View Full Version : Kevin Clancy

30-11-2019, 04:18 PM
Horrendous

30-11-2019, 04:20 PM
That's too kind. ****ing unbelievable how he is a ref. That throw in decision at the end is as bad as it gets

30-11-2019, 04:21 PM
He is a **** wi a Capital K

30-11-2019, 04:24 PM
A complete cretin. Scottish referees are a complete embarrassment. Useless inept corrupt *******s

30-11-2019, 04:26 PM
A complete cretin. Scottish referees are a complete embarrassment. Useless inept corrupt *******s

But, but they just keep making honest mistakes. Right!

30-11-2019, 04:32 PM
Didn’t think he was that bad today.

Cabbie1875
30-11-2019, 04:37 PM
Hun *******

30-11-2019, 04:39 PM

He was in the first half. Then wrongly awarding a throw in to Killie at the end, giving them possesion that led to their 2nd goal.

Thing is, we should have been 3 or 4 ahead, so only ourselves to blame.

30-11-2019, 04:40 PM
He's a clown. We seem to specialise in refs who love being the centre of attention.

30-11-2019, 04:46 PM
The icing on the cake was Clancy deciding that Kilmarnock's one minute celebration counted as in-play and ended the game at the restart despite the goal being scored bang on the 93rd minute.

30-11-2019, 04:49 PM
The icing on the cake was Clancy deciding that Kilmarnock's one minute celebration counted as in-play and ended the game at the restart despite the goal being scored bang on the 93rd minute.

Said that at the time too, shambles

30-11-2019, 05:11 PM
A fanny.

30-11-2019, 05:18 PM
Clearly hates our club. The throw in near the end when O'Donnell clearly kicked it out was bent.

InchHibby
30-11-2019, 05:21 PM
He walked up as slow as you could talking to a Killie player after they equalised, that wasted at least a minute, then straight after the kick off he blew for full time, an absolute joke of a referee.

30-11-2019, 05:23 PM
Clearly hates our club. The throw in near the end when O'Donnell clearly kicked it out was bent.

Nah.

(Paul) Hanlon's razor (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hanlon's_razor) applies here: "Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity."

30-11-2019, 05:38 PM
Could well be the worst top flight referee ever.

30-11-2019, 05:41 PM
Could well be the worst top flight referee ever.

Nowhere near.

30-11-2019, 05:46 PM
Nowhere near.

I thought he tried to let the game flow today

30-11-2019, 05:47 PM
Nowhere near.

Who has been that much that's he's nowhere near? Current bunch are absolutely horrendous, as bad as I've seen.

30-11-2019, 05:50 PM
Hun with a whistle. I was surprised that he let Doidge's goal stand.

And he has previous against us in Kilmarnock games. Remember that "penalty" when the ball was blasted at Porteous' arm which was across his chest? Clancy couldn't wait to point to the spot and then sent Lennon to the stand without even speaking to him. Lennon rightly stood his ground and made his point before exiting.

30-11-2019, 05:51 PM

I'm the same. His decision making was a good deal better than our forward thinking players in the last 20 minutes or so.

30-11-2019, 05:53 PM
Nowhere near.

He's been consistently awful for years. Appalling. His penalty at Rugby Park for handball against Porteous summed him up. Utterly inept.

30-11-2019, 05:55 PM

Killie equalise with 10 seconds left. They celebrate for a minute. How long should he play after kick off? In my book 10 seconds.

Just because they celebrated for an age, I don't blame them we would have done the same, doesn't mean the time for the celebration is added to the clock.

30-11-2019, 05:57 PM
Could be time wasting and should be added.Time added on is a minimum not a maximum.

30-11-2019, 06:10 PM
He's been consistently awful for years. Appalling. His penalty at Rugby Park for handball against Porteous summed him up. Utterly inept.

Also handball v Rangers conveniently ignored.

30-11-2019, 06:22 PM
That's too kind. ****ing unbelievable how he is a ref. That throw in decision at the end is as bad as it gets

I used to be in the camp that said that they are rubbish but not corrupt. But that thrown in decision at the end was so bad it could only be cheating. Cost us the game. 1 min to go, throw in to Hibs, take our time, do the same again hold the ball in maybe get another throw. But no he decided that even though O'Donnell clearly out his foot between Doidges legs and knocks the ball out it was a throw to Kilmarnock. They end up scoring when they should have been pinned in Thier own half. ****ing shocking.
We should have defended better but that was a shocker

supermcginn
30-11-2019, 06:25 PM
He lives on Newhaven road 2 doors down from me, he's an arrogant prick even away from the field.

