View Full Version : Philip Schofield

07-02-2020, 10:34 AM
Apparently he has come out. Always thought him and Holly were at it. Guess that knocks that on the head then.

07-02-2020, 10:40 AM
Apparently he has come out. Always thought him and Holly were at it. Guess that knocks that on the head then.

Wow. I just fell of my seat in surprise.

07-02-2020, 10:44 AM
Wow. I just fell of my seat in surprise.

That'll sell a few more widgets for a week or so.

07-02-2020, 10:46 AM
He should be happier now he's not living with his sexuality hidden, his wife and daughters are understanding and his extended family and friends are supportive.

Good luck to him moving into a new stage of his life. I hope there is plenty support for all concerned.

wpj
07-02-2020, 11:21 AM
Genuinely suprised at this but hope he and his family are supported. I really hope there isn't a more sinister reason for his coming out like a shock red top story. Just let them adjust to things naturally.

07-02-2020, 11:23 AM
Meh

07-02-2020, 11:36 AM
Genuinely suprised at this but hope he and his family are supported. I really hope there isn't a more sinister reason for his coming out like a shock red top story. Just let them adjust to things naturally.

I'm surprised that people are surprised as it was common knowledge (and not just rumour) among certain of my friends before I left Edinburgh 15+ years ago.

07-02-2020, 11:38 AM
I'm surprised that things like this are even newsworthy anymore.

07-02-2020, 11:39 AM

07-02-2020, 11:42 AM

I'm not unfortunately given the standard of "news" in the MSM.

wpj
07-02-2020, 11:43 AM
I'm surprised that people are surprised as it was common knowledge (and not just rumour) among certain of my friends before I left Edinburgh 15+ years ago.

I don't get out much tbh or pay much attention to things that don't affect me directly so I get suprised when I hear stuff like this. I doubt it will matter much in the longer term.

07-02-2020, 11:45 AM

I think it's a case of controlling the narrative. The gutter press would love a 'This Mornings Phil in Gay Sex Scandal' headline.

He's taken that away from them and made people aware on his terms.

07-02-2020, 12:01 PM

I feel a bit sorry for his missus and kids but really, who cares?

07-02-2020, 01:05 PM
It still doesn’t make him interesting!

07-02-2020, 02:06 PM
I hope Gordon gets the justice he deserves.

07-02-2020, 02:15 PM

These type of statements always surface after the fact.

07-02-2020, 02:17 PM
I was more shocked when he revealed himself to be a Tory.
This sort of thing is calculated to grab headlines, although I'm surprised it's still an issue really. It'll be chip paper in a week.

Now if Holly came out as well ........

07-02-2020, 02:59 PM
These type of statements always surface after the fact.What are you implying? If I was going to try to impress people by pretending to be ITK after the event, it wouldn't involve Philip Schofield and his sexual orientation.

I was honestly surprised to see this making the news today as I assumed that everybody knew.

Renfrew_Hibby
07-02-2020, 03:45 PM
I would be shocked if he'd come out as straight.

07-02-2020, 03:47 PM
I'm guessing his wife and kids already knew. My wife isn't homophobic but I reckon if I went home and told her I was gay, she's be pretty Peed off.

07-02-2020, 04:16 PM
I see all the "hilarious" memes about him sexually abusing Gordon are doing the rounds already. Obviously they're funny because being gay automatically means you're a rapist. :rolleyes:

07-02-2020, 04:19 PM
I see all the "hilarious" memes about him sexually abusing Gordon are doing the rounds already. Obviously they're funny because being gay automatically means you're a rapist. :rolleyes:

Who’s Gordon

07-02-2020, 04:24 PM
Who’s GordonGordon the gopher.

07-02-2020, 04:26 PM

It's only a bit of harmless fun.

07-02-2020, 04:50 PM
It's only a bit of gormless fun.

Fixed that for you.

07-02-2020, 05:10 PM

Would you cheer up if I posted the Michael Barrymore/Philip Schofield one I've just received?

*By the way, Gordon the Gopher isn't real - if he was it'd be beastiality we'd be laughing at, not rape :rolleyes:

07-02-2020, 05:24 PM
Who’s Gordon He's a moron

07-02-2020, 05:26 PM
Would you cheer up if I posted the Michael Barrymore/Philip Schofield one I've just received?

*By the way, Gordon the Gopher isn't real - if he was it'd be beastiality we'd be laughing at, not rape :rolleyes:Gordon the Gopher isn't real?? FFS, next you'll be telling me Bungle is a guy in a bear suit and Zippy was a puppet.

Say it's not true.

