View Full Version : Efe
17-11-2019, 05:08 PM
Alan gordon and jimmy o'Rourke were far better players than joe Harper the biggest mistake ned made at hibs his team was the best team I seen play great times
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Agree both very good players and an excellent partnership
Joe Harper arriving split up that partnership and it was the beginning of the end for Turnbulls Tornadoes a brilliant side split up too soon a gross error of judgement on Turnbulls part
Joe Harper went on to play 99 times for HIBS scoring 49 before returning to his beloved Aberdeen
The thing that riled me about Harper was in a BBC Documentary he said “ Do you think I left Everton for less money?”
17-11-2019, 05:25 PM
Harpers record was unbelievable though, even at Hibs he scored plenty. He almost got more career league goals than Gordon and O'Rourke combined. Not really sure they were far better players at all.
Agree
Harper was more an individual talent
Total appearances 432 goals 232
He was a very good player
Scored an excellent goal on his Derby debut versus Hearts in 1975 from thirty yards
Another story that sums him up after a 3-6 League Cup Final defeat at Hampden versus Celtic he said to John Blackley “I’m not bothered I just scored a hatrick.” Blackley just sat there and launched his runners up medal to the far end of the Changing Room
17-11-2019, 05:39 PM
Never mind all this about Joe Harper, get the thread back on topic… is Doddie coming back or not?
17-11-2019, 05:39 PM
Not many players can claim to have scored 3 goals in a Scottish Cup final but ended up on the losing side by 3 clear goals!
17-11-2019, 05:41 PM
Never mind all this about Joe Harper, get the thread back on topic… is Doddie coming back or not?
Did Doddie not claim to be a Minister of the cloth? I have my doubts mind. 😁
17-11-2019, 05:43 PM
Did Doddie not claim to be a Minister of the cloth? I have my doubts mind. 😁
I think he did. Not the most forgiving!
chippy
17-11-2019, 05:48 PM
mmmmm we can but dream eh🤞🤞
Good team that
17-11-2019, 05:53 PM
Not many players can claim to have scored 3 goals in a Scottish Cup final but ended up on the losing side by 3 clear goals!
Drybrough cup
17-11-2019, 06:00 PM
Drybrough cup
👍.
17-11-2019, 06:05 PM
Drybrough cup
League cup.:wink:
17-11-2019, 06:06 PM
Drybrough cup
1974/75 Scottish League Cup Final
Celtic 6 v 3 HIBS
kevinc
17-11-2019, 06:08 PM
Drybrough cup
It was the league cup, we beat Celtic both times we met them in the Drybrough Cup Final.
17-11-2019, 06:08 PM
1974/75 Scottish League Cup Final
Celtic 6 v 3 HIBS
👌
chippy
17-11-2019, 06:12 PM
mmmmm we can but dream eh🤞🤞
Good team that
17-11-2019, 06:15 PM
League cup.:wink:
Think he’s referencing losing cup finalists hat tricks......
Edit.
And I thought Jimmy Johnstone had hit a losing hat trick, but I think I’m wrong...
Aye cracking weather tae goat a soaking in the old North Enclosure
Keegan wants his Mammy Keegan wants his Mammy
Remember it well
Remember that as well, on the old uncovered East, drenched.
17-11-2019, 06:28 PM
let's hope he comes home great to watch even when he went on a mazy
17-11-2019, 06:36 PM
In 50 plus years following Hibs only Sloop and Franck (and Pat when he played in defence) would get in my team before Efe.
Jackie McNamara and sentimentality wise Geebsie
17-11-2019, 06:42 PM
Love Efe to bits but in my book nowhere near the class of Sloop, King Paddy and Jackie Mac
John Madsen and Big Bad John were a different type of player tough physical and uncompromising
Sorry Efe!
Who is Doddie?
‘Nowhere near’??
Only saw Jackie Mac but when you consider Efe’s international pedigree I fail to see how he can be classed as nowhere near ANY Hibs defender.
We all like to think the old days were the best but comparing players from different eras is virtually impossible these days in any case.
17-11-2019, 06:53 PM
Harpers record was unbelievable though, even at Hibs he scored plenty. He almost got more career league goals than Gordon and O'Rourke combined. Not really sure they were far better players at all.
