View Full Version : Doidge

28-01-2020, 08:39 PM
Some man!

Not everyone's cup of tea but he gets goals!

Has he got a song yet?

28-01-2020, 08:41 PM
The biggest case of zero to hero iv seen at hibs
How longs his contract?

28-01-2020, 08:43 PM
Some man!

Has he got a song yet?

He is Doidge
He is god
He's got Shankland on the run

HendoDelivered
28-01-2020, 08:44 PM
Wharra pler 👍🏻

28-01-2020, 08:47 PM
How many goals in total has he scored now?

Kevvy1875
28-01-2020, 08:47 PM
Who, who, who, who....who!

Who let the Doidge out!

28-01-2020, 08:48 PM
Lock him away somewhere until the window shuts

I always knew Christians are the good guys. Especially the ones that are Vegan and mould their game on big Nishy. Said it before, the guys going to get us good money. Plays the game with a smile on his face too. By far my fave player. Mon the VN.

Backed him from day 1 and took pelters for it, glad to see the guy getting the praise he deserves

Steve88
28-01-2020, 08:49 PM
The biggest case of zero to hero iv seen at hibs
How longs his contract?

Unsure. His release clause is £120 Million

28-01-2020, 08:50 PM
Last Hibs player to get 2 hatricks in same season..and it’s only January!

28-01-2020, 08:51 PM
Not been sure of him, but the man is scoring goals now. Two hat tricks this season, including tonight to send us through.

Well done Christian Doidge. That was brilliant.

28-01-2020, 08:52 PM
How many goals in total has he scored now?
Radio saying 12 this season :dunno:

28-01-2020, 08:52 PM
Has he ever scored from an Allan assist ?

28-01-2020, 08:53 PM
All jokes aside, the turnaround in his form has been unmatched. Absolutely brilliant attitude and deserves this.

28-01-2020, 08:54 PM

14 now isn’t it?

28-01-2020, 08:54 PM
How many goals in total has he scored now?14 in 29 I think

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

28-01-2020, 08:56 PM

It's 13 or 14 I think.

I thought he looked good before he started scoring (aye, me and everyone else who'll say that now :wink: ) but adding goals to his game lately has just made him superb.

His all round game is very good. Gets himself about, and wins and retains possession very well.

Mon le Doidge.

28-01-2020, 08:56 PM

No idea but he assisted Allan v st.mirren 1st game of the season

28-01-2020, 08:57 PM

Who let the Doidge out!

👍

That’s just on the pitch. He’s scored more than 12, 15 he’s scored.

Kevvy1875
Just reading up on Doidge. Interesting fact....played Basketball for the Welsh national team. See these multi talented folk, makes me sick!:agree:

28-01-2020, 08:59 PM
14 goals in 29 this season. How many games since he started banging them in? He must have went about 10 or so without a goal so he’s probably not been a kick in the arse off a goal a game since he got going.

hibbydog
28-01-2020, 08:59 PM
Wrote him off as an imposter and he’s seriously turned it round.

Hats off to the guy, must take some strength of character to stick in like he has.

#persevered

28-01-2020, 09:00 PM

Killie away. 1st goal.

28-01-2020, 09:02 PM
Finally we have our big awkward battering ram that scores goals.

28-01-2020, 09:04 PM
After that game up in Aberdeen I thought he’d be off in January, but since heckingbottom was sacked he’s not looked back. He could end up with a big total if he continues like this.

28-01-2020, 09:04 PM
Not been a fan but well played tonight. If he keeps scoring like that he deserves a lot of credit.

Aim Here
28-01-2020, 09:05 PM
Some man!

Has he got a song yet?

At the St Johnstone game where he scored his first hattrick the kids across from me were singing 'I wanna, I wanna, I wanna be Chris Doidge' to the tune of 'I wanna be adored' by the Stone Roses.

The Captain....
28-01-2020, 09:06 PM
Keeps proving the doubters wrong (I was one I must admit). Theres definite similarities between him and Nish..both know where the goals are but could be frustrating at times. He seems a popular character in the squad..hopefully he'll really kick on now with the confidence from his hat trick. Its half the battle with strikers.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

28-01-2020, 09:08 PM
14 goals in 29 this season. How many games since he started banging them in? He must have went about 10 or so without a goal so he’s probably not been a kick in the arse off a goal a game since he got going.

12 goals in 14 games since Heckingbottom got the sack

28-01-2020, 09:09 PM
Brilliant from the big man tonight, scoring 3 good goals.

1st - Great movement to get in the position and clinical finish
2nd - Absolutle bullet header from a fanstastic leap. When was the last time we had a striker that scored a goal like that?
3rd - Instinctive and clinical finish

28-01-2020, 09:09 PM
1st half he was frustrating but 2nd half he was very good and didn’t give Reynolds & Connolly a moments piece.

Wonderful hattrick.

28-01-2020, 09:10 PM

Outstanding. He’ll clear 20 easy.

28-01-2020, 09:12 PM
Some man!

Has he got a song yet?

He also works his socks off for 90 minutes.

