View Full Version : Do we do last minute winners?

07-12-2019, 10:22 PM
I started typing this post so it was about last minute winners against Celtic and teams called Rangers. I had it in mind to say “apart from one goal in 2016 in particular :greengrin...” but realised that wasn’t right, either. Longest 1.5 mins of my life ever.

And then I thought about our late winners in general.

Statistically last-minute winners are few and far between, but I feel we’ve been on the receiving end of a few. When have we dished them out? Commons at Falkirk and Lavety at Morton are all I can think of (and much as I enjoyed both, they were scored in a division we should never have been in in the first place).

When have we won in the actual last minute?

07-12-2019, 10:26 PM
Carlisle in pre season. :greengrin

Ross Caldwell vs Hearts springs to mind!

07-12-2019, 10:27 PM
Stephen Glass v Aberdeen
Garry O against Hearts
And last but not least Gary Smith with a header against Dunfermline I think.
Oh aye, the Matty Jack game.

07-12-2019, 10:30 PM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/thehiblog.wordpress.com/2018/06/04/kilmarnock-0-1-hibs-scottish-cup-10-march-2001/amp/

07-12-2019, 10:31 PM
Carlisle in pre season. :greengrin

Ross Campbell vs Hearts springs to mind!

Caldwell

07-12-2019, 10:31 PM
I read Reilly was good for a few.

07-12-2019, 10:32 PM
I mind King Dom scoring the only goal of the game in stoppage time against QoTS in the championship. They were beeling because one of their players was feigning injury (they were time-wasting all game) and we went up and scored.

07-12-2019, 10:36 PM
Caldwell

Can't even blame a Saturday night bevvie for that one :doh:

07-12-2019, 10:37 PM
I remember Malonga scoring in the 93rd minute when we beat QOTS in the Championship 15/16 season. Following season Keatings scored a last minute winner v Raith.

I also have a memory of Boyle scoring an abaolute screamer v Livingston, full volley from about 30 yards but think it was a bit earlier than the last minute.

07-12-2019, 10:37 PM
Galbraith at Parkhead.

07-12-2019, 10:39 PM
Riordan at Motherwell

07-12-2019, 10:39 PM
I mind King Dom scoring the only goal of the game in stoppage time against QoTS in the championship. They were beeling because one of their players was feigning injury (they were time-wasting all game) and we went up and scored.

That was good. A wee laddie ran the length of the pitch to celebrate the goal and to goad the Queen of the South supporters. That's what I remember but I might be wrong.

green with envy
07-12-2019, 10:41 PM
Alan Gordon, last minute extra time winner Drybourgh cup final.

Kamberi against Tripollis.

07-12-2019, 10:46 PM
Stephen Glass v Aberdeen
Garry O against Hearts
And last but not least Gary Smith with a header against Dunfermline I think.
Oh aye, the Matty Jack game.

Dundee United for the Smith header. Don't think Glass was last minute, if it's the volley you're thinking of.

07-12-2019, 10:48 PM
Cummings Vs Cowden, 3-2 win

07-12-2019, 10:56 PM
Our ten most recent injury-time wins in all competitions are:

1. Daryl Horgan (Ross County, home, League Cup 2nd round, 2018-19)
2. Florian Kamberi (Asteras, home, EL 2nd qualifying round first leg, 2018-19)
3. James Keatings (Raith Rovers, home, Championship, 2016-17)
4. James Keatings (Falkirk, home, Championship, 2016-17)
5. David Gray (Rangers, neutral, Scottish Cup final, 2015-16)
6. Dominique Malonga (QOS, home, Championship, 2015-16)
7. Jason Cummings (Rangers, home, Championship playoff semi-final 2nd leg, 2014-15)
8. Jason Cummings (Cowdenbeath, home, Championship, 2014-15)
9. Sam Stanton (Dumbarton, home, League Cup 2nd round, 2014-15)
10. Ross Caldwell (Hearts, away, SPL, 2012-13)

