View Full Version : Diminishing Interest In The FA Cup

05-01-2020, 10:29 AM
There's an interesting article in The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2020/jan/05/fa-cup-third-round-magic-birmingham-blackburn)* about the FA Cup game between Birmingham City and Blackburn where, despite tickets being priced at £12, the attendance was only 7,330

There's a whole lot of factors behind the apparent lack of interest in the FA Cup and we've seen it ourselves in Scotland, with some pretty crappy Scottish Cup attendances of our own.

The strange thing is, it used to be the case that attendances would rocket for Cup games, with people being genuinely excited. It's a shame the way it seems to be going.

* Apologies to Daily Mail, Sun and Telegraph readers.

05-01-2020, 10:39 AM
Keith, think so many fans now invest in season tickets, far more than in years gone by. Means they may have used their football budget up

05-01-2020, 10:41 AM
Keith, think so many fans now invest in season tickets, far more than in years gone by. Means they may have used their football budget up

I definitely agree that's a factor, Billy.

It's just a shame, as I still remember the excitement about upcoming Cup games and there would actually be increased attendances (even when I started going to football in the late 70s/early 80s, which was dire for crowds).

I think it's an issue that the authorities and clubs need to face.

05-01-2020, 10:44 AM
I definitely agree that's a factor, Billy.

It's just a shame, as I still remember the excitement about upcoming Cup games and there would actually be increased attendances (even when I started going to football in the late 70s/early 80s, which was dire for crowds).

I think it's an issue that the authorities and clubs need to face.

Other than pricing, what’s the solution Keith. Are too many games on TV now

05-01-2020, 10:49 AM
Other than pricing, what’s the solution Keith. Are too many games on TV now

Teams care about promotion/survival than the cup. They play second choice teams. I don’t blame the fans for not going, especially when you can watch every single game on the telly too.

05-01-2020, 10:50 AM
The Scottish Cup will always be a big deal up here.

05-01-2020, 10:51 AM
I've not read the article yet but will have a look at it later. For me in English football it's just simple economics. For, as an example, Aston Villa finishing 17th and remaining in the Premier League is far more valuable than winning the FA Cup. Their manager will pick a team that reflects the fact and fans will respond accordingly. Likewise for Leeds and West Brom trying to reach that land of milk and honey is worth more than a trinket in the cabinet.

Wigan a few years back is a great example. Won the FA Cup, still had league games to play, relegated and never been back in the top league since and could well be relegated again in the coming months. The fans will remember the FA Cup win forever but from a business perspective it would have made far more sense to stay in the league.

I don't like that at all. Football should be about winning trophies or being as competitive as you can be but English Football is a tale of have and have nots. Being 13th, 14th, 15th etc in the EPL makes you a have, winning the FA Cup doesn't.

05-01-2020, 10:56 AM
Other than pricing, what’s the solution Keith.

TBH, if I knew what the solution was, I'd be a successful businessman, not a Software Developer

Are too many games on TV now

Possibly there are, for instance the game in the article was actually moved to a time to suit the Asian market, when they already knew the crowd was going to be low.

It was also their FIFTH game in THIRTEEN days... Total madness.

05-01-2020, 11:25 AM
I find it very odd when Man U etc put out reserve teams in this cup. It’s pretty much the only chance of medals this season.

delbert
05-01-2020, 11:27 AM
There's an interesting article in The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2020/jan/05/fa-cup-third-round-magic-birmingham-blackburn)* about the FA Cup game between Birmingham City and Blackburn where, despite tickets being priced at £12, the attendance was only 7,330

There's a whole lot of factors behind the apparent lack of interest in the FA Cup and we've seen it ourselves in Scotland, with some pretty crappy Scottish Cup attendances of our own.

The strange thing is, it used to be the case that attendances would rocket for Cup games, with people being genuinely excited. It's a shame the way it seems to be going.

To be fair, it was Birmingham v Blackburn !!

pollution
05-01-2020, 11:33 AM
I find it very odd when Man U etc put out reserve teams in this cup. It’s pretty much the only chance of medals this season.

Talking of Man United they single handedly confirmed the demise of the FA Cup when they refused to play in it in order to play a challenge match in Brazil IIRC.

Remember that?

05-01-2020, 11:36 AM
I was at Fulham v Villa yesterday. Villa fans on the tube afterwards didn’t appear bothered their arsenal they were out. I blame Man U. They started the depreciation.

05-01-2020, 11:37 AM
Talking of Man United they single handedly confirmed the demise of the FA Cup when they refused to play in it in order to play a challenge match in Brazil IIRC.

Remember that?

No, they got forced into playing in the world club championship. A little bit of a difference.

05-01-2020, 11:39 AM

As long as they are in touching distance of 4th and Champions League football they won't bother their erse about the FA Cup.

wallpaperman
05-01-2020, 11:47 AM

Yet, similar to England our crowds for Scottish Cup games in the earlier rounds are lower than league games, unless we get Hearts.

05-01-2020, 11:49 AM

Remember that?

I remember that vividly.

I was not impressed.

05-01-2020, 11:52 AM
As long as they are in touching distance of 4th and Champions League football they won't bother their erse about the FA Cup.

That makes sense.

Also, the Premier League, Championship and some League One teams surely have such a high wage burden that survival in, and promotion into the 'money spinning leagues' above is a priority, including European qualification.

I wonder when or if the bubble will burst?

05-01-2020, 12:00 PM
The magic is only really there for the lower league and non league clubs in the early rounds. EPL clubs don't really give a toss until quarter final/semi final stage. Its a shame as it used to be a really exciting competition and I used to love watching the small teams give their all in a giant killing attempt.

05-01-2020, 12:04 PM
I've not read the article yet but will have a look at it later. For me in English football it's just simple economics. For, as an example, Aston Villa finishing 17th and remaining in the Premier League is far more valuable than winning the FA Cup. Their manager will pick a team that reflects the fact and fans will respond accordingly. Likewise for Leeds and West Brom trying to reach that land of milk and honey is worth more than a trinket in the cabinet.

Wigan a few years back is a great example. Won the FA Cup, still had league games to play, relegated and never been back in the top league since and could well be relegated again in the coming months. The fans will remember the FA Cup win forever but from a business perspective it would have made far more sense to stay in the league.

I don't like that at all. Football should be about winning trophies or being as competitive as you can be but English Football is a tale of have and have nots. Being 13th, 14th, 15th etc in the EPL makes you a have, winning the FA Cup doesn't.

The economic argument is the way to understand it.

But as the article makes clear, you have to be a certain age to understand what the FA cup final used to be about. It had a status and kudos not far off being the league champions. Resting key players automatically for cup games would be unthinkable. And as a fan or TV viewer in the 70s and 80s the Cup was a major deal. Ozzie Ardiles' Spurs beating Coventry City 3-2 sticks in my mind, even in Edinburgh literally all the kids in my class watched it and talked about it on Monday morning. And noone even supported the teams involved! It was just a huge event (and as a TV viewer you were used to a choice between Highway and Songs of Praise, Ski Sunday was the only highlight). And those endless replays! Sheff Wed Chelsea going to a 5th replay, and still you'd get a full house.

Jumpers for goalposts, marvellous, etc etc.

05-01-2020, 12:10 PM
Seems to me that all cup matches, across the whole country, have lost something. It felt different in days gone by because cup day was cup day. Everyone played on the same day and if you won your tie, you rushed to the nearest telly or wireless for the next draw that evening.

(Sinks back into armchair with a misty eye hankering for the good old days).

05-01-2020, 12:13 PM
It's totally understandable why teams prioritise league position, particularly those at the top end of the table and those facing relegation battles.

Brighton received £105m for finishing 17th in the EPL last season. Cardiff, who were 18th and got relegated, received £103m. So Brighton know that even if this season is poor, their efforts last term earned them a minimum of £208m.

Qualification for the CL group stages alone is worth about £13.5m and each point won in the group nets about £750k.

CL winners receive about £75m and that doesn't include the "market pool" which almost doubles all the prize monies earned.

The winners of the FA Cup received about £7m in total.

But it's Man United's fault ...

05-01-2020, 12:16 PM
The economic argument is the way to understand it.

