View Full Version : Aberdeen - Dirtiest team in the league

07-12-2019, 02:49 PM
As the title says. Some of their tackles have been a disgrace, particularly Vyner & Ferguson in midfield. They aren’t a footballing team, just a bunch of fouling merchants.

07-12-2019, 02:50 PM
As the title says. Some of their tackles have been a disgrace, particularly Vyner & Ferguson in midfield. They aren’t a footballing team, just a bunch of fouling merchants.

Agree. Shocking.

CL0762
07-12-2019, 02:50 PM
They are woeful. Imagine watching them every week.

07-12-2019, 02:51 PM

They've been that way for a good few seasons. Refs let them away with murder every time they play us

07-12-2019, 02:51 PM
It just makes me angry they get away with it!

07-12-2019, 02:53 PM
It's been that way for years. I've sat through so many terrible terrible games against them, they bring other teams down to their crap level. Just good enough to beat the dross in the league every week by kicking harder, hence the 2nd/3rd place finishes. But they are a terrible side to watch.

SJNB Hibby
07-12-2019, 02:54 PM
Winning the foul count 10-3 at HT

They are woeful. Imagine watching them every week.

Poor Aberdeen travelling support backs that up.

Mr Grieves
Everytime we play them it's the same. As soon as it opens up for us they foul.

07-12-2019, 02:55 PM
I think I'd honestly rather be entertained and finish 5th than play like Aberdeen and finish 3rd.

Horrific to watch.

07-12-2019, 02:57 PM

Eh, looks like a pretty decent support from where I’m sitting. What are you watching?

07-12-2019, 03:01 PM
I wonder if female refs would be more likely to book dirty teams. As it stands, it is almost like some teams are 'allowed' to be dirty, and the instinctive male response is to let bully prosper. I could be speaking hogwash of course..

07-12-2019, 03:03 PM
They have been dreadful to watch anytime they have come to ER for the last few seasons. Imagine watching them v hearts!!

07-12-2019, 03:04 PM
They have been dreadful to watch anytime they have come to ER for the last few seasons. Imagine watching them v hearts!!

Them repeatedly booting Hearts players sounds quite watchable actually.

07-12-2019, 03:07 PM
Them repeatedly booting Hearts players sounds quite watchable actually.

When you put it that way, but if you had paid money to watch a football match!!!

07-12-2019, 03:44 PM
**** Aberdeen. Pumping was long overdue

07-12-2019, 03:52 PM
I think I'd honestly rather be entertained and finish 5th than play like Aberdeen and finish 3rd.

Horrific to watch.My passport disagrees.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

07-12-2019, 03:59 PM
Thought the referee was tough on their usual shinanigans and didn't let them get away with too much.

07-12-2019, 04:00 PM
Eh, looks like a pretty decent support from where I’m sitting. What are you watching?

On Hibs TV. Only one half looks occupied and not fully.

07-12-2019, 04:06 PM
Absolute gang of a team

07-12-2019, 04:12 PM
final count

10 v 19

i thought their final foul count should have been more convincing to be honest

07-12-2019, 04:18 PM
final count

10 v 19

i thought their final foul count should have been more convincing to be honest

They do get away with it for sure, but glad to see we upped our own foul count in the second half, you have to mix it wi the dirty sheep ****gin *******s.

07-12-2019, 04:32 PM
They are honestly worse than Hearts.

BigKev
07-12-2019, 04:34 PM
Didn’t think they were as bad today as they have been the last few seasons at ER but there’s no doubt they’re a horrific team to watch.

ACLeith
07-12-2019, 04:41 PM
BBC say we had 55% possession so 19 fouls works out at 1 every 2.5 minutes. Says it all. Ref good at giving the fouls but should have handed them more bookings.

I_Love_Latapy
07-12-2019, 04:41 PM
It just makes me angry they get away with it!

Thought the ref did quite well today to clamp down without turning it into a cardfest.

07-12-2019, 04:42 PM
Lewis Ferguson - dirty wee ****.

07-12-2019, 04:44 PM
Dirty team. Even their more talented players like Ferguson and Cosgrove are at it.
Was good to see that fud booked for diving too.

07-12-2019, 04:48 PM
A bad tempered slug fest with minimal chances v Aberdeen - nothing surprising about the way things were going at half time. Thankfully the team trying to play football overpowered it today

NC1875
07-12-2019, 04:50 PM
****** them and there fud of a manager

07-12-2019, 04:51 PM
The new Shinnie

07-12-2019, 04:52 PM
Never seen Cosgrove commit more than 2 fouls, new record for him in 90 minutes.
Ferguson is a wee scrote.

07-12-2019, 04:53 PM
They're brutal. Foul, foul, foul. Same old. A total disgrace and an affront to football.

Hibs1969
07-12-2019, 04:56 PM
Lewis Ferguson is the new Graeme Shinnie

07-12-2019, 05:01 PM

The top tier above was packed.

