View Full Version : Most Hat-tricks for Hibs

Bronson
29-01-2020, 07:18 PM
Wee bit trivia for you. Speaking to my old boy tonight about Doidge’s hat-trick and how he’s the first player to score 2 hat-tricks in the same season for hibs since 1985/86. It got us thinking, who holds the record for the most hat-tricks for hibs over the years?

We were thinking either Joe Harper, Alan Gordon, Lawrie Reilly or Gordon Smith.

Anyone know the answer?

29-01-2020, 07:24 PM
Jimmy Jimmy ORourke everyone knows his name

10 hatricks

29-01-2020, 07:29 PM
Yer da must have lived through the hippy era if he forgot Jimmy O'Rourke 😀

houstonhibbee
29-01-2020, 07:29 PM

10 hatricks

Was one of them a hat trick of penalties at Morton in a 3-0 win?

Bronson
29-01-2020, 07:30 PM

10 hatricks

Top man Billy!

Tom Hart RIP
29-01-2020, 07:33 PM
I think Lawrie got 17

29-01-2020, 07:38 PM
Lawrie Reilly 18

29-01-2020, 07:39 PM
Now that the OP's question has been answered, I was thinking about guys who surprisingly scored a hat trick for Hibs. The person I was thinking about scored his only hat trick for Hibs 35 years and three days ago. Guess who?

29-01-2020, 07:40 PM
Now that the OP's question has been answered, I was thinking about guys who surprisingly scored a hat trick for Hibs. The person I was thinking about scored his only hat trick for Hibs 35 years and three days ago. Guess who?
Ally Brazil?

29-01-2020, 07:41 PM

Benny Brazil?

29-01-2020, 07:42 PM
Steve Cowan?

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_hattricks.php

Hard to count on the phone Joe Baker 14?

wpj

Benny?

Bobo
Joe Baker scored 3 or more in a game 14 times for Hibs which included 9 against Peebles Rovers, 5 v Third Lanark, 4 v Airdrie and 4 v Hearts.

Lawrie Reilly also scored 3 or more 14 times which included 4 v Falkirk and 4 v Motherwell.

Gordon Smith score 3 or more 15 times which included 5 v Third Lanark and 4 v Falkirk.

So I'd say Gordon Smith holds the honour of scoring the most hat tricks or more?

29-01-2020, 07:48 PM

Naw two pens one goal 11/11/1972

Tom Hart RIP
29-01-2020, 08:23 PM
According to the fitba stats link Lawrie got 18

29-01-2020, 08:43 PM

Donald Ford actually did that.

Bobo
29-01-2020, 08:47 PM
According to the fitba stats link Lawrie got 18

You're right, it also shows Smith with 17 so my initial figures were wrong, will need to check which ones I missed.

cheers

29-01-2020, 09:09 PM
Reilly scored 2 hat tricks in 4 days and 7 goals in a week the following season.Joe McBride scored 7 goals in 4 days.Joe Baker scored 2 hat tricks in a week.Neil Martin scored 8 goals in a week.Jimmy O’Rourke scored 2 hat tricks in 9 days and 2 hat tricks in 11 days the same season.
Those really were the days.

29-01-2020, 09:25 PM
Reilly scored 2 hat tricks in 4 days and 7 goals in a week the following season.Joe McBride scored 7 goals in 4 days.Joe Baker scored 2 hat tricks in a week.Neil Martin scored 8 goals in a week.Jimmy O’Rourke scored 2 hat tricks in 9 days and 2 hat tricks in 11 days the same season.
Those really were the days.
Neil Martin scored the last hattrick by a Hibs player at Parkhead. Quite frightening it is so long ago.

29-01-2020, 09:34 PM
What a brilliant thread! Would love to see a league table of Hibees Hatrick Heroes! :not worth:not worth:not worth

leftfield
29-01-2020, 09:35 PM
Pat Quin a good player but not known as a prolific goal scorer got a Hat Trick against Hearts at Tynecastle with the
Hibbies giving it large with the Manfred Mann song The Mighty Quinn all the way along Gorgie Road.

29-01-2020, 09:36 PM
Neil Martin scored the last hattrick by a Hibs player at Parkhead. Quite frightening it is so long ago.

And let Jock Stein newly sitting on the Celtic bench how much he enjoyed doing it.

hibbydog
29-01-2020, 10:03 PM

21sMay
30-01-2020, 12:17 AM
Grant Brebner also got a hatrick for us which was a tad surprising at the time

30-01-2020, 04:23 AM
Special mention for mixu.

berwickhibee
30-01-2020, 05:33 AM
Remember Clayton Donaldson getting a hat trick.

sauzee=legend
30-01-2020, 05:36 AM
6-2 hat trick hero.... can’t forget Mixu!
Also, Ivan at Ibrox against the old rangers fc before they passed away.

berwickhibee
30-01-2020, 05:39 AM
Kamberi and mclaren.

confused
30-01-2020, 05:41 AM
Pat Quin a good player but not known as a prolific goal scorer got a Hat Trick against Hearts at Tynecastle with the
Hibbies giving it large with the Manfred Mann song The Mighty Quinn all the way along Gorgie Road.

Remember it well !

30-01-2020, 05:52 AM
Name the five players that have played for HIBS to have scored hatricks for Scotland?

30-01-2020, 06:20 AM
Name the five players that have played for HIBS to have scored hatricks for Scotland?

Hmmmm. Just of top of my head

Reilly
McGinn
Fletcher
stein

No idea of the other though

30-01-2020, 06:29 AM
Hmmmm. Just of top of my head

Reilly
McGinn
Fletcher
stein

No idea of the other though

Well done big man!

Just one more

30-01-2020, 07:03 AM
Well done big man!

Just one more

Ally Brazil?

30-01-2020, 07:05 AM
Ally Brazil?

Barman Stanton
30-01-2020, 08:01 AM
Well done big man!

Just one more

Scottish Cup winner Willie Groves.

30-01-2020, 08:05 AM
Scottish Cup winner Willie Groves.

Spot on!

But there is still one more making it six ex-hibbys to score hatricks for Scotland

30-01-2020, 08:06 AM
Joe Baker scored 3 or more in a game 14 times for Hibs which included 9 against Peebles Rovers, 5 v Third Lanark, 4 v Airdrie and 4 v Hearts.

Lawrie Reilly also scored 3 or more 14 times which included 4 v Falkirk and 4 v Motherwell.

Gordon Smith score 3 or more 15 times which included 5 v Third Lanark and 4 v Falkirk.

So I'd say Gordon Smith holds the honour of scoring the most hat tricks or more?

Serious question as it could affect the table. Does Joe Baker's 9 goal haul count as 3 hatricks?

Tom Hart RIP
30-01-2020, 08:10 AM

Spot on!

But there is still one more making it six ex-hibbys to score hatricks for Scotland

Alex Scott?

Just_Jimmy
30-01-2020, 08:13 AM
Name the five players that have played for HIBS to have scored hatricks for Scotland?Alex Scott in 61.

But there's two more...

Willie groves 1889 [emoji23]
Sandy McMahon 1901

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

30-01-2020, 08:32 AM
Alex Scott in 61.

But there's two more...

Willie groves 1889 [emoji23]
Sandy McMahon 1901

Takes it up to seven ex-Hibees to score hatricks for Scotland

30-01-2020, 08:39 AM

Takes it up to seven ex-Hibees to score hatricks for Scotland

You’re no Magnus Magnusson are you, Billy? :greengrin

green with envy
30-01-2020, 08:42 AM
I was there as a 12 year old at Easter Rd when I saw Joe Harper score all 5 goals in a 5-0 win in a pre-season friendly against Dutch side Nec Nijmegen. However I wasn't when he scored a hatrick in the 6-3 loss against Celtic later in the same year. For which brings me to ask if Joe Harper is the only player ever to score a hatrick in a losing cup final team?

30-01-2020, 08:50 AM
You’re no Magnus Magnusson are you, Billy? :greengrin

Yeah did not think about pre Boer War 😂

30-01-2020, 09:10 AM
Yeah did not think about pre Boer War 😂

LTYF :greengrin

30-01-2020, 09:12 AM
LTYF :greengrin

Hardly a Jambo!
🤣

30-01-2020, 09:16 AM
Hardly a Jambo!
��

I know. No offence meant!

Renfrew_Hibby
30-01-2020, 09:17 AM
I'm just amazed how rare hat-tricks seem to be for Hibs over the years. First striker to score 2 trebles in a season for 35 years? wow.

green with envy
30-01-2020, 09:25 AM
I'm just amazed how rare hat-tricks seem to be for Hibs over the years. First striker to score 2 trebles in a season for 35 years? wow.

And to think Harper done it in only 2 months.

30-01-2020, 09:39 AM
And to think Harper done it in only 2 months.

Lucky Doddie isn’t around. I miss him.

30-01-2020, 09:45 AM
Great thread. I may be biased because he was, & remains my hero but I don't think there's any doubt that Joe Baker was our most prolific scorer of all time. Some of his stats are almost beyond belief. He played much less games than Gordon & Lawrie & scored the great majority of his goals at a much younger age. Here's 3 stats only.
1. He scored over 20 goals, including 4 at PBS against champions Hearts, in his debut season. Joe was 17!
2. He scored 46 goals in 1 season. He scored in 10 consecutive games for a total of 20 goals.
3. Joe scored just under 100 goals for Hibs, 98 IIRC as a teenager.
Finally,to return to the hat trick subject, Joe scored 5 in 3 months,never mind 2 in a season.
Great player, great man.