But as the article makes clear, you have to be a certain age to understand what the FA cup final used to be about. It had a status and kudos not far off being the league champions. Resting key players automatically for cup games would be unthinkable. And as a fan or TV viewer in the 70s and 80s the Cup was a major deal. Ozzie Ardiles' Spurs beating Coventry City 3-2 sticks in my mind, even in Edinburgh literally all the kids in my class watched it and talked about it on Monday morning. And noone even supported the teams involved! It was just a huge event (and as a TV viewer you were used to a choice between Highway and Songs of Praise, Ski Sunday was the only highlight). And those endless replays! Sheff Wed Chelsea going to a 5th replay, and still you'd get a full house.

Jumpers for goalposts, marvellous, etc etc.

That mystique probably went with wall to wall TV coverage. I can just about remember the days before the total saturation we have now.

The FA and Scottish Cup finals being televised was probably one of the few occasions people got the chance to see a game in it's entirity on TV. That adds something. It's arguably the same reason the World Cup doesn't invoke the same feeling anymore. You aren't going to see an exotic South American or African set the world alight because he probably plays for Liverpool or PSG and you probably see him every other day on TV.

I suppose that ultimately comes back to an economic argument again. Fwiw I still love cup football, I think in Scotland you have to because it's the only chance you have of any success, relative or otherwise. If we didn't have that we'd be as well just giving up.

05-01-2020, 12:19 PM
No, they got forced into playing in the world club championship. A little bit of a difference.

They weren’t forced at all, they could have refused it and played in the FA cup. Yes the FA wanted them to play as they thought it would benefit their World Cup bid and so offered them the chance to pull out of the FA cup which they took.

I hate the fact that the money in the game today has devalued the FA cup and teams now play weakened sides. The FA cup was a massive occasion for me in the 70’s & 80’s. If I wasn’t at Wembley watching it we alaways had the neighbours round every year regardless of who was playing and it was a real occasion with a buffet in our house, loved those days.

darwenhibby
05-01-2020, 12:21 PM
Utd were kind of forced to withdraw from the fa Cup
The English fa we’re convinced this would allow them sto stage the 2006 World Cup and put pressure on Utd to compete in the first world club cup

05-01-2020, 12:24 PM
That mystique probably went with wall to wall TV coverage. I can just about remember the days before the total saturation we have now.

The FA and Scottish Cup finals being televised was probably one of the few occasions people got the chance to see a game in it's entirity on TV. That adds something. It's arguably the same reason the World Cup doesn't invoke the same feeling anymore. You aren't going to see an exotic South American or African set the world alight because he probably plays for Liverpool or PSG and you probably see him every other day on TV.

I suppose that ultimately comes back to an economic argument again. Fwiw I still love cup football, I think in Scotland you have to because it's the only chance you have of any success, relative or otherwise. If we didn't have that we'd be as well just giving up.

Yes, agree with all that. There's no turning back the clock and the choice provided on TV has changed beyond all recognition.

But I think the commercialisation and monopolisation at some point has to stop, or at least be managed, and governing bodies have to protect the integrity of cup competitions, even if that involves simply upping the financial rewards. Otherwise the supporters of clubs outside the handful of clubs at the top of the game will have simply nothing to play for.

Which is where the economic becomes the political.

05-01-2020, 12:37 PM

Round the clock TV coverage definitely changed things. One of my epochal TV games was when Sours won the Cup against Man City in 1981 I think, in a replay. Because there was so little live football on TV there was a real sense of occasion when a match was broadcast.

I agree with your point about the World Cup too. I vividly remember the 1982 World Cup and having no idea who Zico, Socrates and Eder were, let alone Paolo Rossi or Karl-Heinz Rummenigge. In those days the only access to knowledge of players like that was my barber, who had copies of World Soccer on a coffee table, to peruse while you waited (He also had some magazines of a more racy quality but they were a bit scary when you were eight years old and really just wanting a short back and sides).

05-01-2020, 01:07 PM

No apologies needed. Anyone reading those rags deserve what they get!

05-01-2020, 01:09 PM

They also put out reserve teams in the premier League most weeks, oh wait, that is their first team you say? 😁

Cataplana
05-01-2020, 01:18 PM
Round the clock TV coverage definitely changed things. One of my epochal TV games was when Sours won the Cup against Man City in 1981 I think, in a replay. Because there was so little live football on TV there was a real sense of occasion when a match was broadcast.

I agree with your point about the World Cup too. I vividly remember the 1982 World Cup and having no idea who Zico, Socrates and Eder were, let alone Paolo Rossi or Karl-Heinz Rummenigge. In those days the only access to knowledge of players like that was my barber, who had copies of World Soccer on a coffee table, to peruse while you waited (He also had some magazines of a more racy quality but they were a bit scary when you were eight years old and really just wanting a short back and sides).

