View Full Version : N word

Biff Tannen
21-12-2019, 08:18 PM
I was walking out the main stand and there was a group of boys talking about game and casually slipped in the N word about a rangers player. It was along the lines of ‘Aye when the ******** was running doon the wing....’ they were about 20 yards behind and I was utterly perplexed and not sure I heard right until a boy beside me looked at me and we were gobsmacked he then slipped it in again in another sentence as casual as you like and I turned round and shouted he was an utter embarrassment and should be ashamed of himself. I was absolutely boiling with rage. Who the ****** are these Neanderthals? It’s also the reason why racism will unfortunately never be wiped out. Actual said it like it was normal. Utter ****bag and probably the same phanny that threw the bottle. Do not need people like that in our support away and F off and never come back

wallpaperman
21-12-2019, 08:23 PM
I was walking out the main stand and there was a group of boys talking about game and casually slipped in the N word about a rangers player. It was along the lines of ‘Aye when the ******** was running doon the wing....’ they were about 20 yards behind and I was utterly perplexed and not sure I heard right until a boy beside me looked at me and we were gobsmacked he then slipped it in again in another sentence as casual as you like and I turned round and shouted he was an utter embarrassment and should be ashamed of himself. I was absolutely boiling with rage. Who the ****** are these Neanderthals? It’s also the reason why racism will unfortunately never be wiped out. Actual said it like it was normal. Utter ****bag and probably the same phanny that threw the bottle. Do not need people like that in our support away and F off and never come back

You get it in all walks of life, casual racism is absolutely rife, our support are not immune we have some absolute knuckle draggers.

I remember many years back sitting in the old North Stand listening to some old goat Hibs fan call Kevin Harper a n***** repeatedly while his stupid son sat by and said nothing.

Some things sadly will never change.

21-12-2019, 08:31 PM
You get it in all walks of life, casual racism is absolutely rife, our support are not immune we have some absolute knuckle draggers.

I remember many years back sitting in the old North Stand listening to some old goat Hibs fan call Kevin Harper a n***** repeatedly while his stupid son sat by and said nothing.

Nothing casual about using that word

21-12-2019, 08:34 PM
The same ****s with the attitude that throwing a bottle is acceptable at a football stadium.

21-12-2019, 08:35 PM
And right after 90 odd minutes listening to thousands of adults singing about killing Catholics. What a world we live in

21-12-2019, 08:35 PM
The use of that type of language has been encouraged by the incumbent at No 10 and racism and xenophobia are generally on the rise. We have a small minority of cretins who no doubt will all have a ticket for Tiny and make a tit of themselves

21-12-2019, 08:40 PM
And right after 90 odd minutes listening to thousands of adults singing about killing Catholics. What a world we live in

Seriously stop trying to deflect this yes that is terrible and there are 100's of thread over the years on that subject stick to the topic and post on other threads.

wallpaperman
21-12-2019, 08:41 PM
Nothing casual about using that word

I agree, probably didn’t phrase that the best. No doubt the people that said it would shrug it off as casual though.

21-12-2019, 08:44 PM
I agree, probably didn’t phrase that the best. No doubt the people that said it would shrug it off as casual though.

Yeah I agree no dig at you :aok:

21-12-2019, 08:44 PM
Society has people with prejudices of all kinds, including racists.

As much as we'd like it to be different, no football team's support will ever be immune.

HibeeHibernian4
21-12-2019, 09:48 PM

I get what you were meaning, it was used casually, which is probably more alarming than somebody saying it for shock value etc.

Saying such a disgusting, offensive and racist word so casually is the sign of someone who isn't aware of what a bigoted prick they are, or they are and they've made peace with it. Either way, it's a disgrace.

21-12-2019, 10:28 PM
Seriously stop trying to deflect this yes that is terrible and there are 100's of thread over the years on that subject stick to the topic and post on other threads.

Unless I’m having a woosh moment, I don’t read that as deflecting. Racism and sectarianism are one and the same in most decent folks’ book.

21-12-2019, 10:31 PM

I don’t think he was trying to deflect it at all :confused:

It’s a relevant point, at football in general people seem to think it’s totally acceptable to do/say totally unacceptable things. Whether it’s the N bomb, sectarian, homophobic or probably plenty other things I can’t think of off the top of my head and whether it’s Hibs, Hearts, Rangers, Celtic or whoever else, every club has them and more needs to be done to be stamped out.

21-12-2019, 10:55 PM
The N word is used heavily by US black artists in hip and rap. Maybe that is where the young team are picking it up from.

21-12-2019, 11:12 PM

Why would the racists son be stupid?

21-12-2019, 11:14 PM
The N word is used heavily by US black artists in hip and rap. Maybe that is where the young team are picking it up from.

Think people of black skin can call others that name.

21-12-2019, 11:27 PM

We’re no in Compton tho’ - muppets. And what’s it with jamming your mitts down your trousers. Bonkers man.

