View Full Version : Motherwell Friendly

11-01-2020, 12:09 PM
Just mentioned on Off The Ball that we’re playing Well at ER on Tuesday. Closed doors unfortunately.

Foritza
11-01-2020, 07:29 PM
No wonder would you go to watch a game against them if you did not have a ST,,,,,,

11-01-2020, 07:46 PM
Just mentioned on Off The Ball that we’re playing Well at ER on Tuesday. Closed doors unfortunately.

Development game?

11-01-2020, 08:00 PM
Development game?

Apparently not.
You would think they would open the gates so we can get a swaatch

11-01-2020, 08:04 PM
Apparently not.

They are maybes, just maybes, both running the rule over some potential signings that the great unwashed need not feel entitled to see or are trying tactics they would rather keep to themselves?

11-01-2020, 08:05 PM
Apparently not.

Seems awfy close to the cup game unless its to give game time to the likes of Gray. I'd doubt we would have any trialists?

11-01-2020, 08:15 PM
Seems awfy close to the cup game unless its to give game time to the likes of Gray. I'd doubt we would have any trialists?

Do we have a hibs.net drone?

11-01-2020, 08:16 PM
Apparently not.

It will just be a game for fitness, I’d love to go, but understand why it’s closed doors, would need security etc

11-01-2020, 08:17 PM

Think it’s a good idea just to dust off any cobwebs from being away.

dchibs
11-01-2020, 08:31 PM
Do we have a hibs.net drone?

Hermit Crab.

11-01-2020, 08:55 PM
Hermit Crab.

I only just thought of that joke and expected a wag to have answered "you" :wink:

12-01-2020, 02:17 AM
According to Motherwell CEO on off the ball full first teams work outs to get sharp for cup ties at weekend.

Robbo6-2
12-01-2020, 06:59 AM
Genuinely no idea why there is a break for so long that we feel need to arrange a friendly with team in our league

12-01-2020, 07:14 AM
According to Motherwell CEO on off the ball full first teams work outs to get sharp for cup ties at weekend.

Yep, and made sense.

Genuinely no idea why there is a break for so long that we feel need to arrange a friendly with team in our league

Wasnt the break originally introduced to allow Celtic to make even more money by doing a far east tour?

Then the league pretended that it was to give the teams and pitches a break?

A break that they only needed because we played about a hundred matches in December to accommodate the Celtic break?

Those in charge are fuds..........

12-01-2020, 07:42 AM
Given the amount of rain possibly a fair chance this could be moved to protect pitch.

12-01-2020, 08:11 AM
Yep, and made sense.

Wasnt the break originally introduced to allow Celtic to make even more money by doing a far east tour?

Then the league pretended that it was to give the teams and pitches a break?

A break that they only needed because we played about a hundred matches in December to accommodate the Celtic break?

Those in charge are fuds..........

It was nothing to do with Celtic.

It's the clubs that want the break. Fuds.

12-01-2020, 09:39 AM
A few years ago teams were allowed to postpone an early season game to accommodate a friendly. In practice, it was usually Celtc that did so and whoever they were scheduled to play had to put up with it. Common sense seems to have prevailed as this no longer happens.

12-01-2020, 02:17 PM
A few years ago teams were allowed to postpone an early season game to accommodate a friendly. In practice, it was usually Celtc that did so and whoever they were scheduled to play had to put up with it. Common sense seems to have prevailed as this no longer happens.

Was it not also the case that Celtic didn't postpone their home game thus costing the other team a Saturday income without comoensating for the loss of revenue from a midweek fixture?

12-01-2020, 03:04 PM
Was it not also the case that Celtic didn't postpone their home game thus costing the other team a Saturday income without comoensating for the loss of revenue from a midweek fixture?

It had to be a home game that was postponed. Worst rule I’ve ever seen but symptomatic of the thinking behind our game, looking out for the top 2 in the league.

12-01-2020, 06:47 PM

I think that the first time it happened Celtc had already arranged their friendly before the league schedule was announced, so it might have been the case.

It had to be a home game that was postponed. Worst rule I’ve ever seen but symptomatic of the thinking behind our game, looking out for the top 2 in the league.

Scottish football has to look after the interests of the Ugly Sisters. If they disappeared, we'd end up with a competitive league which any one of half a dozen clubs could win in any given season and who would want that?

hibstag
13-01-2020, 12:30 PM
I think that the first time it happened Celtc had already arranged their friendly before the league schedule was announced, so it might have been the case.

Scottish football has to look after the interests of the Ugly Sisters. If they disappeared, we'd end up with a competitive league which any one of half a dozen clubs could win in any given season and who would want that?

Did we not do it for a Sunderland friendly where it all kicked off up the town.

I thought it was put in place as Scottish clubs were missing due to the early start of the then SPL the opportunity of getting gubbed by mid level English premiership sides who had pre seasoned in the far east doing lucrative kickabouts , who wanted a tougher close to home workout (and a win) before their season kicked off. The OF tended to be away as invited guests of Brentford or Port vale IIRC

14-01-2020, 11:39 AM
Any team news, that’s if it’s getting played today

14-01-2020, 11:48 AM

Any idea what time the game is being played at, if it's going ahead?

14-01-2020, 11:53 AM
Colin Nish has just been flagged offside again.

14-01-2020, 12:39 PM
Any idea what time the game is being played at, if it's going ahead?

No idea sorry

Slim Shady
14-01-2020, 12:44 PM

It’s definitely being played today

Hillsidehibby
14-01-2020, 12:47 PM
I saw a Parks of Hamilton coach with a lot of guys on it turn into Albion Road earlier.

14-01-2020, 01:11 PM
Colin Nish has just been flagged offside again.
Can you be offside these days when you are lying on your erse?

14-01-2020, 01:53 PM
Hibs won 1-0

14-01-2020, 01:54 PM
Hibs won 1-0

Where did you find this out?
Any ideas what kind of team hibs put out? Any surprises?

14-01-2020, 01:54 PM
Hibs won 1-0

:flag::flag::flag::flag:

14-01-2020, 01:59 PM
Where did you find this out?
Any ideas what kind of team hibs put out? Any surprises?

McGregor was the scorer BTW.

14-01-2020, 04:23 PM
McGregor was the scorer BTW.

First 11 for Sunday. Believe to be hush hush.

14-01-2020, 04:25 PM

As it should be 👍

14-01-2020, 04:27 PM
Colin Nish has just been flagged offside again.Nah, he was just running back into an onside position from a match in 2009.

14-01-2020, 04:28 PM

Well now Neilson knows McGregor is playing. :grr:

14-01-2020, 04:29 PM

He also thinks Nish is playing so shhhhh

14-01-2020, 04:29 PM

Think some of the Motherwell players would know that team too😀
Would be surprised if it was our starting 11 for Sunday

14-01-2020, 04:37 PM
Glad to hear we won. Hopefully it was a full strength team

14-01-2020, 05:40 PM

...aye but up front in a new strike partnership with Doige...

14-01-2020, 05:56 PM
Did we not send the HIBS.net drone up disguised as a seagull to at least get the HIBS starting eleven ?

14-01-2020, 07:39 PM
Let’s be honest, there is unlikely to be any radical changes to the team. They were talking about the game in Off The Ball on Saturday and how both clubs were wanting to field “first” teams rather than just giving some of the squad a run out, but not a surprise really if both have agreed to keep private the sides.

14-01-2020, 08:35 PM
ITK for once.
They changed all 11 players at half time.
Maxwell didn't get a game
Neither did injured pair Vela and Mallen
Only real news other than Maxwell was Joe Newell didn't play so maybe injured again.

A wee Brucie bonus: Scott Brown was at East Mains today in the company of Steven Whittaker

14-01-2020, 09:01 PM
ITK for once.
They changed all 11 players at half time.
Maxwell didn't get a game
Neither did injured pair Vela and Mallen
Only real news other than Maxwell was Joe Newell didn't play so maybe injured again.

A wee Brucie bonus: Scott Brown was at East Mains today in the company of Steven Whittaker

I wonder what capacity SB was there

14-01-2020, 09:09 PM

Don't think he is our new defensive mid.
Suspect his kid was playing.
Obviously Steven and him are friends from way back.

14-01-2020, 11:06 PM

He drove sparkey through

14-01-2020, 11:22 PM
He drove sparkey through
:hyper

EI255
15-01-2020, 10:16 AM
GIRUY

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

16-01-2020, 12:04 PM
Did Stirling and Campbell get a run out?

16-01-2020, 12:41 PM
Did Stirling and Campbell get a run out?

22 players got a half each.
We have an official 1st team squad of 24 plus Gullan and Campbell
Maxwell, Vela, Mallen and Newell were missing so pretty sure everyone else in the squad played plus Gullan and Campbell.
P.S. Stirling might also have missed out because he was injured against Willem II

17-01-2020, 06:26 PM
I wonder what capacity SB was thereThey are best mates

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk