View Full Version : Scottish Cup Draw - Dundee Utd v Hibs

24-11-2019, 07:56 AM
The draw is tonight at 7.15 on Sportscene.

Diddy team at home please.

24-11-2019, 08:00 AM

Broxburn away, only AST holders able to get tickets. :greengrin

24-11-2019, 08:46 AM
Guessing that the ties will be played around 18th January after the winter break?

Power
24-11-2019, 08:49 AM
Guessing that the ties will be played around 18th January after the winter break?

Fourth Round: Weekend of Saturday 18 January 2020

Fifth Round: Weekend of Saturday 8 February 2020

Sixth Round: Weekend of Saturday 29 February 2020

Semi-Finals: Saturday 11 & Sunday 12 April 2020

Final: Saturday 9 May 2020

24-11-2019, 08:51 AM
Hmm, a leap year. Remind me what happened last leap year?

24-11-2019, 09:02 AM
Hmm, a leap year. Remind me what happened last leap year?

Andy Halliday scored a wonder goal to win the Scottish Cup for the Rangers

MKHIBEE
24-11-2019, 10:54 AM
Hmm, a leap year. Remind me what happened last leap year? Wasn't that the last sighting of the lesser spotted Warburton?

supershotmo
24-11-2019, 10:56 AM
Celtic will get a home tie against lower league opposition and Rangers will be away against another lower league opponent.

More chance of finding Shergar than the ugly sisters being drawn together.

24-11-2019, 10:57 AM

Good call, we’ve a pretty decent derby record at home 👍

ABZHFC
24-11-2019, 11:00 AM
I have a funny feeling the Old Firm will draw each today. Hoping for an easy home tie, or a trip to a smaller ground I've not been before

24-11-2019, 11:21 AM

Fourth Round: Weekend of Saturday 18 January 2020

Fifth Round: Weekend of Saturday 8 February 2020

Sixth Round: Weekend of Saturday 29 February 2020

Semi-Finals: Saturday 11 & Sunday 12 April 2020

Final: Saturday 9 May 2020

Final is the day after the May Bank Holiday.

24-11-2019, 11:23 AM
Didnt draw hearts at tynecastle last season. Must be due it this season

davhibby
24-11-2019, 11:29 AM
Queens Park at Hampden please. Think this is the last chance for us to play them there and it’s a tie I’ve fancied for a while

Aim Here
24-11-2019, 11:56 AM
Queens Park at Hampden please. Think this is the last chance for us to play them there and it’s a tie I’ve fancied for a while

I wandered along to Cowdenbeath vs Queen's Park during the break, and those gentleman amateurs at Queen's Park do run a hearty line in niggling fouls, dives, goading, and all-round ****housery - enough to provoke the Cowden striker into a violent conduct red card and getting the Cowdenbeath manager yellowed for some touchline raging. It ended with 11 yellow cards and two red ones, and Cowdenbeath fans raging for most of the match, despite being a goal up. It was terrific fun to watch as a neutral, but it feels like it would be a stressful watch if I had a vested interest in the result, and especially, in Hibs' ability to play out the next few matches without injuries or suspensions...

24-11-2019, 12:02 PM
Did we not play queens park at hampden under collins?

24-11-2019, 12:04 PM
Did we not play queens park at hampden under collins?

League cup, yes. Think it was the first game of our defence (we threw that defence away to Morton)

24-11-2019, 12:08 PM
Good call, we’ve a pretty decent derby record at home 👍

not recently we don’t

24-11-2019, 12:08 PM
Didnt draw hearts at tynecastle last season. Must be due it this season

Would happily take Hearts at Easter Road.

24-11-2019, 12:09 PM
From a football perspective then a diddy team at home please.

As a fan I fancy Queens Park, Ayr or Stranraer for an away day.

24-11-2019, 12:12 PM
Third Lanark or Clydebank please.

24-11-2019, 12:34 PM
Third Lanark or Clydebank please.

Or Rangers?

24-11-2019, 12:34 PM
Reading Penicuik took 1,322 fans to Firhill yesterday, very impressive. The introduction of these top Junior/Lowland league teams, has been great for the competition

24-11-2019, 12:36 PM
Alloa, Airdrie, Falkirk or East Kilbride away will do me just fine.

24-11-2019, 01:06 PM
Anybody away from home. Easter road is horrendous attendance and atmosphere wise in the early rounds.

24-11-2019, 01:09 PM
Anybody away from home. Easter road is horrendous attendance and atmosphere wise in the early rounds.

You'd rather we drew Celtic away than a non league side at home?

ABZHFC
24-11-2019, 01:10 PM
As an aside, I will never, ever understand those who want us to draw Hearts in every round of every cup competition. I would much rather we played someone easy and won, and they played someone easy and got emptied

24-11-2019, 01:11 PM
not recently we don’t

In the Scottish we do.

24-11-2019, 01:11 PM
Edinburgh City away would be tasty.

24-11-2019, 01:16 PM
I have a funny feeling the Old Firm will draw each today. Hoping for an easy home tie, or a trip to a smaller ground I've not been before

No chance. They'll both get third division/non-league teams at home. Rangers might get one away so we can watch all the party songs in some poor unsuspecting town live.

