View Full Version : Riordan taken the four in hand?

27-01-2020, 02:22 PM
On his Instagram page looks like he is now running it, should be 'interesting'.

27-01-2020, 02:23 PM
Hope he doesn't get banned :greengrin

27-01-2020, 02:35 PM
He is aye

27-01-2020, 02:37 PM
I take it he's not the licensee.

27-01-2020, 03:08 PM
Amazing 😁😁. Change the name to Riordans Volley.

TimeForHeroes16
27-01-2020, 03:27 PM
Heard a few week back about this, also he changing the name straight from the horses mooth

27-01-2020, 03:28 PM
Heard a few week back about this, also he changing the name straight from the horses mooth

Riordans Volley?

TimeForHeroes16
27-01-2020, 03:48 PM
Riordans Volley?

Not sure what the name as getting changed too but seems it’s happening.

27-01-2020, 03:49 PM
What could possibly go wrong......

27-01-2020, 03:51 PM

They might try and replace him with Bobby Mann?

27-01-2020, 03:58 PM
Has he bought it off Kano? Four in Hand was my pre match pub before I left Edinburgh. Wouldn't like to see the name changed.

27-01-2020, 04:04 PM
Has he bought it off Kano? Four in Hand was my pre match pub before I left Edinburgh. Wouldn't like to see the name changed.

Kano still owns it

KingPat4
27-01-2020, 04:08 PM

27-01-2020, 04:53 PM

As long as they get rid of the IV above the door, that'll do for me!

27-01-2020, 05:05 PM
As long as they get rid of the IV above the door, that'll do for me!

Not been that for years

TimeForHeroes16
27-01-2020, 05:29 PM

Still kanos deeks just renting it off him, Kano still has the Torino, the four & Tamsons

27-01-2020, 05:33 PM
Still kanos deeks just renting it off him, Kano still has the Torino, the four & Tamsons

I heard Kano doesn’t actually own the FIH is that incorrect?

27-01-2020, 05:43 PM

Kano owns it along with the Tor and Tamsons. Andy owns the office, limelight and brass monkey, his brother tich owns the Harp.

27-01-2020, 05:51 PM
Kano owns it along with the Tor and Tamsons. Andy owns the office, limelight and brass monkey, his brother tich owns the Harp.

👍

Hibs4185
27-01-2020, 05:54 PM

Andy doesn’t own the brass monkey

27-01-2020, 06:11 PM

[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]

27-01-2020, 06:19 PM
If that is the case then Hopefully the poisonous cretin that runs it now will **** off............

27-01-2020, 06:26 PM
Still reckon he could do a job for us.

27-01-2020, 06:32 PM
Andy doesn’t own the brass monkey

Must have sold it then 👍

27-01-2020, 06:33 PM

Pies or Bovril ???

27-01-2020, 06:33 PM

Aye agreed, Behind the Goals could do with decent bar staff.

27-01-2020, 06:35 PM
Pies or Bovril ???

I'll have both please.

27-01-2020, 06:37 PM
I'll have both please.

See Deeks....

27-01-2020, 06:39 PM

Too right.... hasn't played alot in recent years so should be in sprightly shape.

27-01-2020, 06:39 PM
If that is the case then Hopefully the poisonous cretin that runs it now will **** off............Eh? That sounds a bit extreme :-/

27-01-2020, 06:52 PM
Must have sold it then 👍

Andy's not had the Brass Monkey for sevral years. The guy that's got the Brass Monkey on Drummond St took it over thats when he changed it's name to the Brass Monkey.

27-01-2020, 06:55 PM
Andy's not had the Brass Monkey for sevral years. The guy that's got the Brass Monkey on Drummond St took it over thats when he changed it's name to the Brass Monkey.

Shows what I know then eh? 😁 I know he was looking for a buyer when selling the Harp, I’ve no been in the Monkey since I hired it off him for a birthday about 9 years ago tbh.

Hibs4185
27-01-2020, 07:19 PM

The guy Scott who owns it now bought it from Kenny McLean who’s dad was the ex hibs chairman.

Scott is an absolute **** of the highest order and hates football fans

27-01-2020, 07:29 PM
Shows what I know then eh? 😁 I know he was looking for a buyer when selling the Harp, I’ve no been in the Monkey since I hired it off him for a birthday about 9 years ago tbh.

The guy Scott who owns it now bought it from Kenny McLean who’s dad was the ex hibs chairman.

Been racking my brain trying to remember what it was before the Monkey. The Horsehoe.

