View Full Version : Rod Stewart
vuefrom1875
14-12-2019, 11:05 PM
"I'm pleased for Boris "..****##
14-12-2019, 11:11 PM
Weird, confused man.
TBH, I wish he’d just **** off and never come back to Scotland.
14-12-2019, 11:22 PM
Just a tall Lulu.
14-12-2019, 11:32 PM
Is Rodders a Tory? I didn't know that.
CloudSquall
15-12-2019, 12:11 AM
Celtic fans have made it clear he's not welcome back at "Paradise" :greengrin
15-12-2019, 12:27 AM
A Londoner with a Dad who was from Leith who supports Celtic and Man Utd. He's pretty much the blueprint for a total ****ing tosser.
1875godsgift
15-12-2019, 01:11 AM
A Londoner with a Dad who was from Leith who supports Celtic and Man Utd. He's pretty much the blueprint for a total ****ing tosser.
A man of many faeces.
Not to mention the 1970's and 1980's Scotland teams.
Reminded me of Jim Davidson, born and bred SE London to a Glasgow dad and Irish mum, working class background who supports the Tories, a bit of a nasty piece of work IRL seemingly.
Cataplana
15-12-2019, 07:01 AM
What has brought about this shift to the right in former tax Dodger, serial ******* to women, and generally self centred spoiled brat, Rod Stewart?
Put it this way, if you're looking to him for your moral compass, you really do need directions.
15-12-2019, 08:45 AM
A man of many faeces.
The Faces were good though.
Just_Jimmy
15-12-2019, 09:18 AM
The Faces were good though.Then Ronny joined the stones.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Tomsk
15-12-2019, 10:54 AM
Reminded me of Jim Davidson, born and bred SE London to a Glasgow dad and Irish mum, working class background who supports the Tories, a bit of a nasty piece of work IRL seemingly.
His dad's from Leith. He was a Hibs supporter, 'parently.
15-12-2019, 11:21 AM
The 1977 gig in the Playhouse with his post-Faces band is still one of the best gigs I've ever been to. Absolutely tore the place up. Produced nothing but complete pish ever since though.
15-12-2019, 12:20 PM
I saw him outside Wembley after the 3-2 friendly match, resplendent in a dapper pair of tartan trousers, quite a surprise!
Bangkok Hibby
15-12-2019, 12:22 PM
The 1977 gig in the Playhouse with his post-Faces band is still one of the best gigs I've ever been to. Absolutely tore the place up. Produced nothing but complete pish ever since though.
Yep, the guy was a rocker...brilliant! Now appeals to the "Barry Manilow" type audience. Another Phil Collins, tosser!
Cataplana
15-12-2019, 01:23 PM
Yep, the guy was a rocker...brilliant! Now appeals to the "Barry Manilow" type audience. Another Phil Collins, tosser!
He lost it after Atlantic Crossing.
See Trainspotting for a full list of stars who had it and lost it.
Bangkok Hibby
15-12-2019, 01:37 PM
He lost it after Atlantic Crossing.
See Trainspotting for a full list of stars who had it and lost it.
Haha...sick boy on Lou Reed...
No, it's not bad, but it's not great either. And in your heart you kind of know that although it sounds all right, it's actually just s**te.
15-12-2019, 01:40 PM
In spite of it being an utterly ***** period of my life for some reason I get a hit of nostalgia whenever I hear 'Maggie May' or 'You wear it well' :confused:
As for Rod Stewart's political views ... Who gives a rat's ass, the guys an utter bellend :greengrin
15-12-2019, 01:48 PM
Throbber. £90 odd to go and see him wailing in the Hydro too.
His dad was a Hibby.
Used to have a shop down in Archway.
15-12-2019, 04:20 PM
15-12-2019, 05:14 PM
On the plus side he gave us one of the best cup draw performances ever. :greengrin
15-12-2019, 05:46 PM
sellick fans had a wee message for him today..
