View Full Version : Only an Excuse
Box 17
31-12-2019, 12:45 PM
It's that time of year again. Dennis Law, Frank McAvennie and Tango Man get their annual outing.
What's the predictions for tonight, can it get any worse than previous years?
31-12-2019, 12:47 PM
Stopped being funny twenty years ago at least. Embarrassing to Scotland and Scottish comedy.
31-12-2019, 12:48 PM
BBC Scotland's Hogmanay coverage is horrific and won't be watching.
HFC93
31-12-2019, 12:51 PM
You could copy and paste the equivalent thread from last year (and 2017, 2016 etc) and it will all be applicable. Chronic TV.
31-12-2019, 12:51 PM
The BBC Scotland are showing Jim Smiths (Farmer Jim) Back to the Teuchter live recording at 10pm, which is something interesting, new and funny - everything OAE is not.
Cataplana
31-12-2019, 12:52 PM
I'm doing the Only an Excuse BS bingo, and only need a mention of his Stevie Clark impression for a line.
31-12-2019, 12:53 PM
Whaurs ra Burds?
31-12-2019, 12:55 PM
It's that time of year again. Dennis Law, Frank McAvennie and Tango Man get their annual outing.
What's the predictions for tonight, can it get any worse than previous years?gerrard bound to be on it and will sound like Yosser Hughes.
31-12-2019, 12:56 PM
I believe Frank McAvennie has been retired this year because of a dispute with the BBC. Daily Record reading weedgies everywhere are in mourning.
Still there will undoubtedly be some cutting edge satire featuring Dennis Law, Walter Smith and some light hearted joshing about the wittiness of sectarianism.
31-12-2019, 12:56 PM
Stopped being funny twenty years ago at least. Embarrassing to Scotland and Scottish comedy.
Think Janey Godley's taken that particular crown off JW.
31-12-2019, 01:03 PM
Can't wait for the carnage to begin!
It's that bad it's unmissable. 😩
31-12-2019, 01:05 PM
BBC Scotland showing Still Game I think?
Greenfly
31-12-2019, 01:06 PM
Only an Embarrassment.
green with envy
31-12-2019, 01:07 PM
That's easy... I won't be anywhere near this pish come tonight.
31-12-2019, 01:12 PM
gerrard bound to be on it and will sound like Yosser Hughes.
gies a job
31-12-2019, 01:14 PM
gies a job
BBC controller do you?!
31-12-2019, 01:17 PM
Where’s ra burdz?
31-12-2019, 01:55 PM
Its ****.
Cataplana
31-12-2019, 01:57 PM
Its ****.
As this is your response to everything, could you be a bit more specific? :greengrin
31-12-2019, 01:59 PM
As this is your response to everything, could you be a bit more specific? :greengrin
OAE is crap and should not get any air time.
31-12-2019, 02:09 PM
Still Going :/
OAE - that game should have been abandoned but went into extra time and penalties. The longest running game of penalties due to embarrassing lack of quality where it matters...
Cataplana
31-12-2019, 02:12 PM
OAE is crap and should not get any air time.
31-12-2019, 02:14 PM
Just cringeworthy. I do watch to see how unbelievably bad it is though!
31-12-2019, 02:34 PM
Its a show aimed at cardigan wearing octogenerians who can actually, partially, recall some of the alleged imitations and as funny as a wet Sunday in Stornwsy.
31-12-2019, 02:48 PM
They will switch over, from a Glasgow studio, to Edinburgh at about 5 to midnight then back again a few mins after the bells. Why on earth they ignore one of the worlds biggest New Year parties for a Glasgow studio is beyond me.
31-12-2019, 02:49 PM
It used to be funny about 20 years ago. Its run its course now dont even laugh once watching it these days
31-12-2019, 02:53 PM
The thread about how crap Only an Excuse is is now a bigger part of New Year for me than the programme itself is, which I haven't watched for at least decade, because it is crap.
Cataplana
31-12-2019, 03:04 PM
They will switch over, from a Glasgow studio, to Edinburgh at about 5 to midnight then back again a few mins after the bells. Why on earth they ignore one of the worlds biggest New Year parties for a Glasgow studio is beyond me.
Probably not allowed in, like the rest of us.
Renfrew_Hibby
31-12-2019, 03:10 PM
gerrard bound to be on it and will sound like Yosser Hughes.
"gies a trophy"
Victor
31-12-2019, 03:17 PM
This. Glasgow the Hearts of Scottish Cities. Everyone has to pretend it’s the place to be at Hogmanay.
Renfrew_Hibby
31-12-2019, 03:24 PM
George Sq. probably closed tonight cos the locals canny handle a bevvy.
31-12-2019, 05:06 PM
I haven't watched it since the McAvennie patter was actually topical!
*Not this millennium
wallpaperman
31-12-2019, 05:19 PM
It might be so crap, that the hipster purveyors of opinion will decide it’s good.
31-12-2019, 05:23 PM
For the same reason that the BBC Scotland news is presented with the iconic world renowned backdrop of a big rusting crane over that boring view of Edinburgh from Calton hill. For the same reason that BBC Scotland flagship shows like River City and Still game are set in Glasgow and never Edinburgh, Aberdeen or Dundee. Even STV aren't immune allowing John Hannah to produce their version of Rebus with himself totally miscast in the title role, something even he admitted was a mistake ... wrong age, wrong shape, wrong accent.
TV in this country just cant see past its Glasgow centric love in ... for them Glasgow is Scotland, no wonder folk outside of Scotland get a shock when the meet a Scotsman or woman who doesn't sound like Billy Connolly.
31-12-2019, 05:31 PM
To be fair, it works for every subject he posts about
For once I agree with him
31-12-2019, 05:41 PM
When you see the offerings on Irish TV, Only an Excuse would actually improve the listings. Eye bleeding.
I’ll predict Hibs won’t be mentioned once. An even number of Old Firm skits peppered with Fergie, Denis Law & Nicola Sturgeon. A random weegie in-joke for Glasgow viewers and a couple of sectarians.
31-12-2019, 05:44 PM
For the same reason that the BBC Scotland news is presented with the iconic world renowned backdrop of a big rusting crane over that boring view of Edinburgh from Calton hill. For the same reason that BBC Scotland flagship shows like River City and Still game are set in Glasgow and never Edinburgh, Aberdeen or Dundee. Even STV aren't immune allowing John Hannah to produce their version of Rebus with himself totally miscast in the title role, something even he admitted was a mistake ... wrong age, wrong shape, wrong accent.
TV in this country just cant see past its Glasgow centric love in ... for them Glasgow is Scotland, no wonder folk outside of Scotland get a shock when the meet a Scotsman or woman who doesn't sound like Billy Connolly.
Off topic but theres a lot of truth in that. As someone from Edinburgh who works in TV in London and used to have regular dealing with Glasgow it was glaringly obvious of an anti Edinburgh bias.
Even the talking heads are stacked. Watch vox pops from Edinburgh or stock footage when there's a report from there. They go out of their way to show a quiet Princes St with little old ladies, preferably with a shopping trolley. It never shows the city as bustling, busy and dynamic.
