View Full Version : Snow

27-01-2020, 11:37 PM
Barely been snowing two hours and Larbert is covered. Game in doubt if similar conditions further east?

27-01-2020, 11:38 PM
Totally fine in the Southside of Edinburgh. Forecast currently fine for tomorrow too.

27-01-2020, 11:40 PM
None at all here :greengrin

Moody Blues
27-01-2020, 11:41 PM
Barely been snowing two hours and Larbert is covered. Game in doubt if similar conditions further east?

Jesus! what a drama queen.

27-01-2020, 11:50 PM
nae snaw in East EDIN. at the moment. just came in, and it was threatening sleet. cold enough though , but I think the forecast was Central rather than East Scotland for snaw.

27-01-2020, 11:55 PM
nae snaw in East EDIN. at the moment. just came in, and it was threatening sleet. cold enough though , but I think the forecast was Central rather than East Scotland for snaw.

Great, means the game will be on but I might not make it. :grr:

28-01-2020, 12:07 AM
Fine in the ‘Ferry.

28-01-2020, 12:13 AM
Great, means the game will be on but I might not make it. :grr:just tag along behind a plogh, until you get near Grangemouth. should be clear by then:greengrin

28-01-2020, 12:14 AM

don't panic mannering its not alot of snow in Falkirk. Will be fine

Inconsequential
28-01-2020, 12:15 AM
Atrocious conditions in Oban at the moment. 10 feet snowdrifts, the sea is frozen and Calmac ferries are stuck in the bay. The weather is still deteriorating too. The joys of living up here.

28-01-2020, 12:16 AM
Nae snow on Leith.

28-01-2020, 12:17 AM
Jeffers. Fill your boots :)

Sweet Left Peg
28-01-2020, 12:19 AM
Thank god we've not been linked with Osman!

28-01-2020, 12:21 AM

Or big Gaz 😁

Sweet Left Peg
28-01-2020, 12:21 AM

Just realised he's Sow not Snow. Either way, I breathed a sigh of relief.

Sweet Left Peg
28-01-2020, 12:22 AM
It was Evander Sno I was getting confused with.

TimeForHeroes16
28-01-2020, 12:49 AM
Halmyre street is pishing wi rain no chance eh snow

28-01-2020, 12:57 AM
Snowing heavily in Peebles.

28-01-2020, 01:01 AM
Dalkeith has no snow.

28-01-2020, 01:02 AM
Halmyre street is pishing wi rain no chance eh snowaye, but somebody in Gordon St still has their xmas tree up!

MikeyS
28-01-2020, 01:04 AM
I'm now in to my 4th hour of sitting on the M74!!!! Unbelievable amount has fallen in last few hours!

28-01-2020, 01:05 AM
Snowing heavy in Penicuik, mind you that could be a July update.

It is though and it’s tipping doon.

28-01-2020, 01:10 AM
Snowing heavy in Penicuik, mind you that could be a July update.

It is though and it’s tipping doon.wow, that is getting close. Penicuik does get it heavy though, when near Porty beach doesnae even get a whiff o' it.

28-01-2020, 01:13 AM
I'm now in to my 4th hour of sitting on the M74!!!! Unbelievable amount has fallen in last few hours!had that a couple of years ago! it was so bad, that I got refused entry to abington Services and the guys just kept waving me away,. I went roond that big roundabout 5 times!. stay safe

28-01-2020, 02:06 AM
I’ve just had a look out the window and all I could see was my own reflection. On that basis I’m predicting much drunkenness and a failure to remember what happens tomorrow night.

TimeForHeroes16
28-01-2020, 02:10 AM
aye, but somebody in Gordon St still has their xmas tree up!

Every day is Christmas Day in leith sir

28-01-2020, 02:10 AM
None at all here :greengrin

None here either.

Which at this time of the year is very strange.

So is the 41 degree temperature at 9pm.

28-01-2020, 02:22 AM
None here either.

Which at this time of the year is very strange.

So is the 41 degree temperature at 9pm.
That does seem unusual. 75F forecast here for next week, splendid.....👍

28-01-2020, 02:30 AM
Fahrenheit! It’s amazing how Americans refuse to adopt the metric system, you have to admire their stubbornness :greengrin

28-01-2020, 02:33 AM
Fahrenheit! It’s amazing how Americans refuse to adopt the metric system, you have to admire their stubbornness :greengrin
Tell me about it mate though it does help my business. I get lots of work because I can work in metric 😀

28-01-2020, 02:40 AM

Freedomheit*

28-01-2020, 02:41 AM

I'm on my way to Newark Airport. Get the beers in the fridge

28-01-2020, 02:44 AM
I'm on my way to Newark Airport. Get the beers in the fridge

Never a day when there isn't beer in my fridge mate. Not that I drink the stuff mind you, more of a wine guy......

28-01-2020, 05:17 AM
Calm down. Not a drop of snow in Edinburgh...

28-01-2020, 05:29 AM
Never a day when there isn't beer in my fridge mate. Not that I drink the stuff mind you, more of a wine guy......

I can scrub up and drink wine if needed.

28-01-2020, 06:07 AM
I live right beside the ground. Nay snaw here

28-01-2020, 06:12 AM
Panic over. Get back to worrying about Hibs.