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/80072616_485416528771762_707283824052011008_n.jpg? _nc_cat=1&_nc_oc=AQkm3sr5Sm64lMLxrbeyJKdjnIhkNx35TjgDV_MR6uE 0BuZ1HZjbGm-IqpaqdA8Lej4&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=8d12f048ee0af8da3511af4ccbb7e053&oe=5E76018F
i agree 110% with the message
15-12-2019, 07:37 PM
sellick fans had a wee message for him today..
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/80072616_485416528771762_707283824052011008_n.jpg? _nc_cat=1&_nc_oc=AQkm3sr5Sm64lMLxrbeyJKdjnIhkNx35TjgDV_MR6uE 0BuZ1HZjbGm-IqpaqdA8Lej4&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=8d12f048ee0af8da3511af4ccbb7e053&oe=5E76018F
i agree 110% with the message
Utterly disgraceful, apart from anything else the language used is appalling.
Pathetic from the so called greatest fans in the world.
It's a big, bad world out there.
15-12-2019, 08:50 PM
Good heavens, don't you offend easy.
The Green Brigade are a set of victim complex, attention seeking chodes 99% of the time but they're spot on here.
15-12-2019, 08:52 PM
The Green Brigade are a set of victim complex, attention seeking chodes 99% of the time but they're spot on here.
If you find that kind of banner acceptable then it really says more about you than it does about any bad Conservative voter.
15-12-2019, 09:36 PM
Exactly. Well done to them for once.
15-12-2019, 10:19 PM
Pathetic is right. The guy has donated plenty to Celtic's charitable causes down the years, including royalties from his songs and IIRC he also contributed to the fundraiser for that Rangers fan who died in a supporters bus crash a few years back. There's no doubting his love for Celtic and so effing what if he congratulated Johnson? Some of the sectarian bile the Green Brigade come out with is far more worthy of scorn.
15-12-2019, 10:24 PM
Pathetic is right. The guy has donated plenty to Celtic's charitable causes down the years, including royalties from his songs and IIRC he also contributed to the fundraiser for that Rangers fan who died in a supporters bus crash a few years back. There's no doubting his love for Celtic and so effing what if he congratulated Johnson? Some of the sectarian bile the Green Brigade come out with is far more worthy of scorn.
Agreed, surprised they never had a **** the Pope banner too.
15-12-2019, 10:41 PM
Who are they to dictate who is and isn't welcome at Parkhead or anywhere else for that matter? We live in a democracy.
Boris Johnson's not my cup of tea, I don't think much of him as a Prime Minister but I totally disagree that anyone who supports him is somehow automatically unwelcome at a football match.
Nearly 700,000 people in Scotland voted Conservative last Thursday. Are every single one of these people unwelcome simply based on which party they voted for?
If so that's extremely sad.
16-12-2019, 06:47 AM
He's certainly changed his political allegiances if he is now a tory.
He went on the aldermaston marches, and considered himself a bit of a communist in his early days. Wanted to be a beatnic, but his life changed on meeting, Long John Baldry, who gave him the chance to perform in his band.
The rest, as they say, is hisTORY.
16-12-2019, 07:03 AM
He's certainly changed his political allegiances if he is now a tory.
He went on the aldermaston marches, and considered himself a bit of a communist in his early days. Wanted to be a beatnic, but his life changed on meeting, Long John Baldry, who gave him the chance to perform in his band.
The rest, as they say, is hisTORY.
He might just be pals with Boris (who, unlikely as it may seem, is a Clash fan!)
Either way, it's a storm over nothing.
Cataplana
16-12-2019, 07:56 AM
Snowflakes calling
All around
Children playing
Having fun
Tis the reason
To be easily offended
Get a grip
Everyone
16-12-2019, 08:12 AM
Who are they to dictate who is and isn't welcome at Parkhead or anywhere else for that matter? We live in a democracy.
Boris Johnson's not my cup of tea, I don't think much of him as a Prime Minister but I totally disagree that anyone who supports him is somehow automatically unwelcome at a football match.
Nearly 700,000 people in Scotland voted Conservative last Thursday. Are every single one of these people unwelcome simply based on which party they voted for?
If so that's extremely sad.