07-12-2019, 05:01 PM
Thought the ref did quite well today to clamp down without turning it into a cardfest.
Likewise he had a good game. The female lino was very poor. Missed 3 offsides and a foul right under her nose when Hanlon was clearly shoved.

davhibby
07-12-2019, 05:03 PM

Horrific to watch.

I’m the same. An awful team to watch under McInnes and all they’ve actually done is won a league cup, I’ve been entertained the last three home games and long may that continue

green with envy
07-12-2019, 05:09 PM
Didn’t think they were as bad today as they have been the last few seasons at ER but there’s no doubt they’re a horrific team to watch.

Try telling Scott Allan that. I lost count after the first 30 minutes the amount of times he was booted.

07-12-2019, 05:24 PM
Thought the referee was tough on their usual shinanigans and didn't let them get away with too much.

They probably miss Shinnie who doubled as a referee’s assistant.

07-12-2019, 06:02 PM

HALF of the top tier you mean.

07-12-2019, 06:03 PM
Absolute gang.

Tully
07-12-2019, 06:03 PM

Aye 2 sections

jakedance
07-12-2019, 06:46 PM
By far the dirtiest team in the league. Brutally effective though. They’re clearly coached to nip at you in every challenge. The referee did ok today, which is far better than others we’ve had in games against them. That cup game where we lost on penalties was ridiculous.

07-12-2019, 06:54 PM
They really are complete hammer throwers. I honestly don't know how it works so often.

07-12-2019, 06:58 PM
Convinced McWinless must organise them and rehearse them in training to each individual take a shot at fouling specific influential players to spread the risk of being booked for persistent fouling they have it down to a fine art that and time wasting and interrupting the flow of a game

Surprised it took the Ref so long to produce the first card

As Big Kev says they have been playing this way for years

Sweet revenge for that League Cup quarter final defeat a few years back when they parked the bus playing for pens

07-12-2019, 06:59 PM
Aye 2 sections

The original post stated their away support was poor. I thought it was an impressive turnout to watch that pish. Others may not agree. Fair dos 👍

07-12-2019, 07:00 PM

They had about 1400 max

gazzag70
07-12-2019, 07:07 PM
It was a victory for real football today against the total anti football tactics that Aberdeen have been enforcing on Scottish football for a few seasons now. Their fans deserve a round of applause as it must be brutal watching that style of football every week.

07-12-2019, 07:28 PM
They had about 1400 max

Do you think thats a poor away crowd a few weeks ahead of Christmas?

07-12-2019, 07:33 PM
They are hands down the dirtiest team in the league. It's not the reckless type of foul either, it's cynical wee fouls and getting away with as much as possible every game.

Horrible way to play football, you see it all game they intentionally raked the back of Allan and Mallan's heels at least twice each.

Think it every time I see them play but it must be utterly depressing watching that every week.

07-12-2019, 09:33 PM
Can only pile on to what other folk have said. For a few years now Aberdeen have been the same every time they come to ER fouling in rotation, but never anything over the top, just always enough to stop a move developing or to leave bruises on our best players, they were exactly the same today. Thank **** they never went ahead because even worse than the fouling has been the blatant time wasting .... I'm sure I recall a game not too long ago when it started at around 35 minutes.

It was great to see them get pumped today ... well done Hibs :aok:

07-12-2019, 10:24 PM

Good player. Coached into being a fouling ****. Come to Hibs, play fitba 👍🏻

07-12-2019, 10:41 PM
They kicked everything. Even their own fans are turning against McInnes negative tactics. They are rank.

07-12-2019, 10:48 PM
They've been that way for a good few seasons. Refs let them away with murder every time they play us

not at today's match due to work commitments but I have noticed a distinct style of "kick them aff the park" attitude from them over the last 3 seasons. they obviously got what they deserved today from a fitba' team.

hibsboy07
07-12-2019, 11:15 PM

I would suggest the £29 ticket price put a lot off from attending

CloudSquall
07-12-2019, 11:17 PM
Not a mystery as to why their home attendance is so *****.

08-12-2019, 12:04 AM
I would suggest the £29 ticket price put a lot off from attendingso it should, at this time of year! bloody outrageous if true

08-12-2019, 10:23 AM

Agree he didn't let them away with much which was welcome. But failing to book for what ARE deliberate professional fouls just encourages the practice so that dirty teams prosper and football in Scotland as a whole - including the National Team - suffers as a result.

08-12-2019, 10:34 AM
Read a bit in the papers where McInnes says they should have commited a foul to stop them getting in the box.Shows you what his game plans are.Perfect twat.Got what he deserved.

08-12-2019, 10:39 AM

The trains were up the spout yesterday and that would have affected their numbers. There home support is poor compared to the Edinburgh teams but their away support usually holds up and kudos to them with regard to the travelling distances.

08-12-2019, 10:48 AM
The trains were up the spout yesterday and that would have affected their numbers. There home support is poor compared to the Edinburgh teams but their away support usually holds up and kudos to them with regard to the travelling distances.

Their away support had been falling off for years now, the media keep the myth going that they are still packing out the away stands. I’m sure I saw figures that suggested we took bigger away supports than them last season.