Leith's finest
27-01-2020, 08:08 PM
Been racking my brain trying to remember what it was before the Monkey. The Horsehoe.

The shrub

27-01-2020, 08:31 PM
The shrub

The shrub for years and then the horseshoe

Cataplana
28-01-2020, 06:42 AM

Stewart's Bar, opposite was Rutherford's. There should be a law against changing the name of pubs.

28-01-2020, 07:50 AM
Stewart's Bar, opposite was Rutherford's. There should be a law against changing the name of pubs.

Sure that’s part of the Italian restaurant you enter from South Bridge now.

Cataplana
28-01-2020, 08:13 AM
Sure that’s part of the Italian restaurant you enter from South Bridge now.

I think it's called La Hispaniola. Named after the ship in Treasure Island, as Robert Louis Stevenson was a regular at Rutherford's.

The Count
28-01-2020, 08:43 AM
Aye Stewart's in Drummond Street one of the few pubs in Edinburgh with its own lamppost.Remember you could buy a pint take it next door to Kushis to wash down your curry!!@

green with envy
28-01-2020, 09:52 AM
Aye Stewart's in Drummond Street one of the few pubs in Edinburgh with its own lamppost.Remember you could buy a pint take it next door to Kushis to wash down your curry!!@

An original Kushi's no nonsense mutton curry and a pint from Stewart's brings back fond memories.:thumbsup:

ben johnson
28-01-2020, 09:57 AM

And no automatic doors opening for you as you left the pub with your precious pints. Through those swing doors that had a life of their own

ShetlandHibby
28-01-2020, 04:37 PM
Surely getting rid of the IV above the door! Anything hibs related can’t gave 1-5 on it, gives the flumps ammo

28-01-2020, 07:24 PM
Will it become like the ferry boat [emoji85][emoji23]

28-01-2020, 09:24 PM

Whats happening with the Nip/Office? Been shut for months now.

28-01-2020, 09:29 PM

Re-branding. Losing too much money. Tried for years to try and make it like limelite and Donna didn’t want to run it anymore so was stop gaps.

28-01-2020, 09:31 PM
Re-branding. Losing too much money. Tried for years to try and make it like limelite and Donna didn’t want to run it anymore so was stop gaps.

Cheers. I wasn’t sure if it was getting done up or what as every time I go by it there’s not much sign of any activity.

Hibs4185
28-01-2020, 09:34 PM

I heard Andy was turning it into 2 flats?

28-01-2020, 09:37 PM
Student flats unfortunately. Gutted as it’s been part of my Easter Road day out since I was about 10

28-01-2020, 10:24 PM
Student flats unfortunately. Gutted as it’s been part of my Easter Road day out since I was about 10

I used to stay on Easter Road in the 90s. My front door was opposite the Four in Hand and my living room window looked on to the Nip. Some entertaining scenes late night on weekends shall we say 😀

28-01-2020, 10:36 PM

The best bit about the Ferry Boat was the signage on the side of the building which read "International Cabaret".
Always had a laugh at that and imagined that Kung Fu between the patrons was as near as they got to it.

29-01-2020, 05:43 AM
Daily Record have gone with the headline 'Former Hibs and Celtic star opens pub with convicted drug dealer'.

EAZY-ME
29-01-2020, 08:36 AM
Watering hole for wannabe gonksters..... wonder how long before it gets fire bombed again

Leith's finest
29-01-2020, 12:29 PM
Hit the report instead of reply.
The ferry boat has been a good pub for about 10 years now. Great pint

29-01-2020, 01:05 PM
I used to stay on Easter Road in the 90s. My front door was opposite the Four in Hand and my living room window looked on to the Nip. Some entertaining scenes late night on weekends shall we say 😀

Yeah I used to live at that end of Albert St and between the Nip and the Clan Tavern the weekends where lively to say the least. :greengrin

29-01-2020, 01:11 PM
Yeah I used to live at that end of Albert St and between the Nip and the Clan Tavern the weekends where lively to say the least. :greengrin

So did I, number 166.

29-01-2020, 01:14 PM
Daily Record have gone with the headline 'Former Hibs and Celtic star opens pub with convicted drug dealer'.

No like them to stick the boot in.

KingPat4
29-01-2020, 01:24 PM

Every article in that rag always has a gangster angle.

It's a Weegie thang.

29-01-2020, 01:33 PM

This, especially the bloody ridiculous names now

southfieldhibby
29-01-2020, 01:55 PM

That's right. Paul never owned it.

Almost correct. Boy who operates that and the one up town initials are MP and a total fud. Hates football and was the only pub on Leith Walk who refused to open on Cup final night. He's a fanny. Also has the licence for The strathie which he sublets to a sound South African fella.

they're all owned by the same guy, along with Robbies, Persevere, Artisan and many more.

29-01-2020, 02:25 PM
Does anyone know if the Ellwyn will ever reopen or is it shut for good.

southfieldhibby
29-01-2020, 03:02 PM
Does anyone know if the Ellwyn will ever reopen or is it shut for good.

Expectation is it'll be flats I'm afraid. Some good times had in there, ran a few buses to Hampden and eaten some very basic meals.

29-01-2020, 04:12 PM

Almost correct. Boy who operates that and the one up town initials are MP and a total fud. Hates football and was the only pub on Leith Walk who refused to open on Cup final night. He's a fanny. Also has the licence for The strathie which he sublets to a sound South African fella.

they're all owned by the same guy, along with Robbies, Persevere, Artisan and many more.

So that contradicts what I was told in an earlier post but confirms what I was told a couple of years ago.....any offers on who is correct?

29-01-2020, 04:29 PM
Expectation is it'll be flats I'm afraid. Some good times had in there, ran a few buses to Hampden and eaten some very basic meals.

A shame. Grew up very close to The Ellwyn and despite not being a local in there was in often enough over many years. Alec who ran the bar was a good Hibby and I travelled through to Hampden with my Dad on the ocassional bus they put on.

Would've thought The Ellwyn did alright but I think it changed hands a few years ago and I wasn't impressed with the service last time I was in after this. Anyone know what happened?

29-01-2020, 05:00 PM
Companies House says owner is Carol Morris. 🤷*♂️

30-01-2020, 12:59 PM

Landlord? Do you have any nuts?

I'll murder ye, ya.......

30-01-2020, 01:09 PM

Thanks for the update. Shame as it was a local of mine many years ago.

30-01-2020, 01:20 PM
I think it's called La Hispaniola. Named after the ship in Treasure Island, as Robert Louis Stevenson was a regular at Rutherford's.

Yep, it's a full-on Treasure Island/pirate-themed restaurant. Lots of life-size pirate figures and assorted memorabilia. Looks a bit freakish, although I don't think I ever went into Rutherfords when it was a pub so don't know if its latest incarnation is an improvement or not.

Seem to remember the boxer (and Hibby) Alex Arthur lived on that street.

30-01-2020, 01:25 PM

Any publicity is good publicity.

Folk know who has the pub now, will The Sun & Record think there story will stop people from going in for a pint, can't see it.

30-01-2020, 02:37 PM

Almost almost correct. The South African dude is long gone from the Strathy and MP back doing shifts there. Personally never had any hassle from him.

Hibs4185
30-01-2020, 03:25 PM
So that contradicts what I was told in an earlier post but confirms what I was told a couple of years ago.....any offers on who is correct?

It doesn’t really matter but Scott started at the brass monkey at Drummond street. Took over the horseshoe after Andy gave up the lease and turned it into the brass monkey. Kenny McLean Owned it. Scott was in partnership with the guy from the strathie. He was financing it. When kenny sold, he wanted stupid money for it. Scott couldn’t get finance and paid it up monthly.

Kenny also owned the Brunswick. Wanted rid of that and Scott took that on also.

I never claim to be itk with anything but I am with this 😂

Don’t know the guy from the Strathie but Scott is famous for being a right James hunt.

30-01-2020, 03:26 PM

Folk know who has the pub now, will The Sun & Record think there story will stop people from going in for a pint, can't see it.

If I mention your name Silver, can I put it on your tab😄

30-01-2020, 03:30 PM

Agreed. Anyhoo I wish him all the best in his new venture.

30-01-2020, 03:37 PM

Aye, same here?

hibbymick
31-01-2020, 09:56 AM
Kevin Doyle still owns Four in hand. Not sure for how much longer.

31-01-2020, 10:51 AM

You can always try Billy, but please, whatever you do don't ask for peanuts. :greengrin

31-01-2020, 11:04 AM
Agreed. Anyhoo I wish him all the best in his new venture.

A nice wee story from the local paper.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/former-hibs-star-derek-riordan-opens-about-plans-easter-road-pub-four-hand-and-getting-second-chance-1379722

31-01-2020, 11:05 AM
Aye, same here?

