View Full Version : Stevie Mallan

09-02-2020, 03:26 PM
Spoke to him today when he was jogging to pick up his comps.
Fit and ready to play again it seems.

09-02-2020, 03:36 PM
With Allan struggling a bit he would fit straight into that role.

09-02-2020, 03:37 PM
Spoke to him today when he was jogging to pick up his comps.
Fit and ready to play again it seems.

6-8weeks away.

09-02-2020, 03:41 PM
We've looked better in midfield since he's been out the team, I'm in no rush to bring him back in.

Could to a job as an impact sub or the like but he's not going to turn our season around. Docherty plays ahead of him in my eyes.

09-02-2020, 03:42 PM
6-8weeks away.

Not according to him or the way he looked.

09-02-2020, 03:47 PM
Not according to him or the way he looked.

Forget the way he looked...it’s impossible to tell...did Mallan say he is now fit to resume playing?

09-02-2020, 03:50 PM
We've looked better in midfield since he's been out the team, I'm in no rush to bring him back in.

Could to a job as an impact sub or the like but he's not going to turn our season around. Docherty plays ahead of him in my eyes.

The turn around is more to do with Ross arriving than Mallan dropping out, the few games Stevie Mallan played under Ross (granted as a sub) in the Allan role he looked like the player we wanted him to be most of the time. At St Mirren in particular we only really looked like we were pushing forward effectively when he came on. Definitely a place for him in the team but likely it will be Allan or Mallan, not both.

Docherty will play every game from now on unless injured etc.
It should be Mallan or Allan in the midfield not both.
If both available Allan likely to start with Mallan coming on for him for the last quarter.

Forget the way he looked...it’s impossible to tell...did Mallan say he is now fit to resume playing?

I’ve already said so I suppose. I’m no physio mind but I understand from how he spoke and he’s fit. Certainly not anything like 6-8 weeks of rehab going by his appearance and movement though.

09-02-2020, 03:54 PM
I’ve already said so I suppose. I’m no physio mind but I understand from how he spoke and he’s fit. Certainly not anything like 6-8 weeks of rehab going by his appearance and movement though.

That bit you can’t tell...dynamic movement on a field put quite different stress on ligaments etc than jogging about outside a stadium ......may need a lot of strengthening work still

09-02-2020, 03:55 PM

I'm confused after your OP, did you actually speak to him about when he would be available again?

Or just speak to him generally and assumed from the way he walked that he was almost fit again?

09-02-2020, 03:58 PM
I'm confused after your OP, did you actually speak to him about when he would be available again?

Or just speak to him generally and assumed from the way he walked that he was almost fit again?

Don’t be confused. And he had broke into a jog before I spoke to him.
It went like this.

Me - “you look like your moving about all right”
Stevie- “I’m fine, I could be playing”
Me - “Good lad, enjoy the game”.

End.

09-02-2020, 04:00 PM
That bit you can’t tell...dynamic movement on a field put quite different stress on ligaments etc than jogging about outside a stadium ......may need a lot of strengthening work still

Aye. I have two legs of my own :wink:. I’m sure it’ll be the medical staff that make the decision.

09-02-2020, 04:02 PM

He has a lot of gym work to go yet.

09-02-2020, 04:02 PM
I think he's useful replacing Allan late in the game when Allan is tiring.

09-02-2020, 04:03 PM
It went like this.

End.

Boyler was using that middle line for 4 months.

09-02-2020, 04:13 PM
Hopfully fit for the SC final

09-02-2020, 04:19 PM
A very good and important player for us.

Hope recovery goes well for him and looking forward to having him back available.

09-02-2020, 04:21 PM
Aye. I have two legs of my own :wink:. I’m sure it’ll be the medical staff that make the decision.

Occasionally it is worth coming on here

09-02-2020, 04:26 PM
A very good and important player for us.

Hope recovery goes well for him and looking forward to having him back available.

Me too

09-02-2020, 04:39 PM
Boyler was using that middle line for 4 months.

Never spoke to him.

JammyDoidger
09-02-2020, 05:31 PM
It went like this.

End.

I heard around Christmas time him and JR aren't seeing eye to eye, took it with a pinch of salt, may be something in it after all.

09-02-2020, 05:40 PM
I heard around Christmas time him and JR aren't seeing eye to eye, took it with a pinch of salt, may be something in it after all.

Think that was all a load of nonsense as there was rumours of him hitting on Mallans bird at the Christmas do.

Found to be a load rubbish and that she wasn’t even in attendance.

09-02-2020, 05:42 PM

Aw naw, who started this ****ty thread.....

09-02-2020, 05:54 PM

Lol

09-02-2020, 06:02 PM
Who told you he was 6 to 8 weeks away fro m full fitness?

09-02-2020, 07:46 PM
Think that was all a load of nonsense as there was rumours of him hitting on Mallans bird at the Christmas do.

Made up by a jambo no doubt.

09-02-2020, 07:52 PM
Who told you he was 6 to 8 weeks away fro m full fitness?

No one - that was someone else who shared that on this thread [emoji106]. I never have any info ! :)

09-02-2020, 07:54 PM
Someone with 7 posts ‘heard’ around Christmas about bad blood.........🤔

09-02-2020, 08:31 PM
Bad blood is on Netflix [emoji106]

09-02-2020, 08:32 PM
That Mallan - JR 'spat' thing was complete nonsense derived from a fake story spread from a WhatsApp screenshot on twitter. That's all BarryG will have heard.