Not such good records individually but far,far better than any partnership at the time.
17-11-2019, 06:54 PM
‘Nowhere near’??
Only saw Jackie Mac but when you consider Efe’s international pedigree I fail to see how he can be classed as nowhere near ANY Hibs defender.
We all like to think the old days were the best but comparing players from different eras is virtually impossible these days in any case.
Agree it is impossible to compare players from different eras all about opinions I suppose
I suppose in my defence I would say that Blackley Stanton and MacNamara were not as error prone as Efe could be I suppose the modern parlance would be “ bombscare”
You could never describe Blackley Stanton and MacNamara as a “bombscare”
As I said I love Efe to bits but it is still Blackley Stanton and MacNamara for me
Call me an old git
I of course respect your opinion
17-11-2019, 06:55 PM
Not such good records individually but far,far better than any partnership at the time.
for 18 months, yes, their record was incredble. If we'd had Harpers goals for 10 years we'd probably have won a lot more though.
17-11-2019, 06:56 PM
for 18 months, yes, their record was incredble. If we'd had Harpers goals for 10 years we'd probably have won a lot more though.
No doubt about it.
17-11-2019, 07:03 PM
We didn’t win anything at all with him in his 24 months with us though.
Anyway. Maybe better getting back to Efe before someone bangs on about what a poor record a bona fide club legend like Jimmy O’Rourke had.
17-11-2019, 07:05 PM
We didn’t win anything at all with him in his 24 months with us though.
Anyway. Maybe better getting back to Efe before someone bangs on about what a poor record a bona fide club legend like Jimmy O’Rourke had.
MWH is yer man! 😂
17-11-2019, 07:25 PM
MWH is yer man! 😂
I don't really slag him, just pointed out his record isn't actually THAT special. Nothing on the likes of Baker who is rarely mentioned in comparison.
17-11-2019, 07:32 PM
I don't really slag him, just pointed out his record isn't actually THAT special. Nothing on the likes of Baker who is rarely mentioned in comparison.
Jimmy O’Rourke of course played much of his career in various midfield positions.His record when he became an out and out striker is very good.Baker was exceptional and the disgrace in him not being nominated for the SFA Hall of Fame continues.
17-11-2019, 07:33 PM
Should bloody think not. Anyway. Let’s hope Efe is picking Adam up at the airport in a bit.
17-11-2019, 07:34 PM
Jimmy O’Rourke of course played much of his career in various midfield positions.His record when he became an out and out striker is very good.Baker was exceptional and the disgrace in him not being nominated for the SFA Hall of Fame continues.
Did he? never actually heard that before, makes sense if true.
17-11-2019, 07:40 PM
Joe Baker was a prolific centre forward 134 appearances 114 goals
As AH says Jimmy ORourke a club legend was indeed a No8 old fashioned inside forward a midfield player nowadays
It wasn’t until Alan Gordon arrived at Easter Road that Eddie Turnbull moved him further forward to take advantage of Gordon’s knock downs scoring six hatricks in one season
To us older supporters he is indeed a very much deserved bona fide club legend
Robbo6-2
17-11-2019, 07:42 PM
Every time i see the Efe thread at the top i am clicking on praying that hes signed
Did he? never actually heard that before, makes sense if true.
He played his best just behind the strikers in the hole, similar to Allan, when he played that wee bit further forward, he was a cracking player scoring a good few goals.
As AH says Jimmy ORourke a club legend was indeed a No8 old fashioned inside forward a midfield player nowadays
It wasn’t until Alan Gordon arrived at Easter Road that Eddie Turnbull moved him further forward to take advantage of Gordon’s knock downs scoring six hatricks in one season
Exactly as I remember those days.
We are losing the point of this thread.
If there is a chance for effe to come back, it must happen, the powers that be must realize the fans demand it . We need class players to progress.
Effe is class, anyone watching Hibs must know that.
If there is any chance then bring him back please Hibs. Classy player.
17-11-2019, 11:55 PM
We are losing the point of this thread.
If there is a chance for effe to come back, it must happen, the powers that be must realize the fans demand it . We need class players to progress.
Effe is class, anyone watching Hibs must know that.
The fans demanding something isn't really relevant. The board aren't employed to appease our demands.