I think it was On the Ball that used to have a European round up. It exposed us to unusual kit design, and even sponsorship!

There was no way you would remember the names of players, it was an era when words like Ajax, Juventus and Real were the subject of prolonged debates in the playground.

05-01-2020, 01:18 PM
They weren’t forced at all, they could have refused it and played in the FA cup. Yes the FA wanted them to play as they thought it would benefit their World Cup bid and so offered them the chance to pull out of the FA cup which they took.

I hate the fact that the money in the game today has devalued the FA cup and teams now play weakened sides. The FA cup was a massive occasion for me in the 70’s & 80’s. If I wasn’t at Wembley watching it we alaways had the neighbours round every year regardless of who was playing and it was a real occasion with a buffet in our house, loved those days.

They got told to go there and withdrew from the FA cup because the FA wanted them to go and represent England for the WC bid, they didn’t even try when they got there. So instead of blaming Man Utd for killing the FA Cup (not you mate) the blame should perhaps be aimed at em the FA.

05-01-2020, 01:44 PM
Broxburn have sold out their allocation of 1600 for their away cup tie at St Mirren.

05-01-2020, 01:46 PM

In the ‘good old days’ you got cup games included in your season ticket

05-01-2020, 01:54 PM
Football's quite intense now in the internet age, there's not much chance to tune out. An uninspiring cup game is a decent chance to have a Saturday off and save anywhere between 20 - 100 quid depending on if you go with family. The B team nature of the FA Cup adds to that, though most bigger clubs still seem to get decent crowds as its a chance for the not-so-regulars to get to a game.

The only ones that still seem to catch the imagination up here are derbies, Hampden, any away quarter final and difficult ties away to lower league teams - Sunday 19th being a good example. I'd have said any home quarter final too, but the Celtic tie last year was lifeless poorly attended rubbish.

05-01-2020, 01:57 PM
No apologies needed. Anyone reading those rags deserve what they get!

05-01-2020, 02:00 PM
I will be totally pissed of if a weakened Liverpool
eleven loses to Everton today☹️

05-01-2020, 02:06 PM

Some took the risk with the Cup Top up, and were rewarded, but the club lost money

05-01-2020, 02:10 PM
Yet, similar to England our crowds for Scottish Cup games in the earlier rounds are lower than league games, unless we get Hearts.

Thats a lot to do with hibs removing the cup top up option too. Theres a lot of time people cant be arsed going to easter road (hamilton on a wednesday night in january for example) but will go out of a sense of habit/because its on their season ticket. If you havent got that for a cup game at home to elgin or the likes then its much easier to say "**** it, ill go do something else that day. I cant be bothered going out my way to get tickets. We will win anyway ect" as there isnt the same feeling of you "need" to go. If you get what i mean. Not saying its right but its certainly how i feel. If i didnt have a season ticket i probably wouldnt go to any games, having it is almost like a wee kick up the arse to encourage you to go

05-01-2020, 02:21 PM
Broxburn have sold out their allocation of 1600 for their away cup tie at St Mirren.

Great news. 4 of us going through. Real buzz about the place.

EI255
05-01-2020, 03:19 PM
The Scottish Cup will always be a big deal up here.The FA cup always seems a big deal come May!

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

Cataplana
05-01-2020, 03:56 PM
Football's quite intense now in the internet age, there's not much chance to tune out. An uninspiring cup game is a decent chance to have a Saturday off and save anywhere between 20 - 100 quid depending on if you go with family. The B team nature of the FA Cup adds to that, though most bigger clubs still seem to get decent crowds as its a chance for the not-so-regulars to get to a game.

The only ones that still seem to catch the imagination up here are derbies, Hampden, any away quarter final and difficult ties away to lower league teams - Sunday 19th being a good example. I'd have said any home quarter final too, but the Celtic tie last year was lifeless poorly attended rubbish.

I would be very surprised if the forthcoming cup tie at Tannadice doesn't capture the imagination. Dundee United will be keen to prove to themselves they can compete with premiership sides, and you would expect their fans to smell blood and come out in numbers.

05-01-2020, 06:40 PM
Not at Annfield.

KingPat4
05-01-2020, 07:03 PM
I will be totally pissed of if a weakened Liverpool
eleven loses to Everton today☹️

I was amazed at the prices available on Liverpool today. Made mental note to stick a tenner on them - then forgot.....,

05-01-2020, 08:42 PM
Not at Annfield.

Stirling Albion are guff. I blame them for the state of the FA Cup.

The Baldmans Comb
05-01-2020, 08:57 PM
I think my interest in the FA cup and league diminished to non existent about 20 years ago.

Couldnae gie a *** monkeys though admire English football people and supporters immensely as they have a depth of football knowledge and feeling like no other country.

Cant help think they must have lost some soul and history but frankly none of my concern.

1875godsgift
05-01-2020, 09:01 PM
I suppose years ago winning the cup was held in high esteem because it gave the team a chance of winning the European Cup-Winner's Cup.

05-01-2020, 09:01 PM
Liverpool's lineup tonight showed what the big teams think of the FA cup. Way down the list of priorities which is a shame

KdyHby
05-01-2020, 09:03 PM
Leeds got 8,000 tickets for tomorrow night's match v Arsenal. First sales to season ticket holders. I then tried to buy on the second tranche for gold members, no luck. Will be gutted if there's big gaps within the Arsenal support tomorrow night.

05-01-2020, 09:27 PM
Stirling Albion are guff. I blame them for the state of the FA Cup.
OK I asked for that 👍🙄

05-01-2020, 09:30 PM
Liverpool's lineup tonight showed what the big teams think of the FA cup. Way down the list of priorities which is a shame

The fact they won against a full strength Everton tells another story.

05-01-2020, 10:04 PM

That Everton are pish

05-01-2020, 10:16 PM
Cup ties stick on your mind.Like St Mirren being lucky to draw with Spartans at City Park and the FA final replay between Chelsea and Leeds to take two very contrasting games.

05-01-2020, 10:20 PM
Leeds got 8,000 tickets for tomorrow night's match v Arsenal. First sales to season ticket holders. I then tried to buy on the second tranche for gold members, no luck. Will be gutted if there's big gaps within the Arsenal support tomorrow night.

amazing support from thee bestest most loyal fans down south

05-01-2020, 11:45 PM

Though I have Everton sympathies and even go to see them from time to time I thankfully don't have any real emotional investment in them apart from wishing them well. That this afternoon was nothing short of embarrassing, the real Everton fans must be absolutely raging after watching their team outplayed by Liverpool reserves / academy even if it was at Anfield. No wonder Klopp looked like the cat who had got the cream at full time.

Some good kids in that Liverpool team for sure ... but even so, what a humiliation.

06-01-2020, 05:01 AM
I haven’t noticed any fall off in enthusiasm for the FA Cup at Manchester City with around 53,000 for the visit of Port Vale. This was including 8,000 or more visiting supporters from a team averaging around 5,000 for home matches.

06-01-2020, 05:19 AM

Liverpool did the same in the league cup against Aston Villa who destroyed them 5-0. Says more about how poor Everton are

06-01-2020, 05:30 AM
Liverpool did the same in the league cup against Aston Villa who destroyed them 5-0. Says more about how poor Everton are

There was absolutely zero experience in the team that played villa. Adrian in goals played a big part yesterday as did Minamino, Gomez, Phillips (whos been on loan at Stuttgart in the first half of the season). There wasn’t even any experience on the bench against Villa.
Don’t get me wrong, still poor from Everton. Ancelotti must be doing a Daniel Stendel and wondering what the hell hes let himself in for.

06-01-2020, 08:12 AM

I think that is more to do with the amount of games they have had recently. Newcastle, Tottenham, Man City, Crystal Palace, Wolves, West Ham, Everton and to a lesser extent Man Utd and Chelsea all picked very strong teams.

Even Liverpool’s “kids” had Adrian, Gomez, Origi, Lallana, Milner and Minamino in the starting 11.

06-01-2020, 08:59 AM
What get's me is how much money the BBC must be spending on the FA Cup. Full camera set up at every match, massive amount of content on their website, lots of extra Match of the Day programmes, live games...and all for a competition many don't give a crap about. I suspect that this weekend alone they will have spent at least 10x as much as they spend on Scottish football in a whole season.

