View Full Version : Scottish Cup 5th Round draw - BSC Glasgow v Utd or Hibs

19-01-2020, 05:16 PM
On in an hour. Extremely strong line-up at this stage, all Premiership teams are through bar us and Ross County and the only side outwith the top three tiers is BSC Glasgow. My preferred draw would be the following:

Dundee Utd/Hibs v BSC Glasgow
Rangers v Celtic
Aberdeen v Hearts

But it'll most likely be:

Rangers v BSC Glasgow (live on Premier Sports)
Celtic v Clyde (live on Premier Sports)
Aberdeen v Arbroath/Falkirk
Hearts v Dundee Utd/Hibs

19-01-2020, 05:35 PM
Hibs/Utd v Kilmarnock
Clyde v Celtic
Rangers v Ayr Utd
Hearts v Inverness
Livi v Aberdeen

Just a prediction.

19-01-2020, 05:37 PM
It'll be Hearts v Hibs/Dundee United

19-01-2020, 05:41 PM
It'll be Hearts v Hibs/Dundee United

Yup. It's tradition.

19-01-2020, 05:44 PM
Yup. It's tradition.

More like a bye for hib s 😌

JXM73
19-01-2020, 05:47 PM
We'll be away to hearts, aberdeen or the old firm...

19-01-2020, 05:52 PM
Newco v BSC
Celtic v Utd/Hibs
Yams v Clyde
Killie/dons
ICT V Well.......

19-01-2020, 05:56 PM
Avoid the Old Firm.
The rest are fair game home or away ........................ on a grass pitch

19-01-2020, 05:58 PM
Easiest tie possible please

19-01-2020, 05:59 PM
Avoid the Old Firm.
The rest are fair game home or away ........................ on a grass pitch

Here are the numbers

19-01-2020, 06:19 PM
Is it actually coming on shortly or is it at the end of sportscene? Think that’s what happened last time.

19-01-2020, 06:22 PM
Is this on sky or can I not watch as I’m in engerland

19-01-2020, 06:22 PM

It's on BBC Scotland

19-01-2020, 06:23 PM
BSC Glasgow or Hearts. Bye into the next round

19-01-2020, 06:24 PM
Is it actually coming on shortly or is it at the end of sportscene? Think that’s what happened last time.

It'll be on at the end. They wouldn't want to spoil who got through for those who avoid the results until they watch the highlights. Not sure if anyone actually does that though!

19-01-2020, 06:28 PM
It'll be on at the end. They wouldn't want to spoil who got through for those who avoid the results until they watch the highlights. Not sure if anyone actually does that though!

Thanks, that makes perfect sense tbf.

19-01-2020, 06:34 PM

The highlights of the Saturday (and Friday) games were shown last night.

19-01-2020, 06:54 PM
Did I really hear Kenny Miller described as ‘sharp as a tack’ there as he hit the post with an open goal from 5 yards?

19-01-2020, 06:58 PM
Killie away I think.

19-01-2020, 06:59 PM

Channel 115 on Sky?

19-01-2020, 07:07 PM
Some goal by Callum Booth!

19-01-2020, 07:08 PM
Link online at all?

19-01-2020, 07:09 PM
Link online at all?

You can watch it on the BBC iplayer.

19-01-2020, 07:11 PM
My wife is recording both Call the Midwife and Vera which is impacting badly on the live draw coverage - relying on updates here..

19-01-2020, 07:12 PM
WTF is Kenny Miller wearing by they way? White, black, cream and navy all crammed into one outfit. Awful.

19-01-2020, 07:13 PM
Theyre dragging the arse out this ***** now. Get on with it ffs

19-01-2020, 07:15 PM
Theyre dragging the arse out this ***** now. Get on with it ffsAgree, it's not as if they're having to drag Rod Stewart out of hospitality this time, get on with it.

19-01-2020, 07:16 PM
You can watch it on the BBC iplayer.

Thanks mate back in now. Thought they would have had it on by now. 👍

19-01-2020, 07:20 PM
It’s on now

19-01-2020, 07:21 PM
Here we go......

ICT v Livi

Inverness v Livingston

19-01-2020, 07:22 PM
Clyde v Celtic

ICT v Livi

Clyde v Celtic

Cmon

Bsc Glasgow v us or Dundee Utd

Yassss

BSC Glasgow v Hibs or Dundee Utd

BSG Glasgow v Dundee Utd or Hibs

St Mirren v Motherwell

19-01-2020, 07:23 PM
i said yesterday we would get BSC

although i did say at home, so maybe after another replay :greengrin

Ayr v St Johnstone

Aberdeen v Killie

Aberdeen v Kilmarnock

Belter. Huge chance at a quarter final now, lets go. Hope we put those tangerine fuds to the sword.

Hamilton v Rangers

Happy with that.

Tough replay but winnable

Yams lucky there.

