View Full Version : The boys of the E'nbrugh Hibees choir were singing "Glory be"

29-11-2019, 10:51 PM
Non-stop Pogues for the next month plus. Try these alternative lyrics.......

It was New Year’s Day babe
Across at Tynie
An old man said to me, won't see another one
And then he sang a song
The Glory Hibees one
I turned my face away
And dreamed a win for him

Then Jimmy scored the first
Came in at seven nil
Oh what a feeling
That year for me and him
A happy New Year’s Day
I love you Hibees
Was there a better time
When all our dreams came true

They were handsome
Played pretty
Kings of our City
When the team finished playing
We howled out for more
The terrace was swinging,
All the Hibees were singing
We pissed on the Jambos
Then danced through the night

The boys of the E’nbrugh Hibees choir
Were singing "Glory be"
And the bells were ringing out
On New Year’s Day

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9jbdgZidu8

30-11-2019, 05:04 AM
Great writing [emoji106]

30-11-2019, 07:34 AM
suggestion "The Mental Hibees tune..."?

Sheep_Nae_Mair
30-11-2019, 11:15 PM
That's good!

03-12-2019, 03:24 PM

Across at Tynie
And then he sang a song
The Glory Hibees one
I turned my face away

Came in at seven nil
Oh what a feeling
That year for me and him
A happy New Year’s Day
I love you Hibees
Was there a better time

They were handsome
Played pretty
Kings of our City
We howled out for more
We pissed on the Jambos

Were singing "Glory be"
On New Year’s Day

Forgive the repitition but for anyone singing along to this version like me in the shower, car or wherever, there's a wee edit/addition in here (and original post) which will p155 off your Jambo friends even more.

Fogzie
03-12-2019, 05:00 PM
This is absolutely brilliant mate.

ABZHFC
03-12-2019, 05:18 PM
Considering how much I usually wince at a new chant suggestion, I actually quite like this effort, kudos!

03-12-2019, 08:21 PM

Across at Tynie
And then he sang a song
The Glory Hibees one
I turned my face away

Came in at seven nil
Oh what a feeling
That year for me and him
A happy New Year’s Day
I love you Hibees
Was there a better time

They were handsome
Played pretty
Kings of our City
We howled out for more
We pissed on the Jambos

Were singing "Glory be"
On New Year’s Day

Thats superb 👌

04-12-2019, 08:11 AM
Can really see that catching on.........

NOT

TimeForHeroes16
04-12-2019, 08:38 AM
Thinks its really good just a bit long and too much to remember I think.

04-12-2019, 11:10 AM
Thinks its really good just a bit long and too much to remember I think.
Granted. Not posted as a suggested chant. Just some alternative words to the non-stop playing over the next month on the radio, in shops, pubs etc. Even if you only remember the last couple of "choir" lines then instead of muttering "there's that effin Pogues song again", you can embrace it and put your Hibees slant on the song, whether in your own head, belting it out at the top of your voice, or anywhere in between. :wink: