View Full Version : It’s back

11-02-2020, 06:04 PM
https://kilmarnockfc.co.uk/news/brownings-the-bakers-sign-shirt-sponsorship-deal/

Imagine have a Pie on the back of your shirt though��

#2 Double Tap
11-02-2020, 06:13 PM
"say aye to a killie pie."

gotta be the best slogan in scottish football.

11-02-2020, 06:17 PM
Looking forward to a tasting session next Sunday.

11-02-2020, 06:21 PM
Killie pie`s aren`t that great tbh. Just my opinion. Had one a few years back and it was no great shakes

11-02-2020, 06:24 PM
Killie pie`s aren`t that great tbh. Just my opinion. Had one a few years back and it was no great shakesThe pies at Tannadice in the 80s/early 90s are the best I've had at the football.

11-02-2020, 06:24 PM
Aldi's pies are better.

😉

11-02-2020, 06:27 PM
Urban myth like tiny sell out every week, best atmosphere ,castle view oh cancel that they have chips

11-02-2020, 06:30 PM
Prefer an East End Park bridie myself

11-02-2020, 06:34 PM
Killie pie`s aren`t that great tbh. Just my opinion. Had one a few years back and it was no great shakes

Great marketing, getting them into supermarkets etc has been a fantastic success for them but nothing special in my opinion.

jingler1954
11-02-2020, 06:39 PM
They are owned by McGhees of Glasgow and they deliver to Edinburgh now.

11-02-2020, 06:42 PM
They are owned by McGhees of Glasgow and they deliver to Edinburgh now.

Been in Edinburgh for years.

Hibs4185
11-02-2020, 06:43 PM
The pies at Tannadice in the 80s/early 90s are the best I've had at the football.

Seconded. Pies at tannadice in the late 90’s early 00’s were immense.

11-02-2020, 07:25 PM
Seconded. Pies at tannadice in the late 90’s early 00’s were immense.

There's a bakers shop opposite The Ambassador that does amazing bridies, much better than anything on offer in the 2 stadia. Not sure if it's still in existence though!

Power
11-02-2020, 07:28 PM
Good for Killie.

Dinny think Killie/Browning Pies are a patch on Bains pies (Stenhouse, Edina) but opinion on pies will vary over the country.

11-02-2020, 07:35 PM
Easter Road pies are better.

zitelli62
11-02-2020, 07:40 PM
St Johnston steak pies are superb.

11-02-2020, 08:01 PM
[QUOTE=zitelli62;6081179]St Johnston steak pies are superb.[/QUOTE

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Steak-Pies-Yorkes-Dundee-Presentation/dp/B07SQTF72K/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=yokes+of+dundee&qid=1581450994&s=grocery&sr=1-2-spell

11-02-2020, 08:05 PM
Dunfermline has the best catering by miles.

11-02-2020, 08:07 PM
The pies at Tannadice in the 80s/early 90s are the best I've had at the football.

Still dream of those pies.

Sweet Left Peg
11-02-2020, 09:11 PM

My father in law told me a story of being at Tannadice in the 80s where some boy was going for some in-game sustenance. He shouted down to his pal a few rows down to see what he was after....

"What'll ye hae?"
"Ah'll hae a peh"
"Kin a' peh?"
"Ah'll hae an ingin 'in"
"Aye, ah'll hae an ingin 'in an aw"

11-02-2020, 09:17 PM
St Johnston steak pies are superb.

Had one many years ago, and it's the only one(of many) that stays in my memory so must have been good!

11-02-2020, 09:23 PM

Had one many years ago, and it's the only one(of many) that stays in my memory so must have been good!

Here, you can order them online to be delivered to your door.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Steak-Pies-...y&sr=1-2-spell (https://www.amazon.co.uk/Steak-Pies-Yorkes-Dundee-Presentation/dp/B07SQTF72K/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=yokes+of+dundee&qid=1581450994&s=grocery&sr=1-2-spell)

drumatic44
11-02-2020, 09:24 PM
My father in law told me a story of being at Tannadice in the 80s where some boy was going for some in-game sustenance. He shouted down to his pal a few rows down to see what he was after....

