View Full Version : Big name signing possible????

27-11-2019, 09:37 PM
Im hearing from my mate kev who has football connections at easter road that jack ross is trying to entice a big name signing to hibs in january....he wasnt saying who just that hes a household name in england nearing the end of his career ...

27-11-2019, 09:42 PM
McGeady?

27-11-2019, 09:47 PM
Prince Andrew?

27-11-2019, 09:48 PM
Steven Fletcher

27-11-2019, 09:49 PM
John McGinn

27-11-2019, 09:49 PM
Darren Fletcher

27-11-2019, 09:51 PM
Prince Andrew?

:greengrin Beat me to it!

27-11-2019, 09:52 PM
:greengrin Beat me to it!

27-11-2019, 09:52 PM
Jeremy Corbyn?[emoji15]

27-11-2019, 09:57 PM
Daniel Stendel

27-11-2019, 10:03 PM
He’s big he’s red his feet stick out the bed:

Peter Crouch

Naw we’ve goat Christian Doidge!

Isaiah Osbourne

Hibs4185
Stokesy just been released??

27-11-2019, 10:09 PM
Lee Cattermole

27-11-2019, 10:11 PM
Isaiah Osbourne

That's a name from the past. I actually thought he wasn't that bad a player when he was with us. If I remember correctly he played in quite a poor side...

27-11-2019, 10:12 PM
That's a name from the past. I actually thought he wasn't that bad a player when he was with us. If I remember correctly he played in quite a poor side...

Aye I quite liked him tbh, better than the likes of Matt Thornhill

27-11-2019, 10:24 PM
Im hearing from my mate kev who has football connections at easter road that jack ross is trying to entice a big name signing to hibs in january....he wasnt saying who just that hes a household name in england nearing the end of his career ...

So a short term expensive player, I can’t see that happening.

27-11-2019, 10:32 PM
Boris Johnson.

27-11-2019, 10:34 PM
Lee Cattermole

He’s doing no bad in Holland.

If January the players obviously contracted at the moment.

The Leith Dutch
27-11-2019, 10:36 PM
Darren Fletcher

This was mentioned elsewhere I'm sure.
Centre midfield does feel like a weak area though Hallberg and Slivka doing well in there right now.

Frankhfc
27-11-2019, 10:39 PM
Lee Cattermole

Had to google him as never heard of before. Has a good resume as a tough tackling midfielder and at 31 certainly isn't over the hill. Could be very good if him.

Clarence
27-11-2019, 10:43 PM
Sokratis Papastathopoulos?

27-11-2019, 11:20 PM
Had to google him as never heard of before. Has a good resume as a tough tackling midfielder and at 31 certainly isn't over the hill. Could be very good if him.

Really surprised you haven’t heard of him had a decent career down south. Won’t be him we are trying to sign either way

Liam6270
27-11-2019, 11:22 PM
Prince Andrew?

Imagine the parties!

27-11-2019, 11:24 PM
Imagine the parties!

Would we remember them?

27-11-2019, 11:24 PM
Ken Barlow.

Liam6270
27-11-2019, 11:25 PM
Would we remember them?

Hopefully not then we have nothing to worry about, just go for a pizza in Woking afterwards

27-11-2019, 11:26 PM
Mon the Kev

Frankhfc
27-11-2019, 11:27 PM
Really surprised you haven’t heard of him had a decent career down south. Won’t be him we are trying to sign either way

I more or less stopped watching anything other than Scottish football well over a decade ago albeit I've become a bit of a recent Aston Villa fan since Super John moved down there with him and Grealish normally a great watch especially at Villa Park.

Shame hearing it very probably won't be Cattermole though as he looks a decent player according to his resume.

27-11-2019, 11:28 PM
Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink

27-11-2019, 11:35 PM
Long live Kev #ITK

27-11-2019, 11:35 PM
Imagine the parties!
Sweaty as f...

27-11-2019, 11:37 PM
Darren Fletcher
Don't need more polish. Need steel.

tonyrougier123
27-11-2019, 11:38 PM
Kevs a spraff! 😎

27-11-2019, 11:42 PM
Don't need more polish. Need steel.

