View Full Version : Match Updates The Glasgow Celtics versus the Edinburgh Hibernians

Pages : 1 [2]

skyhibs
15-12-2019, 03:44 PM
It wont be the same on Friday. Rangers arent great shakes away from home. Aberdeen and Hearts have drawn at home with them. We are more than capable of beating them at home especially if we can replicate the 2nd half v aberdeen.

I honestly hope your right right but I just can’t see it..... if they played like they did at Hamden am thinking I might be back in the pub early

thegaffer12
15-12-2019, 03:44 PM
Why was Rocky hooked at half time guys?

Injury

15-12-2019, 03:45 PM
I honestly hope your right right but I just can’t see it..... if they played like they did at Hamden am thinking I might be back in the pub early

Think it’s always a big difference playing either of them at ER as it is having to go to parkheed or ibrox imo

15-12-2019, 03:46 PM
I have already said well well before the game and it will be the same on Friday

but a different story against them on Boxing Day.... am looking for a victory

So we just give up on these games, that's cool.

15-12-2019, 03:46 PM
Injury
Thanks

15-12-2019, 03:47 PM

No you never give up on them games you just take them wi a large dose of reality.

skyhibs
15-12-2019, 03:48 PM
Think it’s always a big difference playing either of them at ER as it is having to go to parkheed or ibrox imo

Yes I think that too... so let’s get in about them from the start and don’t give them any time on the ball.... they have better players and if you let them play we will defo lose.... one good thing is the dirty wee striker might miss the next game

15-12-2019, 03:48 PM
Celtic will take 5 off Hertz midweek easy.

skyhibs
15-12-2019, 03:49 PM

I cant see anywhere that I said that

15-12-2019, 03:49 PM
No you never give up on them games you just take them wi a large dose of reality.

Of course you do and hope like Celtic at home this season you get something out of it.

15-12-2019, 03:50 PM
Don't know how you can say that. Obviously we are huge underdogs but have drawn there recently and sounds like we have shot ourselves in the foot with mistakes.

The last time we got anything at Parkhead was over 2 years ago and we had John McGinn playing in midfield for us that day who's now an established Premier League player in England.

We have no-one even remotely close to his quality right now.

We have also shipped on average almost 2 goals per game so far this season.

We were never really getting anything today if you're being realistic about things. We're 20 points behind them for a reason.

15-12-2019, 03:50 PM
Ft 2-0

15-12-2019, 03:51 PM
FT 2-0. Take that and get ourselves prepared for Friday. Hoping for a bit more from us in terms of being a threat

Celtic will take 5 off Hertz midweek easy.

not so sure as they will by then be fully aware of the Stendeldamfpress, a formidable new weapon from the german.

The last time we got anything at Parkhead was over 2 years ago and we had John McGinn playing in midfield for us that day who's now an established Premier League player in England.

We were never really getting anything today if you're being realistic about things. We're 20 points behind them for a reason.

Not won at Celtic Park for 9 years according to Celtic TV?

That's it for me. It's about being a bit pragmatic in your thought process. I'm not going to lose the head about a 2 or 3 goal defeat today. They happen at Celtic Park. That's not being negative or defeatist it's just being realistic.

If we play poorly and lose to someone like Hamilton then that's ground for a bit of criticism being aimed at the team. If we thrown in the towel like we did at Ibrox then again it's grounds for criticism. If we go to Hearts on Boxing Day and get out fought I'll have a moan. Going to Celtic Park and getting largely outplayed, working hard and showing a bit fight is a shrug of the shoulders from me.

I hate relying on Rob McLeans radio commentary on Hibs games. You never have a clue what's going on. He just drones on and and about the same pish he was droning on and on about 5 minutes previously.

15-12-2019, 03:52 PM
Celtic are a quality team but no shots on target from us is very poor.

15-12-2019, 03:52 PM
Over all it's an improvement on the embarrassment at Hampden so shows me we're on the right path at least. Never nice getting beat but a draw would have been a major surprise today

15-12-2019, 03:53 PM
I cant see anywhere that I said that

Sounds like it here.

Not won at Celtic Park for 9 years according to Celtic TV?

Think i remember it , danny gabraith scored the winner if i recall

No disgrace. No chance they were going to allow the Huns to sit at the top. Take it on the chin and move on. I think we can give Sevco a run for their money.

I hate relying on Rob McLeans radio commentary on Hibs games. You never have a clue what's going on. He just drones on and and about the same pish he was droning on and on about 5 minutes previously.