Frankhfc
28-01-2020, 09:15 PM
I had no doubt big Doidge would go on to become a regular goalscorer for us. He was carving out good scoring opportunities for himself without albeit delivering, however, the very fact he was positioning himself well and creating the opportunities we could see there was a natural forward there who just needed to find the net which he is consistently doing so now. He didn't hide and the confidence he had in his own ability is now paying dividends for both the player and Hibs.

Well done big Christian Doidge! Superb.

28-01-2020, 09:18 PM
Cult hero in the making. Well done, the big man.

28-01-2020, 09:18 PM
Keeps proving the doubters wrong (I was one I must admit). Theres definite similarities between him and Nish..both know where the goals are but could be frustrating at times. He seems a popular character in the squad..hopefully he'll really kick on now with the confidence from his hat trick. Its half the battle with strikers.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
I don’t get the Nish comparison at all. He’s a lot more physical and runs more than Nish ever did. My memory of Nish playing for us is that his goal record wasn’t too bad but for a big lad he seemed to spend a lot of time on his erse and had an uncanny talent in making himself appear smaller when he competed for a high ball.

Percy Vere
28-01-2020, 09:21 PM

Who let the Doidge out!

Nice

Hibs4185
28-01-2020, 09:24 PM
I actually thought he was poor tonight. He skewed his shot miles wide when in on goal but the guy deserves huge credit because his positioning is second to none.

Any scouts watching shankland tonight must be phoning their bosses tonight asking if they’ve heard of big Doidge.

28-01-2020, 09:27 PM
Should be an example to everybody else. Even earlier in the season he kept working hard. I thought he was done after that Aberdeen but he deserves loads of credit for getting to where he has.

There was an instance tonight, at 3-2 with about 5 minutes to go, when he actually ran past Kamberi to chase the boy with the ball. Once the ball went dead he certainly wasn’t shy in letting Kamberi know what he thought of having to do that.

28-01-2020, 09:27 PM
I actually thought he was poor tonight. He skewed his shot miles wide when in on goal but the guy deserves huge credit because his positioning is second to none.

Any scouts watching shankland tonight must be phoning their bosses tonight asking if they’ve heard of big Doidge.

apart from Screwing his shot wide , what about his performance was poor ? Thought he worked very hard ..deserved his rewards...

Titch
28-01-2020, 09:28 PM
Reminds me of Chris killen hopefully stays around a bit longer though

28-01-2020, 09:30 PM
Andre Doidgechenko

28-01-2020, 09:34 PM

I was going to say exactly the same thing - I thought he was poor, the attempt on goal during the first half was appalling and could have been costly. He spent a lot of the game isolated and struggled to link up with anyone.

The positives though - we have a player who can play crap and get a hat trick, that’s something else. He has a brilliant knack of being in the right place at the right time, and he’s now scored a few towering, powerful headers that have really been top class.

Now if someone could just teach him to show a bit of composure in order to be more clinical when he has ample time and space, we’ll have one incredible striker on our hands.

I was furious at that chance during the first half

28-01-2020, 09:37 PM
He is better than Shankland.

28-01-2020, 09:37 PM
I watched his hatrick tonight from The Doidge West Upper :greengrin

Legend!

:not worth

Was it a perfect hatrick?

I was too busy celebrating

28-01-2020, 09:38 PM
He is better than Shankland.

Not even close. Doidge is much better

28-01-2020, 09:39 PM
If anyone sees him in Asda buy him a bottle of merlot and I’ll square you up later.

28-01-2020, 09:40 PM
Love um

28-01-2020, 09:40 PM

More like Martin Boyle

28-01-2020, 09:41 PM
More like Martin Boyle

I really hope we hold onto Boyle unless we get an offer hard to refuse. If he didn't get injured then Hecky might actually still be in a job.

Ardenttwo
28-01-2020, 09:42 PM
Some man!

Has he got a song yet?

Aye but the guy next to me was calling him a dumplin even after his third goal

28-01-2020, 09:50 PM
I watched his hatrick tonight from The Doidge West Upper :greengrin

Legend!

:not worth

Was it a perfect hatrick?

I was too busy celebratingAnyone? Was it a perfect hattrick. Wasnt sure but hope it was. Great way to make up for that slash in the first half.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

28-01-2020, 09:56 PM
Anyone? Was it a perfect hattrick. Wasnt sure but hope it was. Great way to make up for that slash in the first half.

Sent from my SM-T580 using TapatalkI think it was 2 with his right foot. Could be wrong though.

MagicSwirlingShip
28-01-2020, 10:07 PM
If anyone sees him in Asda buy him a bottle of merlot and I’ll square you up later.

I seen him, was going to say something but was with my girlfriend. :embarrass

28-01-2020, 10:08 PM
I don’t get the Nish comparison at all. He’s a lot more physical and runs more than Nish ever did. My memory of Nish playing for us is that his goal record wasn’t too bad but for a big lad he seemed to spend a lot of time on his erse and had an uncanny talent in making himself appear smaller when he competed for a high ball.

