View Full Version : Official Scottish Cup 4th Round: Dundee Utd v Hibernian match day thread.

Pages : [1] 2 3

19-01-2020, 12:34 PM
Winning streak on the line :greengrin

Any early team news? ‘Mon the Hibees!

Remember it’s on BBC 1 for us unfortunate not to get a ticket.

19-01-2020, 12:43 PM
No team news but pubs are full of Hibbies. Spike Mandela has even bought a round!! A good omen I think

19-01-2020, 12:47 PM
Let's do it Hibs!

DTS
Whittaker in as holding midfielder looks like a diamond with Boyle on the right of it like against Aberdeen. Good to see Kamberi fit again

Thats quite the team. God only knows how thats lining up. Assuming whittaker DM boyle wide right flo wide left

19-01-2020, 12:49 PM
Thats quite the team. God only knows how thats lining up. Assuming whittaker DM boyle wide right flo wide left

Think it’s a decent team na?

Old experienced head in the midfield might help

19-01-2020, 12:49 PM
What's the team?

19-01-2020, 12:50 PM

Who have you got playing up front?

19-01-2020, 12:51 PM
Didn’t see that team coming, great to see Flo’ back. Big performance from Whittaker today. Mon the cabbage!

Doidge Kamberi?

https://mobile.twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1218892112512667649?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

19-01-2020, 12:52 PM
Think it’s a decent team na?

Old experienced head in the midfield might help

I get why we are doing it. Im obviously not a big whittaker fan and hes only in due to us not getting a natural defensive midfielder in time for this. Lets hope he puts in a performance like he did v celtic in september when he rarely put a foot wrong but he needs hallberg to give him a hand in there.

thegaffer12
19-01-2020, 12:52 PM
I can't believe how excited I am that Whittaker is starting centre mid.

19-01-2020, 12:53 PM
Teamhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200119/48b8d66c228fa8e8a97ddc59bb5bf305.jpg

Marciano

Naismith
Porteous
Hanlon
Stevenson

Hallberg
Whittaker
Allan

Boyle
Doidge
Kamberi

Is my guess at how we will shape up.

thegaffer12
Winning streak on the line :greengrin

Any early team news? ‘Mon the Hibees!

Remember it’s on BBC 1 for us unfortunate not to get a ticket.

BBC Scotland! Just for those who don't want to miss kick off 😂

19-01-2020, 12:54 PM
Was thinking Omeonga would at least be on the bench?

Callum7
19-01-2020, 12:55 PM

For those wanting to watch the Snooker it’s on BBC Scotland. Our match is on BBC1

19-01-2020, 12:55 PM
Need a big performance today. Let’s put them back in their place, been too much piping up from them recently about how good they are.

19-01-2020, 12:56 PM
Was thinking Omeonga would at least be on the bench?International clearance required.

thegaffer12
19-01-2020, 12:56 PM
For those wanting to watch the Snooker it’s on BBC Scotland. Our match is on BBC1

Oh my bad! Didn't realise it was the main channel, that mean no HD?

19-01-2020, 12:57 PM

BBC1 Scotland 😁😁

19-01-2020, 12:57 PM
Marciano

Naismith
Porteous
Hanlon
Stevenson

Hallberg
Whittaker
Allan

Boyle
Doidge
Kamberi

Is my guess at how we will shape up.

Na Boyle will be right mid and maybe hallberg left

19-01-2020, 12:58 PM
Jackson, Vela, James, Maxwell, Murray, Mallan, Omeonga are today’s inactives.

19-01-2020, 12:59 PM
Doidge Kamberi?

That's how i have it, just the poster mentioned flo left which doesnt work with Boyle right and i dont think we are playing 1 up top.

Hmmmm.

Not sure about the centre of midfield, we’re pretty short of runners in there, but I’m not sure what else he could have done and I am generally a Whittaker fan.

Good: Whittaker DM.
Bad: Porteous back in. I'd argue McGregor deserves to keep his spot, though I wasn't in Livingston.