07-02-2020, 05:29 PM
Gordon the Gopher isn't real?? FFS, next you'll be telling me Bungle is a guy in a bear suit and Zippy was a puppet.

Say it's not true.

Bungle was definitely a real bear - and when I say bear I think you know what I mean 😉

07-02-2020, 05:33 PM
Bungle was definitely a real bear - and when I say bear I think you know what I mean [emoji6]Ah, relief, now what do you know about Geoffrey? [emoji6]

07-02-2020, 05:35 PM
Ah, relief, now what do you know about Geoffrey? [emoji6]

Bi-George don't ruin my childhood memories

07-02-2020, 05:55 PM
What are you implying? If I was going to try to impress people by pretending to be ITK after the event, it wouldn't involve Philip Schofield and his sexual orientation.

I was honestly surprised to see this making the news today as I assumed that everybody knew.

I am implying that it wasn’t common knowledge amongst anyone 15+ years ago at all. It may have been suggested or implied by some but common knowledge I do not believe.

07-02-2020, 06:03 PM
I am implying that it wasn’t common knowledge amongst anyone 15+ years ago at all. It may have been suggested or implied by some but common knowledge I do not believe.Well over 15 years ago he appeared in both 'Joseph' & Dr Dolittle at the Playhouse. I knew a good few people on the production/backstage side. Between them & in our circle of friends it was common knowledge (which neither bothered nor surprised me).

You believe what you want.

07-02-2020, 06:09 PM
Well over 15 years ago he appeared in both 'Joseph' & Dr Dolittle at the Playhouse. I knew a good few people on the production/backstage side. Between them & in our circle of friends it was common knowledge (which neither bothered nor surprised me).

You believe what you want. Over 25 years ago.

07-02-2020, 06:10 PM
Bungle was definitely a real bear - and when I say bear I think you know what I mean 😉

He was orange right enough!

EH6 Hibby
07-02-2020, 06:30 PM

Seriously? That’s just looking to take offence at something.

If you don’t see the childish humour in the fact that someone obviously had their hand up the gopher puppets backside to operate it. I can guarantee you that not one person has looked at one of those memes and thought that Philip Schofield is a rapist because he’s gay.

wpj
07-02-2020, 06:43 PM
He's a moron

🙂

07-02-2020, 06:44 PM

If you don’t see the childish humour in the fact that someone obviously had their hand up the gopher puppets backside to operate it. I can guarantee you that not one person has looked at one of those memes and thought that Philip Schofield is a rapist because he’s gay.

I don't think it's in the least offensive, nor is it funny though.

I think it explains perfectly why this is still news. Had Schofield announced today he had left his wife because he was in a relationship with Holly Willoughby the reaction would have been 'top ****ger', 'what a lad', 'legend' etc. He has announced he is gay and it's 'guy was probably ****ging a puppet 35 years ago'.

Joke or not it shows a difference in attitudes.

07-02-2020, 07:00 PM
Watched Holly tell everyone, and before she got to the point, the way he was behaving on the sofa i genuinely thought his secret was he was a Hearts fan.

07-02-2020, 07:58 PM

The joke only works if you buy into the fact that now he's openly gay he's a pervert of some kind. If the joke was made yesterday I'd accept what you say but it's no coincidence that these memes have cropped up today. The reason he's probably felt the need to live a lie is because of exactly this kind of stigma.

07-02-2020, 08:18 PM
I know a few people in certain industries down in London that will tell you that this has been a "worst kept secret" for quite some time.

07-02-2020, 10:10 PM
The joke only works if you buy into the fact that now he's openly gay he's a pervert of some kind. If the joke was made yesterday I'd accept what you say but it's no coincidence that these memes have cropped up today. The reason he's probably felt the need to live a lie is because of exactly this kind of stigma.

Too far, just stop with your sanctimonious proper right on pish.

07-02-2020, 10:26 PM

There’s been jokes about him and the puppet from his show ever since it was first on TV, when it was presumed he was straight. The jokes aren’t new, they’re only being made now because he’s prominent in the news today, not because he’s actually come out.

Frankhfc
07-02-2020, 10:31 PM

I'm with you on this and that its not okay to make fun of a man whose been probably in private torment over his sexuality and his worst fears have come true that he's being ridiculed by some who've still to grow up.

Its okay to be slightly different and human.

07-02-2020, 10:33 PM

Nah it's not pish, they're spot on. The fact that it's now suddenly a joke is exactly why it's problematic. Wanting to **** a puppet has nothing to do with a person being gay or straight, it has everything to do with somebody being sexually deranged. That's the basis of the joke, so it's just coincidental that it's being made left, right and centre now he's out? Nonsense. It just shows that some people still have inherent biases about gay people, and those trying to defend it with some nonsensical diatribe about how the PC brigade are at it again only serve to highlight the ignorance that's still present in so many people.