Not sure about no polish. Lewandowski would be a brilliant signing.....

28-11-2019, 12:08 AM
Sotiris Papagiannopoulos ;)

28-11-2019, 12:12 AM

Dirty wee bassa as I recall .. would probably spend half the season suspended :greengrin

davhibby
28-11-2019, 12:27 AM
If it’s a January signing would that mean it’s someone that’s currently at a club

28-11-2019, 12:38 AM
Surely tim cahill.

BS44
28-11-2019, 12:56 AM
Kevs a spraff! 😎

Crazy fella ain't a Hibby

28-11-2019, 01:04 AM

Course he is. Behave.

BS44
28-11-2019, 01:21 AM
Course he is. Behave.

My behaviour is exemplary

The crazy fella's isn't

28-11-2019, 01:39 AM
If it’s a January signing would that mean it’s someone that’s currently at a club

Yes, or wasn't a free agent in time.

Mixu62
28-11-2019, 01:56 AM
Tried to narrow down the list of suspects, looked on Transfer.markt at players over 30 whose contract expire in 2020. A few interesting names:

Aaron Lennon
Andy Carroll
Ashley Young
James Milner

Doubt any of them would take the pay cut to play in the SPFL but who knows!! Sauzee did it!

28-11-2019, 01:58 AM
Leeann did say money will be available but i reckon Ross will loan out a couple of heckys signing like Jackson and Vela and get a centre mid and striker.

seanshow
28-11-2019, 02:14 AM
Prince Andrew?

I presume we'll be trying to negotiate a day release clause

percy veer
28-11-2019, 05:15 AM
Tried to narrow down the list of suspects, looked on Transfer.markt at players over 30 whose contract expire in 2020. A few interesting names:

Aaron Lennon
Andy Carroll
Ashley Young
James Milner

Doubt any of them would take the pay cut to play in the SPFL but who knows!! Sauzee did it!

ill have a pint of what your drinking

Fisherrow Harp
28-11-2019, 06:38 AM
Emil Kostadinov?

Mixu62
28-11-2019, 06:59 AM
ill have a pint of what your drinking

F*** it, hic, let's just buy all 4!

28-11-2019, 07:24 AM
If he's looking at a big name left winger I believe Jeremy Corbyn will be released during the winter window...

28-11-2019, 07:25 AM
Kev fowk ken whits gaun oan!

28-11-2019, 09:48 AM
Not sure about no polish. Lewandowski would be a brilliant signing.....
Left the door open for that one..........
Should Czech available players who are not Finish. But don't Russian.

28-11-2019, 09:54 AM
Efe Eric Ambrose :flag:

28-11-2019, 10:09 AM

Magnificent trolling as ever CH.

28-11-2019, 10:11 AM

Glad someone else has noticed.

Cataplana
28-11-2019, 10:24 AM
Fletch?

28-11-2019, 10:55 AM
Prince Andrew?

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

28-11-2019, 11:00 AM
Kev fowk ken whits gaun oan!

As a Kev(in) I would just like to point out, that I have no idea what is going on.

Arch Stanton
28-11-2019, 11:04 AM
Sotiris Papagiannopoulos ;)

Sokratis Papastathopoulos?

Looks like a dead heat for the biggest names!

28-11-2019, 11:11 AM
Looks like a dead heat for the biggest names!Tarquin Fin-tim-lin-bin-whin-bim-lim-bus-stop-F’tang-F’tang-Olé-Biscuitbarrel

Either the signing in question or the next Hearts manager.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191128/8304aedd293ce0513d78114d8ff4c0f9.jpg

28-11-2019, 11:39 AM
Tarquin Fin-tim-lin-bin-whin-bim-lim-bus-stop-F’tang-F’tang-Olé-Biscuitbarrel

Either the signing in question or the next Hearts manager.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191128/8304aedd293ce0513d78114d8ff4c0f9.jpg

Lol you're recommending a contestant from Upper Class Twit of the Year? Well it's definitely a big name!!