19-01-2020, 01:02 PM
Dundee Utd team

#DUFC @ScottishCup Sxi: Siegrist, Smith, Powers, Connolly, McMullan, Pawlett, Robson, Butcher, Harkes, Shankland and Watson. Subs: Deniz, Sporle, Reynolds, Sow, Glass, King and Appere 🧡🖤 #Tangerine50 https://t.co/DwfyTufhu3

Steve88
19-01-2020, 01:03 PM
Good: Whittaker DM.
Bad: Porteous back in. I'd argue McGregor deserves to keep his spot, though I wasn't in Livingston.

Somewhat sceptical of SW at DM. Lennon tried this and he was rubbish in this role - different team around him though so lets see what happens. Hopefully he kick A** in that role today

19-01-2020, 01:04 PM

BBC 1 Scotland is in HD.

19-01-2020, 01:12 PM
Somewhat sceptical of SW at DM. Lennon tried this and he was rubbish in this role - different team around him though so lets see what happens. Hopefully he kick A** in that role today

He wasn’t rubbish in that role at all imo

19-01-2020, 01:12 PM
Is omeonga gonna be amongst the fans

19-01-2020, 01:14 PM
Is omeonga gonna be amongst the fans

Best ask Saul 😉

19-01-2020, 01:17 PM
Best ask Saul 😉

Better call Saul surely

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2020, 01:17 PM
Teamhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200119/48b8d66c228fa8e8a97ddc59bb5bf305.jpg

Thats one heck of a bench--all sorts of options

19-01-2020, 01:20 PM
If the game was to end as a draw, what dates are the replays scheduled for?

19-01-2020, 01:22 PM
Glad to see Whits back in and will be interesting to see the shape we play. Kamberi off the left again possibly

19-01-2020, 01:22 PM

28th/29th.

19-01-2020, 01:23 PM
28th/29th.

Perfect!

Cheers mate

19-01-2020, 01:27 PM

Freesat 101 is bbc1 Scotland HD

thegaffer12
19-01-2020, 01:28 PM
Freesat 101 is bbc1 Scotland HD

Cheers! I've had a shocker today haha

19-01-2020, 01:31 PM
Thats one heck of a bench--all sorts of options

plus 7 other strong players not in the squad

19-01-2020, 01:33 PM

When was he rubbish? Don't remember that.

19-01-2020, 01:33 PM
Sportsound team convinced United will batter us.

19-01-2020, 01:34 PM
Centre half Connolly is a weak link in the Dundee Utd team.
A big clumsy lump.
Might be good for a penalty.
Hope Kamberi can get isolated with him.

Steve88
19-01-2020, 01:34 PM
When was he rubbish? Don't remember that.

The very few games as a DM he played in

19-01-2020, 01:35 PM
There's a supprised.

19-01-2020, 01:37 PM
FFS someone take that bicycle pump oot of Charlie Dimmoks erse

19-01-2020, 01:37 PM
Looking for Porteous to keep close and shut Shankland down.

Other threats for them, Wee McMullan I like but he has shaded of late so might not do it today.

19-01-2020, 01:39 PM

Havent seen her for years til now......she really has been on the pies, eh?

19-01-2020, 01:40 PM

The planting was ok but the landscaping was all wrong. Should have used the same materials as the surrounding building.

19-01-2020, 01:42 PM

I can remember him looking very comfortable in possession when played there before but needs legs around him. Possibly why we are going with Porto and Hanlon behind him with Flo and Boyle either side.

19-01-2020, 01:43 PM

Is it an all Jambo love in? I’m guessing Preston Houston McCann?

19-01-2020, 01:43 PM
Is it going to be a Neilsen (2-2)?

19-01-2020, 01:44 PM
Is it an all Jambo love in? I’m guessing Preston Houston McCann?

Close. McCann and Naismith are two of the pundits.

19-01-2020, 01:44 PM
Stevenson Vs Pawlett the diver will be a key battle.