07-02-2020, 10:34 PM

What is it he said that you object to?

It seems accurate to me.

07-02-2020, 10:38 PM

:bitchy:

07-02-2020, 10:39 PM

Nope, I'll stick to my guns. What we're witnessing now is casual homophobic stigma. It's straight out of the Bernard Manning 70's Queer joke book and the reason why people feel the need to live a lie.

07-02-2020, 10:42 PM
There’s been jokes about him and the puppet from his show ever since it was first on TV, when it was presumed he was straight. The jokes aren’t new, they’re only being made now because he’s prominent in the news today, not because he’s actually come out.

So it's just coincidence that less than 24 hours after he's come out that social media is awash with jokes about him sexually abusing a puppet? Aye right.

07-02-2020, 10:43 PM
I'm with you on this and that its not okay to make fun of a man whose been probably in private torment over his sexuality and his worst fears have come true that he's being ridiculed by some who've still to grow up.

Its okay to be slightly different and human.

Thanks, I was beginning to think I was alone on this.

07-02-2020, 10:45 PM
So it's just coincidence that less than 24 hours after he's come out that social media is awash with jokes about him sexually abusing a puppet? Aye right.

It’s not a coincidence, no. However if he’d had an affair, for example, I think we’d be seeing the same jokes going about IMO.

07-02-2020, 10:45 PM
Nah it's not pish, they're spot on. The fact that it's now suddenly a joke is exactly why it's problematic. Wanting to **** a puppet has nothing to do with a person being gay or straight, it has everything to do with somebody being sexually deranged. That's the basis of the joke, so it's just coincidental that it's being made left, right and centre now he's out? Nonsense. It just shows that some people still have inherent biases about gay people, and those trying to defend it with some nonsensical diatribe about how the PC brigade are at it again only serve to highlight the ignorance that's still present in so many people.

Amen. Much more eloquently put than I did.

07-02-2020, 10:49 PM
It’s not a coincidence, no. However if he’d had an affair, for example, I think we’d be seeing the same jokes going about IMO.

If he'd had an affair then maybe, but just maybe he might have deserved some kind of backlash. But finally coming out after feeling the need to live a lie for 57 years only to find out that his worse fears are actually reality is pretty sickening. You choose to have affairs, you can't choose your sexuality.

Frankhfc
07-02-2020, 10:50 PM
Thanks, I was beginning to think I was alone on this.

Definitely not alone in standing up for those who don't deserve such oppression and ridicule from some who don't know better but should. Good on you though mate for standing you're ground. We don't choose sexuality, we're not all the same but we're all human.

07-02-2020, 10:52 PM
Definitely not alone in standing up for those who don't deserve such oppression and ridicule from some who don't know better but should. Good on you though mate for standing you're ground. We don't choose sexuality, we're not all the same but we're all human.

Thanks Frank, we're awe Jock Tamson's bairns.

Frankhfc
07-02-2020, 10:55 PM
Thanks Frank, we're awe Jock Tamson's bairns.

Exactly :aok:

07-02-2020, 10:58 PM
If he'd had an affair then maybe, but just maybe he might have deserved some kind of backlash. But finally coming out after feeling the need to live a lie for 57 years only to find out that his worse fears are actually reality is pretty sickening. You choose to have affairs, you can't choose your sexuality.

I was merely giving an example to show that I didn’t think the jokes were specifically because he had come out. They were the same jokes he’d had when he was presumed to be straight, would be the same if he’d had an affair IMO, and the same now that he’s come out. Whether coming out, affairs etc etc, merit abuse and ridicule is a different argument.

07-02-2020, 11:04 PM

Agree with you here.

It's a symptom of the times we live in, even when we should be considering ourselves as a fairly open minded generation that he's felt the need to bottle his feelings inside for so long - which must have been very difficult.

The fact it's been met with some ridiculous jokes and comments is a bit embarrassing and only serves to prolong the environment where people don't feel comfortable "admitting" who they are.

07-02-2020, 11:10 PM
What is it he said that you object to?

It seems accurate to me.

This is about a 57 y/o guy declaring he is gay
Nothing else to see .
You've obviously read the thread

07-02-2020, 11:14 PM
Nope, I'll stick to my guns. What we're witnessing now is casual homophobic stigma. It's straight out of the Bernard Manning 70's Queer joke book and the reason why people feel the need to live a lie.