19-01-2020, 07:24 PM
Didn’t realise BSC play at Alloa

Superb. Need to pump United

BSC play their home games at Alloa

Arbroath or Falkirk v Hearts

Wonder where our game will be played? (if we progress of course)

Alloa. It is their registered ground and suitable for the tie. Can't and won't be changed

Alloa

19-01-2020, 07:25 PM

Alloa.

Alloa.

Their manager didn't seem so sure.

Happy with that

That'll be great. Please win the replay Hibs.

sean04
What an incentive to beat Dundee Utd

19-01-2020, 07:26 PM
Absolutely huge chance to get to the quarters. Please finish the job next week hibs

Alloa

Wee bit of chat there about potential for switching it for a bigger gate....

Brilliant. Let's get past Utd and focus on bagging ourselves a quarter final.

The competition rules are clear. Ties must be played at the registered ground unless it is unsuitable. The ground is suitable.

19-01-2020, 07:27 PM

BSC would probably like it moved further west. Motherwell maybe?

Good stuff. Hopefully we're there to beat them. 🤞

BBC and Premier both have 2 live games in this round
Come on Hibees, let’s despatch Dundee Utd

Great draw with amighty ticket scramble if we get past Utd. Pity it will be an astro pitch though but at least they have renewed it since we last played there.

Yam balloons oot! 🤣🤣🤣

19-01-2020, 07:28 PM
The competition rules are clear. Ties must be played at the registered ground unless it is unsuitable. The ground is suitable.

I suppose if it’s registered and all that....

I don’t think it’s allowed anymore

Keyser Sauzee

What was the case with Bonnyrigg a few years back, they’ve just played a tie at home so why was it changed back then?

BBC and Premier both have 2 live games in this round
Come on Hibees, let’s despatch Dundee Utd

We will definitely be on the tele if we win the replay

Surely be moved to Firhill

19-01-2020, 07:29 PM

I don't see that they have any option in the matter.

What was the case with Bonnyrigg a few years back, they’ve just played a tie at home so why was it changed back then?

They were still a junior team back then

Surely be moved to Firhill

Think their manager said they don’t have a licence to play in Glasgow, whatever that means

Juniper Greens

They didn't have floodlights

Aye. Just with them being without a home I don’t know how these things work.
By the way Alloa’s not suitable for **** all!!!!

Edit. To be clear to the citizens of Alloa and surrounding, I’m referring to your stadium not your town.
I make no apologies for any confusion as the discussion clearly centred around stadia, so the cretin who has quoted me further down the thread can therefore do one.
IP.

19-01-2020, 07:30 PM
With segregation how many could we take to Alloa?

EI255
19-01-2020, 07:31 PM
If we beat Dundee Hibs then any game vs BCF will surely be at Firhill or summin dull like that

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

19-01-2020, 07:32 PM
If we had won today we would have had the ball number 9, Hearts would have been 8, meaning they would have got Rangers.

007 Mickey Weir
Alloa on holds 3100. So we would only get 1000 tickets

With segregation how many could we take to Alloa?

Given the opposition, half the main stand and every other space available on all three sides?

19-01-2020, 07:33 PM
I'd rather go to Alloa and stand than sit in one of those Lego stands at Firhill or Hamilton or somewhere like that.

If it's at Alloa then fine. Easy journey, old school ground, crap pitch.

If we beat Dundee Hibs then any game vs BCF will surely be at Firhill or summin dull like that

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

It'll be at Alloa. That's their registered home ground.

If we had won today we would have had the ball number 9, Hearts would have been 8, meaning they would have got Rangers.

We’re not through yet, we should be grateful for our draw
Huge incentive to beat United now

Shame. Would have loved a trip to Arbroath or Falkirk.

We could take at least 4,000 depending on kick off and day.

Quite right too. It will mean an almighty ticket scramble for non away ST holders, but it’s what the Cup should be all about - packing out smaller grounds. Even if Dundee Utd are the side who go through it will still be a big occasion for the host club.

They won’t want 2100 tickets and risk not selling them.

19-01-2020, 07:34 PM
Maybe want to make more money by playing it at a bigger venue .Like what Bonnyrigg Rose did !
Its all ifs and buts . Need to make sure we get through first .

19-01-2020, 07:34 PM
Shame. Would have loved a trip to Arbroath or Falkirk.

Falkirk away would have been fantastic.

crash
19-01-2020, 07:35 PM
BSC Glasgow don't have a home ground, so if I was the Chairman I would be looking to play the game at tynecastle if hibs win the replay or dens if Utd win.
they have to maximise their income.

JXM73
If it's alloa, can walk to that one...

Those complaining about the infrastructure at Tannadice will have a field day at Alloa.

19-01-2020, 07:36 PM
Do Alloa still have that gazebo thing on one side or was that only put up when ourselves, Hearts and Rangers were down?

Iirc it was a small terrace behind one goal (home fans), a main stand (home fans), a broken terrace/dusty mound behind the other goals (away fans) and the gazebo (away fans).

BSC Glasgow don't have a home ground, so if I was the Chairman I would be looking to play the game at tynecastle if hibs win the replay or dens if Utd win.

Alloa is their registered home ground

They were praying on an away game. Hopefully something can be sorted to bring as many supporters to the game as possible.

Yams an away tie....they'll be up in arms about that.

19-01-2020, 07:37 PM

The Rangers also.

19-01-2020, 07:37 PM
Alloa is a bit of a dump but we last played there in the scottish cup november 2014 when liam craig freekick and a david gray header sent us through after an oxley howler. Big hibs support that day

19-01-2020, 07:38 PM

We've had a cup tie there recently, sure we had more than that.

KingPat4
19-01-2020, 07:38 PM
Aye. Just with them being without a home I don’t know how these things work.
By the way Alloa’s not suitable for **** all!!!!

Alloa has been home to a lot of staunch Hibbies over the years.

Why randomly slag off a place you probably know nothing about.?

Fud.

19-01-2020, 07:40 PM
Alloa has been home to a lot of staunch Hibbies over the years.

Why randomly slag off a place you probably know nothing about.?

Fud.

I’m talking about the stadium not the town that I’ve visited and worked in plenty.
Do yourself a favour and respect that username of yours.

Edit your reply.

We've had a cup tie there recently, sure we had more than that.

We’re only entitled to 20%
Let’s win the replay 1st

crash
Alloa is their registered home ground
Rented from alloa, if they want to capitalise on a good draw they should follow the example of bonnyrigg when they drew hibs.

Robbo6-2
19-01-2020, 07:41 PM
Livingston would be a good move

19-01-2020, 07:41 PM
Alloa is a bit of a dump but we last played there in the scottish cup november 2014 when liam craig freekick and a david gray header sent us through after an oxley howler. Big hibs support that day

Steady.......locals won’t like that.

HFC93
19-01-2020, 07:42 PM
Could maybe play it at Airdrie. Closer to Glasgow than Alloa and an opportunity for BSC Glasgow to make a bit of money with a big Hibs/Dundee Utd support.

KingPat4
19-01-2020, 07:43 PM
I’m talking about the stadium not the town that I’ve visited and worked in plenty.
Do yourself a favour and respect that username of yours.

Edit your reply.

Read your original post and edit that. Then I'll edit mine.

19-01-2020, 07:43 PM
We are just not getting the breaks are we? Assuming we get past the Arabs, I was hoping for an easier tie, like for example Hearts at home with one arm and leg tied behind our back.

Oh well, maybe the next draw?

crash
19-01-2020, 07:44 PM
Could maybe play it at Airdrie. Closer to Glasgow than Alloa and an opportunity for BSC Glasgow to make a bit of money with a big Hibs/Dundee Utd support.
Why not play it at tynecastle?

Appreciate the rules might not permit a ground move but if it was to be shifted Firhill would be most logical - it's the lsest ground to Broomhill, which is where BSC originate from. Basically a 15 minute walk from Broomhill Sports Club to Firhill stadium.

Do Alloa still have that gazebo thing on one side or was that only put up when ourselves, Hearts and Rangers were down?

Iirc it was a small terrace behind one goal (home fans), a main stand (home fans), a broken terrace/dusty mound behind the other goals (away fans) and the gazebo (away fans).

That gazebo looked semi permanent to me. Never been in it and watched our games from the grassy/ half terraced knoll begins the goal. A grim stadium but one that has quite a scenic backdrop.

19-01-2020, 07:45 PM
Think their manager said they don’t have a licence to play in Glasgow, whatever that means

I heard that as well but wondered if whatever it related to might only apply to league games...

19-01-2020, 07:46 PM
Appreciate the rules might not permit a ground move but if it was to be shifted Firhill would be most logical - it's the lsest ground to Broomhill, which is where BSC originate from. Basically a 15 minute walk from Broomhill Sports Club to Firhill stadium.

If it was at Firhill we would probably get a good 8-10,000 tickets.

19-01-2020, 07:46 PM
Rented from alloa, if they want to capitalise on a good draw they should follow the example of bonnyrigg when they drew hibs.

But still their registered home ground for this season. Bonnyrigg were different as they were still a junior team back then under a different association and different rules.

I’d love them to move it elsewhere but just don’t think it’s allowed

19-01-2020, 07:47 PM
Tidy draw.

19-01-2020, 07:48 PM
That gazebo looked semi permanent to me. Never been in it and watched our games from the grassy/ half terraced knoll begins the goal. A grim stadium but one that has quite a scenic backdrop.

Grassy knoll!?!?!? Did you see anyone with a sniper rifle?

