View Full Version : Official Scottish Cup 4th Round: Dundee Utd v Hibernian match day thread.
19-01-2020, 03:48 PM
Allan penaltyWhittaker overhead kick.
Come on Hibs! Get this winner!
Good pressure now. Boyle and Flo great all game.
scott allan looking along the line, should never have been offside
19-01-2020, 03:49 PM
You simply cannot absolve the management team from culpability re not getting a defensive midfielder in, we are not competitive enough in the middle of the park, Dundee Utd look like world beaters in there when a hard tackling midfielder could really make a difference but three weeks into the window, nothing. Let’s not even start on the defence where Stevenson, Hanlon and Whittaker have once again been found out, but this time by lower league opposition, time to remind Jack Ross he was brought in to sort nonsense like this out !!
Nothing you've said I agree with.
Whittaker overhead kick.
CloudSquall
Sportscene clowns will be unbearable if this stays a draw.
They've been really poor but have sneaked a draw out of it.
Or have they ????
Good pressure now. Boyle and Flo great all game.
Utd struggling with the pace would have been nice not to have had the early subs maybe got Horgan on at that back line as well
He played the ball.
he played the guys ankle...first decision clancy has got right
Poor from Scott to stray offside there. Good ball Whittaker.
19-01-2020, 03:50 PM
Are any new signings eligible for a replay? Or do they need to have been registered before the initial tie?
19-01-2020, 03:51 PM
Hope the *******s broke his legs 😂😂 anyone just hear the lady scream that?
Lady?!!
They're still going in the background.
Tomsk
19-01-2020, 03:52 PM
Lady?
19-01-2020, 03:53 PM
Doidge 🙈🙈🙈
Lady?
Yeah I was being kind 😁
The physio just blessed Connolly .
19-01-2020, 03:54 PM
dirty butcher man of the match lol
Allan has been quite poor today imo
Bad defending yet again has cost us a win
Butcher MOM
Or thug
Tug Wilson
And jokers on here were fist pumping the idea of throwing Whittaker in at DM :hilarious
How many times does he have to display the fact his legs have completely gone?
Whittaker has been pretty good today. Only people with an inbuilt agenda against him would say different.
19-01-2020, 03:55 PM
FT 2-2
Replay it is. We gifted them that. Should have had the game dead and buried. Typical Hibs!
2-2 full time.
Poor result you've got to be honest.
Replay it is then.
Tuesday 28th :aok:
Delightful footwork from Allan, nothing in the pass though.
We’ll take them apart at ER. They are rank.
Replay
Unbelievable. Can't believe we never won that.
that was so hibs
we should credit dundee utd scoring with the two chances they had
Mr Grieves
19-01-2020, 03:56 PM
How the **** have they got away with 1 yellow? Foul after foul!
We should hammer them in the replay. At least we are in the hat tonight guys.
NC1875
Whittaker has been pretty good today. Only people with an inbuilt agenda against him would say different.
You have to be kidding ?
2-2 away to a Neilson team, meaning a money spinning replay at ER. Where have we seen this before?
Should have won, they were very fortunate our defence were poor, but we are still in the cup
19-01-2020, 03:57 PM
You have to be kidding ?
I thought he done well until about an hour. Why we haven’t signed a DM or then subbed Whittaker when he was done is baffling.
Money-spinner replay at ER
2-2 full time.
Poor result you've got to be honest.Away draw against the runaway leaders in the league below us? I'd have preferred the win but would have taken a draw before the match.
A money-spinning replay it is then.
tonyrougier123
Nowts went right for allan the day.
Replay should see us through.
Just hope the injuries to porto and naisy not to bad.
thegaffer12
We'll have Omeonga for the replay at least
Think we'll hammer them at our place. Heard so much about how good United were, and they are average. Lucky, but average.
2-2 away to a Neilson team, meaning a money spinning replay at ER. Where have we seen this before?
Deja Vu!!!!
It should have been over by half-time but there you go.
Honestly deserved more, but our consistent concessions suggest there's nothing coincidental about their two goals against the run of play.
