View Full Version : Queensferry Crossing Closed [Southbound]
10-02-2020, 07:18 PM
Isi this the first time its been (partially) closed?
Its due to the snow/ice falling from the structure onto the carriageway - so weather related, just not directly (wind speed etc).
Unlikely to fully open until after rush hour on Tuesday
Im assuming that as its a south/west wind, they expect any falling snow/ice not to make its way onto the northbound lanes.
Rocky
10-02-2020, 07:39 PM
Just saw it's closed northbound now too.
bringbackbenny
10-02-2020, 07:40 PM
Now closed northbound as well until daylight tomorrow at the earliest (https://twitter.com/TheForthBridges/status/1226966797846532096?s=19)
Cataplana
10-02-2020, 08:45 PM
Just got home from Melrose - unable to see the road up to Lauder. Hard going.
10-02-2020, 09:16 PM
To be honest, we've got away with it in Edinburgh - so far.
10-02-2020, 09:28 PM
Isi this the first time its been (partially) closed?
Its due to the snow/ice falling from the structure onto the carriageway - so weather related, just not directly (wind speed etc).
Unlikely to fully open until after rush hour on Tuesday
Im assuming that as its a south/west wind, they expect any falling snow/ice not to make its way onto the northbound lanes.
Clearly another failure for the SNP.
10-02-2020, 09:41 PM
Clearly another failure for the SNP.
I always said that it should have been a tunnel 😉
10-02-2020, 09:44 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200210/bc7a98174ccc7adedf3bd02a7f17871d.plist
Quicker than I thought.[emoji23]
CloudSquall
11-02-2020, 12:02 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/agcolehamilton/status/1226981760485003264
Everyone's favourite Lib Dem can't help a pop either.
11-02-2020, 08:49 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200210/bc7a98174ccc7adedf3bd02a7f17871d.plist
Bloody hell, desperation levels rising fast. Amazing what a couple of polls with Yes in the lead can do :wink:
Berwickhibby
11-02-2020, 09:56 AM
Bloody hell, desperation levels rising fast. Amazing what a couple of polls with Yes in the lead can do :wink:
Don't care about polls, or any nationalist propaganda or Tory rhetoric, it's pish poor traffic management
Those in charge should temporarily open the Forth Road Bridge to cars rather than send them to sit in a 3 mile tailback to Kincardine. Those of us that live in the Kingdom love nothing more than watching Taxis, played private Hire etc driving across the Forth Road Bridge.
Green Man
11-02-2020, 10:26 AM
The problem with the FRB is that one carriageway is currently dug up, so it’ll take more time to arrange traffic management.
11-02-2020, 11:11 AM
My internet is down this morning. Sturgeon!!!!!
11-02-2020, 11:15 AM
Don't care about polls, or any nationalist propaganda or Tory rhetoric, it's pish poor traffic management
Those in charge should temporarily open the Forth Road Bridge to cars rather than send them to sit in a 3 mile tailback to Kincardine. Those of us that live in the Kingdom love nothing more than watching Taxis, played private Hire etc driving across the Forth Road Bridge.
This is something that’s bugging me. Why have they not made it easier to redirect traffic onto the old bridge?
11-02-2020, 11:31 AM
This is something that’s bugging me. Why have they not made it easier to redirect traffic onto the old bridge?
On the radio this morning it was mentioned that engineering works on the frb are restricting it to one lane each way
Lendo
11-02-2020, 11:32 AM
Got stuck in London on Sunday when all the trains were cancelled due to high winds.
THANKS SNP!
11-02-2020, 11:40 AM
Got stuck in London on Sunday when all the trains were cancelled due to high winds.
THANKS SNP!
Your joking but we probably paid for that railway.[emoji6]
Mr Grieves
11-02-2020, 12:11 PM
First time the Queensferry crossing has closed since opening 2 and a half years ago. Apparently the forth Road Bridge would have been closed on 30 occasions in the same period.
11-02-2020, 12:12 PM
First time the Queensferry crossing has closed since opening 2 and a half years ago. Apparently the forth Road Bridge would have been closed on 30 occasions in the same period.
Don’t believe those stats at all...not a chance the FRB was closed more than once a month ...