19-01-2020, 07:48 PM
It was pretty obvious to me what he meant. Alloa’s stadium is an absolute ****hole. The area behind the goal is a joke.

crash
19-01-2020, 07:49 PM
We’re only entitled to 20%
Let’s win the replay 1st

Bonnyrigg must have got round that rule when they played us at the piggery

19-01-2020, 07:49 PM

Now I’ve no much time for IP these days but it was clear he meant the stadium and not the town to be honest. Spot on with the fud part though :greengrin (kidding)

19-01-2020, 07:50 PM

A Home Club shall notify the Board in the event that it considers that its Registered
Ground is unsuitable, for whatever reason, for the playing of a Match. The Board may,
itself, determine that a Home Club’s Registered Ground is unsuitable, for whatever
reason, for the playing of a Match. The Board has complete and sole authority to
make such a determination either on its own motion or consequentially upon
notification from a Club. In making a determination as to suitability of a Registered
Ground for the playing of a Match, the Board may have regard to the criteria in
Competition Rule 11 but it may also have regard to any other factor(s) it considers
relevant. In the event that the Board makes a determination that a Registered Ground
is unsuitable for the playing of a Match, then the Match in question shall be played at
such alternative Registered Ground as is determined by the Board. In such
circumstances the Clubs drawn to play in that Match shall, for all other purposes, retain
their respective statuses of Home Club and Away Club as originally drawn.

19-01-2020, 07:51 PM

What the entitlement is and how much money the home club want to make are two different things.
There’s no enforced maximums if the authorities including Police Scotland are happy I suppose.

crash
19-01-2020, 07:52 PM
But still their registered home ground for this season. Bonnyrigg were different as they were still a junior team back then under a different association and different rules.

it is allowed, there is only one set of rules for the tournament.

There’s no maximum if the home team want to give away more

A Home Club shall notify the Board in the event that it considers that its Registered
Ground is unsuitable, for whatever reason, for the playing of a Match. The Board may,
itself, determine that a Home Club’s Registered Ground is unsuitable, for whatever
reason, for the playing of a Match. The Board has complete and sole authority to
notification from a Club. In making a determination as to suitability of a Registered
Competition Rule 11 but it may also have regard to any other factor(s) it considers
relevant. In the event that the Board makes a determination that a Registered Ground
is unsuitable for the playing of a Match, then the Match in question shall be played at
circumstances the Clubs drawn to play in that Match shall, for all other purposes, retain

No wonder these twonks take so long to make a decision. They must fall asleep reading the rules to each other.

JXM73
19-01-2020, 07:53 PM
Now I’ve no much time for IP these days but it was clear he meant the stadium and not the town to be honest. Spot on with the fud part though :greengrin (kidding)

But alloa is a ****hole, i know i live there...

19-01-2020, 07:57 PM

well it was playable for Alloa v Caley yesterday.....ticket rush it is

19-01-2020, 07:59 PM
I think BSC Glasgow average about 100 for their attendances. I'd expect that to go up for a game v us to maybe around 3-400 but I would still expect us to get over 2,000 tickets for the game.

19-01-2020, 08:04 PM
I think BSC Glasgow average about 100 for their attendances. I'd expect that to go up for a game v us to maybe around 3-400 but I would still expect us to get over 2,000 tickets for the game.

Home fans in the main stand and Hibs (or Utd) text if ground. I’d honestly never heard of this team before tonight’s draw. Junior team I assume?

19-01-2020, 08:05 PM
If rules allow ground change and club want to maximise gate they`d still want to confirm venue before our replay so eg Firrhill would make more sense than Tynecastle or Dens depending on replay result . If Tynecastle , Scotland v England at Murrayfield late afternoon on Saturday so early Saturday or Sunday for us .

19-01-2020, 08:06 PM
Home fans in the main stand and Hibs (or Utd) text if ground. I’d honestly never heard of this team before tonight’s draw. Junior team I assume?

Lowland League

19-01-2020, 08:08 PM

I recall Bonnyrigg's floodlights were recently improved so that may have also played a part in the game being moved to Tynie.

JimboHibs
19-01-2020, 08:12 PM
We will definitely be on the tele if we win the replay

We might be but not definitely.

19-01-2020, 08:12 PM
Would they really get a much bigger crowd if it was at Firhill? Realistically we’re not going to take a huge crowd through there and they’ve obviously not got many fans. To make a few quid from the tie it would need to played somewhere like Livingston.

JimboHibs
19-01-2020, 08:13 PM

Lets beat Utd first then worry about ticket expectations.

crash
19-01-2020, 08:13 PM
i recall bonnyrigg's floodlights were recently improved so that may have also played a part in the game being moved to tynie.

only one thing played a part in moving the game to tynecastle and that was money

19-01-2020, 08:14 PM
I recall Bonnyrigg's floodlights were recently improved so that may have also played a part in the game being moved to Tynie.

Was it not the case that they made the dough for those and other improvements as a result of that cup tie?

19-01-2020, 08:23 PM
Bonnyrigg Rose played Dumbarton at home the round before they played us. Still managed to get the stadium change.

19-01-2020, 08:26 PM
Bonnyrigg Rose played Dumbarton at home the round before they played us. Still managed to get the stadium change.

Any idea what the attendance was at Bonnyrigg yesterday? What’s the capacity?

Mon_the_cabbage
19-01-2020, 08:28 PM

New Dundas Park did not have floodlights until last summer. The requirement shifted during the lowland league status application which resulted in their new league status only being approved on appeal.