With the replay that's us got midweek games 4 weeks in a row
Our midfield remains just far too static.
Mr Grieves
19-01-2020, 03:58 PM
We were the better team by some distance but let down by our weak defending, again! Boyle and Kamberi were good
Story of our season. We give away so many cheap goals. It must be a dozen games we have thrown away from winning positions now.
hfcok
You have to be kidding ?
Agree he was good, broke up a lot of there play. 👏👏
Will the replay be on tv?
Away draw against the runaway leaders in the league below us? I'd have preferred the win but would have taken a draw before the match.
In the context of the game, it’s a poor result and another game we didn’t need. Not worth losing **** over though. It just highlights our frailties again.
Will it be televised or do we have a CL schedule that night?
TheCabbage
Will we though?
Is there not a rule only players signed and eligible for the original match or am I dreaming that?
Tug Wilson
You have to be kidding ?
Lots of strong tackles.
Broke up United attacks.
Distributed the ball reasonably well.
What do you want from a DM?
Vital
Will the replay be on tv?
Would assume so, there’s only one other replay. Premier Sports is the downside.
Oh aye forgot about the champions league *****
Not back until Feb 👍
19-01-2020, 03:59 PM
Should have won, they were very fortunate our defence were poor, but we are still in the cup
most teams are fortunate our defence is so poor
19-01-2020, 04:00 PM
Disappointing not to put them away, as would have been well worth a win.
Not a disaster, was a good cup tie & was always going to be close, confident for the replay.
The Captain....
19-01-2020, 04:00 PM
We've needed remodelled defensively for so long..we cannot rely on Porteous..he either injures himself diving into challenges or gets himself suspended for the same reason. The rest of the defence have proved time and again they concede under the slightest pressure. I hope we're looking at replacements.
Going forward we are decent, it's the same old deficiencies we all know about letting us down.
Frustrating not to win that game.
Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
19-01-2020, 04:01 PM
Disappointing not to put them away, as would have been well worth a win.
Not a disaster, was a good cup tie & was always going to be close, confident for the replay.
It shouldnt have been close though, we gifted them 2 goals, albeit the 2nd was a good finish
He cost us a goal! He’s a terrible player who never manages to put contact on a player in midfield. Good with ball at his feet but the game is more than that.
tonyrougier123
The two forced subs didny help us,whitty done well but fresh legs in there might have gave us more running in the last 15
How the **** have they got away with 1 yellow? Foul after foul!My 9 year old daughter asked me the same, without the swearing. Obvious to anyone.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
19-01-2020, 04:02 PM
Lots of strong tackles.
Broke up United attacks.
Him to not let a player waltz in from the line and score? If we had a decent defensive midfielder we wouldve won that. Hes not a particularly bad footballer just so so slow.
19-01-2020, 04:02 PM
Away draw against the runaway leaders in the league below us? I'd have preferred the win but would have taken a draw before the match.
I expected more from D Utd. given their league form. The other teams must be mince.
NC1875
19-01-2020, 04:04 PM
Lots of strong tackles.
Broke up United attacks.
Out of position at the 1st goal meaning Porteous gets dragged out.
2nd goal turned easier than than the last pick at my 5 a sides.
He’s finished but if you’re happy with his performance we’ll keep being a bang average team.
Victor
19-01-2020, 04:05 PM
The two forced subs didny help us,whitty done well but fresh legs in there might have gave us more running in the last 15
This. The forced substitutions meant Ross had no leeway to change things late on. Think Horgan, Newell or Shaw could have given Utd problems if they had got on.
Roxyhibee
19-01-2020, 04:05 PM
You start Whittaker in a big game you get experience, intelligence and good feet moving the ball forward.
But you carry big risks of players getting away from him easily in dangerous positions. Cannot turn or run.
Watching Utd's 2nd goal Rocky seemed to dive over the ball, I really think he got caught out thinking ball was going wide.
19-01-2020, 04:06 PM
Do we have a date scheduled for the replay?