Ffs, really?
Yes I've seen the posts before my reply to you.
I'll stick.

07-02-2020, 11:17 PM
Precious times

Does my box in.

07-02-2020, 11:19 PM
Precious times

Does my box in.

Imagine being upset that people don't find homophobia funny anymore.

Does my box in.

07-02-2020, 11:32 PM
Imagine being upset that people don't find homophobia funny anymore.

Does my box in.

Imagine trying to judge what people think.

07-02-2020, 11:39 PM

Purely judging what you and others have written.

If what you've said doesn't properly represent what you think, that's not my fault.

08-02-2020, 12:29 AM
Can you “sexually abuse” a non living thing? Like a bit of material?

Frankhfc
08-02-2020, 01:45 AM

Its not that at all though is it?

Its protecting vulnerable people from lynch mobs and bullies who think they've got the right to spread hatred and hurt to those who might be slightly different from said mobs and bullies.

08-02-2020, 05:30 AM

What on earth are you on about?

08-02-2020, 06:07 AM
What on earth are you on about?

It's obvious enough without an explanation.

08-02-2020, 06:16 AM
It's obvious enough without an explanation.

Not to me it isn’t, so humour me and explain.

08-02-2020, 07:11 AM
Not to me it isn’t, so humour me and explain.

Aye very good.
This is getting a little silly.

08-02-2020, 07:19 AM
Aye very good.
This is getting a little silly.

Look the only thing getting silly is you, you posted a response that I have no idea what it actually means so I have asked you to explain it.
That’s simple enough surely? I’m not on the wind up either, it’s a genuine request to explain your response.

08-02-2020, 07:55 AM
Look the only thing getting silly is you, you posted a response that I have no idea what it actually means so I have asked you to explain it.
That’s simple enough surely? I’m not on the wind up either, it’s a genuine request to explain your response.

Ok,
I'm taking offence at the take offence at anything brigade.
It's pathetic, and very obviously my own opinion.

08-02-2020, 07:59 AM
Ok,

There really should be a separate thread for people to vent the offence they take at everything

08-02-2020, 08:20 AM
Ok,

It's clear that nobody is jumping in and saying 'you can't say those things, it's offensive to me!' you're just manufacturing that conflict in your own head because it fits the false perception you have that people are overly sensitive now.

More folks just aren't homophobic and don't find lazy humour based on homophobia funny, that's so obviously a good thing but somehow it offends you.

As you say, it is pathetic and very much your own opinion.

08-02-2020, 08:23 AM
Ok,

Fair enough, thanks for explaining 👍

08-02-2020, 08:36 AM
It's clear that nobody is jumping in and saying 'you can't say those things, it's offensive to me!' you're just manufacturing that conflict in your own head because it fits the false perception you have that people are overly sensitive now.

More folks just aren't homophobic and don't find lazy humour based on homophobia funny, that's so obviously a good thing but somehow it offends you.

As you say, it is pathetic and very much your own opinion.

Haha really?
Maybe read the thread again to get the gist of it.
You're only the 2nd poster to mention the word homophobic in the entirety of this thread.

You seem offended, I think.

08-02-2020, 08:42 AM
Haha really?
Maybe read the thread again to get the gist of it.
You're only the 2nd poster to mention the word homophobic in the entirety of this thread.

You seem offended, I think.

I'm plenty aware of what's been said on this thread and I know exactly where you got involved. You claimed a poster was writing 'sanctimonious pish' when they were in fact raising a very reasonable and pertinent point about the casual homophobia that laces the jokes being made about Philip Schofield.

I'm not a gay man, therfore I'm not offended by the jokes, but I'm not so ignorant that I'm unable to see why they're clearly representative of a group of people who simply can't let go of their stigmas against gay people. That's left to you.

Pointing out the troubling connotations of unfunny memes spread about a gay man, nah, rather - PC snowflake millenials at it again!!! Yawn.

08-02-2020, 09:07 AM
I'm plenty aware of what's been said on this thread and I know exactly where you got involved. You claimed a poster was writing 'sanctimonious pish' when they were in fact raising a very reasonable and pertinent point about the casual homophobia that laces the jokes being made about Philip Schofield.

I'm not a gay man, therfore I'm not offended by the jokes, but I'm not so ignorant that I'm unable to see why they're clearly representative of a group of people who simply can't let go of their stigmas against gay people. That's left to you.

Pointing out the troubling connotations of unfunny memes spread about a gay man, nah, rather - PC snowflake millenials at it again!!! Yawn.

You're now posting sanctimonious pish because I had a different viewpoint.
It's a thread in a forum where posters can agree/disagree whatever the subject.
Whether you think I'm ignorant or not is entirely your opinion.and quite honestly I couldn't give a hoot.

