View Full Version : Official Site: SUPPORTER CONDUCT - WE ARE ALL HIBS

RSS Bot
19-12-2019, 06:40 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10472)

19-12-2019, 06:45 PM
Noted. 👍🏻

19-12-2019, 06:45 PM
Great with all these cctv cameras they shouldn’t have any bother identifying the rangers supporters singing bigoted songs.

19-12-2019, 06:46 PM
It's a shame that the club needs to publicise this information which is really just begging for people to behave reasonably at the game.

It's a bigger shame that there's a good chance that it will be ignored.

19-12-2019, 06:57 PM
"...thankfully, this term we have had no negative reports of any incidents concerning travelling supporters."

That should change tomorrow, then.

19-12-2019, 06:58 PM
Hope it is followed. Behaviour of individuals has been shameful in these games recently.

19-12-2019, 06:58 PM
Such a big thing is made of this, football supporters haven't got any worse than they once were. If you do anything illegal you get lifted, reminders aren't necessary.

19-12-2019, 07:00 PM
Such a big thing is made of this, football supporters haven't got any worse than they once were. If you do anything illegal you get lifted, reminders aren't necessary.

I agree

Do these warnings go out ahead of big horse racing events? Looks to me like there’s far more bother at them than you ever get at football matches.

19-12-2019, 07:04 PM
Could this actually be a forewarning that Hibs are going to be the first to properly start tackling the blight of sectarian behaviour from visiting supporters?

19-12-2019, 07:06 PM
Could this actually be a forewarning that Hibs are going to be the first to properly start tackling the blight of sectarian behaviour from visiting supporters?

Doubt it. The huns will sing their usual songs and no one will do anything.

"...thankfully, this term we have had no negative reports of any incidents concerning travelling supporters."

That should change tomorrow, then.

They must have missed all the pro-IRA songs coming from the away end when we played Celtic a couple of months ago then.

Honestly, the intentions of this statement are admirable and I hope there's no Hibs fans involved in unacceptable conduct tomorrow night (or during any game for that matter) but the statement lacks any credibility by stating this about the away fans.

Nope.

19-12-2019, 07:13 PM
Box ticking excercice.

Most people will attend the game and behave themselves, a vast majority do that every single week. A few bams will be bams and a statement on the Internet isn't going to change that.

19-12-2019, 07:49 PM
Nasty Friday tomorrow, lots of bevied and coked up folk. Sectarian singing will be the least of the clubs worry's.
Lots of work for Hibs CCTV and security guys in the days following the match.

The problem with safety statements is that the Herberts don't read them. Reading is not one of their things.

P.S. Was the the bumhole at the Aberdeen game who threw the object from the East at young Ferguson captured?

19-12-2019, 07:51 PM
The problem with such statements is that the Herberts don't read them. Reading is not one of their things.
Was the the bumhole at the Aberdeen game who through the object from the East at young Ferguson captured?

They can read it all they want.

Once bevy and coke gets involved that’s going to be far more influential on what they get up to than a statement on the website.

19-12-2019, 07:55 PM
Box ticking excercice.

Most people will attend the game and behave themselves, a vast majority do that every single week. A few bams will be bams and a statement on the Internet isn't going to change that.

Send the the bams away to be Yams :greengrin

19-12-2019, 07:57 PM
They can read it all they want.

Once bevy and coke gets involved that’s going to be far more influential on what they get up to than a statement on the website.

Yeah, don't know if they're goin for a crap or a hair-kut

19-12-2019, 07:58 PM
I was amazed that Wee Ron decided to go ahead with his proposed investment in our club nine months ago as he sat in the Stand with Leeann and witnessed a young radge run from the East and attack Tav

He must have thought to himself :wtf:

19-12-2019, 08:02 PM
Zero tolerance for bad behavior. No excuses, none of the “but look at them”.

Just behave yourself and don’t shame the club.

Can’t be any simpler or clearer.