19-01-2020, 04:07 PM
So who are we wanting in the next round 😊
hfcok
Jan 28th
28th
hhibs
19-01-2020, 04:08 PM
If fit, Bogdan to take over in goals,do not think our defence has confidence in Rocky,
Whittaker had a decent game but crucial mistake at there second,shows we have clear problem when Whits is first choice for such a vital game .
Time that Hibs get the finger get out and sign a proper DM,no more delay!
franck sauzee
He’s finished but if you’re happy with his performance we’ll keep being a bang average team.
Usually find a lot of the criticism of Whittaker is over the top, but agree he had a hand to play in both goals we lost today
You start Whittaker in a big game you get experience, intelligence and good feet moving the ball forward.
But you carry big risks of players getting away from him easily in dangerous positions. Cannot turn or run.
Spot on . He got turned far too easily when the boy scored their second . We need a proper dm signed this window ,the sooner the better .
19-01-2020, 04:09 PM
Infuriating.
19-01-2020, 04:09 PM
I'm fairly confident that Tug's happiness will have no effect on Hibs.
19-01-2020, 04:10 PM
No chance.
Runaway leaders in that league means nothing. They're playing the likes of Arbroath and Alloa every other week. Based on their performance today they'll struggle next season.
We should be going there and winning, a draw's a poor result against a lower league side, especially with having the lead twice. We were comfortably the better side for the majority of the game and the fact we've failed to win is poor.
19-01-2020, 04:10 PM
Whittaker played well but in the lead up to their second got done stinking.
Not good enough. Dreadful infact.
19-01-2020, 04:11 PM
Jan 28th
Can omeonga/any new signings actually play in the replay? Isnt there a rule that you can only use the squad of players registered for the first game or something like that?
So who are we wanting in the next round 😊
Lowest ranked team at ER or Hearts !
28th
19-01-2020, 04:12 PM
Watching Utd's 2nd goal Rocky seemed to dive over the ball, I really think he got caught out thinking ball was going wide.
I think that’s harsh. Ball was right in the far corner, Rocky at full stretch but just couldn’t quite reach it. Don’t think there was much wrong with his positioning or reaction.
Lowest ranked team at ER or Hearts !
Lowest rank team will be at Tiny...
19-01-2020, 04:13 PM
Can omeonga/any new signings actually play in the replay? Isnt there a rule that you can only use the squad of players registered for the first game or something like that?
You need to be free to play in the original tie to be eligible for any replay so unless Omeonga's international clearance came through before 3pm today then he won't be able to play in the replay.
Get Rocky out......liability. sells a goal a game.
Our own fault we didn't win that. Disappointed - yet again.:boo hoo:I even had my lucky pants on:grr:
Antonyopus
19-01-2020, 04:15 PM
I think that’s harsh. Ball was right in the far corner, Rocky at full stretch but just couldn’t quite reach it. Don’t think there was much wrong with his positioning or reaction.
Can someone remind me please- what was the outcome the last time we drew 2-2 away to a team managed by Robbie Neilson....
If fit, Bogdan to take over in goals,do not think our defence has confidence in Rocky,
Whittaker had a decent game but crucial mistake at there second,shows we have clear problem when Whits is first choice for such a vital game .
Time that Hibs get the finger get out and sign a proper DM,no more delay!
I’m sure Rocky feels the same about the defence
Our own fault we didn't win that. Disappointed - yet again.:boo hoo:I even had my lucky pants on:grr:
Get them off! 😬
19-01-2020, 04:16 PM
No chance.
Runaway leaders in that league means nothing. They're playing the likes of Arbroath and Alloa every other week. Based on their performance today they'll struggle next season.
We should be going there and winning, a draw's a poor result against a lower league side, especially with having the lead twice. We were comfortably the better side for the majority of the game and the fact we've failed to win is poor.
Hibs were on a hiding to nothing playing a team that's winning week in week out, got a red hot striker and us coming off a 3 week break. Had all the ingredients for a United win. 2-2 is not good given the way we dominated, but a decent result, given it's the cup.
Antonyopus
19-01-2020, 04:16 PM
Can someone please remind me. What was the outcome the last time we drew 2-2 away in the cup against a team managed by someone called Robbie Neilson??????