Exactly. Nothing like Nish and that patter is actually quite pathetic to be honest.

jockspanner
28-01-2020, 10:18 PM
£1 on at 40/1 for The Artful Doidger to score a hat trick with Sky Bet, happy days 👍👍👍

28-01-2020, 10:20 PM
Andre Doidgechenko

Cristiano Ronaldoidge

That was nice of you to give him your girlfriend though

Yeah think it took Jase about 14 games to get going and look at him now :greengrin

28-01-2020, 10:21 PM
£1 on at 40/1 for The Artful Doidger to score a hat trick with Sky Bet, happy days 👍👍👍

Excellent. Well done 👍

28-01-2020, 10:22 PM

MagicSwirlingShip
28-01-2020, 10:30 PM
That was nice of you to give him your girlfriend though

If only he didn't have his tracksuit on, things could have been so different.

28-01-2020, 10:34 PM

28-01-2020, 10:39 PM
Diego Doidge. Well played big man

28-01-2020, 10:47 PM
First Hibs player since Steve Cowan in 1985/86 to score two hat tricks in one season!

28-01-2020, 10:50 PM
a call up for Wales shooorly. Doidge and Bale ripping it up at the euros=Kerching

28-01-2020, 10:53 PM
Didier Doidgba

28-01-2020, 10:54 PM
First Hibs player since Steve Cowan in 1985/86 to score two hat tricks in one season!

That is an unbelievable stat.

28-01-2020, 10:56 PM
a call up for Wales shooorly. Doidge and Bale ripping it up at the euros=Kerching

Sometimes it takes playing alongside a genuine world class player who has done it all to boost your career, and given the chance I’m sure it’s be the stuff of dreams for Gareth Bale to play just once with Ballon D’oidge.

tonyrougier123
28-01-2020, 10:57 PM
Some player! No strops,no if he fancies it,just pure graft! And if he keeps hitting the target his haul for his first season will be outstanding!
💚💚☝☝💚💚GGTTH!

28-01-2020, 11:01 PM

My laddie asked me that question after the game and I said Cowan or Durie from that season. I’m sure Durie got two hat-tricks that season too. The pair of them scored a barrowload in that League Cup run.

Hillsidehibby
28-01-2020, 11:01 PM
Lewandoidgeski

28-01-2020, 11:02 PM
Sometimes it takes playing alongside a genuine world class player who has done it all to boost your career, and given the chance I’m sure it’s be the stuff of dreams for Gareth Bale to play just once with Ballon D’oidge.

Ballon D’oidge 🤣

28-01-2020, 11:05 PM
Ruud Van Nisteldoidge simply must get a call up.

28-01-2020, 11:09 PM
Zinedoidge Zidoidge

28-01-2020, 11:11 PM
Lionel Mesdge

28-01-2020, 11:11 PM
Good that folk are still able to give great critiques of all his faults and stuff he has to work on. Hopefully if he does that we’ll have the striker the support demands and deserves ....🤪

28-01-2020, 11:12 PM

Half a chance he could get another against BSC, with all due respect to them. Who was the last to get three hatricks in a season?!

28-01-2020, 11:12 PM
Wrote him off as an imposter and he’s seriously turned it round.

Hats off to the guy, must take some strength of character to stick in like he has.

#persevered

Likewise, unfortunately.

One of the few times I love getting proved wrong!

What a ****ing guy!!

28-01-2020, 11:15 PM
Half a chance he could get another against BSC, with all due respect to them. Who was the last to get three hatricks in a season?!

Six hatricks Jimmy ORourke Everyone knows his name 1972/73

28-01-2020, 11:17 PM

Was actually Cowan in the season I referred to! Doidge still has a long way to go to beat Jimmy O’Rourke’s staggering record of six hat tricks between September and December 1972! It’s no wonder we cuffed Hertz on the New Year’s Day - we were scoring for fun that autumn / winter!

28-01-2020, 11:18 PM
What I also think is impressive is he plays pretty much every minute of every game which is testament to his fitness levels and robustness.

28-01-2020, 11:18 PM
My laddie asked me that question after the game and I said Cowan or Durie from that season. I’m sure Durie got two hat-tricks that season too. The pair of them scored a barrowload in that League Cup run.

Durie got two in the calendar year of 1985 but across two separate seasons.

28-01-2020, 11:23 PM
Really happy that doidge has kicked on, scoring goals and his 2nd hat trick, how many other strikers in this league have scored 2 hat tricks this season?

Thing the majority of us wrote him off early doors but he has very much come onto a game, delighted for him

28-01-2020, 11:24 PM
What I also think is impressive is he plays pretty much every minute of every game which is testament to his fitness levels and robustness.

And he plays with the same level of commitment at every point of a game regardless of the scoreline. No hiding when we’re losing and no mucking about doing step overs when we’re ahead.

Seems like a model pro that every Hibs fan should be happy to have.

28-01-2020, 11:25 PM
Delighted for the big man. Superb.

