View Full Version : Hibs Stats

Lester B
02-12-2019, 02:21 PM
Further to the First Time Thread I had my first proper look in years yesterday at the Hibs stats page which is linked to at the top of the screen to discover exactly when my first Hibs game was. Turns out it was 45 years and 1 day previously and that it was Alex Cropley's last game for Hibs; two facts I wasn't aware of. Arthur Duncan scored one and set up Pat Stanton for the other. No wonder Arthur became my boyhood hero!

I'm sure many of you are familiar with that site but anyone who isn't have a look but set aside a couple of hours as it sends you off on tangents looking up that game, then this player, then that season then that game leading to that player etc

Amazing how many quiz questions can be got out of that site!

It's a magnificent thing and hats off to whoever does it :not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

02-12-2019, 02:28 PM
Fabulous site - a lot of the work on it was undertaken by Purple & Green of this parish ✅

Lester B
02-12-2019, 02:53 PM
Fabulous site - a lot of the work on it was undertaken by Purple & Green of this parish ✅

Well a total tip of the hat to Purple & Green!

It's addictive though isn't it? You spot a player you barely remember in a team and look up their stats.

And you also find out weird facts like Tam McNiven was caretaker manager for three games and won them all making him statistically Hibs best ever manager with a 100% win record :tumble:

02-12-2019, 02:58 PM
Cannot find the right word/words to describe that site.
It is indeed superb.
The dedication ,research and passion, and to no lesser degree ,patience ,is admirable.

Hats off to the author/s.
Recognition richly deserved.

Interesting fact ......

Hibernian are undefeated in games against Real Madrid and Barcelona !! :greengrin

Well done the wee team !

Barcelona.,Real Madrid
They will make their gallant bid !!!

02-12-2019, 03:02 PM
It is indeed superb.
The dedication ,research and passion, and to no lesser degree ,patience ,is admirable.

Interesting fact ......

Hibernian are undefeated in games against Real Madrid and Barcelona !! :greengrin

Well done the wee team !

Hibs are the only team Napoli have thrown a three goal first leg lead away against in European Campaigns :wink:

Lester B
02-12-2019, 03:05 PM
It is indeed superb.

Interesting fact ......

Well done the wee team !

Barcelona.,Real Madrid

:top marks:thumbsup:

Logie Green
02-12-2019, 03:08 PM
It is indeed superb.

Interesting fact ......

Well done the wee team !

Barcelona.,Real Madrid

Apart from when we shared 6 goals with Barcelona at Murrayfield. 😜

02-12-2019, 03:09 PM
Hibs are the only team Napoli have thrown a three goal first leg lead away against in European Campaigns :wink:

Exactly
Be interesting to know of any other club that put five past the great Dino Zoff.
Not many, if any.

I was walking down the gangway on the main terracing with pie and bovril in hand when Bobby Duncan let off that screamer .

Said pie and bovril went flying !!

02-12-2019, 03:12 PM
Apart from when we shared 6 goals with Barcelona at Murrayfield. ��

That disnae count
Wisnae at the Holy Ground !!

And its not in the stats:na na:

A game Mixu should have avoided

Lester B
02-12-2019, 03:17 PM
That disnae count
Wisnae at the Holy Ground !!

And its not in the stats:na na:

A game Mixu should have avoided

It wasn't a competitive fixture! You're right Mick. It doesn't count!!! :wink:

Logie Green
02-12-2019, 03:22 PM
It wasn't a competitive fixture! You're right Mick. It doesn't count!!! :wink:

Neither was the Real Madrid game....

The Barcelona game is in the stats but I take your point that it wasn't at Easter Road so we can erase it....

Given the other results that pre-season under Mixu we'd have been as well not bothering to play any games!

02-12-2019, 03:25 PM
Neither was the Real Madrid game....

The Barcelona game is in the stats but I take your point that it wasn't at Easter Road so we can erase it....

Given the other results that pre-season under Mixu we'd have been as well not bothering to play any games!

I agree
The RM game was described, iirc a Challenge Match.
They did tour the world at that time and did not take defeat lightly.
On the back of having recently won 5 European Cups on the bounce !

Fanforlife
02-12-2019, 04:04 PM
Lost to Barcelona at Easter Road in the apology game.

02-12-2019, 04:15 PM
Lost to Barcelona at Easter Road in the apology game.

Ach didnae want them chasing ref/officials again and losing the plot.

Lets just say i was spinning it a wee bit regards our wins against both

The one that counted was the "Battle of Easter Road" in the old Fairs Cup

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=78145

pollution
02-12-2019, 04:31 PM

I agree
The RM game was described, iirc a Challenge Match.
They did tour the world at that time and did not take defeat lightly.
On the back of having recently won 5 European Cups on the bounce !

Hibs paid them £12000 to play the game.

02-12-2019, 04:47 PM
Hibs paid them £12000 to play the game.

Indeed
RM demanded a guaranteed fee before playing any of their tour games.
We just about broke even after paying them.
It poured wae rain that night.
The prices i recall were a bit more than usual
I was there and 2 older neighbours took turns each at giving me a high shoulder during the game.

Although not a competitive match, it is up there ,for me,with victories over
Barca, Napoli and Sporting Lisbon.

02-12-2019, 06:08 PM
Indeed
RM demanded a guaranteed fee before playing any of their tour games.
We just about broke even after paying them.
It poured wae rain that night.
The prices i recall were a bit more than usual
I was there and 2 older neighbours took turns each at giving me a high shoulder during the game.