Garlic bread for you dude. :greengrin

31-01-2020, 04:54 PM
Garlic bread for you dude. :greengrin

Obviously

BegbieHSC
14-02-2020, 04:58 PM
On his Instagram, looks like he’s changed the name to ‘Riordan’s Sports Bar.’
Fair play to him.

14-02-2020, 05:08 PM
On his Instagram, looks like he’s changed the name to ‘Riordan’s Sports Bar.’
Fair play to him.

Saw a sign in the window the other night advertising new opening hours that had that name on it.

14-02-2020, 05:24 PM
The sign I was told is R01den

BegbieHSC
14-02-2020, 05:29 PM
Decent looking new staff t-shirts anyway.

14-02-2020, 05:29 PM
The sign I was told is R01den

Nah, it’s R10RDAN

14-02-2020, 05:31 PM
👍🏻

14-02-2020, 07:22 PM
Good luck to him. I hope it gets him on the right road.

14-02-2020, 09:16 PM
Good luck to him. I hope it gets him on the right road.

14-02-2020, 09:19 PM
Hope it goes well for Deek, will need to give it a go when I'm next in Edinburgh.

15-02-2020, 01:31 AM
Hope it goes well for Deek, will need to give it a go when I'm next in Edinburgh.

Yes looks good and he always responds to my comments on Instagram. Will pop in when next in Edinburgh.

franck sauzee
15-02-2020, 03:59 AM
I hope he's changing the tables, chairs and layout if possible. I get that 4 in hand probably introduced the big tables through the back to attract clientele during the week and when Hibs aren't playing but for me it killed that area from being one of my favourite pre game places to somewhere that I would avoid. Office has done the same also. Its good for the smaller games but when you have a derby or game against the old firm etc it's so cramped

15-02-2020, 06:23 AM
A nice wee story from the local paper.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/former-hibs-star-derek-riordan-opens-about-plans-easter-road-pub-four-hand-and-getting-second-chance-1379722

Aye, at least he had the chance to sit down and chat with the Evening News people, where the other papers just wanted (as usual) a cheap headline.

I didnt read those stories, refuse to click on the Record / Sun links, but sure I could have written them with my eyes shut "trouble with the law" "banned from every nightclub in edinburgh" etc etc.

Didnt realise Deek was only 37, still a young man and hopefully he does well with his new business venture :aok:

15-02-2020, 12:27 PM
Aye, at least he had the chance to sit down and chat with the Evening News people, where the other papers just wanted (as usual) a cheap headline.

I didnt read those stories, refuse to click on the Record / Sun links, but sure I could have written them with my eyes shut "trouble with the law" "banned from every nightclub in edinburgh" etc etc.

Didnt realise Deek was only 37, still a young man and hopefully he does well with his new business venture :aok:

It's the stuff they bring up that he has been acquitted off that annoys him, the Record & Sun can't help but stick the boot in but never mention there previous conviction for contempt of court regards there journalism in the trial of him and his cousin being found not guilty on all charges and the the papers mentioned above being found guilty.

He seems quite excited with his new venture and hopes to make a go of it. :aok:

https://www.scotcourts.gov.uk/search-judgments/judgment?id=6a938aa6-8980-69d2-b500-ff0000d74aa7

davhibby
15-02-2020, 12:37 PM
Not off to the best start, seemingly it’s the new pub for the Leith Celtic supporters club

15-02-2020, 12:53 PM
Not off to the best start, seemingly it’s the new pub for the Leith Celtic supporters club

His business partner is a Celtc fanatic right enough. Probably just opening it up to other fans to use it on Euro nights etc.

15-02-2020, 07:48 PM

Leith Celtic Supporters Club? That’s taking glory hunting to extremes.

15-02-2020, 08:10 PM
Leith Celtic are all radges.

Used to use Summerside Bowling Club i believe. The club was awash with cash at the time I understand

stuart-farquhar
15-02-2020, 08:16 PM

That's me and mine barring ourselves.Not sharing the time of day with those cheeky twats.

15-02-2020, 08:19 PM
I’m sure “Leith Celtic” used to be on the “sine die” list at the Sighthill Pitz.

15-02-2020, 08:31 PM
That's me and mine barring ourselves.Not sharing the time of day with those cheeky twats.

I thought about giving the place a try but won't bother either. I realise it's all about business but being associated with that lot? No, ta.

15-02-2020, 08:36 PM
I’m a wee bit surprised by some of the “associated with that lot” comments. Do folk think this is likely to anything other than a Hibs pub on match days?