24-11-2019, 01:22 PM
No chance. They'll both get third division/non-league teams at home. Rangers might get one away so we can watch all the party songs in some poor unsuspecting town live.

Rangers and Celtic v Bonnyrigg/Brora/Broxburn/BSC Glasgow. Stick on imo.

Incidentaly BSC Glasgow currently play at Alloas ground.

24-11-2019, 01:24 PM

Don’t see many unsuspecting towns in the entire draw if I’m honest. They’ll all know what’s coming and it’s probably already there!

24-11-2019, 01:25 PM

That would be good news for all they clubs tbh.

24-11-2019, 01:32 PM

Interesting concept. 22 old firm players v 44 non league. Wonder who would pick the team and which sectarian songs they would sing or if they would mix them up?

24-11-2019, 01:41 PM
Forfar at Easter Road please.

24-11-2019, 01:59 PM
Forfar at Easter Road please.

Wanted Montrose away but they're out, never been there yet. Wanted Annan as well as I've never been there but they're out. Never been to Peterhead but they're out.

Bet you its Hearts away :rolleyes:

24-11-2019, 03:03 PM
Dundee Utd or Falkirk at home, so we can put either in their place.

24-11-2019, 03:05 PM
Bonnyrigg or Edinburgh City at home would be good.

24-11-2019, 03:14 PM
Hibs are number 20
Aberdeen 1
Hearts 19
Celtic 8
Rangers 28

24-11-2019, 03:15 PM
Hibs are number 20
Aberdeen 1
Hearts 19
Celtic 8
Rangers 28

24-11-2019, 05:30 PM

What channel is this on? Don't see it on my listing for BBC1 or BBC2.

24-11-2019, 05:31 PM

BBC Scotland channel

24-11-2019, 05:32 PM
Alloa, Airdrie, Falkirk or East Kilbride away will do me just fine.

I’ll drive you 👍🏻👍🏻

24-11-2019, 05:32 PM

BBC Scotland mate

Although my tv planner saying it starts at 7.30pm

24-11-2019, 06:19 PM
Why are they making us watch yet more Old Firm pish before the draw?

24-11-2019, 06:23 PM
BBC Scotland channel

BBC Scotland mate

Although my tv planner saying it starts at 7.30pm

:thumbsup: Thanks

24-11-2019, 06:24 PM
Why are they making us watch yet more Old Firm pish before the draw?

They were probably told to show these games first as viewing figures will be high.

24-11-2019, 06:25 PM
So are they showing rangers then Celtic then the draw? Or all games then the draw?

24-11-2019, 06:25 PM
So are they showing rangers then Celtic then the draw? Or all games then the draw?

Rangers, Celtic then draw then everyone else.

24-11-2019, 06:26 PM

I assumed it would be at the end of the show but all the build up from them and the club seem to suggest it was at 7:15 so at the start of the show.

Looks like it’ll just be at some random point during the show?!

24-11-2019, 06:26 PM
They were probably told to show these games first as viewing figures will be high.

24-11-2019, 06:31 PM
Broxburn at home please 👍

24-11-2019, 06:39 PM
Coming on now.

24-11-2019, 06:40 PM

24-11-2019, 06:41 PM
Grado doing the draw 😂😂

24-11-2019, 06:41 PM
Hearts v Airdrie

24-11-2019, 06:43 PM
Dundee Utd v Hibs

24-11-2019, 06:43 PM
Robbie Neilson money spinner

24-11-2019, 06:44 PM
Tricky tie that, they are going well. One that we could have done with avoiding.

Still we'll be favourites and Neilson is liable to ***** it from us.

24-11-2019, 06:44 PM
That's a tough draw.

24-11-2019, 06:45 PM
Partick v Celtic

Tough draw for us tbh

Watched Dundee Utd the other week

Nothing special

Expecting a hibs win

Good draw for Edinburgh City. Hamilton away.

24-11-2019, 06:46 PM
Whens the date for this tie?

Rangers v Stranraer

St Mirren v Broxburn athletic

Kilmarnock v Queens Park

Hearts v Airdrie

Alloa Atletico v Inverness CT

Livingston v Raith Rovers

Auchinleck/Arbroath v Falkirk

Dundee Utd v HIBERNIAN

Ayr Utd v Ross County

Aberdeen v Dumbarton

Bonnyrigg Rose v Clyde

St Johnstone v Morton/Brora

Hamilton v Edinburgh City

Partick Thistle v Celtic

East Kilbride v BSC Glasgow

Dundee v Motherwell

Rangers (shock) v Stranraer

Huns at home to stranraer. Shocked.

18/19 January.

18th/19th Jan

East Kilbride and BSC Glasgow will be delighted and gutted at the same time. Win and you have a chance of a huge tie, lose and you played a team from your own league.

Dundee and Dundee Utd both drawn home so I expect a Friday night or Sunday game on the tele

Tie of the round. Ram yer Patrick v Celtic.

24-11-2019, 06:47 PM
Can't wait for this one.

Always good to draw a lower league side

Good draw for Edinburgh City. Hamilton away.