28-01-2020, 11:30 PM
Joe Baker scored 3 hat tricks in one game :greengrin
Scottish cup v. Peebles Rovers in 19 oatcake.

tonyrougier123
28-01-2020, 11:30 PM
Doidgeo maradoidgea

28-01-2020, 11:53 PM
Doidgeo maradoidgea

Horrendous effort! Haha

29-01-2020, 02:03 AM
No idea but he assisted Allan v st.mirren 1st game of the season

Vs Celtic at home. Took a deflection .

29-01-2020, 02:04 AM
I wan't to be, I wan't to be Christian Doidge.

Jim Herriot
29-01-2020, 03:22 AM
Zinedoidge Zidoidge

Christo Sdoidgekov

29-01-2020, 04:23 AM
You cant say hes not worked his socks off since his first game, so happy for him.

3 hat tricks in a season? 20 goals in all competitions?

29-01-2020, 04:25 AM
I wan't to be, I wan't to be Christian Doidge.

So surprised this chant has not been sung regularly since st johnstone game, perfect for the singing section.

29-01-2020, 04:44 AM
Aye but the guy next to me was calling him a dumplin even after his third goal

Well you have read some of the posters on Hibs net!

29-01-2020, 05:23 AM
So surprised this chant has not been sung regularly since st johnstone game, perfect for the singing section.

They probably have been, can hardly hear them in the East tbh.

Walter
29-01-2020, 06:45 AM
Christo Sdoidgekov

That's my favourite

Tarrahib
29-01-2020, 07:09 AM
Some man!

Has he got a song yet?
As was said on here a few months ago.How much was the Doid-gee in the window?

TimeForHeroes16
29-01-2020, 08:52 AM
They probably have been, can hardly hear them in the East tbh.

Home and away it gets belted I can vouch for that I love the guy!!!

29-01-2020, 09:08 AM
Merlot’s on me these days

Forget at the time (when he couldn’t buy a goal and we’d just been horsed by Hamilton) he was universally loved and I was the only person slating him eh :aok:

You and Danderhall booked a room yet x

29-01-2020, 10:42 AM

What's the tune?

Keyser Sauzee
30-01-2020, 09:30 PM
With 16/17 games left can the big man hit 25 goals or is that a bridge too far?

30-01-2020, 09:58 PM
With 16/17 games left can the big man hit 25 goals or is that a bridge too far?

Before we came back from the break I thought he’d get 15-20. Reckon it’ll be 20+ now but not sure but not sure how many the + will be.

Hibs4185
30-01-2020, 10:15 PM
Christian-o Ronaldoidge

MagicSwirlingShip
30-01-2020, 10:20 PM
Merlot’s on me these days

Forget at the time (when he couldn’t buy a goal and we’d just been horsed by Hamilton) he was universally loved and I was the only person slating him eh :aok:

You and Danderhall booked a room yet x

No rooms booked yet. Had planned to double up for a valentines trip away but our respective Mrs are too busy keeping the peace down at Asda.

😚

01-02-2020, 07:41 PM
Whats that now? 13 in his last 16 games?

Great return

01-02-2020, 07:48 PM
Brilliant header that was today.

DetroitHibs
01-02-2020, 07:58 PM
That was a hard chance, done brilliantly. Didn't get much service all game.

01-02-2020, 08:08 PM
He took his goal really well as it wasn’t an easy chance.

02-02-2020, 09:19 AM
Best striker we’ve had since Griffiths.

02-02-2020, 09:22 AM
Great goal. Like the guy, seen him shaking his head when announced man of the match clearly wants more

02-02-2020, 09:22 AM
Christo Sdoidgekov

Pierre van Hoidgedonk

02-02-2020, 09:24 AM
Robin van Persdoidge

EAZY-ME
02-02-2020, 10:22 AM
Christo van basdoidge

02-02-2020, 10:31 AM
No rooms booked yet. Had planned to double up for a valentines trip away but our respective Mrs are too busy keeping the peace down at Asda.

😚
Excellent! You pair enjoy 👍🏼

02-02-2020, 12:26 PM
Jan Venegoor of Hesseldoidge

Just_Jimmy
02-02-2020, 12:29 PM
13 in last 15.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

02-02-2020, 12:34 PM
13 in last 15.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

I'm amazed that Sevco didn't try to get Doidge in rather than Kamberi. Much as the roaster on Sportsound tries to say he scores goals because he's lucky, that's an astonishing return of goals.

I do fear we're going to have to fend off some decent bids from decent sized clubs in the summer.

02-02-2020, 12:43 PM
I'm amazed that Sevco didn't try to get Doidge in rather than Kamberi. Much as the roaster on Sportsound tries to say he scores goals because he's lucky, that's an astonishing return of goals.

I do fear we're going to have to fend off some decent bids from decent sized clubs in the summer.

They don't have any money and we were never going to loan him out.

02-02-2020, 01:14 PM

Kamberi wasn't unsellable, Doidge is. Absolutely zero chance Doidge was leaving to Rangers in January.

02-02-2020, 01:50 PM
I can see a couple of English clubs trying for him in the summer.

