View Full Version : Vote Josh Taylor

16-12-2019, 09:49 AM
Fighter of the year......

https://www.worldboxingnews.net/2019/12/10/wbn-fighter-of-the-year-2019-vote/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

17-12-2019, 12:03 PM
Just voted. 2nd only to Canelo and it's looking like a two horse race so every vote counts.

Max_Shah
17-12-2019, 05:22 PM
Fighter of the year......

https://www.worldboxingnews.net/2019/12/10/wbn-fighter-of-the-year-2019-vote/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

Done & shared.

Thanks for bringing this up. I would not have spotted this otherwise and that's what I love about this community.

Josh is a true inspiration. A great guy who never forgot his roots. The epitome of a real champion.

EDIT: - Josh is narrowly in the lead as of 18:25 GMT [17/12]

17-12-2019, 07:05 PM
Done.

17-12-2019, 07:09 PM
Just voted. Josh is about 130 votes ahead of Canelo with 36% of the poll.

17-12-2019, 10:36 PM
Surely has to be Canelo. Still voted for Josh mind you 😁

Power
17-12-2019, 10:52 PM
Done 🥊

17-12-2019, 11:13 PM
How do you vote in a iPhone? There’s no clickable link on the oag.

Cammy
17-12-2019, 11:25 PM
How do you vote in a iPhone? There’s no clickable link on the oag.

The voting box is under the Juan Estrada description. That’s where I see it on mine anyway.

1875godsgift
17-12-2019, 11:31 PM
Done. The voting box is a bit tricky to find though :casper:

Callum7
17-12-2019, 11:34 PM
The voting box is under the Juan Estrada description. That’s where I see it on mine anyway.

Ye, looks like it’s an advert at first, if you scroll down on it, it will give you options.

18-12-2019, 12:05 AM

The wbn looks like a link and the time left part you can see counting down but can’t make out the time. I’ll do it in work the morn but doesn’t look iPhone friendly 👍

18-12-2019, 12:05 AM
Ye, looks like it’s an advert at first, if you scroll down on it, it will give you options.

Can’t scroll down on it on my phone I just get the top half of the time countdown.

18-12-2019, 05:26 AM
989 - 710 In Taylors favour after my vote

Juice-Terry
18-12-2019, 05:56 AM
Done. Taylor clearly in front now on 40%.

Jpdhfc
18-12-2019, 06:46 AM
Done another gong for josh hopefully 🤞

18-12-2019, 06:57 AM
Done.

Barman Stanton
18-12-2019, 07:08 AM
Voted. Although if Josh wasnt a Hibs supporting Scot then Canelo woould have got my vote.

18-12-2019, 11:59 AM
Think he's on 43% now after my vote. Sure my kids' Tae Kwon Do grand master said he's Taylor's uncle. A hard and sound family no doubt.

scooby
18-12-2019, 12:41 PM
Done 🤜

hibeerealist
18-12-2019, 01:13 PM
Done, Josh now on 44%.

18-12-2019, 01:30 PM
Ffs today’s news isn’t the best for Josh.

Barman Stanton
18-12-2019, 01:33 PM
Ffs today’s news isn’t the best for Josh.

Yeah not the best reading. Clearly police were only called as he is famous though. Bouncers hear this all night at the door and nothing is ever done.

Also find it weird that people expect someone who fights for a living to be squeaky clean :agree:

18-12-2019, 01:37 PM
Yeah not the best reading. Clearly police were only called as he is famous though. Bouncers hear this all night at the door and nothing is ever done.

Also find it weird that people expect someone who fights for a living to be squeaky clean :agree:

Both very valid points 👍

scotia44
18-12-2019, 01:51 PM
No excuse to be a tit boxer or not. Being a hibby shouldn't excuse him either

18-12-2019, 01:55 PM
Voted. Although if Josh wasnt a Hibs supporting Scot then Canelo woould have got my vote.

What is the point of this poll.
All it shows is that Josh has more pals voting for him.
Modern day drivel awards.