08-12-2019, 10:55 AM

Is it not the case that lots of their “away” support is based in the central belt because of their success under Ferguson?

08-12-2019, 12:09 PM
Took a look at their forum for a bit of a laugh. They all want McInnes punted, yet they're comfortably 4th in the league and that was only their second league defeat to a non-OF team this season. They really are spoiled with success.

EI255
08-12-2019, 02:05 PM
As the title says. Some of their tackles have been a disgrace, particularly Vyner & Ferguson in midfield. They aren’t a footballing team, just a bunch of fouling merchants.Think you'll find it's because of their manger. 100%.

He deliberately sets up his teams to rile the opposition. Always has.

Maybe part of the reason he's never crossed the border. People know!

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

08-12-2019, 04:57 PM
Think you'll find it's because of their manger. 100%.

He did cross the border

08-12-2019, 04:57 PM
Think Bristol is a wee bit over the border.

08-12-2019, 05:50 PM
Think you'll find it's because of their manger. 100%.

Seasonal though.

08-12-2019, 05:51 PM
Took a look at their forum for a bit of a laugh. They all want McInnes punted, yet they're comfortably 4th in the league and that was only their second league defeat to a non-OF team this season. They really are spoiled with success.

?????

08-12-2019, 06:36 PM
Picked up someone’s copy of the Sun earlier today to look at the Hibs report. Interesting that McInnes’s comments on the game were mainly that he felt Aberdeen could (should) have fouled our players in the build up to our goals to stop the breaks. Just sums him up.

08-12-2019, 06:45 PM
Picked up someone’s copy of the Sun earlier today to look at the Hibs report. Interesting that McInnes’s comments on the game were mainly that he felt Aberdeen could (should) have fouled our players in the build up to our goals to stop the breaks. Just sums him up.

Thats why they win nothing. Nothing about playing better, creating more, defending better. Just should've fouled more to stop opposition playing. Managers like him should be fined for comments like that, players are gonna get hurt.

For years this was how people stopped Arsenal. Teams like Stoke, Bolton, Birmingham. It worked, they got wins but the careers of Jack Wilshere, Aaron Ramsey, Eduardo, Abou Diaby, Tomas Rosicky and a few others suffered majorly.

eezyrider
08-12-2019, 07:00 PM
Can't believe they have only the 4th worst disciplinary record in the league. Shows how much they get away with.

Team Played Yellow Red Pts
1 Hamilton 17 22 6 40
2 Motherwell 17 32 2 38
3 Livingston 17 31 2 37
4 Aberdeen 17 28 2 34
5 Hearts 16 27 2 33
6 Ross County 16 30 0 30
7 Hibernian 17 26 1 29
8 Kilmarnock 17 25 1 28
9 St Johnstone 15 19 2 25
10 St Mirren 17 22 0 22
11 Rangers 15 17 1 20
12 Celtic 15 13 1 16

EZ

https://www.espn.co.uk/football/stats/_/league/SCO.1/view/discipline

08-12-2019, 07:24 PM
Can't believe they have only the 4th worst disciplinary record in the league. Shows how much they get away with.

Team Played Yellow Red Pts
1 Hamilton 17 22 6 40
2 Motherwell 17 32 2 38
3 Livingston 17 31 2 37
4 Aberdeen 17 28 2 34
5 Hearts 16 27 2 33
6 Ross County 16 30 0 30
7 Hibernian 17 26 1 29
8 Kilmarnock 17 25 1 28
9 St Johnstone 15 19 2 25
10 St Mirren 17 22 0 22
11 Rangers 15 17 1 20
12 Celtic 15 13 1 16

EZ

https://www.espn.co.uk/football/stats/_/league/SCO.1/view/discipline

I think the bottom 2 illustrates exactly what can be got away with.

eezyrider
08-12-2019, 07:31 PM

A very good point.

EZ

08-12-2019, 07:49 PM
A very good point.

EZ

Having seen St Johnstone twice this season they are punching above (or below, depending how you look at it).

08-12-2019, 09:20 PM

It basically shows that they are very rarely under pressure and correlates directly with their respective league point totals

09-12-2019, 05:47 AM
It basically shows that they are very rarely under pressure and correlates directly with their respective league point totals

You don’t think Celtic warranted more yellows, probably even a red in the game at Easter Road for example?

09-12-2019, 05:49 AM
Agree he didn't let them away with much which was welcome. But failing to book for what ARE deliberate professional fouls just encourages the practice so that dirty teams prosper and football in Scotland as a whole - including the National Team - suffers as a result.

Agree totally and we wonder why we generally do poor in Europe and in national team. What is allowed physically in our top league reflects completely on the style of play. The old firm at least try and play an attacking and passing style of game yet some of our biggest clubs (Hearts/Dons) have concentrated on a style more suited to 80s or 90s. Refs should be much tougher on this.

09-12-2019, 05:50 AM
You don’t think Celtic warranted more yellows, probably even a red in the game at Easter Road for example?

Nitcham definite red.