View Full Version : Dundee Utd v Hibernian

16-01-2020, 05:17 PM
Only a few days before our massive Scottish Cup tie at Tannadice

Wonder how many of the starting line up at Livvi, will start the game
Kamberi is hopefully available, not sure about Newall, unless he played in the bounce game on Tuesday
Other positions for Jack Ross to consider, is who plays at the back, now competition at right back and right centre back

Looking forward to it now

16-01-2020, 05:22 PM
Despite the ‘threat’ of Shankland, we must have the confidence to go there and win the tie. We have to press them and forget about settling for a draw. :hibees

16-01-2020, 05:23 PM
Here's hoping Kamberi is available, we just seem to carry more threat with him in the side, even if he doesn't score.

16-01-2020, 05:49 PM
Let’s go out there and absolutley batter them.

Will it be a tough game? Yes, but we are the better side and need to go into the game believing it.

Work had and play fast and we will win.

We have enough to take care of Shankland, we’ve kept better striker quiet.

On a side note, why are so many people creaming themselves over their latest signing Dillon Powers?

16-01-2020, 05:51 PM
Only a few days before our massive Scottish Cup tie at Tannadice

Wonder how many of the starting line up at Livvi, will start the game
Kamberi is hopefully available, not sure about Newall, unless he played in the bounce game on Tuesday
Other positions for Jack Ross to consider, is who plays at the back, now competition at right back and right centre back

Looking forward to it now

22 players including Kamberi played 45 minutes each in the bounce game (was on the team lines at least) but Newell didn't play (wasn't on the team lines).

16-01-2020, 05:57 PM
I'd take the same result as when we last played them in the Scottish Cup at Tannadice in 2003. A 3-2 win with a hat trick from Grant Brebner. I remember watching the scores coming in from the warmth of my lounge. Made extra special by Hearts getting thumped 4-0 by Falkirk.

16-01-2020, 06:03 PM
I'd take the same result as when we last played them in the Scottish Cup at Tannadice in 2003. A 3-2 win with a hat trick from Grant Brebner. I remember watching the scores coming in from the warmth of my lounge. Made extra special by Hearts getting thumped 4-0 by Falkirk.

Our very own Brebs got a hat-trick and Colin Samuel got a hat-trick for Falkirk :cb

16-01-2020, 06:06 PM
Our very own Brebs got a hat-trick and Colin Samuel got a hat-trick for Falkirk :cb

It was a Carlsberg day Andy. I even went to the pub for a few pints to celebrate. :greengrin

16-01-2020, 06:08 PM
It was a Carlsberg day Andy. I even went to the pub for a few pints to celebrate. :greengrin

Me tae funnily enough :greengrin

Cannae believe that was about 17 years ago !

16-01-2020, 06:16 PM

I got bounced along the platform @ Haymarket on my face by a BTP Officer for getting involved in a bit of fisticuffs! 😔

16-01-2020, 06:40 PM
Utd fan at work reckons we won’t cope with Shankland and predicts a 3-1 win for them.

I reckon 1-3 Hibs!

16-01-2020, 06:42 PM
Surprised and a little disappointed we approach this game with no new signings bedded into the team. Tough game, could go either way.

16-01-2020, 06:53 PM
Doubt we will see any radical team line up, but given the few weeks break the staff will have had plenty time to look at Dundee Utd and the dangers they possess and will have had a good idea of how we are to approach this one.
I think we will have just too much for Dundee Utd, but won`t be a romp - a narrow 2-1 victory (Doidge & Griffiths with a goal apiece)

16-01-2020, 07:01 PM

It was the perfect hat trick too. Left foot, right foot, header :thumbsup:

17-01-2020, 05:58 PM
Doubt we will see any radical team line up, but given the few weeks break the staff will have had plenty time to look at Dundee Utd and the dangers they possess and will have had a good idea of how we are to approach this one.
I think we will have just too much for Dundee Utd, but won`t be a romp - a narrow 2-1 victory (Doidge & Griffiths with a goal apiece)
😂😂

17-01-2020, 06:28 PM

I think you’re asking a bit much of Griffiths to score in his first game back with us. :rolleyes:

18-01-2020, 10:03 AM
Draw for 5th round is live on Sportscene, Sunday evening from 7.15pm
Most Hibees should be home by then

gazzag70
18-01-2020, 06:55 PM
Getting the buzz for this game now,its a very difficult tie however if we play to our best we can prevail. As long as our defence keep close tabs on Shankland we will win. Come on the Cabbage!!