It's their home and they can dictate exactly who is and isn't welcome.
If they're going to start with banners like that then they can ram their "best fans in the world, a club for everyone" pish though.
I don't like my football mixed with politics, I like Hibs to be a broad church and I'm perfectly prepared to sit next to someone with very different beliefs to my own.
I often defend the Tories on the Holy Ground and I'm of the belief that there are Tories and then there are Tories. It has not been helpful for the Tory brand to be damaged as much as it has in Scotland. Centre-right politics have their place, I have no beef with the Ken Clarkes of this world and Scotland should be open to suggestion when it comes to how to run our services. My line of work often shows up all the negatives of left wing politics so as I've got older and experienced a bit of this I've grudgingly developed a slightly more streetwise attitude than I might have had when I was younger and more idealistic. Having said that, I detest far right politics, I cannot stand Boris Johnson and this version of the Conservative party now that he's axed all the moderates so he can ram it as far as being congratulated is concerned.
None of this affects my football-supporting and so whilst I may have sympathy with the message displayed and the sentiment behind it, I would be dead against such a banner being flown at Easter Road.
There's a good chance our club's owner backs Donald Trump FFS.
Cataplana
16-12-2019, 08:21 AM
I've just remembered, the old tart used to sell the Socialist Worker.
16-12-2019, 10:28 AM
It's their home and they can dictate exactly who is and isn't welcome.
If they're going to start with banners like that then they can ram their "best fans in the world, a club for everyone" pish though.
I don't like my football mixed with politics, I like Hibs to be a broad church and I'm perfectly prepared to sit next to someone with very different beliefs to my own.
I often defend the Tories on the Holy Ground and I'm of the belief that there are Tories and then there are Tories. It has not been helpful for the Tory brand to be damaged as much as it has in Scotland. Centre-right politics have their place, I have no beef with the Ken Clarkes of this world and Scotland should be open to suggestion when it comes to how to run our services. My line of work often shows up all the negatives of left wing politics so as I've got older and experienced a bit of this I've grudgingly developed a slightly more streetwise attitude than I might have had when I was younger and more idealistic. Having said that, I detest far right politics, I cannot stand Boris Johnson and this version of the Conservative party now that he's axed all the moderates so he can ram it as far as being congratulated is concerned.
None of this affects my football-supporting and so whilst I may have sympathy with the message displayed and the sentiment behind it, I would be dead against such a banner being flown at Easter Road.
There's a good chance our club's owner backs Donald Trump FFS.
How does the Green Brigade get to decide who is and isn't welcome at Parkhead?
Why does their opinion matter any more than the opinion of any other Celtic fan?
Surely if you consider yourself to be a Celtic fan then you should feel welcome at Parkhead?
Same goes for Hibs. It's possible that the people I sit beside at Easter Road and get on with and have a laugh with every week have completely opposite viewpoints when it comes to politics. I don't know though because I'm not interested in politics during the period of time that I'm watching the game.
The people I sit beside are Hibs fans during that 90 minutes and nothing else matters as that's what unites us. Anyone is welcome to support Hibs as long as they behave themselves and get behind the team.
That's the way it should be.
16-12-2019, 11:37 AM
How does the Green Brigade get to decide who is and isn't welcome at Parkhead?
Why does their opinion matter any more than the opinion of any other Celtic fan?
Surely if you consider yourself to be a Celtic fan then you should feel welcome at Parkhead?
Same goes for Hibs. It's possible that the people I sit beside at Easter Road and get on with and have a laugh with every week have completely opposite viewpoints when it comes to politics. I don't know though because I'm not interested in politics during the period of time that I'm watching the game.
The people I sit beside are Hibs fans during that 90 minutes and nothing else matters as that's what unites us. Anyone is welcome to support Hibs as long as they behave themselves and get behind the team.
That's the way it should be.
I agree with you about us and the way we want our club to be.
What Celtic's support as a whole wants, what the Green Brigade want and what their club wants is entirely their business.
Inclusive is good, but many places want to be exclusive.