31-12-2019, 05:45 PM
Well said Nookie. If possible, BBC Radio Scotland is even more Glasgow orientated than their TV counterparts.
31-12-2019, 05:58 PM
Absolute pish. Getting it in early this year.
31-12-2019, 06:07 PM
Lovely bit of anti weegie posting there. Heres to more in the new decade 🍻
**** sake. Dinnae watch it then.
It's no the best perhaps but there's always a couple of chortles in there.
HAZ2000
31-12-2019, 06:18 PM
Why watch it if you don't like it
Cabbie1875
31-12-2019, 07:05 PM
Watched it last year and laughed once, its time is done
31-12-2019, 07:21 PM
[QUOTE=Lewis Hazlett;6033398]Why watch it if you don't like it[/QUOTE
Because it's that bad that it's become cult viewing. I'll record it just to see how bad it actually is.
31-12-2019, 07:32 PM
It's really quite easy for BBC Scotland, Scotch and Wry reruns.
31-12-2019, 08:12 PM
Off topic but theres a lot of truth in that. As someone from Edinburgh who works in TV in London and used to have regular dealing with Glasgow it was glaringly obvious of an anti Edinburgh bias.
Even the talking heads are stacked. Watch vox pops from Edinburgh or stock footage when there's a report from there. They go out of their way to show a quiet Princes St with little old ladies, preferably with a shopping trolley. It never shows the city as bustling, busy and dynamic.
Anti Edinburgh? Really?
31-12-2019, 08:41 PM
Should have been stopped ten years ago. Cringeworthy and infantile.
Not doing Frank this year.
Frankhfc
31-12-2019, 08:53 PM
Where’s ra burdz?
A scene about Gary Mackay and 'Where's ma medals?' would be a decent replacement.
31-12-2019, 09:10 PM
Selling Scotland with Jack Docherty on the BBC has been quite amusing so far.
31-12-2019, 09:22 PM
Not doing Frank this year.
About 10 years too late
31-12-2019, 09:25 PM
Has been the best of tv tonight watching the old adverts
31-12-2019, 09:27 PM
Just cringeworthy. I do watch to see how unbelievably bad it is though!
Which is encouraging it to continue year after year. If people stopped watching it then it would be taken off air.
stuart-farquhar
31-12-2019, 09:29 PM
Pretty much spot on big man by the way so it is.
31-12-2019, 09:57 PM
A scene about Gary Mackay and 'Where's ma medals?' would be a decent replacement.
It would be quite funny to do a modern, one-off Edinburgh special of some sort.
We do 15 minutes worth of nae medals, Levein on the bog, unfinished stand, 400,000 fans, 12 fingered sister pumping gags. In the interests of fairness we give them 15 minutes to presumably hold up a 5-1 hand gesture. What do they mock us for - upgrading the family car and not “buying British”? Driving said car without driving gloves? Not playing golf? Not even owning a cardigan?
Cracking tv.
For us, anyway.
It would be great to make a programme with the main intention being to alienate Glaswegians - a whole half hour without a thinly-veiled sectarian joke. There will be Old Firm game levels of domestic abuse when it reaches the end without a “whit fit dae ye kick wi” punchline.
31-12-2019, 10:01 PM
20 seconds and it’s already pish.
31-12-2019, 10:01 PM
We do 15 minutes worth of nae medals, Levein on the bog, unfinished stand, 400,000 fans, 12 fingered sister pumping gags. In the interests of fairness we give them 15 minutes to presumably hold up a 5-1 hand gesture. What do they mock us for - upgrading the family car and not “buying British”? Driving said car without driving gloves? Not playing golf? Not even owning a cardigan?
Cracking tv.
For us, anyway.
It would be great to make a programme with the main intention being to alienate Glaswegians - a whole half hour without a thinly-veiled sectarian joke.
We won the SC for the 1st time in 114 years and there was a well publicised pitch invasion afterwards. You would think a comedian worth their salt could have done something really decent with that.
What we got was 30 seconds on OAE with a Trainspotting type hallucination than was as crap as it was predictable. Then it was back to the Celtic, Rangers, Celtic, Rangers, Sturgeon, Celtic, Rangers, token non OF joke, Celtic, Rangers, pop culture, Celtic/Rangers joint joke to finish.
They just aren't interested in looking outside the bubble. It was the same with the whole Hearts/Romanov circus, that could have been about 3 hour long specials alone. It barely got 3 seconds.
Frankhfc
31-12-2019, 10:05 PM
Cracking tv.
For us, anyway.
It would be great to make a programme with the main intention being to alienate Glaswegians - a whole half hour without a thinly-veiled sectarian joke. There will be Old Firm game levels of domestic abuse when it reaches the end without a “whit fit dae ye kick wi” punchline.
31-12-2019, 10:14 PM
It is *****, it wiz ***** and always will be *****. It’s done just can the thing man don’t know a single person who actually likes it
31-12-2019, 10:22 PM
Alex Norton must be short of cash.
As well as being absolute pish this looks like it's been written by someone on mind-altering drugs.
31-12-2019, 10:27 PM
Alex Norton must be short of cash.
As well as being absolute pish this looks like it's been written by someone on mind-altering drugs.
I think Norton and James McAvoys sister (Joy?) must be doing this as a favour to Watson because they are in Two Doors Down with him.
Absolutely brutal, I don't think I smiled once
31-12-2019, 10:30 PM
Same s***, different year.
31-12-2019, 10:31 PM
I vaguely raised a chuckle at the Scotland manager selection meeting. Mainly because you can imagine it was fairly accurate.
The rest was pretty much expected.
Stanton Spence
31-12-2019, 10:32 PM
Well that was even worse than I expected jeez why did I actually put myself and the missus thru that?
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
31-12-2019, 10:34 PM
I've probably had a few too many which skews it towards a better review, but that was funnier than usually, other than too much Brexit. Definitely cringed less than in other years.
ben johnson
31-12-2019, 10:34 PM
Just switched over to watch Jools Hootenanny to be confronted by McCoist at one of the tables !
Weegie Central tonight.
31-12-2019, 10:35 PM
I thought there were some right funny sketches.
No McAvennie, Law or Souness. A lot better.
31-12-2019, 10:35 PM
Well that was even worse than I expected jeez why did I actually put myself and the missus thru that?
Probably better than what you could have put the mrs through in that time 😂
Stanton Spence
31-12-2019, 10:40 PM
Probably better than what you could have put the mrs through in that time [emoji23]Well I can't argue with that but the difference being is I ken when it's time to call it day [emoji23]
AltheHibby
31-12-2019, 10:47 PM
Even viagra couldn't have helped me raise a laugh at that rubbish.
Doh Rae Me
31-12-2019, 10:52 PM
Even viagra couldn't have helped me raise a laugh at that rubbish.
I thought it was the best for a few years but not a patch on the Scottish tv adverts programme earlier on, that was brilliant and if you missed it I reccomend it on catch up.