Juice-Terry
28-11-2019, 11:48 AM
Tarquin Fin-tim-lin-bin-whin-bim-lim-bus-stop-F’tang-F’tang-Olé-Biscuitbarrel

I'll see your Tarquin, and raise you:

dirtydirk
28-11-2019, 12:06 PM
Cattermole is a member at Dunbar and the Renaissance so would maybe suit him being up here

I'm Spartacus
28-11-2019, 12:15 PM
Some proper LOL replies on here! :)

I'd hate to be a football manager, he comes in, steadies the ship with zero difference in players, now does he start to tinker in January or just assess the squad and get everything sorted in the summer? I can genuinely sleep at night these days.

BigKev
28-11-2019, 12:22 PM
As a Kev(in) I would just like to point out, that I have no idea what is going on.

As another I confirm I have no idea either.

28-11-2019, 12:33 PM
Catermole is under contract till the summer

28-11-2019, 12:33 PM

Fitba folk ken whit's gaun on

I'm Spartacus
28-11-2019, 12:37 PM

Sent from my SM-A750FN using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

Picked that up in Cav many moons ago.

HibeeMackenzie
28-11-2019, 01:17 PM
Leon Osman finally signing?

28-11-2019, 01:22 PM
Fitba folk ken whit's gaun on

Naw ah dinnae

28-11-2019, 01:28 PM
lol

28-11-2019, 01:34 PM

Thirded. Another clueless Kev here.

Barman Stanton
28-11-2019, 01:50 PM
Naw ah dinnae

Nice :greengrin

squire
28-11-2019, 02:00 PM
Budge wanted the big name as their new manager. Not us - we only got 8 letters in Jack Ross. Maybe that is the confusion.

28-11-2019, 02:14 PM
Naw ah dinnae

😂😂😂

28-11-2019, 02:31 PM
Thirded. Another clueless Kev here.Ach, I'll own up to being one as well[emoji16]

28-11-2019, 04:39 PM
This would be the biggest name we could come up with.

Edson Arantes do Nascimento.

Gloucester Hibs
28-11-2019, 04:48 PM

Me anaw

Inconsequential
28-11-2019, 04:53 PM
Paul Heckingbottom was a big name. Margareta Pracatan is another possibility. :wink:

Just_Jimmy
28-11-2019, 04:59 PM
This would be the biggest name we could come up with.

Edson Arantes do Nascimento.In the spirit of the thread. I hope we sign;

Kevin Oghenetega Tamaraebi Bakumo-Abraham.

[emoji23]

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

28-11-2019, 05:35 PM
I’ve got a cousin called Kevin. He knows things. He’s got degrees in Economics, Maths, Physics and Bionics.

28-11-2019, 05:52 PM
I’ve got a cousin called Kevin. He knows things. He’s got degrees in Economics, Maths, Physics and Bionics.

He's sure to go to heaven......

28-11-2019, 05:56 PM

That's a coincidence as Anne Budge is getting the Human League into advise her.

28-11-2019, 05:56 PM
Big name signing ?

Possible ,- yes

Probable ,- no

28-11-2019, 05:58 PM
That's a coincidence as Anne Budge is getting the Human League into advise her.

I sense undertones of a pun fest coming on here.....

Walter
28-11-2019, 06:06 PM
I sense undertones of a pun fest coming on here.....

A punfest is always a sign we are in a good place

With puns come points

28-11-2019, 06:23 PM
A punfest is always a sign we are in a good place

With puns come points

And what do points make?

28-11-2019, 07:37 PM
And what do points make?

More Kev's

28-11-2019, 09:55 PM
Budge wanted the big name as their new manager. Not us - we only got 8 letters in Jack Ross. Maybe that is the confusion.

When she finds out his pedigree name she will be kicking herself.

29-11-2019, 04:37 AM

Did your mate hint what position this big name plays in?

29-11-2019, 09:55 AM
I'm told it's actually a Welsh player called Gareth Jones.

He now lives in Cardiff, but he's from Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysilio gogogoch so I can see where the confusion has come from.