As for our tie back in 2017, they had no floodlights and were a junior team at the time so the ground was unsuitable.

19-01-2020, 08:29 PM

They were part of a different association and weren’t SFA registered at the time. The whole purpose of the work they did in the summer was to get that registration so the ground is deemed fit to hold any game they might play.

19-01-2020, 08:30 PM
Any idea what the attendance was at Bonnyrigg yesterday? What’s the capacity?

2,200 at the game yesterday. Could have fitted in a good number more but they limited it to that and sold it out.

19-01-2020, 08:30 PM

They're in the Lowland League, they only got set up a few years ago.

I actually thought they were a University team when I saw the BSC in their name. Never realised until today that it actually stands for Broomhill Sports Club!

19-01-2020, 08:32 PM
2,200 at the game yesterday. Could have fitted in a good number more but they limited it to that and sold it out.

Ta. Wonder how 2,200 would’ve worked v Hibs or Hearts or any of the bigger clubs?

19-01-2020, 08:32 PM
They're in the Lowland League, they only got set up a few years ago.

I actually thought they were a University team when I saw the BSC in their name. Never realised until today that it actually stands for Broomhill Sports Club!

I thought it was British Steel Corporation. It puzzled me where BSC had a plant in Glasgow.

19-01-2020, 08:35 PM
Ta. Wonder how 2,200 would’ve worked v Hibs or Hearts or any of the bigger clubs?

We’d have got 400. That’s what Clyde got yesterday and sold them all, the remainder of the crowd was Bonnyrigg.

Could be wrong but I think the actual capacity is about another 600. Terrible view for a lot of folk right enough.

19-01-2020, 08:35 PM

:greengrin last time I went there the train station was in the middle of nowhere and needed to get a local bus to the ground.

crash
19-01-2020, 08:36 PM
New Dundas Park did not have floodlights until last summer. The requirement shifted during the lowland league status application which resulted in their new league status only being approved on appeal.

As for our tie back in 2017, they had no floodlights and were a junior team at the time so the ground was unsuitable.

tHIS IS TOTAL BS , YOU DONT NEED FLOODLIGHTS TO ENTER THE SCOTTISH CUP

19-01-2020, 08:39 PM

You do to be licensed by the SFA. Now that they are licensed, they can’t just move games about to suit themselves.

19-01-2020, 08:41 PM
The same round that we played Bonnyrigg, Albion Rovers who were in League One at the time were allowed to switch stadiums for their home game against Celtic.

19-01-2020, 08:55 PM

cHECK YOUR CAPLOCKS!

19-01-2020, 09:12 PM
so,anyway...

Hibs for the Cup

19-01-2020, 09:25 PM
Lets beat Utd first then worry about ticket expectations.

Yip, just like today's game people getting ahead of themselves many a slip between Cup and lip. 🙄

19-01-2020, 09:27 PM
The same round that we played Bonnyrigg, Albion Rovers who were in League One at the time were allowed to switch stadiums for their home game against Celtic.
Cliftonhill has less than half the capacity of Alloa though, to be fair. And I dare say Celtic playing in that area is - rightly or wrongly - probably seen as bigger fry than Hibs in Alloa.

19-01-2020, 09:28 PM

Shock!

19-01-2020, 09:30 PM
Cliftonhill has less than half the capacity of Alloa though, to be fair. And I dare say Celtic playing in that area is - rightly or wrongly - probably seen as bigger fry than Hibs in Alloa.

Rules though. Surely if there’s an opportunity for a wee club to make big money they’ll see sense no matter if it’s us or United.
By the way I’m visiting Leigh next month for the Pete Shelley tribute gig. Is there really only two hotels?

19-01-2020, 09:35 PM
Rules though. Surely if there’s an opportunity for a wee club to make big money they’ll see sense no matter if it’s us or United.
By the way I’m visiting Leigh next month for the Pete Shelley tribute gig. Is there really only two hotels?

With our friend Rod being the SFA President, we shall see what happens.

19-01-2020, 09:37 PM
With our friend Rod being the SFA President, we shall see what happens.

The decent thing I hope.

Partyraiser
19-01-2020, 09:41 PM
When east kilbride from the lowland league drew celtc in the Scottish Cup in 2016 I know for a fact they wanted to play it at their own ground and were strong armed by the sfa to move the tie to airdrie's ground. My dad attended the meetings with the sfa and representitives from celtc and the sfa basically laughed at the idea of the tie being held at kpark claiming it wouldn't be safe, so the games don't nessesarily need to be held at the registered stadium

19-01-2020, 09:45 PM
When east kilbride from the lowland league drew celtc in the Scottish Cup in 2016 I know for a fact they wanted to play it at their own ground and were strong armed by the sfa to move the tie to airdrie's ground. My dad attended the meetings with the sfa and representitives from celtc and the sfa basically laughed at the idea of the tie being held at kpark claiming it wouldn't be safe, so the games don't nessesarily need to be held at the registered stadium

Aye, when it suits

19-01-2020, 09:48 PM

Yeah when there's safety concerns the game can be moved.