18-01-2020, 07:56 PM
not fully confident about this one. they are top of their league and scoring for fun, and they are acclimatized so to speak, and our boys have trained in the sun. hope Kamberi starts,and we stiffen up at he back as we looked shaded against Livi. the number of Hibs fans there should make a difference though as it will be noisy.

18-01-2020, 08:49 PM
Gonna be a tough one to win and I hope we don't over compensate in marking Shankland because he doesn't score if the openings aren't created for him. Stopping the supply is the key

18-01-2020, 09:06 PM
Gonna be a tough one to win and I hope we don't over compensate in marking Shankland because he doesn't score if the openings aren't created for him. Stopping the supply is the key

IMHO it would be madness to single out Shankland for special attention, has he even scored in the top flight? Let them worry about us we are the better team just go out and prove it.

18-01-2020, 09:45 PM
Too much chat about that lot across the road. We have been miles off it this season but Ross has had a chance to work with them over the last few weeks

Result and performance tomorrow. Nothing less.

Come on Hibs.

19-01-2020, 02:09 AM
We have been persisting with the diamond since Ross's arrival but we haven't had much joy with it away from home and I think a change of approach would be in order.

We now have our three best central defenders available and, with the arrival of Omeonga I think a 3-5-2 would be a good formation to start with at Tannadice. this is how my formation would go pending fitness etc ...

Rocky

McGregor Porteous Hanlon

Boyle Omeonga Hallberg Stevenson

Allan

Doidge Kamberi

19-01-2020, 03:25 AM
We have been persisting with the diamond since Ross's arrival but we haven't had much joy with it away from home and I think a change of approach would be in order.

We now have our three best central defenders available and, with the arrival of Omeonga I think a 3-5-2 would be a good formation to start with at Tannadice. this is how my formation would go pending fitness etc ...

Rocky

McGregor Porteous Hanlon

Boyle Omeonga Hallberg Stevenson

Allan

Doidge Kamberi
Is Omeonga cleared to play? Been out of town so don't know if this has been discussed already.....

houstonhibbee
19-01-2020, 04:10 AM
Is Omeonga cleared to play? Been out of town so don't know if this has been discussed already.....
Official site says debut will be v Hamilton

19-01-2020, 04:35 AM

That's what I was assuming 👍

19-01-2020, 06:15 AM
Not gonna lie I'm nervous for this one

Hate going into a big game being favourites against a decent team

19-01-2020, 06:57 AM
The match is televised on BBC Scotland apparently. Happy days for us foreign fans.

It'll be a tough game, they are flying in the Championship, a top league team in all but name. Big travelling support though, 3-2 to Hibs

19-01-2020, 07:39 AM
Tough match coming off the break with them in good form. Need to be at it from the off think we will have too much going forward and expect to score 2 or 3. Need a decent performance from Scotty.

19-01-2020, 08:18 AM
Dundee Utd are a de facto Premiership team and are arguably a better side than a lot of the curent bottom 6.

It's going to be a tough game and we are going to have to be on it from the start to get through. In saying that we have had a couple of weeks to let Ross get a few more ideas across to the players and have shown we are a decent side when we click. A tough, hard fought 1-2 win.

19-01-2020, 08:30 AM
I have a very bad feeling about this. They are full of confidence and I’ll expect them to go after us right from the start. Hopefully we don’t fall into the trap of starting slowly.

19-01-2020, 08:36 AM
I think we'll win fairly comfortably

19-01-2020, 08:38 AM

Didn’t it say his home debut

19-01-2020, 08:38 AM
Agree this will be a tough one, but we are more than capable of winning this and should be expecting to do so if we turn up.

My main worry is our lightweight midfield against a championship team where midfields tend to be even more robust...

Predict Boyle to rip them a new one though

19-01-2020, 08:53 AM
Depends which Hibs side turns up.

The recent Tynecastle team or the Livi away side.

May be somewhere inbetween..

Utd are probably used to going at teams so may suit Hibs playing on the break but I think we need to score 1st and ideally get a 2nd as I think Utd will get at least 1.

Worry is we have only added 1 player (3 if you include Block and Gullan??) and lost 1 to injury. I hope Gullan gets involved at some point as rate him.

19-01-2020, 08:58 AM

Utd are probably used to going at teams so may suit Hibs playing on the break but I think we need to score 1st and ideally get a 2nd as I think Utd will get at least 1.

Worry is we have only added 1 player (3 if you include Block and Gullan??) and lost 1 to injury. I hope Gullan gets involved at some point as rate him.

You could argue there was only one decent half in those two games - the second half against Hearts wasn’t great and obviously the less said about Livingston the better. I’m feeling quite positive though that we will see an energised Hibs side after the winter break this afternoon.

