View Full Version : Who Remembers...

24-12-2019, 08:13 AM
A thread to post things you remember from days gone by. I love nostalgia and often take to you tube to reminisce with tv programmes from my youth but also love music from growing up in the 80s and 90s. Post what you want whether its tv adverts, clothes or sweeties its just a bit of fun.

So who remembers this absolute banger of a tune from Hurricane #1 back in 1997? Its that good Oasis could have done it. :greengrin

https://youtu.be/JuFe6DfXrnA

24-12-2019, 08:20 AM
Splicer Bar (https://www.google.com/search?q=splicer+bar&oq=spli&aqs=chrome.0.69i59j69i60j69i65l2j69i60j69i57j69i60 j0l13.2573j0j4&sourceid=silk&ie=UTF-8#imgrc=1jv2bV9H8GaOdM:)

24-12-2019, 08:21 AM
Splicer Bar (https://www.hibs.net/pinimg.com/originals/cc/d6/6e/ccd66e3353471915aa7600c48aac5c29.jpg)

Link doesn't work C.

24-12-2019, 08:27 AM
Link doesn't work C.

Fixed.

24-12-2019, 09:20 AM
https://youtu.be/TX9h558Tz1E

24-12-2019, 09:28 AM
https://youtu.be/TX9h558Tz1E

Blankety blank? 😄

24-12-2019, 09:35 AM
Nothing better for a 7 year old than to feast on a diet of graphic bloody violence :greengrin

https://www.sixtiescity.net/Lifestyle/civilwarcards.htm

24-12-2019, 12:48 PM
Thunderbirds. Awesome.

24-12-2019, 01:55 PM
Nothing better for a 7 year old than to feast on a diet of graphic bloody violence :greengrin

https://www.sixtiescity.net/Lifestyle/civilwarcards.htm

Think i still have some dollar bills that cane with them.....and quite a few cards too.

Mind you...my tv21 decoder and full set man from UNCLE carda arwmypride and 😁joy

24-12-2019, 01:57 PM
Creamola foam anyone?

24-12-2019, 02:58 PM
Space Dust (https://www.google.com/search?q=space+dust+candy&oq=space+dust&aqs=chrome.1.69i57j0l15.7103j0j4&sourceid=silk&ie=UTF-8#imgrc=GAhkNp1699UXkM:)

24-12-2019, 03:00 PM
Space Dust (https://www.google.com/search?q=space+dust+candy&oq=space+dust&aqs=chrome.1.69i57j0l15.7103j0j4&sourceid=silk&ie=UTF-8#imgrc=GAhkNp1699UXkM:)

Used to drive ma dug nuts wi that stuff😂

24-12-2019, 03:11 PM
Chocolate crisps (http://www.google.com/search?q=chocolate+flavour+crisps&oq=chocolate+flavour&aqs=chrome.2.69i57j0l15.13633j0j4&sourceid=silk&ie=UTF-8#imgrc=BnO28tXMs3rXNM:)

Can't actually remember these, I was trying to find chocolate puff crisps similar to Wotsits from early 80s, might've even been late 70s, I'm sure there were fruit flavours too! 😕

24-12-2019, 03:22 PM
Putting a dod of vanilla ice cream in a glass of cream soda
....then scooping up the froth 😛

24-12-2019, 03:27 PM
Snax “crisps”
Nutty Bars
Burton’s Van
Mint Cracknel
Dainty Chews
Champion the Wonder Horse on a Sat morning before Swap Shop
TV Test card
Radio football commentary not starting till 3.40pm
Potted Meat
Grandstand and World of Sport
2 weeks in Kinghorn for my summer holiday 😳

24-12-2019, 03:53 PM
The Flashing Blade and Robinson Crusoe.

Eaststand
24-12-2019, 03:54 PM
Pans people on Top of the Pops :-)

Getting football results on Teletext

Waiting in a queue outside the Newsagent for the Pinks to arrive

Hogan's Heroes on TV

24-12-2019, 04:03 PM
Combat, 1960s Band of Brothers.

24-12-2019, 04:04 PM
Morning and afternoon postal deliveries.

24-12-2019, 04:09 PM
Andy Pandy, seemingly I used to cry when Andy was waving goodbye😢

24-12-2019, 04:14 PM
Snax “crisps”
Nutty Bars
Burton’s Van
Mint Cracknel
Dainty Chews
Champion the Wonder Horse on a Sat morning before Swap Shop
TV Test card
Radio football commentary not starting till 3.40pm
Potted Meat
Grandstand and World of Sport
2 weeks in Kinghorn for my summer holiday 😳

Family used to own a chalet at Sandhills. Loved it growing up.