21-12-2019, 11:29 PM
The N word is used heavily by US black artists in hip and rap. Maybe that is where the young team are picking it up from.apologist?

21-12-2019, 11:32 PM
I was actually gobsmacked a few years back when some rodent in the same row as me screamed to a Hibs player...…..get tae f/ck ya useless Irish *******. unbelievable. !!!!!

22-12-2019, 12:50 AM
apologist?

Not making apology for their behaviour. The use of the n word is certainly a no no for older generations and was used as a racist slur. But for younger people they may not be aware of these conotations and are only familiar of the word through rap and hip hop. Being in Scotland they may not be aware of who can and cannot use the word in US youth culture without causing offence. The language of US black youth has certainly slipped into our youth's vocabulary. So for an older person using the word is racist but for a young person that may not be the case.

Take the c word which is deeply offensive to women. But is used such as he is good c. He's fast c. Personally because I am older I would never use either word because of their meaning from my era when growing up.

22-12-2019, 03:21 AM
Not making apology for their behaviour. The use of the n word is certainly a no no for older generations and was used as a racist slur. But for younger people they may not be aware of these conotations and are only familiar of the word through rap and hip hop. Being in Scotland they may not be aware of who can and cannot use the word in US youth culture without causing offence. The language of US black youth has certainly slipped into our youth's vocabulary. So for an older person using the word is racist but for a young person that may not be the case.

Take the c word which is deeply offensive to women. But is used such as he is good c. He's fast c. Personally because I am older I would never use either word because of their meaning from my era when growing up.

It's no secret that the N Bomb is a nasty racist slur and Scots teens don't grow up in so much of a bubble that this would pass them by. Well done the OP for shouting him out on it. Stupid Cs like that need to learn it's not acceptable

22-12-2019, 05:49 AM
It's no secret that the N Bomb is a nasty racist slur and Scots teens don't grow up in so much of a bubble that this would pass them by. Well done the OP for shouting him out on it. Stupid Cs like that need to learn it's not acceptable

Your reply is very uninformed and does take account of the cultural shift in the UK's youth. See the story below:

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2012/dec/04/man-cleared-racial-abuse-endearment

Weegreenman
22-12-2019, 07:22 AM
It seems it’s ok for rappers to slip it into their lyrics though. What’s that all about?

It’s not on. Fair play to the OP for saying something. I’m not sure I would.

22-12-2019, 07:28 AM
Inexcusable behaviour. It's been years since I've heard that word in public.

Cataplana
22-12-2019, 07:31 AM

Presumably they are too stupid to know they are not black hip hop artists? It's all about context, and they must have been extremely poor school attenders to have missed the fact the word is offensive.

Cataplana
22-12-2019, 07:32 AM
It seems it’s ok for rappers to slip it into their lyrics though. What’s that all about?

It’s not on. Fair play to the OP for saying something. I’m not sure I would.

Irony.

22-12-2019, 07:45 AM

I'm not buying that for a second. The chances of spotty white Scottish youth not knowing that it's an offensive racist term are zero in the social media age. They will have seen people using it and being called out on it on Facebook, Twitter etc. They will have been lectured on it at school. They will have been confronted about it or seen others confronted about it by peers at school. They would have had to have led a spectacularly sheltered life not to know that it is a racist term.

And they would also have to have been completely unaware of that fact that in the popular culture they consume on screen and in music the only people using that term are black. Then on top of that they would have to have no mirrors at home to be unaware that they themselves are not black.

Fuzzywuzzy
22-12-2019, 07:54 AM
In my opinion, all the **** with Brexit has given the racists carte blanche to come out with this kind of thing.

pontius pilate
22-12-2019, 08:03 AM
To have a little bit of context to this there is a mixed race rapper who imo made one of the best songs to cover the whole race issue I'm no racist is the song title. The N word was first used as a term of endearment between blacks in the days of slavery however whites used it as a term to keep them oppressed. Yes I get that it is used heavily in alot of hop hop rap but that is the same as uk grime artists using the word man it has no connotations between blacks as it would if used between a white man and a black man because of the history. Could it be the that youth of today see it as a term to use because of the way it is used in the genre possibly but it is no excuse.

Also as far as I'm aware there is two ways in which it is said american artists end it with an A the racist term is ended with an ER how it is different and what's separates them I have no idea

Weegreenman
22-12-2019, 08:19 AM
[QUOTE=Fuzzywuzzy;6023780]In my opinion, all the **** with Brexit has given the racists carte blanche to come out with this kind of thing.[/QUOTE

Racists don’t need an excuse to be racist.

Blaming Brexit is just bull****!

Brexit was never about racism, it was about protectionism.

wallpaperman
22-12-2019, 08:21 AM
In my opinion, all the **** with Brexit has given the racists carte blanche to come out with this kind of thing.

Yeah, you’ve nailed it. If Brexit had been defeated, the boys mentioned by the OP would have described the player in question as ‘the black gentleman running down the wing’.

Yes, of course they would.

wallpaperman
22-12-2019, 08:25 AM
Why would the racists son be stupid?

I didn’t carry out an IQ test on him, if that’s what you’re asking?

From recollection as it was such a long time ago, it was his glaikit grin, saying nothing, while his old man ranted on. Stuck in the mind as I have never encountered such a thing with Hibs fans since, though it’s obviously not a complete one off.

Moody Blues
22-12-2019, 08:34 AM

Here we go!

22-12-2019, 08:35 AM
Yeah, you’ve nailed it. If Brexit had been defeated, the boys mentioned by the OP would have described the player in question as ‘the black gentleman running down the wing’.

But it's true that the number of complaints made to police for racist behaviour spiked after the referendum. However, it's a different issue from a bigot making a casual remark.

22-12-2019, 09:26 AM

Whos trying to deflect it???

22-12-2019, 09:32 AM

If that's a genuine question, then the answer is it's reclamation of a word by the community that it was/is used to abuse.

The LGBT community have done similar with the word queer.

Completely irrelevant to supposed fans using it in a public space mind. That's horrible to read from the OP, disappointing.

Fuzzywuzzy
22-12-2019, 10:44 AM
Here we go!

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/uk-wales-48692863

Of course it's just my opinion

22-12-2019, 10:54 AM
I was out in town last night and N word was used many times. Mostly by my black mate who uses this as a greeting.

pollution
22-12-2019, 11:27 AM
I would not use that word now but until fairly recently "****** in a woodpile" was a wholly accepted phrase, although not by me.

In the late seventies it was generally accepted that rather than use the name black as a colour of someone's skin it was better to say coloured.

Then this changed back to black as per one football commentator who found out.

Words change meaning over time. Using the n word casually is not on as far as I am concerned but there are some painfully ignorant people out there.

22-12-2019, 12:58 PM
I was out in town last night and N word was used many times. Mostly by my black mate who uses this as a greeting.

I simply don't understand why so many black people use that as a greeting. I get they want to own the word but just seems strange to me.

pontius pilate
22-12-2019, 02:40 PM
I simply don't understand why so many black people use that as a greeting. I get they want to own the word but just seems strange to me.

It's the way in which its said as well as there is 2 different variations the greeting usually ends in an A and a slant ends with ER confusing I know. No matter which way it's a word I wouldnt dream of using and one of the words I actually hate to hear along with the c u next tuesday just not nice and vulgar

Cataplana
22-12-2019, 02:43 PM

Some of my best friends are black too.

22-12-2019, 02:46 PM
The use of that type of language has been encouraged by the incumbent at No 10 and racism and xenophobia are generally on the rise. We have a small minority of cretins who no doubt will all have a ticket for Tiny and make a tit of themselves

Not encouraged by No. 10 at all.

22-12-2019, 07:40 PM
Some of my best friends are black too.

And mine. They really don't have a problem with the word. They call me Wigga :greengrin

22-12-2019, 07:44 PM

Interesting view.

The dalmeny
23-12-2019, 08:19 PM
I've always said it's not what's said it's how its said.

I've been called a 'porridge wog' no offence taken.

A mate in Australia spoke about newspaper ads saying ' the Pakkis are coming' when they toured cricket a few years ago.

My old boy used to talk about playin g with a big darkie in the same breath at he woukd the wee ginger when he played in the 50s.

Never have I ever thought the n word was acceptable if rappers want to use it it up to them but not something I think acceptable and there would be hello to pay if my kids used it

Irish-Hibee
24-12-2019, 09:13 AM

Brexit was based around immigration. Farage and his pals forced it down everyones throats how bad immigrants were. Coming to the UK and taking everyones jobs and benefits! Immigrants were portrayed as these horrible people, the uk openly voting for Brexit was like a free licence to openly say how much you don't like immigrants. If more than 50% of the country voted for it then what's the problem?, kind of thing. That has led to other form of racism. The whole UK political environment is horrible at the moment. The current uk prime minister (who won by a landslide) is a proven racist, sexist, homophobic ****bag.

24-12-2019, 02:36 PM

Haha.. this isn’t a serious suggestion is it?

Black hip-hop artists using “n***a” in their lyrics is being picked up by football fans who are now using it to describe opposition players but in a completely non-derogatory or offensive way?

I’m having a “whoosh” moment aren’t I. No way you’re serious.

ColintonHibs
24-12-2019, 02:45 PM

Made a thread about the same thing right after the game and it was shut down because it “didn’t happen”

24-12-2019, 02:45 PM
I take it you have all noticed that the OP lobbed this bomb in 3 days ago and hasn't been seen since.

24-12-2019, 03:41 PM
I take it you have all noticed that the OP lobbed this bomb in 3 days ago and hasn't been seen since.

The OP is a good pal of mine, a huge Hibs fan and wouldn't make stuff like that up, he just isn't on here that often

25-12-2019, 12:52 AM
The OP is a good pal of mine, a huge Hibs fan and wouldn't make stuff like that up, he just isn't on here that often