11-02-2020, 12:34 PM
Aye, but how often would a new unionist bridge have been closed?
11-02-2020, 12:38 PM
Don’t believe those stats at all...not a chance the FRB was closed more than once a month ...
"to high sided vehicles" was omitted. :aok:
11-02-2020, 01:16 PM
Only SNP built bridges stay open more often :agree:
Mr Grieves
11-02-2020, 01:17 PM
As JMS says, partial closures are included in the figure. My original post should have been clearer.
Mr Grieves
11-02-2020, 01:27 PM
Would it have ever been open?
11-02-2020, 01:37 PM
Would it have ever been open?
Tricky one to answer, let's ask whoever is in charge of getting the new Sick Kids hospital open...
11-02-2020, 02:55 PM
Another SNP failure.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200211/14cbea207a5974f0d057de22434e2587.jpg
11-02-2020, 03:15 PM
Its ridiculous people trying to make political points over what is obviously a safety issue.
11-02-2020, 03:56 PM
Its ridiculous people trying to make political points over what is obviously a safety issue.
I was surprised to see Ruth Davidson getting involved.
Alex Cole-Hamilton not so surprised but I would have thought Davidson was a bit smarter than that.
You are correct of course, and I hope you didn't think I was being serious with my "unionist bridge" comment.
11-02-2020, 04:52 PM
Absolute nonsense to bring the SNP into it, FFS. Desperation overload.
11-02-2020, 05:33 PM
I was surprised to see Ruth Davidson getting involved.
Alex Cole-Hamilton not so surprised but I would have thought Davidson was a bit smarter than that.
You are correct of course, and I hope you didn't think I was being serious with my "unionist bridge" comment.
My post was a general one given what I've read across social media today.
Not aimed at you at all.
11-02-2020, 05:58 PM
It'd be open all day every day, just so they could send people home...Even to Jamaica.
11-02-2020, 07:44 PM
Anybody know if the Severn bridge is still closed. Didn't see it on the National news.:rolleyes:
Cataplana
12-02-2020, 07:56 AM
Anybody know if the Severn bridge is still closed. Didn't see it on the National news.:rolleyes:
I don't remember it opening, but did anybody say it would never have to close due to adverse weather?
12-02-2020, 08:24 AM
I don't remember it opening, but did anybody say it would never have to close due to adverse weather?
The Severn bridge opened last night after it was closed due to wind, something that will never happen to the Queensferry Crossing :wink:
12-02-2020, 08:25 AM
This is the first time QC has been closed for this specific reason? This is it’s third winter. They’re talking about fitting ice sensors. I wonder if this is the thin edge of the wedge and we’ll find it closes more often in future winters as a precautionary measure.
12-02-2020, 08:43 AM
For adverse weather, read high winds. The SNP even planned the adverse weather when the schools are on holidays, they cannae win. 🏆
12-02-2020, 08:44 AM
The Severn bridge opened last night after it was closed due to wind, something that will never happen to the Queensferry Crossing :wink:
Other bridges are available. 😂
12-02-2020, 08:48 AM
Davidson is bullish wee termagant. The only thing she has going for her is unionism.
12-02-2020, 08:51 AM
I’m sure someone said ‘once in a generation’.
12-02-2020, 08:57 AM
Davidson is bullish wee termagant. The only thing she has going for her is unionism.
The QC was open on more occasions than Ruth Davidson's constituency office.
Maybe we should be asking what she's doing for the day job.
xyz23jc
12-02-2020, 09:21 AM
The QC was open on more occasions than Ruth Davidson's constituency office.
Maybe we should be asking what she's doing for the day job.
Fitting for the ermines today I suspect! :greengrin:thumbsup:
Cataplana
12-02-2020, 09:46 AM
I’m sure someone said ‘once in a generation’.
No, they were misquoted, and were not representing the views of the bridge builders, merely a personal opinion.
Mr Grieves
12-02-2020, 10:43 AM
This is the first time QC has been closed for this specific reason? This is it’s third winter. They’re talking about fitting ice sensors. I wonder if this is the thin edge of the wedge and we’ll find it closes more often in future winters as a precautionary measure.
Who knows, the fact that this is the first time it has closed would suggest the current conditions (combination of high winds, snow and rain) are a bit unusual.