Renfrew_Hibby
31-12-2019, 10:55 PM
More politics than old firm I thought?
Ian Blackford would never sport a maroon hankie in his breast pocket though.
31-12-2019, 10:55 PM
Does Fran Healey from Travis have an actual man bun?
AltheHibby
31-12-2019, 10:57 PM
I thought it was the best for a few years but not a patch on the Scottish tv adverts programme earlier on, that was brilliant and if you missed it I reccomend it on catch up.
I'll have a look
Thanks
01-01-2020, 12:30 AM
Cracking tv.
For us, anyway.
:aok: :wink:
01-01-2020, 12:52 AM
Anti Edinburgh? Really?
BBC Scotland? Absolutely!
01-01-2020, 01:09 AM
Anybody who, by choice, watches that trash should go for a check up. For those who accidentally watched it and enjoyed it, get a check up as well.
hibeg
01-01-2020, 01:27 AM
Just switched over to watch Jools Hootenanny to be co nfronted by McCoist at one of the tables !
Weegie Central tonight.
Just found out tonight that the show is not live. It was taped about 3 weeks ago. WTF 😳😳😳😳
01-01-2020, 01:47 AM
Just found out tonight that the show is not live. It was taped about 3 weeks ago. WTF 😳😳😳😳
Was filmed late October one year when I worked at the Beeb.
01-01-2020, 08:18 AM
Sounds like it was up to the usual standard. I'll just go and tape my sides up before watching the recording.
01-01-2020, 08:44 AM
“BBC. They’re anti-Scottish”
BBC spend tens of millions setting up a pointless channel in response to the complaints.
“BBC Scotland. They’re anti-Edinburgh”
Folk just like to complain about the BBC because they feel like it should cater precisely for them. On topic, Only An Excuse was rubbish. As expected.
01-01-2020, 08:51 AM
***** as usual
Only bit that wouldve come close to raising a smile was the police at ibrox bit. Because its true.
"My mother was a Fanny, my granny was a Fanny. I come from a long line of Fannys" :greengrin
The best Irn Bru advert ever. :aok:
01-01-2020, 09:04 AM
I've probably had a few too many which skews it towards a better review, but that was funnier than usually, other than too much Brexit. Definitely cringed less than in other years.
I thought there were some right funny sketches.
No McAvennie, Law or Souness. A lot better.
:agree: no where near as bad as previous years and defo got a few chuckles .
01-01-2020, 09:13 AM
Can't believe the number of folk on here saying it is absolute crap who haven't actually watched it. Judge and jury blind. Those who pass judgement on Hibs having just watched on tv often get slated on here but at least they've watched in some capacity.
Mind, you were all spot on.
P155 poor impersonations but Gregor Townsend takes the crappiest of the crap impersonation awards. Dead heat for second between Shelley Kerr, Gerard, Lennon, Blackford. Awful. Just awful.
01-01-2020, 09:21 AM
Can't believe the number of folk on here saying it is absolute crap who haven't actually watched it. Judge and jury blind. Those who pass judgement on Hibs having just watched on tv often get slated on here but at least they've watched in some capacity.
Mind, you were all spot on.
P155 poor impersonations but Gregor Townsend takes the crappiest of the crap impersonation awards. Dead heat for second between Shelley Kerr, Gerard, Lennon, Blackford. Awful. Just awful.
You don't need to WATCH only an excuse to know it's going to be about as funny as a Khassoghi family day out to the Saudi embassy. Some things you just KNOW.
01-01-2020, 09:31 AM
Salt n sauce rools ya bass! :greengrin
What was aw that aboot?
Changed her tune when Josh Taylor said he was a salt n sauce man :greengrin
01-01-2020, 10:29 AM
What channel was this on
01-01-2020, 10:31 AM
What channel was this on
10.00pm Selling Scotland BBC1
01-01-2020, 10:37 AM
Was the best programme of the night
01-01-2020, 10:39 AM
Watched it with sound down and subtitles on, just glancing at the screen fro time to time. Surprisingly cliche Macca, Chick Young free from what I could see.
Actually chuckled at the Greta Thunberg sketch of her parents taking advantage of her absence by having all the lights on and the heating up full bung.😀
01-01-2020, 10:45 AM
How to make an Only an Excuse joke:
1 - Pick a character. Doesn’t matter if you can’t do an impression of them, just put on a variation of the same Weegie accent that you do for every character. You can get wigs off EBay from three quid and that’s all being an impressionist is about.
2 - Write the joke. Doesn’t matter if it’s not funny, unoriginal, doesn’t have a punchline, just get it down on paper. No need to work on it to turn it into a fully formed joke. In fact, if you can’t be arsed, just recycle them from last year. Jokes never get less funny with time.
3 - Perform the joke. Try to perform it with the subtlety and nuance of a pished hornet in a nursery.
4 - No matter which character you’re playing, pull a funny face at the end like Queen Budge is having a rummage around your trousers with a handful of drawing pins. Keep that face up for longer than is comfortable.
5 - Collect your cheque from BBC Glasgow. Don’t watch any sport during the next twelve months as fresh, relevant ideas are the antithesis of good comedy.
01-01-2020, 10:54 AM
***** as usual
Only bit that wouldve come close to raising a smile was the police at ibrox bit. Because its true.
Yep that wasn't a joke it was factual. :greengrin
01-01-2020, 10:55 AM
1 - Pick a character. Doesn’t matter if you can’t do an impression of them, just put on a variation of the same Weegie accent that you do for every character. You can get wigs off EBay from three quid and that’s all being an impressionist is about.
2 - Write the joke. Doesn’t matter if it’s not funny, unoriginal, doesn’t have a punchline, just get it down on paper. No need to work on it to turn it into a fully formed joke. In fact, if you can’t be arsed, just recycle them from last year. Jokes never get less funny with time.
3 - Perform the joke. Try to perform it with the subtlety and nuance of a pished hornet in a nursery.
4 - No matter which character you’re playing, pull a funny face at the end like Queen Budge is having a rummage around your trousers with a handful of drawing pins. Keep that face up for longer than is comfortable.
5 - Collect your cheque from BBC Glasgow. Don’t watch any sport during the next twelve months as fresh, relevant ideas are the antithesis of good comedy.
Spot on the Steven Gerrard impersonation was horrific only way you knew who it was him was the initials on the Rangers coat.
01-01-2020, 11:02 AM
Spot on the Steven Gerrard impersonation was horrific only way you knew who it was him was the initials on the Rangers coat.
Same with SteveClark in the Killie hat.
ACLeith
01-01-2020, 11:11 AM
A good impersonation can save a rubbish script. A good script can save a rubbish impersonation. But a rubbish script and rubbish impersonation? That described most if the show.
To find something positive the Thunberg sketch was quite clever and raised a smile- that was the sum total for me.
Weegreenman
01-01-2020, 11:15 AM
Needs scrapped. Very poor and not worthy anymore of a New Year’s Eve slot.