19-01-2020, 01:46 PM

He was poor when Lennon initially tried him there but greatly improved last season and I've totally swung around to the opinion that he's the best player we have in that position.

19-01-2020, 01:47 PM
Stevenson Vs Pawlett the diver will be a key battle.

Pawlett hasn't played since October I presume due to injury so will probably struggle and get pulled after an hour. Has looked slower than he was when he was with Aberdeen.

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2020, 01:49 PM
Anybody getting anything on Hibs tv yet??

19-01-2020, 01:51 PM

Our game would be Tuesday 28th if a replay is needed.

BBC pre match build up seems to be all Dundee United and what they’re going to do.

Hope Whittikar does well in there, played well in the friendly against Willem.

cocteautwin
Anybody getting anything on Hibs tv yet??

Just a fuzzy hibs badge for me so far

19-01-2020, 01:53 PM
JR explained they weren't sure if slivka would make it this week so they planned for using whitty instead

19-01-2020, 01:53 PM
Our game would be Tuesday 28th if a replay is needed.

Aka payday 😁

19-01-2020, 01:54 PM
Close. McCann and Naismith are two of the pundits.

The usual impartial guests then.

A strange game and position to bring Whittaker back for.
Hopefully he can think quickly enough and move the ball before being dispossessed which was an issue when he previously played this position.

Needs must by the sound of things re Slivka.
Strange that Slivka on the bench if there are fitness doubts about him.

St.Kristopher
Ross: "we were not sure of Slivka's availability", didn't mention injury just that he may not have been available. Possibly on his way out?

How old is Jack? Musta had a tough double paper round!

MacGruber
19-01-2020, 01:55 PM

I'm convinced we are going to get beat aswell. I also thought we were going to get beat at Tynecastle too and that worked out okay! I'm just naturally pessimistic and am best ignored!

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2020, 01:56 PM
Just a fuzzy hibs badge for me so far

Got sound now--no picture

19-01-2020, 01:57 PM
Looks like 4-3-3 with Whits holding mid, not too unhappy with that, Whittaker has bags of experience and he can do a job for us.

crash
19-01-2020, 01:57 PM
if they have watched Hibs recently, they will attack Stevenson to get crosses in for Shankland, hopefully we attack them to counter this.

cocteautwin
19-01-2020, 01:58 PM

Same

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2020, 01:59 PM

WooHoo---here we go!!

19-01-2020, 02:00 PM
God what a feeling that Hibs are back from the break and playing!

Anyone else get the nervous feeling as if they’re actually playing?

Lets get stuck into these boys hibs and batter them. Be clinical and play at pace and they won’t live with us.

Come on the Hibees:hibees

19-01-2020, 02:01 PM
Come on Hibs!

19-01-2020, 02:02 PM
71 wins each in games between hibs and dundee utd, 5 wins each in SC games

19-01-2020, 02:03 PM
Unlucky Flo!

19-01-2020, 02:04 PM
Kamberi shot cleared off the line

flo shot off the line

Off the line. Almost

Cleared off the line..

HendoDelivered
Frantic start!

19-01-2020, 02:05 PM
Four minutes in and Pawlett is throwing himself over already.

19-01-2020, 02:06 PM
Pawlett hasn't played since October I presume due to injury so will probably struggle and get pulled after an hour. Has looked slower than he was when he was with Aberdeen.

Didn't stop him diving there against Porteous!

Look at all these empty seats and hibs not been given any more tickets. What a stupid idea that was.

472 appearances for Lewis

19-01-2020, 02:08 PM
woohoooooo :thumbsup::flag: doidge

19-01-2020, 02:09 PM
Doidge!!!!’

Yaaaaas Doidge!

YAAASSSS

Doidge makes it 1-0

1-0

Doidge :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Doidge...

Great finish 1-0

HendoDelivered
Doidgeeeeee!!!!

OtleyHibs
Great goal, 1-0 hibs

What a great goal!!

Love you Doidge.

