View Full Version : Gary Mackay-Steven

ManlyOz
20-01-2020, 04:39 PM
Listening to Si ferry on Open Goal, GMS says he supported Hibs growing up in Thurso and his email still has Hibees in it 👍, didn’t really like him now I do!!😁

20-01-2020, 04:40 PM
One of the players I would have loved to have seen play for us. If he supported us why did he always score against us! 😤

20-01-2020, 04:42 PM
Listening to Si ferry on Open Goal ,GMS says he supported Hibs growing up and in Thurso and his email still has Hibees in it 👍, didn’t really like him now I do!!😁

I’m so glad that’s been confirmed! I had a very vague recollection of this story from years ago and couldn’t find the article.

20-01-2020, 05:15 PM
He's a player, always scored against us too 😂

20-01-2020, 05:21 PM
Always thought he was cheating wee fud. Might have to reassess my opinion now.

20-01-2020, 05:38 PM
What's the story behind him supporting us when he grew up in Thurso?

StevesFamau5
20-01-2020, 05:40 PM
Always thought he was cheating wee fud. Might have to reassess my opinion now.Less of an opinion, more of a fact. Might change personal opinion but he's still a diving wee fud [emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

20-01-2020, 05:43 PM

i'm positive there was/is a Thurso hibs branch, i know a couple who grew up in Bathgate and chose Hibs

20-01-2020, 05:43 PM

There was quite a lively Hibs support in Thurso in the 80s IIRC. One of the pubs had Hibs posters up.

20-01-2020, 05:50 PM
I’m so glad that’s been confirmed! I had a very vague recollection of this story from years ago and couldn’t find the article.

:agree: it’s been said a few times on here over the years. No wonder he always raises his game against us.

20-01-2020, 05:52 PM

He says in this interview that he saw a Hibs score on Teletext that was 6-2 against Stenhousemuir(?) and he thought Hibs must be some team.

20-01-2020, 06:06 PM
Wasn't Stuart Crowther based up in Wick back in the day?

He produced a fanzine called TANESH (or something similar?).

20-01-2020, 06:07 PM

Moderated these boards for a long time as well.

20-01-2020, 06:10 PM
i'm positive there was/is a Thurso hibs branch, i know a couple who grew up in Bathgate and chose HibsBack before then as well . Thurso branch is mentioned in match programmes from the 1950's.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

20-01-2020, 06:15 PM
One of the players I would have loved to have seen play for us. If he supported us why did he always score against us! 😤

Not unusual. Keith Wright scored against us regularly.

20-01-2020, 06:18 PM

Yep. The Absolutely Non Essential Hibernian Supporters’ Handbook.

20-01-2020, 06:24 PM

Add him to the list of players who supported us, and couldn't help score against us.

20-01-2020, 06:32 PM
Moderated these boards for a long time as well.

If I recall correctly, Stuart Crowther was the founder of Hibs Net. He later had to sever connections when he was employed by Hibernian when they were establishing the club's online presence.

20-01-2020, 06:35 PM
Pretty sure he played a trial for us on the recommendation of Derek Adams and Colin Calderwood rejected him for being too wee

Might be talking pish!

Fanforlife
20-01-2020, 07:25 PM

He produced a fanzine called TANESH (or something similar?).met a few guys from Wick when i worked in Invergordan,all were Hibs Fans,that was in the late 1970,s though.!

20-01-2020, 08:02 PM
Not unusual. Keith Wright scored against us regularly.

As did Robbo & Nade. Hibbys? Surely not.

Slim Shady
20-01-2020, 08:12 PM
Always thought he was cheating wee fud. Might have to reassess my opinion now.

Ach is water under the bridge now.............
:tin hat:

Gaffer1875
20-01-2020, 08:16 PM
Good interview, he’s got some stories! Always like him as a player, can you imagine GMS on the left and Boyle on the right...

20-01-2020, 08:23 PM
Good interview, he’s got some stories! Always like him as a player, can you imagine GMS on the left and Boyle on the right...

I can for Scotland .......No scrub that! :greengrin

20-01-2020, 08:30 PM
Pretty sure he played a trial for us on the recommendation of Derek Adams and Colin Calderwood rejected him for being too wee

Might be talking pish!

Nope, not pish, Billy. You're spot on.

Calderwood was and remains a fud :greengrin

majorhibs
20-01-2020, 08:37 PM
There was quite a lively Hibs support in Thurso in the 80s IIRC. One of the pubs had Hibs posters up.

Couple of them regularly traveled down & on our bus in 80/90s, & always maintained a guid few mair where they came from!

20-01-2020, 08:50 PM
:agree: it’s been said a few times on here over the years. No wonder he always raises his game against us.

I mentioned GMS was a Hibee on here a few years ago. Was told by a good few I was talking p1sh and he was a wee runt, etc. I rest my case.

20-01-2020, 09:15 PM

Did he explain how he ended up in the Clyde?

20-01-2020, 09:17 PM
I mentioned GMS was a Hibee on here a few years ago. Was told by a good few I was talking p1sh and he was a wee runt, etc. I rest my case.

I remember reading that he added the “-Stevens” bit to his surname as he didn’t want to be known as Gary McKay.

20-01-2020, 09:26 PM
i'm positive there was/is a Thurso hibs branch, i know a couple who grew up in Bathgate and chose Hibs

I suppose there’s not much distance wise between both Bathgate and Thurso to ER right enough 🤔

20-01-2020, 09:28 PM
I remember reading that he added the “-Stevens” bit to his surname as he didn’t want to be known as Gary McKay.

I hope that’s true.

20-01-2020, 09:29 PM

Worth hanging around this many years just to say told you? :greengrin

20-01-2020, 09:53 PM

Correct. His father is McKay, mother Stevens and they added the "-Stevens" to avoid the Yam similarity.

KanyeWestLower
20-01-2020, 09:53 PM

Better story than the real one anyway. Nearly signed for hibs 3 times.

20-01-2020, 11:57 PM
Did he ever celebrate against hibs(scoring)

21-01-2020, 12:22 AM

All the time. I always thought he was out to prove us wrong when playing against us. We had the chance for him when he was at Airdrie.

Clarence
21-01-2020, 12:24 AM

I always believed in you THA.

21-01-2020, 12:34 AM

Celebrated big style when he scored against Hibs - remember a couple he got at ER where he made a point of noising up the Hibs fans in the FF stand as well!

21-01-2020, 05:46 AM
I always believed in you THA.

Thank you Sir :not worth

21-01-2020, 05:56 AM
Better story than the real one anyway. Nearly signed for hibs 3 times.

Was always hoping he would? Is he stil at New York City?

21-01-2020, 06:12 AM
Nope, not pish, Billy. You're spot on.

Calderwood was and remains a fud :greengrin

So much so that he went down to Liverpool and was immediately offered a professional contract :confused:

I'm Spartacus
21-01-2020, 01:46 PM
Did he explain how he ended up in the Clyde?

Then he sat in hospital convinced he was on a golf course!

22-01-2020, 05:12 AM
Worth hanging around this many years just to say told you? :greengrin

Ahaha I was told the same a few years back but not many believed me when I passed on the info, good to get confirmation now

Shame we never signed him as he's some player, especially when playing at Easter Road!