Barman Stanton
18-12-2019, 02:01 PM
What is the point of this poll.
All it shows is that Josh has more pals voting for him.
Modern day drivel awards.

Yup, probably best just not to take it too serious huh.

18-12-2019, 02:02 PM
Both very valid points ��

They are not valid.
Gutted to hear he is just another classless ned.
Should apologise and stop drinking.

18-12-2019, 02:06 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/crime/world-boxing-champion-josh-taylor-racially-abused-bouncer-during-drunken-rant-1344492

thought he would know better. shame

18-12-2019, 02:15 PM
Doesn't make the best reading. Describing Shanghai as 'exclusive' is pretty creative journalism mind you.

Barman Stanton
18-12-2019, 02:21 PM
They are not valid.

Whether you think its valid or not, clubs simply don't call police for this kind of thing normally (I have worked in clubs for over 20 years). They have called the police because it is a local celebrity and it will give their dreadful club some publicity.

This is all new to Josh though, hopefully he will learn from it. Most people I know have probably drunkenly said something to a doorman at some stage. But hey, not everyone is perfect.

18-12-2019, 02:34 PM
They are not valid.

It’s very valid. Who knows how the bouncers acted towards him and his mate just because he’s famous and called the police on him just because it’s fame for them.

Barman Stanton
18-12-2019, 02:36 PM
It’s very valid. Who knows how the bouncers acted towards him and his mate just because he’s famous and called the police on him just because it’s fame for them.

Way better to just label him a 'classless ned' than waiting to hear his side of the story.

18-12-2019, 02:43 PM
Way better to just label him a 'classless ned' than waiting to hear his side of the story.

He was probably pished, his mate was a bit more pished and the staff refused him bevvy - I am sure we have all been there, I certainly have.

The verbals from him are stupid and I would hope he learns a lesson.

Having said that, I am fairly certain that this wouldnt even have involved the plod if he was a nobody, bouncers would have just kicked his ar5e round the corner.

18-12-2019, 02:47 PM
Doubt Josh said anything like that, if the bouncer had said he was threatened with a punch I might believe that as a story, but let's take the honest word of a bouncer that JT said racist homophobic crap to him and he got all upset, he will just become a target up town from crazed steroid bouncers, stay away from them lad.

Glasgow is miles better for a night out..

Barman Stanton
18-12-2019, 02:48 PM
He was probably pished, his mate was a bit more pished and the staff refused him bevvy - I am sure we have all been there, I certainly have.

The verbals from him are stupid and I would hope he learns a lesson.

Having said that, I am fairly certain that this wouldnt even have involved the plod if he was a nobody, bouncers would have just kicked his ar5e round the corner.

Yup, we all make mistakes. Iv certainly had run ins with bouncers (police never called though funnily enough).

He has apologised on FB. He just needs to take it on the chin and learn from it.

18-12-2019, 02:49 PM
Josh genuinely doesn’t seem that kinda lad

EEN seems like they always have the agenda to knock people when they’re up

18-12-2019, 02:53 PM
They are not valid.

18-12-2019, 03:04 PM
Yup, we all make mistakes. Iv certainly had run ins with bouncers (police never called though funnily enough).

He has apologised on FB. He just needs to take it on the chin and learn from it.

Have you racially and homophobically insulted them? Maybe the police would have been called if you had.

Seriously bad chat from him.

Barman Stanton
18-12-2019, 03:12 PM
Have you racially and homophobically insulted them? Maybe the police would have been called if you had.

Seriously bad chat from him.

No I haven't and wouldn't. Although I have no idea how many times I have heard a bouncer called 'gay'. That seriously happens all the time. And iv never seen a club call the police for it before.

By the way, the racism they are talking about is for saying the guy looked like an orange man. I personally didnt realise that was classed as racism.

18-12-2019, 03:23 PM
He’s made an arse of himself ...probably with some drink in him, and perhaps with some provocation..however he has held his hands up , apologised and will learn from it ...

