View Full Version : Fizzy Juice

19-01-2020, 09:00 AM
Are Barr’s the only independent juice company still going in Scotland?

Mr Grieves
19-01-2020, 10:16 AM
When we've had a takeaway with the in-laws up in Aberdeenshire, we used to get a free bottle of this weird red stuff that seems to be from a local company. It was rank!

Also, Bon accord are open again, but I think they're selling higher end mixers now

19-01-2020, 10:18 AM
When we've had a takeaway with the in-laws up in Aberdeenshire, we used to get a free bottle of this weird red stuff that seems to be from a local company. It was rank!

Also, Bon accord are open again, but I think they're selling higher end mixers now

I think you mean Moray Cup.

That was discontinued a couple of years ago and the company bought by a Dutch firm. When I lived in Aberdeen folk seemed to love it. It was rank.

Cataplana
19-01-2020, 10:40 AM
I don't think I've seen any local Lemonade companies on my travels. Names from the past like Thomson Craik in Perth and Strathmore Springs (of Pola Cola fame) are no more.

There used to be a factory in St Andrews that did one called Angel's Kiss. I loved it, but all I can remember is that it was pineapple mixed with another flavour.

Mr Grieves
19-01-2020, 04:02 PM
I think you mean Moray Cup.

That was discontinued a couple of years ago and the company bought by a Dutch firm. When I lived in Aberdeen folk seemed to love it. It was rank.

That's the one. Not only was it bogging it had a weird label

19-01-2020, 06:47 PM
Think it was mostly Solripe and Globe when I was a kid.

One of them did great American Cream Soda. I haven’t had anything as good since.

speedy_gonzales
19-01-2020, 07:17 PM
Think it was mostly Solripe and Globe when I was a kid.

One of them did great American Cream Soda. I haven’t had anything as good since.
Solripe, jings, that's a shout. I remembered Bon Accord, Alpine & Globe but complete forgot about Solripe.
The Globe American Cream Soda was the dogs danglies!

19-01-2020, 07:31 PM
Curries Red Kola is still on the go.

Mixu62
20-01-2020, 01:26 AM
What ever happened to Cresta?

patch1875
20-01-2020, 07:00 AM
Barr’s still do a few classics i don’t drink fizzy juice but I’ve had the odd can of the pineapple.

20-01-2020, 07:40 AM
Bon Accord Edinburgh trading as well

http://www.bonaccordsoftdrinks.com/

20-01-2020, 07:42 AM
Solripe, jings, that's a shout. I remembered Bon Accord, Alpine & Globe but complete forgot about Solripe.
The Globe American Cream Soda was the dogs danglies!

Was it Alpine that had juice lorries in the late 70s/early 80s as well as Bon Accord?

McSwanky
20-01-2020, 07:45 AM
Was it Alpine that had juice lorries in the late 70s/early 80s as well as Bon Accord?

Alpine definitely came round our streets in the 80s.

speedy_gonzales
20-01-2020, 09:19 AM

Aye, it was Bon Accord around the Oxgangs/Colinton Mains area mid 80's with Alpine out at places like Mayfield & Nitten.

20-01-2020, 09:21 AM
Aye, it was Bon Accord around the Oxgangs/Colinton Mains area mid 80's with Alpine out at places like Mayfield & Nitten.

We had both at Kingsknowe/Longstone - but I can't remember if it was at the same time.

20-01-2020, 10:01 AM
Alpine definitely came round our streets in the 80s.

Alpine bottles were great for home brew, wee rubber seal inside the top.

Cataplana
20-01-2020, 10:36 AM
Anybody remember Larkspur? The milkman used to deliver it.

Perhaps Juice Terry can help.

pollution
20-01-2020, 11:22 AM
Who remembers Globe American Cream Soda?? What a drink!

The Pointer
20-01-2020, 11:49 AM

Used to get it from Walter Lyle's newsagent in Buckstone. Did for six of my teeth!

20-01-2020, 12:01 PM
What ever happened to Cresta?

Was just about to mention that. The lemonade that actually made you more thirsty after you drank it.

It was 20p for like a 2 litre bottle. Perfect for summer days.

20-01-2020, 02:15 PM
We had both at Kingsknowe/Longstone - but I can't remember if it was at the same time.

They were certainly competing for your business.

20-01-2020, 02:34 PM
They were certainly competing for your business.

From what I remember the Alpine lorrie was more regular than Bon Accord - it certainly lasted longer anyway.

I think Alpine juice was about the same price per bottle that you paid for Solripe or Globe in the grocers, but the Alpine bottles were bigger (maybe 1l instead of 75cl?).

20-01-2020, 03:43 PM
Hendrys double top ?

20-01-2020, 04:45 PM
From what I remember the Alpine lorrie was more regular than Bon Accord - it certainly lasted longer anyway.

I think Alpine juice was about the same price per bottle that you paid for Solripe or Globe in the grocers, but the Alpine bottles were bigger (maybe 1l instead of 75cl?).
It all depended on the driver and his van laddies how long they lasted in each street. The driver I remember doing your area was a bit on the lazy side.
Alpine was either the same or a penny cheaper than Bon Accordbut seemed much cheaper to new buyers as they had a very small deposit on the bottle.
Maybe even 1.1l.

20-01-2020, 04:46 PM
Who made the blue lemonade in Dunfermline?

20-01-2020, 05:07 PM

Bon Accord were still kicking about a good bit into the 90s in Colinton Mains. We used to get a few bottles every week when I was a bairn. I'd like to try to some Bon Accord, Alpine etc again. In my head it was amazing tasting stuff but I bet it was absolutely rank.