Our ten most recent injury-time losses in all competitions are:

1. Steven MacLean (St Johnstone, home, Premiership, 2017-18)
2. Bob McHugh (Falkirk, away, Championship playoff semi-final 2nd leg, 2015-16)
3. David McCracken (Falkirk, away, Championship, 2014-15)
4. Kevin Moon (St Johnstone, home, SPL, 2010-11)
5. Scott Boyd (Ross County, away, Scottish Cup quarter-final, 2009-10)
6. Scott Severin (Aberdeen, away, SPL, 2006-07)
7. Stephen Hughes (Rangers, home, SPL, 2003-04)
8. Johan Mjallby (Celtic, away, SPL, 2002-03)
9. Phil Stamp (Hearts, home, SPL, 2002-03)
10. Steve Lovell (Dundee, away, SPL, 2002-03)

We've conceded a lot of losing goals right before injury time (i.e. on the 90th minute) but very few with seconds remaining. Honourable mentions go to Alex Schalk (Ross County LC winner on 90th minute) and Tony Andreu (no comment).

07-12-2019, 10:59 PM

7. Jason Cummings (Rangers, home, Championship playoff semi-final 2nd leg, 2014-15)

We've conceded a lot of losing goals right before injury time (i.e. on the 90th minute) but very few with seconds remaining. Honourable mentions go to Alex Schalk (Ross County LC winner on 90th minute) and Tony Andreu (no comment).

Kevin Kyle at Tynecastle?

07-12-2019, 11:00 PM
Kevin Kyle at Tynecastle?

86th minute. We had plenty time left for Callum Murray to deny us a stonewall penalty.

07-12-2019, 11:01 PM
86th minute. We had plenty time left for Craig Thomson to deny us a stonewall penalty.

That was a sore one, free header at the back post...:rolleyes:

07-12-2019, 11:06 PM
That was a sore one, free header at the back post...:rolleyes:

Yup.

Late losses to Hearts (with 10 mins remaining + injury time) the last ten years are:

Aaron Hickey (84th, 2019-20)
Don Cowie (87th, 2017-18)
Andy Webster, the other player (83rd and injury time, 2011-12)
Kevin Kyle (86th, 2010-11)
David Obua (89th, 2019-10)

Ours in the same time period are:

Liam Craig (83rd, 2013-14)
Ross Caldwell (injury time, 2012-13)
David Wotherspoon (84th, 2012-13)

07-12-2019, 11:09 PM
Yup.

Late losses to Hearts (with 10 mins remaining + injury time) the last ten years are:

Depressing isn't it...

CloudSquall
07-12-2019, 11:12 PM

I was right in line with that in the West Stand, an absolute sickener.

On a better note my favourite last gasp Hibs goal was Riordan's vs Motherwell, ER went ****ing tonto on this one, the FF stand was mayhem.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/4534450.stm

07-12-2019, 11:33 PM
One for the “auld gits” on here.:greengrin

One that always sticks in my mind was at Tynecastle, and in the days before multiple subs, a goal scored in injury time by Alan McGraw, who had returned to the field after being carried off on a stretcher 15 minutes earlier, when Hibs beat Dundee 2-1 in the League Cup Semi Final in 1968.
I’m sure my minds playing tricks now with ‘old age’ but I recollect he came back on with a really heavy bandage that almost straightened his leg making it almost impossible to run. However, he somehow managed to slide in at the back post to slide in that winner.

ieastherein1973
07-12-2019, 11:44 PM
So nearly , Paco Luna v AEK Athens birth is SOL

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

07-12-2019, 11:44 PM
Yup.

I’ll go back a wee bit further

For them - Wayne “bl00dy” Foster - Cup game mid 90’s

For us - Garry O'Connor - League 2003

08-12-2019, 12:44 AM
Dundee United for the Smith header. Don't think Glass was last minute, if it's the volley you're thinking of.