Big lesson learned..we all have those moments. It’s how we react to them that tells us who we really are...

18-12-2019, 03:30 PM
No I haven't and wouldn't. Although I have no idea how many times I have heard a bouncer called 'gay'. That seriously happens all the time. And iv never seen a club call the police for it before.

By the way, the racism they are talking about is for saying the guy looked like an orange man. I personally didnt realise that was classed as racism.

A bouncer of Asian origin. Which isn't clear from the EEN, but is on the BBC website. I personally would say that's racist.

18-12-2019, 03:35 PM
A bouncer of Asian origin. Which isn't clear from the EEN, but is on the BBC website. I personally would say that's racist.

I don't understand. Calling an Asian 'gay' or 'orange' isn't racist for me.

18-12-2019, 03:51 PM
Doubt Josh said anything like that, if the bouncer had said he was threatened with a punch I might believe that as a story, but let's take the honest word of a bouncer that JT said racist homophobic crap to him and he got all upset, he will just become a target up town from crazed steroid bouncers, stay away from them lad.

Glasgow is miles better for a night out..

The issue is all the bouncers will stick together and he wouldn’t have had a hope had he pleaded not guilty.

Barman Stanton
18-12-2019, 03:53 PM
I don't understand. Calling an Asian 'gay' or 'orange' isn't racist for me.

I don’t get it either. Surely it’s homophobic and sectarian?

18-12-2019, 04:01 PM
Josh has apologised on Twitter for it. Fair play.

18-12-2019, 04:03 PM
Jeez, also had drugs on him when arrested.

18-12-2019, 04:16 PM
Jeez, also had drugs on him when arrested.

Was he though? Pleaded not guilty to that which was accepted

18-12-2019, 04:38 PM

Glasgow is miles better for a night out..Riordan had the same problem, bouncers being bouncers. Not every incident but quite a lot.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

NC1875
18-12-2019, 05:00 PM
Whats racist about calling someone orange ? Am I missing something ?

And as has been said already, bouncers are called gay, wee poofs etc on a daily basis. They’ve phoned the police because they can’t just throw him about like they would the average dafty giving them cheek.

Bouncers are the cause of most of these disagreements in my experience

18-12-2019, 05:07 PM

And as has been said already, bouncers are called gay, wee poofs etc on a daily basis. They’ve phoned the police because they can’t just throw him about like they would the average dafty giving them cheek.

In my experience of dealing with complaints about door supervisors under my control, the one thing always at the back of my mind was the complainer had nearly always had plenty of alcohol where as the doorman hadn’t. I know who’s recollection of events I preferred to believe. And indeed often proved it with CCTV and other witnesses.

18-12-2019, 05:24 PM
Was he though? Pleaded not guilty to that which was accepted

Some decent negotiating between the defence and PF.

18-12-2019, 05:59 PM
The police charged him with it and he's admitted it and apologised for it, but people are saying it wasn't racist?

Calling someone an orange looking **** and people can't see that as racist???

18-12-2019, 06:00 PM

Ahhh bouncers get homophobic abuse frequently, so it's OK for people I like to abuse them?

That's an odd defence.

NC1875
18-12-2019, 06:05 PM
Ahhh bouncers get homophobic abuse frequently, so it's OK for people I like to abuse them?

That's an odd defence.

Never once said it was ok. Just gave a reason as to why they’ve likely phoned the police on this occasion.

Let’s not pretend the bouncers will be completely innocent here.

hibeerealist
18-12-2019, 06:07 PM
They are not valid.

Thank you for your input Mrs Murdoch

18-12-2019, 06:13 PM
Never once said it was ok. Just gave a reason as to why they’ve likely phoned the police on this occasion.

Let’s not pretend the bouncers will be completely innocent here.

Why can’t they be completely innocent? Surely the drunken aresees throwing about abuse are to blame.

18-12-2019, 07:29 PM
Why can’t they be completely innocent? Surely the drunken aresees throwing about abuse are to blame.

Are they, a doorman appeared in the sheriff court the other day charged with assault on a ex footballer at a Edinburgh casino.

Tomsk
18-12-2019, 07:35 PM
The police charged him with it and he's admitted it and apologised for it, but people are saying it wasn't racist?

Calling someone an orange looking **** and people can't see that as racist???

I can't.

His behaviour was piss poor, and certainly homophobic, which is surely bad enough, but not racist. Unless orange means something else these days.

18-12-2019, 07:40 PM
I can't.

His behaviour was piss poor, and certainly homophobic, which is surely bad enough, but not racist. Unless orange means something else these days.

The only thing I can think is that with the guy being Asian he was implying he had been on a sunbed/using fake tan. I've heard girls who have overdone it with the fake tan being described as 'orange' before.

That seems a bit of a stretch though.

18-12-2019, 07:44 PM
Are they, a doorman appeared in the sheriff court the other day charged with assault on a ex footballer at a Edinburgh casino.

was this reported anywhere or is it not news worthy if shoes on the other foot?

Tomsk
18-12-2019, 07:53 PM
The only thing I can think is that with the guy being Asian he was implying he had been on a sunbed/using fake tan. I've heard girls who have overdone it with the fake tan being described as 'orange' before.

That seems a bit of a stretch though.

If your intention is to be racist then why not be explicit. Seems a bit of a convoluted way to get there.

18-12-2019, 08:00 PM
If your intention is to be racist then why not be explicit. Seems a bit of a convoluted way to get there.

He got straight in to the homophobic remarks though didn’t he? I’m a huge fan of Taylor’s , really disappointed in him.

18-12-2019, 08:02 PM

If he’s called the bouncer gay then he’s probably slagging off his fake tan. Alternatively the bouncers called Josh a hibs ******* and made it known he was a hun. I’ve never in my life heard a person who is Asian or of Asian origin being called orange.

Tomsk
18-12-2019, 08:29 PM
He got straight in to the homophobic remarks though didn’t he? I’m a huge fan of Taylor’s , really disappointed in him.

As I said earlier the homophobic remarks were bad enough.

Having said that, he that is without sin and that.

18-12-2019, 08:42 PM

That clinches it then, every single doorman is to blame whenever there is trouble.

18-12-2019, 08:45 PM
That clinches it then, every single doorman is to blame whenever there is trouble.

Well said :greengrin

18-12-2019, 08:53 PM
Whether you think its valid or not, clubs simply don't call police for this kind of thing normally (I have worked in clubs for over 20 years). They have called the police because it is a local celebrity and it will give their dreadful club some publicity.

This is all new to Josh though, hopefully he will learn from it. Most people I know have probably drunkenly said something to a doorman at some stage. But hey, not everyone is perfect.

I agree unless they were fearit :wink:

18-12-2019, 09:55 PM

Or in your mind bouncers aren’t to blame in any situation since they’re sober.

Bouncers in Edinburgh are the dregs, simple as that. Bully victims most likely filled with roids, picking easy fights with folk out having a drink and enjoying themselves.

Josh did overstep the mark, however I know for a fact his party were provoked and I’ve no doubt it’s because the bouncers seen it as an opportunity, then went crying. Having been in Glasgow, Dunfermline and Newcastle over the past month, the difference in bouncers is staggering. Deal with bother if it kicks off, keep public safe but let’s not pretend they don’t start the bother themselves.

18-12-2019, 10:40 PM
Thank you for your input Mrs Murdoch

Ah the King of Irony :rolleyes:

18-12-2019, 10:40 PM

Bouncers in Edinburgh are the dregs, simple as that. Bully victims most likely filled with roids, picking easy fights with folk out having a drink and enjoying themselves.

Josh did overstep the mark, however I know for a fact his party were provoked and I’ve no doubt it’s because the bouncers seen it as an opportunity, then went crying. Having been in Glasgow, Dunfermline and Newcastle over the past month, the difference in bouncers is staggering. Deal with bother if it kicks off, keep public safe but let’s not pretend they don’t start the bother themselves.