24-12-2019, 04:19 PM
Good Twiglets, not the rubbish on sale now!
The Adventure Game

24-12-2019, 04:29 PM
Captain Scarlett.
Pogles Wood.
Paraffin fires and Esso Blue being sold from dispensers outside shops.
405 line TVs being replaced by an HD like 625 lines which also gave you a third channel. (BBC2)

24-12-2019, 04:44 PM
Portobello open air swimming pool

24-12-2019, 04:55 PM
Commando picture library books
The Banana Splits
The Double Deckers
The Arabian Nights
Spangles
Texan Bars
Alpine Lemonade Lorry
Casey Jones
Mr Ed
Buying a newspaper

24-12-2019, 05:09 PM
The Flashing Blade and Robinson Crusoe.

The Flashing Blade was class!!

24-12-2019, 05:24 PM
rental tvs with the coin slot.

Radio Rentals, Tandy.

24-12-2019, 06:09 PM
Battle of the Planets
Blake's 7
Space 1999
Flash Gordon (b&w version)
Fray Bentos Steak & Kidney Pie
Buckies (shellfish)
Tripe (stank the house out)

24-12-2019, 06:55 PM
Finding a certain type of magazine discarded in a hedge/on waste ground.
😀
Recycling at its best!

24-12-2019, 07:18 PM
😀
Recycling at its best!

Quality, found a whole pile of them discarded behind a wall at the local bowling club in my street when I was about 12. Sold them one by one to my mates. :greengrin

24-12-2019, 07:57 PM
😀
Recycling at its best!

a female friend’s son was hitting puberty several years ago, another friend and I told her about the adolescent male right-of-passage at finding the “porn bush”, that it only appears at the right moment in a young lad’s life and is a sign of moving to a new stage of enlightenment :greengrin

back on topic...

fruit poppets
decent sherbet fountains
puff crisps

24-12-2019, 08:03 PM
Decent lemon bon bons. Can never seem to find the ones that are covered in powdery lemon flavour on the outside and hard in the middle. :boo hoo:

24-12-2019, 08:12 PM
Opal Fruits
Old English Spangles.
Spangles

24-12-2019, 09:12 PM
rental tvs with the coin slot.

Radio Rentals, Tandy.

Glens, Hutchinsons, Robertsons and Stepek.

24-12-2019, 09:18 PM
Glens, Hutchinsons, Robertsons and Stepek.

Thomsons sports shop in Corstorphine.

bringbackbenny
24-12-2019, 09:42 PM
When green SMT buses weren't allowed to pick up in Edinburgh.

24-12-2019, 09:54 PM
KP crisps
Wham bars
Blokes selling Socialist Worker at the local shopping centre
Collection buckets for people on strike
Nae takeaway deliveries unless you were seriously well off
BT telephones with the dial, available in black, broon, mint green, yellow, bright red or grey.
Only four TV channels and nae remote control
Stray dugs in big packs, roaming the streets

24-12-2019, 10:08 PM
Two telly channels but occasionally being able to pick up Grampian
Bazooka Joe
Texan bar
Whopper bars
Dentene
Beachnut chewing gum
Monkey nuts

Batman
The Monkees
The Man from UNCLE
Michael Bentines Potty Time
Do not adjust your set, yet
Simon Dee

Look In
The Tiger
The Victor

And many more including pubs closing at 10 and not open Sundays

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

24-12-2019, 10:11 PM
Video recorders and video hire shops
Vinyl records
Gas board/electricity board shops to pay the bill
Your maw taking a wee ticket from the machine at the Tesco deli counter then waiting for her number to be called
Pishing in the swimming baths being obligatory
When shops would sell cigarettes to kids, no questions asked
Budding windaes and knock-a-door-run

24-12-2019, 10:27 PM
TV-AM
Going Live! With philip Schofield and Sarah Green
Timmy Mallet
Bob Says Opportunity Knocks
Seaside specials on BBC on Saturdays nights in the summer, which seemed so glamourous, being live from Weston-Super-Mare etc.
Wogan chat show
Brookside
Ford Capri, Ford Orion, Vauxhall Astra
Those wee government disabled cars which were always sky blue
The Beano and Dandy and joining their membership clubs

24-12-2019, 11:33 PM
TV-AM
Timmy Mallet
Seaside specials on BBC on Saturdays nights in the summer, which seemed so glamourous, being live from Weston-Super-Mare etc.
Wogan chat show
Brookside

Timmy Mallet was one of my favourites as a kid. My mum made me one of his hammers :faf:

25-12-2019, 03:40 AM
When green SMT buses weren't allowed to pick up in Edinburgh.

How far back was this? I can mind getting an SMT bus from clerry to princes St with my granny. The number 86 which went to Mayfield. This would be around 1990/91

KP crisps
Wham bars
Blokes selling Socialist Worker at the local shopping centre
Collection buckets for people on strike
Nae takeaway deliveries unless you were seriously well off
BT telephones with the dial, available in black, broon, mint green, yellow, bright red or grey.
Only four TV channels and nae remote control
Stray dugs in big packs, roaming the streets

Loved Wham bars. My ma had a green phone with the round dial.
TV shutting down at night with God Save the Queen being played.