Apart from that it wasnae a bad effort tho :greengrin

It was the volley aye, probably around exactly this time of year too.

08-12-2019, 09:18 AM
Apart from SDG my all time fav must be James Keatings versus Falkirk at Easter Road scored in the 92nd minute it was almost Messiesque in its execution

It was a GIRFUY to our arch nemesis Falkirk and the whole Stadium including Peter Houston knew that HIBS were finally going up to their rightful place

:giruy2:

08-12-2019, 09:34 AM

One that always sticks in my mind was at Tynecastle, and in the days before multiple subs, a goal scored in injury time by Alan McGraw, who had returned to the field after being carried off on a stretcher 15 minutes earlier, when Hibs beat Dundee 2-1 in the League Cup Semi Final in 1968.
I’m sure my minds playing tricks now with ‘old age’ but I recollect he came back on with a really heavy bandage that almost straightened his leg making it almost impossible to run. However, he somehow managed to slide in at the back post to slide in that winner.

Spot on ✅

Hibs1969
08-12-2019, 09:35 AM
Apart from SDG my all time fav must be James Keatings versus Falkirk at Easter Road scored in the 92nd minute it was almost Messiesque in its execution

It was a GIRFUY to our arch nemesis Falkirk and the whole Stadium including Peter Houston knew that HIBS were finally going up to their rightful place

100% agree. That was a superb goal right at the death and was sweet, sweet payback for the pain we’d endured against that lot over the previous 3 or 4 years from the cup semi to the play off semi and various league games too. It says a lot about Houston and how he got them punching well above their weight at that time when you see how far they’ve fallen now. For me they were a far tougher nut to crack than any other team during our spell in the championship than any other team we played against, including Hearts, Dundee Utd and Rangers.

08-12-2019, 10:05 AM

I had a perfect view of that one from the West, and it was a thing of beauty.

08-12-2019, 10:15 AM

My recollection is he was carried off on a stretcher whisked away to the old Infirmary had his leg reset in plaster in a stookie hobbled back on 15 minutes later fresh from leaving his 1968 Tardis slid in on the line at the Gorgie Road end on the end of a low driven cross along the line to send Tinycastle erupting into a sea of green and white and the Hibees were on their way to another final

When the legend becomes fact print the legend. :greengrin

08-12-2019, 10:18 AM
100% agree. That was a superb goal right at the death and was sweet, sweet payback for the pain we’d endured against that lot over the previous 3 or 4 years from the cup semi to the play off semi and various league games too. It says a lot about Houston and how he got them punching well above their weight at that time when you see how far they’ve fallen now. For me they were a far tougher nut to crack than any other team during our spell in the championship than any other team we played against, including Hearts, Dundee Utd and Rangers.

Yup. A perfect way to end that psuedo-rivalry we had with them.

08-12-2019, 12:07 PM
It’s fascinating reading the stats on here because in my mind, Deek scored a last minute winner every week.

08-12-2019, 12:23 PM

Number 9 and the RC League Cup final goal still give me the heeby jeebies

08-12-2019, 05:09 PM

I was standing just behind the goal.McGraw slid straight into the post banging his bad knee again.He was very brave.
Didn’t Pat score in about the 96th minute at Tynecastle-Maybe that was for a draw?

08-12-2019, 05:16 PM
Surely you don't need to go back to 2002-03 for 10 injury time winners against us? Feels like I've seen players nearly ending up in quarter-full away ends over and over again in recent years. And usually in the dark.

Must've lost tons of equalisers in that time.

08-12-2019, 05:30 PM

That is my favourite moment from that season.

08-12-2019, 09:10 PM
Remember Willie Irvine scoring a late winner at Fir park in the 80s. Also Colin Harris at ibrox.
Edit it might have been Brian Rice against well.

08-12-2019, 09:18 PM
I was standing just behind the goal.McGraw slid straight into the post banging his bad knee again.He was very brave.
Didn’t Pat score in about the 96th minute at Tynecastle-Maybe that was for a draw?

