View Full Version : FF Stand upgrade work?

08-01-2020, 07:15 PM
I drive round the back of the ground every day and on the way home tonight noticed a load of scaffolding has popped up around the FF stand today - can’t recall it being there this morning. Anybody know what work’s taking place?

JXM73
08-01-2020, 07:30 PM
I drive round the back of the ground every day and on the way home tonight noticed a load of scaffolding has popped up around the FF stand today - can’t recall it being there this morning. Anybody know what work’s taking place?

Gallows as were no signing anyone in first week of January

08-01-2020, 07:36 PM
We're building a 40 million pound hotel.

08-01-2020, 07:36 PM
The Hilton @ Hibs.

08-01-2020, 07:37 PM
We're building a 40 million pound hotel.

£200 a night for room facing away from pitch.
£5 a night for room facing it.

08-01-2020, 07:37 PM
RGs plan (known as “El Plano”) will be projected from a platform at ER
It will be written in Spanish with English translation - and pop-up at Hibs related buildings throughout the city including Balmoral Hotel, Edinburgh Castle, Ryrie’s Bar, Edinburgh Airports control tower and the Murrayfield clocktower.

hibbydog
08-01-2020, 07:50 PM
Helipad

08-01-2020, 07:51 PM
£200 a night for room facing away from pitch.
£5 a night for room facing it.

:tee hee::tee hee:

hibbydad
08-01-2020, 07:54 PM
Scaffolding was being put up yesterday

08-01-2020, 08:07 PM
A stage for our next big signing

08-01-2020, 08:15 PM
Hopefully welding òver the beer badge holes in the stanchions.

08-01-2020, 08:20 PM

I love them.

08-01-2020, 08:39 PM
Filling in the corners 😉😃

08-01-2020, 09:04 PM
I believe they are taking it down and replacing it with a replica of the old cowshed complete with terracing.

08-01-2020, 09:22 PM
It's maintence work on the phone aerials

Greenfly
08-01-2020, 10:19 PM
We're getting a glass curtain.

08-01-2020, 10:28 PM
Ah don't mind painting steps an that.

08-01-2020, 11:09 PM
At last.

An escalator! :flag:

08-01-2020, 11:34 PM
Maybe bits of asbestos are falling from the roof.. or we need the scaffolding to get the calor gas heater oot the stand...

**** wrang forum..

09-01-2020, 12:16 AM
Landing base for the US Airforce close to the docks of Leith.

All making sense now.

cocteautwin
09-01-2020, 12:38 AM
Castle view. £21m investment

09-01-2020, 01:10 AM

This will be ignored and frankly deserves it.

09-01-2020, 03:14 AM

Daftest suggestion so far.

09-01-2020, 04:05 AM
New standing area where boo boys are to be sent.

hibbymark
09-01-2020, 04:10 AM
The FF has in the past suffered some damage from high winds . I wouldn’t be surprised if this has happened again . This needs fixed for the massive Leigh is coming home have you secured your half season ticket yet banner !

09-01-2020, 06:24 AM

Aw nah they’re class!

09-01-2020, 06:44 AM
Celebrates its 25th anniversary this year, time flies!

18Craig75
09-01-2020, 06:51 AM
Rons helipad.

09-01-2020, 06:52 AM
This better not come out the first team budget.....

09-01-2020, 07:21 AM

Wifi?

Pretty please :greengrin

09-01-2020, 07:23 AM
Daftest suggestion so far.

I spoke to the scaffolders on Monday. It’s to provide access to the aerials. Go ask them yourself if you don’t want to believe me.

the Council planning website has a permitted development application for the work approved last month and a location photograph of the north stand aerials.

09-01-2020, 07:25 AM
I spoke to the scaffolders on Monday. It’s to provide access to the aerials. Go ask them yourself if you don’t want to believe me.

I've read some amount of pish on here with people pretending to be ITK and all that, but this takes the biscuit ... :rolleyes:

09-01-2020, 07:29 AM
Thought it might be to sort out the loudspeakers, but assume the scaffolding is on the outside of the stadium.

Johnny Clash
09-01-2020, 07:39 AM
Surely you’d access the roof from inside the stadium through a hatch? I’m sure we’ve got that at the back of the East with fixed ladders?

09-01-2020, 07:47 AM
Surely you’d access the roof from inside the stadium through a hatch? I’m sure we’ve got that at the back of the East with fixed ladders?

I think the H&S regulations changed between the building of the end & East stands.

09-01-2020, 07:50 AM
This will be ignored and frankly deserves it.

Hahah class

09-01-2020, 07:54 AM
Moving the police control room so paying punters can see the goals

09-01-2020, 08:05 AM
Seemingly we're moving the press box from the shelter of the back of East to the North Stand roof.

09-01-2020, 08:23 AM

FFS man, you're just like Hibs.

Nae ambition.

Cataplana
09-01-2020, 08:28 AM
A new owl?

09-01-2020, 08:33 AM

the Council planning website has a permitted development application for the work approved last month and a location photograph of the north stand aerials.

You are the Cat and I claim my £5.

(You're also entitled to a huge Whoosh!)

09-01-2020, 08:36 AM
A new owl?We want owls[emoji16][emoji106]

Suspect Greenginger will be right though.

09-01-2020, 08:42 AM
We want owls[emoji16][emoji106]

Suspect Greenginger will be right though.

Get with the programme, Boston.

We're trying to "hound him out"!

09-01-2020, 08:43 AM
Get with the programme, Boston.

We're trying to "hound him out"!We want hounds, and owls.

09-01-2020, 08:43 AM
We want hounds, and owls.

Better.