Two telly channels but occasionally being able to pick up Grampian
Bazooka Joe
Texan bar
Whopper bars
Dentene
Beachnut chewing gum
Monkey nuts

Batman
The Monkees
The Man from UNCLE
Michael Bentines Potty Time
Do not adjust your set, yet
Simon Dee

Look In
The Tiger
The Victor

And many more including pubs closing at 10 and not open Sundays

Friday night on BBC2 either before or after Doctor Who?

Video recorders and video hire shops
Vinyl records
Gas board/electricity board shops to pay the bill
Your maw taking a wee ticket from the machine at the Tesco deli counter then waiting for her number to be called
Pishing in the swimming baths being obligatory
When shops would sell cigarettes to kids, no questions asked
Budding windaes and knock-a-door-run

Aye, the old and now long gone Safeways at East Craigs was like that.
Yep, A single fag and a match for 20p. When I smoked 10 Regal kingsize were £1.51 in the local shop, I was about 13 at the time.

TV-AM
Timmy Mallet
Wogan chat showBrookside

Alive and Kicking on a Saturday morning. I'm sure the phone number was 0181 811 8181 :greengrin

bringbackbenny
25-12-2019, 07:41 AM
How far back was this? I can mind getting an SMT bus from clerry to princes St with my granny. The number 86 which went to Mayfield. This would be around 1990/91

It was in the late 80's, 1986/7 I think. Before then so frustrating as loads of empty greens would fire past!

25-12-2019, 08:09 AM
Birds pecking the silver foil on milk bottles to steal the cream.

25-12-2019, 08:33 AM
Timmy Mallet was one of my favourites as a kid. My mum made me one of his hammers :faf:

Surely wasn't a hammer?

25-12-2019, 08:50 AM
Birds pecking the silver foil on milk bottles to steal the cream.

That's women for you, should've just went to the shop like the rest of us! 😁

25-12-2019, 09:51 AM

Loved Wham bars. My ma had a green phone with the round dial.
TV shutting down at night with God Save the Queen being played.

Friday night on BBC2 either before or after Doctor Who?

Aye, the old and now long gone Safeways at East Craigs was like that.
Yep, A single fag and a match for 20p. When I smoked 10 Regal kingsize were £1.51 in the local shop, I was about 13 at the time.

Alive and Kicking on a Saturday morning. I'm sure the phone number was 0181 811 8181 :greengrinRe Man from UNCLE. You youngsters eh?.... . Thursday night after Top of the Pops in the 60's.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

25-12-2019, 10:03 AM
It was in the late 80's, 1986/7 I think. Before then so frustrating as loads of empty greens would fire past!
Before de-regulation they only stopped at each fare stage on the way in and out of town.

25-12-2019, 10:05 AM
Before de-regulation they only stopped at each fare stage on the way in and out of town.I could always get either the corporation 43/44 or the SMT Balerno bus to and from Kingsknowe.

25-12-2019, 10:44 AM
I could always get either the corporation 43/44 or the SMT Balerno bus to and from Kingsknowe.
I could get the 129 but had to get off the stop before or end up half way down Portobello Rd.

25-12-2019, 11:05 AM
That's women for you, should've just went to the shop like the rest of us! 😁

I was going to make a comment about birds and peckers, but thought better of it!

25-12-2019, 11:23 AM
Surely wasn't a hammer?

Doh! Mallet. Clue is in the name.

25-12-2019, 12:21 PM
U, A and X rated films

25-12-2019, 12:40 PM
😀
Recycling at its best!

My ma found a bed on top of my scud mags.(tam Cowan only funny joke)

25-12-2019, 01:02 PM
U, A and X rated films

The red triangle on Ch4

25-12-2019, 01:04 PM
Music on MTV.

25-12-2019, 01:21 PM
Putting a dod of vanilla ice cream in a glass of cream soda
....then scooping up the froth 😛

I was in a place a few months ago and they had these on the drinks menu. Absolute class.

25-12-2019, 03:24 PM
White dug *****.

25-12-2019, 07:36 PM
Before de-regulation they only stopped at each fare stage on the way in and out of town.

What about the wee City Sprinter buses that were about around 80s/90s? Didn't last long.

25-12-2019, 07:47 PM
What about the wee City Sprinter buses that were about around 80s/90s? Didn't last long.

I remember one of them went to Lochend or Restalrig.

25-12-2019, 07:57 PM
I remember one of them went to Lochend or Restalrig.

C5.

26-12-2019, 12:15 AM
C5.

Not much room for passengers in one of them.

wpj
26-12-2019, 12:27 PM

I had a mate who drove them, in summer it was like a greenhouse on wheels. He ended up driving into a bust stop, no injuries just dented pride

26-12-2019, 08:45 PM
Off licences.