The resources that the BBC (which we pay for via a TAX) throw at English football in comparison to Scottish football is staggering and hugely unfair.

06-01-2020, 09:20 AM
What get's me is how much money the BBC must be spending on the FA Cup. Full camera set up at every match, massive amount of content on their website, lots of extra Match of the Day programmes, live games...and all for a competition many don't give a crap about. I suspect that this weekend alone they will have spent at least 10x as much as they spend on Scottish football in a whole season.

The resources that the BBC (which we pay for via a TAX) throw at English football in comparison to Scottish football is staggering and hugely unfair.

Hmmm.

I'm not convinced that spending more on showing Scottish games would be a good use of the BBC's resources, tbh.

It would be interesting to see the Scottish viewing figures for the FA cup matches. I'd hazard a guess that they'd be considerably higher than they are for the majority of SPFL games, never mind Scottish Cup matches.

Dundee v Motherwell is on BBC Scotland on Saturday 18th. If I'm home and there's nothing else on that my wife wants to watch, I might have a look.

If it was Wolves v Man U or Liverpool v Everton, I'd be planning on going to the pub to watch it with mates.

The amount of money the BBC pays for Scottish football is tiny compared to England, but unfortunately, it reflects the demand and popularity of our national sport.

06-01-2020, 10:27 AM
FA Cup final used to be the jewel in the crown of the English game. Had a lot of romance and games were always packed out. Living in the Borders watched the final and build up live on Border TV. Was the only live football on TV apart from Scotland vs England and European Club finals. Spurs, Liverpool and Chelsea all big winners in lare sixtues and and early 70s.

I'm Spartacus
06-01-2020, 10:36 AM
The priority is the league position, the TV money has totally ruined the game and contributed the demise of this once great cup competition. Premier League teams don't even need ticket sales!

The huge number of games over the festive period is shocking, society would benefit from encouraging less games over Christmas. I wonder how many people felt financial pressure trying to keep family and friends happy by going to the games? I wonder how many people were caught drink driving travelling to games? Black Friday - us V SevCo, that was utter madness.

This joke of starting games 1 minute later as part of a mental health campaign - yet gambling sites are all over the place helping people get in over their heads - make football free over the holidays? Give out family tickets for free so people can be together.

06-01-2020, 11:53 AM

They never did in England. I recall being surprised they SFA Cup tickets were included in a season ticket at Hibs when I first moved up.

06-01-2020, 12:13 PM

Sums it up perfectly for me, it's a great shame though.

06-01-2020, 12:14 PM
The priority is the league position, the TV money has totally ruined the game and contributed the demise of this once great cup competition. Premier League teams don't even need ticket sales!

The huge number of games over the festive period is shocking, society would benefit from encouraging less games over Christmas. I wonder how many people felt financial pressure trying to keep family and friends happy by going to the games? I wonder how many people were caught drink driving travelling to games? Black Friday - us V SevCo, that was utter madness.

This joke of starting games 1 minute later as part of a mental health campaign - yet gambling sites are all over the place helping people get in over their heads - make football free over the holidays? Give out family tickets for free so people can be together.

Good post.

06-01-2020, 06:48 PM
FA cup draw

Watford/Tranmere v Wolves/Man u
Hull city v Chelsea
Southampton v Middlesbrough/Spurs
QPR. V sheff wed
Bournemouth v Arsenal/Leeds
Northampton v Derby
Brentford v Leicester city
Millwall v Sheff utd
Reading/Blackpool v Cardiff/Carlisle
West ham v West Brom
Burnley v Norwich
Bristol rovers/Coventry v Birmingham city
Man city v Fulham
Rochdale/Newcastle v Oxford utd
Portsmouth V Barnsley
Bristol city V LIverpool

06-01-2020, 06:55 PM
What a boring bunch of ties.

Have another go.

06-01-2020, 07:00 PM
hope Marcelo doesn't regret playing Bamford in this game, if he gets an injury there's no real back-up :( league more important

06-01-2020, 07:06 PM
FA cup draw

Watford/Tranmere v Wolves/Man u
Hull city v Chelsea
Southampton v Middlesbrough/Spurs
QPR. V sheff wed
Bournemouth v Arsenal/Leeds
Northampton v Derby
Brentford v Leicester city
Millwall v Sheff utd
Reading/Blackpool v Cardiff/Carlisle
West ham v West Brom
Burnley v Norwich
Bristol rovers/Coventry v Birmingham city
Man city v Fulham
Rochdale/Newcastle v Oxford utd
Portsmouth V Barnsley
Bristol city V LIverpool

BristolCity/Shrewsbury v Liverpool

06-01-2020, 07:08 PM
Never watch English football but Leeds are a great team to watch.