Always scored goals down there, has came here to a higher standard and now playing infront of big crowds, likely to get a call up to national team and will likely end up scoring 20+ goals this season.

I’m also absolutley delighted for him, every goal that is scored he looks absolutely delighted even when it’s not him sticking it in the net. Seems a really good lad and deserves all the praise he gets.

02-02-2020, 02:00 PM
Should be looking at extending his contract right now. 1 year extension, couple hundred exta a week. Or we're going to get caught with pants down again soon.

02-02-2020, 02:16 PM
I can see a couple of English clubs trying for him in the summer.

Always scored goals down there, has came here to a higher standard and now playing infront of big crowds, likely to get a call up to national team and will likely end up scoring 20+ goals this season.

I’m also absolutley delighted for him, every goal that is scored he looks absolutely delighted even when it’s not him sticking it in the net. Seems a really good lad and deserves all the praise he gets.

He was like that even before the goals started to flow for him.

I've rarely wanted to see a player succeed as much as Doidge. He knocks his pan in for us and had to endure a pretty tough spell at the start.

Doidge is a proper team player and you can't have enough of them.

02-02-2020, 02:23 PM
Should be looking at extending his contract right now. 1 year extension, couple hundred exta a week. Or we're going to get caught with pants down again soon.

When were we caught with our pants down?

However, there's absolutely no chance his agent will let him accept an extended contract for a couple of hundred pounds a week. A couple of grand a week, maybe, but not £10k a year.

02-02-2020, 07:18 PM
When were we caught with our pants down?

However, there's absolutely no chance his agent will let him accept an extended contract for a couple of hundred pounds a week. A couple of grand a week, maybe, but not £10k a year.

McGinn only had one year, McGeouch went for free, Boyle about to have 1 year left.

Hibs are very poor with pro-actively renewing contracts.

You don't think Doidge would sign a new 1 year extension for an extra 500 quid a week and 10% of any fee we get for him? I do.

02-02-2020, 08:09 PM
Probably why Hecky was so bemused but was it all in Doidges heid?

I'm Spartacus
02-02-2020, 08:13 PM
Unreal to think that somebody I'd have given away for free not too long ago, we couldn't actually affoard to buy him now!

Some boy like.

02-02-2020, 08:15 PM
I don’t think there is any Hibby that did not want the big fellah to do well and be a success

Boy are we all delighted he persevered

13 goals from the last 15

02-02-2020, 08:40 PM
Probably why Hecky was so bemused but was it all in Doidges heid?

He went off the Vegan diet that was so successful at Forest Green and started munching on King Rib suppers with brown sauce 👍

02-02-2020, 09:06 PM
McGinn only had one year, McGeouch went for free, Boyle about to have 1 year left.

You don't think Doidge would sign a new 1 year extension for an extra 500 quid a week and 10% of any fee we get for him? I do.

Think it’s pretty unfair to say we are poor at renewing contracts. We can only renew if the player wants to sign! Players can get so much more money down south, we can’t compete so even if we try to get them to sign years before their contracts are up the agents will be telling them not to sign!

02-02-2020, 09:43 PM
Delighted for Doidge that he's hit a great run of scoring form. I think even at the start of his time here he was getting into great positions so it was always going to be a matter of time before they started going in.

02-02-2020, 09:47 PM
Pleased for him and happy to admit I was wrong about him. I wrote him off far too early and he's proved me and many others wrong.

Well done Christian.

Frankhfc
02-02-2020, 09:58 PM
Delighted for Doidge that he's hit a great run of scoring form. I think even at the start of his time here he was getting into great positions so it was always going to be a matter of time before they started going in.

The Aberdeen game that he was slated for was a prime example. He never hid despite missing some decent opportunities that day which only demonstrated the confidence he himself had in his own abilities. He went on to work even harder and once the first couple went in he's hardly stopped scoring. Says it all really about big Doidge. A top man and forward player.

03-02-2020, 02:37 AM
I see now that BAnderson on twattr is saying he was trolling Hecky. 15 games comparison For respective coaches quite stark ...

Barman Stanton
03-02-2020, 09:48 AM
This guy should be remembered next time we have a new player struggling to settle in quickly. So many experts were convinced he was a dud. Give the players a bit of time instead of reverting to the usual abuse mode.

confused
03-02-2020, 09:54 AM
This guy should be remembered next time we have a new player struggling to settle in quickly. So many experts were convinced he was a dud. Give the players a bit of time instead of reverting to the usual abuse mode.
I bet we won’t , I would certainly ban the players from going on this site ! It knocks my confidence and I’m 70 ,

Barman Stanton
03-02-2020, 10:01 AM
I bet we won’t , I would certainly ban the players from going on this site ! It knocks my confidence and I’m 70 ,

Nah we wont unfortunately. Strangely a lot of the most negative posters dont even go to many games. And yet their negativity online works its way into the stadium pretty quickly.

03-02-2020, 10:02 AM

So you're saying we didn't offer McGinn or McGeough extensions? Or haven't/won't offer one to Boyle?