08-02-2020, 09:11 AM
Whether you think I'm ignorant or not is entirely your opinion.and quite honestly I couldn't give a hoot.

This post from you better demonstrates my point than I ever could, so I'll happily leave it there.

^ ☺

08-02-2020, 09:28 AM
This post from you better demonstrates my point than I ever could, so I'll happily leave it there.

^ ☺

Thank **** for that.

08-02-2020, 09:39 AM
Thank **** for that.

Another well made point. 👏

08-02-2020, 10:33 AM
Another well made point. 👏

Yep, I'll happily give you your percepted morale high ground.

08-02-2020, 05:50 PM
Unless I missed out on something, Cowan and Cosgrove we’re having a laugh at Schofield’s expense on Off The Ball earlier today. I couldn’t believe how homophobic they came across.

08-02-2020, 08:12 PM

You're viewpoint would appear to be that you think people who speak out against homophobia are sanctimonious. If you think that speaking out against homophobia is just people attempting to make a show of being morally superior then it speaks volumes about you. Any other prejudices you consider above criticism?

08-02-2020, 08:27 PM

^^100% this.
I remember daft playground jokes about this when Schofield was first on kids BBC tele (pre internet, pre fake social media outrage)

08-02-2020, 08:30 PM

Read your last sentence again.
Then tell me how you go about explaining your think to the guys WIFE and 2 CHILDREN.....

08-02-2020, 08:44 PM
Then tell me how you go about explaining your think to the guys WIFE and 2 CHILDREN.....

I take it your realise men can be attracted to
Men and women ? His last sentence is perfectly clear and understandable..

08-02-2020, 09:33 PM

??

08-02-2020, 09:38 PM

Of course. But I didn't realise Mr Schofield had 'come out' as bisexual.

08-02-2020, 10:30 PM
Ok,

You went to "The University of Life" I assume? I personally don't care 2 hoots about Schofield's Sexuality and "journey", plenty of people in far less rosy pecuniary and family situations go through the same thing, but he's on the public eye and if him coming out helps one "in the closet" guy or girl to feel they can come out and live the life they want to lead then fair play.

08-02-2020, 11:12 PM

I get men can be attracted to other men and women. What I don't get is that if he had come out and said that he was attracted to and was having sex with a load of other women over the course of his marriage, there would be calls for his head. It seems to me that because he's come out and said he's gay its fine, but to me its not. Cheating is cheating in my book and it shouldnt matter if its with another man or woman.

09-02-2020, 12:08 AM
This thread has been hilarious at points.

Man comes out as gay. So what?

Man had a wife and children and then came out as gay, so what?

Sexuality, or indeed gender, can be dynamic or fluid for some of us humans. So what?

Little to see here.

HibernianJK
09-02-2020, 02:20 AM
Rumours circulating that he had an affair with 18 year old boy who was a runner on his ITV show. This resulted in the boy resigning. Make of that what you will.

09-02-2020, 05:11 AM
Of course. But I didn't realise Mr Schofield had 'come out' as bisexual.

Lol. I feel you are taking the term “gay” too narrowly and literally.

09-02-2020, 05:12 AM
I get men can be attracted to other men and women. What I don't get is that if he had come out and said that he was attracted to and was having sex with a load of other women over the course of his marriage, there would be calls for his head. It seems to me that because he's come out and said he's gay its fine, but to me its not. Cheating is cheating in my book and it shouldnt matter if its with another man or woman.

True, that is more an issue for his wife and him ... that said, I suspect those types of stories will start to feature in the press...

09-02-2020, 06:15 AM

Has there been any confirmation, beyond the one social media rumour, that he cheated on his wife? It's a bit of a leap from 'I'm gay' to 'he's been having sex with loads of men'.

It's perfectly plausible he has found himself attracted to men over the years but hasn't actually acted on it. I think as the story unfolds if it is revealed he was unfaithful then public opinion probably will shift. Then again maybe his wife was aware and happy for it to happen. Human sexuality is a broad spectrum and there is data that suggests about 5% of heterosexual couples are in open relationships.

09-02-2020, 07:05 AM
It's a bit odd that rumours of Derek McKay chatting up teenage boys see him crucified and suspended. The same sort of rumours for Phil and he's getting hugs and kisses on breakfast tv with massive outpourings of public sympathy

09-02-2020, 07:31 AM
It's a bit odd that rumours of Derek McKay chatting up teenage boys

"Rumours"? :confused:

09-02-2020, 07:50 AM
It's a bit odd that rumours of Derek McKay chatting up teenage boys see him crucified and suspended. The same sort of rumours for Phil and he's getting hugs and kisses on breakfast tv with massive outpourings of public sympathy

I think they're wildly different levels of "rumour" at the moment. They're not even close to being comparable situations.