If Celtic want to be exclusive towards anyone, supporters of a party who have inflicted a fair amount of misery on the poorer members of our society and whose unionist views are contrary to the views of the majority of their support might not be unreasonable.
16-12-2019, 04:04 PM
In spite of it being an utterly ***** period of my life for some reason I get a hit of nostalgia whenever I hear 'Maggie May' or 'You wear it well' :confused:
As for Rod Stewart's political views ... Who gives a rat's ass, the guys an utter bellend :greengrin
I gather Nicola is thinking of putting him in charge of the rail system one say.
16-12-2019, 09:33 PM
We all harp on about religious bigotry and racism etc. and how they have no place in football. Does the same not apply to politics? Where do the anti-Tory and anti-Rod Stewart Celtic supporters stand in relation to their Tory, biggest shareholder, benefactor, sugar-daddy, Dermot Desmond? Maybe they hate him, for all I know.
16-12-2019, 10:08 PM
Publicly congratulating a Conservative prime minister on his election victory isn't the smartest thing to do in Scotland, particularly at Celtic. However, making a banner about it is a bit weird. The guy is a multi-millionaire, and it can't be a shock to learn he may favour the Tories. What's more, I would bet some members of the Celtic board vote Tory too. It was hardly unforgivable conduct from Stewart.
16-12-2019, 10:36 PM
I'm waiting for Celtc fans to produce a banner telling their largest share owner billionaire Dermot Desmond that's he's not welcome until he declares his love for socialism :rolleyes:
16-12-2019, 11:17 PM
Have the GB (love shortening their name to that btw) not had a thing or two to say about Tories on their board in the past?
17-12-2019, 04:41 AM
Have the GB (love shortening their name to that btw) not had a thing or two to say about Tories on their board in the past?
It’s sad for them. They like to pretend they are an anti-establishment club. Given that they have had a former UK Defence Secretary on their board in the past that’s a bit of a stretch.
17-12-2019, 11:22 AM
Celtc make a lot of fuss about the GB, but FFS, how do they get these banners in to Parkhead every other home game without police stewards and Celtc officials noticing them being smuggled in.
17-12-2019, 02:47 PM
Celtc make a lot of fuss about the GB, but FFS, how do they get these banners in to Parkhead every other home game without police stewards and Celtc officials noticing them being smuggled in.Is it because the cops and stewards couldn't find an elephant in a phone box?[emoji16]
His dad's from Leith. He was a Hibs supporter, 'parently.
I knew he was Scottish but Wiki has him from Glasgow, still surprised he's a Tory voter though.
18-12-2019, 10:47 AM
Celtic fans have made it clear he's not welcome back at "Paradise" :greengrin
What a set of self-righteous pricks they are. I hope he goes back for every home game.
18-12-2019, 10:56 AM
Snowflakes calling
All around
Children playing
Having fun
Tis the reason
To be easily offended
Get a grip
Everyone
'Snowflakes' - perhaps the favourite and at this stage pretty hackneyed term of the right wing for anyone who criticises them and sadly in current widespread use. It's one of these terms that really has 'jumped the shark' now. Along with 'jumped the shark' of course.
18-12-2019, 11:08 AM
It’s sad for them. They like to pretend they are an anti-establishment club. Given that they have had a former UK Defence Secretary on their board in the past that’s a bit of a stretch.
That Defence Secretary has more political judgement than the entire population of the plastic dome put together.
Of all the people or issues to make a banner about, why choose Rod Stewart? I mean why not have a go at Boris Johnson instead if it is his politics that are pissing you off? Too many letters in his name perhaps?
I really like this practice of mobs singling out individuals and using personal attacks to express their self-righteous anger. I mean, what could possibly go wrong with that?
On the other hand Rod's brought it on himself with his poor handling of Brexit negotiations, austere deflationary public spending measures and his woeful failure to get the Northern Ireland assembly active again. Dangerous melodious Tory nutter.
Up next, Alan Cummings gets it tight for failing to control hospital infections, delivering poor educational performance and the state of Police Scotland. Dangerous funny Nat nutter.