12-02-2020, 11:09 AM
Not much good if it has to close when there's a storm.
Let's see how they cope with Dennis at the weekend.
12-02-2020, 01:37 PM
Not much good if it has to close when there's a storm.
Let's see how they cope with Dennis at the weekend.
I wonder how folk would have coped when there was no Queensferry Crossing and still had to rely on the 56 year old road bridge that closed at the slightest wee breeze? :wink:
Mr Grieves
12-02-2020, 04:10 PM
https://twitter.com/Jackson_Carlaw/status/877173987817738240?s=20
:doh:
12-02-2020, 04:35 PM
Wait till Ruth & Cole-Hamilton find out! :faf:
12-02-2020, 04:54 PM
What a plonker 😂
CloudSquall
12-02-2020, 05:19 PM
..and he has the audacity to believe that he is best positioned to "take on" the SNP.
12-02-2020, 05:43 PM
Just heard they will look at using the old bridge as a last resort in future. How come it's taken all this disruption for it to even be considered?
13-02-2020, 06:29 AM
Just heard they will look at using the old bridge as a last resort in future. How come it's taken all this disruption for it to even be considered?
Probably because in 99.9% of weather conditions that would have closed the old bridge the new bridge would remain open. The last few days have been a freak weather wise for the QF crossing. I think I read that over the two and a half years it's been open the old bridge would have been shut at least partially thirty odd times
13-02-2020, 10:49 AM
It is absolutely amazing how, in the context of all the utter bollocks generated by constitutional politics, people will focus on - and believe - absolutely anything on both sides.
They're just two bridges. One is old and the other is new. There's been some extreme weather. They don't vote, they don't have opinions and neither of them are either for or against independence.
13-02-2020, 11:35 AM
It is absolutely amazing how, in the context of all the utter bollocks generated by constitutional politics, people will focus on - and believe - absolutely anything on both sides.
They're just two bridges. One is old and the other is new. There's been some extreme weather. They don't vote, they don't have opinions and neither of them are either for or against independence.
You are of course correct in what you say. So why were the anti SNP brigade so quick to try to lay the boot into an inanimate object that was caught out by unforseen circumstances similar to the ones that shut a whole heap of similar inanimate objects across the UK and abroad? For me it once again it comes back to the negativity from the unionist side of the debate. They struggle to come up with positive positions on any policy but continually just go with the SNP bad mantra. If they had any positives then some of these floating voters who appear to be siding with yes at the moment may be persuaded back but it is just a barrage of negativity.
speedy_gonzales
13-02-2020, 02:19 PM
I've no idea how you can politicise an inanimate object but if people/groups/organisations are willing to take credit for it when things go well, then they must also be willing to take the pantomime boo/hiss when things don't fair so well.
The new crossing was necessary and vital and although it could be argued that John Swinney was "getting on with the day job" when he signed it off, it was something he had to do. The FRB was barely 50% through its expected lifespan when recalculations of actual load coupled with projected wire failure meant the new crossing had to happen sooner rather than later.
As for closures, I've never experienced the FRB to be closed for more than 24hrs because of weather, joint/Union failure, but not weather. And 30 times in 2 years? I must have been driving over a different crossing,,,,
As One Day Soon alludes to above, they're bridges, nothing more, nothing less. The FRB done it's job, the newer QC will continue that job.
If it has to close for H&S reasons then so be it.
Neither of the bridges will come close to the original crossing in my opinion, the rail bridge,,,,s'pose we've got Gladstone's Liberals to thank for that 🙄
,,,s'pose we've got Gladstone's Liberals to thank for that 🙄
....and the Irish Navvie Hibs fans who built it.
13-02-2020, 04:00 PM
You are of course correct in what you say. So why were the anti SNP brigade so quick to try to lay the boot into an inanimate object that was caught out by unforseen circumstances similar to the ones that shut a whole heap of similar inanimate objects across the UK and abroad? For me it once again it comes back to the negativity from the unionist side of the debate. They struggle to come up with positive positions on any policy but continually just go with the SNP bad mantra. If they had any positives then some of these floating voters who appear to be siding with yes at the moment may be persuaded back but it is just a barrage of negativity.