19-01-2020, 09:05 AM

Hope they don't play Block. He played for Queens Park in the cup against QoS.

19-01-2020, 09:37 AM
Hope they don't play Block. He played for Queens Park in the cup against QoS.

Wasn’t aware of that.

19-01-2020, 10:03 AM
Rocky

Naismith
McGregor
Porteous
Stevenson

Halberg
Omenonga
Slivka
Allan

Boyle
Doidge

19-01-2020, 10:14 AM
Just watched the semi final penalties again. Crocker makes another great line in the celebrations
One day Hibs, one day, surely?

Cue pandemonium

19-01-2020, 10:29 AM
Any advice on parking for today's game?

JXM73
19-01-2020, 10:36 AM

Plenty street parking...

19-01-2020, 10:36 AM

Keep off the double yellow lines, don’t want to come back to a ticket!!

19-01-2020, 10:46 AM
Didn’t it say his home debut

He’s not got International clearance so can’t play today.

19-01-2020, 10:49 AM
A wee bit about both club’s Irish origins on from 2.40 today...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/51162203 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/51162203)

19-01-2020, 10:58 AM
Keep off the double yellow lines, don’t want to come back to a ticket!!

😂 Aye alright, stay parallel to the kerb, mind and lock the doors and so on

Man Down Under
19-01-2020, 11:04 AM
Might be seeing a replay

Sent from my SM-A205GN using Tapatalk

timewilltell
19-01-2020, 11:15 AM
Is the game on TV?

19-01-2020, 11:16 AM
Is the game on TV?

Yes. BBC Scotland

maltman91
19-01-2020, 11:21 AM
10 of us heading through on a minibus. Any recommendations for a decent pub for a couple before the game? Cheers

jws1875
19-01-2020, 11:23 AM
Any street recommendations for parking?

19-01-2020, 11:25 AM
10 of us heading through on a minibus. Any recommendations for a decent pub for a couple before the game? Cheers

Nether inn is ok

maltman91
19-01-2020, 11:32 AM
Nether inn is ok

No worries will give it a try cheers

19-01-2020, 11:33 AM

Frews.

19-01-2020, 11:39 AM
Just watched the semi final penalties again. Crocker makes another great line in the celebrations
One day Hibs, one day, surely?

Cue pandemonium

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51144451

Silky
19-01-2020, 12:13 PM
Any street recommendations for parking?

I've parked in Dens, like it said on the Official site. There were a few spaces on Cleppington Road when I was driving in.

19-01-2020, 12:22 PM
I am nervous. I think it’s a really tough game and a tram we won’t know much about. We have to be in it for 90 minutes and treat like it is - a difficult cup tie.

I would be gutted if we get knocked out at this stage. A Scottish cup run keeps the excitement going for rest of the season.

Would take a replay now if I am honest. Come on Hibs.

19-01-2020, 12:24 PM
No worries will give it a try cheers

Get me a pint when u come in 👍

19-01-2020, 12:31 PM
I can see us going:

Rocky

Naismith
Porteous
Hanlon
Stevenson

Whittaker
Slivka
Hallberg
Allan

Boyle
Doidge

19-01-2020, 12:36 PM
A wee bit about both club’s Irish origins on from 2.40 today...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/51162203 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/51162203)
Thanks for highlighting this.:aok:
Nice one from Cosgrove bringing this history and connection of both clubs up.
The early Hibernian story and the clubs impact throughout Scotland,both in sport and Scottish society during those days, could certainly make a multi episode tv series.

And if you know your history ....

19-01-2020, 12:48 PM
I can see us going:

Rocky

Naismith
Porteous
Hanlon
Stevenson

Whittaker
Slivka
Hallberg
Allan

Boyle
Doidge

Nearly

ChicoM1875
19-01-2020, 12:49 PM
Anyone know if you can watch the game on the BBC sport app or iPlayer?

19-01-2020, 12:50 PM

I’d imagine so

one day maybe...
19-01-2020, 12:53 PM

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcone on at 14.40

19-01-2020, 12:58 PM
What channel is it on in England?

broondog
19-01-2020, 01:01 PM
Can’t see it in the BBC Scotland schedule??? Is it televised?

19-01-2020, 01:02 PM
What channel is it on in England?

Can't see it

19-01-2020, 01:02 PM

Yip bbc 1 scotland

19-01-2020, 01:03 PM

It is on BBC 1 Scotland. Not BBC Scotland
Two different channels
Starts at 2.40 for 3.00 Kick off

19-01-2020, 01:06 PM
It is on BBC 1 Scotland. Not BBC Scotland
Two different channels
Starts at 2.40 for 3.00 Kick off

Anyone got the channel?