03-02-2020, 10:03 AM

Not just him but all players it naturally takes some people a bit more time to settle into a new job, new workmates, new city etc. Seemed to be way too much early criticism of the new players this season

Barman Stanton
03-02-2020, 10:20 AM
Not just him but all players it naturally takes some people a bit more time to settle into a new job, new workmates, new city etc. Seemed to be way too much early criticism of the new players this season

Yup. Most of the new signings were marked as duds on here while we were still in the group stages of the League Cup. It was ridiculous.

03-02-2020, 10:21 AM
Think it’s pretty unfair to say we are poor at renewing contracts. We can only renew if the player wants to sign! Players can get so much more money down south, we can’t compete so even if we try to get them to sign years before their contracts are up the agents will be telling them not to sign!

Wish some folk would think about this before posting about the boards "failure".

03-02-2020, 10:36 AM
Nah we wont unfortunately. Strangely a lot of the most negative posters dont even go to many games. And yet their negativity online works its way into the stadium pretty quickly.Absolutely nailed it.

03-02-2020, 12:18 PM
Yup. Most of the new signings were marked as duds on here while we were still in the group stages of the League Cup. It was ridiculous.

Some didn't even wait that long and had written them off in the pre-season friendlies just so they could say later I've said he was sh¡te since the Stirling game, as if that proves they're a football expert.

03-02-2020, 12:40 PM
Some didn't even wait that long and had written them off in the pre-season friendlies just so they could say later I've said he was sh¡te since the Stirling game, as if that proves they're a football expert.When its pointed out that players might need some time to settle the moaners then claim that they are being shouted down despite the fact that they're the ones posting their "opinion" every 15 minutes. Must be exciting though, having an opinion that must be shared all the time.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

03-02-2020, 01:39 PM
Some didn't even wait that long and had written them off in the pre-season friendlies just so they could say later I've said he was sh¡te since the Stirling game, as if that proves they're a football expert.

Perhaps they just didn't rate the players? I don't post at the time worrying about what I might want to say about my own opinions in the future. Does anyone?

Anyway. You guys are all experts in hindsight but so far Doidge is the only one incorrectly written off. Newell is a squad filler. Vela disappeared without a trace. James still isn't rated. Jury is out on Jackson. - I'd say he's not a first pick when everyone is fit.

Even though things are going better we're still behind Livi and being outplayed by the likes of Motherwell. There are still questions over how good a collective we really are. Might be worth considering that before glad handing yourselves for never being critical.

ABZHFC
03-02-2020, 01:57 PM

Nail on head for me, that's what it seems to be all about. People are so desperate to be seen as all-knowing and ahead of the curve that they will literally write players off after 2 or 3 games. Absolutely ridiculous, of course, but this is where football is heading sadly.

Thank god that those in charge of clubs don't listen to some of these 'experts' and instead understand concepts like form and confidence.

03-02-2020, 02:08 PM

Exactly. All this chat of a huge turnaround is a bit OTT. It’s only because there was a massive overreaction during what was very early days in a new team and league. And he was playing fine without quite getting the goals.

He was never anywhere near being a huddy.

03-02-2020, 02:09 PM
Exactly. All this chat of a huge turnaround is a bit OTT. It’s only because there was a massive overreaction during what was very early days in a new team and league. And he was playing fine without quite getting the goals.

He was never anywhere near being a huddy.

03-02-2020, 02:18 PM
Perhaps they just didn't rate the players? I don't post at the time worrying about what I might want to say about my own opinions in the future. Does anyone?

Anyway. You guys are all experts in hindsight but so far Doidge is the only one incorrectly written off. Newell is a squad filler. Vela disappeared without a trace. James still isn't rated. Jury is out on Jackson. - I'd say he's not a first pick when everyone is fit.

Even though things are going better we're still behind Livi and being outplayed by the likes of Motherwell. There are still questions over how good a collective we really are. Might be worth considering that before glad handing yourselves for never being critical.

Was the point not about people rating players after a only a handful of games, then making bold statements such as 'not good enough', squad filler' etc?

As for Livi and Motherwell, I think much can be said for managerial continuity and stability. Ross already looks like he knows what he's doing. I think we get what we can from this season and properly build for the next few seasons.

03-02-2020, 02:49 PM
I still dont think Doidge is great player, he's decent to average but once he settled, he's definitely growing on me. He still misses absolute sitters like the header on Saturday but then scores a cracking header 15 mins later. He works hard for the team and makes life difficult for defenders and knows how to get in the right area to score and tbh that's all we can ask of him, delighted he's scoring regularly as in the beginning I definitely wasn't a fan and thought he was a waste of money, now he's 1st name on the team sheet.

03-02-2020, 02:54 PM
I still dont think Doidge is great player, he's decent to average but once he settled, he's definitely growing on me. He still misses absolute sitters like the header on Saturday but then scores a cracking header 15 mins later. He works hard for the team and makes life difficult for defenders and knows how to get in the right area to score and tbh that's all we can ask of him, delighted he's scoring regularly as in the beginning I definitely wasn't a fan and thought he was a waste of money, now he's 1st name on the team sheet.