27-12-2019, 06:52 AM
Italian run fish n chip shops.

Alfiembra
27-12-2019, 07:40 AM
The George Cinema
Portobello Power Station
Running for a Bus and jumping on the back as it pulled away.
Jumping off a bus before it stopped.
Bus tokens
Bazooka Joes

27-12-2019, 09:00 AM
The George Cinema
Portobello Power Station
Bus tokens
Bazooka JoesAll of that! Used to go to the George on saturday afternoon in the late 60's and muck about round the power station when we'd nothing else to do.

27-12-2019, 01:56 PM
Italian run fish n chip shops.

A "pizza pie" supper.

27-12-2019, 02:03 PM
Heading down to Peebles or Hawick for a few drinks on a Sunday to watch the live Sunday game on ITV Borders or BBC England (pre Sky).

Cinderella Rockerfellas
Mister Mustards
Lord Toms
Styx
Biancos
The Rutland

You can probably tell I was in my prime in the late 80s 😎

27-12-2019, 02:08 PM
Mister Mustards

I was never out of the place. Never ever got a drink on the house though, Ahmed was a right tightwad :greengrin

27-12-2019, 03:33 PM
Fairbairns in Albert Street. You paid at the booth by the door. It was run like a military operation.

27-12-2019, 03:37 PM
The Eldorado for the wrestling

27-12-2019, 03:41 PM
The scabby la la in its final years a dirty coat brigade sort of establishment

27-12-2019, 04:27 PM
Fairbairns in Albert Street. You paid at the booth by the door. It was run like a military operation.

My mum worked in there many moons ago.

27-12-2019, 04:46 PM
The Penguin Cafe
The Burnt Post
Bull n Bush
Henry J Beans
Platform One
Banks Shop in Corstorphine
Raleigh Budgie, Chipper, Tomahawk, Chopper
Grifter

27-12-2019, 06:46 PM
"Raving Bonkers" boxing robots.

norwayhibs
27-12-2019, 07:50 PM
Auf weidersehn pet on the telly. Hogmanay up at the Tron

27-12-2019, 08:31 PM
Evel Knievel (both the real thing jumping buses at Wembley live on the TV as well as the toy).
Eddie Kidd (went to see him at Saughton enclosure)
Big Daddy, Giant Haystacks, Kendo Nagasaki.
Blue Peter or Magpie?
Guiders/bogies
Homemade skateboards (made with a roller skate).

27-12-2019, 08:44 PM
Catching bees and wasps on flowers in a used jam or coffee jar 😳

28-12-2019, 12:13 AM
The red triangle on Ch4

Special discretion required, I think was the tagline for those movies.

Gambit Chocolate bar

KP Sky divers

Texan bar

"Good afternoon grapple fans" (My que to go out)

Jigsaw (With Bigum the large tartan or some design socked foot)

Friday Night Live with Ben Elton

The Incredible Hulk with Bill Bixby

Sportsnight: With Harry Carpenter. Waiting to watch the highlights of a match played in England midweek only to find out it had been cancelled due to waterlogged pitch and they were going to instead show you figure skating from Helsinki.

The Chart Show hoping that the pish song did not get the "play" icon appear.

Norman Collier

Taking photos on holiday and having to wait a week to get them developed and the disappointment on how bad most are usually a finger in the way of lens etc.

Waiting several minutes for games to load on various computer systems.

Fine Fare

Tudor crisps

Various yellow pages advert " I were right about that saddle though"

Brooke Bond Orange Label

28-12-2019, 06:13 AM
Games....

Crossfire

Rebound

28-12-2019, 07:25 AM
Best man falls
Japs and commandos

Eaststand
28-12-2019, 07:47 AM
Aplogies if some of these have already been used.

The Rag and Bone man playing a tune on a trumpet.

Opening cans of beer with those wee metal tools we needed.

Woods the Baker on Albert Street.

Salvation Army Bands singing outside somebodies House.

One standard hairstyle for boys, (no wax/gel) :-0

Chippy suppers wrapped in newspaper

BS44
28-12-2019, 09:26 AM
Old style door bells in tenement buildings, and when your bell was rung you went out onto the landing pulled up a lever that lifted the latch inside the stair door to let whoever rang the bell in. Our stair got renovated in the 80s so the bell, the wires, and the pulleys was there in place and working for 90 years until it got replaced by a intercom

28-12-2019, 10:03 AM
Playing outside (without an adult)
Uncontactable (all day) by your mum and dad
Getting a row for using the phone
No central heating
Icicles hanging from gutters
Frozen windows in your house

Seekyit
28-12-2019, 10:16 AM
No central heating

Yes folks that was the late 70s

Incredible thinking about that now. As soon as you learnt to cross the road you were off.

28-12-2019, 11:16 AM
No central heating

And no double glazing. Houses must have been like igloos in the winter.