Clarence
19-12-2019, 08:03 PM
Canny even be a wee bit exuberant wi ma pals any mare. Kin joke man.

Henderson2Del
19-12-2019, 08:04 PM
Maybe the police could earn there money and stop those who are clearly drunk or drugged up entering the ground. About time they did there job

19-12-2019, 08:33 PM
“Please note that this doesn’t include the support of the away side as we are powerless to do anything when it comes to them unlike when we go to their ground”

19-12-2019, 08:38 PM

Canny even be a wee bit exuberant wi ma pals any mare. Kin joke man.

linlithgowhibbie
19-12-2019, 08:58 PM
The cameras do not record sound so they can sing all they want with no fear of repercussions. However if they chuck anything /hold lit flares/smoke bombs then there is a good chance they will be caught on camera. The camera only gives a photo, it doesnt identify them!
:flag::flag:

19-12-2019, 09:11 PM
The cameras do not record sound so they can sing all they want with no fear of repercussions. However if they chuck anything /hold lit flares/smoke bombs then there is a good chance they will be caught on camera. The camera only gives a photo, it doesnt identify them!
:flag::flag:

That's not what the article says though.

It says there have been no negative reports of incidents involving away fans this season.

None at all and that must include the police and stewards filing post match reports on any incidents they've seen or heard during the game.

They must surely have heard the pro-IRA songs that were sung by the Celtic fans a couple of months ago and presumably they have just ignored it.

19-12-2019, 09:17 PM
The statement should read “ The Rangers fans will sing their inevitable offensive and sectarian songs, we will strictly adhere to the regular policy in regard to this and totally ignore the fact, nor will we acknowledge it happened after the game. We will however come down hard on any Hibs fan that may take offence and react to their sectarian and other offensive bile”.

Newhaven
19-12-2019, 09:18 PM
And rangers fans will still be able to walk down Easter road pre match shouting abuse, drinking like its new year and behaving like a plague of locusts.

NOTHING will be done

19-12-2019, 09:26 PM

It says there have been no negative reports of incidents involving away fans this season.

None at all and that must include the police and stewards filing post match reports on any incidents they've seen or heard during the game.

They must surely have heard the pro-IRA songs that were sung by the Celtic fans a couple of months ago and presumably they have just ignored it.
Surely you understand that the comment on away fans is our away fans at other grounds.Think you’re missing the point.That is why we are “thankful” there have been no reports.

Marco G
19-12-2019, 09:30 PM
Got it wrong, yep, looks like we have been good on the road.

19-12-2019, 09:52 PM
Think it means away teams have not reported their fans having any problems on way to or from the game?

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
Don’t think so.The piece is about the two big games coming up and the behaviour of Hibs fans at these two games .That is why it refers to away fans,it means us at Tynie.

19-12-2019, 10:02 PM
It’s clearly talking about our away support and there have been no incidents.

19-12-2019, 11:04 PM
The statement should read “ The Rangers fans will sing their inevitable offensive and sectarian songs, we will strictly adhere to the regular policy in regard to this and totally ignore the fact, nor will we acknowledge it happened after the game. We will however come down hard on any Hibs fan that may take offence and react to their sectarian and other offensive bile”.

Correct. Absolutely nothing will be said about any Sevco misbehaviour but if a Hibs fan even sneezes the wrong way, we'll know about it.

Surely you understand that the comment on away fans is our away fans at other grounds.Think you’re missing the point.That is why we are “thankful” there have been no reports.

It’s clearly talking about our away support and there have been no incidents.

Yes I can see that now, my mistake!

19-12-2019, 11:14 PM
think it's more of a "heads up we are watching"

20-12-2019, 04:52 AM
I was amazed that Wee Ron decided to go ahead with his proposed investment in our club this time last year as he sat in the Stand with Leeann and witnessed a young radge run from the East and attack Tav

He must have thought to himself :wtf:

Or this is absolutely mental. :greengrin

Probably much worse at Peruvian games.