Aye okay then you have a problem with Edinburburgh door staff, the common denominator being you and not the door staff, who are all dregs 😂

18-12-2019, 10:45 PM

Door staff are licensed these days, so hardly the dregs and usually have the spectre of CCTV keeping an eye on their actions.
My sympathy is with them, having to deal with verbally and physically abusive drunks and coke heids on a nightly basis.
Imagine having to put up with that at your work AND the bellends saying it's you that has a problem.

18-12-2019, 10:46 PM

Irony would have surely been PC Murdoch for all differing reasons?

18-12-2019, 10:49 PM
Door staff are licensed these days, so hardly the dregs and usually have the spectre of CCTV keeping an eye on their actions.

Is their communication to other bouncers recorded? There’s a justifiable reason why it should and could be used as evidence for and against but I would be gobsmacked if it was or the recording device was lost.

Can you also answer if you’ve ever heard of anyone being racially abused being called orange?

18-12-2019, 10:58 PM
My sympathy is with them, having to deal with verbally and physically abusive drunks and coke heids on a nightly basis.
Imagine having to put up with that at your work AND the bellends saying it's you that has a problem.

Exactly, there are rogues in every profession but tarring everyone the same is ridiculous. I know and have worked alongside some great guys who are truly professional at what they do.

Orange is the new black 😉

18-12-2019, 11:07 PM
Is their communication to other bouncers recorded? There’s a justifiable reason why it should and could be used as evidence for and against but I would be gobsmacked if it was or the recording device was lost.

Can you also answer if you’ve ever heard of anyone being racially abused being called orange?

Orange is a new one on me. Difficult to make a judgement on that one without being there.
Yer schemie ned tends to fire the words gay, poof and paedo about liberally in situations of conflict.
Growing up on a scheme but not being a ned i'm not sure what that's all about but i'm sure a psychologist would have a field day.

19-12-2019, 12:11 AM
FWIW I think Josh should be cut some slack regarding this incident.
He is 28 years old and importantly has no previous convictions so this incident although unpleasant is out of character.
He has released a comprehensive statement of apology (see below).

Later on Wednesday, Taylor released a statement apologising for his behaviour, saying there was "no excuse" for his comments. He said: "Whilst out celebrating with friends on Saturday in Edinburgh I made some stupid comments and poor decisions resulting in legal charges. "I hold my hands up for making remarks which caused offence and I was rightfully found guilty of. I’m ashamed about the whole incident."The other charge, I have been rightfully found not guilty of. I’m regularly tested by all the relevant authorities - and could be at any time regardless of when I’m fighting. I would never risk my career and reputation with drugs." He continued: "I whole heartedly apologise for my stupid actions. It has been a rollercoaster of a year for me, becoming unified world champion and on this occasion I’ve taken it too far."I can only apologise, not only to those whom I offended, but to my family and friends for the upset I have caused. "There is no excuse for the comments I made and the disturbance I caused and I am going to take some much needed time off over Christmas to reflect on my actions and ensure it never happens again."

19-12-2019, 05:38 AM
Aye okay then you have a problem with Edinburburgh door staff, the common denominator being you and not the door staff, who are all dregs 😂

The fact I’m nowhere near the only one with said opinion of door staff, and have very good experiences everywhere else in the main reaffirms to me an issue with the Edinburgh door staff. A big reason why the nightlife in Edinburgh is so *****.

19-12-2019, 05:42 AM

Anyone can get said licence though, I know a few who are bouncers and there’s absolutely no chance that they are able to diffuse a situation by talking. They take great pride in flinging folk about and aggressively ‘sorting’ situations. I mean imagine working on the door of a pub or nightclub and having to deal with drunks 😂 doesn’t give you carte Blanche to take liberties.

