View Full Version : Yams Budge has surely lost the plot

10-01-2020, 05:24 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/ann-budge-reveals-craig-levein-role-hearts-plan-revamp-medical-department-bid-reduce-injuries-1361184

Sorry if this is already buried somewhere in the generic Hearts thread but I reckon something as crackpot as this merits a platform of its own.

So, if I'm reading this right, yet another member of staff is required to help bring the doctors, physios and sports scientists together? Why would the doctors, physios and sports scientists not already be communicating?? And why put the guy presumably responsible for establishing all these departments (including the choice of training surface) during his six years as director of football in charge of a root and branch review of something that's clearly not working?? A guy who, lest we forget, was supposedly 'sacked' a couple of months back.

Budge's stewardship is starting to make the Vlad era look positively streamlined!

Cataplana
10-01-2020, 05:30 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/ann-budge-reveals-craig-levein-role-hearts-plan-revamp-medical-department-bid-reduce-injuries-1361184

Sorry if this is already buried somewhere in the generic Hearts thread but I reckon something as crackpot as this merits a platform of its own.

So, if I'm reading this right, yet another member of staff is required to help bring the doctors, physios and sports scientists together? Why would the doctors, physios and sports scientists not already be communicating?? And why put the guy presumably responsible for establishing all these departments (including the choice of training surface) during his six years as director of football in charge of a root and branch review of something that's clearly not working?? A guy who, lest we forget, was supposedly 'sacked' a couple of months back.

Budge's stewardship is starting to make the Vlad era look positively streamlined!

A lifetime working in financial services where the answer to everything is to add another layer of management.

The problem is those companies are utterly loaded, and will make money whatever they do. She is managing the equivalent of a branch of Morrisons with the attendant pressure on margins.

10-01-2020, 05:34 PM

Budge's stewardship is starting to make the Vlad era look positively streamlined! Craigy boy encourages a full-blooded, bludgeony, take- the man-if-you-canny-get-the-baw style of tackling from his players, hence the injuries. The man is a liability in any job. Shame he's been sussed and weird he's still there.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

10-01-2020, 05:35 PM
Posturing as a pioneering visionary and spouting off to the press when in reality she’s only saying what every other club quietly does as normal practice. She’s f*****g chucked it.

10-01-2020, 05:36 PM

A position that oversees doctors , physios and sports scientists will be on a hefty wage. If I was a Hearts fan I'd much rather it was spent on a players wage to try and fight their impending relegation.

10-01-2020, 05:45 PM
Craigy boy encourages a full-blooded, bludgeony, take- the man-if-you-canny-get-the-baw style of tackling from his players, hence the injuries. The man is a liability in any job. Shame he's been sussed and weird he's still there.

Secret son.
Or lover? :sick:

10-01-2020, 05:46 PM
A position that oversees doctors , physios and sports scientists will be on a hefty wage. If I was a Hearts fan I'd much rather it was spent on a players wage to try and fight their impending relegation.What if the lucky candidate wears his pyjamas to work?

10-01-2020, 06:25 PM

Must be an old story being rehashed, it was reported earlier in the week she was away on holiday in Norway?

CloudSquall
10-01-2020, 06:29 PM
Say what you like about Levein but you have to hand it to him, he's almost single handedly guaranteed relegation but continues to be getting new roles and responsibilities at Hearts.

10-01-2020, 07:22 PM
Say what you like about Levein but you have to hand it to him, he's almost single handedly guaranteed relegation but continues to be getting new roles and responsibilities at Hearts.

He really is the Jobbie that just won't flush.

10-01-2020, 07:24 PM
He really is the Jobbie that just won't flush.

Natural Oder 😊

10-01-2020, 07:30 PM
Budge has surely lost the plot .......... did she really ever have a plot? Levein certainly has some strange hold over her.

AltheHibby
10-01-2020, 07:40 PM
Natural Oder 😊

Nice one!

10-01-2020, 07:42 PM
So then man who has been involved in designing the training is the one to figure out what went wrong wit hte teaining? Wonder if he'll sack himself?

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

10-01-2020, 07:44 PM
So then man who has been involved in designing the training is the one to figure out what went wrong wit hte teaining? Wonder if he'll sack himself?

10-01-2020, 07:48 PM
:greengrin:faf: bloody tablet....

Hibs4185
10-01-2020, 07:53 PM
My yam cousin has a conspiracy theory that she’s secretly a hibby. Seemingly she was, the same as her brother, but her husband is a massive Jambo and she followed his allegiances.

Maybe the conspiracy theory is correct! The shenanigans at hearts is almost as unbelievable as the conspiracy theory!

10-01-2020, 08:18 PM
I would suggest the then manager rushing players back from injury and ignoring the guidelines around concussions might have something to do with it.

10-01-2020, 08:32 PM
I would suggest the then manager rushing players back from injury and ignoring the guidelines around concussions might have something to do with it.

How would you know? No-one could possibly know without carrying out a root and branch review of all procedures by an expert. Peg seller.

Sweet Left Peg
10-01-2020, 08:42 PM
She was absolutely bang on the money about one thing. She has no idea about running a football club. How much money is being wasted over there? If it's not the astonishing failure of the new stand, it's the reports into why things are going wrong, or the total disharmony between players and fans and board, or the state of their expensive pitch, or looking to employ someone to do a job that existing employees could do. It's bonkers. Absolutely bonkers. The straw clutching there is unbelievable. Long may it continue, I say. How on earth can someone over there not take the bull by the horns and sort the mess out? That person should be Budge but she's no idea what she's doing. Just chuck more money at the problem and pay someone to tell her what to do. The entire mess comes from the top down. If they don't hit the ground running after the break they will be in deep deep trouble. As I've said before, let's see what things are like on 1st Feb.

h1bs4life
10-01-2020, 08:43 PM
My yam cousin has a conspiracy theory that she’s secretly a hibby. Seemingly she was, the same as her brother, but her husband is a massive Jambo and she followed his allegiances.

Maybe the conspiracy theory is correct! The shenanigans at hearts is almost as unbelievable as the conspiracy theory!

Budge has plenty Hibs connections , her Dad was a Hibby also her 1st husband James Budge was and I think still is a season ticket holder at Easter Road.
Know a few of the family on his side and story is she could well have had leanings towards Hibs then as well. The marriage didnt last long and they divorced a long time ago but she has held on to the Budge surname and has used it ever since

norhfc
10-01-2020, 08:47 PM
Must be an old story being rehashed, it was reported earlier in the week she was away on holiday in Norway?
Would love to bump into her over here.

10-01-2020, 08:57 PM
Budge has plenty Hibs connections , her Dad was a Hibby also her 1st husband James Budge was and I think still is a season ticket holder at Easter Road.
Know a few of the family on his side and story is she could well have had leanings towards Hibs then as well. The marriage didnt last long and they divorced a long time ago but she has held on to the Budge surname and has used it ever since

Are you sure about that? I met Jim Budge recently and he was off to a Hearts match - assumed he was a jambo.

10-01-2020, 09:15 PM
Was she a Hearts fan?
Yes. She and her family (she has a daughter, grandchildren and a partner Eric) had season tickets in the Wheatfield Stand. However, her Dad was actually a Hibs fan and she grew up in West Pilton. She became a Jambo through her daughter, who was brought up a Hearts fan by her ex-husband. When the marriage ended Budge continued to go to the games. The Hibs influence remains in the family, Ann Budge’s brother is a Hibee and some of her nieces and nephews used to love seeing the Jambos lose, until they became ‘Aunt Anne’s team.’

From https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/who-ann-budge-queen-hearts-15641848

10-01-2020, 09:30 PM

Budge lives down the road from me, she’s nearly pranged me twice. She drives like there’s nobody else on the road. :greengrin

10-01-2020, 09:32 PM
Oh my god how is he still there

10-01-2020, 10:24 PM
Budge lives down the road from me, she’s nearly pranged me twice. She drives like there’s nobody else on the road. :greengrin

Even arrogant behind the wheel (her not you).

10-01-2020, 10:38 PM

I found this article incredible. How Budge thought for a single minute this would make her look anything other than a total incompetent narrow minded old fool is astonishing.