If I had to choose a threesome to commentate on the life of someone I hated it would be them.

I thought we were actually ok today... just a couple of mistakes and we didnt take our chances.

15-12-2019, 03:54 PM

Have to agree with this, also need to ask yourself how many other teams record there including rangers is much better. Today isn’t a big deal, it’s not a defeatist attitude and not lacking ambition it’s being realistic. The financial gulf is too strong there may be the odd exception but unfortunately and as sad as it is today is more the norm and people shouldn’t get too caught up with it imo.

Celtic are a quality team but no shots on target from us is very poor.

Its pretty honking actually. Poor match from us and more or less a guaranteed 0 points display. Its not the way I like to see us play against Celtic. Still a loss was not unexpected regardless of how well we play so now we get to have a wee swipe at Rangers...

Think i remember it , danny gabraith scored the winner if i recall

Yep. 27th January, hearts got pumped at home at Tynie off the sheep. Great wee betting double that night (midweek match)

We were never realistically getting anything today...they are worlds apart from us and very rarely drop a point at home. Will take a 2 goal defeat and move on to Friday

The Captain....
This is a decent Celtic side imo..they've unearthed a gem in Frimpong. If we're being honest we didn't really threaten to get anything from the game but we were ok in spells. Celtic very clinical in punishing our mistakes.

A bit more quality required in midfield and defensively but we knew that before this game. I cant help think we lack a couple of leaders as well but I guess they are difficult to come by. As others have said our season wont be defined by how we do at Celtic Park so hopefully we regroup for a good go at der hun..that's a game we can take something from at ER.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

skyhibs
15-12-2019, 03:55 PM
Sounds like it here.

if it’s not there then just make it up.... just like you have.... no point in talking to you as you only see what you want..

thats my my last word on the subject.... well to you anyway

15-12-2019, 03:56 PM
simply lost to a far superior team

in saying that I like the way Ross has us set up - we look a far more complete team than we did 6 weeks ago

15-12-2019, 03:57 PM
I thought we were actually ok today... just a couple of mistakes and we didnt take our chances.

Yep. We were slack on the ball at times. Thats whats cost us in the end. Created a few chances. Dont think it was anywhere near as bad as it was/wouldve been under hecky. Friday will be more of an acid test being at home and expected to create more and have more of the ball.

Deeds
15-12-2019, 03:59 PM

Oh, me too! I remember he once took almost 4 minutes at the start of a Hibs/Rangers game to mention anything from the game..I can only assume Hibs had the ball at the time. I remember shouting and swearing at the radio...what is going on? Who is this f******** ********? Still not over it...

15-12-2019, 04:06 PM
if it’s not there then just make it up.... just like you have.... no point in talking to you as you only see what you want..

thats my my last word on the subject.... well to you anyway

OstKurve Hibs
15-12-2019, 04:13 PM
Look mate ... I appreciate that the thread title is tongue in cheek and just a wee laugh, it didn't bother me a great deal. But this stuff does pee off a few folk so when somebody expresses annoyance at it just explain that to them instead of trying to tell them it doesn't matter what the club is called.

Aye I know what you mean, next time i wont bother getting involved, clearly folk just like summit to moan about.
Somehow I doubt the same folk would bat an eyelid if the thread title said cabbage n ribs or edinburgh hibees, that's my point
Over and out from me,

15-12-2019, 04:14 PM
We lost to a very good Celtic team that have won every trophy possible for the past 3 and a half years. They have lots of options and different types of players within the team. Frimpong looks like he could develop into a fantastic player.

But for me, seeing how Jack Ross has been since he has came in leaves me exciting and optimistic for the future.

He he clearly wants just to be attacking and I think he recognises that we’re missing leaders in the squad which he will address in January.

Once we get some leaders in the team and a proper defensive midfielder I can again see us kicking on under him as we will have a greater balance. One or two defensive minded players will also allow the attackers to do their job better as they won’t have so much responsibility defensively.

15-12-2019, 04:21 PM
simply lost to a far superior team

in saying that I like the way Ross has us set up - we look a far more complete team than we did 6 weeks ago

100% mate. We didn’t get destroyed, played okay as a team but to win there we need to have an amazing day and them poor. Trust us to be the only team that plays them after the Europa league and they had a rezzie team out for that.

15-12-2019, 04:22 PM
We lost to a very good Celtic team that have won every trophy possible for the past 3 and a half years. They have lots of options and different types of players within the team. Frimpong looks like he could develop into a fantastic player.