28-12-2019, 12:22 PM
The store horse & cart delivering milk and I can confirm it wasn’t Sean Connery

28-12-2019, 03:02 PM
The Penguin Cafe
The Burnt Post
Bull n Bush
Henry J Beans
Platform One
Banks Shop in Corstorphine
Raleigh Budgie, Chipper, Tomahawk, Chopper
Grifter

Before I graduated to a Grifter I had a Raleigh Strika. My teacher in P3 or P4 gave me a telling off for my school diary, saying it must be ‘Strike’ or ‘Striker’. She was not buying the fact it was a ‘Strika’.

28-12-2019, 05:03 PM
The number 1 and number 6 buses doing full circulars, same with the 32 and 52. Sitting on them all day with your mates because you were bored.

28-12-2019, 08:57 PM
The number 1 and number 6 buses doing full circulars, same with the 32 and 52. Sitting on them all day with your mates because you were bored.[emoji106]

Done the 32/52 many a time, always seemed the longest route ever, ironically ended up using them even more all the way round from Magdalene to Granton and back to see the girlfriend, now the wife!

Bloody buses.

28-12-2019, 09:08 PM
Not having to wear a seatbelt in the back of a car.

28-12-2019, 09:37 PM
Not having to wear a seatbelt in the back of a car.

Not having to wear a seatbelt in the front of a car.

28-12-2019, 09:44 PM
Not having to wear a seatbelt in the front of a car.
Not even having the option.

Logie Green
28-12-2019, 10:10 PM
The ITV Seven
Wrestling on World of Sport
Football fanzines
Half and half bobble hats
Casuals in Pringle jumpers
Scarves tied round wrists
Folk stamping their feet in the old stand at ER
The smell of tobacco and bovril at matches, thankfully masking the smell of p*sh

29-12-2019, 08:46 AM
...when people didn't automatically use the word "culpable" instead of "guilty".

29-12-2019, 11:05 AM
When folk knew what literally meant.

30-12-2019, 12:06 PM
The George Cinema
Portobello Power Station
Bus tokens
Bazooka Joes

Bazookajoes!!! Deep heat oitment smell reminds of them!!!

30-12-2019, 01:55 PM
When people didn’t take offence on behalf of someone else.

30-12-2019, 03:45 PM
Buses which had separate exit doors and entry doors, used to love jumping out if the driver opened the doors to get off before the bus came to a halt

30-12-2019, 04:12 PM
Buses which had separate exit doors and entry doors, used to love jumping out if the driver opened the doors to get off before the bus came to a halt

LRT have brought those buses back on some routes, albeit a newer version, still central exit doors though.

30-12-2019, 04:29 PM
Drunk blokes at the match in shirts and ties and raincoats.
Playbox biscuits.
Frys Five Centres Choc bars
Jubbly Orange "drink" (i.e. block of ice)
Cherry Ripe ice lollies

McEwans Pale Ale in green cans, possibly the worst beer in the world

30-12-2019, 04:51 PM
Dave Allen at Large. He had a no repeat clause in his contract so he really is a lost genius.

30-12-2019, 05:10 PM
LRT have brought those buses back on some routes, albeit a newer version, still central exit doors though.

It was hilarious listening to some daft nutter going mad at the driver recently as he hadn’t opened the doors to let him off😂
He just wouldn’t listen when told the middle doors were open and continued his rant much to the amusement of the driver.

30-12-2019, 05:54 PM

Smoking upstairs on said buses.

30-12-2019, 07:18 PM
Used glue bags. Plentiful in late 70's / early 80's.

30-12-2019, 07:23 PM
The only takeaway option was the chippy.

Bangkok Hibby
30-12-2019, 07:32 PM
James Bond's model Aston Martin DB5

Betty's in Craighall road. Great apple or jam turnovers

Waverly market carnival

30-12-2019, 08:59 PM

terrific news HC, cheers for the heads up :greengrin

may actually go looking for one of them just for the nostalgia :greengrin

stuart-farquhar
30-12-2019, 09:55 PM
Andy Pandy, seemingly I used to cry when Andy was waving goodbye😢

Apparently so did I.

30-12-2019, 10:02 PM
Toffee cups from the wee shop on the road back from Glenogle Swimming Baths towards Stockbridge.

30-12-2019, 10:32 PM
Circus with animals

30-12-2019, 11:38 PM
Porno mags lying about in public parks etc, or maybe just my area :greengrin

30-12-2019, 11:43 PM
Betty's in Craighall road.

Penny buns :agree:

30-12-2019, 11:44 PM
Filled Rolls :wink:

31-12-2019, 08:52 AM
Hibs Spain

31-12-2019, 09:38 AM
Pans people on Top of the Pops :-)

Getting football results on Teletext

Waiting in a queue outside the Newsagent for the Pinks to arrive

Hogan's Heroes on TV

Teletext was great, unless you were looking at a holiday and you forgot to pause the page, then had to wait on it coming back round again

31-12-2019, 09:57 AM
Dogs running on the pitch and getting cheered for their ball skills.