I met Deek for the first time a few weeks back, I didn’t really know what to expect but I found him to be a really likeable chap. Hopefully it works out for him and I’ll be supporting where possible.

15-02-2020, 09:30 PM
I wonder if it will be a mixed bar the next time we play Celtic?

15-02-2020, 09:51 PM
I thought about giving the place a try but won't bother either. I realise it's all about business but being associated with that lot? No, ta.

I can’t see Celtic fans kicking about when we are at home. And this hasn’t even been confirmed anywhere. Why not just give the laddie and the pub a chance before pre judging him/it and making excuses as to why not to go. If Celtic fans want to turn up and make him money on European nights when we aren’t playing what’s the issue?

15-02-2020, 09:52 PM
I wonder if it will be a mixed bar the next time we play Celtic?

No chance. The police wouldn’t allow it to begin with. The category a away support have a designated pub.

15-02-2020, 09:55 PM
I can’t see Celtic fans kicking about when we are at home. And this hasn’t even been confirmed anywhere. Why not just give the laddie and the pub a chance before pre judging him/it and making excuses as to why not to go. If Celtic fans want to turn up and make him money on European nights when we aren’t playing what’s the issue?

In case you missed it, I did say it was business and that's understandable. He'll want to make money.

I'm sure he won't miss my 2 pints a month 😁

stuart-farquhar
15-02-2020, 09:57 PM

I don't like them. That's my simple issue.

SideBurns
15-02-2020, 09:57 PM
No chance. The police wouldn’t allow it to begin with. The category a away support have a designated pub.

There's always a fair squad of Celtic fans in Robbie's before and after games (suspect it's a bus who go there). Other than the fact it's a bit annoying that they take over part of the pub, I've never seen any bother and we get the place back to normal within a couple of hours post-match.

stuart-farquhar
15-02-2020, 10:03 PM
There's always a fair squad of Celtic fans in Robbie's before and after games (suspect it's a bus who go there). Other than the fact it's a bit annoying that they take over part of the pub, I've never seen any bother and we get the place back to normal within a couple of hours post-match.
Pity it's not a one way bus. I had the misfortune to sit next to a born and bred Leither there who went on about his beloved Celtic. Why live in Leith then I asked. Why not support a closer club?. It's those questions that upset them very much. Questions they can't answer.

15-02-2020, 10:17 PM

Yeah that’s not on Easter road though, same as when it’s half and half up the artisan when it’s any of they games. They won’t be allowed to go anywhere but Middletons with football colours on ER.

15-02-2020, 10:19 PM
Pity it's not a one way bus. I had the misfortune to sit next to a born and bred Leither there who went on about his beloved Celtic. Why live in Leith then I asked. Why not support a closer club?. It's those questions that upset them very much. Questions they can't answer.

It ****s me off too tbh but at the same time I’m not going to be upset if they want to use a Hibs pub when we aren’t playing to make money for Deeks. If there’s any sniff of anything Celtic in the pub I would re-evaluate my opinion.

15-02-2020, 10:23 PM
In case you missed it, I did say it was business and that's understandable. He'll want to make money.

I'm sure he won't miss my 2 pints a month 😁

I don’t think it will be any association with them though, it will be a hibby pub round the corner from the stadium ran by a hibby. I would rather the pub(s) on Easter road maximise revenue when we aren’t playing instead of getting closed like three great pubs in and around the stadium that have gone. I don’t think Deeks would be able or want to attract the clientele they do up the road on Easter road so a sports bar that Celtic fans want to use to watch their games when we aren’t there makes it profitable otherwise it just sits empty half the time.

speedy_gonzales
15-02-2020, 10:24 PM
When it was open, there used to be a Leith Celtic bus leave from the Coopers Rest. They'd normally just be leaving when I was getting in, usually around noon.
I'm afraid to say though, that when we played Celtic at ER, the pub was a bit busier and there was plenty Celtic colours on show. Never witnessed any bother but the green on green love-in was not appreciated by all.

SideBurns
15-02-2020, 10:28 PM
Yeah that’s not on Easter road though, same as when it’s half and half up the artisan when it’s any of they games. They won’t be allowed to go anywhere but Middletons with football colours on ER.

Aye, fair enough; Robbie's is probably regarded as far enough away from the ground. The polis still pay it a visit on category 'a' days, but doubt they ever see anything to concern them. You're likely right that they'd be more worried about the Four in Hand.