There wouldn't be any safety concerns about Hibs (or Dundee Utd) going to play BSC Glasgow in Alloa.

19-01-2020, 09:51 PM
Yeah when there's safety concerns the game can be moved.

There wouldn't be any safety concerns about Hibs (or Dundee Utd) going to play BSC Glasgow in Alloa.

What safety concerns would there have been? (Between EK and Celtic)

19-01-2020, 09:55 PM
What safety concerns would there have been? (Between EK and Celtic)

Presumably they were concerned about several thousand Celtic fans turning up at East Kilbride's home ground which is effectively just a training pitch.

19-01-2020, 09:58 PM
Presumably they were concerned about several thousand Celtic fans turning up at East Kilbride's home ground which is effectively just a training pitch.

But Hibs fans could do the exact same thing at Alloa. Obviously the Celtic fans in the SFA wanted their clubs fans to have as many tickets as possible.

19-01-2020, 10:00 PM
When is the next round?

19-01-2020, 10:01 PM
Aye, when it suits

Surely that circumstance would suit tv companies to have the game at the smaller venue? That would have been nothing more than safety concerns.

When is the next round?

8th February, that weekend anyway.

When is the next round?

Feb 7/8/9.

20-01-2020, 05:56 AM
Think there’s a couple of B&B’s but in terms of hotels there’s The Greyhound, Holiday Inn Express or Travelodge Lowton (it comes under Warrington but isn’t much different to The Greyhound in terms of distance to the town centre)

20-01-2020, 06:09 AM

Not in the know about if we can or can’t move the game to another ground. However if we look at the first sentence of the rules about being unsuitable for whatever reasons, could this ( and I would say it could ) be justified for movement as the ground will not be big enough for expected away fans wanting to go? On the flip side to this it could be argued that every small club could use this reason just so they get a bumper pay deal.

20-01-2020, 06:42 AM
BBC radio Scotland saying the game is set to go ahead at Alloa. Disappointed if true.

20-01-2020, 07:05 AM
But Hibs fans could do the exact same thing at Alloa. Obviously the Celtic fans in the SFA wanted their clubs fans to have as many tickets as possible.

Whilst it's undoubtedly a dump, Alloa currently hosts matches in the country's second tier. There's no way it's going to be deemed unsafe to hold a cup tie there.

20-01-2020, 07:05 AM
Think there’s a couple of B&B’s but in terms of hotels there’s The Greyhound, Holiday Inn Express or Travelodge Lowton (it comes under Warrington but isn’t much different to The Greyhound in terms of distance to the town centre)

Ta.

20-01-2020, 07:12 AM
Whilst it's undoubtedly a dump, Alloa currently hosts matches in the country's second tier. There's no way it's going to be deemed unsafe to hold a cup tie there.

Can't see it being moved given Hibs Hearts and Rangers have all played games there recently and to be honest not sure it should be moved.

green with envy
20-01-2020, 07:23 AM
:greengrin last time I went there the train station was in the middle of nowhere and needed to get a local bus to the ground.

The train station is a mere 10 minute walk to the ground with a few pubs en route.:confused:

20-01-2020, 07:25 AM

The bottom end is lovely, almost like being in the French riviera!!

20-01-2020, 07:26 AM

The train station is in the town centre, you sure you got off at the right stop?

20-01-2020, 07:44 AM
If we'd have drawn Alloa would there be all this talk of getting the game moved? I don't think so and reckon it'll go ahead there as it should. Game had better be on the telly though.

KingPat4
20-01-2020, 11:19 AM
Sorry to Iggy Pope for name calling yesterday. The post was ambiguous, but my response was childish.

Apologies.

20-01-2020, 11:44 AM
Sorry to Iggy Pope for name calling yesterday. The post was ambiguous, but my response was childish.

Apologies.

Fine by me Paddy and I could have responded to you better as well.

KingPat4
20-01-2020, 11:45 AM

Good man.

hibeerealist
20-01-2020, 12:06 PM

There are a number of B & B’s that are fine for a night.

20-01-2020, 12:07 PM
Can't see it being moved given Hibs Hearts and Rangers have all played games there recently and to be honest not sure it should be moved.

Agreed and as someone has rightly pointed out, if we had drawn Alloa away in the cup would anyone be calling for the game to be moved? Not at all.

The game will be played at Alloa regardless of whether it's us or Dundee Utd that get through.

20-01-2020, 12:09 PM
There are a number of B & B’s that are fine for a night.

Booked now, but ta.

20-01-2020, 05:29 PM
Alloa holds 3100, there are 519 seats in the temp stand plus the terracing for away fans. We'll get 2000+ tickets. Plenty to go round for those that want one plus it will be a tv game imo.

Lets beat united first though. :aok:

20-01-2020, 05:40 PM
The bottom end is lovely, almost like being in the French riviera!!

😂😂The bottom end has to be seen to be believed.

KingPat4
20-01-2020, 06:58 PM
😂😂The bottom end has to be seen to be believed.