That was a great goal

Superb football

Arguably Doidge's best goal of his Hibs career! :greengrin

19-01-2020, 02:10 PM
His tenth of the season :greengrin

game over :wink: am tellin yi

‘Mon the Vegan Nish 💚💚 ****ing in there son.

Great run by Boyle and good movement from Doidge, a very very good goal, the team has started well with a high tempo play.

Lovely wee goal that

Fantastic start by Hibs

Been all over them since kickoff

Fuzzywuzzy
I don't know what's confusing me more. Squirrel without a beard or with hair😂

19-01-2020, 02:11 PM
nicely taken by doidge :flag:

19-01-2020, 02:12 PM
Shocking Dundee Utd crowd.

19-01-2020, 02:12 PM
As long as they don’t take the foot off the gas as we have a tendency to do.

19-01-2020, 02:13 PM
He looks like he meant that 😀

19-01-2020, 02:13 PM
so when will they bring this shankland gadgie on

19-01-2020, 02:14 PM
Shocking Dundee Utd crowd.

Crazy they didn't give us the shed.

19-01-2020, 02:15 PM
Since the goal they have had all the ball.

poor attempt at a tackle from whittaker

jellybean
Boyle being back has made a huge difference

Doidge takes the ball down out of the sky like Dave Murphy :top marks

19-01-2020, 02:16 PM
Hallberg should have made it 2

halberg really should have finished that off

Hallberg has to bury that.

19-01-2020, 02:17 PM
FFS should have buried that.

Should have been two up.

Hallberg. Not enough of the ball otherwise it was 2

HendoDelivered
Should of been 2. That falls to Doidge/Kamberi or Boyle himself thats surely 2-0.

Hallberg has to bury that.
:agree: Game over if that goes in

19-01-2020, 02:18 PM
Hallberg not the answer

No conviction in that shot. Hallberg has to do much better there

Hallberg looks quite tired already, letting a couple of runners by and not tracking there

Hibs could be 3 up here !😀

19-01-2020, 02:19 PM
Hallberg fluffs it there. Thought Boyles run should have taken him onto the area the ball fell to after the save.

19-01-2020, 02:20 PM
shankland finally gets a touch, passing it back to his own keeper

19-01-2020, 02:20 PM
Hallberg looks quite tired already, letting a couple of runners by and not tracking there

Looks like he's got lead in his boots.

19-01-2020, 02:21 PM
Hibs could be 3 up here !😀

Been said so many times this season.

Just hope it isn’t one of those typical days and those missed chances don’t come back to haunt us.

Hallberg not the answer

What's the question?

shocking pass from naismith again

Prof. Shaggy
19-01-2020, 02:22 PM
iplayer won't work, hibs tv won't work, can't get radio Scotland on the iPad...anyone know any good pubs in Kirkenes......?:confused:

19-01-2020, 02:23 PM
Been said so many times this season.

Just hope it isn’t one of those typical days and those missed chances don’t come back to haunt us.

We’ve only really missed one chance

19-01-2020, 02:24 PM
Pawlett is still a snidey prick.

19-01-2020, 02:25 PM
We’ve only really missed one chance

Two - Kamberi and Hallberg

We’ve been the much better side and they’ve hardly troubled Rocky.

19-01-2020, 02:25 PM
Pawlett is still a snidey prick.

...and a cheat.

19-01-2020, 02:26 PM
yellow card for stevenson...only clancy knows why

iplayer won't work, hibs tv won't work, can't get radio Scotland on the iPad...anyone know any good pubs in Kirkenes......?:confused:

https://m.yelp.com/search?cflt=bars&find_loc=Soldatsvingen+15B%2C+9900+Kirkenes

Two - Kamberi and Hallberg

We’ve been the much better side and they’ve hardly troubled Rocky.

Nah Kamberi’s wasn’t a miss. It was cleared off the line. That’s no a wasted chance.

19-01-2020, 02:27 PM
yellow card for stevenson...only clancy knows why

How often do we see teams kicking lumps out of Hibs for first 20, then it's a Hibs player gets booked ?