Barman Stanton
19-12-2019, 08:01 AM

I can only imagine many commenting here don't have much experience with doormen. Most bouncers I have known are also coke heads. Many more on steroids. ITs a bad combo. I was once picked up by the neck by an extremely coked up one. This was for asking why he wasnt letting people in the club - I was the promoter of the night and losing money.

Not saying Taylor is innocent here, but there are always 2 sides to the story. Its not always best to just get outraged over a headline.

19-12-2019, 08:08 AM
I can only imagine many commenting here don't have much experience with doormen. Most bouncers I have known are also coke heads. Many more on steroids. ITs a bad combo. I was once picked up by the neck by an extremely coked up one. This was for asking why he wasnt letting people in the club - I was the promoter of the night and losing money.

Not saying Taylor is innocent here, but there are always 2 sides to the story. Its not always best to just get outraged over a headline.

How about just accept his apology as admission??

19-12-2019, 08:10 AM

Because it’s definitely not admission imo.

Barman Stanton
19-12-2019, 08:13 AM

I just said he wasnt innocent. What we don't know is what stirred it and what the bouncers were saying. Like I said, always 2 sides to the story.

19-12-2019, 08:24 AM
I just said he wasnt innocent. What we don't know is what stirred it and what the bouncers were saying. Like I said, always 2 sides to the story.

Not quite sure sure what you are trying to do tbh...he cocked up ..doesn’t particularly matter what the bouncer did..he has held his hand up - let’s accept his words - not any headline ...

Needs to learn from it and move on ....

19-12-2019, 08:28 AM
I don’t really go out any more but over the years I’ve had a disproportionate amount of bother with Edinburgh bouncers, considering how placid I am and how much I’ve been out here relative to other cities.

All their Christmases will have come at once when a/ Josh entered the building, then b/ took the bait.

19-12-2019, 08:40 AM
I've always found Edinburgh bouncers to be far more aggressive than their counterparts elsewhere. I've been out semi regularly in Newcastle, Glasgow, York and Aberdeen over the years as well as other nights out elsewhere and have rarely seen any bother with bouncers. In Edinburgh it seemed to be a weekly occurrence.

Obviously it may be a different clientele and different attitudes but there is an edge to Edinburgh bouncers imo.

Barman Stanton
19-12-2019, 08:47 AM
Not quite sure sure what you are trying to do tbh...he cocked up ..doesn’t particularly matter what the bouncer did..he has held his hand up - let’s accept his words - not any headline ...

Needs to learn from it and move on ....

Im not trying to do anything. Just saying there are always 2 sides to the story and we are only hearing one. I have worked with doormen for 20 odd years so just giving a bit of insight into what many are like (there are also some great guys of course).

And Iv already said he needs to learn from it.

Barman Stanton
19-12-2019, 08:47 AM
I've always found Edinburgh bouncers to be far more aggressive than their counterparts elsewhere. I've been out semi regularly in Newcastle, Glasgow, York and Aberdeen over the years as well as other nights out elsewhere and have rarely seen any bother with bouncers. In Edinburgh it seemed to be a weekly occurrence.

Obviously it may be a different clientele and different attitudes but there is an edge to Edinburgh bouncers imo.

Spot on. But apparently your not allowed to point these things out.

Cataplana
19-12-2019, 10:33 AM
This is one of those stories where he would get pelters if he was a Jambo. I think the racial element is overstated, the homophobic part is something for him to reflect on.

In his defence, he comes from a place that is a wee bit backward on these matters, and he probably didn't mean much by it.

19-12-2019, 10:59 AM
He is 28 years old and importantly has no previous convictions so this incident although unpleasant is out of character.