Broxburn Athletic too. Away to St Mirren

24-11-2019, 06:48 PM
Class draw. Be a quality atmosphere with a big travelling support, on the tele, probably on the Sunday afternoon.

Hopefully we get behind the goals as well as that crap bit at the side at Tannadice. We should take a big crowd for this one and I daresay they'll be up for it and fancy their chances as well so that should see them turn up in numbers too.

Very tough draw given this will be first game after the winter break. Would love to put one over Neilson again

CloudSquall
24-11-2019, 06:49 PM
Nice Union Jack No Surrender tie at Tynecastle.

I quite like our tie to be honest, should be a good match and tasty atmosphere, we'll take a good number of fans up there too.

That's a toughie but winnable.

Massive, massive banana skin by the way.

Tough draw for us tbh

I personally think we’ll be fine

Keep Shankland quiet and that should see us through comfortably

24-11-2019, 06:50 PM
Still a while away, might have a few bodies in the door by then

24-11-2019, 06:51 PM
Not buying its that tough a game. When theyve been on the telly they havent been overly impressive (6-2 win aside)

We should be beating lower league sides.

Massive, massive banana skin by the way.

It's Dundee United. We should be rag dolling them into next week

18th/19th Jan

I’m guessing that’s Saturday and Sunday dates, must be a fairly decent chance this could be the Friday night fixture.

davhibby
I’d say we’re a stick on for 7.05 on the Friday on BBC

24-11-2019, 06:52 PM
It's Dundee United. We should be rag dolling them into next week

24-11-2019, 06:53 PM

Hope not. Saturday 3pm please.

24-11-2019, 06:53 PM
I’m guessing that’s Saturday and Sunday dates, must be a fairly decent chance this could be the Friday night fixture.

Probably as both Dundee clubs got a home draw and will obviously not able to play on the same day

24-11-2019, 06:55 PM

Yup. Zombie Setanta will go for the OF ties.

24-11-2019, 06:55 PM
We might be rusty.

24-11-2019, 06:57 PM
We might be rusty.

Might do the same as last year and go away to play a friendly

24-11-2019, 06:59 PM
How many games do TV get in this round

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scottish-fa-announce-scottish-cup-broadcasting-deals/

4 in this round, 2 each for BBC and Premier
Wouldn’t be surprised if one took our game

24-11-2019, 07:01 PM
Quite like that tie, tough one but good away day.

Helensburghhibs
I reckon shankland will be away by the time this tie is played

How many games do TV get in this round

It’ll largely depend on how many massive, massive banana skins they reckon there are Billy. Probably loads.

24-11-2019, 07:02 PM
Should take a massive support to Tannadice. Can't wait for it

24-11-2019, 07:02 PM
I reckon shankland will be away by the time this tie is played

They will not sell him in January no matter the offer, they need him for promotion

24-11-2019, 07:03 PM
Quite like that tie, tough one but good away day.

Bremner hat trick while Falkirk were ****ging Hearts upside down springs to mind.

24-11-2019, 07:06 PM
It’s a risky tie for Hibs, more as we won’t have played for 3 weeks
Hope Jack’s not taking them on January jollies

24-11-2019, 07:07 PM

We should.

24-11-2019, 07:08 PM
Scott Allan and Sam Stanton facing their former team

24-11-2019, 07:08 PM
It’s a risky tie for Hibs, more as we won’t have played for 3 weeks
Hope Jack’s not taking them on January jollies

Assuming you mean a training camp, why not?

24-11-2019, 07:12 PM
That's a real tough one for us, especially away from home.

Good to see Sevco getting their usual free pass into the next round.

Next year I expect the SFA will just skip these pesky early rounds and go straight to an OF final.

24-11-2019, 07:13 PM
That's a real tough one for us, especially away from home.

Good to see Sevco getting their usual free pass into the next round.

Next year I expect the SFA will just skip these pesky early rounds and go straight to an OF final.

Hearts continuing last seasons run in with Airdrie at home also

24-11-2019, 07:14 PM
Neilson will be going all out for a money spinning replay

CloudSquall
24-11-2019, 07:18 PM
I think this is the Scottish Cup game I remember under Williamson up at Tannadice, just after half time when Gallacher came to the goals in front of the Hibs fans he pointed at the side of his head as if to say we were mental (in fairness that was spot on especially with the radges behind the goals :greengrin), we went absolutely ****ing tonto with Brebner's winner,

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scottish_cup/2689603.stm

24-11-2019, 07:22 PM
I think this is the Scottish Cup game I remember under Williamson up at Tannadice, just after half time when Gallacher came to the goals in front of the Hibs fans he pointed at the side of his head as if to say we were mental (in fairness that was spot on especially with the radges behind the goals :greengrin), we went absolutely ****ing tonto with Brebner's winner,

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scottish_cup/2689603.stm

See post #100. If I’m remembering correctly Falkirk were pumping Hearts 4-0 same day.

CloudSquall
24-11-2019, 07:24 PM
See post #100. If I’m remembering correctly Falkirk were pumping Hearts 4-0 same day.

Yep that brings back memories of celebrating each Falkirk goal too :greengrin

24-11-2019, 07:45 PM
Doigie v Shankland...

24-11-2019, 07:47 PM
Tricky tie but it will be a great day out.

24-11-2019, 07:52 PM
Doigie v Shankland...

If he's still there. Nottingham Forest interested i believe

24-11-2019, 07:57 PM
Doigie v Shankland...

Is Doidge gonna play CB?

24-11-2019, 08:09 PM
Remember going up to Tannadice big HIBS support Scottish Cup tie 17/3/1990 and that player we all used to love to hate Darren Jackson scored the winner backing into our defence and hooking home the winner with his back to goal

green with envy
24-11-2019, 08:23 PM
My first Scottish cup game at Tannadice was a midweek reply, circa '76. We won 2-0 with Derek Spalding scoring one of the goals. Can't remember the other scorer.

hibeerealist
24-11-2019, 08:25 PM
I
Remember going up to Tannadice big HIBS support Scottish Cup tie 17/3/1990 and that player we all used to love to hate Darren Jackson scored the winner backing into our defence and hooking home the winner with his back to goal

Scotland won the slam same day if I remember correctly!!

One of my sons wanted to go to Murrayfield with the school rather than Tannadice with his dad and brothers!!!

1-0 sickener.

24-11-2019, 08:32 PM
I

Scotland won the slam same day if I remember correctly!!

One of my sons wanted to go to Murrayfield with the school rather than Tannadice with his dad and brothers!!!

1-0 sickener.

Ha Ha !

Still got the VHS tape of that great day the Scottish warriors walked out at Murrayfield

Anyway I remember standing behind that Big Hibby John Leslie in the queue to get in that day at Tannadice

Halmyre Hibee
24-11-2019, 08:34 PM
My first Scottish cup game at Tannadice was a midweek reply, circa '76. We won 2-0 with Derek Spalding scoring one of the goals. Can't remember the other scorer.

Me too. Was at school and mate said bus going from Rob Roy pub so up we went and won 2-0 in the cup replay. Alex Edwards scored from a free kick.

24-11-2019, 08:40 PM
My first Scottish cup game at Tannadice was a midweek reply, circa '76. We won 2-0 with Derek Spalding scoring one of the goals. Can't remember the other scorer. I remember one year about then when we drew home and away with Arabs then lost at Holy Ground in second replay . May have been a few years later when United were a really good team .

24-11-2019, 08:50 PM
Neilson will be going all out for a money spinning replay Being serious both clubs will be looking forward to a big crowd and TV money from first game whenever it`s played ( Friday to Monday ) and for same reason I suspect both clubs would be quite pleased with a replay even though I think we have midweek league matches for 2 weeks after the cup tie .

24-11-2019, 09:25 PM
I remember a Monday night tie at Tannadice around February 1985. Monday night games were unusual then and we'd also just played them on the Saturday in the league in Dundee. We took a massive support up. In fact it's the last time I remember a proper full football special train. Unfortunately we got turned over by a very good Utd team who I think went to the final that year.

24-11-2019, 09:34 PM
I remember a Monday night tie at Tannadice around February 1985. Monday night games were unusual then and we'd also just played them on the Saturday in the league in Dundee. We took a massive support up. In fact it's the last time I remember a proper full football special train. Unfortunately we got turned over by a very good Utd team who I think went to the final that year.
I’m sure we drew with them at Tannadice in the 80s in the Cup but lost the replay at ER. That was during a time when they always beat us comfortably up there.

Edit - just did a check and we lost after a second replay.

thegaffer12
24-11-2019, 09:38 PM
The last time we played Dundee United in the Scottish Cup we got through...

24-11-2019, 09:47 PM

Was Spalding's goal not about 40 yards out, down the slope?

Voltarol
24-11-2019, 09:49 PM
The last time we played Dundee United in the Scottish Cup we got through...

They are unbeaten at home, with 4 wins on the trot and 4 clean sheets

Shankland on fire and a fortress at Tannadice. If we get a draw that will be a good result.

Great game in prospect.

24-11-2019, 09:54 PM

Shankland on fire and a fortress at Tannadice. If we get a draw that will be a good result.

Great game in prospect.

Let’s not forget they are a championship side though. Yes, having a good start to their season, but an away tie we should be looking to win.

24-11-2019, 10:02 PM

Great game in prospect.

Messi to come back from injury too. Ffs it’s Dundee Utd under *****bag Neilson.

BS44
24-11-2019, 10:02 PM
I’m sure we drew with them at Tannadice in the 80s in the Cup but lost the replay at ER. That was during a time when they always beat us comfortably up there.

Edit - just did a check and we lost after a second replay.

First replay Utd equalised in the 90th minute from a corner after Ally Brazil had a simple back pass to Rough but managed to put it out for the corner kick instead, it was a sickner as Utd were a very good team at the time while we were pretty rotten

24-11-2019, 10:06 PM

Great game in prospect.

When they had a team of Russell, Mackay-Stephen, Armstrong, Cifcti etc they were to be scared of but from what I’ve seen of them this season we absolutely should be going there looking to win

They’re nothing special. Hopefully we’ll be well into our rhythm by then

24-11-2019, 10:10 PM
Delighted with the draw a cracking away day in the cup, we will take a right good crowd, had some great away days up there

24-11-2019, 10:11 PM
Messi to come back from injury too. Ffs it’s Dundee Utd under *****bag Neilson.