Schofield has said that he's never slept with a man before - whether that's true or not may or may not come out down the line, but personally I'd take his word for it over anyone else's.

A lot of the sympathy is more around the fact he and his family have been living a lie for so many years. A lie necessitated by the way society treats (or in some cases, treated) gay people.

09-02-2020, 08:02 AM
I think they're wildly different levels of "rumour" at the moment. They're not even close to being comparable situations.

Schofield has said that he's never slept with a man before - whether that's true or not may or may not come out down the line, but personally I'd take his word for it over anyone else's.

A lot of the sympathy is more around the fact he and his family have been living a lie for so many years. A lie necessitated by the way society treats (or in some cases, treated) gay people.

My gripe has nothing to do with Phillip Schofield or any sympathy he might or might not get. My gripe is about the automatic presumption that someone who came out about his homosexuality then being portrayed as some kind of pervert immediately afterwards. Its blatantly obvious that in some people's heads there's still a direct correlation between homosexuality and deviant behaviour. It doesn't offend me, how can it as I'm not in the firing line, but it does make me sad that in 2020 this kind of ignorance still prevails.

09-02-2020, 08:14 AM
My gripe has nothing to do with Phillip Schofield or any sympathy he might or might not get. My gripe is about the automatic presumption that someone who came out about his homosexuality then being portrayed as some kind of pervert immediately afterwards. Its blatantly obvious that in some people's heads there's still a direct correlation between homosexuality and deviant behaviour. It doesn't offend me, how can it as I'm not in the firing line, but it does make me sad that in 2020 this kind of ignorance still prevails.

:agree: It's sad.

09-02-2020, 09:22 AM

Spot on

09-02-2020, 09:58 AM
I was watching the documentary about Michael Barrymore and at the time (as well as thinking about the whole affair about the way he's conducted himself in regards to Stuart Lubbock) was how much attitudes to sexuality had changed; after Barrymore came out there was a phone in poll on breakfast TV on whether viewers thought he could return to family TV.

I'm kind of disappointed in how some of the reaction to Phillip Schofield has played out. People slating him for "lying to his wife for over 20 years" when sexuality is a fluid thing, can change and in this case he's been honest with his life, casual homophobia masquerading as pish, tired jokes and memes, rumours about what (and who) he's done etc.

There's been lots of very positive messages to him - in fact the majority of them, but it's saddening to see that old attitudes can still clearly make it difficult for someone to come out as gay in 2020.

09-02-2020, 10:48 AM
Rumours circulating that he had an affair with 18 year old boy who was a runner on his ITV show. This resulted in the boy resigning. Make of that what you will.

What's the implication here? That he wasn't planning to come out as gay but that the possibility of a scandal hitting the headlines forced his hand?

09-02-2020, 11:46 AM
I was watching the documentary about Michael Barrymore and at the time (as well as thinking about the whole affair about the way he's conducted himself in regards to Stuart Lubbock) was how much attitudes to sexuality had changed; after Barrymore came out there was a phone in poll on breakfast TV on whether viewers thought he could return to family TV.

I'm kind of disappointed in how some of the reaction to Phillip Schofield has played out. People slating him for "lying to his wife for over 20 years" when sexuality is a fluid thing, can change and in this case he's been honest with his life, casual homophobia masquerading as pish, tired jokes and memes, rumours about what (and who) he's done etc.

There's been lots of very positive messages to him - in fact the majority of them, but it's saddening to see that old attitudes can still clearly make it difficult for someone to come out as gay in 2020.

:agree: It's similar to racism in many cases, some people don't consider themselves to be homophobic but their words and actions tell a different story.

09-02-2020, 11:48 AM
What's the implication here? That he wasn't planning to come out as gay but that the possibility of a scandal hitting the headlines forced his hand?

There might be some truth in this, there might not be. I'm sure the press will be delighted to tell us if there is.

09-02-2020, 01:14 PM
:agree: It's similar to racism in many cases, some people don't consider themselves to be homophobic but their words and actions tell a different story.

I know the debate has moved on a bit, but I agree with a lot of what’s been said on this thread and also a lot of what you said. I just thought it can be all too easy to automatically conflate the childish jokes about Gordon the Gofer and Schoefield and him coming out and conclude that the basis of the joke is that there’s a link between being gay and deviant behaviour. Which I might agree with if the jokes hadn’t been being made for decades when it was presumed he was straight.