19-01-2020, 04:18 PM
I’m not sure about that, a keeper will normally dive and push it wide with one arm outstretched in order to reach as far as he can, he misjudged the shot imo.
Hibs were on a hiding to nothing playing a team that's winning week in week out, got a red hot striker and us coming off a 3 week break. Had all the ingredients for a United win. 2-2 is not good given the way we dominated, but a decent result, given it's the cup.
Compared to the alternative of going out. I’ll take the replay.
Still in the hat.
With my glass half empty hat on, we dominated and should have won.
Whittaker played well but in the lead up to their second got done stinking.
Not good enough. Dreadful infact.
As was SDG’s clearance under no real pressure though and Rocky’s slow motion dive (in my opinion). Yes Whitty got turned but if SDG puts the laces on it, it doesn’t happen. Central defenders didn’t press either and were static.
Hibs played well today at a tricky venue against a form team - still in the draw and a home game with potentially new signings. Goal for Doidge, minutes for SDG, Boyle still scoring, Flo looking decent - all in all I’ll take the replay and be confident at ER.
Stop talking such sense, it will never catch on [emoji12][emoji106]
19-01-2020, 04:19 PM
Decent enough performance, albeit disappointed to not get the win. Very pleased that the team showed fight and tenacity. We’ll pump them in the reply.
19-01-2020, 04:20 PM
We'll do them at ER I've been hearing how good they are but I thought they were pish, 3 or 4 zip to us I'd say 💚
19-01-2020, 04:23 PM
Special mention to Mr K Clancy. You didn’t disappoint. Yet another incompetent performance. How Butcher wasn’t booked earlier and Connolly escaped a booking only he will know.
berwickhibee
19-01-2020, 04:23 PM
Scott Allan was as bad as he can be today. He won't be in the replay.
Boyle and whittaker impressive for me.
Any news on injuries?
19-01-2020, 04:24 PM
We'll do them at ER I've been hearing how good they are but I thought they were pish, 3 or 4 zip to us I'd say 💚
We should see them off without too much fuss at Easter Road - a missed opportunity this afternoon to win the tie but it was a decent enough performance.
Any news on injuries?He played an inch perfect pass to Boyle which lead to our first goal.
Tug Wilson
I'm fairly confident that Tug's happiness will have no effect on Hibs.
So many people on here are quick to jump on certain players. Often unfairly.
But if it makes them happy then crack on.
Whittaker played decently today. Not perfect and we definitely need a Defensive Midfielder as he is not the solution. I never said that he was.
He made a lot of very important tackles today but easy for so many to make the scapegoat.
19-01-2020, 04:25 PM
2 shots and 14 fouls. They're a poor side who got lucky today. 2/3-0 in Replay.
19-01-2020, 04:25 PM
Missed too many chances. Disappointed to have to play a replay. 4 midweek games in a row after 3 week shut down. Magic
rotherhamrob
19-01-2020, 04:27 PM
Maybe we're doing what we did in 2016 and drawing our way to the final😎
19-01-2020, 04:27 PM
Should have won. Until we sort ourselves out defensively, we’ll continue to struggle for wins.
19-01-2020, 04:28 PM
He played an inch perfect pass to Boyle which lead to our first goal.
Plus an assist for the second
Goalie looked slow getting down to try save their second.
So it was a poor result given the way the game went then? That's what I've been saying.
Taking the lead twice against a lower league team and not winning is a poor result, particularly with how superior we were for most of the match.
berwickhibee
19-01-2020, 04:29 PM
He played an inch perfect pass to Boyle which lead to our first goal.
He also gave the ball away numerous times.
1 crossfield pass all game.
Poor at Livingston too. Everybody was.
But today he was poor as he can be.
19-01-2020, 04:30 PM
Plus an assist for the secondYeah but apart from that....
19-01-2020, 04:35 PM
So it was a poor result given the way the game went then? That's what I've been saying.
Taking the lead twice against a lower league team and not winning is a poor result, particularly with how superior we were for most of the match.
It's also the 11th time this season that we've been ahead in a game and failed to win over 90 minutes.