You’re right. The Stanton goal was for a draw. 1-1.
School End (None of yer Roseburn rubbish) - there were “scenes”!!:greengrin

08-12-2019, 09:24 PM

Another oldie. Pat Stanton's 93rd-minute winner at Tynecastle in 1975. Fantastic celebrations:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylqab835BVs

08-12-2019, 09:26 PM
That was good. A wee laddie ran the length of the pitch to celebrate the goal and to goad the Queen of the South supporters. That's what I remember but I might be wrong.

You can see the goal here at about 7 mins 40 seconds:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9bEUq9EIWI

Footage doesn't really capture the celebrations but folk were going especially daft as I think the goal took us top of the Championship, or at least level with the huns. Might be wrong though.

09-12-2019, 06:27 AM
Another oldie. Pat Stanton's 93rd-minute winner at Tynecastle in 1975. Fantastic celebrations:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylqab835BVs

It was rather obviously an equaliser surely? :confused:

09-12-2019, 06:54 AM
It was rather obviously an equaliser surely? :confused:

Felt like a victory

Must have been 106th minute some of my jambo pals were enjoying their first pint when the goal went in

Back in the day pubs opened again at 5.00 pm

No VAR in them days YouTube footage shows it offside just gets better and better :greengrin

09-12-2019, 06:59 AM
Yup.

Ozturk’s toe punt must have been late in the game?

09-12-2019, 07:07 AM
Lavety away to Morton on day one of our 90's first division adventure

09-12-2019, 08:47 AM
Ozturk’s toe punt must have been late in the game?

That was a draw, not a defeat. Never forgiven oxley for that.

09-12-2019, 08:58 AM
Riordan at Motherwell

Riordan at home v Motherwell, Charlie Richmond gave one of the worst refereeing performances ever. Constantly stopped the game to chat to Motherwell players but rarely booked them. Justice when scored deflected winner in added time.

Keats v Falkirk was a peach the year we won the championship.

09-12-2019, 09:15 AM
I was right in line with that in the West Stand, an absolute sickener.

On a better note my favourite last gasp Hibs goal was Riordan's vs Motherwell, ER went ****ing tonto on this one, the FF stand was mayhem.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/4534450.stm
And under 12000 there that day. Mental really

I’d have been there right behind the goals in row H but must admit I can’t remember it

09-12-2019, 09:20 AM
An own goal from our current manager in 2010 is one to add to the list.

09-12-2019, 10:37 AM
An own goal from our current manager in 2010 is one to add to the list.

Was that from an Ian Murray cross down ff end against St Mirren?

09-12-2019, 10:43 AM
And under 12000 there that day. Mental really

I’d have been there right behind the goals in row H but must admit I can’t remember it

Used to be a very good turnout. Crazy

09-12-2019, 10:45 AM
Galbraith at Parkhead.

I remember that one. We were flying that season until it unraveled and we had the 6-6 game with Motherwell bear the end.

Keyser Sauzee
09-12-2019, 01:30 PM
Was Hanlon's header in a 2-1 win against Falkirk at ER the season we won the league in the last minute??

09-12-2019, 01:35 PM
Was Hanlon's header in a 2-1 win against Falkirk at ER the season we won the league in the last minute??

83rd minute 1–1 draw on 12/11/2016

09-12-2019, 03:31 PM
Was that from an Ian Murray cross down ff end against St Mirren?

I remember that well, went absolutely mental at it. We'd won (I think) away at Parkhead the week before and I was getting myself into a grump thinking "typical Hibs, drop points at home to St Mirren...." then that went in. Ecstasy and relief all at once.

Keyser Sauzee
09-12-2019, 04:30 PM
83rd minute 1–1 draw on 12/11/2016

My mistake, thought we had won that game.

09-12-2019, 05:14 PM
Ian Murray against dunfermline I seem to recall.