View Full Version : Derby Predictions

24-12-2019, 06:29 AM
So what's your thoughts on the Derby result?

Okay, Hibs have just lost their last two games in disappointing fashion, but they were against the runaway teams at the top of the league. Prior to that we've comfortably beaten the team in 3rd place (at the time) 3-0 in defeating Aberdeen and maybe less comfortably Motherwell. We're playing a team in poor form, who in the last week have just been beaten by the (at the time) bottom league team who hadn't won an away game for almost a year and then have just been beaten by the (at the time) bottom league team who hadn't won a game in eleven games since September. They are now bottom of the league, playing poorly, can't score, injured stars and a runaway manager.

There can only be one winner, right.

However, this is Hibs at Tiny, where our record is very poor. I think someone mentioned only 6 wins in 20 years or so, We've been here before going into the Derby on the front foot only to fall to a very disappointing defeat. How many times has that happened over the years.

It's surely not going to happen again.

So what's your prediction?

24-12-2019, 06:34 AM
Me personally, I'm going to sit on the fence and go for a fiercely fought draw. Not much football on show.

davidbee1875
24-12-2019, 06:41 AM
1-4 hibs. A game we will talk about for years to come 🙏🏻

24-12-2019, 06:43 AM
Frantic start with Hearts starting similarly to how they played against Celtic. We'll nick one on the break and then add a 2nd early in the 2nd half. They'll get one back about 70 minutes and it will be a nervy last 20 and we'll be rocking. Injury time will see them over commit and tired legs will see sub a simple long ball over the top find sub Horgan, he'll round the keeper and pass it into an empty bet to send the school end wild.

Either that or Hearts will score during that frantic start, we'll get dragged down to their level and lose 1-0....

24-12-2019, 06:45 AM
It's going to be tougher than some folk seem to think. Playing them on a tattie field never works for us. 0-0 or 0-1 courtesy of a flukey pish goal

24-12-2019, 06:46 AM
Frantic start with Hearts starting similarly to how they played against Celtic. We'll nick one on the break and then add a 2nd early in the 2nd half. They'll get one back about 70 minutes and it will be a nervy last 20 and we'll be rocking. Injury time will see them over commit and tired legs will see sub a simple long ball over the top find sub Horgan, he'll round the keeper and pass it into an empty bet to send the school end wild.

Either that or Hearts will score during that frantic start, we'll get dragged down to their level and lose 1-0....

The last bit sounds about spot on :greengrin

Cataplana
24-12-2019, 07:00 AM
1-0 Hearts (Berra)

24-12-2019, 07:02 AM
We'll thrash them, they are garbage

24-12-2019, 07:14 AM
They’re brutal, have nothing up top, a pish midfield and a defence that leaks goals.

Which means it’s all set up for Hertz to win 1-0 :rolleyes:

24-12-2019, 07:50 AM
Hearts to win by 2 unfortunately

24-12-2019, 08:07 AM
The last bit sounds about spot on :greengrin

Yup :agree:

Our record at Tynecastle is a bloody joke for a reason. No matter how dire they've been and/or good we've been in the weeks preceding the game, they always put in a, shall we say, "battling" performance and more often than not leave with a win.

Leitherhibs
24-12-2019, 08:11 AM
2-1 Hearts, sadly

24-12-2019, 08:13 AM
1-0 Hearts (Berra)

0-1 Hibernian (Berra)

24-12-2019, 08:17 AM
Hibernian to win.

Relegation fodder for a reason.

Bottom of the league at christmas. You really love to see it.

Roberts1875
24-12-2019, 08:21 AM
I'm sitting on the fence for a draw, largely as anytime I get confident, it tends to blow up in my face. That said, if we come out the gate quickly and get our noses in front they could well wilt! Please let it happen

24-12-2019, 08:30 AM
This will be the most disappointed that I've ever been about a derby defeat, if we lose this one.

2-1 Hibs.

24-12-2019, 08:33 AM
The ball to be blootered into oblivion.

A red card - probably Darren McGregor.

Hard fought win for the cabbage.

24-12-2019, 08:34 AM
We are better than them, we have better players, far better league position and our form is better. 1-0, 2-0 Hearts handing Herr Stendal his first win and making him an instant hero. :rolleyes:

24-12-2019, 08:41 AM
We are playing a team that is bottom of the league with 2 wins all season. There really shouldn't be any doubt about the result..but they are a "physical" side so we need someone to help counter that and play the "Marv" role. If we win the "battle" we will play them off the pitch.

24-12-2019, 08:42 AM
4-0 Hibs, never ever confident in a derby match, but I think we will absolutely spank them.

24-12-2019, 08:43 AM
I hate this and not sure how this will pan out.

A game against your local rivals, regardless of their position will be extremely difficult, especially on their patch.

Going to be boring and go for a draw of some sorts.

Unless we can get playing, like Aberdeen and not get dragged into a kick fest (which they will exploit) I’m hoping we do ok. An early goal for us would be amazing and open them right up.