But for me, seeing how Jack Ross has been since he has came in leaves me exciting and optimistic for the future.

He he clearly wants just to be attacking and I think he recognises that we’re missing leaders in the squad which he will address in January.

Once we get some leaders in the team and a proper defensive midfielder I can again see us kicking on under him as we will have a greater balance. One or two defensive minded players will also allow the attackers to do their job better as they won’t have so much responsibility defensively.

Billy Dodds was saying on the radio before the game he'd had a good chat with Ross the other day at the game and Ross told him he is keen to add some steel in the middle of the park and in defence .

15-12-2019, 04:26 PM
Look mate ... I appreciate that the thread title is tongue in cheek and just a wee laugh, it didn't bother me a great deal. But this stuff does pee off a few folk so when somebody expresses annoyance at it just explain that to them instead of trying to tell them it doesn't matter what the club is called.

Why are you indulging them? Lets face it - the guy that was whinging didn't even know where the club was founded yet sees fit to lecture others.

People like him need to get a life. Hibs, Hibees, The Cabbage - do we all have to get a signed certificate of authenticity from Canon Hannon's descendants to use these terms as well???

15-12-2019, 04:32 PM

Agreed - Ross seems to have the right idea. Hecks would have set us up to keep the score down today - and very likely would have failed. Far better to have a go - sometimes it just might work.

15-12-2019, 04:36 PM
So it’s just accepted we lose to Celtic when we play them at Parkhead. Be interesting if the reaction would be the same if we lose at Ibrox later in the season.

I think some are just happy Celtic knocked the Huns off the top of the league again.

15-12-2019, 04:39 PM
So it’s just accepted we lose to Celtic when we play them at Parkhead. Be interesting if the reaction would be the same if we lose at Ibrox later in the season.

I think some are just happy Celtic knocked the Huns off the top of the league again.

What a bizarre post.

15-12-2019, 04:40 PM
Yup... not the first time Mallan has just clipped the ball away straight to a Celtic player!!

It was Scott Allan that gaved it away. I know Mallan is a popular scapegoat but ffs come on.

15-12-2019, 04:40 PM

I don’t think anyone is saying that. A loss is expected not accepted as long as the performance isn’t shocking. I got called a bnp supporting him during the week and even I am not overwhelmingly gutted we lost today.

15-12-2019, 04:45 PM
Ross to take a bit of the blame today IMO.

We started bright and decided to change our shape after 10 minutes to try and stop Frimpong. It didn’t stop him and we also one of our main attacking threats.

15-12-2019, 04:45 PM
I don’t think anyone is saying that. A loss is expected not accepted as long as the performance isn’t shocking. I got called a bnp supporting him during the week and even I am not overwhelmingly gutted we lost today.

I thought you got called a cu.t not bnp 😂 or was that another thread 😜

15-12-2019, 04:58 PM

At least you know that when Rob and Packy are droning on it means that Hibs are in possession. They only come to life when Celtic are hovering around the opposition box. I'm sure Packy couldn't believe his luck when he was told he was going to be paid by the BBC to watch Celtic home and away.

15-12-2019, 05:01 PM

What a pile of unfounded drivel that post is. The "acceptance" of today's result is based on the reality of the gulf in finances between the two clubs which means that anything other than a defeat suffered at Parkhead (or Ibrox for that matter) is an upset - for Hibs or any other club in the league. There's no indication on this thread of anyone wanting the team to lie down to Celtic - which is what you seem to be implying.

15-12-2019, 05:01 PM
We gave away possession cheaply. Both goals were a result of that.
I felt we were too nervous with the ball. Kamberi was frustrating to watch.

15-12-2019, 05:02 PM
At least you know that when Rob and Packy are droning on it means that Hibs are in possession. They only come to life when Celtic are hovering around the opposition box. I'm sure Packy couldn't believe his luck when he was told he was going to be paid by the BBC to watch Celtic home and away.

Im not sure he even bothers to remember the Hibs teamsheet. His usual thing is, 'that was good defending there, by the player' without bothering to inform us whether it was Porteous, Stevenson, whoever. My other bugbear is you can switch on the radio late and you can go 20 minutes without him ever mentioning the score.

15-12-2019, 05:06 PM
I thought you got called a cu.t not bnp 😂 or was that another thread 😜

That’s a daily occurrence tbf :greengrin

15-12-2019, 05:07 PM

Deary ****in me

15-12-2019, 05:09 PM
What a pile of unfounded drivel that post is. The "acceptance" of today's result is based on the reality of the gulf in finances between the two clubs which means that anything other than a defeat suffered at Parkhead (or Ibrox for that matter) is an upset - for Hibs or any other club in the league. There's no indication on this thread of anyone wanting the team to lie down to Celtic - which is what you seem to be implying.