11 times and it's not even the end of January yet. It's really not good enough.
19-01-2020, 04:37 PM
Any news on injuries?
I think he needs another creative type beside him. Scott then can switch during games - we depend a lot on him being the spark. He’s doing too much (if that makes sense).
hibeerealist
19-01-2020, 04:37 PM
Be asking questions of Hanlon on that I don’t understand why he’s not pressing the ball as the guys cutting across the 18 yard box, probably more of a hinderence to rocky standing where he was
:agree: PH not done what he should be doing for both goals
19-01-2020, 04:38 PM
I would have been happy with a draw but not in that manner.
I think we will win the replay though.
19-01-2020, 04:38 PM
Quite happy , Played really well in patches and knocked the ball about really well at times .
Confident we will bury them at Easter rd so no issues there
Kamberi stevenson and Boyle were the pick of the bunch
19-01-2020, 04:40 PM
It's also the 11th time this season that we've been ahead in a game and failed to win over 90 minutes.
11 times and it's not even the end of January yet. It's really not good enough.Score draws are a thing. In every one of them at least one side loses a lead. It happens.
hibeerealist
19-01-2020, 04:40 PM
Special mention to Mr K Clancy. You didn’t disappoint. Yet another incompetent performance. How Butcher wasn’t booked earlier and Connolly escaped a booking only he will know.
In case you are reading this Clancy we are not the only two that think that way, you are a hopeless Bass a and one of the worst refs ever
19-01-2020, 04:45 PM
So it’s another money spinning replay for Robbie 🤔 after a 2-2 at home .
Our names on the cup 😉😃
Can I just point out Scott Allan has been honking since rejoining us.
delbert
19-01-2020, 04:45 PM
Nothing you've said I agree with.
So just to be clear, this current Hibs side doesn’t need a defensive midfielder ? Thank God we got rid of passengers like Milligan and Bartley, they did nothing !
19-01-2020, 04:46 PM
Score draws are a thing. In every one of them at least one side loses a lead. It happens.
I'm aware of that but 11 times in the space of 5 months?
We've lost a few 2 goal leads in that time as well.
Sioux
19-01-2020, 04:48 PM
Score draws are a thing. In every one of them at least one side loses a lead. It happens.
Apparently not. When the first goal is scored, the ref should call ‘time up’
19-01-2020, 04:48 PM
Any news on injuries?
Plays parts in both goals. Made some poor decisions too.
19-01-2020, 04:49 PM
Enjoyable cup tie, disappointing result. Some decent performances all round and some major slip-ups and poor decision making that - once again - cost us - I don't think the cup tie is done and dusted as some seem to think, looking forward to it though.
19-01-2020, 04:50 PM
11 times and it's not even the end of January yet. It's really not good enough.
:agree: Yet again, Hibs inability to defend a lead has cost us the game.
19-01-2020, 04:52 PM
We were ok in patches and distinctly mediocre in others. I'm no keeper but I thought Marciano misjudged their second and his dive was like a felled tree.
Yeah poor goalkeeping. A nice strike but pretty standard stuff for a decent keeper. Maybe Boyles was the same though. They’re pretty pish who raised their game playing a big club in the cup at home. We’ll comfortably tuck them and their hun striker away at the leith san siro.
HFC93
19-01-2020, 05:00 PM
Wait. What?
19-01-2020, 05:01 PM
Good game , deserved the win, beat that mob at Easter road. SDG and ofir Defo not covering themselves in glory for 2nd goal , good finish, but keeper should have done better.
19-01-2020, 05:01 PM
We were better than we were at Livvi last time out, so at least that's a positive because we were rank rotten that day. The other thing is that away in the cup rule number one is if you can't win don't lose, and at least we did that in a game any premiership club outside of the uglies would have viewed as a potential banana skin. Look at the premiership clubs we beat when we were in the championship and we at no time were runaway leaders like Utd are.
My big concern from today was the amount of space we gave away between 20 yards of our goal line and 15 yards into our half from halfway, Utd seemed to have free license to play in that pocket with very little pressure from our back 4 or midfield .... the very area an intelligent defensive midfielder would look to occupy.