31-12-2019, 11:23 AM
The wee white dot in the middle of the TV screen when you turned it off.

31-12-2019, 11:31 AM
Having 6 or 7 pints then trying to get into Tiffanys so you would only need to buy 2 more when you were in there at the extortionate 36p a pint they were charging :greengrin

31-12-2019, 02:06 PM
Clark’s pathfinders with various paw prints on the sole and a compass in case you got lost .

31-12-2019, 02:12 PM
Clark’s pathfinders with various paw prints on the sole and a compass in case you got lost .There's a memory! Wasn't it wayfinders though?

Had a black pair when I was at school. Never seen one wolf, fox,badger, deer or anything else that was worth tracking with one shoe on and one off the whole time I had them.

31-12-2019, 02:17 PM
There's a memory! Wasn't it wayfinders though?

Had a black pair when I was at school. Never seen one wolf, fox,badger, deer or anything else that was worth tracking with one shoe on and one off the whole time I had them.

I stand corrected still waiting for the wolf and bear prints up the braids

31-12-2019, 02:18 PM
Snake belts

31-12-2019, 02:20 PM
I stand corrected still waiting for the wolf and bear prints up the braids[emoji23]
When you do successfully corner the bear the shoe will come in handy for chucking at it whilst you study the compass for the best direction to run.

31-12-2019, 02:25 PM
[emoji23]
When you do successfully corner the bear the shoe will come in handy for chucking at it whilst you study the compass for the best direction to run.

I’ll just run in opposite direction from the bear no compass needed

31-12-2019, 03:51 PM
Tomorrows world on bbc1

31-12-2019, 03:52 PM
terrific news HC, cheers for the heads up :greengrin

may actually go looking for one of them just for the nostalgia :greengrin

The airport bus has central doors, number 100 and I've seen the 31 with central doors as well. There will be other routes using them too

New 100 seat buses for Lothian – Lothian Buseshttps://www.lothianbuses.com › news › 2018/11 › new-100-seat-buses-for-... (https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=2ahUKEwjE7aDcrODmAhXwQ0EAHQwhAKkQFjAAegQIBBAB&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.lothianbuses.com%2Fnews%2F20 18%2F11%2Fnew-100-seat-buses-for-lothian%2F&usg=AOvVaw2HlWUZnIHRtNpLdlVXEMXU)

https://www.lothianbuses.com/news/2019/02/routes-for-our-new-enviro400xlb-revealed/ (https://www.lothianbuses.com/news/2019/02/routes-for-our-new-enviro400xlb-revealed/)

31-12-2019, 04:05 PM
There's a memory! Wasn't it wayfinders though?

Yes they were Wayfinders. Clark’s also did the “Clark’s Commandos’ and the Grand Prix. The Grand Prix shieshad tread on the sole like a tyre.:greengrin

31-12-2019, 04:13 PM
The airport bus has central doors, number 100 and I've seen the 31 with central doors as well. There will be other routes using them too

New 100 seat buses for Lothian – Lothian Buseshttps://www.lothianbuses.com › news › 2018/11 › new-100-seat-buses-for-... (https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=2ahUKEwjE7aDcrODmAhXwQ0EAHQwhAKkQFjAAegQIBBAB&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.lothianbuses.com%2Fnews%2F20 18%2F11%2Fnew-100-seat-buses-for-lothian%2F&usg=AOvVaw2HlWUZnIHRtNpLdlVXEMXU)

https://www.lothianbuses.com/news/2019/02/routes-for-our-new-enviro400xlb-revealed/ (https://www.lothianbuses.com/news/2019/02/routes-for-our-new-enviro400xlb-revealed/)

The number 16 often has them.

Possibly the 10 and 11 sometimes have them as well but I can't quite remember.

My partner hates them as they have little space for buggies and she doesn't know whether or not to shout thanks to the driver from halfway up the bus.

31-12-2019, 04:53 PM
Spacehoppers

31-12-2019, 06:06 PM
Tomorrows world on bbc1

The Tomorrow People. Loved that.

31-12-2019, 06:10 PM
Rainbow was really weird thinking back

Frankhfc
31-12-2019, 07:57 PM
Runaround was not that bad a kids show at the time :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=20&v=bKotW13Id0w&feature=emb_l ogo

31-12-2019, 10:08 PM
Crypton factor

Alfiembra
01-01-2020, 03:11 PM
Caramac bars
Scrambles, Scatters or Pouroouts whatever you called them.
Sherbet fountains
Lucky Bags
Shoot
Victor
Hotspur
winding bus drivers up ringing the bell 3 times

01-01-2020, 03:47 PM
Nutty Bar.

Now available in the form of imported American Payday bars in Sainsbury.