19-01-2020, 02:27 PM
yellow card for stevenson...only clancy knows whyStupid refereeing.

19-01-2020, 02:28 PM
How often do we see teams kicking lumps out of Hibs for first 20, then it's a Hibs player gets booked ?

My hackles up again with *** referees!

19-01-2020, 02:30 PM
better options for Flo there.

19-01-2020, 02:31 PM
Pawlett persistent fouling.

19-01-2020, 02:32 PM

often :agree:

Stupid refereeing.

meanwhile pawlett appears to have free reign

19-01-2020, 02:32 PM
Some harsh comments on here on Halberg...you need to give the keeper credit for the save.

19-01-2020, 02:35 PM
Butcher yet again

GTF clancy

19-01-2020, 02:35 PM
******g nonsense fro the ref

19-01-2020, 02:36 PM
How is that not a booking Clancy, you inept clown!

I don't think that was a yellow. :dunno:

Was going to say unbelievable, but it’s not!

Liam McLeod literally just said "Shankland for Hearts" when he was on the ball.

"Shankland for Hearts" the commentators

Whittaker pulled back, not given.
We're getting nothing.

Some harsh comments on here on Halberg...you need to give the keeper credit for the save.

Was an awful shot.

That’s no his strength though to be fair

Hallberg not the answer

Tomsk
19-01-2020, 02:37 PM
I don't think that was a yellow. :dunno:

Persistent fouling? No?

Clancy is a total clown

"Shankland for Hearts" the commentatorsWeird mistake to make.

NC1875
Pawlett really is a wee rat. And how’s Butcher not been booked. Usual crap refereeing as usual

Scott Allan is running this game :thumbsup:

i thought that as well...but it was Harkes :wink:

Tug Wilson
19-01-2020, 02:38 PM

Shankland for Harkes is what he said

Hallberg not the answer

Go on then. Tell us why?

Hallberg not the answer

The question is wrong then.

Not Shankland for Harkes?

Weird mistake to make.

Wishful thinking

Allan looks unfit

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

Hallberg not the answer

Aye, you’ve said that already

Allan looks unfit

No he doesn’t.

Go on then. Tell us why?Ignore him, he's just looking for attention.

19-01-2020, 02:39 PM
Come on Hibs, deserve to be more than 1 up.

Allan is a man on a mission.

Weird mistake to make.

They are gutted Hibs are winning.

Persistent fouling? No?

Was it not his second? Maybe I missed one.

Scott Allan needs to keep it simple. Need to get Boyler into this a bit more

No he didn't.

He said Shankland for Harkes after he passed him the ball.

No he doesn’t.

There's certainly not much coming off for him in terms of passing and he's been dispossessed quite a few times.

19-01-2020, 02:40 PM
Who's the ****ing clown of a co commentator on BBC, he's an a rse.

Tug Wilson
Pawlett really is a wee rat. And how’s Butcher not been booked. Usual crap refereeing as usual

Pawlett is either diving or fouling

Ignore him, he's just looking for attention.

Thought so.

Billy Dodds

Billy Dodds

Tomsk
Was it not his second? Maybe I missed one.

Third. Pull back at start of the game. Dumped Allan twice.

19-01-2020, 02:41 PM
No he didn't.

He said Shankland for Harkes after he passed him the ball.

That does make more sense. :greengrin

Dodds

Allan has been giving the ball away a lot in the last 15 minutes.

Doidge 😂😂

19-01-2020, 02:42 PM
Need more from Kamberi.

McLeod screwing up Scott Allan's employment history.

Connolly looks like a heavyweight boxer

19-01-2020, 02:43 PM
Third. Pull back at start of the game. Dumped Allan twice.

Good point. I'd forgotten that one. Yeah, booking then.

Gameplan working for them, Allan looks a bit flustered and keeps wasting possession.

Allan has been giving the ball away a lot in the last 15 minutes.