30 degrees here and sunny. San Miguels in the fridge. Internet down all day. Need to buy a data back up for the phone for the game.

28-01-2020, 08:13 AM

Is that a bit like us, when it comes to miles and km? 🤔

28-01-2020, 08:19 AM
It was Evander Sno I was getting confused with.

Recently knocked a bouncer out in a nightclub. Get him in.

28-01-2020, 08:23 AM
Jeffers. Fill your boots :)

MikeyS
28-01-2020, 09:49 AM
had that a couple of years ago! it was so bad, that I got refused entry to abington Services and the guys just kept waving me away,. I went roond that big roundabout 5 times!. stay safe

4am I got in! 🤬 I left Kirkcudbright at 8pm!!!

Lots of HGVs stuck in the snow & 1 large fully loaded car transporter that was sliding backwards down the hard shoulder. T'was an interesting night!!

Ardenttwo
28-01-2020, 10:01 AM
Atrocious conditions in Oban at the moment. 10 feet snowdrifts, the sea is frozen and Calmac ferries are stuck in the bay. The weather is still deteriorating too. The joys of living up here.

Just left Elgin. Heavy snow. Glad I am on train

28-01-2020, 10:02 AM
I thought we were signing that ex Sellik player for a second

28-01-2020, 11:15 AM
I'm just outside Falkirk too and it's not that bad, the roads are pretty clear if you drive with care.

The game will be on.

28-01-2020, 11:32 AM
Games at Easter Road are pretty much never postponed for snow in modern times. The exception to that was in the midst of “The Beast from the East” storm where non essential travel was greatly discouraged by authorities. Normal snow poses no threat for Hibs home games.

Tarrahib
28-01-2020, 11:40 AM
Just left Elgin. Heavy snow. Glad I am on train
Where are you staying tonight

28-01-2020, 12:01 PM
Games at Easter Road are pretty much never postponed for snow in modern times. The exception to that was in the midst of “The Beast from the East” storm where non essential travel was greatly discouraged by authorities. Normal snow poses no threat for Hibs home games.

Assuming the away team can get there :greengrin

Yorkshire HFC
28-01-2020, 12:13 PM
Pre-internet, I remember as a kid watching Grandstand and them reporting that the Hibs game was cancelled due to weather conditions - I think it was against Motherwell.

My dads routine was golf in the morning, home for lunch, then off to the game - I told him the game was cancelled and he didn't believe me. We both went to the ground - and it was cancelled!

I also remember as a student in Aberdeen, on midweek games I'd often have to wait until getting into the library at college and reading the papers there the next day to find out what the Hibs result had been.

Changed days.

28-01-2020, 12:19 PM
Left my flat in Newhaven this morning and drove to work in Haddington and absolutely zero sign of snow. Beyond freezing though but as it stands now the game canny be in any real danger of being off. Unless Dundee United could potentially have bother getting down I suppose?

Tarrahib
28-01-2020, 12:47 PM
Beware of the "pest from the west"

Alfiembra
28-01-2020, 12:52 PM
Or big Gaz 😁

:top marks:faf::faf:

1875godsgift
28-01-2020, 12:54 PM

:agree: Hail or snow or thunderstorms I'd go.

28-01-2020, 01:11 PM
Pre-internet, I remember as a kid watching Grandstand and them reporting that the Hibs game was cancelled due to weather conditions - I think it was against Motherwell.

My dads routine was golf in the morning, home for lunch, then off to the game - I told him the game was cancelled and he didn't believe me. We both went to the ground - and it was cancelled!

I also remember as a student in Aberdeen, on midweek games I'd often have to wait until getting into the library at college and reading the papers there the next day to find out what the Hibs result had been.

Changed days.

...and didn't even get the result right sometimes. Remember being gutted reading we had lost to the sheep when in fact we had won!

Changed days indeed.

28-01-2020, 02:27 PM
Just walked the dog up Arthurs seat. Bloody cauld but very bright at the moment.
On my way to the ticket office now to make sure my season ticket has been updated on the system to give access tonight then onto HTC for a game of fives. Back to Edinburgh for shower & scran then to the game. Perfect second half of the day.

28-01-2020, 03:50 PM
Just walked the dog up Arthurs seat. Bloody cauld but very bright at the moment.
On my way to the ticket office now to make sure my season ticket has been updated on the system to give access tonight then onto HTC for a game of fives. Back to Edinburgh for shower & scran then to the game. Perfect second half of the day.

Sounds an ideal day tbf 👍

28-01-2020, 04:01 PM

What a dream of a day that sounds like.

28-01-2020, 04:14 PM

If you didn't even have to use your A.K. that is a good day

28-01-2020, 06:03 PM
If you didn't even have to use your A.K. that is a good day

Obviously, had no use for Ice Cube!:aok:

28-01-2020, 06:20 PM
What a dream of a day that sounds like.

All quiet at HTC.
No sign of an unfamiliar defensive mid or a striker.

Wrap up well for tonight folk.
Extra time if a draw after 90 minutes.

EI255
28-01-2020, 06:33 PM
Ain't no snow in Edinburgh and absolutely none forecast for the foreseeable.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk