16-11-2019, 04:20 AM
12.25 Lingfield today.
Fill yer boots.

16-11-2019, 04:43 AM
Race favourite and looks to have a very good chance. I'm on :aok:

16-11-2019, 05:52 AM
Maybes a cheeky wee double with Richard Johnson’s Thyme Hill in the 12.05 at Chelts for a bit of value

16-11-2019, 07:25 AM
12.25 Lingfield today.
Fill yer boots.
Is that what SDG is doing these days.

16-11-2019, 11:15 AM
Hibernian warrior...12 25 lingfield 😛😛

zitelli62
16-11-2019, 11:19 AM
I took 9/4 this morning now 13/8 here's hoping.

16-11-2019, 11:23 AM
Got 9/5 with Ladbrokes, here’s hoping

16-11-2019, 11:24 AM
I’m on it as well

Good luck everyone!

zitelli62
16-11-2019, 11:32 AM
Beat by a head.

16-11-2019, 11:33 AM
So unlucky, beaten by a nose at the dip for the line, in a photo finish.

16-11-2019, 11:33 AM
Beat by a head.

Not even a head. Literally beaten in the final stride of the race.

Bangkok Hibby
16-11-2019, 11:38 AM
Sorry everyone. It was second because I backed it. 90% of my horse racing bets finish second. 😡😡😡😡

thedoc_l
16-11-2019, 11:46 AM
Each way bet paid off:cb

Bangkok Hibby
16-11-2019, 11:49 AM

I'd never back each way at that price. Probably my undoing.

16-11-2019, 12:22 PM
I’m on it as well

Good luck everyone!

Two people on a horse. No wonder it got beat

16-11-2019, 01:24 PM

How much did u bet/win?

16-11-2019, 01:39 PM
Maybes a cheeky wee double with Richard Johnson’s Thyme Hill in the 12.05 at Chelts for a bit of value

Shudda went each way

thedoc_l
16-11-2019, 01:40 PM
How much did u bet/win?

£10 e/w £13.25 return

sadtom
16-11-2019, 02:07 PM
So unlucky, beaten by a nose at the dip for the line, in a photo finish.

:boo hoo:We wiz robbed.
Done me for a tenner treble with Thyme Hill and Scentasia
(7/4 11/8 2/1 - - would have returned £195.94).
Och well dry bread and council juice for tea...again!

16-11-2019, 07:49 PM
:boo hoo:We wiz robbed.
Done me for a tenner treble with Thyme Hill and Scentasia
(7/4 11/8 2/1 - - would have returned £195.94).
Och well dry bread and council juice for tea...again!

Very cruel. It's easier to taken when well beaten; losing on the line hurts.

Bangkok Hibby
16-11-2019, 09:18 PM
£10 e/w £13.25 return

Am I getting this right? Tenner each way for a £13.25 return is a loss of £6.75 yes?

16-11-2019, 09:40 PM
Am I getting this right? Tenner each way for a £13.25 return is a loss of £6.75 yes?
Give that man a job as a settler!
Never saw the sense in betting EW on anything less than 5/1.

Let's assume 1/5th the odds a place 1-2-3.
Back a horse £10EW at 5/1 in 10 races
Expect 2 wins = a return of £80 each = £160
Expect say 3 places = a return £20 each = £60
Total return = £220 from a total stake of £200.
OR
Back a horse £20 win only at 5/1 in 10 races.
Expect 2 wins = a return of £120 each = £240 from a total stake of £200.

For fun non-pro gambling I won't go EW for less than 10/1.

What odds on Hibs finishing top three under Ross?

16-11-2019, 09:49 PM

17-11-2019, 03:04 AM
For it to pay even money each way, you need the horsey to start at 4/1

17-11-2019, 07:36 AM

There's a wee bit more to it than that (type of race & no. of runners).

17-11-2019, 07:41 AM

On the other hand, if you don't have full confidence in a short price runner, each way can cut your losses, when your doubts are justified. If it's only placed, you did the right thing.

17-11-2019, 11:27 AM
On the other hand, if you don't have full confidence in a short price runner, each way can cut your losses, when your doubts are justified. If it's only placed, you did the right thing.

If you don't have full confidence in the selection, why double the stake?

I don't even consider EW unless the odds are 8/1 or more.

17-11-2019, 12:07 PM

If you don’t have confidence in a horse to win at a small price, I’d argue the right thing is not to bet it all, rather than bet it each way for a loss. Each to their own and all that though.

17-11-2019, 12:14 PM
If you don’t have confidence in a horse to win at a small price, I’d argue the right thing is not to bet it all, rather than bet it each way for a loss. Each to their own and all that though.

Aye, true, I was just playing devil's advocate. At least thedoc got something back, which is mair than I did.

Bangkok Hibby
18-11-2019, 08:16 AM

Agree with this although there is a "place only" option with Betfair. Not sure about other bookies.

19-11-2019, 11:30 AM
Agree with this although there is a "place only" option with Betfair. Not sure about other bookies.

Yep can bet place only with most bookies now I think. Again, in this case you wouldn't be looking at much of a price. Especially if it's one you weren't confident on.

19-11-2019, 01:09 PM
I must say IMHO EW betting on 2s shots isnae the way forward.