Cataplana
20-12-2019, 05:37 AM
I think the point that's being missed is that some people go to football with the intention of behaving disgracefully.

Telling them not to just increases the fun.

This is just creepy though:

"Every seat in the stadium is covered and recorded, with footage reviewed post-match."

20-12-2019, 05:45 AM
I think the point that's being missed is that some people go to football with the intention of behaving disgracefully.

"Every seat in the stadium is covered and recorded, with footage reviewed post-match."

I am sure at most matches this is just a quick and rather boring whizz through unless they happen to see anything they need to focus on.

As for the general message - it is a box ticking exercise after the bottle throwing incident etc last season but good to hear we have all been good lads away from home.

Hoping that all changes on Boxing day and we have several pyro incidents from the Roseburn following goals v the Jambos :greengrin

20-12-2019, 06:16 AM

Thought it was just me that had understood the same as you. This is not Hibs saying they are thankful for the behaviour of Celtic fans at Easter Road.

20-12-2019, 10:05 AM
Putting this game on a Friday night, 5 days before christmas, and with the worst supporters in the world visiting us shows that BT sport or TV in general don't give a toss.

The police approving the game considering previous trouble at night games shows that they don't give a toss.

I'm sorry but Hibs can do all the lip service they want but folk will be steaming and the chances of trouble are massively increased. Lets hope it passes without any nonsense obviously.

20-12-2019, 11:17 AM

No way they look at all the footage post match.
What they do have now is the capability to review footage post match where there has been an obvious incident e.g. when the object was thrown recently from the East at Ferguson of Aberdeen. Additionally they can look at footage if supporters report unacceptable behaviour during or after the match e.g. a guy breaking his seat or assaulting a fellow Hibee etc

20-12-2019, 12:12 PM
Well done to the away support all season by the way. It's not been the smoothest ride, but you folks have been amazing.

The home support too of course!

Doh Rae Me
20-12-2019, 12:56 PM
I'm on a train in to match, 2 of weegies finest plebs supping buckfast. Things will be messy.

j'adorehibs
20-12-2019, 02:39 PM

its about our traveling support, not ones visiting the holy ground.

20-12-2019, 03:02 PM
These statements are pointless as Hibs, SPFL, Police Scotland or the Scottish government won’t no nothing about the 90 of sectarian abuse coming from Rangers fans tonight. If the CCTV is so great then Police Scotland will be spending hours reviewing it to then arrest the individuals. Sadly this won’t happen as no one in power wants to tackle the problem

20-12-2019, 03:24 PM
I remember Hibs fans setting fire to a Union Flag at a game at ER v Oldco in the early 80’s. Nobody really cared back then but there’d be mayhem in the media and online if it happened now.

20-12-2019, 03:27 PM
I'm on a train in to match, 2 of weegies finest plebs supping buckfast. Things will be messy.

I’m in a pub on ER now and there are Hibs fans drinking.

Things will be fine, they always are despite the chat on here before Rangers games.

20-12-2019, 03:36 PM
its about our traveling support, not ones visiting the holy ground.

Yeah I understand that now. :aok:

20-12-2019, 03:38 PM
These statements are pointless as Hibs, SPFL, Police Scotland or the Scottish government won’t no nothing about the 90 of sectarian abuse coming from Rangers fans tonight. If the CCTV is so great then Police Scotland will be spending hours reviewing it to then arrest the individuals. Sadly this won’t happen as no one in power wants to tackle the problem

They're not completely pointless - Hibs' responsibilities for supporter behaviour are met by communicating rules for entry (on the tickets or in T&Cs when purchasing), and communications like this, along with whatever other activities they carry out - like the stadium announcements etc.

If there's an issue at the game, Hibs can say that they did what they could to prevent issues.