Agree, they are no better than the likes of St Mirren and Livingston.

24-11-2019, 10:12 PM
Ian Murray to knock out the jambos 😎

24-11-2019, 10:16 PM
Should be a great away day that one. Haven't watched much of Utd this season but Shankland on fire and I think they have a few dangerous players to watch.

Although, if Stanton is still starting in midfield for them then surely that shows the gulf in quality we should be exploiting.

25-11-2019, 12:19 AM
Delighted with the draw a cracking away day in the cup, we will take a right good crowd, had some great away days up there

Alex Edwards screamer early seventies my fav. Did we not thump them regularly there under Collins. Benji and Dean shiels seemed to score regularly there.

25-11-2019, 04:39 AM
Tough draw.

25-11-2019, 05:09 AM
Tough draw but we should 100% be winning it up there. Looking forward to it.

25-11-2019, 05:14 AM

Great game in prospect.

In a league with Arbroath and Ayr. We're unbeaten in 8 in the Premiership with 2 wins on the trot and 7 goals. I expect we'll strengthen in January too. Anything less than a win would be a very poor result. They also have a perennial bottle merchant managing them. They've got Shankland yes but they also have Sam Stanton anchoring their midfield...

25-11-2019, 05:22 AM

Great game in prospect.

They've won their last 5 games but that's against Championship teams.

I'd like to think we'll give them a tougher test and hopefully by then we'll have a couple of new players.

It's one of the tougher away games we could have got but if we play like we have done in the past two games then we should win.

25-11-2019, 06:04 AM
Looking forward to a wee bit "2-0 down at Tynie" at this game. Get it up you, Neilson.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

25-11-2019, 06:18 AM
Where is this “tough draw” myth coming from?

We are playing away to a Championship team, not one of the ugly sisters. A team that we should be beating.

Dundee Utd have struggled to get out of that league in the past 4 seasons despite having the biggest budget out of all the teams in that division for 3 out of the last 4 seasons.

From the 2-3 games I’ve seen them play, they rely so heavily on Shankland to score them the goals. Keep him quiet and they are nothing to worry about as I can’t see what other threats they possess that can cause us problems.

CloudSquall
25-11-2019, 06:29 AM
I'd rather be away to Anfield it's that tough a draw.

25-11-2019, 06:50 AM
Horrible draw. No idea why anyone would think otherwise.

Brummie_Hibs
25-11-2019, 07:16 AM
We'll be 4th in the Premiership by the time this game comes around, so this should cause no significant problem.

But we are talking Hibs.....

25-11-2019, 07:20 AM
I would be much more confident if Shankland was wearing a HIBS jersey. :greengrin

green with envy
25-11-2019, 07:22 AM

I know what you mean, I would have preferred to have been drawn away to celtic, Aberdeen or the huns right enough or any other SPL team for that matter.:aok:

25-11-2019, 07:49 AM
Any idea when dates and tv finalised, would like to come back for this one.

25-11-2019, 07:54 AM
I know what you mean, I would have preferred to have been drawn away to celtic, Aberdeen or the huns right enough or any other SPL team for that matter.:aok:

I would have preferred a lower premiership club. Dundee United will have played every week during the shutdown and might catch us cold. It would also have been better if it was at home.

It could have been worse but also a lot better such as Airdrie at home.

25-11-2019, 07:55 AM
I would have preferred a lower premiership club. Dundee United will have played every week during the shutdown and might catch us cold. It would also have been better if it was at home.

Have we not got any friendlies penned in?

25-11-2019, 07:57 AM
Have we not got any friendlies penned in?

Even if we have it is not the same as competitive matches. Don't know why we have a winter break with all these international breaks anyway.

HendoDelivered
25-11-2019, 07:59 AM
Tough draw for us IMO. Need to have Shankland on lockdown!

25-11-2019, 08:03 AM

What’s so daunting about facing this Dundee United team? It’s not like we’ve drawn Celtic, Rangers or Aberdeen away. If that was the case then I’d admit our chances of progression are pretty slim.

If it was the Dundee Utd team that won the cup in 2010 or the one that reached the final in 2014 with the likes of Andy Robertson, Stuart Armstrong, Gary Mackay-Steven, Nadir Ciftci in their team then I’d say it is a very tough draw as they have 3-4 really good players that can cause us problems.

This Dundee Utd side are nowhere near as good as those two sides. As I said earlier, they rely so heavily on Shankland to score them their goals. A one man team just like us back in 2013 when we had Griffiths. You nullify him out the game, then which other players do they have that will cause us serious problems?

I’m confident if we play how we have done in our most recent games (St Johnstone & Motherwell) and add 1-2 good signings in January, we will be too good for them.

25-11-2019, 08:11 AM
A good draw is a game against a lowland league side. We want the worst team in every round.

25-11-2019, 08:20 AM
What’s so daunting about facing this Dundee United team? It’s not like we’ve drawn Celtic, Rangers or Aberdeen away. If that was the case then I’d admit our chances of progression are pretty slim.

If it was the Dundee Utd team that won the cup in 2010 or the one that reached the final in 2014 with the likes of Andy Robertson, Stuart Armstrong, Gary Mackay-Steven, Nadir Ciftci in their team then I’d say it is a very tough draw as they have 3-4 really good players that can cause us problems.

This Dundee Utd side are nowhere near as good as those two sides. As I said earlier, they rely so heavily on Shankland to score them their goals. A one man team just like us back in 2013 when we had Griffiths. You nullify him out the game, then which other players do they have that will cause us serious problems?

I’m confident if we play how we have done in our most recent games (St Johnstone & Motherwell) and add 1-2 good signings in January, we will be too good for them.

I'm not too sure it's such a bad draw either.

25-11-2019, 08:22 AM

The recent Dundee derby was horrific. Both teams. Shankland was the only difference and he was poor on the night too. Good chance he'll be away by the time we play them anyway.

25-11-2019, 08:34 AM

It’s a tough draw but ffs “horrible” really?

Celtic at parkheed is horrible, Rangers at Ibrox is horrible.

25-11-2019, 08:38 AM

IMO this is like a team in the lower half of the SPL, drawing us at Easter Road when we were in the Championship. Arguably. there are away ties in the SPL, that we would have taken , before an away game at Tannadice.

25-11-2019, 08:53 AM

I wouldn't even say tough. Tricky maybe but if both teams play to their best we will go through no problem.

25-11-2019, 09:01 AM
It only becomes a difficult game if we dont approach it with the correct attitude. We should be winning it. The difference between us in the championship v top flight sides and dundee united is that we had a squad that could compete well in the top 6 in the top flight. They have a good championship and adaquate bottom 6 side at a push.

Hakim Sar
25-11-2019, 09:04 AM
The day I'm scared of Dundee utd is the day I give up on football.

We will win this one. Big travelling support against a team from a remarkably poor league... considering all contexts.

They will be dreading playing a rejuvenated Hibs. Advantage Hibs in this one.

25-11-2019, 09:15 AM
Its not Barcelona we've been drawn against, ffs is this what a few months under seconbottom has reduced some of us to, frightened of championship sides now???????:rolleyes:

We will pump them.

25-11-2019, 09:29 AM
Rather than negativity, I would say that this fixture, is the stick out tie of the round , and it should be on the box. That means extra money , so win win .

25-11-2019, 09:46 AM
Robbie Neilson money spinner

Good to get an omen or two, beat Dundee Utd on way to that day and also a Neilson team!
Two coincidences for the price of one!!

25-11-2019, 09:48 AM
It should be a good competitive cup tie. United will fancy their chances at home and will be motivated. We will need to be fully switched on and ready to match their intensity.

25-11-2019, 09:58 AM
We've just scudded a far better team than Dundee United 3-1. Im feeling optimistic rather than rather than worried

25-11-2019, 10:03 AM

Great game in prospect.

Hibs lost 1 home match all season when we won that league and that was because of a red card that was later overturned. We're a much higher standard than anything they'll face in that league.

Bangkok Hibby
25-11-2019, 10:04 AM
Tough draw.

OK come on. Unless you're Celtic or the huns no game can honestly be treated as "easy" Lets have a little faith in our club. This is doable 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
Not having a dig at you "heretoday" I'm just seeing a few posts on the negative side appearing. We need to be upbeat and positive.

25-11-2019, 10:08 AM
I'm guessing it'll be on tv, for two reasons. One, on paper it appears to be the most attractive tie for viewing by the neutral. Two, it's a banana-skin for us after the winter break.

Weather permitting, I'm expecting us to go there and win.

25-11-2019, 10:12 AM
I'm guessing it'll be on tv, for two reasons. One, on paper it appears to be the most attractive tie for viewing by the neutral. Two, it's a banana-skin for us after the winter break.

Weather permitting, I'm expecting us to go there and win.

You just know it will be PT v sellic or the huns v Stranraer

green with envy
25-11-2019, 10:37 AM

You really do get to pick who you get. As I've said we've managed to avoid an away draw against the top teams in the SPL. I understand that it's not going to be a walk over but one that I expect to win.

25-11-2019, 11:00 AM
Got the makings of a good tie, United going well and Hibs hopefully now on an upward trejectory. Gets a thumbs up from me.

Steven79
25-11-2019, 11:05 AM
Got the makings of a good tie, United going well and Hibs hopefully now on an upward trejectory. Gets a thumbs up from me.

It should be a cracking tie especially if it's a Friday night as I think it will be with a fairly large away support.

Beats playing at home against Elgin or Raith in a less than half full Easter Road.

Bring it on!

25-11-2019, 11:09 AM
Good draw, could have been worse. Pity its away, but will still horse them nonetheless

Steven79
25-11-2019, 11:10 AM
You just know it will be PT v sellic or the huns v Stranraer

Isn't it 4 games in total on tv?