09-02-2020, 02:17 PM
This is a whole world away from the days when a magazine tried to "out " Jason Donovan. I am disappointed that there seems to be a lack of appetite for a reasoned or even adult discussion about this. This looks like more fuel for the awful furnace of social media and more games of gobsh*te tennis.

HibernianJK
09-02-2020, 09:30 PM

Pretty much yes. Just what I’ve seen on social media and depends how much you trust that.

09-02-2020, 10:33 PM
Pretty much yes. Just what I’ve seen on social media and depends how much you trust that.

The social media frenzy to discredit him is total bollox in my opinion, there-always has to be another angle for some folk.

Frankhfc
09-02-2020, 11:45 PM
I know the debate has moved on a bit, but I agree with a lot of what’s been said on this thread and also a lot of what you said. I just thought it can be all too easy to automatically conflate the childish jokes about Gordon the Gofer and Schoefield and him coming out and conclude that the basis of the joke is that there’s a link between being gay and deviant behaviour. Which I might agree with if the jokes hadn’t been being made for decades when it was presumed he was straight.

Straight - what does that actually mean?

Upright, Moral, Conscientious?

Get you.

10-02-2020, 10:12 AM
The social media frenzy to discredit him is total bollox in my opinion, there-always has to be another angle for some folk.

It's a shocking thing when Joan Collins is taking on an investigative journalist role right under the nose of Piers Morgan, a reputable journalist.

pollution
10-02-2020, 11:29 AM
He thought he was gay when he got married, according to the BBC news.

20 odd years of pretence. Poor wife and family.

If I were him I would not have come out. He has put his mental comfort before his family's.

There is nothing new in this situation; silence is the best resort imo.

12-02-2020, 11:43 AM
Straight - what does that actually mean?

Upright, Moral, Conscientious?

Get you.

It means heterosexual as you well know. Is the word 'straight' considered offensive in this context?

12-02-2020, 12:22 PM
I read quite an interesting article last week about the reaction to Schofield and how it compares to other peoples experiences.

For the most part PS has seen a very positive and supportive reaction to his statement about his sexuality. In the same week Jameela Jamil (an actress and activist) announced, also on social media, that she was queer. The reaction was very different despite the story being in many ways the same (emotional confusion, struggled for years, finally come to terms with it etc). Part of the reason put forward is that people understand what gay is, it's been a word used in the same way for years and spans generations. Queer on the other hand is misunderstood and is in many people's eyes still an anti gay slur from a couple of decades ago. The reclamation of it by a younger generation to, for lack of a better word, categorise themselves as different in terms of sexuality and/or gender is alien to a lot of people.

It's an interesting theory. Most people are now familiar and, generally speaking, comfortable with words like lesbian, gay, bisexual, transsexual and so on because we have heard them for years and we know what they mean. However when confronted with a term like queer, pansexual or polysexual it's easy to become uncomfortable because of an ignorance about what the term means and in what ways it is the same or different from 'just gay'. For many years a lot of people have felt uncomfortable being lumped into the simplicity of straight, gay or bi because they simply don't fit. It's easy to make jokes about how LGBT has become LGBTKYXRYSD but if you have struggled your whole life to understand your sexuality and attractions then it must be huge relief to know there are other people like you and who identify as such.

Ultimately everyone isn't going to know the correct terms for peoples sexual preferences and, on a different subject, the preferred terms for different races and ethnicities or how to address married and unmarried women or so on. I think where that is a problem is when it becomes willful ignorance. Is it really a huge amount of effort to google what different terms mean if you are confronted by them? There are pretty clear definitions and explanations available. Not understanding something is fine, it happens to everyone. Blaming someone else for your lack of understanding of what they are is a different ball game.

12-02-2020, 12:27 PM
I read quite an interesting article last week about the reaction to Schofield and how it compares to other peoples experiences.

For the most part PS has seen a very positive and supportive reaction to his statement about his sexuality. In the same week Jameela Jamil (an actress and activist) announced, also on social media, that she was queer. The reaction was very different despite the story being in many ways the same (emotional confusion, struggled for years, finally come to terms with it etc). Part of the reason put forward is that people understand what gay is, it's been a word used in the same way for years and spans generations. Queer on the other hand is misunderstood and is in many people's eyes still an anti gay slur from a couple of decades ago. The reclamation of it by a younger generation to, for lack of a better word, categorise themselves as different in terms of sexuality and/or gender is alien to a lot of people.