20-12-2019, 03:39 PM

CCTV is not the correct tool for addressing mass sectarian singing and neither is Police Scotland.
The SPFL could fix it by imposing large fines and if that doesn't work imposing points deductions. However, the clubs are the SPFL and the SPFL are the clubs so that won't happen unless there is external pressure. That would come in the form of the Scottish Government tackling it through legislation which would have the power to impose fines and part/full ground closures on clubs. Simple really. Amazing that it hasn't been addressed.

20-12-2019, 03:43 PM
CCTV is not the correct tool for addressing mass sectarian singing and neither is Police Scotland.
The SPFL could fix it by imposing large fines and if that doesn't work imposing points deductions. However, the clubs are the SPFL and the SPFL are the clubs so that won't happen unless there is external pressure. That would come in the form of the Scottish Government tackling it through legislation which would have the power to impose fines and part/full ground closures. Simple really. Amazing that it hasn't been addressed.

There doesn't need to be separate legislation, that behaviour is already covered in existing laws and regulations.

The Offensive Behaviour at Football Act was rightly removed because it held football fans to a different standard to everyone else.

Sectarian singing is illegal, whether in the confines of a football stadium or at the opera, and the perpetrators should be dealt with the same in both instances.

The issue the police have is that they simply don't have the resources to arrest everyone singing, nor to handle the potential aggro of trying to deal with individuals in the crowd.

The safest option for the police is to turn a blind eye, or pick people up retrospectively if they can identify them.

It's not (IMHO) football's responsibility to deal with sectarianism, the clubs have a part to play but there's a limit as to what influence they can have.

Prof. Shaggy
20-12-2019, 04:01 PM
There doesn't need to be separate legislation, that behaviour is already covered in existing laws and regulations.

The Offensive Behaviour at Football Act was rightly removed because it held football fans to a different standard to everyone else.

Sectarian singing is illegal, whether in the confines of a football stadium or at the opera, and the perpetrators should be dealt with the same in both instances.

The issue the police have is that they simply don't have the resources to arrest everyone singing, nor to handle the potential aggro of trying to deal with individuals in the crowd.

The safest option for the police is to turn a blind eye, or pick people up retrospectively if they can identify them.

It's not (IMHO) football's responsibility to deal with sectarianism, the clubs have a part to play but there's a limit as to what influence they can have.

It's allowed in "Les Huguenots".

20-12-2019, 04:02 PM
It's allowed in "Les Huguenots".

I'll need to take your word for it on that one :faf:

Jpdhfc
20-12-2019, 04:19 PM
Great with all these cctv cameras they shouldn’t have any bother identifying the rangers supporters singing bigoted songs.

Missed the Motherwell supporter letting smoke bombs off.

20-12-2019, 04:58 PM
The SPFL could fix it by imposing large fines and if that doesn't work imposing points deductions. However, the clubs are the SPFL and the SPFL are the clubs so that won't happen unless there is external pressure. That would come in the form of the Scottish Government tackling it through legislation which would have the power to impose fines and part/full ground closures on clubs. Simple really. Amazing that it hasn't been addressed.

In actual fact, the Scottish Government made an attempt to address it but the law they passed was met with ridicule by opposition parties, and some Fans Groups said they were being unfairly targeted, e.g. The Green Brigade.

The law was eventually revoked and we're back to inaction.

Sadly, most political parties will attack legislation or proposals made by other parties purely based on their hatred of those parties. Maybe getting together across political boundaries would be a better approach but political self-interest nearly always gets in the way.

20-12-2019, 08:56 PM
Club let down by supporters again. Total idiots and cowards throwing a bottle on to the pitch. Not sure what Leanne can do.

Let hope some of the people beside who was responsible shop this ****bag or he is caught on CCTV.

20-12-2019, 08:57 PM
Club let down by supporters again. Total idiots and cowards throwing a bottle on to the pitch. Not sure what Leanne can do.

Let hope some of the people beside who was responsible shop this ****bag or he is caught on CCTV.

She can treat the hun cretins in the same manner she treats the Hibs support.