25-11-2019, 11:18 AM
We can all sit on here and say it's going to be 'easy', 'we'll pump them' or whatever else. On the flip side we can also say it will be 'tough', 'tricky' and so on. The truth is neither viewpoint has any bearing on the game so being 'positive' or 'negative' about it doesn't really matter, the game will play out in exactly the same way regardless. I sometimes think the overblown predictions of how many we are going to pump a team by leads to a more negative mood in the long run if it doesn't pan out that way. You only have to see the reaction to a derby defeat on here after weeks of people telling us how pish Hearts are and how we'll take 10 of them.

It's a tougher draw than I would have liked, particularly coming just after the break. I would have preferred a few Premiership teams at home, and a couple away, rather than Dundee United at Tannadice. They will have that confidence that comes with leading the league and winning regularly. When we were in a similar position in the Championship we generally fancied our chances in these types of games and more often than not got a positive result.

There's a massive difference between being scared of an opposition team and simply acknowledging it's a potentially tricky tie. I reckon it will be a really good cup tie and we should win through.

25-11-2019, 11:20 AM
Any idea when the confirmed date would likely to be given?

Have been wanting to come up for an away day and this would be a cracker IMO (if I could even get a ticket)

25-11-2019, 11:26 AM
Game live on TV ?

Aim Here
25-11-2019, 11:29 AM
Game live on TV ?

It's not confirmed yet, but it's the tastiest fixture in that round of the cup, so I'd be hugely surprised if it wasn't.

25-11-2019, 11:32 AM
Hospitality at Utd is only £55 pp. May put prices up coz it’s Hibs tho.

25-11-2019, 11:38 AM
Dundee Utd are doing well and no matter what standard they are up against they are at home and being top of the league they must have a fair bit of confidence in themselves. This has the potential to be a tough game and I presume Hibs will approach it from that perspective.

Depending on the day and kick off time there could be our biggest away support of the season at the game, the derby notwithstanding, and it should be a cracker. Typical that the wummin' conducting the draw highlighted bottom of the Championship Partick Thistle against top of the league Celtic as the standout tie ... even Hearts at home to top of division one Airdrie has a better chance of producing an upset ... they just cant see outside of Glasgow these buggers :faf:

Definitely thinking of going to this one if its a Saturday or Sunday :aok:

Cataplana
25-11-2019, 11:45 AM
IMO this is like a team in the lower half of the SPL, drawing us at Easter Road when we were in the Championship. Arguably. there are away ties in the SPL, that we would have taken , before an away game at Tannadice.

That's what I was thinking. They will be extra keen to show they can compete with SPL teams.

Also the advantage of momentum, and the winter break.

However, we may well have our own tails up by then, and be thinking about going far in the competition. It's too early to say, but a potential banana skin.

25-11-2019, 11:58 AM
All this ‘they are top of the league, confidence high’ nonsense, the tie is a month and a half away, who’s to say they are top of the league come kick off time? I wouldn’t expect this hibs side to lose a game in that championship, it’s horrendous. Hibs turn up, hibs win, it is that simple. The winter break will recharge the batteries after a tough end to December and a couple of fresh faces in and we’ll march into the last 16.

25-11-2019, 12:01 PM

If it is then surely we are one of them

aljo7-0
25-11-2019, 12:06 PM
If Hearts had been drawn away to United, i'd be happy thinking - they could definitely be knocked out there. So on that basis it I a tough tie . But it is one I expect us to win (even if after a replay)
On a personal basis I'm delighted as my older daughter is in Dundee at Uni so a perfect excuse for a wee visit and a few drinks with her

25-11-2019, 12:07 PM
If Hearts had been drawn away to United, i'd be happy thinking - they could definitely be knocked out there. So on that basis it I a tough tie . But it is one I expect us to win (even if after a replay)
On a personal basis I'm delighted as my older daughter is in Dundee at Uni so a perfect excuse for a wee visit and a few drinks with her

I’m not having that Aljo, a United fan in the family!

aljo7-0
25-11-2019, 12:11 PM
I’m not having that Aljo, a United fan in the family!
Hang on Billy, I've brought both my daughters up correctly and are Hibees. No. 1 daughter is just up in Dundee for Uni (University not United I should point out). What I will try to do is keep her in a slightly more upright state than when we bumped into you at the Friday night Dundee game last season!

25-11-2019, 12:12 PM
Hang on Billy, I've brought both my daughters up correctly and are Hibees. No. 1 daughter is just up in Dundee for Uni (University not United I should point out). What I will try to do is keep her in a slightly more upright state than when we bumped into you at the Friday night Dundee game last season!

Ha ha

JXM73
25-11-2019, 01:10 PM

Aye but one channel has only 8 subscribers

Frankhfc
25-11-2019, 01:36 PM
Would have preferred a home draw obviously but a trip up to Tannadice should see a bumper crowd and a good atmosphere. Bring it on.

ABZHFC
25-11-2019, 02:18 PM
My friend who's a United fan expects them to sell out their end (providing it's the Friday night/Saturday teatime kickoff and not a Sunday one), also reckons they'll get the Shed as they did in big games last season, which is a shame :confused:

JXM73
25-11-2019, 02:24 PM
What's the away allocation for cup games, 10%?

25-11-2019, 02:30 PM
What's the away allocation for cup games, 10%?