19-01-2020, 01:13 PM
Looks like 442. Whittaker and Porteous in. Macgregor and Slivka on bench
B

Weegreenman
19-01-2020, 01:14 PM
Whittaker 🤭

19-01-2020, 01:18 PM
Looks like 442. Whittaker and Porteous in. Macgregor and Slivka on bench
B

I think perhaps a 4-2-3-1 with Kamberi on the left

19-01-2020, 01:19 PM
Any chance of mergin the threads

19-01-2020, 01:21 PM
Anyone got the channel?

It's Sky 951

19-01-2020, 01:25 PM
Any chance of mergin the threads

This is the main one😄

19-01-2020, 01:26 PM
Surprised he's dropped McGregor tbh.

19-01-2020, 01:27 PM
This is the main one😄

Lol well sack the other one

19-01-2020, 01:29 PM
Surprised he's dropped McGregor tbh.

I’m not. We obviously expect Porteous to make it, he needs as much exposure to first team games as possible in order to improve. Time for him to step up.

supersauzee
19-01-2020, 01:32 PM
Whittaker playing? Bemused by that!!

19-01-2020, 01:37 PM
15 ties played so far in the 4th round and only one replay needed....quite unusual

delbert
19-01-2020, 01:40 PM
Whittaker playing? Bemused by that!!

Totally bemused that Whittaker gets in this team ahead of McGregor, every chance this game could be a battle, big Daz every time for me today !

Dmas
19-01-2020, 01:40 PM
I’m not. We obviously expect Porteous to make it, he needs as much exposure to first team games as possible in order to improve. Time for him to step up.

Paul Hanlons performances are much better with mcgregor IMO I like Porto but it’s a team game if it’s working with a pairing I’d like to keep it together as much as we can

19-01-2020, 01:41 PM
Totally bemused that Whittaker gets in this team ahead of McGregor, every chance this game could be a battle, big Daz every time for me today !

Ahead of McGregor? Eh?

ChicoM1875
19-01-2020, 01:42 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcone on at 14.40

Thanks mate

19-01-2020, 01:45 PM
Lol well sack the other one

😄
This is all they’ve sold in the shed

19-01-2020, 01:47 PM
Anyone got the channel?

Virgin media ch 862. On the iPlayer and bbc Scottish football web site

19-01-2020, 01:47 PM
��
This is all they’ve sold in the shed

they finally sold out that one section this morning, they could have made a lot more money if they had opened it up to away fans as well...looks strange just one section open, i've yet to hear/read what the reasoning behind it is

19-01-2020, 01:48 PM
One person serving at the Kiosk, still a championship club

19-01-2020, 01:54 PM
One person serving at the Kiosk, still a championship club

No hot food or drink available.

19-01-2020, 01:56 PM
John Clark hasn't put a pound on since retiring.

19-01-2020, 02:09 PM
Get in.

Utds support is P poor.

MikeyS
19-01-2020, 02:10 PM
I've been critical of him in the past but that is a very good finish from Big Doidge 👏🏻

Lovely team goal too.

19-01-2020, 02:10 PM
Great finish from Doidge

Dmas
19-01-2020, 02:12 PM
Cracking finish from doidge hopefully the big man gets a bit confidence with that

19-01-2020, 02:17 PM
Should have been two.

19-01-2020, 02:25 PM
Foul not a booking. That clown Clancy couldn’t wait

19-01-2020, 02:26 PM
Clowncy again. Thats not a booking.

19-01-2020, 02:33 PM
How many fouls is that cynical runt Pawlett going to get away with !?

19-01-2020, 02:49 PM
Awful time to lose a goal.

sean04
19-01-2020, 02:50 PM
Stevenson is absolutely rotten!

delbert
19-01-2020, 02:52 PM
Awful time to lose a goal.

Can we please get a left back who knows how to bloody defend ? All Stevenson had to do was step out two paces and Shankland is offside, it’s what organised defences and decent defenders do but instead he goes back, plays him onside and then gets caught out, horrific, amateur and incompetent defending but a player who hasn’t had any form all season.

Weegreenman
19-01-2020, 02:55 PM
Stevenson is absolutely rotten!

Been in need of being replaced for a long while now. Tidy wee passer of the ball going forward but defensively he’s very weak.

Weegreenman
19-01-2020, 02:56 PM
Hanlon caught in no mans land.

19-01-2020, 02:58 PM
Both centre half’s no where to be seen at that goal. Porteous shouldn’t have went to the ball and stood his ground

19-01-2020, 03:06 PM
We were in a commanding position, had the better chances, scored a great early goal. They haven't been playing too well, pretty impotent up front, but now their goal has come at a bad time for us - think Naismith's injury didn't help as he was unable to intervene, Stevenson could have done better - if Porteous hadn't simply punted the ball back to them beforehand and we had had held retention, we might have fared better, too many wrong decisions being made when it counts ... Gray on for Naismith

Humo
19-01-2020, 03:37 PM
Whittaker gtf

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Weegreenman
19-01-2020, 03:42 PM
Late goal winner for Utd written all over this.

19-01-2020, 04:07 PM
Whittaker gtf

He had a decent game overall imo.

If it wasn’t for a very classy 2nd goal from Utd we’d have won the tie.

19-01-2020, 04:26 PM
Whittaker gtf

Why? He had a decent game imo

19-01-2020, 06:01 PM

Thought he played really well, broke up the United play, but sold himself for the 2nd, but the defence should have closed the United lad down earlier

19-01-2020, 06:04 PM
Whittaker gtf

Eh? He was our best player imo...

19-01-2020, 06:06 PM
Thought he played really well, broke up the United play, but sold himself for the 2nd, but the defence should have closed the United lad down earlier

Certainly got turned there...really liked that United player. Was their best player in the second half by some way ..as you say, lots of chance to defend even after he turned Whittaker..

19-01-2020, 07:52 PM

Bizarre how none of the defenders closed the boy down nice finish though it was.

19-01-2020, 08:27 PM
Is it just me or did anyone else think their number 18 should have had 2 bookings before he actually got his first booking?

19-01-2020, 09:40 PM
Not read this thread...has there been any discussion of Kamberi’s “showboating “ move yet ...he must have done it about five times..has he just learned it and wanted to try it out??

Ps. Thought he was decent but was a bit “wtf” about his “trick” ....

19-01-2020, 10:35 PM
Bizarre how none of the defenders closed the boy down nice finish though it was.

Seems to happen a lot our defence are never tight enough

Teams get so much space either out wide or just out side our box. Asking them to have a go.

20-01-2020, 04:52 AM

Thought so too, won the ball many times, got stuck in and made some tackles which no midfielder has this season.

20-01-2020, 05:32 AM
Let's be honest. That was the banana skin tie of the round. The majority of neutrals took United to win. We bossed them for the vast majority. Tough game and deserved the win. Need a big performance in the replay as it's far from done

20-01-2020, 06:04 AM
Let's be honest. That was the banana skin tie of the round. The majority of neutrals took United to win. We bossed them for the vast majority. Tough game and deserved the win. Need a big performance in the replay as it's far from done

Good summary. And fair point - tie is far from over...they looked good on the break - will get chances at our place

20-01-2020, 06:18 AM
Good summary. And fair point - tie is far from over...they looked good on the break - will get chances at our place

Still an open tie given the goals they have in their team.

20-01-2020, 06:39 AM
We should have finished them off but I thought we were pretty decent and were on top for the majority of the game. We let them back into the game too cheaply but we should look to finihsh them off at home.

20-01-2020, 06:49 AM

Yeah I'm actually more concerned about the replay than yesterday. Midweek games notoriously throw up surprises and we're now expected to finish the job

20-01-2020, 07:02 AM
Is it just me or did anyone else think their number 18 should have had 2 bookings before he actually got his first booking?

I agree, all around me said he should have been booked in the 1st half

20-01-2020, 07:06 AM
Yeah I'm actually more concerned about the replay than yesterday. Midweek games notoriously throw up surprises and we're now expected to finish the job

Particularly as it looks like we will be light defensively through injuries ..also, no pressure on them now - not expected to go through

20-01-2020, 07:19 AM
Particularly as it looks like we will be light defensively through injuries ..also, no pressure on them now - not expected to go through

Were they expected to go through yesterday? I'm sure we would still have been favourites with most people but most acknowledging it would be tricky, in all honesty though the game wasnt tricky, we controlled most of the game, we only have ourselves to blame for not being in the next round already

20-01-2020, 07:19 AM

Yup. Free hit for them really. Need to be bang up for it as they will be

20-01-2020, 07:21 AM
Were they expected to go through yesterday? I'm sure we would still have been favourites with most people but most acknowledging it would be tricky, in all honesty though the game wasnt tricky, we controlled most of the game, we only have ourselves to blame for not being in the next round already

Think most people yesterday would have seen it as a 50/50 tie...

Definitely less pressure on United for the replay though ...