30-11-2019, 06:30 PM
I used to be in the camp that said that they are rubbish but not corrupt. But that thrown in decision at the end was so bad it could only be cheating. Cost us the game. 1 min to go, throw in to Hibs, take our time, do the same again hold the ball in maybe get another throw. But no he decided that even though O'Donnell clearly out his foot between Doidges legs and knocks the ball out it was a throw to Kilmarnock. They end up scoring when they should have been pinned in Thier own half. ****ing shocking.

Yep. Absolutely unreal. Deserves an assist for it.

30-11-2019, 06:39 PM
I thought he tried to let the game flow today

Yes, mostly in the direction of the Hibs goal.

30-11-2019, 06:43 PM
He lives on Newhaven road 2 doors down from me, he's an arrogant prick even away from the field.

Thought he was from Glasgow.

30-11-2019, 06:47 PM

Runs about in the meadows on a a Friday total prick wearing his sfa *****

Keyser Sauzee
30-11-2019, 09:17 PM

Clancy is, along with the rest of the officials in the league, a pish ref but if we can’t stop them from a throw in next to the corner flag in their own half then we need to be doing better. It was the wrong decision but it wasn’t the reason we didn’t win today.

30-11-2019, 09:33 PM

Works in Shepperd and Wedderburn’s Edinburgh office.

30-11-2019, 10:35 PM
He’s one of many refs who thinks a yard is equal to one of his short steps. Given that a yard is three feet, Clancy’s 10 minced steps give you a wall 8 yards away at most.

Moody Blues
30-11-2019, 11:31 PM
Oh dear! Now we are blaming the ref for our inabilty to see out the game. That is for the manager and coaches to sort out.

30-11-2019, 11:48 PM
Oh dear! Now we are blaming the ref for our inabilty to see out the game. That is for the manager and coaches to sort out.

At the game aye? More likely at the Madam.

01-12-2019, 12:18 AM
Oh dear! Now we are blaming the ref for our inabilty to see out the game. That is for the manager and coaches to sort out.Nae bother. See ya

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

01-12-2019, 01:23 AM

They can sort whatever they want, if the ref gives dreadful decisions against us then even the best managers are powerless.

01-12-2019, 09:14 AM
Never really bought in to the corrupt or conspiracy theories and while refs are always going to make mistakes, there is nothing wrong with calling them out on basic errors. If they can't make the small calls, how can they be trusted with the big ones. The expectation should be that it is the refs supervisors pointing these out and taking the required actions, not supporters who are biased.

BlackSheep
01-12-2019, 09:26 AM
Until the refs in Scotland are made full time professionals we will continue to suffer their mediocrity.

As pointed out by others, there should be a process of evaluation post match where errors are assessed and collectively the refs work with each other and a supervisor to improve their decision making and consistency.

As afar as I’m aware none of this takes place in Scotland... so piss poor refereeing suffices.

BlackSheep
01-12-2019, 09:31 AM
He’s one of many refs who thinks a yard is equal to one of his short steps. Given that a yard is three feet, Clancy’s 10 minced steps give you a wall 8 yards away at most.

I count the ref’s steps at every opportunity (sad I know) and Clancy consistently walked 9 of his steps... not 10. And as you point out, they are now where near a yard.

While we are talking about refs, they need to be reprimanded for not following the rules... the ball hit Clancy yesterday and he didn’t award a drop ball... this is the new rule.

Most refs are still pulling back play from quick free kicks due to them still noting something in their book, this rule was changed so players can get the game going as quickly as possible... yet Beaton last week pulled us back 2/3 times as he was still writing a novel!!

On that subject too, quick free kicks, the opposing teams kicking the ball away or standing in front of the taker... refs need to take a hard line on this, I’ve not seen one booking for it for years!! Even persistent offenders don’t get a taking to...

Oh and booking our goalie for time wasting yet, that pleb Joe Lewis is the biggest culprit of this and he never sees a card...

I could go on!!

01-12-2019, 09:35 AM
While we are talking about refs, they need to be reprimanded for not following the rules... the ball hit Clancy yesterday and he didn’t award a drop ball... this is the new rule.

I think if the ball lands at the same team who were last to touch it prior to it hitting the ref, it can be played on

01-12-2019, 02:37 PM
Just to clarify, I think Clancy is a rotten, horrendous excuse for a referee but I don't condone putting up his workplace or where he lives online.

maturehibby
01-12-2019, 02:44 PM
Just to clarify, I think Clancy is a rotten, horrendous excuse for a referee but I don't condone putting up his workplace or where he lives online.

Well said

01-12-2019, 02:55 PM
I count the ref’s steps at every opportunity (sad I know) and Clancy consistently walked 9 of his steps... not 10. And as you point out, they are now where near a yard.