So he is decent to average but 1st name on the team sheet, I dread to think how you rate the others, especially the guys who are better than him that you wouldnt have as 1st on the team sheet

03-02-2020, 02:58 PM
Why are some using the good form of a player as an excuse to rip into fellow posters? And I’m someone that always backed the player? Can’t we all just be happy he’s producing for the team?

03-02-2020, 02:58 PM
So he is decent to average but 1st name on the team sheet, I dread to think how you rate the others, especially the guys who are better than him that you wouldnt have as 1st on the team sheet

Probably around sixth best team players in the league?

03-02-2020, 03:06 PM
Probably around sixth best team players in the league?

Maybe it's just me but that sentence makes no sense, just because we are midtable does not mean we have no good players, plus it's not really in context with what J-C mentioned or my reply to him

03-02-2020, 03:15 PM
I dont think he great but the guy is scoring goals and that cant be overlooked, you do realise that not everyone in the team has to be brilliant to be 1st on the team sheet, his scoring makes him that even if I think he's just an ok player.

03-02-2020, 03:21 PM
I dont think he great but the guy is scoring goals and that cant be overlooked, you do realise that not everyone in the team has to be brilliant to be 1st on the team sheet, his scoring makes him that even if I think he's just an ok player.

Of course not but to say he is only decent to average then suggest he would be the 1st name on your team sheet is strange

03-02-2020, 03:21 PM
Maybe it's just me but that sentence makes no sense, just because we are midtable does not mean we have no good players, plus it's not really in context with what J-C mentioned or my reply to him

He’s the first name on the team sheet as he’s our form player at the moment. Our players aren’t amazing, there are very little or no standout players in a team who are sixth in the league and under achieving badly for the season year in succession. That’s what it says for the other players, the same as it said for the other players last year when Stevie Mallan won the player of the year.

03-02-2020, 03:22 PM
Of course not but to say he is only decent to average then suggest he would be the 1st name on your team sheet is strange

We are an average team. He’s decent to average in JCs opinion, makes perfect sense.

03-02-2020, 03:24 PM
Why are some using the good form of a player as an excuse to rip into fellow posters? And I’m someone that always backed the player? Can’t we all just be happy he’s producing for the team?

Exactly, I accept his good form means he's guaranteed to play and he has turned me around to an extent, can't deny he is doing what he was bought for.

03-02-2020, 03:24 PM
We are an average team. He’s decent to average in JCs opinion, makes perfect sense.

Didnt realise JC had broke his fingers!

03-02-2020, 03:25 PM

For someone to score as many goals in his last lot of games suggests he is a lot better than average

03-02-2020, 03:25 PM
Didnt realise JC had broke his fingers!

Everyone loves a smart arse. 👍

03-02-2020, 03:26 PM
For someone to score as many goals in his last lot of games suggests he is a lot better than average

I agree. It wasn’t my opinion as I stated.

03-02-2020, 03:27 PM
I'm absolutely delighted to see him scoring, mostly because I want to see any Hibs striker start scoring goals, but also because I do know this guy works hard and tries his best for us. Unlike a lot of wasters we had that turned up for a fee and just coasted by.

I have to admit though, and I will get slaughtered for this no doubt which is fair, watching his all round play I still don't think he's all that. He looks like the type of guy that will just as easily go back to that barren run he had when he first signed and sometimes he actually still misses really easy chances, I guess I he's got the knack for being in good positions enough for it to pay off at the moment. He reminds me a lot of what Cosgrove is like, I watch him and I think "Just a huddy that's banging in some goals at this point". I could probably see the same being said by Aberdeen fans when they watch Doidge for example.

But for now we can only cross our fingers and hope he keeps getting these goals to push us up the table.

ABZHFC
03-02-2020, 03:28 PM

Because these same posters laughed at us for defending Doidge and telling them that there was a player in there once he gained confidence. If he'd carried on not scoring, I'm sure they'd be doing the very same and telling us we know nothing about football

03-02-2020, 03:29 PM

Ha! Hopefully it was taken as the joke it was meant

03-02-2020, 03:32 PM
Ha! Hopefully it was taken as the joke it was meant

😁

03-02-2020, 03:33 PM
Because these same posters laughed at us for defending Doidge and telling them that there was a player in there once he gained confidence. If he'd carried on not scoring, I'm sure they'd be doing the very same and telling us we know nothing about football

I can’t remember posters laughing at others for defending him - I was one defending him and the positions he was getting into at times but if there was fair enough. Be nice to put it all behind us though.

03-02-2020, 03:33 PM

Do you think we are a really good team, the table doesn't lie.
We gave an ageing defence with a crocked youngster, Slivka who's been here 2 years and not improved, Mallan good at shooting/ freekicks but can't tackle, Horgan who is one of the most inconsistent players I've seen.
I'd say Boyle and Allan are the only 2 who are top quality and the jury's out on Hallberg but I think he's a decent player. Omeonga and Docherty have added some quality recently.