It's an interesting theory. Most people are now familiar and, generally speaking, comfortable with words like lesbian, gay, bisexual, transsexual and so on because we have heard them for years and we know what they mean. However when confronted with a term like queer, pansexual or polysexual it's easy to become uncomfortable because of an ignorance about what the term means and in what ways it is the same or different from 'just gay'. For many years a lot of people have felt uncomfortable being lumped into the simplicity of straight, gay or bi because they simply don't fit. It's easy to make jokes about how LGBT has become LGBTKYXRYSD but if you have struggled your whole life to understand your sexuality and attractions then it must be huge relief to know there are other people like you and who identify as such.

Ultimately everyone isn't going to know the correct terms for peoples sexual preferences and, on a different subject, the preferred terms for different races and ethnicities or how to address married and unmarried women or so on. I think where that is a problem is when it becomes willful ignorance. Is it really a huge amount of effort to google what different terms mean if you are confronted by them? There are pretty clear definitions and explanations available. Not understanding something is fine, it happens to everyone. Blaming someone else for your lack of understanding of what they are is a different ball game.

I thought queer was another, latterly derogatory, term for gay (noun or adjective). Is there now a difference?

12-02-2020, 12:33 PM

I thought "queer" and "gay" were synonymous. As in "Queer as Folk" or "Queer eye for the straight guy". Pretty sure it just related to gay men in both of those? I guess it's moved on since. I must admit I find it hard to keep up with current terminology, so god knows what it's like for my parents' generation (who will be causing most of the offence).

Every day's a school day!

12-02-2020, 12:34 PM
It means heterosexual as you well know. Is the word 'straight' considered offensive in this context?

I was once told that the term was in response to being called bent. Straight as in laced, conformist, not very adventurous.

12-02-2020, 12:35 PM
I thought queer was another, latterly derogatory, term for gay (noun or adjective). Is there now a difference?

It was and probably still is in the eyes of many. It's also been reclaimed as an umbrella term by a new generation though. Some info below:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queer

12-02-2020, 12:39 PM
It was and probably still is in the eyes of many. It's also been reclaimed as an umbrella term by a new generation though. Some info below:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queer

Is it a bit like "******" then, in that it's OK to say ******/queer if you're black/LGBTKYXRYSD (whatever the f*** all that is), but not if you aren't?

12-02-2020, 12:46 PM
Is it a bit like "******" then, in that it's OK to say ******/queer if you're black/LGBTKYXRYSD (whatever the f*** all that is), but not if you aren't?

It comes a lot more down to context than "it's OK to say it if you are but not if you aren't". Asking someone about identifing as queer and being very interested about it in conversation is very, very different to how it's often used.

Both words carry a lot of negative connotation to them and need to be handled with extreme care. It doesn't mean to say that they can't be used in the correct manner (i.e. for conversation, research, understanding etc)

12-02-2020, 12:48 PM

I think it's about context. If someone is gay and you call them queer with pejorative intent they probably won't like it. If someone identifies as queer then it's probably fine to refer to them as such.

I often find the best thing to do is just ask. Most people of different sexualities from my own that I have come across are aware not everyone understands and are quite obliging when it comes to explaining things.

12-02-2020, 12:56 PM
I think it's about context. If someone is gay and you call them queer with pejorative they probably won't like it. If someone identifies as queer then it's probably fine to refer to them as such.

I often find the best thing to do is just ask. Most people of different sexualities from my own that I have come across are aware not everyone understands and are quite obliging when it comes to explaining things.

I can't see myself ever asking that.

The amount of stick/abuse/insult that you can hurl at someone (gay, straight, black, white, ginger, fat, thin, tall, small, 100% average, whatever...) depends on various things - mostly their personality and how well you know them.

If I don't know people well then I play it safe.

12-02-2020, 04:10 PM
I can't see myself ever asking that.

The amount of stick/abuse/insult that you can hurl at someone (gay, straight, black, white, ginger, fat, thin, tall, small, 100% average, whatever...) depends on various things - mostly their personality and how well you know them.

If I don't know people well then I play it safe.

The best way to play it safe is to ask.

Whilst our gammons and right-wing press would have you believe that the world is full of people just waiting to be offended, the majority of people are just seeking to be understood - and there's nothing quite like a wee conversation to clear up how to avoid being accidentally offensive.

Slavers
14-02-2020, 09:58 AM
One word about Phillip Schofield - Stunning & Brave!

14-02-2020, 09:59 AM
One word about Phillip Schofield - Stunning & Brave!

Counting isn't your strong point either is it?

14-02-2020, 10:03 AM
Counting isn't your strong point either is it?

(It's nominative determinism.)

14-02-2020, 10:06 AM
(It's nominative determinism.)

Text book case.