You seriously think that this and other examples like it is just all down to the Unionist side being negative? The nat side was just as quick to try and contrast it with the pre-SNP bridge. It's all farcical.
Nats try to portray everything Scottish in a positive light and everything British in a negative light. Unionists do exactly the same in the other direction. They both end up coming across as cheeks of the same ar5e.
13-02-2020, 06:44 PM
Probably because in 99.9% of weather conditions that would have closed the old bridge the new bridge would remain open. The last few days have been a freak weather wise for the QF crossing. I think I read that over the two and a half years it's been open the old bridge would have been shut at least partially thirty odd times
Well why hadn't they even considered using the old bridge if it was suitable? Must be better to have it as an option than the detour.
13-02-2020, 07:00 PM
Well why hadn't they even considered using the old bridge if it was suitable? Must be better to have it as an option than the detour.
Not sure but I think there was ongoing works in it so couldn't be used. Also still doubtful that any high sided vehicles would have been able to cross. Anyway, storm in a teacup, pardon the pun. Sad that something done for the right reasons in extenuating circumstances has caused such ****storm of nonsense
14-02-2020, 07:08 AM
Not sure but I think there was ongoing works in it so couldn't be used. Also still doubtful that any high sided vehicles would have been able to cross. Anyway, storm in a teacup, pardon the pun. Sad that something done for the right reasons in extenuating circumstances has caused such ****storm of nonsense
When Tories start sounding off on crap like this I can't but help think of Grenfell, Hillsborough and other complete ****ups that absolutely dwarf the relevance of a bridge being closed for safety reasons during a mega storm. I'd understand the outrage if the bridge had collapsed with cars crossing it but not just because it was closed in extreme conditions. A bit of perspective is needed here.
14-02-2020, 07:52 AM
My understanding was that the old bridge, in this situation, had one side closed with the tarmac up and the gap closers removed. If they’d had to split the lanes on the remaining side, to allow 2 way traffic, it will still have caused congestion and severely hampered the free flow of public transport links.
04-12-2020, 06:51 AM
Bridge closed again this morning
04-12-2020, 07:21 AM
Bridge closed again this morning
And Forth Rd bridge closed due to works
Surely they should do the works at another time, unless they are emergency ones
04-12-2020, 07:39 AM
That's one way to enforce the tier 3 restrictions!
04-12-2020, 07:42 AM
That's one way to enforce the tier 3 restrictions!
I take it the ice sensers are working from home?
04-12-2020, 07:43 AM
That’s it opened back up now
04-12-2020, 07:56 AM
That’s it opened back up nowAlex Cole Hamilton will be gutted, opened before he even got a chance to be outraged about it.
04-12-2020, 08:11 AM
Alex Cole Hamilton will be gutted, opened before he even got a chance to be outraged about it.
This made me laugh. What an utter prick of a man ACH is.
04-12-2020, 08:13 AM
This made me laugh. What an utter prick of a man ACH is.
I've met him a few times and spoken with him a few more and he's actually okay. I get that it's easy for opposition politicians to appear more onside, but he has been supportive on a number of local issues. Certainly far from the biggest prick in local politics.
04-12-2020, 08:20 AM
I've met him a few times and spoken with him a few more and he's actually okay. I get that it's easy for opposition politicians to appear more onside, but he has been supportive on a number of local issues. Certainly far from the biggest prick in local politics.
Maybe he should stick to local government then. Murdo Fraser sticks his nose into local issues a lot too.
04-12-2020, 08:20 AM
I've met him a few times and spoken with him a few more and he's actually okay. I get that it's easy for opposition politicians to appear more onside, but he has been supportive on a number of local issues. Certainly far from the biggest prick in local politics.I find him to be the exact opposite, seems more interested in self promotion than his constituents. He only ventures out of Corstorphine and Barnton when there's an opportunity to get a picture of himself in the paper.
We seemed to be cursed with lib dems in Edinburgh West with him and a carpet bagger of an MP who would struggle to point to her constituency on a map.
Even the local Councillor out my way is an absolute helmet, during an exchange about faulty street lighting out my way he sent me a graph showing how many people had voted for him.
04-12-2020, 08:24 AM
I find his pieces in the press unreadable.
04-12-2020, 08:25 AM
Alex Cole Hamilton will be gutted, opened before he even got a chance to be outraged about it.
He took his chance regardless. :greengrin
I’m actually v fond of the #QueensferryCrossing. I’m in awe of the engineers who built it & the heroes who maintain it.
It’s sacred to the SNP. But as local MSP it’s my job to express concern as to why this bridge that would never close is now shut for the 2nd time this year. 🤷🏻*♂️ https://t.co/lN8fK1MOZH
04-12-2020, 08:35 AM
I’m actually v fond of the #QueensferryCrossing. I’m in awe of the engineers who built it & the heroes who maintain it.
It’s sacred to the SNP. But as local MSP it’s my job to express concern as to why this bridge that would never close is now shut for the 2nd time this year. [emoji1744]*[emoji3603] https://t.co/lN8fK1MOZHI'm quite fond of it too, but then it was my work who were the lead contractor on it [emoji16]
04-12-2020, 08:35 AM
It’s sacred to the SNP. But as local MSP it’s my job to express concern as to why this bridge that would never close is now shut for the 2nd time this year. 🤷🏻*♂️ https://t.co/lN8fK1MOZH
I know people in his constituency who he has helped and his reputation there seems to be fairly good.
I simply do not believe anyone ever said that this bridge would never close. Well not anyone sensible at any rate.
04-12-2020, 08:37 AM
I'm quite fond of it too, but then it was my work who were the lead contractor on it [emoji16]
One the day the truth about how much money was really spent on it may eventually come out. That's from part of my work.
04-12-2020, 08:42 AM
Did anyone say it would never close?
Surely a ludicrous claim in a nation with a climate like ours?
Close less than the Forth Bridge might be reasonable.
Or “vulnerable to fewer weather conditions causing closure” might be another.
Silly bar to set yourself, if it was said.
04-12-2020, 08:43 AM
I know people in his constituency who he has helped and his reputation there seems to be fairly good.
I simply do not believe anyone ever said that this bridge would never close. Well not anyone sensible at any rate.Nope, they said the adverse weather thresholds were higher meaning a significant reduction in closures.
From what I read this morning some ice had built up at the top of a tower and they were making sure nothing would fall onto cars underneath, once confirmed they reopened.
Personally I'm glad the bridge operations guys are looking after us.
04-12-2020, 08:57 AM
Nope, they said the adverse weather thresholds were higher meaning a significant reduction in closures.
From what I read this morning some ice had built up at the top of a tower and they were making sure nothing would fall onto cars underneath, once confirmed they reopened.
That makes a lot more sense. As infrastructure goes, that bridge has a political life of its own.
04-12-2020, 08:57 AM
Did anyone say it would never close?
Didn't say never - said it wouldn't close for a generation.
04-12-2020, 09:00 AM
04-12-2020, 09:03 AM
Didn't say never - said it wouldn't close for a generation.:greengrin
Berwickhibby
04-12-2020, 09:29 AM
I think if I recall correctly, what was said at the opening was " we are optimistic that the Queensferry Crossing will never close due to adverse weather"
04-12-2020, 09:44 AM
I think if I recall correctly, what was said at the opening was " we are optimistic that the Queensferry Crossing will never close due to adverse weather"
We are optimistic that the Queensferry Crossing will never close due to the wind appears to to be phrase used
https://www-edinburghnews-scotsman-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/officials-confident-queensferry-crossing-will-never-have-close-606700?amp_js_v=a6&_gsa=1&&usqp=mq331AQHKAFQArABIA%3D%3D#aoh=16070784693678&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&_tf=From%20%251%24s&share=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.edinburghnews.scotsman. com%2Fnews%2Fofficials-confident-queensferry-crossing-will-never-have-close-606700
Berwickhibby
04-12-2020, 09:53 AM
We are optimistic that the Queensferry Crossing will never close due to the wind appears to to be phrase used
https://www-edinburghnews-scotsman-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/officials-confident-queensferry-crossing-will-never-have-close-606700?amp_js_v=a6&_gsa=1&&usqp=mq331AQHKAFQArABIA%3D%3D#aoh=16070784693678&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&_tf=From%20%251%24s&share=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.edinburghnews.scotsman. com%2Fnews%2Fofficials-confident-queensferry-crossing-will-never-have-close-606700
My point still stands....there was never any quotes stating that the Queensferry Crossing would never close, just rewording out of context speech about wind shields
04-12-2020, 09:56 AM
They said it wouldn't close for wind, not ice.