Compare the reaction today to any defeat we take against rangers and you’ll see the difference. We’ve been spoilt by rangers being so utterly ***** for years, but they aren’t this year. Friday is the same, any result and I’ll be delighted, any defeat and it won’t be unexpected but most of our support have some weird craze that any defeat to rangers is unthinkable.

angus hibby
15-12-2019, 05:17 PM

Embarassing that he has a job commentating on football matches. Listening to a game on the radio, you are relying on the commentator painting a picture for you as to what’s going on. With McLean and just about everyone else on Radio Scotland, you haven’t a clue what’s going on as they drone on about nothing in particular.

Really hacks me off!

They really need to listen to Five Live or Talksport to see how it’s done.

15-12-2019, 05:19 PM

I hate Celtic just as much as Rangers so that blows that theory.

We should be losing 9 times out of 10 at both Parkhead and Ibrox, as should most teams in Scotland.

The only time either of them have dropped points at home so far this season was when Celtic beat Rangers at Ibrox in September.

15-12-2019, 05:22 PM
I hate Celtic just as much as Rangers so that blows that theory.

We should be losing 9 times out of 10 at both Parkhead and Ibrox, as should most teams in Scotland.

The only time either of them have dropped points at home so far this season was when Celtic beat Rangers at Ibrox in September.

Yup - said earlier in thread.

The money they spend on their squad will continue to blow us out the water at Celtic Park and Ibrox.

Can’t see it changing anytime soon.

Our best chances of beating Old Firm is at Easter Road.

We need to do better against Aberdeen and Hearts away for a start.

15-12-2019, 05:26 PM
We were beaten by a better team today, we weren't horrendous but weren't great either, we played ok in parts but yet again mistakes have cost us, seems to have been the story of this season so far but we seem to have been progressing the last month or so and we seem to have a more settled team, on to the next game and hopefully a win

Dolce7
15-12-2019, 05:27 PM

sadly losing to Celtic and Rangers away is the normal for most teams it’s the reality of
the gulf in finances if things were more normal us and Hearts would be getting gates
of about 27000 which would bridge the gap instead we have a lot of old firm supporters
in our own city who have never had a connection with Glasgow

15-12-2019, 05:28 PM
Been watching Hibs for about 27 years and in that time weve won about 3 times at Celtic . Greyskull on the other hand must be into double figures

15-12-2019, 05:36 PM
Been watching Hibs for about 27 years and in that time weve won about 3 times at Celtic . Greyskull on the other hand must be into double figures

I’ve been going since early 90s and I can think of the 3-1 with o Connor and sproule. The 2-1 with Galbraith scoring and the 4-3 classic with Gareth Evans diving for a penalty. We’ve skelped the huns numerous times but to be honest the majority of those were during their liquidation era. We went about 15 years between the Jackson penalty 1-0 and the 3-0 sproule game without doing anything at Ibrox.

15-12-2019, 05:47 PM
sadly losing to Celtic and Rangers away is the normal for most teams it’s the reality of
the gulf in finances if things were more normal us and Hearts would be getting gates
of about 27000 which would bridge the gap instead we have a lot of old firm supporters
in our own city who have never had a connection with Glasgow

Not the case that celtc are the only truly wealthy club? Huns are spending way over what they can afford to keep up....and the other (supposwd) big 2 (ourselves and thw sheep) are just content to be debt free?

15-12-2019, 05:52 PM
I’ve been going since early 90s and I can think of the 3-1 with o Connor and sproule. The 2-1 with Galbraith scoring and the 4-3 classic with Gareth Evans diving for a penalty. We’ve skelped the huns numerous times but to be honest the majority of those were during their liquidation era. We went about 15 years between the Jackson penalty 1-0 and the 3-0 sproule game without doing anything at Ibrox.

Dont forget the “ We ara peepul!” Scottish Cup tie at Ibrox six months after the Ivan Sproule game when we knocked them out of the cup 0-3 :greengrin

15-12-2019, 05:56 PM
Dont forget the “ We ara peepul!” Scottish Cup tie at Ibrox six months after the Ivan Sproule game when we knocked them out of the cup 0-3 :greengrin

I was at that 1 , probably my favourate game that wasnt a cup final win

15-12-2019, 06:02 PM

I intend to commit ritual suicide in front of Easter Road in protest.