01-01-2020, 03:48 PM
The Tomorrow People. Loved that.

We used to play at that as kids. I’ve no idea how, but we did.

Space 1999 as well!!

01-01-2020, 04:11 PM
Egg and milk chews
Spanish gold kids tobacco
sweetheart stout - much worse than pale ale
balaclava's in winter
Wembley plastic footballs that weighed half a stone
koolopop juice
carbolic soap like half bricks at the baths.

01-01-2020, 04:19 PM
Egg and milk chews
Spanish gold kids tobacco
sweetheart stout - much worse than pale ale
balaclava's in winter
Wembley plastic footballs that weighed half a stone
koolopop juice
carbolic soap like half bricks at the baths.
Remember Spanish Gold.....and sweetie cigarettes with the end coloured red so it looked like it was lit!!

Worth looking up Supersizers Go 70s on YouTube for more of this era’s delights with Giles Coren and Sue Perkins doing the time travelling.

01-01-2020, 04:24 PM
Going to Mr Mills sweet shop and his ancient till.

Sarah's Sweet Shop and the bakery on the corner by the steps up to Wilfrid Terrace for a Jam doughnut and a chocolate man.

TransWorld Sport before Football Italia on a Saturday morning. The Pink News, The Belmonte Fry opposite the Piershill Squares, the Morrisons being a Safeway, the Safari Lounge having fake reeds in the window as if it was somehow exotic.

Playing football for hours and hours down the park in the holidays and reinacting the latest Serie A/Premiership goals (or so we thought..)

Going to the Lismore shops from Parsons Green and thinking that was absolutely daring and radge ��

In the early 90's, before the traffic calming measures were put in on the Willowbrae hill up to Parsy, we often slid all/most of the way down the hill on our jackets when the road's gutters were frozen and parked cars for far fewer than they are now.

01-01-2020, 04:28 PM
Chandler shops

Bangkok Hibby
01-01-2020, 05:29 PM
A wee toy mouse that popped out a hole in a fishmongers in Leith walk when the guy behind the counter pushed a button

01-01-2020, 05:57 PM
Having a wimpey on the top floor cafe of the old leith coop....followed by a strawberry and jammy coconut cake😛😛

BS44
01-01-2020, 11:06 PM
Black and white bars in top right of tv screen that would appear just before adverts came on

02-01-2020, 08:34 AM
Going to see George Best’s debut for Hibs at Love Street. By train. Aged 12 with my pal (also aged 12). And my mum and dad not aware of where I was.

02-01-2020, 11:48 AM
cartoonies

02-01-2020, 11:55 AM
Crackerjack pencils

02-01-2020, 06:10 PM
Metal roller skates.
Sweatbands.
Pepe key rings.
Pod tags.

02-01-2020, 07:17 PM
Completely knackering your fingers un-broncoing the swings.

02-01-2020, 07:55 PM
Glen Michael’s cavalcade

02-01-2020, 08:10 PM
Paladin and the worst wig since Sinatra

03-01-2020, 07:53 AM
One armed bandits that had tubes of fruit pastilles as prizes.....

04-01-2020, 06:46 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UDfAdHBtK_Q

04-01-2020, 02:43 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UDfAdHBtK_Q

Ah....john entwhistle - one of the most underrated bass players of all time ...

04-01-2020, 06:15 PM
Renault 5s

04-01-2020, 06:26 PM
The smell of a pub who you could still smoke in them.

Dan Sarf
04-01-2020, 07:15 PM

The cigarette smoke flickering through the light from the projector at the movies.

05-01-2020, 07:34 PM

It's much better for one's health and clothes now, but I can't decide whether I prefer the fug of smoke or the decided reek of BO

06-01-2020, 09:16 AM
It's much better for one's health and clothes now, but I can't decide whether I prefer the fug of smoke or the decided reek of BO

My memory of the smoking ban is walking into a pub teatime on Sunday to an awful mixture of BO and farts.

06-01-2020, 09:41 AM

We've got smoking pubs over here, I avoid them given the choice as they're absolutely minging.

06-01-2020, 12:06 PM
Hospital tig :greengrin

06-01-2020, 12:16 PM

?

06-01-2020, 12:30 PM

Was that a bit like hunt the ****? Catch them and just about put them in hospital.

06-01-2020, 12:42 PM
?

Game when I was wee back in the 60s....when you were "he" you had to tig someone on whatever part of their body you chose and they had to run around holding that part until they tigged the next person etc. etc....

06-01-2020, 12:42 PM
Was that a bit like hunt the ****? Catch them and just about put them in hospital.

06-01-2020, 04:06 PM
Game when I was wee back in the 60s....when you were "he" you had to tig someone on whatever part of their body you chose and they had to run around holding that part until they tigged the next person etc. etc....

Every day's a school day.