The bottom end was demolished nearly forty years ago. Nothing wrong with that area now.

20-01-2020, 07:04 PM
The bottom end was demolished nearly forty years ago. Nothing wrong with that area now.

Still called "the bottom end", though. Well, it was when I used to live in Fishcross. It's nowhere near as bad as people make out, though.

Back to the draw: We're not through yet and beating United is still a big challenge.

23-01-2020, 11:06 AM
https://twitter.com/ScotsmanSport/status/1220290920920309774?s=20

Premier Sports really are a gang

23-01-2020, 11:16 AM

They did say in advance that they were only interested in broadcast Rangers and Celtic games. No imagination but guaranteed viewers.

23-01-2020, 11:28 AM

Thanks
So if Hibs get through, presume we are looking at BBC on the Friday night, Saturday or Sunday teatime

23-01-2020, 02:47 PM
Thanks
So if Hibs get through, presume we are looking at BBC on the Friday night, Saturday or Sunday teatime

We're at Ibrox on the preceding Wednesday (5th) so won't be the Friday, I don't think. Think Saturday or Sunday evening as you say Billy. Thought the Monday maybe, but we're at home to Ross County on Wed 12th so that precludes that. All IF we beat Dun Utd of course!

23-01-2020, 02:50 PM
We're at Ibrox on the preceding Wednesday (5th) so won't be the Friday, I don't think. Think Saturday or Sunday evening as you say Billy. Thought the Monday maybe, but we're at home to Ross County on Wed 12th so that precludes that. All IF we beat Dun Utd of course!

Forgot about the Rangers game, although my bank account hasn’t😜
As you say, let’s just win the replay

23-01-2020, 03:06 PM

Hey - get a room.

23-01-2020, 03:11 PM

I don't subscribe to Premier Sports so I'm actually pretty happy they take the OF games out of contention so the BBC have to actually pick interesting ones. :aok:

Steven79
23-01-2020, 03:21 PM

One game will likely be a late kick off on the Saturday after 19:00 as I doubt they will want any game going against the Scotland v England match at Murrayfield.

Hopefully (if we beat United) the game will be on the Sunday.

23-01-2020, 04:29 PM
Thanks

Yep. Never in doubt.

24-01-2020, 11:29 AM
Arbroath or Falkirk v Hertz on BBC 720pm on Saturday

24-01-2020, 11:32 AM
BSC v Hibs 12pm on the sunday bbc if we do the job right on tuesday

24-01-2020, 11:33 AM
Arbroath or Falkirk v Hertz on BBC 720pm on Saturday

Sunday 12:00 if we get through otherwise its friday night if dundee utd get through

Also only 1 train will get you there on time
9.35 from edinburgh

24-01-2020, 11:57 AM
Sunday 12:00 if we get through otherwise its friday night if dundee utd get through

Also only 1 train will get you there on time
9.35 from edinburgh

Have they said where it would be played?
Alloa I presume

24-01-2020, 12:20 PM
Have they said where it would be played?
Alloa I presume

Evening news saying its still not decided. They better hurry up and decide because no matter who gets through theres not much time to sort tickets and travel etc.

Steven79
24-01-2020, 12:21 PM
Evening news saying its still not decided. They better hurry up and decide because no matter who gets through theres not much time to sort tickets.

I can't see how they could change it to another ground.

24-01-2020, 12:22 PM
I can't see how they could change it to another ground.

EEN saying they might switch it to maximise return in ticket sales.

24-01-2020, 12:23 PM

Livvi maybe?

Steven79
24-01-2020, 12:26 PM

Murrayfield is in use the day before for Scotland v England so that's out...

Steven79
24-01-2020, 12:28 PM
Livvi maybe?

They should go for Tynecastle...

JXM73
24-01-2020, 12:31 PM
They should go for Tynecastle...

Anywhere but edinburgh there will be about 3-4k travelling at best ...alloa will be fine

davhibby
24-01-2020, 12:36 PM
They won’t be allowed to change it. How many times do people need told.

Daydreamer
24-01-2020, 12:36 PM
They should'nt be allowed to change it but if it has to be changed it will be to Firhill. Remember BSC is a north Glasgow club at Hyndland before they got bigger.

Steven79
24-01-2020, 12:38 PM
Anywhere but edinburgh there will be about 3-4k travelling at best ...alloa will be fine

12,451 against Bonnyrigg Rose.

JXM73
24-01-2020, 12:39 PM
12,451 against Bonnyrigg Rose.

Well done for not reading what i posted, sake

Steven79
24-01-2020, 12:41 PM

I thought that as it's down as their home ground and Alloa have played against Rangers & Alloa at home very recently so they should have no scope for switching.

24-01-2020, 12:41 PM

Alloa only holds 3100, and thats without segregation.

davhibby
24-01-2020, 12:48 PM
I thought that as it's down as their home ground and Alloa have played against Rangers & Alloa at home very recently so they should have no scope for switching.