Good luck to Deeks anyway.

kevinc
15-02-2020, 10:41 PM
His business partner is a massive Celtic fan, also happens to be Yogis nephew.

15-02-2020, 11:00 PM
There’s been a Celtic bus out of Leith for years. Think they used to run out of The Spey at the bottom of the Walk. Rabid Hun bus used to run out of the Coburg bar as well.

16-02-2020, 01:08 AM
Aye, fair enough; Robbie's is probably regarded as far enough away from the ground. The polis still pay it a visit on category 'a' days, but doubt they ever see anything to concern them. You're likely right that they'd be more worried about the Four in Hand.

Good luck to Deeks anyway.

Definitely 👍

09-07-2020, 02:50 PM
Riordans Volley?

R10RDAN'S SPORTS BAR.

Been renamed now and is looking smart, it's on his Instagram page.

09-07-2020, 02:59 PM
R10RDAN'S SPORTS BAR.

Is it still a Celtc boozer?

09-07-2020, 03:04 PM

It's a sports bar, it will have up tops of some of the clubs he has played for and tops from players he has collected in his career, has it ever been a Celtc pub.?

Green Manalishi
09-07-2020, 03:05 PM
Is it still a Celtc boozer? The sign outside has a harp and four leafed clover on it. Maybe he is going down the Irish theme bar route

09-07-2020, 03:16 PM
It's a sports bar, it will have up tops of some of the clubs he has played for and tops from players he has collected in his career, has it ever been a Celtc pub.?

I thought there was a Celtc supporters bus left from there. Apologies if wrong.

09-07-2020, 03:23 PM

You might be right, but does that make it a Celtc boozer, I'm sure a Hibs supporters bus leaves from the pub as well or used to.:aok:

EK-HIBEE
09-07-2020, 04:28 PM

https://mobile.twitter.com/LeithCeltic/status/1227522958228414464

Leith Celtic.....

09-07-2020, 04:51 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/LeithCeltic/status/1227522958228414464

Leith Celtic.....

Wow. Was never a fan of the four in hand but it was a proper hibs pub. Maybe that type of pub is no longer viable but still depressing

EK-HIBEE
09-07-2020, 05:04 PM
Wow. Was never a fan of the four in hand but it was a proper hibs pub. Maybe that type of pub is no longer viable but still depressing

That was pre-Covid as well! If it wasn’t viable before then they’ll be pushing more now that lockdowns over.

09-07-2020, 05:07 PM

I used to stay opposite it and drank there for years. Never been a Celtic boozer in its puff.

09-07-2020, 06:48 PM
Nothing against DR, Hibs legend and the boozer is how he’ll be making a living so fair play but I think I’ll be avoiding it if it’s a plastic Irish bar with Celtic tops on the wall and there’s a Celtic bus leaving from there

09-07-2020, 07:30 PM
I used to stay opposite it and drank there for years. Never been a Celtic boozer in its puff.

It certainly wasn't when it was the Four in Hand. I'm talking about since Deek took it over.

09-07-2020, 07:35 PM
Nothing against DR, Hibs legend and the boozer is how he’ll be making a living so fair play but I think I’ll be avoiding it if it’s a plastic Irish bar with Celtic tops on the wall and there’s a Celtic bus leaving from there

That could cause a headache come Hibs - Celtic games.

09-07-2020, 07:50 PM
When the old Clan Tavern/Ma Wilsons was open the Tollcross Hearts Supporters bus used to travel from there. (Most of) Those guys were ok, some used to arrive back from their away games when we were still hanging around. Good for a natter and needle games of pool.

The Clan was never a Hearts boozer though.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

09-07-2020, 08:28 PM
When the old Clan Tavern/Ma Wilsons was open the Tollcross Hearts Supporters bus used to travel from there. (Most of) Those guys were ok, some used to arrive back from their away games when we were still hanging around. Good for a natter and needle games of pool.

The Clan was never a Hearts boozer though.

Ah the Clan, my pub of choice in the 80's on game day. Never relay took to the Cabbage * & Ribs

09-07-2020, 08:41 PM
Ah the Clan, my pub of choice in the 80's on game day. Never relay took to the Cabbage * & RibsNever really liked any other boozer as much as I loved The Clan; the decor, the jukebox, the savoir faire of the staff not to mention the burnt out seats in the pool room. Great place. We must have bumped into each other (literally) at some point.

Daft idea to make it a theme bar, ruined it.