It'll be good to have Mallan back available ASAP, Allan usually needs to come off in games and Stevie provides some specialist attacking attributes.

sean04
10-02-2020, 08:40 AM
Think he gets a raw deal from supporters, asked the play a role that isn’t suited to him. Would like to see him further forward, getting shots away

10-02-2020, 08:55 AM
Think he gets a raw deal from supporters, asked the play a role that isn’t suited to him. Would like to see him further forward, getting shots away

He never made that role his own first season and he definitely isn't better at it than Allan so he is rightfully not playing there.

Other than shooting he really doesn't have great attributes to play there anyway.

10-02-2020, 08:58 AM
I don't understand the Mallan negativity. He has strengths and like any other player, points for development.

His attacking stats are excellent.

10-02-2020, 08:58 AM
Occasionally it is worth coming on here

:agree: I too laughed out loud at that. :faf:

10-02-2020, 09:02 AM
I don't understand the Mallan negativity. He has strengths and like any other player, points for development.

One of my favourite hibs players

10-02-2020, 09:13 AM

On of my favourite hibs players

:agree::agree::agree:

And still young with room to improve as well.

10-02-2020, 09:21 AM

He's been hung out to dry by managers playing him in positions not suited to his strengths as a player and a lot of folk have got on his back as a result of his poor performances there.

Whilst Scott Allan is looking tired and having a wee dip in form, he'd be the perfect replacement in that role.

sean04
10-02-2020, 09:56 AM
He never made that role his own first season and he definitely isn't better at it than Allan so he is rightfully not playing there.

Other than shooting he really doesn't have great attributes to play there anyway.

He’s a young guy who’s being asked to play that deep role, tracking runners and tackling aren’t what he is about. Think his confidence took a bit hit and wasn’t able to effect games because he was to deep. He’s another option for that no.10 role which Allan hasn’t been that great recently. Great range of passing and can score goals. Hopefully can shine under Jack Ross

sauzee=legend
10-02-2020, 10:11 AM
He was the player who attended hospitality when we played st mirren.
His words where “I aim to be back around the international window in March”

10-02-2020, 10:25 AM

They might be but he is a man short in anything defensively minded, marking, tackling or matching a run ... I agree if anything he is Allan's replacement when needed in some games ...but not as a replacement who needs to give us any physical presence.

random sub
10-02-2020, 10:46 AM
Have also heard rumours of a fall out. Hope not, Stevie could be a big player for us in the run in, goals and glory.

JammyDoidger
10-02-2020, 11:51 AM

Happy days then, but yeah I don't think he's been a miss anyway tbh, think docherty and omeonga give us more, although I do love w Mallan wonder strike, they just don't happen as often now unfortunately, and if he doesn't bring that he doesn't bring much else for me.

10-02-2020, 11:58 AM
He’s a young guy who’s being asked to play that deep role, tracking runners and tackling aren’t what he is about. Think his confidence took a bit hit and wasn’t able to effect games because he was to deep. He’s another option for that no.10 role which Allan hasn’t been that great recently. Great range of passing and can score goals. Hopefully can shine under Jack Ross

Decent range of passing, not great. Gives it away plenty. Can score goals but hasn't consistently for a while.

Allan starts every time ahead of him tbh.

10-02-2020, 12:19 PM
Mallan was brought in to play the attacking midfielder role but unfortunately Allan also became available a year after he signed, both players are similar and we can't afford to play them in the same team. He has tried to adapt to a deeper role but it hasn't worked out there, it's a pity as I feel he has the right toos to play the deep playmaking role.

10-02-2020, 12:59 PM
I like him. Think people forget how young he is.

10-02-2020, 04:07 PM

So do I. Has done well when coming off the bench recently including the Derby. Also scored a brilliant goal in the home Derby.

10-02-2020, 08:58 PM
Other than goals and assists, what have the Romans ever done for us?

10-02-2020, 09:01 PM
His corners were something to behold in his first season. Hadn’t had someone send a ball in like that since Riordan. Scoring from it was another matter but he could put some spank on it.

10-02-2020, 09:09 PM

This is very true. I had to look twice if I’m honest and he had parked right behind me. He is very youthful and he could’ve been any trackie wearing radge but one with a good jog, good dead ball technique and no obvious limp. Sure it was him though.

12-02-2020, 01:46 PM
His corners were something to behold in his first season. Hadn’t had someone send a ball in like that since Riordan. Scoring from it was another matter but he could put some spank on it.
Remember Griffiths scoring direct from a corner for us but can’t remember Deeks but it could be my memory.

12-02-2020, 02:03 PM
I quite liked David Zitelli's corners too. Like trying to put the head on an Exocet missile..... :greengrin

12-02-2020, 02:04 PM
I quite liked David Zitelli's corners too. Like trying to put the head on an Exocet missile..... :greengrin

Hands down the best deliveries in recent times. Just watch the highlights of the 6-2 game!

12-02-2020, 02:21 PM
Naw

Liam Henderson

The postman always rings twice 😁