06-01-2020, 05:05 PM
British bulldogs...took some hard knocks in that! Gave some too! 😄

06-01-2020, 05:14 PM
Murder Ball.

06-01-2020, 06:50 PM
Shapes.....(a playground game of hitting a wall with a football with only one kick. You stand against the wall and try and stop it when you have missed and last man (or woman) left in is the winner. Generally played on school playground concrete area when “Keep Off The Grass” signs were up.)

06-01-2020, 07:06 PM
Nicky Tams in Victoria Street
TISWAS
42 bus circle route
Woolworths
Stack of 7” singles on the record player
MB Bars
School Blazers
Original 60s Batman

06-01-2020, 07:11 PM
Henry Disston Saws (for joiners of my era) used to get it set and sharpened, weighed a bloody ton but bought one as an apprentice.

07-01-2020, 01:45 AM
Games of Hampden or Hampden pairs and goaly any.

Bangkok Hibby
07-01-2020, 03:41 AM
Nicky Tams in Victoria Street
TISWAS
42 bus circle route
Woolworths
Stack of 7” singles on the record player
MB Bars
School Blazers
Original 60s Batman

Nicky Tams, best bar in town at one time

MagicSwirlingShip
07-01-2020, 06:52 AM
Mr Boni’s Ice cream cakes

07-01-2020, 03:03 PM
Nicky Tams, best bar in town at one time

:thumbsup::agree:

07-01-2020, 09:56 PM
Shapes.....(a playground game of hitting a wall with a football with only one kick. You stand against the wall and try and stop it when you have missed and last man (or woman) left in is the winner. Generally played on school playground concrete area when “Keep Off The Grass” signs were up.)

did you go to Abbeyhill Primary by any chance? My dad went there, and talks occasionally about playing Shapes there

07-01-2020, 10:48 PM
did you go to Abbeyhill Primary by any chance? My dad went there, and talks occasionally about playing Shapes there

A well known "football" game in the Slateford area in the early '80s.

08-01-2020, 07:06 AM

Davidson Mains. A big wall to hit 😀

08-01-2020, 12:10 PM
"1,2,3 helpy caught"

09-01-2020, 10:19 AM
Jocky Allen's bike shop

patch1875
09-01-2020, 10:29 AM
Jocky Allen's bike shop

Or Hills and Spence &Spence.

And Gracies and Lannies

09-01-2020, 10:29 AM
Jocky Allen's bike shop

Oh wow. Had completely forgot about that - smell of rubber tyres ! :)

Alfiembra
09-01-2020, 10:34 AM
3 and in, then deliberately missing when you had 2 so you didn't have to go in :greengrin

09-01-2020, 10:40 AM
3 and in, then deliberately missing when you had 2 so you didn't have to go in :greengrin

Ah....jumpers for goalposts [emoji2][emoji106]

09-01-2020, 11:06 AM

So true :greengrin

Practising being a right-footed Rivelino for hours on end during the 1970 World Cup.

09-01-2020, 06:48 PM
Hello Tosh gotta Toshiba.

09-01-2020, 06:50 PM
Lucky potatoes

09-01-2020, 07:21 PM
Spangles. Always last to be left in the Xmas selection boxes.

Mixu62
10-01-2020, 01:45 AM
I have a vague recollection of this so bare with me; when I was wee there used to be one of those "You are here" map things in Musselburgh, with buttons on it that would light up places/sites on the street map you might need to get to. Am I imagining that or can any older netters verify for me?

10-01-2020, 10:46 AM
I have a vague recollection of this so bare with me; when I was wee there used to be one of those "You are here" map things in Musselburgh, with buttons on it that would light up places/sites on the street map you might need to get to. Am I imagining that or can any older netters verify for me?

yup, I remember that... trying to think where it was though...

10-01-2020, 12:13 PM

IIRC Outside Brunton Theatre?

10-01-2020, 09:21 PM
Spangles. Always last to be left in the Xmas selection boxes.The Olde English being last last after the Fruit spangles were gone

11-01-2020, 07:53 AM
Childrens favourites on the radio followed by by family favourites, jimmy clitheroe and the navy lark. God i'm old!😳

11-01-2020, 11:36 AM
Whizzer and Chips.
Whoopee.

Alfiembra
11-01-2020, 12:10 PM
Childrens favourites on the radio followed by by family favourites, jimmy clitheroe and the navy lark. God i'm old!😳

Tales of the river bank
Supercar
Fireball XL5
Stingray

Mixu62
12-01-2020, 02:25 AM
Those vehicle based movies of the 70s and 80s. Smokey and the bandit, convoy, chequered flag or crash.

12-01-2020, 04:23 PM
Jocky Allen's bike shop

I spent a lot of time there in the 60s in my teens. I had a Viking racing bike with 10 Campagnolo gears. I thought it was the dog’s bollocks. Jocky Allen’s was a Mecca for bikers where you could get great advice and banter about bikes and cycling.