20-12-2019, 09:00 PM

Yep but she won’t.

Chorley Hibee
20-12-2019, 09:01 PM

She won't do that though, it seems Rangers and Celtic supporters aren't required to abide by the same ground rules and regulations as our own.

Will be the usual silence from Dempster.

20-12-2019, 09:02 PM

Exactly. Wonder why she doesnt

20-12-2019, 09:02 PM

Did any of them throw objects onto the park? If so they should be dealt with in a similar harsh manner. If you are talking about their party songs it’s not even in the same bracket as throwing dangerous glass objects at players.

USAHibby
20-12-2019, 09:04 PM
In actual fact, the Scottish Government made an attempt to address it but the law they passed was met with ridicule by opposition parties, and some Fans Groups said they were being unfairly targeted, e.g. The Green Brigade. The law was eventually revoked and we're back to inaction. Sadly, most political parties will attack legislation or proposals made by other parties purely based on their hatred of those parties. Maybe getting together across political boundaries would be a better approach but political self-interest nearly always gets in the way. Correct. It doesn't help when certain political affiliations are targetting the vote of a particular demographic as well.

20-12-2019, 09:07 PM
What was wrong with the Rangers fans behaviour tonight?

Looked like they were having a party and were in good voice the whole game.

From my seat in the west I didn’t hear anything sectarian, racist or anything else that you could call them out on.

Rule Britannia isn’t exactly offensive.

20-12-2019, 09:08 PM

From my seat in the west I didn’t hear anything sectarian, racist or anything else that you could call them out on.

Youre obviously deaf.

20-12-2019, 09:09 PM

They were singing the sash very clearly

Youre obviously deaf.

I wouldn’t have a clue what songs are sectarian or what, I’m not sure who’s being offended by their singing though.

I just find sevco supporters offensive singing or not.

USAHibby
20-12-2019, 09:10 PM
]Rule Britannia isn’t exactly offensive. Not offensive, just utterly irrelevant to a club football match and we all know why they sing it. Just makes them look utterly pathetic more than anything.

Chorley Hibee
20-12-2019, 09:11 PM
Did any of them throw objects onto the park? If so they should be dealt with in a similar harsh manner. If you are talking about their party songs it’s not even in the same bracket as throwing dangerous glass objects at players.

Remember the Hibs fan who was rightly targeted for his racist abuse of a Hearts player last season?

Why isn't the same scrutiny placed upon thousands of people indulging in sectarian behaviour?

Why does our club deal with one and not the other?

20-12-2019, 09:12 PM
Their end of the ground was bouncing whilst we all sat in silence.

I’d much rather it was the otter way round.

Not offensive, just utterly irrelevant to a club football match and we all know why they sing it. Just makes them look utterly pathetic more than anything.

Correct. It’s not offensive to anyone though apart from maybe the new hearts manager.

Wow

volunteers of the UVF..................s cum

20-12-2019, 09:15 PM

You didn’t hear the entire stand singing that lovely song about the gallows (I forget the name) for about 10 minutes in the first half? Horrendous song.

ABZHFC
20-12-2019, 09:15 PM
Their end of the ground was bouncing whilst we all sat in silence.

I’d much rather it was the otter way round.

And yet on every single thread about the merits of relocating the singing section, you are one of the most vehemently opposed...

20-12-2019, 09:17 PM
I don’t think I’ve ever commented on moving the singing section.

You must be thinking of someone else.

20-12-2019, 09:17 PM
You didn’t hear the entire stand singing that lovely song about the gallows (I forget the name) for about 10 minutes in the first half? Horrendous song.

Nope, probably heard it but no chance I could make out any of the words to pretty much any of their songs.

20-12-2019, 09:19 PM
Nope, probably heard it but no chance I could make out any of the words to pretty much any of their songs.

It's the one about fighting the IRA and with '**** Bobby Sands he's deid' in the middle.