Although not a competitive match, it is up there ,for me,with victories over
Barca, Napoli and Sporting Lisbon.

6 shilling tickets IIRC Mick. Re Napoli, it was their worst ever European result at the time, as it was Sporting's when we beat them 6-1 & Rosenborg's when we stuck 9 past them!

02-12-2019, 06:59 PM
6 shilling tickets IIRC Mick. Re Napoli, it was their worst ever European result at the time, as it was Sporting's when we beat them 6-1 & Rosenborg's when we stuck 9 past them!

Brian
Goodness knows how i got 6 bob.
Likely brother James got me the brief,or gave me the money, but i cant mind.
It would not have been a comp. though .

Boys gate for regular games then would have been about 1 shilling and sixpence!

Rosenborg, of course .
As too with Malmo
6 nil at ER.. 9 2 on agg. (1970)

They, Malmo, got their revenge!!

I was in Middletons before half time that night .

Blessed to have seen the Hibs in the sixties/early seventies.
European football was near most seasons.
The sides during the previous seasons,(mid/late sixties) to the Tornadoes were not too shabby.

02-12-2019, 07:35 PM
It is indeed superb.

Interesting fact ......

Well done the wee team !

Barcelona.,Real Madrid

Brian
Goodness knows how i got 6 bob.
Likely brother James got me the brief,or gave me the money, but i cant mind.
It would not have been a comp. though .

Boys gate for regular games then would have been about 1 shilling and sixpence!

Rosenborg, of course .
As too with Malmo
6 nil at ER.. 9 2 on agg. (1970)

They, Malmo, got their revenge!!

I was in Middletons before half time that night .

Blessed to have seen the Hibs in the sixties/early seventies.
European football was near most seasons.
The sides during the previous seasons,(mid/late sixties) to the Tornadoes were not too shabby.

Rosenberg 9-1 is the first European game i member won't with Juvetus 2 - 4 and Liverpool 1-0 all around the same time ?

02-12-2019, 08:35 PM
Rosenberg 9-1 is the first European game i member won't with Juvetus 2 - 4 and Liverpool 1-0 all around the same time ?

Juventus game was something else.
A real lesson in how football is played.
Juve team got a standing ovation at the end.

The great Altafini who had played for Napoli at ER years before was superb that night.
I think he scored twice in both legs.

02-12-2019, 09:22 PM
Yes.Hibs played very well that night but I never thought we would win it.

Re RealMadrid there were ructions at the six bob price and many(who needless to say claimed to have been there)never went.

03-12-2019, 04:52 AM
Juventus game was something else.
A real lesson in how football is played.
Juve team got a standing ovation at the end.

The great Altafini who had played for Napoli at ER years before was superb that night.
I think he scored twice in both legs.

Pretty sure Napoli were that confident of going through they left Altafini at home

Big mistake!

Yes Altafini was outstanding in the 2-4 game for Juventus came on as a sub had pace to burn and destroyed us

Alan Gordon told the story that in the second leg Juve had a big stadium clock and about the seventy minute mark you could feel the crowd getting restless and as the great Brazilian had been warming up you just knew there was more pain coming. :greengrin

03-12-2019, 01:53 PM
Pretty sure Napoli were that confident of going through they left Altafini at home

Big mistake!

Yes Altafini was outstanding in the 2-4 game for Juventus came on as a sub had pace to burn and destroyed us

Alan Gordon told the story that in the second leg Juve had a big stadium clock and about the seventy minute mark you could feel the crowd getting restless and as the great Brazilian had been warming up you just knew there was more pain coming. :greengrin

Yer right ,Billy.
He did not play in the 2nd leg game at ER.
My hazy memory/recall these days.
Another story about that game .

Bob Shankly said after the 1.4 defeat in Italy ,Hibs would win at home and go through.

Brave comments!

A few years later, some Hibs players ,and maybe Turnbull himself,said something similar, returning from Lisbon, that Sporting would know all about it back at The Holy Ground .

They certainly did "know all about it "

Its has been said by some of The Tornadoes that the 2.1 defeat in Lisbon was one of their finest performances in Europe.

So maybe they knew/sensed the writing was on the wall for Sporting.

The following round against Fc Besa of Albania was another high scoring game.
Jimmy O' getting another hat trick to compliment his 3 against Sporting.
Chuffed right enough.:banana::nanafunk::nanasplit:

Till Turnbull dropped him ...again!:confused::dunno:

03-12-2019, 03:48 PM
Yer right ,Billy.
He did not play in the 2nd leg game at ER.
My hazy memory/recall these days.
Another story about that game .

Bob Shankly said after the 1.4 defeat in Italy ,Hibs would win at home and go through.

Brave comments!

A few years later, some Hibs players ,and maybe Turnbull himself,said something similar, returning from Lisbon, that Sporting would know all about it back at The Holy Ground .

They certainly did "know all about it "

Its has been said by some of The Tornadoes that the 2.1 defeat in Lisbon was one of their finest performances in Europe.

So maybe they knew/sensed the writing was on the wall for Sporting.

The following round against Fc Besa of Albania was another high scoring game.
Jimmy O' getting another hat trick to compliment his 3 against Sporting.
Chuffed right enough.:banana::nanafunk::nanasplit:

Till Turnbull dropped him ...again!:confused::dunno:

Aye some folk are never happy six hatricks in that season tae :greengrin