Not to say that it was never funny, I do remember once upon a time to looking forward to it. Not anymore!
pollution
01-01-2020, 11:21 AM
I was sober at the time it was on and it really conforms to type.
Desperate for a laugh and dull. Unfortunately there was nothing else to watch.
Do the actors get paid for this??
01-01-2020, 11:33 AM
The fact that so many people seem to have watched it long enough to have slated it explains why it continues to be aired every year.
If people continue to watch it then the BBC will continue to show it.
ACLeith
01-01-2020, 11:39 AM
The fact that so many people seem to have watched it long enough to have slated it explains why it continues to be aired every year.
I recorded it and watched it this morning, to see if it was as bad as folk said. First time for many years. Tony Roper was the real star of the show long ago.
Cataplana
01-01-2020, 11:46 AM
Tell that to Jackie Bird. Axed after 25 excruciating years.
01-01-2020, 11:49 AM
I watch it so I can participate in the annual Hibs.net thread about OAE. Highlight of the year.
01-01-2020, 11:53 AM
Sorry but that is just OTT.
OTT in kindness. It's miles worse than you make out.
01-01-2020, 12:13 PM
Just finishid watching it, utter ****** never raised one laugh, struggling if you can’t even get an impersonation to at least sound like Gerrard.
Stanton Spence
01-01-2020, 12:19 PM
What channel was this onBBC one Billy
Stanton Spence
01-01-2020, 12:21 PM
BBC one Billy
Sent from my G3121 using TapatalkSorry I was talking about only an excuse, I watched the program about the adverts but can't remember if that was on ITV lol
01-01-2020, 12:27 PM
BBC one Billy
Thanks, just saw BillyHibs post above too
Cabbage-Patch
01-01-2020, 12:48 PM
Just skimmed through it on catch up. Absolutely brutal it's not even really about the football anymore. Outdated and needs binned
01-01-2020, 01:12 PM
Same with SteveClark in the Killie hat.
When you actually have to say the name of the person you are supposed to be impersonating, the games up. Car crash stuff again. So, so bad.
01-01-2020, 01:16 PM
Was the best programme of the night
It was great to see Stanley Baxter again. Cut above the rubbish that passes for Scottish comedy these days.
01-01-2020, 01:23 PM
Watched Jules Holland instead. Really good. The Hogmanay stuff is brutal
01-01-2020, 01:30 PM
The whole 'Scottish New Year' thing on TV is in dire need of a shake-up - it's 2020 ffs !. We have top-class, modern-day comedians/musicians etc that could/should be used so why are we still having to endure the likes of Jackie Bird's 'probably recorded in Summer' crap ??
01-01-2020, 01:32 PM
The whole 'Scottish New Year' thing on TV is in dire need of a shake-up - it's 2020 ffs !. We have top-class, modern-day comedians/musicians etc that could/should be used so why are we still having to endure the likes of Jackie Bird's 'probably recorded in Summer' crap ??
I am not sure if JB was actually on?
The shows I saw were hosted by Susan Calman (glasgow, I think), Des Clark did the entire Edinburgh / Mark Ronson / Fireworks thing, and they had someone up in Stonehaven for the fire flinging thingy.
I didnt see JB......thankfully
01-01-2020, 01:37 PM
I did my bit for TV entertainment and didn't watch it.
Cataplana
01-01-2020, 01:52 PM
The shows I saw were hosted by Susan Calman (glasgow, I think), Des Clark did the entire Edinburgh / Mark Ronson / Fireworks thing, and they had someone up in Stonehaven for the fire flinging thingy.
She got the bullet.
01-01-2020, 01:56 PM
The Jaikey Burd has been ditched by the Bearsden Broadcasting Corporation
Let's be brutally honest, the so called hogmanay thing is well past it's sell by date, I would guess there are fewer & fewer people who remember new year house parties first footing the neighbours right after the bells etc.
What you have now is aTV producers idea of a Scottish New Year.
01-01-2020, 03:29 PM
Before the bells BBC Scotland had boring old Travis Why Does It Always Rain On Me and a couch with some bearded men and a woman on it. After the bells we had some drippy female called Julie Fowlis with the depressives version of Auld Lang Syne. It got faster to be fair.
2020 can only improve!
supermcginn
01-01-2020, 03:33 PM
Before the bells BBC Scotland had boring old Travis Why Does It Always Rain On Me and a couch with some bearded men and a woman on it. After the bells we had some drippy female called Julie Fowlis with the depressives version of Auld Lang Syne. It got faster to be fair.
2020 can only improve!
One of the best groups Scotland has ever produced and two stars from line of duty and one from still game, 2 of the BBC's most watched programmes ever. Yeah awful.
01-01-2020, 03:35 PM
I thought both only an excuse and the presenting and guests all decent last night for a wee change. Even found the presenter funny.
01-01-2020, 03:42 PM
Do the actors get paid for this??
No they pay the BBC to take part :rolleyes::yawn:
01-01-2020, 03:58 PM
One of the best groups Scotland has ever produced and two stars from line of duty and one from still game, 2 of the BBC's most watched programmes ever. Yeah awful.
Correct. It was.....................awful. Fireworks were good!
Tomsk
01-01-2020, 04:08 PM
I'm surprised that anyone watches OAE. It's not as if they don't know what's coming. It must be 15 years since I last saw it, maybe more. I stopped watching because it utter cack. But just when you thought it was safe to back into the water, last night I had to endure about 15 minutes of Susan Calman either side of the bells. Dear Lord! What sins did we commit to have this visited upon us?
01-01-2020, 05:49 PM
Utter garbage, really is cringeworthy stuff......
01-01-2020, 08:26 PM
It’s genuinely embarrassing. How on earth does this muck get commissioned? 🤦🏽*♂️😂 All the folk saying ‘if it’s rubbish don’t watch it’ - It’s that bad you can’t stop watching it. Johnathon Watson is genuinely as funny as watching us getting beat in a derby, he must surely realise how toaly he is. Winds me up our tele license fee goes towards crap like that.
01-01-2020, 08:44 PM
Not seen it yet so can’t pass opinion on this years effort yet, but the show must score quite high viewing figures. It’s a bit like Mrs Browns Boys - I don’t know anyone who likes it (or rather admits to liking it..) but it is one of the most watched programmes on TV.
01-01-2020, 10:51 PM
"My mother was a Fanny, my granny was a Fanny. I come from a long line of Fannys" :greengrin
The best Irn Bru advert ever. :aok:
Fanny eh? I like it.
Gloucester Hibs
01-01-2020, 11:07 PM
Seems to be less and less actual football gags (or indeed gags!) year on year. The Greta sketch at the start and the peloton one at the end did raise a chuckle though. Think it peaked in 1993/4 with the World Cup special.
To echo the comments of someone on the Bounce, I know it’s gonna be pish but watch it anyway as a kind of self flagellation.
01-01-2020, 11:27 PM
It is on once for 30mins per year and will cost very little to make that is how it gets a gig.
01-01-2020, 11:45 PM
I'm surprised some people say only an excuse is absolute pish
It's not even that good, should have been canned years ago
01-01-2020, 11:49 PM
It’s poor and has been for many years. But I think people go over the top because it was once good.
It’s no worse than the majority of pish that gets screened these days.
E.g. is/was ‘Gavin and Stacey’ always as unfunny as it’s Christmas special this year? Because I watched (the start of) it this year and I’ll take Watson repeating his nonsense any day of the week before that.
EastThomasSTboy
02-01-2020, 08:44 AM
I thought both only an excuse and the presenting and guests all decent last night for a wee change. Even found the presenter funny..
After all the derogatory remarks, I watched OAE on catch-up, and thought it was very Good (4 stars) especially the pisstaking of our very own airhead/dickhead (delete as appropriate) SNP chappy.
I thought most of the laughs came from the Non-fitba bits, apart from the Polis celebrations, which was funny.
Maybe its an age thing, and its only one programme a year, which has this "fanzine type" approach to the Scottish Game,
It would be better with a full series!!!!! BBC (glasgow) take note:wink::wink::wink::wink:.
Happy New Year to Hibbies everywhere.
02-01-2020, 08:54 AM
After all the derogatory remarks, I watched OAE on catch-up, and thought it was very Good (4 stars) especially the pisstaking of our very own airhead/dickhead (delete as appropriate) SNP chappy.
I thought most of the laughs came from the Non-fitba bits, apart from the Polis celebrations, which was funny.
Maybe its an age thing, and its only one programme a year, which has this "fanzine type" approach to the Scottish Game,
It would be better with a full series!!!!! BBC (glasgow) take note:wink::wink::wink::wink:.
please tell me you are joking. :faf:
02-01-2020, 09:00 AM
It was great to see Stanley Baxter again. Cut above the rubbish that passes for Scottish comedy these days.
Aye, but what was with the faux shock and horror from Lorraine Kelly (and her unknown toy-boy sidekick) when looking back at one of his parliamo Burzeye ads "oh my god he's blacked up"?
Put on PC-ness for the camera.
Director "we 're going to show this clip from near 50 years ago of Stanley Baxter playing an Asian but to get away with it you are going to have to look shocked and say how terrible it was that he was blacked up."
She is old enough to know that was common-place back then. And at the time, when it would be highly highly unusual to hear an Asian person speaking broad Weegie, it was actually quite funny to see/hear an Asian character parliamo Burzeye.
Renfrew_Hibby
02-01-2020, 09:21 AM
The ads programme that proceeded OAE showed, along with excellent input from Stuart Cosgrove and others, how Scottish society has evolved over the years. Becomming more self confidence, diverse and forward thinking in our attitudes.
Only an Excuse seemes to be trapped in a bygone era where with every passing year it becomes less and less relevant to 21st century Scottish thinking.
There has obviously been a conscious decision to try and take a different course in recent times with more and more political references but when it's delivered in the exact same ignorant and humourless manner then it makes no difference.
Cataplana
02-01-2020, 09:30 AM
Aye, but what was with the faux shock and horror from Lorraine Kelly (and her unknown toy-boy sidekick) when looking back at one of his parliamo Burzeye ads "oh my god he's blacked up"?
Put on PC-ness for the camera.
Director "we 're going to show this clip from near 50 years ago of Stanley Baxter playing an Asian but to get away with it you are going to have to look shocked and say how terrible it was that he was blacked up."
She is old enough to know that was common-place back then. And at the time, when it would be highly highly unusual to hear an Asian person speaking broad Weegie, it was actually quite funny to see/hear an Asian character parliamo Burzeye.
Yeah but Shareen Najiani wasn't very impressed either. At least the BBC showed it, because the way things are going, it might be banned in future.
Renfrew_Hibby
02-01-2020, 09:33 AM
This could have been lifted from Follow Follow!
Watson is clearly a typical hun in his political thinking as there is a definite nastiness in his Nicola Sturgeon pieces from previous years and an undertone of 'Snp bad'.
I'm sure he talked about being a Tory supporter when he was a youngster in the Glasgow arts/drama scene of the late 80s. This was a time when Glasgow was nearly universally opposed to Thatcher and her policies.
He had ample opportunity to rip the pi sh out of Ruth Davidson to balance things up but no just continually stuck the boot into Sturgeon. Imagine if he only ever parodied and mocked Celtic and you get the picture.
02-01-2020, 10:30 AM
I didn't last long with it, saw the Brendan Rodgers sketch, took me a few moments to figure out who it was meant to be, then got halfway through the Greta Thunberg sketch and thought that if the best they can do is laugh at someone trying to do some good for the world, with a "haha she's vegan so let's make a joke about eating meat, and she's anti-flying, so let's joke about having flights", then the rest wasn't worth watching.
Cheap laughs, badly done.
02-01-2020, 10:42 AM
I suppose that the Hogmany telly has a bit of nostalgia thrown in to it, but nostalgic for what? OEA is being drawn out like Scotch and Wry, and maybe showing a classic episode of that show would fill the same role. If you have all year to write the show then every gag has to be a winner, but as football is moving week by week, it is impossible to keep it fresh and re-hashing stereotypes becomes the material. Being set up to fail perhaps.
02-01-2020, 11:58 AM
I didn't last long with it, saw the Brendan Rodgers sketch, took me a few moments to figure out who it was meant to be, then got halfway through the Greta Thunberg sketch and thought that if the best they can do is laugh at someone trying to do some good for the world, with a "haha she's vegan so let's make a joke about eating meat, and she's anti-flying, so let's joke about having flights", then the rest wasn't worth watching.
I watched the whole lot, like watching a car crash, never even raised a smile throughout. Sad to see well known actors getting dragged down by it too
02-01-2020, 12:02 PM
Yeah but Shareen Najiani wasn't very impressed either. At least the BBC showed it, because the way things are going, it might be banned in future.
And the irn bru Fanny ad? I wasn't paying close attention but did her side-kick make an oblique reference to the rhyming slang? Was going to rewind but couldn't find the doofer.
02-01-2020, 12:48 PM
And the irn bru Fanny ad? I wasn't paying close attention but did her side-kick make an oblique reference to the rhyming slang? Was going to rewind but couldn't find the doofer.
She took that in good spirits.
I think Val McDermid made a good point when talking about the transgender Irn Bru advert. She said people need to feel able to call out things that are offensive or inapporpriate but it's also important to remember it's OK to make and take a joke. As an outspoken member of the LGBT+ community she's probably worth listening to on such an issue.
Stanley Baxter parading about pretending to be Asian wouldn't get on TV now and rightly so. However it happened, it was of it's time and people shouldn't lose sight of that. It should possible to look back on it with an element of nostalgia, recognise it's place in comedic history and not be called racist for doing so. Equally there has to be a recognition it's not a joke that should be made nowadays.
02-01-2020, 12:53 PM
I saw the Thunberg sketch online on a BBC Scotland FB post. Painful.