Up to 20%
They gave Dundee 3,200 for the 1st derby. That’s what we’ll probably get too

25-11-2019, 02:34 PM
Up to 20%
They gave Dundee 3,200 for the 1st derby. That’s what we’ll probably get too

Current momentum continuing would suggest Hibs will insist on maximum quota.

25-11-2019, 02:37 PM
Current momentum continuing would suggest Hibs will insist on maximum quota.

That would be only 2,800, based on the Tannadice capacity
Think they’ll take the 3 stands, give Hibs the main stand

25-11-2019, 02:40 PM
That would be only 2,800, based on the Tannadice capacity
Think they’ll take the 3 stands, give Hibs the main stand

I like the Main Stand At Tannadice. What’s the capacity of that side in its entirety do you think?

25-11-2019, 02:44 PM
I like the Main Stand At Tannadice. What’s the capacity of that side in its entirety do you think?

3,700 or so, if we get the full 2 stands that run along the pitch ( Jim McLean Fair Play and Jerry Kerr stands)

25-11-2019, 02:51 PM
3,700 or so, if we get the full 2 stands that run along the pitch ( Jim McLean Fair Play and Jerry Kerr stands)

Aye, that should be more than enough tickets.

25-11-2019, 07:56 PM
3,000 odd will be plenty of games live on tv I’d imagine. Should be a good atmosphere

25-11-2019, 07:58 PM
How quickly are we expecting the TV companies to decide?

25-11-2019, 10:54 PM
Great away trip, hopefully Friday night.

26-11-2019, 02:49 PM

Sounds like the easiest way to split things then. Last time in the cup I was definitely behind the goals though.

Inch joe
26-11-2019, 03:00 PM
Going up there, just after christmas, 2004/2005 season. We won 4-1was a great day out, we were superb that day, so was the support

26-11-2019, 03:12 PM
Sounds like the easiest way to split things then. Last time in the cup I was definitely behind the goals though.

So was I. Also remember a league match being behind the goal and Tam McManus scoring a late winner and jumping over the concrete wall and into the crowd almost breaking his leg in the process. :greengrin

26-11-2019, 03:18 PM
Going up there, just after christmas, 2004/2005 season. We won 4-1was a great day out, we were superb that day, so was the support

That was the day of the Thai tsunami by the way. Think it was Boxing Day. Just something in my heid.
Hibs were fantastic that day.

26-11-2019, 03:24 PM
So was I. Also remember a league match being behind the goal and Tam McManus scoring a late winner and jumping over the concrete wall and into the crowd almost breaking his leg in the process. :greengrin

Sauzee's birthday.

26-11-2019, 03:35 PM

Where did Tam do the pole celebration?

Was that at Tannadice?

26-11-2019, 03:49 PM

Was that at Tannadice?

Definitely.

26-11-2019, 04:47 PM

Was that at Tannadice?

Think that was a different game at Tannadice.

The Pointer
26-11-2019, 04:55 PM

So do I but it's a pain in the bahookie fitting your legs in if you're over 6'!

26-11-2019, 04:57 PM
So do I but it's a pain in the bahookie fitting your legs in if you're over 6'!

Even more of a pain in the bahookie if you’re the one sitting in front of Mrs Pope.

27-11-2019, 08:26 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/77070117_2738895229507311_9191092076270321664_n.jp g?_nc_cat=111&_nc_ohc=lr0_uyFoMuoAQmiXkr_eLd-CeV8NRyRlsW_6YTJ7IBv8SHUvL8ynWCTAA&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=7d9dbf63788f83cf4d9058201d2a1eb2&oe=5E89E03C

:hilarious:hilarious

28-11-2019, 07:45 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/77070117_2738895229507311_9191092076270321664_n.jp g?_nc_cat=111&_nc_ohc=lr0_uyFoMuoAQmiXkr_eLd-CeV8NRyRlsW_6YTJ7IBv8SHUvL8ynWCTAA&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=7d9dbf63788f83cf4d9058201d2a1eb2&oe=5E89E03C

:hilarious:hilarious

28-11-2019, 08:41 PM
Utd fan at my work thinks we may only get the shed end as they will sell out the rest apparently...:rolleyes: Roughly 2000 tickets.

28-11-2019, 08:44 PM
Utd fan at my work thinks we may only get the shed end as they will sell out the rest apparently...:rolleyes: Roughly 2000 tickets.

We’ll take more than that. We’re entitled to 20% which is closer to 3k.

More likely we’ll get the whole side like they gave Dundee this season IMO.

28-11-2019, 08:46 PM
We’ll take more than that. We’re entitled to 20% which is closer to 3k.

More likely we’ll get the whole side like they gave Dundee this season IMO.

Just passing on what he told me. I like the lower section of the Fair play stand. Hope we get that.

Steven79
28-11-2019, 08:55 PM
Just passing on what he told me. I like the lower section of the Fair play stand. Hope we get that.

They can think what they like as the rules guarantee us 20% of their ground.

28-11-2019, 09:21 PM
They can think what they like as the rules guarantee us 20% of their ground.

Only if segregation can guarantee safety.