04-12-2020, 10:00 AM
My point still stands....there was never any quotes stating that the Queensferry Crossing would never close, just rewording out of context speech about wind shields
Your point stands if the only kind of weather is wind.
04-12-2020, 10:02 AM
That's not what you said though.
The reason for closing the bridge has always been for public safety due to the risk of falling ice. The bridge was designed never to be closed due to wind which has been a frequent reason for the forth road bridge being closed.
04-12-2020, 10:09 AM
Finally, some much needed humour.
04-12-2020, 10:20 AM
Seems like a bit of a hostage to fortune, but then 'optimistic' does a fair bit of heavy lifting after the fact. I've never understood the bizarre continued political fighting about this bridge - it seems for some people it has to be a bad Nat bridge or a good Nat bridge whether openly stated or as subtext. It can't just be a bridge. Fair enough to take positions when it was opened to some degree but to be carrying on now is just weird.
It always reminds me of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BlkVS66tHkk
04-12-2020, 10:23 AM
Yeah, I was wondering why people were still arguing with you as well.
It's the internet, it's what happens here.
Idiot.
04-12-2020, 10:39 AM
It's the internet, it's what happens here.
Idiot.
Sorry.
Pr1ck
04-12-2020, 10:45 AM
Seems like a bit of a hostage to fortune, but then 'optimistic' does a fair bit of heavy lifting after the fact. I've never understood the bizarre continued political fighting about this bridge - it seems for some people it has to be a bad Nat bridge or a good Nat bridge whether openly stated or as subtext. It can't just be a bridge. Fair enough to take positions when it was opened to some degree but to be carrying on now is just weird.
It always reminds me of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BlkVS66tHkk
Alex Cole-Hamilton looked much better in the hat.
04-12-2020, 11:30 AM
quoted post deleted.
I'll take that as a compliment considering my post was providing the context that was missing.
Berwickhibby
04-12-2020, 01:10 PM
I'll take that as a compliment considering my post was providing the context that was missing.
No it shows your snide argumentative nature when I post anything regardless the subject...Just Alf posted basicly the same thing prior to my post...I don't see you criticising his post
04-12-2020, 03:20 PM
Nope, they said the adverse weather thresholds were higher meaning a significant reduction in closures.
Absolutely. As I said, public safety was the reason for closing the bridge.
PS. Thanks admins 👍
04-12-2020, 08:46 PM
Finally, some much needed humour.
Reported. My ice sensers working from home quip was Best Joke on the Fringe material! :-)
21-01-2021, 07:53 AM
Closed again.
21-01-2021, 07:57 AM
Closed again.
Surprised it hasn't been more often with the low temperatures we have had for the last few weeks.
But it does prove that the ice sensors are working
21-01-2021, 08:02 AM
Surprised it hasn't been more often with the low temperatures we have had for the last few weeks.
But it does prove that the ice sensors are working
Is it just the new bridge that has the sensors? The forth road bridge is also closed for the same reason today.
21-01-2021, 08:06 AM
My poor colleague is having to go to the office today instead of working from home in Dalgetty Bay, so it's the long way round for him!
Dalgetty Bay to Broxburn :faf:
21-01-2021, 08:08 AM
Is it just the new bridge that has the sensors? The forth road bridge is also closed for the same reason today.
QF crossing closed because the ice sensors identified the build up of ice. FRB closed because of ice and wind
21-01-2021, 08:28 AM
It’s open for north bound traffic now.
21-01-2021, 09:02 AM
It’s a farce that the bridge keeps needing to be closed for safety reasons but it’s a bigger joke to send people via Kincardine when the Forth bridge is available and open. Transport Scotland need to get a grip of this issue and sort the Queensferry bridge and have the Forth as a back up. TBF the whole project has been a joke from start to finish.
21-01-2021, 09:17 AM
It’s a farce that the bridge keeps needing to be closed for safety reasons but it’s a bigger joke to send people via Kincardine when the Forth bridge is available and open. Transport Scotland need to get a grip of this issue and sort the Queensferry bridge and have the Forth as a back up. TBF the whole project has been a joke from start to finish.
I was checking this morning for updates, as my girlfriend needs to cross the bridge to get to work, and they'd mentioned that if the Queensferry Crossing was still closed tomorrow, they'd be opening the Forth Road Bridge to traffic.
speedy_gonzales
21-01-2021, 09:19 AM
QF crossing closed because the ice sensors identified the build up of ice. FRB closed because of ice and wind
The FRB was open to public transport those morning AFAIK.
The tested diversion route for non-public transport wasn't implemented because it takes 5 hours to put up the signage and although the poor weather was forecasted, those in charge didn't think it worth it, or something like that.
As reported by Alex Cole-Hamilton.
21-01-2021, 10:23 AM
The FRB was open to public transport those morning AFAIK.
The tested diversion route for non-public transport wasn't implemented because it takes 5 hours to put up the signage and although the poor weather was forecasted, those in charge didn't think it worth it, or something like that.
As reported by Alex Cole-Hamilton.Cole-Hamilton will be tumescent at news of the bridge closure.
speedy_gonzales
21-01-2021, 11:21 AM
Cole-Hamilton will be tumescent at news of the bridge closure.
I don't agree with the mans politics, and he certainly seems to take great glee when the bridge is in the news for the wrong reasons, but I can't remember the FRB being closed as often for ice. It was obviously shut to high siders a lot for wind but the new crossing has certainly fixed that problem!
21-01-2021, 11:28 AM
Is there not technology that can prevent or reduce ice and snow build up on bridges?
Are the Oresund Bridge or the Russky Bridge, for example, closed fairly often throughout the winter? They are comparable in design and in a more hostile winter environment than the Queensferry Crossing so it would be interesting to know if they have comparable issues or if there is something different in the design that prevents ice forming on towers and cables.
21-01-2021, 11:29 AM
Is there not technology that can prevent or reduce ice and snow build up on bridges?
Is the Oresund Bridge, for example, closed fairly often throughout the winter? That's in a more hostile winter environment than the Queensferry Crossing so it would be interesting to know if it has comparable issues or if there is something different in the design that prevents ice forming on towers and cables.
The could have put in heated cables...I guess that was not the option they chose on the design....might be hard to rectify....
21-01-2021, 11:35 AM
I know in the grand scheme of things two or three days a year isn’t that bad, but for a brand new bridge to be closed in Scotland for weather conditions that happen every year isn’t great.
21-01-2021, 12:04 PM
Are the Oresund Bridge or the Russky Bridge, for example, closed fairly often throughout the winter? They are comparable in design and in a more hostile winter environment than the Queensferry Crossing so it would be interesting to know if they have comparable issues or if there is something different in the design that prevents ice forming on towers and cables.
Both of those bridges close at times due to ice build up. I’m not so sure the Oresund bridge faces dramatically different conditions from the Queensferry crossing either. It’s a problem seafarers have battled with for centuries and they don’t always win.
21-01-2021, 12:33 PM
Both of those bridges close at times due to ice build up. I’m not so sure the Oresund bridge faces dramatically different conditions from the Queensferry crossing either. It’s a problem seafarers have battled with for centuries and they don’t always win.
Trying to chip the ice off the focsle in the early hours is not the best.
21-01-2021, 01:47 PM
Trying to chip the ice off the focsle in the early hours is not the best.
One of many reasons why I worked in the Engine Room. :greengrin
31-08-2021, 12:57 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-58384588
Cleaning going on for 6 weeks. Temporary 40mph speed limit, which is probably faster than it is at times just now
31-08-2021, 01:29 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-58384588
Cleaning going on for 6 weeks. Temporary 40mph speed limit, which is probably faster than it is at times just now
:rolleyes: ****ing irritating.
Since bridge posts are like the now ancient flag debate posts I'll leave it at that.
I’ve been across the bridge a few times over the last few weeks, always at the weekends, and always caught in tailbacks which appear to have been caused by nothing other than the speed limit over the bridge being dropped to 50 - no idea why but its a major pain, and wasn’t part of the pitch for the new bridge that the speed limit would be maintained at 70?