If that was a highlight going by some commentators on here... :Ummm:
02-01-2020, 12:58 PM
Off topic but I thought the Susan Calman Hogmanay Show attempt was dire although they did spend a good wee while on the fireworks from Edinburgh
02-01-2020, 01:02 PM
Thé Greta sketch was just weird. Not a good target for satirists, unless you're a right wing shock jock on fox news.
02-01-2020, 01:11 PM
Thé Greta sketch was just weird. Not a good target for satirists, unless you're a right wing shock jock on fox news.
Yep, it reeked of folk who should know better hitting an easy target.
02-01-2020, 01:34 PM
They've never successfully replaced Rikki Fulton at New Year. I realise that some of his shows were a bit repetitive but they were mostly genuinely funny.
Is it maybe time they started looking outside the Glasgow/West of Scotland bubble?
Saying things in a Glasgow accent, contrary to opinion at the BBC, is not automatically funny *
* For instance, during my first visit ever to Glasgow as a Hibs Fan, "who you lookin at ya wee fenian Basturt". Surprisingly, I didn't actually burst out laughing...
EastThomasSTboy
02-01-2020, 01:37 PM
This could have been lifted from Follow Follow!
Watson is clearly a typical hun in his political thinking as there is a definite nastiness in his Nicola Sturgeon pieces from previous years and an undertone of 'Snp bad'.
I'm sure he talked about being a Tory supporter when he was a youngster in the Glasgow arts/drama scene of the late 80s. This was a time when Glasgow was nearly universally opposed to Thatcher and her policies.
He had ample opportunity to rip the pi sh out of Ruth Davidson to balance things up but no just continually stuck the boot into Sturgeon. Imagine if he only ever parodied and mocked Celtic and you get the picture.
So, an Auld dyed in the wool Hibby like me, is compared to the Huns,!!!!!! because I like to see our MPs getting the pish ripped out of them:wink::wink::wink:. Aye OK then!:na na::na na::na na:
Bye the way i dislike, nay detest, all Politicians, of every persuasion. But the SNP mostest of all:wink::wink:.
02-01-2020, 01:38 PM
Off topic but I thought the Susan Calman Hogmanay Show attempt was dire although they did spend a good wee while on the fireworks from Edinburgh
She was practically drooling over the girl from the Scottish women's football team. I think she might need to take her top back to the shop and get a bigger size cos the one she was given will be a bit snug.
02-01-2020, 01:57 PM
They've never successfully replaced Rikki Fulton at New Year. I realise that some of his shows were a bit repetitive but they were mostly genuinely funny.
Is it maybe time they started looking outside the Glasgow/West of Scotland bubble?
Saying things in a Glasgow accent, contrary to opinion at the BBC, is not automatically funny *
* For instance, during my first visit ever to Glasgow as a Hibs Fan, "who you lookin at ya wee fenian Basturt". Surprisingly, I didn't actually burst out laughing...
I liked Rikki Fulton when I was wee, and I'm fairly sure he was popular across the age groups and social classes as well.
02-01-2020, 02:04 PM
She was practically drooling over the girl from the Scottish women's football team. I think she might need to take her top back to the shop and get a bigger size cos the one she was given will be a bit snug.
Usually like Susan Calman tae but did not like the anti Edinburgh salt n sauce thing the lack of atmosphere the lack of comedy and the stupid wee quizzes and asking people what their New Year resolutions were in November all a futile attempt to pass time until the bells although the bands were good
WestCoastHibby
02-01-2020, 02:48 PM
You don't need to WATCH only an excuse to know it's going to be about as funny as a Khassoghi family day out to the Saudi embassy. Some things you just KNOW.
Now that did make me laugh
02-01-2020, 02:51 PM
Now that did make me laugh
Thanks. I was going to do my standard 'salt n sauce' gag but thought I'd go a bit political instead:greengrin
WestCoastHibby
02-01-2020, 02:59 PM
Other than watching until the twentieth minute and giving up I’ve not really watched any telly since moving house last May.
My mind is all the better for it and I don’t waste time at work with “did you see?” Conversations
OAE was as dreadful as ever and the actors can only try their best with a dire script. Time for it to stop topping up Jonathan Watson’s pension pot. It’s finished and has been for years
I’m glad I read, play darts, and generally find better things to do with my time!
Oh and follow the Hibs too of course
Renfrew_Hibby
02-01-2020, 04:11 PM
So, an Auld dyed in the wool Hibby like me, is compared to the Huns,!!!!!! because I like to see our MPs getting the pish ripped out of them:wink::wink::wink:. Aye OK then!:na na::na na::na na:
Bye the way i dislike, nay detest, all Politicians, of every persuasion. But the SNP mostest of all:wink::wink:.
Each to their own, please accept my apologies.
02-01-2020, 04:34 PM
Just watched it on iplayer, jeesus christ that was painful to watch, never laughed once. :rolleyes:
02-01-2020, 04:52 PM
Frankie Boyle's World Order 2019 was shown on the 30th December and was very funny.
Easily blew away all the New Years Eve offerings which I avoided like the plague.
Catch it on the iplayer. P,S. Jamali Maddix was very good on it.
02-01-2020, 05:04 PM
Frankie Boyle's World Order 2019 was shown on the 30th December and was very funny.
Easily blew away all the New Years Eve offerings which I avoided like the plague.
I don't think he likes Michael Gove much. :faf:
02-01-2020, 05:15 PM
You are obviously still bevvied, stop drinking pal.
02-01-2020, 07:16 PM
Can’t wait to get torn into that.
Also, Charlie Brookers TV Wipe is absolutely brilliant. There was a catch up of the first half of the decade on the other night and I was about greeting when the Ukrainian protest bit came on.
02-01-2020, 09:05 PM
Was on again tonight. Good show but where were The Grousebeaters? :dunno:
03-01-2020, 02:11 AM
Can’t wait to get torn into that.
Also, Charlie Brookers TV Wipe is absolutely brilliant. There was a catch up of the first half of the decade on the other night and I was about greeting when the Ukrainian protest bit came on.
Brooker hosted an episode of "Have I Got More News For You" recently.
Always watch the extended version rather than the edited one which has all the life sucked out of it.
Watched TV Wipe when it was on. Needless to say my wife wasn't amused by it. Doesnae like fitba either. Funny that :wink:.
The Baldmans Comb
03-01-2020, 04:23 AM
OAE always has its moments and it was brave this year to take a dig at the holier than thou climate change "brat" but fundamentally Watson can't get away from the fact that his excellent Souness, Chic "Chico" Young, "The Lawman" and "Where's the Burds" belong in a bygone age so his base material is now long gone.
He just cant do Gerrard, Lennon,Rodgers or Steve Clarke and his political British Unionist credentials are so transparent and not saved by the very poor scripts.
03-01-2020, 05:45 AM
OAE always has its moments and it was brave this year to take a dig at the holier than thou climate change "brat" but fundamentally Watson can't get away from the fact that his excellent Souness, Chic "Chico" Young, "The Lawman" and "Where's the Burds" belong in a bygone age so his base material is now long gone.
He just cant do Gerrard, Lennon,Rodgers or Steve Clarke and his political British Unionist credentials are so transparent and not saved by the very poor scripts.