Budge is clearly on a steep learning curve and her way of dealing with it is to over share, over share and over share! She used to write 14 page updates on the mega stand telling the yams how difficult it was doing a construction project e.g the relocation of the toilets or the revelation that chips would be sold now.

Levein has overseen the fitness and injury nightmare. Budge has put him in charge or reviewing it. Budge admits this review hasn’t concluded anything that proves where the problem is. Yet she has concluded (no doubt from Craig’s subtle influence) that it’s difficult to know which medical specialist is right and therefore a need for yet ANOTHER senior appointment to oversee the medical department.

Her club if 5 points from 11th, desperate for new players, desperate for different coaches, yet Budge is focusing her efforts on working with Dr Death on an inconclusive study that clearly gives a pathway for Levein to remain at the club longer. It’s her comfort blanket, being surrounded by her trusted right hand person while the new head coach is slashing and burning the squad and trying to find a way to get some new players in.

I also read Budge has just gone on holiday and working from home player recruitment coach McPhee is on holiday in Barbados. Feels like a good time for a break doesn’t it 😂😂😂

son of haggart
10-01-2020, 11:01 PM

You may know my friend and his son - the Bergen hearts supporters club!

10-01-2020, 11:06 PM
What's your thoughts on what's happening at Tynecastle SoH ?

10-01-2020, 11:33 PM
No doubt it will be 'repeatedly said to be the best medical department there is' - even better than M*A*S*H !

11-01-2020, 12:12 AM
Levein is some man. Fitba's very own Renaissance Man it seems. He'll be HMFC's official windae cleaner, cleaning the windows on that iconic glass curtain, before he walks away. Is there nothing this guy can't do? (Except win a medal)

rossevenil
11-01-2020, 01:35 AM
Levein is some man. Fitba's very own Renaissance Man it seems. He'll be HMFC's official windae cleaner, cleaning the windows on that iconic glass curtain, before he walks away. Is there nothing this guy can't do? (Except win a medal)

The window cleaner isn`t required at Tinycastle due to the fact its clearly packed with windae lickers every home game!

Hakim Sar
11-01-2020, 02:29 AM
3rd best chips in Scotland.

Pleasing.

11-01-2020, 05:41 AM
He’s been given another job?

11-01-2020, 06:14 AM
The health of the hearts players has never really been the same since they got rid of Rima with her magic sticks and Pyjama man with his weird Lithuanian remedies!!

Absolute comedy gold what’s coming out of Tynecastle at the moment, it’s getting close to the Romanov days all over again.

Here’s a weird concept, maybe they have just had an unlucky run of injuries, every club goes through these periods. The pitch has been shocking for years too so that doesn’t help along with the physical nature of Leveins teams over the years.

leithsansiro
11-01-2020, 06:19 AM
Here’s a weird concept, maybe they have just had an unlucky run of injuries, every club goes through these periods. The pitch has been shocking for years too so that doesn’t help along with the physical nature of Leveins teams over the years.

See, that’s the problem. That logic right there has no place in discussions about the great Heart of Midlothian. The do things the right way.

Peg selling, spoon burning Hobo

😉

11-01-2020, 06:24 AM
I said it on the main Hearts thread, but it really is an incredible article, effectively saying that at the current moment she doesn't know whom to trust out of the physio and sports science teams when they give their (seperate? conflicting?) explanations re: this "injury crisis" so needs some Führer type figure to bash their heads together and get their story straight so that a clear answer can be given to Budge.

It's all a bit People's Front of Judea vs the Judean People's Front and I'd be concerned if LD was coming out with similar.

11-01-2020, 07:29 AM
From https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/who-ann-budge-queen-hearts-15641848

This bit sounds like a crock, so the nieces and nephews who used to love seeing Hearts get beat now support them due to Aunt Anne's team. :aok:

The Hibs influence remains in the family, Ann Budge’s brother is a Hibee and some of her nieces and nephews used to love seeing the Jambos lose, until they became ‘Aunt Anne’s team.’

11-01-2020, 07:32 AM

Yep...i can see her now...hat wi the horns on , bosom heaving as she belts out the sash...😃

11-01-2020, 07:50 AM
The health of the hearts players has never really been the same since they got rid of Rima with her magic sticks and Pyjama man with his weird Lithuanian remedies!!

Absolute comedy gold what’s coming out of Tynecastle at the moment, it’s getting close to the Romanov days all over again.

Yes that is it. The pitch, Hearts style of play and rushing players back too soon from injury.

11-01-2020, 07:58 AM
The Budge ego trip is on its last legs. Wining and dining at Hearts cost, the international film festival lovies is a million miles away from the total dog***** she has to clean up now.

Yet she defaults to work oh so closely with her special friend, Craig Levein. And even then screws that up every step of the way.

Remember when she said she gave advice to Leanne about running a football club 😂😂😂😂😂

11-01-2020, 08:03 AM
I said it on the main Hearts thread, but it really is an incredible article, effectively saying that at the current moment she doesn't know whom to trust out of the physio and sports science teams when they give their (seperate? conflicting?) explanations re: this "injury crisis" so needs some Führer type figure to bash their heads together and get their story straight so that a clear answer can be given to Budge.

It's all a bit People's Front of Judea vs the Judean People's Front and I'd be concerned if LD was coming out with similar.

In the politest way possible, this sentence is damning:

Budge is looking for that person she can trust to make sense of what each department is telling her

Poor lady is lost and confused.

Cataplana
11-01-2020, 08:06 AM
You get a lot less injuries in a winning team. Players don't want to lose their place.

11-01-2020, 08:13 AM

It’s maybe just me, and judging by the replies it seems it is, but I don’t really see what it is we’re laughing about. They’ve created a position to oversee the medical department at the club. Maybe not necessary but doesn’t sound particularly unreasonable.

11-01-2020, 08:31 AM
It’s maybe just me, and judging by the replies it seems it is, but I don’t really see what it is we’re laughing about. They’ve created a position to oversee the medical department at the club. Maybe not necessary but doesn’t sound particularly unreasonable.

The players aren’t Injured because of the physio. They are injured before they get there. Find the problem for the increase in injuries and fix that. A wee clue for Ann is he looks like an Aussie kiddie fiddler.

11-01-2020, 08:32 AM
Oriam management will be happy she’s questioning the pitches they rent out.

As said above the chances are it’s because they sign injury prone players, playing a physical style of hoofball / chasing the ball (high press) on an awful Tiny Library surface and they wonder why they get injuries. Add in rushing players back as they are desperate to get points ( don’t care about players welfare - Berra concussion for example) and you get longer term problems.

Now where is my salary ??

11-01-2020, 08:34 AM
Is any of Mrs Doctors Budge's confusion caused by Hearts having the two different sets of medical advice (1) key players' fitness coming up to a match (some fit and will play, some not fit and won't play) and (2) key players' fitness coming up to a match against Hibs (all unfit, and will play)? :dunno:

11-01-2020, 08:54 AM
When is the Documentary coming out !!!! It’s honestly the one thing I’m looking forward to seeing this year.

11-01-2020, 09:12 AM
It must be happening at their world class training facilities

11-01-2020, 09:14 AM
Oh my god how is he still there

Some of the players still call him gaffer apparently which can't sit well with Stendel.

Alan62
11-01-2020, 09:16 AM

There’s nothing unreasonable about overseeing the medical department or coordinating the efforts of the various specialists involved. The laughter is all directed at who they have appointed to implement this vital piece of work - the very man they fired for his incompetence in two previous roles at the club and who, arguably, has played a key role in players being injured in the first place. Long may it continue!

11-01-2020, 09:23 AM
The players have the rest of their careers to worry about. They’ll not want to risk their own health putting in 50/50 tackles on a farmers field in dark castle all the time.
Cant see them signing any quality for a while.

11-01-2020, 09:29 AM
Some of the players still call him gaffer apparently which can't sit well with Stendel.

Aye...he'd prefer mein fuhrer probably

11-01-2020, 09:46 AM
When is the Documentary coming out !!!! It’s honestly the one thing I’m looking forward to seeing this year.

After the end of the season apparently. No precise date as yet according to the original press release.

11-01-2020, 10:17 AM

It will be in the summer. They will be assuming that there may be some tears and snotters around April/May.

11-01-2020, 10:22 AM
When your injured key players feel the need to fund their own medical and physio support to avoid using the in house team and have done for a significant period then you have to question not only the capability and competence of the in house team but also the tardiness of the honorary Doctor Mrs Queen Ann Budge in address the issue.

11-01-2020, 10:34 AM
She definitely is something else, not all her dogs are barking me thinks

11-01-2020, 10:40 AM

It's the fact that the guy tasked with carrying out the review and finding the most suitable candidate is the same guy who was 'sacked' last year and is supposedly just working his notice until the end of the season. The same guy who has essentially been the driving force behind the way the club is run since Budge took over six years ago. If they haven't been able to help establish a co-ordinated medical team in all those years how on earth is Levein deemed to be the most suitable person to address this issue? Budge is essentially saying here that they don't have a clue what's been going wrong yet the guy who has left the club in this sorry state is the one still calling the shots when it comes to plotting key aspects of its future.

It seems increasingly feasible that Levein drew up the terms of his own sacking ie decided to step back from the front line to take the heat off Budge/the club but stipulated that he would still be pulling the strings in the background. I wouldn't be surprised if come the end of the season Budge comes out with some guff about how they've realised Craig is too valuable an asset to let go and will be staying on in a revised capacity etc.

Budge seems either too weak/scared of Levein to ditch him or else maybe there's actually mileage in what some are alleging about the nature of their relationship.

11-01-2020, 10:42 AM
Their treatment of Christophe Berra this week has been 100% classless.

A guy who came through the youth teams to captain them, play for Scotland, get a big move, then chose to return to them.

Sacked, humiliated, publicly.

And yet, on this medical topic, he was a guy who would risk his health in the past to play in derbies when medical advice said "you shouldnt" ie after concussions etc.

Even a skipper finds out its not worth it, you shouldnt risk your health over there, as you get no respect for it long term
Just more medical troubles.

11-01-2020, 10:42 AM
Aye...he'd prefer mein fuhrer probably

Why?

He's not Austrian.

11-01-2020, 10:47 AM
She clearly values his opinion given she has no prior experience of running a football Club
She must trust him ,but blind loyalty can be a mistake
Think he should of departed the Club completely
Wonder if new manager approves
He must wonder what he has gone himself into

11-01-2020, 11:08 AM
She clearly values his opinion given she has no prior experience of running a football Club

I've just looked up their board of directors. A small board in comparison to ours. It seems to have little experience of running a company of any sorts never mind the total lack of running a football club experience.

11-01-2020, 11:19 AM

She now has more than 5 years experience of running a football club but seems just as clueless as she was on day 1.

11-01-2020, 03:13 PM
She now has more than 5 years experience of running a football club but seems just as clueless as she was on day 1.

Slight correction... She has had 5 years experience of Cludgie Craig telling her how to run a football club

Hakim Sar
11-01-2020, 08:08 PM
What's Mr Chips doing?

12-01-2020, 11:50 AM
You’re doing a grand job Mrs Budge.
You keep spending that Foundation and Benefactor money on anything that doesn’t involve recruiting the right players and you’ll do for me.

Speaking with someone involved in the medical side of rugby yesterday who said their issue will not be the medical team, it will have been Harry Potter training the players incorrectly. According to him if you train at the wrong intensity then players are more likely to develop non impact injuries.

12-01-2020, 03:10 PM
Slight correction... She has had 5 years experience of Cludgie Craig telling her how to run a football club

She trusts potter..why wouldnt she? .he's the love child she conceived with pishy breeks....🤢

12-01-2020, 03:55 PM
The whole potter thing is just surreal as is the Gorgie mob. Think of the most bizarre situations that go on at clubs and they seem to happen regularly. From cathro with his psycho babble to the stand taking forever to finish to the sacked manager walking the new manager round riccarton to now the new managers inept handling of Berra,Whelan a daly. As Daly says it's embarrassing but that is something they just don't see but everybody else can. And now stendel is the messiah when he hasn't won a match for 16 games and his replacement at Barnsley has them quickly moving up the league.
Just a weird collective of folk. Documentary could be totally cringeworthy.

12-01-2020, 03:58 PM
The whole potter thing is just surreal as is the Gorgie mob. Think of the most bizarre situations that go on at clubs and they seem to happen regularly. From cathro with his psycho babble to the stand taking forever to finish to the sacked manager walking the new manager round riccarton to now the new managers inept handling of Berra,Whelan a daly. As Daly says it's embarrassing but that is something they just don't see but everybody else can. And now stendel is the messiah when he hasn't won a match for 16 games and his replacement at Barnsley has them quickly moving up the league.

....but amust see!

norhfc
12-01-2020, 04:33 PM
You may know my friend and his son - the Bergen hearts supporters club!

No never met any jambos here, there is a Bergen Celtic club I bump into when we play them. Usually in Brian Buro Irish pub.

12-01-2020, 04:45 PM

The documentary will be a barrel of laughs for us. If you were the production company would you want to show just the bits where everything was running smoothly and going well or would you prefer to focus on the things that go wrong? There's been plenty of those.

12-01-2020, 05:01 PM
This documentary will go down in Scottish football folklore

12-01-2020, 05:16 PM
The Foh must have paid off the loan by now?

Cataplana
12-01-2020, 05:39 PM
The documentary will be a barrel of laughs for us. If you were the production company would you want to show just the bits where everything was running smoothly and going well or would you prefer to focus on the things that go wrong? There's been plenty of those.

Have they actually got any good bits to show?

12-01-2020, 05:50 PM
Have they actually got any good bits to show?

The concert opening the festival went quite well.....until they saw the state of the pitch afterwards.

12-01-2020, 06:22 PM
The concert opening the festival went quite well.....until they saw the state of the pitch afterwards.

The concert to open the festival was the only time the "score" was right at the PBS all year😉

12-01-2020, 07:20 PM
Have they actually got any good bits to show?It's a TV documentary, not a football programme. There'll be telly gold left on the cutting room floor so much is happening. If they stay up the story of their "journey" will be "inspirational", if they go down it'll be the bafta comedy nomination material.

12-01-2020, 07:43 PM

Last payment should be made this month apparently.

12-01-2020, 08:22 PM
It's a TV documentary, not a football programme. There'll be telly gold left on the cutting room floor so much is happening. If they stay up the story of their "journey" will be "inspirational", if they go down it'll be the bafta comedy nomination material.

Will be up there with Mike Bassett: England Manager :greengrin

12-01-2020, 08:36 PM
Their treatment of Christophe Berra this week has been 100% classless.

A guy who came through the youth teams to captain them, play for Scotland, get a big move, then chose to return to them.

Sacked, humiliated, publicly.

And yet, on this medical topic, he was a guy who would risk his health in the past to play in derbies when medical advice said "you shouldnt" ie after concussions etc

I've not really been bothered by the goings on at hearts, but when you put it like that, then I agree, it's a terrible way to treat such a loyal servant.

I guess if he does find another club, he'll be thanked for his services and wished well, but they'll be empty words.

It would be like us doing that to Lewis or Paul.

12-01-2020, 08:45 PM
You’re doing a grand job Mrs Budge.
You keep spending that Foundation and Benefactor money on anything that doesn’t involve recruiting the right players and you’ll do for me.

Speaking with someone involved in the medical side of rugby yesterday who said their issue will not be the medical team, it will have been Harry Potter training the players incorrectly. According to him if you train at the wrong intensity then players are more likely to develop non impact injuries.

absolutely this ! :flag::flag:

12-01-2020, 09:50 PM

Was due this May but have been diverting funds to help with other projects.

12-01-2020, 09:54 PM
absolutely this ! :flag::flag:

Physical work - stamina, speed and strength should be done pre-season. Only being topped up during season. Season should focus on tactics and dealing with opposition plus correcting weaknesses. If you persist with heavy physical work during season you will get injuries.
I used to be a professional performance tennis coach.

12-01-2020, 09:55 PM
Was due this May but have been diverting funds to help with other projects.Maybe they should chuck a million at laying a proper pitch? Worked well last time.

Or how about throwing even more cash at the megastand?

Got to be better than using the donations for what they were intended[emoji6]

cocteautwin
13-01-2020, 01:46 AM
Last payment should be made this month apparently.

Hi CG. Are you aware of any tax implications of the transfer of shares taking place at a value of c£2m when the net asset value of the company has risen significantly after more than £20m has been pumped in? I've always wondered if the there are any implications of transferring Budge's shares for less than the true value of the asset? i.e. the net asset value as reported in the last accounts was £17.5m and Budge owns around 75% so really, that's a prima facie value of £13m that FoH is picking up for £2m.

Probably too much to hope for that they've completely ignored the CGT implications of the transfer and that HMRC are going to sting someone for a tax bill for transfer of shares at under value.

13-01-2020, 06:12 AM
Hi CG. Are you aware of any tax implications of the transfer of shares taking place at a value of c£2m when the net asset value of the company has risen significantly after more than £20m has been pumped in? I've always wondered if the there are any implications of transferring Budge's shares for less than the true value of the asset? i.e. the net asset value as reported in the last accounts was £17.5m and Budge owns around 75% so really, that's a prima facie value of £13m that FoH is picking up for £2m.

Probably too much to hope for that they've completely ignored the CGT implications of the transfer and that HMRC are going to sting someone for a tax bill for transfer of shares at under value.

Shares can trade well below the asset value (value of assets minus liabilities) if investors do not see the business as a going concern. This is definitely the case with Hearts given that Budge will step away and is still owed money for loans (liabilities) and the mysterious donations will likely stop. In such cases investors often decide to sell these assets and wind the company down. Given there would likely be problems getting building permission for Tynecastle, the value of the assets will be considerably lower than their historical cost. Why Budge picked it up so cheaply in the first placem

13-01-2020, 06:14 AM
The new documentary will be premiered this summer in France.

It will be billed as down the pan in Cannes.

MagicSwirlingShip
13-01-2020, 06:23 AM

down the pan in Cannes; the story of Craig Levein le Caca têtu :lolyam:

cocteautwin
13-01-2020, 06:32 AM
Shares can trade well below the asset value (value of assets minus liabilities) if investors do not see the business as a going concern. This is definitely the case with Hearts given that Budge will step away and is still owed money for loans (liabilities) and the mysterious donations will likely stop. In such cases investors often decide to sell these assets and wind the company down. Given there would likely be problems getting building permission for Tynecastle, the value of the assets will be considerably lower than their historical cost. Why Budge picked it up so cheaply in the first placem

Yes, indeed, it's certainly not a going concern considering the club needs some c£4m of cash injections pa to survive. I reckon the bulk of the recent Budge loans will be waived, considering her family have managed to suck out £6m of stand construction work in the past few years. I think she must be pushing to get the share transfer done and dusted mid season so she can pull out a Hearts hero and she can bail before summer with the upcoming chaos and further cash injections that will be needed. Will be happy to get the hell out and wash her hands of the total disaster.

13-01-2020, 08:26 AM

Bugger - coffee spluttered all over my new screen !

linlithgowhibbie
13-01-2020, 12:13 PM
Yes, indeed, it's certainly not a going concern considering the club needs some c£4m of cash injections pa to survive. I reckon the bulk of the recent Budge loans will be waived, considering her family have managed to suck out £6m of stand construction work in the past few years. I think she must be pushing to get the share transfer done and dusted mid season so she can pull out a Hearts hero and she can bail before summer with the upcoming chaos and further cash injections that will be needed. Will be happy to get the hell out and wash her hands of the total disaster.

Its not a total disaster, they got the bestest draw ever in the world against the dandy dons:thumbsup:

13-01-2020, 02:05 PM
Physical work - stamina, speed and strength should be done pre-season. Only being topped up during season. Season should focus on tactics and dealing with opposition plus correcting weaknesses. If you persist with heavy physical work during season you will get injuries.
I used to be a professional performance tennis coach.

No offence (really) but there’s something vaguely reminiscent of Aldridge Prior about this post. Made me smile. :greengrin

Pinkie
13-01-2020, 02:38 PM

Ah! The long-awaited sequel to Stuck in the Men's at Dens...