Later on Wednesday, Taylor released a statement apologising for his behaviour, saying there was "no excuse" for his comments. He said: "Whilst out celebrating with friends on Saturday in Edinburgh I made some stupid comments and poor decisions resulting in legal charges. "I hold my hands up for making remarks which caused offence and I was rightfully found guilty of. I’m ashamed about the whole incident."The other charge, I have been rightfully found not guilty of. I’m regularly tested by all the relevant authorities - and could be at any time regardless of when I’m fighting. I would never risk my career and reputation with drugs." He continued: "I whole heartedly apologise for my stupid actions. It has been a rollercoaster of a year for me, becoming unified world champion and on this occasion I’ve taken it too far."I can only apologise, not only to those whom I offended, but to my family and friends for the upset I have caused. "There is no excuse for the comments I made and the disturbance I caused and I am going to take some much needed time off over Christmas to reflect on my actions and ensure it never happens again."

That's a good, comprehensive apology.

None of the "if anyone was offered" deflection that puts the blame on the victims.

He has taken full responsibility for what happened and rightly says that there is no excuse for his behaviour.

No mention of provocation at all so that speculation can stop now.

It's a shame it happened and it's certainly a blot on his character, but that apology will help people's opinion of him greatly.

19-12-2019, 11:03 AM
Because it’s definitely not admission imo.

Whit?

He says he takes full responsibility for the "disturbance I caused" and that he was rightly found guilty.

How much more if an admission could he give?

hibeerealist
19-12-2019, 11:32 AM

As the most knowledgable on .net and free of sin we are indeed guided by your ramblings Mrs M!

hibeerealist
19-12-2019, 11:36 AM

Cutting Josh some slack is certainly better than calling him “another classless ned”.

19-12-2019, 11:48 AM
I've always found Edinburgh bouncers to be far more aggressive than their counterp elsewhere. I've been out semi regularly in Newcastle, Glasgow, York and Aberdeen over the years as well as other nights out elsewhere and have rarely seen any bother with bouncers. In Edinburgh it seemed to be a weekly occurrence.

Spot on. For every sound bouncer you’ve got a coked up steroid freak. I’ve had nights out in I’d say the vast majority of major UK cities and never had any issues with getting into places but Edinburgh is a different kettle of fish totally

19-12-2019, 11:56 AM
Good to see Josh has learnt his lesson.

As for bouncers. I've known a few to be particularly good, most go unnoticed but unfortunately there are a decent number who make trouble when they should be diffusing the situation because they seem to enjoy the rush of it.

19-12-2019, 02:01 PM
This is one of those stories where he would get pelters if he was a Jambo. I think the racial element is overstated, the homophobic part is something for him to reflect on.

In his defence, he comes from a place that is a wee bit backward on these matters, and he probably didn't mean much by it.

That last Para is a terrible sweeping generalisation....

19-12-2019, 02:04 PM

Sorry, this is one of my pet hates, the equating of working class people with bad and boorish behaviour. It's insulting to every single one of us who was brought up in a working class household and it's simply wrong.

hibeerealist
19-12-2019, 03:03 PM
Sorry, this is one of my pet hates, the equating of working class people with bad and boorish behaviour. It's insulting to every single one of us who was brought up in a working class household and it's simply wrong.

Support that 100% Marinello!!

19-12-2019, 03:11 PM

Yup. I come from a place like that but I still know how to behave even with a good drink in me

19-12-2019, 03:22 PM

Well said, proud of my working class upbringing and the values I was taught and live to today. Nothing wrong with my behaviour and there never has been, my son reflects those values too.

Cataplana
19-12-2019, 03:23 PM

Sorry, but it was a geographical slur. Nothing to do with class.

To assume everyone who lives there is working class is about as sweeping a generalisation as I attempted.

19-12-2019, 03:37 PM

To assume everyone who lives there is working class is about as sweeping a generalisation as I attempted.

More or less from the same area and don’t act like that. It’s a sweeping generalisation to say these areas are “backwards” when it comes to things like this

19-12-2019, 03:43 PM

So what exactly was your point, then?

Cataplana
19-12-2019, 03:57 PM
So what exactly was your point, then?

I think it's fairly clear. I certainly didn't mention class.

Cataplana
19-12-2019, 03:59 PM
More or less from the same area and don’t act like that. It’s a sweeping generalisation to say these areas are “backwards” when it comes to things like this

Of course it is, and it shouldn't be taken too seriously.