1-1 or 1-2 Hibs

24-12-2019, 08:43 AM
It's got 0-0 written all over it. 2 ***** teams cancelling each other out.

24-12-2019, 08:56 AM
4-0 Hibs, never ever confident in a derby match, but I think we will absolutely spank them.

:confused::confused:

24-12-2019, 09:01 AM
I don't think the present squad are strong enough mentally so regrettably I can't see them rising to the challenge and thriving in the atmosphere that the Derby offers.

24-12-2019, 09:14 AM
We are a better football side but that won't come in to it. Stendel has a good footballing style, but they will be playing punt and grunt until they get relatively safe in the league. The formation and the roles that the players have will be important. I think that we can use their desperation to nick this one. Maybe 1-2.

24-12-2019, 09:16 AM
I'll guess at 1-1

24-12-2019, 09:19 AM
Not missed a derby there in 13 years and I’ve lost count the amount of times we were going there to finally give them a doing. Never happens and they always scrape it.

Hate to be a pessimist but I’m imo confident as we’ve been here before numerous times

Ronster117
24-12-2019, 09:24 AM
Let’s not kid ourselves that it’s going to be an easy game, tynie never is,but I have faith that Hibs have what it takes to beat the worst hertz team in living memory.im going for 0-3

24-12-2019, 09:59 AM
Let's be honest, absolutely anything could happen.

24-12-2019, 10:09 AM
Their being in a really bad place just now could be cancelled out to some extent by home advantage. Add our inconsistency to the mix and it’s set up for a draw.

24-12-2019, 10:18 AM
There can only be one winner, right.

Spot on!

So what's your prediction?

0-0

24-12-2019, 10:25 AM
I think its down to the ref in this one, his record for cards recently is game changing!
It will depend who gets the first red, the type of games we've had with them lately, it could be carnage for both teams!!!!!

Barman Stanton
24-12-2019, 10:34 AM
The difference in this site and Kickback is remarkable. They are dreadful, absultely dreadful, yet majority seem to think they will win. Here on the other hand, pessimistic as f***.

Even if you think we will lose, why say it :dunno: A bit of optimism before a derby never hurt. Its like after one bad result the toys are totally out the pram again.

24-12-2019, 10:58 AM
The difference in this site and Kickback is remarkable. They are dreadful, absultely dreadful, yet majority seem to think they will win. Here on the other hand, pessimistic as f***.

Even if you think we will lose, why say it :dunno: A bit of optimism before a derby never hurt. Its like after one bad result the toys are totally out the pram again.

It's their home game though??

24-12-2019, 10:59 AM
2-0 Hibs, though not a confident prediction.

That will come back to bite me on the erse I'm sure :rolleyes:

Barman Stanton
24-12-2019, 11:34 AM
It's their home game though??

Doesnt matter. They expect to win whenever they play us.

24-12-2019, 11:36 AM
1-1

And a joint statement after the game on how well the fans behaved.

hfc-1875
24-12-2019, 11:54 AM
Heart is saying a comfy 2-0 win, head is saying 0-0 or 1-0 to them 😫

24-12-2019, 11:54 AM

Title of the thread is predictions though, not expectations??

Barman Stanton
24-12-2019, 11:59 AM
Title of the thread is predictions though, not expectations??

I see that. But like I say, nothing wrong with a bit of optimism. I guess there is just a difference in our clubs in that sense unfortunately. I'm not confident at all, but still said Hibs to win.

CorrieHibs
24-12-2019, 12:29 PM
2-1 Hearts. They often rise to the derby occasion. Especially at home.

24-12-2019, 01:29 PM
Hearts 0-19 Hibernian

MacGruber
24-12-2019, 01:37 PM
2-1 Hearts. Think whatever the score it is inevitable we will lose. It is all stacking up! 2 wins in 26, then play Hibs. Stendal no wins in 14, then play Hibs. Bottom of the league pumped by everyone, then play Hibs.

Regardless of the result anyone thinking we are going to hammer them (if there's anyone that thinks that) are in for a shock. Rarely win at Tynie, it'll be a very hard game

24-12-2019, 01:55 PM
Bookies still have them as slight favourites.

24-12-2019, 02:06 PM
We're due them a hiding, if both teams play to their capabilities then we should win by a couple of goals. Hoofback seems to think it will be a cake walk and a good win for them, hope we shove it right up them.

24-12-2019, 02:58 PM
They are indisputably poor.
They will run about at full pelt from the 1st whistle but with little cutting edge.
We should let them run themselves out and then pick them off when the gaps start to appear as they tire.
As long as we don't get involved in the derby hoopla we should win.
Must treat it as a game against the divisions bottom team.

TimeForHeroes16
24-12-2019, 03:07 PM
4-0 hibs easy peasy happy Christmas

24-12-2019, 03:43 PM
If we're able to play football against a team struggling at the bottom of the league, then we'll win 2-0.

But we're playing at the Tiny PBS on a roughed up Subbuteo pitch against a team of thugs and wrestlers who will turn it into a physical battle of hoofball, so 0-0.