09-07-2020, 09:06 PM
A number of years ago i got a lift over the bridge on the Leith Celtic bus.
I was going to Kirkcaldy
They were heading for Dundee.
I got on the bus at The Centurion.
I kent a few of the older guys that used the bus.
The Leith Bus stops at a few pubs to pick guys up.
Ryries for one and The Cenny so do a number of buses on route West or North.
Unless they are making Deeks their new home base, i don't see a problem with Hibs fans in the bar.
Money in the till for Derek.
As for games against Celtic at ER ,the Celtic boys wont need a coach.
So more likely to be in their usual haunts Spey ,Central.Maybe Alhambra

Hillsidehibby
09-07-2020, 09:07 PM
The Clan Tavern on a Thursday night in the 70’s
Go go dancers and local gals having a go in their undies.
Happy days

09-07-2020, 09:21 PM
The Clan Tavern on a Thursday night in the 70’s
Go go dancers and local gals having a go in their undies.
Happy daysIt was like Weimar Germany.

09-07-2020, 09:29 PM
R10RDAN'S SPORTS BAR.

It’s looking great mate! Definitely going to be a success 👍

Hillsidehibby
09-07-2020, 09:30 PM
It was like Weimar Germany.

09-07-2020, 09:45 PM

I don’t understand why. It’s a sports bar on Easter Road named after Derek Riordan. Everyone will know the footballer, no hearts or rangers fans will want to become regulars but it’s not exclusively Hibs which has shut loads of pubs down in the past with about four people and a dog there on a weds night. What’s Deek supposed to say opening a new business? Sorry lads I know I played for Celtic but you boys can’t run a bus outside, please come in though and try our lager? He turns that kind of thing down word of mouth will have it blacklisted. For as good a pub the four was there’s a reason it’s been sold so often.

09-07-2020, 09:55 PM
I don’t understand why. It’s a sports bar on Easter Road named after Derek Riordan. Everyone will know the footballer, no hearts or rangers fans will want to become regulars but it’s not exclusively Hibs which has shut loads of pubs down in the past with about four people and a dog there on a weds night. What’s Deek supposed to say opening a new business? Sorry lads I know I played for Celtic but you boys can’t run a bus outside, please come in though and try our lager? He turns that kind of thing down word of mouth will have it blacklisted. For as good a pub the four was there’s a reason it’s been sold so often.There used to be Celtic fans in The Bowlers Rest every time they came to town. Can't remember that being a problem.

09-07-2020, 10:10 PM
There used to be Celtic fans in The Bowlers Rest every time they came to town. Can't remember that being a problem.

Celtic won’t be drinking that far down Easter Road because of segregation. They have two pubs they go to and that will be it. Maybe not but the first sign of any bother they will be moved and that will be that.

TelaStella
09-07-2020, 10:43 PM

Was it ever? Seriously. Paul Kane’s bar before deeks’ takeover unless I’m confused with elsewhere. Hibs 4nhand bus ran there for years, every away game and still does to my knowledge. Leith celtic csc is deplorable but we canny really pick which boozers they choose to pick up from. Hibs pub for years and many more to come no doubt.

JOD
10-07-2020, 01:03 AM
Hey guys I hope you all know why it was called four in hand in the first place?
A very historic Hibs public house. If you don't know do some research and always treat the premises with total Hibs respect.
I'll give you a clue Scottish Cup

10-07-2020, 06:12 AM
A very historic Hibs public house. If you don't know do some research and always treat the premises with total Hibs respect.

I always thought it was named after the Four in Hand carriages that would carry coffins to the cemetery. What’s the Hibs connection?

10-07-2020, 06:14 AM
I don’t understand why. It’s a sports bar on Easter Road named after Derek Riordan. Everyone will know the footballer, no hearts or rangers fans will want to become regulars but it’s not exclusively Hibs which has shut loads of pubs down in the past with about four people and a dog there on a weds night. What’s Deek supposed to say opening a new business? Sorry lads I know I played for Celtic but you boys can’t run a bus outside, please come in though and try our lager? He turns that kind of thing down word of mouth will have it blacklisted. For as good a pub the four was there’s a reason it’s been sold so often.

Absolutely makes sense. Pub trade is hard enough without turning away income and customers. He did play for both clubs also.

10-07-2020, 07:21 AM
Ah the Clan, my pub of choice in the 80's on game day. Never relay took to the Cabbage * & Ribs

Did you ever got a shot on the bike in the shop windae. Forbes' pride and joy.