It's probably just my misfortune that I know so many people who fit the bill. Including family, regrettably.

19-12-2019, 04:31 PM
I think it's fairly clear. I certainly didn't mention class.

Not a dig, and it actually wasn't clear, hence why I asked.

Maybe some are taking Ur comment a bit more seriously than it was intended.

Fuzzywuzzy
19-12-2019, 04:36 PM
Always find it mental that Vijay Singh worked the doors in edinburgh

Barman Stanton
19-12-2019, 04:39 PM
Always find it mental that Vijay Singh worked the doors in edinburgh

Aye, but he was a coked up Steroid fiend back then!

*not really, before anyone gets upset.

Cataplana
19-12-2019, 04:40 PM
Not a dig, and it actually wasn't clear, hence why I asked.

Maybe some are taking Ur comment a bit more seriously than it was intended.

That's regrettable, I should maybe have stated that it was "in my experience." It is pretty much impossible to prove, and I'd be very surprised if Josh really meant what he said, and that is reflected in the speed of his apology.

I think anybody who is from there will find it hard to defend my generalisation though. There are lot of people who get their kicks making racist remarks, more so if they know you object to that sort of language.

Lost count of the number of times some slack jawed idiot has started a sentence with, "ah ken yer no meant tae say this, but....."

19-12-2019, 05:33 PM
That's regrettable, I should maybe have stated that it was "in my experience." It is pretty much impossible to prove, and I'd be very surprised if Josh really meant what he said, and that is reflected in the speed of his apology.

I think anybody who is from there will find it hard to defend my generalisation though. There are lot of people who get their kicks making racist remarks, more so if they know you object to that sort of language.

Lost count of the number of times some slack jawed idiot has started a sentence with, "ah ken yer no meant tae say this, but....."

I’m really struggling to understand your point, are you saying the pans is a hotbed for racial remarks? I mean I don’t even think what Josh said was racially motivated, however distasteful, but I’ve no idea where the assertion has come from that the pans is full of racists.

19-12-2019, 05:43 PM

"In my experience" is a poor defence for a derogatory generalisation, tbh.

Can you imagine the experience people like Jacob Rees-Mogg and the like have of ordinary people?

Cataplana
19-12-2019, 05:50 PM
"In my experience" is a poor defence for a derogatory generalisation, tbh.

Can you imagine the experience people like Jacob Rees-Mogg and the like have of ordinary people?

Probably less than I do of the Pans, Tranent, Haddington and Dunbar.

I take the point though that generalisations can be hurtful to individuals and those who stand up to it.

Cataplana
19-12-2019, 05:55 PM
I’m really struggling to understand your point, are you saying the pans is a hotbed for racial remarks? I mean I don’t even think what Josh said was racially motivated, however distasteful, but I’ve no idea where the assertion has come from that the pans is full of racists.

Why did he apologise then? He maybe understands racism better than you.

If you don't understand it, how can you spot it

Fair play to Josh for being man enough to admit he was daft.

The Baldmans Comb
19-12-2019, 05:58 PM
Taylor is a 28 year old man not some daft wee laddie who comes from the super macho world of professional boxing and is obviously homophobic and arguably for some racist.

Its not even up for question. He was found guilty and admitted this himself.

To his great personal credit and no doubt on good advice of his management team he has made a full and public apology.

Taken it on the chin you could say and this should be enough to allow him to move on from such an unfortunate incident especially as he does seem genuine in his remorse.

19-12-2019, 06:06 PM
Why did he apologise then? He maybe understands racism better than you.

If you don't understand it, how can you spot it

Fair play to Josh for being man enough to admit he was daft.

He apologised for himself being part of a scene which ended up him being arrested and charged. I must have missed the part where he said ‘I’m sorry for being a racist lunatic from the pans, I was just fitting in with the rest of the panners’. I’m sure you’ll be able to advise what race ‘orange’ is though.