I'm not going to hammer Whittaker, he wasn't all bad and he did his best to contribute, but his lack of pace is evident and it makes him a weak link, if we are to improve he just can't be anything to the team other than an absolute last resort and it has to be said his error at Utd's 2nd by utterly selling himself was the sort of mistake you would expect at amateur level, not from a guy who has played in the English premier league FFS.
The main disappointment was Scott Allan. Every now and again he has a game where nothing works for him and today was one of them, for practically the whole game he chose the difficult option when he had a simple and effective pass on .. in fact at times he looked like he was trying to find the most difficult area to make his pass into and that for me is selfish ... It's a team game Scotty.
Top performers were Boyle and Kamberi ... though why Flo chose to pass to Allan at the very end when David Gray had made a super overlapping run and would have been right in if he had received the ball only Flo will know.
At the end of the day we are still in the cup and at home in the replay, so I'm not complaining too much that we drew a game we could and should have won.
19-01-2020, 05:03 PM
Just back. Should have won the game. Thought Shankland was poor despite his goal and Uniteds 2nd equaliser was quality. Not much the keeper could have done. Very difficult tie and thought a draw was pretty hard on us
Wait. What?
This isn’t groundbreaking for anyone who actually watches hibs. He has flashes of genius but has been generally a passenger.
No he hasn't.
Yes he has. Mallanesque
So now you've managed to rubbish two Hibs players, classic
19-01-2020, 05:17 PM
Absolutely nothing seemed to come off for Allan today. One of those games
HFC93
19-01-2020, 05:18 PM
This isn’t groundbreaking for anyone who actually watches hibs. He has flashes of genius but has been generally a passenger.
Absute nonsense.
19-01-2020, 05:19 PM
https://i.imgur.com/z1Llwju.png
19-01-2020, 05:20 PM
Yes he has. Mallanesque
Strange for a Hibs fan to use last year's player of the year to try and bash one of our best players currently.
19-01-2020, 05:26 PM
That would have been Scott being a "passenger" with his assists for Martin Boyle's goals against the Yams and the Sheep recently? :rolleyes:
Kamberi is twice the player Allan is but gets twice the abuse. Not sure why.
19-01-2020, 05:33 PM
Because he doesn’t have the same end product.
I thought Allan was rubbish today though.
19-01-2020, 05:33 PM
Thought Kamberi was excellent today
19-01-2020, 05:35 PM
Same old issues costing us today. Not at all clinical in the final third and the opposition punished us at the other end scoring their only clear cut chance and a belter.
Thought Whittaker was good second half but did lose his man for the second goal. Badly need some better quality in midfield and up front. Doidge scored a good goal and think the keeper did well for his chance late on, although he could’ve potentially squared it. Allan was our worst player by a distance.
hibeerealist
19-01-2020, 05:35 PM
Apples and Pears!!!!
19-01-2020, 05:36 PM
Allan has 7 goals and 9 assists this season. Flo has 8 goals and 3 assists.
Both good players for us. No way is Flo 'twice the player.' Also, Mallanesque?
Well played except the result, poor 1st goal to give away , decent shot for their 2nd but I thought Rocky was a bit slow getting down and across for it. Allan had a poor 1st half but I thought he had a far better 2nd as did Kamberi, Whittaker tired in the last 15 mins and I thought he may have introduced Slivka as fresh legs. Not too disappointed except the score, we looked the better side the whole game.
19-01-2020, 06:35 PM
The opposite. He gets stuck in a lot more in a much more laboured midfield than was around when he was here before. Stephane will do someone the dirty work for him now he’s back. Allan was practically playing left wing the second half.
19-01-2020, 06:36 PM
Just seen the highlights and I think Rocky might be a wee bit disappointed. Goalkeepers are taught from a young age to dive out the way, he's dived back the way there. I think he's either unsighted or has misjudged it.
Marv seems to agree and I'm not going to argue with him.
19-01-2020, 06:36 PM
Thought Kamberi was excellent today
Tried a little too hard and was a bit greedy on the ball but his class shines through. Fantastic attitude he had.