30-01-2020, 09:50 AM

What was even more astonishing was that Pat hadn't scored for 2 years until that game. I waited outside, with Ted Brack, to see Pat after the game. Ted asked, 'is that your 1st ever hat trick Pat'? I'm seek of scoring them son, replied the bold Pat!

30-01-2020, 10:56 AM
Honourable mention to Joe McBride Snr

91 app 58 goals

5 Hatricks

Just_Jimmy
30-01-2020, 11:05 AM
Just looked at list. There's some hatricks I've forgotten about.

Sheils v ICT in the cup.
Nish, Craig, malonga, Keatings, Simon Murray all relatively recent and forgotten about.

30-01-2020, 11:52 AM
Just looked at list. There's some hatricks I've forgotten about.

Sheils v ICT in the cup.
Nish, Craig, malonga, Keatings, Simon Murray all relatively recent and forgotten about.

I'll bet a fair few have forgotten about Clayton Donaldson against Kilmarnock (IIRC)

30-01-2020, 12:09 PM
Great thread

30-01-2020, 12:53 PM

91 app 58 goals

5 Hatricks

That’s a ****ing ratio by the way

30-01-2020, 12:55 PM
Great thread. I may be biased because he was, & remains my hero but I don't think there's any doubt that Joe Baker was our most prolific scorer of all time. Some of his stats are almost beyond belief. He played much less games than Gordon & Lawrie & scored the great majority of his goals at a much younger age. Here's 3 stats only.
1. He scored over 20 goals, including 4 at PBS against champions Hearts, in his debut season. Joe was 17!
2. He scored 46 goals in 1 season. He scored in 10 consecutive games for a total of 20 goals.
Finally,to return to the hat trick subject, Joe scored 5 in 3 months,never mind 2 in a season.
Great player, great man.

This post is beautiful.

30-01-2020, 01:19 PM
That’s a ****ing ratio by the way

Yip!

When he signed I thought to myself “ What the f*#k is he going to do? “

Soon forgot about Colin Stein

Legend

30-01-2020, 01:26 PM

91 app 58 goals

5 Hatricks

Aside from Joe Baker the best finisher I ever seen at Easter Road, mind you all he did was score goals!

30-01-2020, 01:59 PM

Looks like the winner is An Unknown, he was pretty prolific with 36 hattricks, the last in 1897 - he scored 239 goals in total for Hibs.

:offski:

Good thread though!

MM19
30-01-2020, 02:12 PM

That brings back happy memories one of the most unlikely players to score a hat trick. It was a great day and night

30-01-2020, 03:03 PM
Great player, great man.

Couldn't stop scoring when Bobby Johnstone was back at the club although I don't remember 5 hat tricks in 3 months.His total goals for Hibs over his two spells was 157.In season 1959-60 Hibs finished in mid table but scored 106 goals.Most weeks the question was whether we could score more that the defence could throw away(85 against).I first saw him against Hearts at the game to open their floodlights-he scored,Tommy Preston got a hat trick.His record in English football is also excellent and he is one of the few to score 100 goals on either side of the border(as did Johnstone and Neil Martin)He was always going to leave when Eddie came as manager as the two didn't get on but he scored a few at Raith Rovers.Met him a couple of times at hospitality in the old days.It is sometimes said that it's dangerous to meet your heroes well he was an exceptionally nice guy and very modest.

30-01-2020, 03:13 PM
It is sometimes said that it's dangerous to meet your heroes well he was an exceptionally nice guy and very modest.
I get that impression about Stanton and Reilly as well. Are there any Hibs legends, apart from Turnbull obviously [(c) Doidge], who weren't exceptionally nice modest guys? :dunno:

30-01-2020, 03:25 PM
I get that impression about Stanton and Reilly as well. Are there any Hibs legends, apart from Turnbull obviously [(c) Doidge], who weren't exceptionally nice modest guys? :dunno:

Eddie could be quite brusque:greengrin but wasn't a disappointment.He wasn't too interested in supporters football theories,probably quite rightly.