It's not brave to take the pish out of a teenage autistic lassie, she's (sadly) about as easy a target as you can get.
03-01-2020, 06:09 AM
holier than thou climate change "brat"
Really?
03-01-2020, 07:13 AM
A teenage eco warrior girl getting stuck in to world leaders? Not brave at all. Just cheap and very obvious.
03-01-2020, 07:38 AM
It's not brave to take the pish out of a teenage autistic lassie, she's (sadly) about as easy a target as you can get.
Yep.
There's a real nastiness whenever Greta is mentioned both in real life conversation and online. I'm not sure what it is that some people find so threatening about a young lady with principles. I suppose when the President of the USA sees fit to mock her illness, looks and personality she's fair game to everyone.
03-01-2020, 08:03 AM
Yep.
There's a real nastiness whenever Greta is mentioned both in real life conversation and online. I'm not sure what it is that some people find so threatening about a young lady with principles. I suppose when the President of the USA sees fit to mock her illness, looks and personality she's fair game to everyone.
It's actually mental, when you think about it. They make her a target while the ****ers that are destroying the planet for their own profit walk away scot-free.
Cataplana
03-01-2020, 08:15 AM
I don't think the sketch particularly mocked Greta, it was a comment on the different attitude to climate change between generations. Something that is continually highlighted by the climate change campaigners.
It is appalling that people like Trump and the unreconstructed use such base tactics to attack her. I find it equally distasteful that people throw up their hands that a young autistic girl is being attacked.
If she is that vulnerable, why are we letting her be a target? The fact is she is a wonderful human with good points and bad, she deserves all the credit for the good things she does.
She also has the result to mess up. So, if some parents see the humour in having to live with a bossy teenager in the house , that's the way it is.
Her dad (her real dad, not Jonathan Watson) actually said he's not to bothered about her campaigning, because she is at least living like a normal teenager, compared to her limited activity before.
In years to come, the Greta sketch will end up in the same bin as Stanley Baxter blacking up. At the moment, it is still edgy, highlighting a tension between generations.
03-01-2020, 08:16 AM
It's actually mental, when you think about it. They make her a target while the ****ers that are destroying the planet for their own profit walk away scot-free.
It's people like Trump, who have massive financial stakes in businesses which are destroying the planet, that have lead the abuse against this brave young lady. This is to all our eternal shames.
Cataplana
03-01-2020, 08:44 AM
It's people like Trump, who have massive financial stakes in businesses which are destroying the planet, that have lead the abuse against this brave young lady. This is to all our eternal shames.
One of the things about Asperger's is that they find it difficult to anticipate danger. That's not necessarily bravery.
03-01-2020, 08:47 AM
One of the things about Asperger's is that they find it difficult to anticipate danger. That's not necessarily bravery.
I think there's a significant difference between anticipating danger and being aware of the risks of the campaigning that she's embarked on. It's likely that her parents (at least) will have discussed the implications and impact on her, so yes, it is bravery.
It's not the same as stepping out onto the road without looking.
HFC93
03-01-2020, 08:53 AM
Brave aye?
Cataplana
03-01-2020, 08:54 AM
I think there's a significant difference between anticipating danger and being aware of the risks of the campaigning that she's embarked on. It's likely that her parents (at least) will have discussed the implications and impact on her, so yes, it is bravery.
It's not the same as stepping out onto the road without looking.
I don't know if it is or not. I don't know her. I do know it is very hard to convince someone with AS to change their thinking, so I think it's a bit trite to speculate.
Who knows, there may be a comedy sketch there - about parents not being understood by tfeyr children, and vice versa.
I think she is a good person who is being used by people with agendas. I think she would be very confused if she found that out.
Cataplana
03-01-2020, 08:57 AM
Brave aye?
Brave in that it challenged people's thinking, and was likely to lead to all sorts of misguided complaints.
Brave, in that it worked on the premise that people should see the difference between humour and reality.
I wouldn't call saying she is a brat is brave.
The Baldmans Comb
03-01-2020, 08:57 AM
Just for clarity I don't regard the Scandinavian girl as a "brat'.
It was the President of Brazil who made the remark emboldened no doubt by Trumps cavalier attitude to climate change.
I haven't seen many other comedy forms attempt
to satarise the subject or the characters so if Trump is fair game (and he is) then same goes for the other side of the equation.
Cataplana
03-01-2020, 09:01 AM
It was the President of Brazil who made the remark emboldened no doubt by Trumps cavalier attitude to climate change.
to satarise the subject or the characters so if Trump is fair game (and he is) then same goes for the other side of the equation.
It's funny how people can take a joke when it's aimed at their opponents . It's not funny that they don't accept humour is a way of us all being made to reflect on ourselves.
03-01-2020, 09:08 AM
Oh aye. For balance.
03-01-2020, 09:09 AM
Was on again tonight. Good show but where were The Grousebeaters? :dunno:
I think she is a good person who is being used by people with agendas
You're repeating a tired cliche that gets used to beat people when nothing else sticks; invent a shadowy mystery man or men behind an imaginary curtain that are manipulating people and events.
Greta has explained who her support group is and why she uses it, to get her message across more effectively. But its not about truth, it's just new sticks to beat her with. I think the fact that the 'brat' word gets so easily inserted into the discussion is testament to the smear campaign. Probably funded by the same people that fund election campaigns.
It's gone all holy ground now...
03-01-2020, 09:15 AM
slightly o/t but made me laugh a lot more than oae (ie. at all) ...
https://i2-prod.edinburghlive.co.uk/incoming/article17479285.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/0_4m1j7fr9l2741.png
03-01-2020, 09:17 AM
On the bright side, it's 363 days till the next episode is aired
03-01-2020, 09:33 AM
Classic off-on-a-tangent thread.
From slagging OAE to education on asperger's.
Mind you yon Greetin' Thunderbird is nothing compared to the bloke on BBC News y'day who refuses to take the bus cos they kill insects.
Cataplana
03-01-2020, 10:30 AM
You're repeating a tired cliche that gets used to beat people when nothing else sticks; invent a shadowy mystery man or men behind an imaginary curtain that are manipulating people and events.
Greta has explained who her support group is and why she uses it, to get her message across more effectively. But its not about truth, it's just new sticks to beat her with. I think the fact that the 'brat' word gets so easily inserted into the discussion is testament to the smear campaign. Probably funded by the same people that fund election campaigns.
It's gone all holy ground now...
I don't dispute a smear campaign, and for men of my age to be making fun of her says more about their own feelings of impotence than anything else. Calling her a brat was disgusting.
This girl is being used by proponents of renewable energy, glass bottle manufacturers, and others, to sell their products. I don't think the likes of SSE, are that shadowy, in fact they tend to make a big play on their green credentials in corporate reports.
As it happens, I have no objection to renewable energy, or recycling materials. I could learn to live without animal products. What bothers me is that humour and humanity are getting removed from the discourse.
There are shades of Salem at play, in that we have to accept what the accuser alleges as truth, or we're part of the problem. It's a path that humans have repeatedly gone down and it leads to torture and intolerance.
What concerns me is that policy is being dictated by people who have not lived long enough to understand how to present an evidence based argument. Their ignorance of that makes them susceptible to joining mobs and having their views manipulated by more experienced operators.
In fact, they are probably funded by the same people who fund election campaigns.
Then there are the well meaning people who invest all their hopes and fears into Greta as a person. It's not enough for her to be an effective and relevant campaigner. She needs other qualities to put her beyond question.
So, she is brave, has Asperger's, is young, and is the target of beastly people. I wish I knew my Bible well enough to say how many "blesseds that makes." She is a human with what seems like high intelligence, but also with some of the naivety and anger of the young.
I think she is being used every time someone puts words in her mouth, or interprets what are is thinking, or what her motivation is. In fact, the more I look at this the parallels with Life of Brian come to light.
I say that people use that, because it is a long established tactic that to break rules, you use people who don't understand the rules. In much the same way that the first troops ashore in Normandy were all under 20 - not nature to understand mortality, and ready to do what older people would fear.
Back to the sketch. I don't think it was cruel, it was relevant, and it was hard to see whether the joke was on Greta, her parents, or us all
Classic off-on-a-tangent thread.
From slagging OAE to education on asperger's.
Mind you yon Greetin' Thunderbird is nothing compared to the bloke on BBC News y'day who refuses to take the bus cos they kill insects.
Squashed insects, windscreen. Now That's What I Call a Smear campaign.
03-01-2020, 11:01 AM
I don't dispute a smear campaign, and for men of my age to be making fun of her says more about their own feelings of impotence than anything else. Calling her a brat was disgusting.
This girl is being used by proponents of renewable energy, glass bottle manufacturers, and others, to sell their products. I don't think the likes of SSE, are that shadowy, in fact they tend to make a big play on their green credentials in corporate reports.
As it happens, I have no objection to renewable energy, or recycling materials. I could learn to live without animal products. What bothers me is that humour and humanity are getting removed from the discourse.
There are shades of Salem at play, in that we have to accept what the accuser alleges as truth, or we're part of the problem. It's a path that humans have repeatedly gone down and it leads to torture and intolerance.
What concerns me is that policy is being dictated by people who have not lived long enough to understand how to present an evidence based argument. Their ignorance of that makes them susceptible to joining mobs and having their views manipulated by more experienced operators.
In fact, they are probably funded by the same people who fund election campaigns.
Then there are the well meaning people who invest all their hopes and fears into Greta as a person. It's not enough for her to be an effective and relevant campaigner. She needs other qualities to put her beyond question.
So, she is brave, has Asperger's, is young, and is the target of beastly people. I wish I knew my Bible well enough to say how many "blesseds that makes." She is a human with what seems like high intelligence, but also with some of the naivety and anger of the young.
I think she is being used every time someone puts words in her mouth, or interprets what are is thinking, or what her motivation is. In fact, the more I look at this the parallels with Life of Brian come to light.
I say that people use that, because it is a long established tactic that to break rules, you use people who don't understand the rules. In much the same way that the first troops ashore in Normandy were all under 20 - not nature to understand mortality, and ready to do what older people would fear.
Back to the sketch. I don't think it was cruel, it was relevant, and it was hard to see whether the joke was on Greta, her parents, or us all
Squashed insects, windscreen. Now That's What I Call a Smear campaign.
Can you show us the links where we can see how these proponents of renewables are using her. Also to links where others are putting words in her mouth? I'd just be interested to see that as I find her hugely inspirational as does my 12 year old daughter who also has a disability. She really has advanced the cause of the environment and it's a pity that someone like her hadn't come along twenty years ago. Hopefully the young people of today inspired by her will be able to reverse the selfish attitude of most of the worlds political and industrial leaders. Once again the few have benefited greatly from the sacrifice of the many on the planet.
What age do you think people should be allowed to start working on policies? What about Donald Trump, 70 years old and making policy decisions on stuff he clearly has no ****ing clue about?
And I never watched OAE but I have it on good authority (my 76 year old mum) that it was pish
Cataplana
03-01-2020, 11:12 AM
Can you show us the links where we can see how these proponents of renewables are using her. Also to links where others are putting words in her mouth? I'd just be interested to see that as I find her hugely inspirational as does my 12 year old daughter who also has a disability. She really has advanced the cause of the environment and it's a pity that someone like her hadn't come along twenty years ago. Hopefully the young people of today inspired by her will be able to reverse the selfish attitude of most of the worlds political and industrial leaders. Once again the few have benefited greatly from the sacrifice of the many on the planet.
What age do you think people should be allowed to start working on policies? What about Donald Trump, 70 years old and making policy decisions on stuff he clearly has no ****ing clue about?
And I never watched OAE but I have it on good authority (my 76 year old mum) that it was pish
Nah, I was really commenting on whether the sketch was appropriate. I'm sure if you Google "secret corporate links to climate protestors" they will have made them public. I was sharing my thoughts, not what I know.
I too am close to disability, I don't see Asperger's as a disability. It is just a different way of thinking which can have positives and negatives for the person. In the same way that every one of our personalities can.
People with disabilities should have equal rights to us all, including the right to be criticised and corrected. Her AS should have nothing to do with this.
Of course there is no minimum age for forming opinions, but in an evidence based world, they should come from verifiable sources - how many of the school kids would understand concepts such as peer reviewed or double blind evidence?
Your mum was right OAE was pish, as usual.
Edit: PS I can't do smilies on my phone, and my post needs one or two. Bottom line for me was the sketch was ok.
03-01-2020, 11:19 AM
Of course there is no minimum age for forming opinions, but in an evidence based world, they should come from verifiable sources ...I would suggest that given the "evidence" of the last few years (Trump / Brexit / Johnson) we have moved a significant distance away from a time and place where major decisions are evidence based.
pollution
03-01-2020, 11:29 AM
Let us return to our sheep!
Cataplana
03-01-2020, 04:38 PM
I would suggest that given the "evidence" of the last few years (Trump / Brexit / Johnson) we have moved a significant distance away from a time and place where major decisions are evidence based.
Very good point.
03-01-2020, 09:20 PM
I would suggest that given the "evidence" of the last few years (Trump / Brexit / Johnson) we have moved a significant distance away from a time and place where major decisions are evidence based.
Spot on
03-01-2020, 09:39 PM
I quite liked it. Not the best but good few laughs.
Cataplana
04-01-2020, 12:56 PM
Humour is such a difficult area these days.
https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/tv/news/rosie-jones-greta-thunberg-last-leg-joke-channel-4-new-years-a9266366.html
My immediate reaction is - could a male have made the same joke?
04-01-2020, 10:52 PM
Humour is such a difficult area these days.
https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/tv/news/rosie-jones-greta-thunberg-last-leg-joke-channel-4-new-years-a9266366.html
My immediate reaction is - could a male have made the same joke?
Certainly not about a 16 year old, no.