Because he's been more involved than any other player on the park. Maybe trying too hard.

Doidge battered by Flo's cross ahaha

Scott Allan having a bit of a mare IMHO. Nothing coming off for him the last twenty minutes or so.

Scott Allans having a bit of a mare tbh.

it's not been scott allan's best performance tbf

OtleyHibs
19-01-2020, 02:44 PM
Naismith looked like he pulled up there

Good point. I'd forgotten that one. Yeah, booking then.

Gameplan working for them, Allan looks a bit flustered and keeps wasting possession.

Their gameplan is working is it?

There's certainly not much coming off for him in terms of passing and he's been dispossessed quite a few times.

I agree, but it’s not cos he’s not fit.

Funny how united have committed 9 fouls to Hibs 3, yet who has been booked

Scott Allan just needs to keep it simple imho instead of fancy flicks etc in his own 3rd.

Naismith could be done here

19-01-2020, 02:45 PM
Billy Dodds

Billy Dodds

Cheers recognised the voice but couldn't place him, he said after Watson's 3rd foul that the ref was correct to not book him and Porteous should cross better, he's not got a clue and the reason he isn't involved in coaching or management anymore.

On another note, Naismith's passing is really poor.

Could be a bad one for Naismith.

Allan is doing just fine, every time he gets the ball he's getting booted, dunno what some folk expect

Their gameplan is working is it?

As far as making Allan much less effective goes, yes.

it's not been scott allan's best performance tbf

Put money on him laying on a goal or scoring.

19-01-2020, 02:46 PM
Hoping that's not a bad knee injury but doesn't look good for Naismith

Heh heh he's suddenly on his feet.

19-01-2020, 02:47 PM
Hopefully he’ll be fine. I get the absolute fear that Whittaker will go back into the full back position

When did Jesse Pinkman join our backroom staff?

Where did the ref get 3 minutes?

The Tache is there watching :greengrin

Hopefully he’ll be fine. I get the absolute fear that Whittaker will go back into the full back positionWe'll bring on SDG.

Scott Allans having a bit of a mare tbh.

Almost trying too hard. Certainly looks up for it.

Clinical - that's Dodds' favourite word.

19-01-2020, 02:48 PM
I agree, but it’s not cos he’s not fit.Yeah, maybe he's just trying a bit too hard then. I thought he looked a yard off, but it's just been when he's trying to win the ball back and rectify a mistake.

Hopefully he’ll be fine. I get the absolute fear that Whittaker will go back into the full back position

We’ve got SDG on the bench

Pawlett is a cheating wee fud.

1-1

Shankland

Sleeping, so easy.

Arse

**** sake, switched off totally there.

What did he say to unhappy freezing bird next to him?

Sake man.

Shankland scores

1-1

Football is crazy.

19-01-2020, 02:49 PM
Ffs right on half time. That boy hardly touched ball too.

Must have a soft spot for us.

Shankland. Jeeez

Put money on him laying on a goal or scoring.

i don't gamble on the lords day :greengrin

shanklnad scores.....wonder if we will up the anti a tad here

Sleeping, so easy.

too easy

Typical, seen that coming a mile off!

HendoDelivered
Boy scores goals tbf.

Sloppy defending

Poor poor defending. Gave the ball away too easy and stood off.

It’s all they have done. Lewis needs to be a bit stronger.

Poor end to the half for me

Christ!

Terrible time to concede.

Two minutes of pressure and we concede. Pathetic.

Defence sleeping

Same old story.

Scott Allans fault.

Been pretty pish since going up 1-0. Whittaker isnt doing enough to justify his place for me. Chronic lack of pace. Slivka on please

Dreadful timing that

That wee crappie commentator wetting his pants when Shankland scored. The whole of the BBC heaves a sigh of relief.

We should be out of sight ffs

19-01-2020, 02:50 PM
Hmmmm

berwickhibee
19-01-2020, 02:50 PM
Scott Allans fault.

Gave the ball away numerous times. Poor