Was Cresta the one with the polar bear? My memory is of it being like syrup and ridiculously frothy.

20-01-2020, 08:14 PM
As a young lad my first job was a Saturday job on the Bon Accord lorry. Did Broomhouse, Sighthill and Calders. The tips were excellent, and it made sure I had enough cash to get into Easter Road for the football.

Bon Accord were still on the go in the mid 90’s in Perth.

20-01-2020, 08:20 PM
Bon Accord were still kicking about a good bit into the 90s in Colinton Mains. We used to get a few bottles every week when I was a bairn. I'd like to try to some Bon Accord, Alpine etc again. In my head it was amazing tasting stuff but I bet it was absolutely rank.

Was Cresta the one with the polar bear? My memory is of it being like syrup and ridiculously frothy.

Re Cresta, yes and yes. It’s frothy man!

https://thumb.approvedfood.co.uk/thumbs/75/305/1000/1/src_images/Cresta_Lemonade_2_Litre.jpg

20-01-2020, 08:23 PM
Hendrys double top ?

I remember Hendry’s

MartinfaePorty
20-01-2020, 09:17 PM
It all depended on the driver and his van laddies how long they lasted in each street. The driver I remember doing your area was a bit on the lazy side.
Alpine was either the same or a penny cheaper than Bon Accordbut seemed much cheaper to new buyers as they had a very small deposit on the bottle.
Maybe even 1.1l.Remember the bloody awkward size of the Bon Accord bottles, as they were a bugger to try and squeeze into the fridge!

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

20-01-2020, 10:29 PM
Curries Red Kola is still on the go.

Get Curries Red Kola in Waitrose. No as good as Barrs IMO.

A new Scotish company is Alba Cola:

https://www.albacola.com/

Haven't seen it in shops yet though.

21-01-2020, 07:45 AM
Get Curries Red Kola in Waitrose. No as good as Barrs IMO.

A new Scotish company is Alba Cola:

https://www.albacola.com/

Haven't seen it in shops yet though.

They sell Alba Cola in Real Foods on Broughton Street. It's quite nice but £1.60 is a bit steep for a can of juice.

21-01-2020, 08:35 AM
Used to be loads of Companies who sold their own brand, predominantly in glass. Having worked in the food trade, these are the ones I can remember
Up North
Cruickshanks Buckie
Sangs Banff
Woodrow’s Dunfermline
Och Aye Dundee
There was one who depots in Wick and Turriff, who’s name escapes me

Central
Curries Ayr (still on the go via Dunn)
Dunn and Moore
Garvies
Struthers
Solripe

Borders
Wm Clapperton Innerleithen

Cataplana
21-01-2020, 08:44 AM
Hendrys double top ?

I remember the factory in Lower London Road. What was Double Top again?

Used to be loads of Companies who sold their own brand, predominantly in glass. Having worked in the food trade, these are the ones I can remember
Up North
Cruickshanks Buckie
Sangs Banff
Woodrow’s Dunfermline
Och Aye Dundee
There was one who depots in Wick and Turriff, who’s name escapes me

Central
Curries Ayr (still on the go via Dunn)
Dunn and Moore
Garvies
Struthers
Solripe

Borders
Wm Clapperton Innerleithen

Dunbar's at the back of what is now the South Stand. Hence the name Dunbar End.

There was Leitchs in Musselburgh, and St. Ronans Wells in the Borders (Clipperton?)

21-01-2020, 11:45 AM

There was Leitchs in Musselburgh, and St. Ronans Wells in the Borders (Clipperton?)

Double Top was dark cola.

McSwanky
21-01-2020, 12:09 PM

Was that called "Blue Moon Lemonade"? I remember getting that as a treat sometimes, but can't remember who made it...

speedy_gonzales
21-01-2020, 05:04 PM

Probably unrelated but this just reminded me of "Top Deck" shandy and lager & lime.
To think kids could buy this stuff from their local/corner shop,,,,,guid times!

21-01-2020, 08:55 PM
Probably unrelated but this just reminded me of "Top Deck" shandy and lager & lime.
To think kids could buy this stuff from their local/corner shop,,,,,guid times!

I mind my mate thinking he had got pissed on that at a school camp in Jedburgh, fell out the top bunk

22-01-2020, 10:40 AM

I can't believe it took as long as that to mention Dunbar's.

Jim Dunbar, one of the last owners, worked beside my wife about 20 years ago.

Cataplana
22-01-2020, 01:58 PM
I can't believe it took as long as that to mention Dunbar's.

Jim Dunbar, one of the last owners, worked beside my wife about 20 years ago.

In this day and age of naming rights, the club would be charging him to name a section of the ground after his company.

23-01-2020, 12:37 AM
It was the Alpine lorry for me as a bairn. The excitement when the lorry came was magic, you used to run downstairs with the crate with the empty bottles and the order of new bottles. I loved the Alpine pinappleaid. Fond memories.

23-01-2020, 01:23 PM

Woodrows perhaps?

Am sure the owner - Roy Woodrow - had a significant stake in Dunfermline AFC, eventually retiring as chairman.

Fuzzywuzzy
23-01-2020, 04:19 PM
My gran always used to phoen the week before a visit to find out what I wanted from the juice man

23-01-2020, 05:10 PM
Alpine Mixed Fruit was the bomb.

27-01-2020, 09:35 PM
They sell Alba Cola in Real Foods on Broughton Street. It's quite nice but £1.60 is a bit steep for a can of juice.

Was planning on trying it but not at that price:greengrin