undoing

wpj
29-02-2020, 11:12 AM
There were rumours he was friendly with the Hearts physio and thats why Levein sacked him.

Craig has previous himself, pot n kettle

29-02-2020, 11:19 AM

That ageing dithering Whittaker has played his part in some of our best performances since the winter break

29-02-2020, 11:25 AM
That ageing dithering Whittaker has played his part in some of our best performances since the winter break

Couple of shaky moments last night, one that nearly cost us, but that’s going to happen when he’s in and out every few weeks, takes time to get up to speed. Gets stronger and stronger as games go on and another two quality runs last night that deserved a better ending. An important squad player and one id like us to keep on next season. Won’t get much better for those games for his small wages, as well as experience into coaching.