One good thing about the draw - Hearts need at least one win from either us or Aberdeen to avoid being bottom during the winter break. If they don't scrape those three points then all the talk will be about their terrible position and form, and they won't be able to do anything other than worry about it for three weeks. That will build even more pressure on them.

24-12-2019, 04:21 PM
Just to note that I botched the closing date of this poll and it ends at 7:30 tomorrow morning. Meant it to finish on Boxing Day.

So, if you want to vote best do it tonight.

24-12-2019, 04:24 PM
Quite depressing to think that around 60% of people who have responded so far don't think we'll beat the team bottom of the league.

Shows how bad our record is against them.

24-12-2019, 04:42 PM
Really can't see anything other than a Hibs win. They're bottom for a reason

24-12-2019, 04:45 PM
0-7.

24-12-2019, 04:47 PM
I voted draw and I'd take it right now. We aren't good enough yet to expect a win there

24-12-2019, 04:51 PM
0-3 just like 20 years ago. 👍

I need to start the match day thread though otherwise it might not come true 😉

CloudSquall
24-12-2019, 04:56 PM
Hearts 1 - 0 Hibs

I'm feeling negative about this one which actually I'm glad about (we f it up when I'm confident).

However I have a feeling it will be the textbook derby where we are dragged down to their level, lose the heids, and spend 90 minutes panicking and hoooooofing it long to Kamberi and Doidge long making Berra look like he belongs in Juve's back line.

I hope I'm wrong but I've been to this Rodeo one too many times before...

24-12-2019, 04:58 PM

How many derbies have you been to? I have been to some where near 80 - 100 a large percentage have not ended well for Hibs including when we scored in the 91st minute to go 4-2 in front yet failed to win.

Right or wrong it drags you down on the other hand Hearts fans during the same period have largely a very positive experience and will be very positive.

24-12-2019, 05:00 PM
Hearts cannot buy a win, are worst team in league, rooted at the foot. No leaders in the Hibs team, so perfect for a Yam win by 1.

24-12-2019, 05:01 PM
We are due to cuff them one day and I think its going to be Thursday, there will be mayhem in the home stands

4-0 the cabbage. Come on :giruy2:

24-12-2019, 05:13 PM
Heart tells me 3-0 Hibs, head tells me 2-1 Hearts

24-12-2019, 05:24 PM
It’s got 0-0 written all over it. And both teams won’t be disappointed with that I would imagine.

24-12-2019, 06:38 PM
1-0 Hearts. We've got better players in most positions but the attitude of most of them in the Rangers game was stinking. Hope I'm wrong and I definitely won't be betting on it.

hibeerealist
24-12-2019, 07:30 PM
Hibees 4-0 or 4-1 get on!!

Merry Christmas. :flag:

jingler1954
24-12-2019, 09:05 PM
1-5 Hibs

24-12-2019, 09:09 PM
They are indisputably poor.
They will run about at full pelt from the 1st whistle but with little cutting edge.
We should let them run themselves out and then pick them off when the gaps start to appear as they tire.
As long as we don't get involved in the derby hoopla we should win.
Must treat it as a game against the divisions bottom team.

Aye thats fine on paper but I don't trust us not to concede one or two really soft goals with that defence.

24-12-2019, 09:10 PM
1-5 Hibs

Haha, just imagine. Pitchfork and torches job that. :greengrin

24-12-2019, 09:26 PM
The score could be anything with quite alot of lucky and unlucky pings, played in a mudfest with lots of yellow cards.
Thats my prediction, though were long overdue a bit luck.

24-12-2019, 09:29 PM
2-1 Hibs

26-12-2019, 06:33 AM
So only 40% are predicting a Hibs win, 27% a Hertz win with 33% a draw.

Not a surprise really given our poor record at Tiny. Let's hope that we see a dominant Hibs display and that we take the chances that come our way. Whilst I predict a draw, I wouldn't be surprised to see us win this by a couple of goals.

C'mon the Hibernian.

26-12-2019, 06:49 AM
Nothing would surprise me. We could get turned over badly or win easily. Completely unpredictable given our crap record at Tynecastle. But they have crap record there too these days.

26-12-2019, 07:19 AM
Today is Stevie Mallan's day
Hibs by 2-0 or (more likely) 2-1

26-12-2019, 07:25 AM
3 1 Hibs. Doidge Boyle Mallan.

Charlie123
26-12-2019, 08:41 AM
3-1 hibs. Doidge brace and Boyle. Berra to be sent off.

26-12-2019, 08:50 AM
It's got 0-0 written all over it. 2 ***** teams cancelling each other out.

26-12-2019, 02:51 PM
Well done the 18 who said Hibs to win by two or more goals.

Never in doubt.

Charlie123
26-12-2019, 02:52 PM
Well done the 18 who said Hibs to win by two or more goals.

Never in doubt.

[emoji1319][emoji1319][emoji1319]

26-12-2019, 04:00 PM
2-0 Hibs, though not a confident prediction.

That will come back to bite me on the erse I'm sure :rolleyes:

I should have put a ton on it.