06-01-2020, 07:10 PM
BristolCity/Shrewsbury v Liverpool

the last tie was a prediction

06-01-2020, 07:11 PM
Leeds are battering arsenal

06-01-2020, 07:11 PM

Didnt realise how revered their manager is by some top coaches.

Should be 1-0 Leeds

06-01-2020, 07:13 PM
Didnt realise how revered their manager is by some top coaches.

Should be 1-0 Leeds

I watched their documentary on Amazon the other day and he’s a really interesting guy. Leeds play a really nice style of football.

06-01-2020, 07:14 PM
What I like about Leeds is the way they move the ball, if there’s an opportunity to miss a pass out in order to move it faster they will take it. Totally dominant.

06-01-2020, 07:19 PM
Watching the game in the pub with a few Leeds fans and getting quite into it. Not a team I've ever taken to but they are a joy to watch. That shot that hit the bar was goal of the tournament if it went in.

06-01-2020, 07:35 PM

Only if teams out with OF win it fairly regularly Hibs and Celtic have won the last 11 domestic trophies between them. :greengrin

06-01-2020, 07:36 PM

How do you know? :confused:

06-01-2020, 07:39 PM
How do you know? :confused:

Because I’m watching them now :rolleyes:

06-01-2020, 07:43 PM
Because I’m watching them now :rolleyes:

But you said you never watch English football.

You just don't know what to believe on here sometimes!

06-01-2020, 07:45 PM

As it's one of only two major trophies that anyone (other than Celtic) can win.

In England, the top 4-6 clubs can realistically win the FA Cup, League Cup, EPL, UEFA Cup or Champions League. Because of that, and the money, the FA Cup has been downgraded by the bigger clubs to 3rd or 4th on their list. Back in the 70s and 80s, the FA Cup was probably 2nd and arguably the greatest cup competition in football.

06-01-2020, 07:47 PM
But you said you never watch English football.

You just don't know what to believe on here sometimes!

You’ve got really, really good chat mate.

They never did in England. I recall being surprised they SFA Cup tickets were included in a season ticket at Hibs when I first moved up.

Out of sheer pity :greengrin

Either do I. First English game I've watched in a long long time. Only watching it as it's on BBC. Can't believe Leeds are a lower league team. Been well on top.

06-01-2020, 07:56 PM

You’re missing some great football matches.

06-01-2020, 08:00 PM
You’ve got really, really good chat mate.

It was a joke. You whooshed.

Mate. :wink:

06-01-2020, 08:01 PM
You’re missing some great football matches.

I'm not sure he is, though. :greengrin

06-01-2020, 08:06 PM
This match is an absolute cracker.

All Leeds in the first half but Arsenal are have a real go in the second.

one day maybe...
06-01-2020, 08:08 PM
Been coming but I really hope Leeds can grab a draw at least from this.

06-01-2020, 08:08 PM
It's a different Arsenal this half. 1-0.

06-01-2020, 08:10 PM
I'm not sure he is, though. :greengrin

Doh! Just got that 😁

06-01-2020, 08:11 PM
Of course he is, if you’re a football fan you will absolutely enjoy some of the cracking games in the EPL. Granted there are poor games too but many to enjoy. 😁

Now you've whooshed. :tee hee:

06-01-2020, 08:17 PM
Potentially interesting clash in the next round of the FA Cup, with Bristol Rovers or Coventry drawn at home to Birmingham City. If Coventry get through they will be at home at StAndrews against Birmingham whose ground St Andrews is obviously. West Midlands police will be happy with that one I imagine :greengrin

06-01-2020, 08:35 PM
Now you've whooshed. :tee hee:

Nah I changed my original post before I read this posting as I realised 😁

06-01-2020, 08:50 PM
Nah I changed my original post before I read this posting as I realised 😁

VAR would have given the initial whoosh. :greengrin

06-01-2020, 08:52 PM
VAR would have given the initial whoosh. :greengrin