15-12-2019, 06:19 PM

That's just wierd.

15-12-2019, 07:01 PM
I intend to commit ritual suicide in front of Easter Road in protest.

I mean, that’s not gonna be a long running thing is it?

15-12-2019, 07:04 PM

Stop it............

15-12-2019, 07:07 PM

And I get hauled up on here for trolling.....:confused:

15-12-2019, 07:09 PM

Even celtic fans didn't seem too excited about going top. Boring support.

15-12-2019, 07:12 PM
Even celtic fans didn't seem too excited about going top. Boring support.

They expected, and got. Crap atmosphere, lucky if 40,000 were in the ground today.

15-12-2019, 07:19 PM

You’re just plain miserable 😂

15-12-2019, 08:13 PM
Whatever happened to that blogger who used to call us the Edinburgh Hibernators? His stuff was pretty funny....

15-12-2019, 08:16 PM
Whatever happened to that blogger who used to call us the Edinburgh Hibernators? His stuff was pretty funny....

He's still on Facebook. American Soccer Guy.

He's funny if a bit repetitive. Unfortunately like much of Scottish football 'coverage' most of his stuff is very Glasgow centric.

15-12-2019, 08:20 PM
I thought that was a very passive and gutless performance from Hibs today. Stood off them and let them play. A very Hecky type performance.

Celtic weren't great and didn't need to be to win the points easily.

15-12-2019, 08:30 PM
He's still on Facebook. American Soccer Guy.

He's funny if a bit repetitive. Unfortunately like much of Scottish football 'coverage' most of his stuff is very Glasgow centric.

I stopped following him for that very reason. I thought he was funny when I first read his page but after a couple of months, I realised there wasn't much beyond his James The Florist and Jermain The Crow gags.

15-12-2019, 08:49 PM
I stopped following him for that very reason. I thought he was funny when I first read his page but after a couple of months, I realised there wasn't much beyond his James The Florist and Jermain The Crow gags.

There was two of them, was there not? A guy down in England somewhere had been doing it for a long time. He did very little Scottish stuff, and the guy you're talking about went for that gap. I think he's no bad and teases the sectarian angle, but the English guy was funnier (I say was because for some reason I don't get his posts anymore, not sure if he is still active).

The English guy had a beauty when Celtic won the league in 2017, he used a picture of Hibs. It was recognising the limited coverage/ knowledge of Scottish football on his page and was awfy funny.

15-12-2019, 08:57 PM
In my time supporting Hibs (total games, not just games attended):

Wins at Parkhead: 1
Wins at Ibrox: 9

Badge
15-12-2019, 08:58 PM
In my time supporting Hibs (total games, not just games attended):

Wins at Parkhead: 1
Wins at Ibrox: 9

When did you start supporting Hibs?

15-12-2019, 08:59 PM
When did you start supporting Hibs?

15-12-2019, 08:59 PM
You could hear a pin drop around Celtic Park today, you'd never think there was over 40,000 people were there. In regards to the game, the better team won, if we were a bit more clinical we probably could have put some opportunities on target. That Frimpong is a cracking player, I will give Stevenson the benefit of the doubt because of that but I'm slowly starting to feel that we need another left back.

I'm more optimistic about our chances at home against The Rangers next week, especially with Morelos out. We need to turn Easter Rd into a fortress on Friday and push the boys that extra bit further.

Badge
15-12-2019, 09:02 PM

Hibs won 3-1 in 2005 and Danny Galbraith scored the winner in another game so that’s 2 I can think of

15-12-2019, 09:03 PM
Hibs won 3-1 in 2005 and Danny Galbraith scores the winner in another game so that’s 2 I can think of

Yup, the 3-1 win was just before I became a fan - early in the 2005-06 season.

15-12-2019, 09:16 PM

Glad you're well, Steve. Missed you when we were winning.

16-12-2019, 01:12 AM
Hibs won 3-1 in 2005 and Danny Galbraith scored the winner in another game so that’s 2 I can think of

Galbraith Scored in a 1-2 win for us back in jan 2010 there were literally 3-400 Hibs fans there that night! http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/8480348.stm

The 1-3 win for Hibs was in April 2005 with O'Connor, Sproule and Brown all scoring for us. I attended both these games and it is the only 2 wins I've seen at Parkhead for Hibs.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/4495875.stm

16-12-2019, 05:42 AM
Glad you're well, Steve. Missed you when we were winning.