30-01-2020, 03:42 PM
Couldn't stop scoring when Bobby Johnstone was back at the club although I don't remember 5 hat tricks in 3 months.His total goals for Hibs over his two spells was 157.In season 1959-60 Hibs finished in mid table but scored 106 goals.Most weeks the question was whether we could score more that the defence could throw away(85 against).I first saw him against Hearts at the game to open their floodlights-he scored,Tommy Preston got a hat trick.His record in English football is also excellent and he is one of the few to score 100 goals on either side of the border(as did Johnstone and Neil Martin)He was always going to leave when Eddie came as manager as the two didn't get on but he scored a few at Raith Rovers.Met him a couple of times at hospitality in the old days.It is sometimes said that it's dangerous to meet your heroes well he was an exceptionally nice guy and very modest.

Scored 5 hat tricks in 3 months from Oct 1959 to Jan 1960. The games were Dunfermline H, 7-4, Airdrie A, 11-1, Arbroath A, 3-2, 3rd Lanark H, 6-0, Clyde H, 5-5. The Pars & Airdrie games were consecutive, 18 goals in 2 games! The previous season Joe scored 5 hat tricks in 5 months. He was a teenager for all these games! A complete disgrace he's not in the Scotland Hall of Fame

30-01-2020, 04:57 PM
Yip!

When he signed I thought to myself “ What the f*#k is he going to do? “

Soon forgot about Colin Stein

Legend

Ouch!! Still a sore point for some of the ‘older’ generation on here.:wink:

30-01-2020, 05:08 PM

According to the Evening News, in total, there are seven former Hibs players and two ex-Hearts men that have netted three times or more for their country in one match. The Hibs players are:

Willie Groves on March 9, 1889 against Ireland (7-0) at Ibrox
Sandy McMahon on February 23, 1901 against Ireland (11-0) at Celtic Park
Lawrie Reilly on April 30, 1952 against the USA (6-0) at Hampden
Alex Scott on October 7, 1961 against Northern Ireland (5-1) at Windsor Park, Belfast
Colin Stein on May 17, 1969 against Cyprus (8-0) at Hampden
Steven Fletcher on March 29, 2015 against Gibraltar (6-1) at Hampden and on October 11, 2015 against Gibraltar (6-0) at Estadio Algarve, Faro
John McGinn on October 13, 2019 against San Marino (6-0) at Hampden

The former Hearts players being:

Robert Hamilton on February 23, 1901 against Ireland (11-0) at Celtic Park and on March 1, 1902 against Ireland (5-1) at Grovesnor Park, Belfast
George Hamilton on May 20, 1951 against Belgium (5-0) at Stade Heysel, Brussels

30-01-2020, 05:11 PM

Spot on!

How could you forget McGinn?

30-01-2020, 05:22 PM

Very interesting observation when you scroll down this list.
It can’t be a coincidence that there are 3 large gaps timewise where it appears that no hat-tricks were scored.
7 years between 1976 to 1983, 5 years from 1986 to 1991 and 4 years from 1995 to 1999.

They do happen to be 2 times when the club was relegated and also around the time of Mercer, so lack of goals were no doubt a contributing factor to 2 of these periods (not sure why it follows for the Mercer bit though?).

Or, and I can’t believe the Fitbastats site would Have this oversight, but maybe the database query that produces the list has a flaw in its parameters for these periods and some are missing?

30-01-2020, 06:16 PM
How could you forget McGinn?

Big Wheel mentioned McGinn and I said he was correct

My five was Scott Fletcher Stein Reilly and McGinn

The two I missed out were Groves and McMahon

I was thinking about more recent times when I set my question but yes the two older ones deserve their place in history

30-01-2020, 06:33 PM
Big Wheel mentioned McGinn and I said he was correct

My five was Scott Fletcher Stein Reilly and McGinn

The two I missed out were Groves and McMahon

I was thinking about more recent times when I set my question but yes the two older ones deserve their place in history

Apologies, you're correct.

30-01-2020, 07:22 PM
Scored 5 hat tricks in 3 months from Oct 1959 to Jan 1960. The games were Dunfermline H, 7-4, Airdrie A, 11-1, Arbroath A, 3-2, 3rd Lanark H, 6-0, Clyde H, 5-5. The Pars & Airdrie games were consecutive, 18 goals in 2 games! The previous season Joe scored 5 hat tricks in 5 months. He was a teenager for all these games! A complete disgrace he's not in the Scotland Hall of Fame
Thanks for that.
Some pals and I have put forward Joe’s name forward for the Hall of Fame a few times.One even ‘phoned them and the guy was sympathetic but said to just keep trying because they do take account of nominations from the public.

30-01-2020, 08:38 PM
Thanks for that.
Some pals and I have put forward Joe’s name forward for the Hall of Fame a few times.One even ‘phoned them and the guy was sympathetic but said to just keep trying because they do take account of nominations from the public.

Thanks, I will follow up on Hall of Fame but I would hope Hibs have been making some representations also. I'll follow up.