Most refs are still pulling back play from quick free kicks due to them still noting something in their book, this rule was changed so players can get the game going as quickly as possible... yet Beaton last week pulled us back 2/3 times as he was still writing a novel!!

On that subject too, quick free kicks, the opposing teams kicking the ball away or standing in front of the taker... refs need to take a hard line on this, I’ve not seen one booking for it for years!! Even persistent offenders don’t get a taking to...

Oh and booking our goalie for time wasting yet, that pleb Joe Lewis is the biggest culprit of this and he never sees a card...

I could go on!!

Yesterday a Killie player had the ball, it hit the referee and went to another Killie player, game continues and Clancy was correct not to give a drop ball.

aljo7-0
01-12-2019, 04:58 PM
Watching a Harry Potter film with the kids. Clancy looks like Voldemore wearing a wig. Just saying .......

01-12-2019, 05:51 PM

To be fair his workplace is online. The tube is often on my bus in the morning.

01-12-2019, 06:04 PM
Sometimes the fans need to know, and understand, the rules as they actually are now and not how they remember them fondly from their times reffing games in the street or in the park when the goal posts were jumpers.

01-12-2019, 06:57 PM
Scottish refs are abysmal and Clancy is without doubt the worst by a long way. Over and above what’s already been said, he’s clearly forgotten the new rule about subs leaving the field at the nearest point and why was only one Killie player booked when the entire team were in the away end celebrating their 2nd?

Oh and he claims to be a Partick fan but we all know who he really supports, coming from Glasgow with a name like Clancy.
Bring back the Maltese refs!

01-12-2019, 08:13 PM
Scottish refs are abysmal and Clancy is without doubt the worst by a long way. Over and above what’s already been said, he’s clearly forgotten the new rule about subs leaving the field at the nearest point and why was only one Killie player booked when the entire team were in the away end celebrating their 2nd?

Oh and he claims to be a Partick fan but we all know who he really supports, coming from Glasgow with a name like Clancy.
Bring back the Maltese refs!

Is Clancy a Rangers or Celtic name??

01-12-2019, 08:17 PM
Sometimes the fans need to know, and understand, the rules as they actually are now and not how they remember them fondly from their times reffing games in the street or in the park when the goal posts were jumpers.

And sometimes the referees should do their job correctly instead of being as utterly useless as they usually are.

01-12-2019, 08:26 PM
Scottish refs are abysmal and Clancy is without doubt the worst by a long way. Over and above what’s already been said, he’s clearly forgotten the new rule about subs leaving the field at the nearest point.

Why were the killie players running across the pitch when they were 2-1 down though? Just get off the pitch, surely the players know the rules? I was bemused by it.

01-12-2019, 09:32 PM
Why were the killie players running across the pitch when they were 2-1 down though? Just get off the pitch, surely the players know the rules? I was bemused by it.

I think that rule’s down to whatever the ref feels on the day. Basically so a player doesn’t have to run the gauntlet - imagine Boyle being subbed at Tiny and going off at the opposite side from the dugouts? They’d be over the wee wall clawing at him.

01-12-2019, 09:38 PM
I think that rule’s down to whatever the ref feels on the day. Basically so a player doesn’t have to run the gauntlet - imagine Boyle being subbed at Tiny and going off at the opposite side from the dugouts? They’d be over the wee wall clawing at him.

Not sure there would be an issue with any of the Killie players coming off at the East.

01-12-2019, 09:41 PM
Out of interest, who is in charge of Scotland's referees now?

01-12-2019, 09:48 PM
Out of interest, who is in charge of Scotland's referees now?

peter lawwell :greengrin

nah, willie young...i think https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-fa/organisation/strategy-structure/who-we-are/board-committees/

02-12-2019, 05:26 AM
Not sure there would be an issue with any of the Killie players coming off at the East.

There wouldn’t be but the point is the ref can choose to do what he likes. It’s not compulsory.

BlackSheep
02-12-2019, 02:36 PM
I think if the ball lands at the same team who were last to touch it prior to it hitting the ref, it can be played on

Yesterday a Killie player had the ball, it hit the referee and went to another Killie player, game continues and Clancy was correct not to give a drop ball.

Ah, i thought it went to Lewy Stevenson over on the left (their right)... my bad... but Clancy still is rubbish :)

Aim Here
02-12-2019, 03:38 PM
Is Clancy a Rangers or Celtic name??

It's a Queen's Park name.

02-12-2019, 05:34 PM
There wouldn’t be but the point is the ref can choose to do what he likes. It’s not compulsory.

Get that, why would he chose not to enforce on Saturday though? The answer is he didn’t, he forgot. IMHO of course.

03-12-2019, 11:01 AM
Get that, why would he chose not to enforce on Saturday though? The answer is he didn’t, he forgot. IMHO of course.

Whats to "enforce"? Its his choice. He chose.

BonnieFitbaTeam
03-12-2019, 12:21 PM

They seem to have completely given up on this. I've seen one player booked for this in about 5 years. Have a guess who he plays for? Bonus point if you can identify him https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhDwAPANQAAAAAAOLeAPn0AL /v8DAwAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAACH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh QQBMgAfACwAAAAADwAPAAAFROAnikBZjuhXDoPgnijAuvQ7ynU uAGRb0r dqrUDAI0vnCAQoDGPumgw6gwic8YAL2vqMnkqF3P81N6i39T0C 06puqkQACH5BAEyAB8ALAMABAAHAAkAAAUW4CcIX/kBJVoGq m cCyOYwrcaqDrIQAh/ntUaGlzIGFuaW1hdGVkIEdJRiBmaWxlIHdhcyBjb25zdHJ1Y3R lZCB1c2luZyBVbGVhZCBHSUYgQW5pbWF0b3IsIHZpc2l0IHVzI GF0IGh0dHA6Ly93d3cudWxlYWQuY29tIHRvIGZpbmQgb3V0IG1 vcmUuAVVTU1BDTVQAOw==

03-12-2019, 02:58 PM

They seem to have completely given up on this. I've seen one player booked for this in about 5 years. Have a guess who he plays for? Bonus point if you can identify him https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhDwAPANQAAAAAAOLeAPn0AL /v8DAwAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAACH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh QQBMgAfACwAAAAADwAPAAAFROAnikBZjuhXDoPgnijAuvQ7ynU uAGRb0r dqrUDAI0vnCAQoDGPumgw6gwic8YAL2vqMnkqF3P81N6i39T0C 06puqkQACH5BAEyAB8ALAMABAAHAAkAAAUW4CcIX/kBJVoGq m cCyOYwrcaqDrIQAh/ntUaGlzIGFuaW1hdGVkIEdJRiBmaWxlIHdhcyBjb25zdHJ1Y3R lZCB1c2luZyBVbGVhZCBHSUYgQW5pbWF0b3IsIHZpc2l0IHVzI GF0IGh0dHA6Ly93d3cudWxlYWQuY29tIHRvIGZpbmQgb3V0IG1 vcmUuAVVTU1BDTVQAOw==

Your image does not work but I'll hazard a guess it was Hibs and resulted in a sending off.

03-12-2019, 02:58 PM

Agree with all of that.

03-12-2019, 03:11 PM
Whats to "enforce"? Its his choice. He chose.

Any need for the tone mate? As I understand it, the player is to leave at the nearest touchline unless the ref instructs him not to for reason of player safety.

BonnieFitbaTeam
03-12-2019, 04:52 PM
Your image does not work but I'll hazard a guess it was Hibs and resulted in a sending off.

It was indeed Hibs but no sending off, surprisingly [emoji4]. Mr Slivka was the player in question. I still can’t believe he got booked.

BlackSheep
03-12-2019, 05:31 PM
Any need for the tone mate? As I understand it, the player is to leave at the nearest touchline unless the ref instructs him not to for reason of player safety.

You’re almost right here... it’s agreed with both teams pre-match as to whether the rule will be enforced or not. It’s mostly derbies and big games of that ilk that the ref would use common sense and allow the players to leave via the centre line, but nothing stops both teams and the ref agreeing to ignore it at your average Hibs v Killie match.

03-12-2019, 05:52 PM

There was no tone unless you felt the need to infer one and to be offended. ( now that is a tone)

To aid your understanding of the change to Law 3 perhaps this extract from the IFB document on the subject

"To tackle the unfair practice of a player who is being substituted taking a long time to leave at the halfway.line
(which is not a Law requirement) the player must now leave at the nearest point on the touchline/goal line(as with an injury) unless the referee decides otherwise"

03-12-2019, 06:18 PM
There was no tone unless you felt the need to infer one and to be offended. ( now that is a tone)

To aid your understanding of the change to Law 3 perhaps this extract from the IFB document on the subject

"To tackle the unfair practice of a player who is being substituted taking a long time to leave at the halfway.line
(which is not a Law requirement) the player must now leave at the nearest point on the touchline/goal line(as with an injury) unless the referee decides otherwise"

So exactly as I understood it. Thanks for clarifying.

03-12-2019, 06:18 PM
You’re almost right here... it’s agreed with both teams pre-match as to whether the rule will be enforced or not. It’s mostly derbies and big games of that ilk that the ref would use common sense and allow the players to leave via the centre line, but nothing stops both teams and the ref agreeing to ignore it at your average Hibs v Killie match.

Thanks. Wasn’t aware it was agreed pre-match.