03-02-2020, 03:38 PM

If you say black he'll say white, another poster who likes an argument when your opinion differs from his.

Do I think Doidge is great ...no
Do I think he's ok...yes
Is he scoring and changed my initial opinion on him...yes
Is he 1st name on the team sheet due his scoring...yes.

Do you think we are a really good team, the table doesn't lie.
We gave an ageing defence with a crocked youngster, Slivka who's been here 2 years and not improved, Mallan good at shooting/ freekicks but can't tackle, Horgan who is one of the most inconsistent players I've seen.
I'd say Boyle and Allan are the only 2 who are top quality and the jury's out on Hallberg but I think he's a decent player. Omeonga and Docherty have added some quality recently.

I think we are a good team who have not been playing as well as we can, with the players in that squad we should be higher up the league, marciano, hanlon, allan, mallan, newell, omeonga, hallberg, boyle, doidge would probably get into every team in the country out with the old firm, even then they have taken a player who wasnt playing regularly for us

If you say black he'll say white, another poster who likes an argument when your opinion differs from his.

Do I think Doidge is great ...no
Do I think he's ok...yes
Is he scoring and changed my initial opinion on him...yes
Is he 1st name on the team sheet due his scoring...yes.

Pot, kettle, black, and it's called debate, not argument but if you have taken it that way then I'll bow out as you obviously cant debate without thinking it's an argument

Stonewall
03-02-2020, 03:39 PM

Or that he's a decent player with strengths and weaknesses and that we are currently playing to his strengths.

03-02-2020, 03:40 PM
Or that he's a decent player with strengths and weaknesses and that we are currently playing to his strengths.

If you think he is only decent then that's your opinion, I think someone who has went on the run he is on is better than decent but that's my opinion

03-02-2020, 03:41 PM
Pot, kettle, black

I'm not arguing with you, you picked my post and quoted on it, I replied to your post, it's called discussion, either accept I have a different opinion and leave it there, if not I'll stick you on ignore because it's boring as hell now.

03-02-2020, 03:42 PM
I'm not arguing with you, you picked my post and quoted on it, I replied to your post, it's called discussion, either accept I have a different opinion and leave it there, if not I'll stick you on ignore because it's boring as hell now.

Where have I said you cant have your opinion, I'll save you the bother and stick you on ignore

Stonewall
03-02-2020, 03:49 PM
If you think he is only decent then that's your opinion, I think someone who has went on the run he is on is better than decent but that's my opinion

Obviously I hope you're correct and time will tell. I think my poorly made point was more about playing to people's strengths rather than whether he's poor, mediocre, decent, good or outstanding (is that the correct order?).

03-02-2020, 03:51 PM
Obviously I hope you're correct and time will tell. I think my poorly made point was more about playing to people's strengths rather than whether he's poor, mediocre, decent, good or outstanding (is that the correct order?).

Ultimately we all want the same thing, a hibs win each week.

Percy Vere
04-02-2020, 01:04 PM
I can’t remember posters laughing at others for defending him - I was one defending him and the positions he was getting into at times but if there was fair enough. Be nice to put it all behind us though.

The defenders of Heckingbottom signings were getting slated along with the players. Some of whom had barely kicked a ball at the time.
I always thought Doidge et al would improve and it should be a lesson for Hibs fans to show more patience. Brilliant that he’s scoring regularly, long may it continue.

04-02-2020, 01:19 PM
The defenders of Heckingbottom signings were getting slated along with the players. Some of whom had barely kicked a ball at the time.
I always thought Doidge et al would improve and it should be a lesson for Hibs fans to show more patience. Brilliant that he’s scoring regularly, long may it continue.

We sure were! Actually always thought Doidge was decent even when he wasn't getting the breaks. Was gutted for him at Pittodrie. I still think James will come good as liked what I saw before his injury and Vela wasn't anywhere near as bad as some say. Some people just don't settle as quick. Jackson looks solid and we can all see why he signed Newell now.

I think Marciano, Kamberi, Porteous, Allan were every bit, if not more worthy of criticism than some of Heckys signings earlier this season

04-02-2020, 01:45 PM

Really glad that the likes of CD and Newall have been transformed under the new management team and whilst the players were signed during Heckingbottom' reign, they were identfied by the recruitment team. The fact he played people out of position shows just how poor he was. If anything, I hope there is proper analysis being conducted into the criteria used to identify Heckingbottom so we don't make the same mistakes again.

04-02-2020, 02:37 PM
In terms of signings, Maxwell was a decent backup goalie but if it's a choice of him or Bogdan, you know who's going to win every day, James is IMO a suitable backup RB, Vela didn't work out, Doidge is a star striker, Newell is a very good CM and when on form likely to be one of our first choice CMs, Hallberg is a good squad player, Jackson has done well when called upon - Heckingbottom's signing record wasn't any worse than Lennon, in fact maybe a slightly better hit rate. Perhaps a little worse than Jack Ross - but that will take time to judge.

The issue with him is that he couldn't get a tune out of them as he was way too stubborn.