31-08-2021, 02:53 PM
I’ve been across the bridge a few times over the last few weeks, always at the weekends, and always caught in tailbacks which appear to have been caused by nothing other than the speed limit over the bridge being dropped to 50 - no idea why but its a major pain, and wasn’t part of the pitch for the new bridge that the speed limit would be maintained at 70?
I have no idea why that is but it's always seemed that way to me too - a tailback on both sides where traffic is meant to merge after joining to get onto the bridge.
That seems to happen irrespective of speed limits.
I also only ever seem to cross at weekends but I'm not sure I've ever had a clean run over it.
31-08-2021, 03:51 PM
:rolleyes: ****ing irritating.
A brilliant contribution to this thread from someone who complained about the increasing ‘twitterisation’ of the Holy Ground yesterday.
31-08-2021, 03:54 PM
I have no idea why that is but it's always seemed that way to me too - a tailback on both sides where traffic is meant to merge after joining to get onto the bridge.
That seems to happen irrespective of speed limits.
I also only ever seem to cross at weekends but I'm not sure I've ever had a clean run over it.
The merging on approach to the bridge from the South is a nightmare. The merging lane coming down from South Queensferry is really long which should allow for a smoother merging of traffic but nobody makes use of it and tries merging straight which causes tailbacks in both lanes.
Rocky
31-08-2021, 04:41 PM
The merging on approach to the bridge from the South is a nightmare. The merging lane coming down from South Queensferry is really long which should allow for a smoother merging of traffic but nobody makes use of it and tries merging straight which causes tailbacks in both lanes.
I noticed yesterday they've extended the solid white line much further along the slip now, presumably for that very reason.
31-08-2021, 05:49 PM
A brilliant contribution to this thread from someone who complained about the increasing ‘twitterisation’ of the Holy Ground yesterday.
Thanks, you rest my case. What exactly are you objecting to?
I could just reply with something like 'A brilliant contribution to this thread from someone who clearly read my post yesterday observing the increasing ‘twitterisation’ of the Holy Ground - which was itself a response to an Admin observation that "Given the petty bickering amongst posters , the reported posts and the frequent digs towards the Admin team it generates the idea of ditching The Holy Ground and sticking to just football is becoming increasingly attractive."
However I'll clarify by stating that I find the speed limiting on the bridge - which happens pretty frequently - very ****ing irritating.
I wanted to make that observation without provoking or being drawn into a debate about whether it is a 'good' or 'bad' bridge since that is generally the direction bridge discussion often goes depending upon whether posters want to think the bridge is a nationalist triumph or a nationalist screw up. In fact it's just a bridge.
bringbackbenny
31-08-2021, 05:51 PM
I noticed yesterday they've extended the solid white line much further along the slip now, presumably for that very reason.
Also not helped by the slip road being busier than it should be due to traffic from the M90 south using the inside lane to try and beat the traffic by going over the roundabout then joining on the bridge slip. Heard they were going to change the traffic light sequence to try and slow this method down.
31-08-2021, 06:37 PM
The preferred design of bridge was for 3 lanes of traffic going each way. However the only funding available at the time was from an EU fund for replacing failing infrastructure. To access this pot of money, the bridge had to be strictly a replacement and not a new and improved version so they had to stick to two lanes each way. So we are stuck with the bottleneck.
03-09-2021, 02:04 PM
The preferred design of bridge was for 3 lanes of traffic going each way. However the only funding available at the time was from an EU fund for replacing failing infrastructure. To access this pot of money, the bridge had to be strictly a replacement and not a new and improved version so they had to stick to two lanes each way. So we are stuck with the bottleneck.
If they could allow the cars to turn off to Kirkliston/South Queensferry, before the bridge, where the buses go, would stop a lot of cars having to go to the bridge
04-09-2021, 10:58 AM
Unless it’s after 7pm I’ve stopped using it in the taxi, I go over the old bridge.
AltheHibby
04-09-2021, 12:24 PM
"
I wanted to make that observation without provoking or being drawn into a debate about whether it is a 'good' or 'bad' bridge since that is generally the direction bridge discussion often goes depending upon whether posters want to think the bridge is a nationalist triumph or a nationalist screw up. In fact it's just a bridge."
For me it's a bad bridge if it doesn't work like it should. Or it's ugly.And this one is ugly.