USAHibby
20-12-2019, 09:21 PM
Their end of the ground was bouncing whilst we all sat in silence. I’d much rather it was the otter way round. Well why don't you try belting out Rule Britannia next time and see how you get on?

20-12-2019, 09:22 PM
You want me to sing Rule Brittania at ER?

Why would I do that?? Not sure what your point is?

20-12-2019, 09:29 PM

Lets punish our own but leave those cretins rule ****ing riot over us?

Have a word.

20-12-2019, 09:38 PM
You want me to sing Rule Brittania at ER?

Why would I do that?? Not sure what your point is?

:greengrin board’s mental the night like.

20-12-2019, 09:39 PM
Lets punish our own but leave those cretins rule ****ing riot over us?

Have a word.

I think the point might be that if our support didn’t do anything we could shout from the rooftops about their ****.

20-12-2019, 09:41 PM

You have got to be joking right?

20-12-2019, 09:42 PM
I think the point might be that if our support didn’t do anything we could shout from the rooftops about their ****.

Like in the past you mean? Maybe it’s the best time to deal with all issues, while clearly dealing with our own, also calling out that lot, and if nothing done then give them next to no tickets.

20-12-2019, 09:45 PM

You are taking the piss right?

20-12-2019, 09:47 PM
Like in the past you mean? Maybe it’s the best time to deal with all issues, while clearly dealing with our own, also calling out that lot, and if nothing done then give them next to no tickets.

The past is the past. The **** with the bottle has put paid to any moral high ground the night.

20-12-2019, 09:50 PM
Always a huge deal when we play that lot before the game regarding statements etc, you would almost think LD was once a rangers season ticket holder

20-12-2019, 09:54 PM

And **** all would still happen. Hibs dont care enough.

20-12-2019, 09:55 PM
The past is the past. The **** with the bottle has put paid to any moral high ground the night.

It’s not about any moral high ground, it’s about dealing with EVERY bit of misconduct in our stadium tonight, and taking steps to avoid this happening in future.

20-12-2019, 09:58 PM
It’s not about any moral high ground, it’s about dealing with EVERY bit of misconduct in our stadium tonight, and taking steps to avoid this happening in future.

It would just look like whataboutery (so) tonight unfortunately especially after other recent incidents in category a matches.

20-12-2019, 09:59 PM
And **** all would still happen. Hibs dont care enough.

You’re probably right but it’s not exactly a new thing.

20-12-2019, 10:00 PM

And the winner of the HIBS.net post of the year 2019 is ...............

20-12-2019, 10:05 PM

I'm not sure what you were listening to. They sung songs about the UVF repeatedly for about 10 minutes at one point in the first half.

I'm sure the incidents involving Hibs fans will (rightly) be condemned by Leeann Dempster but there will be the usual wall of silence regarding the conduct of the away fans.

Sweep, sweep.

20-12-2019, 10:17 PM

Is the correct answer....but folk on here won't like it.

20-12-2019, 10:29 PM

The current legislation which you speak of deals successfully with the behaviour of individuals or small groups but is never going to be successful in addressing mass sectarian singing within football grounds.
What the actions of UEFA proved earlier this season was that Rangers could be quickly and easily be brought to heel. Suddenly Rangers and their supporters found they could address the matter of mass sectarian singing. UEFA accept no pontificating or excuses, simple message is shape up or ship out.
If the SPFL cannot address the matter successfully then the Scottish Government should simply take the matter into it's own hands if they consider such singing unacceptable in 21st Century Scotland. UEFA have shown them how it's done.
Everything else has been tried.

I should say the song singing by Rangers & Celtic fans within football ground doesn't bother me much but it obviously upsets other people a lot, including many on this forum and it is important to them that it is addressed
Personally I think sectarian singing in the streets is far more intimidating and offensive rather than when these supporters are isolated in their own little bit of a football ground.
P.S. An angry hateful ewok like Hibs fan sitting near me pissed me off a lot more than the Rangers fans tonight despite not singing any songs.