"What'll ye hae?"
"Ah'll hae a peh"
"Kin a' peh?"
"Ah'll hae an ingin 'in"
"Aye, ah'll hae an ingin 'in an aw"

Check out St.Andrew and the Woolen Mill, with the definitive Dundee pie song, although it's bridies
"Geez twa bridies a plen un an ingin un an a' ".

HendoDelivered
11-02-2020, 09:33 PM
Talking about pies, Hibs should try get a little thing going with Baines at Stenhouse cross or McGills the bakers at Slateford/Currie. Mince pies from both are outstanding.

Sweet Left Peg
11-02-2020, 09:37 PM
Have to say that I always look for this fixture as it's now a local one for me and one of the few I'll get to if I'm home. I'll be there this time with my son and a couple of his pals for his birthday. I cannot wait, to be honest. Last season I took him, his cousin and two pals to St Mirren. Four seven year olds and me off to watch the Hibs. They enjoyed it, but, like all seven year olds it's only so long until they are hungry and/or need a pee.

So we all went down to the concourse at half time.

"What would you like to eat, guys?"
"Chips"
"Chips"
"Yeah, chips. I'm bursting"
"Chips"
"I'm bursting too"
"We're all bursting"

It's now my turn at the kiosk... Do I take them all to the toilet and join the back of the queue, or send them myself? Ach, they'll be fine. "It's just over there boys. Stay together and come straight back here when you're done. Remember to wash your hands"

"4 chips, please"
"Nae chups"
"Nae chips?"
"Naw, nae chups. Izchupsahingathibz?"
"Eh?"
"Izchupsahingathibz?"
"Eh?"
"CHUPS! IS CHUPS A HING, AT HUBZ?"

"Boys, here's four hot dogs..."

TelaStella
11-02-2020, 10:54 PM
Dunfermline has the best catering by miles.

Thread closed.

12-02-2020, 07:33 AM
Its a shame that folk can remember where their best pie was, shows maybe just how bad fitba scran is when you can remember yir best pie, my best pie ever was unbelievably Hamdump aboot 30yrs ago, thats a saaaaad indictment of oor catering in Scotland.
Even sadder is I once bought a pizza at ER many years ago, it was so bland and tasteless I have never bought another pie/ pizza or any food from ER since.

Mcpakeisgod
12-02-2020, 07:37 AM
The biggest thing I miss from being in Oz is a Bains butchers pie from stenhouse. £1.15 and a taste sensation !

12-02-2020, 08:13 AM
Thread closed.

easily the best, is it not stephens the baker that does theirs?

12-02-2020, 08:14 AM
easily the best, is it not stephens the baker that does theirs?

Aye, you can get their stuff in Edinburgh no bother, a lot of Co-ops sell their bakery stuff.

12-02-2020, 08:20 AM
Prefer an East End Park bridie myself

This. Used to take home pocketfuls....then discovered the bloody coop sells them! 🙄🙄

12-02-2020, 08:21 AM
Good for Killie.

Dinny think Killie/Browning Pies are a patch on Bains pies (Stenhouse, Edina) but opinion on pies will vary over the country.

Bains pies are the king of pies. Unbeaten anywhere in my experience...

ChilliEater
12-02-2020, 08:25 AM
My best pie wasn't at the football. Presto supermarket in Partick, haggis pie. Scotch pie casing, layer of haggis, layer of neeps, layer of tatties. ****ING magnificent 🙂

12-02-2020, 08:30 AM
My best pie wasn't at the football. Presto supermarket in Partick, haggis pie. Scotch pie casing, layer of haggis, layer of neeps, layer of tatties. ****ING magnificent 🙂

30 years ago?

12-02-2020, 08:31 AM
Bains pies are the king of pies. Unbeaten anywhere in my experience...

In your opinion. In my opinion Yorkes of Dundee do the best steak pies. (sold at St Johnstone)

12-02-2020, 10:29 AM
Aye, you can get their stuff in Edinburgh no bother, a lot of Co-ops sell their bakery stuff.

sorted, will have a look the next time i'm on, their stake bridies are class :greengrin

ChilliEater
12-02-2020, 11:13 AM
30 years ago?

29 - it was 1991 when I lived in a flat that backed onto Partick Station. Never forgot the pie :greengrin

12-02-2020, 01:14 PM
Aldi's pies are better.

😉
Aldi sells the Killie pie :cb or are you talking about another pie 😉