Many memories of doms, and pool competitions late into a Saturday night. 👍

10-07-2020, 07:38 AM
[QUOTE=JOD;6231461]Hey guys I hope you all know why it was called four in hand in the first place?
1902.[/QUOTE

Can you no just tell us ?

11-07-2020, 10:29 AM

Can’t find anything on internet so tell us

malcolm
11-07-2020, 10:50 AM
Four in hand refers I think to holding the reins of 4 horses pulling a carriage. Back in 1902 that might have been how the cup was brought back to Easter Road?

11-07-2020, 11:59 AM

Forbes! Sold me my first pint. Commonly known as Ma Wilson’s then. Back room was full of Space Invaders. Loved the place. Even though it was a pick up point for a Hearts bus......Portobello Bus if I recall right.

13-07-2020, 12:27 PM
Wonder how many Shaanxi Chanba fans he will get in

Chorley Hibee
13-07-2020, 12:43 PM
Wonder how many Shaanxi Chanba fans he will get in

I wonder if they'll run a bus.

TelaStella
13-07-2020, 02:54 PM
Four in hand refers I think to holding the reins of 4 horses pulling a carriage. Back in 1902 that might have been how the cup was brought back to Easter Road?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200713/fc6a8507049542bcedb8ae1a672744e5.jpg

13-07-2020, 04:09 PM

Ronnie, hope you're well mate say hello to the we man for us. The bike was always in the window. Forbes was well into his speedway and am sure a few speedway guys drank there. They days of the gogos had gone by the time i started there.

Forbes! Sold me my first pint. Commonly known as Ma Wilson’s then. Back room was full of Space Invaders. Loved the place. Even though it was a pick up point for a Hearts bus......Portobello Bus if I recall right.

Tollcross bus left from there, a we pal i served my time with travelled on it.

13-07-2020, 06:34 PM
Ronnie, hope you're well mate say hello to the we man for us. The bike was always in the window. Forbes was well into his speedway and am sure a few speedway guys drank there. They days of the gogos had gone by the time i started there.

Tollcross bus left from there, a we pal i served my time with travelled on it.

Did that wee fellah go by the first name Ronnie? And you’re right it was Tollcross.

13-07-2020, 07:11 PM
Did that wee fellah go by the first name Ronnie? And you’re right it was Tollcross.

Na, it was Scott, wee Mouse from Craigentinny.

14-07-2020, 06:42 PM
Na, it was Scott, wee Mouse from Craigentinny.

Different fellah.
I know you now though!
S.

14-07-2020, 07:19 PM
Different fellah.
I know you now though!
S.

25-09-2021, 05:13 PM
Apologies for bumping an old thread.

I noticed Riordans was closed the last couple of home games. I take it that's it closed permanently in that guise? Anyone know if there are any plans for what comes next?

EI255
25-09-2021, 05:30 PM

I noticed Riordans was closed the last couple of home games. I take it that's it closed permanently in that guise? Anyone know if there are any plans for what comes next?Looked closed down completely when I walked past it during lock down.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

25-09-2021, 05:31 PM

I noticed Riordans was closed the last couple of home games. I take it that's it closed permanently in that guise? Anyone know if there are any plans for what comes next?

O'Connors

25-09-2021, 05:33 PM
Getting a full revamp

25-09-2021, 05:36 PM
Getting a full revamp

Changing from R10rdan’s to R01rdan’s. :greengrin

25-09-2021, 05:41 PM
New tenants but don’t know who

25-09-2021, 05:53 PM
Might not even be a pub next - think PK had ideas to turn it into a cafe/bistro.

25-09-2021, 05:55 PM
Might not even be a pub next - think PK had ideas to turn it into a cafe/bistro.

Similar to The Tor? 😃

25-09-2021, 05:58 PM
Similar to The Tor? 😃

Can’t beat The Tor 😂 i know he was considering a change of format though.

25-09-2021, 05:58 PM
Can’t beat The Tor 😂 i know he was considering a change of format though.

Its still very much a boozer.

25-09-2021, 06:01 PM
Its still very much a boozer.

And it might well be mate, I know the last venture scunnered him and no doubt Derek - not going into it on a forum though. Good lads the pair of them 👍

25-09-2021, 06:07 PM
And it might well be mate, I know the last venture scunnered him and no doubt Derek - not going into it on a forum though. Good lads the pair of them 👍

Was Riordan not just pretty unlucky with the timing? He couldn’t have had it that long before covid arrived.