09-01-2020, 08:51 AM

:blah: Yada yada - I'll believe nothing until it comes straight out the mouth of the fish lorry driver

09-01-2020, 08:52 AM
:blah: Yada yada - I'll believe nothing until it comes straight out the mouth of the fish lorry driver

Lorry?

Congrats to him on his promotion. 👍

09-01-2020, 09:36 AM

They do. I have complained on a number of occasions that the hatch directly above my seat leaks in the Upper FF, second row from the top, that in heavy rain I get soaked.

09-01-2020, 04:30 PM
Its a new slide for the East, we dinnae need escalators

09-01-2020, 04:43 PM

Mate, I was just kidding. Yours was the first sensible suggestion.

NC1875
09-01-2020, 04:52 PM

Some amount of scaffold for access to the roof. Think the scaffolders have been pulling your leg

09-01-2020, 05:02 PM
What's the expected lifespan of these stands?

09-01-2020, 05:04 PM

Hopefully it’s upgrade work rather than maintenance

09-01-2020, 05:08 PM
They do. I have complained on a number of occasions that the hatch directly above my seat leaks in the Upper FF, second row from the top, that in heavy rain I get soaked.

Get the media there. It’s what big clubs do.

09-01-2020, 06:22 PM
They’re putting in breeze-block walls at the top of all the staircases. Dempster phoned Budge and she said that’s what big teams do.

09-01-2020, 06:25 PM
That amount of scaffold I seen this morning then I’d hope they’re doing something more intense than running cables. Like plugging the holes in the roof.

09-01-2020, 06:41 PM

Jeezo, what planet are you on?

We need escalators to take us up to the slides. :bitchy:

09-01-2020, 07:58 PM
Is it a sniper tower for the seagulls

09-01-2020, 08:19 PM
Is it a sniper tower for the seagulls

I actually have heard that this is what it is

09-01-2020, 09:18 PM
A number of people have told me that we have the best aerials in Edinburgh.

09-01-2020, 09:43 PM

I was commended on the quality of the scaffolding work this evening. I was told it was probably the best in Scotland.

I explained that I was just a simple peg-selling hobo and not a scaffolder, but said I would pass the message on.

I expect such praise will become a regular occurrence, but I’ll try not to let it get to my head, or brag about it too much.

09-01-2020, 09:51 PM
A number of people have told me that we have the best aerials in Edinburgh.Indeed, we are going to open an aerial view lounge especially to exploit this unique feature.

09-01-2020, 10:09 PM
Indeed, we are going to open an aerial view lounge especially to exploit this unique feature.

Will it serve those strange new fangled fried potato products that the big teams have?

09-01-2020, 10:54 PM
Neil Lennon statue!

The Wireless
09-01-2020, 10:58 PM
Landing base for the US Airforce close to the docks of Leith.

All making sense now.

Like that 👍 :top marks

09-01-2020, 11:26 PM

Only counts if it's 'repeatedly said' or 'most describe it as the best' ……………...

10-01-2020, 12:00 AM
We are I hear building a new Arthur's Seat Sky Lounge. It will be absolutely tremendous and have the best views of Edinburgh. Rumours are it will have basket suppers served with astipimanti.

10-01-2020, 07:40 AM
Will it serve those strange new fangled fried potato products that the big teams have?The problem is when Hearts discovered the potato they probably patented it because they are big on biznessy things so the rest of the world will never know the possibilities the potato offers.

Cataplana
10-01-2020, 10:24 AM
Our decision to concentrate on the quality of the aerials is showing signs that it is a winner. Our next big dilemma is how to use them, but I've got a pretty firm idea of what that is.

I'm Spartacus
10-01-2020, 10:33 AM
Castle view. £21m investment

Don't you mean £13M?? Budget management like a wet bar of soap it then gets to £21M

Steven79
10-01-2020, 10:36 AM
Our decision to concentrate on the quality of the aerials is showing signs that it is a winner. Our next big dilemma is how to use them, but I've got a pretty firm idea of what that is.

Queen Anne will announce bigger and better ones next week and blow us out of the water.

They will have the biggest and best aerials in the championship and we shall look on Tynecastle Park with envy while they get stuffed at home by Arbroath.

I'm Spartacus
10-01-2020, 11:13 AM
Queen Anne will announce bigger and better ones next week and blow us out of the water.

They will have the biggest and best aerials in the championship and we shall look on Tynecastle Park with envy while they get stuffed at home by Arbroath.

With a top quality Ariel we'll have the whitest whites around............................................

https://sc02.alicdn.com/kf/UTB86tFIotnJXKJkSaiyq6AhwXXaD/Ariel-Washing-Powder-Original.jpg

Cataplana
10-01-2020, 11:20 AM
With a top quality Ariel we'll have the whitest whites around............................................

https://sc02.alicdn.com/kf/UTB86tFIotnJXKJkSaiyq6AhwXXaD/Ariel-Washing-Powder-Original.jpg

Might cause problems if we ever play Ajax.

10-01-2020, 11:23 AM

Yay!! The Commie Flumes are back.
I just knew these had been “put into storage” until the right moment came along to resurrect them.

10-01-2020, 12:37 PM

...but will they be able to see their ariels from the castle? You can see ours from there, Arthur's Seat and Burntisland😉

10-01-2020, 12:40 PM

👏👏👏

10-01-2020, 12:50 PM

I was at a wedding once between two aerials, the ceremony was dodgy but it there was a good reception after it.

10-01-2020, 08:18 PM

No need, we've already got big Daz in the first team.

11-01-2020, 04:00 PM
No need, we've already got big Daz in the first team.

:hibees