I’m sure a few of the lower league teams complained about Ek, Albion Rovers and Bonnyrigg getting to move games so they changed the rules that make it pretty much impossible to get a tie moved to a bigger ground. If we were playing Alloa there would be no mention of getting it moved so not sure why people think this would be

Daydreamer
24-01-2020, 12:56 PM
BSC game announced as 12 kick off on the Sunday 9th Feb live on BBC if we get through. If united beat us goes ahead against BSC on the Friday night 7.05

24-01-2020, 01:04 PM
This season as been dreadful for 3pm Saturday games, especially away from home.

24-01-2020, 04:09 PM

Agree. I can see the day coming where there'll be no games on a Saturday.

25-01-2020, 06:37 AM

I'm not sure what the debate is about to be honest. Alloa is down as their designated home stadium and it is hosting second tier league matches every other weekend. Also in the past 5 years it has had Rangers, Hibs and Hearts fans visit on multiple occasions on league duty.

The ground is a dump but there is no reason for it to be moved elsewhere regardless of whether Hibs or Dundee Utd get through.

25-01-2020, 06:51 AM
I'm not sure what the debate is about to be honest. Alloa is down as their designated home stadium and it is hosting second tier league matches every other weekend. Also in the past 5 years it has had Rangers, Hibs and Hearts fans visit on multiple occasions on league duty.

The ground is a dump but there is no reason for it to be moved elsewhere regardless of whether Hibs or Dundee Utd get through.

Add in the fact we also played a Scottish Cup tie there a few years ago.

Logie Green
25-01-2020, 10:41 AM

I think we only had 7 away league matches at 3pm last season.

KingPat4
25-01-2020, 10:46 AM
We should receive around 2200 tickets. The main stand given over to BSG fans. Can't see any need for segregation.

28-01-2020, 09:46 PM
Have they confirmed where our game will be played

Steven79
28-01-2020, 09:51 PM
Have they confirmed where our game will be playedIt was always going to be in Alloa.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

28-01-2020, 09:54 PM
It was always going to be in Alloa.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

So it’s been confirmed at Alloa, haven’t seen anything

28-01-2020, 10:34 PM
Have they confirmed where our game will be played

I'm feeling some deja vu here! :greengrin

Can we get a sticky at the top of the main page? :greengrin

28-01-2020, 11:16 PM
So it’s been confirmed at Alloa, haven’t seen anything

It’s on the BSC Twitter feed. Their tickets go on sale tomorrow.

29-01-2020, 10:11 PM
I assume it is on the BBC.

Which channel?

29-01-2020, 10:42 PM
I assume it is on the BBC.

Which channel?

Yes it is on the BBC. The channel's not been announced yet but I would expect it to be on BBC 1 Scotland.

30-01-2020, 03:25 PM
Away season ticket holders having their money deducted tomorrow

Can’t see Hibs putting these on sale until next week now

Power
30-01-2020, 03:44 PM

AST monies deducted tomorrow for this game.

Adult £22

Over 65 £12

Student £12

Under 16 £12

short notice and Hibs don’t have the physical tickets yet, so at a guess from my end, Monday at the latest and tomorrow afternoon at the earliest fir ticket sales.

30-01-2020, 03:48 PM

What sort of tickets are ASTs given then, seats or terracing? Asking for a friend.

hibbydad
30-01-2020, 03:50 PM
What sort of tickets are ASTs given then, seats or terracing? Asking for a friend.
Seats

30-01-2020, 03:51 PM

Allocated seating but you can swap for terracing tickets if you wish. Just email the TO.

30-01-2020, 03:52 PM
Seats

Thought that given some recent intelligence. There won’t be many seats up for grabs I reckon.

hibbydad
30-01-2020, 03:55 PM
Thought that given some recent intelligence. There won’t be many seats up for grabs I reckon.
AST members to get seats I have had my email confirming from the ticket office

30-01-2020, 03:56 PM

519 seats available to us in the "temporary" stand.

30-01-2020, 03:57 PM
AST members to get seats I have had my email confirming from the ticket office

I've swapped for terracing tickets. That temp stand is horrendous.

30-01-2020, 04:05 PM

I’m presuming it’s for the Gazebo IP

30-01-2020, 04:06 PM
I've swapped for terracing tickets. That temp stand is horrendous.

Hope it doesn’t rain as heavy as it did one of the last times, we played at Alloa

30-01-2020, 04:09 PM
Hope it doesn’t rain as heavy as it did one of the last times, we played at Alloa

Yes, I remember. Swapped my seated tickets for standing tickets with a guy and his young son as the young lad was soaked and frozen.

30-01-2020, 04:11 PM
Yes, I remember. Swapped my seated tickets for standing tickets with a guy and his young son as the young lad was soaked and frozen.

I never thought I’d say this, what a top man you are😄

30-01-2020, 04:45 PM
I never thought I’d say this, what a top man you are😄

Ditto

30-01-2020, 05:24 PM
You'd think that with the money from Rangers, Hibs and Hearts visits that they could have replaced that 'temporary' stand.