18-11-2019, 12:23 AM
It should be remembered that Efetebore has not played for a year and may take a while to get back up to speed. Wish he had come back in August.
18-11-2019, 06:44 AM
It should be remembered that Efetebore has not played for a year and may take a while to get back up to speed. Wish he had come back in August.
If you're going to show off by using Efetobore's Sunday name, then at least try to spell it correctly. :wink:
18-11-2019, 07:03 AM
I liked him too. Doddie didnae.
I’m still scared to bring Harper’s name up in any company, anywhere, just in case Doddie is listening.
He REALLY didn’t like him.
18-11-2019, 07:12 AM
Only problem with that was Hecky did not seem interested in anything with HIBS connections personality or character.
He was intent on building his own team of robots playing mind numbing eye bleeding boring football
He could have been offered LG on a silver salver on a free for a year and would have still said no Bogdan and Jase were hanging about at the start of the season and as others have said Efe has been using EM to keep his fitness up
WestCoastHibby
18-11-2019, 07:56 AM
This is the pic I got.
That’s my car. I run a company that provides tentage to indigenous tribes people.
East Fortune Yurts have been camping it up since I made it up five minutes ago........😀
18-11-2019, 09:12 AM
Second only to Pat Stanton for me :agree:
19-11-2019, 02:33 PM
No return for Efe
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/efe-ambrose-wont-make-hibs-20915507
19-11-2019, 02:36 PM
Pity.A bit of a lesson for him.
19-11-2019, 02:39 PM
No return for Efe
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/efe-ambrose-wont-make-hibs-20915507
Boo!
TheHibernator
19-11-2019, 02:45 PM
No return for Efe
Shame would of liked him back
The grass isn't always greener, went for the cash and it hasn't gone to plan, time to move on.
19-11-2019, 02:46 PM
Shame
19-11-2019, 02:46 PM
I wonder why we're not interested?
Seemed like a no brainer if he wanted to come back.
19-11-2019, 02:47 PM
Shocked.
19-11-2019, 02:51 PM
No return for Efe
Hello darkness my old friend
19-11-2019, 02:55 PM
Maybe he didn't leave on the best of terms?
DetroitHibs
19-11-2019, 03:04 PM
He’s an upgrade on our entire back line. Maybe it’s money, wants too much?
19-11-2019, 03:09 PM
........ in which case, I doubt whether St Johnstone could afford him.
Steven79
19-11-2019, 03:10 PM
Whatever we could offer him is far more than he's on just now...
19-11-2019, 03:11 PM
Yes, bit of a strange one really as he would be the best centre back at the club. Athleticism, pace, skill. Ideally partnered with Porteous.
banchoryhibs
19-11-2019, 03:18 PM
Maybe Jack Ross has already identified his preferred candidates thus ruling Efe out.
I would love to see him back though
I think there's been contact re my initial post, so definitely something in it, looks like either we cant afford him or Ross doesn't want him.
19-11-2019, 03:35 PM
Maybe comes down to his attitude in and around training
TimeForHeroes16
19-11-2019, 03:45 PM
Wanted the big man back tae
19-11-2019, 03:48 PM
No return for Efe
I wouldn’t set store in that article either way.
It an ‘understands’ Article devoid of evidence.
hughio
19-11-2019, 04:01 PM
Hello darkness my old friend
I''ve come to bombscare you again,
But even so I'm feeling so sad,
That was the best backflip we ever had,
And the forays into the opposition deep,
Still make me weep,
For the loss of EFE"
19-11-2019, 04:02 PM
Lennon got the best out of Efe. Other managers have struggled. Would he be the same player?
hughio
19-11-2019, 04:04 PM
I wouldn’t set store in that article either way.
It an ‘understands’ Article devoid of evidence.
I agree Speedway but the journo got a tip from somewhere inside ER by sound of it...
":singing:Hello darkness my old friend...
19-11-2019, 04:16 PM
Good now we can move on.
19-11-2019, 04:20 PM
Maybe Jack Ross has already identified his preferred candidates thus ruling Efe out.
I would love to see him back though
Would have loved to have seen him back too. Classy defender.
That's what I think as well. JR may have someone lined up of a similar quality or even better than Efe that we don’t know about.
Good now we can move on.
Agree, new manager new times, so don't look back in anger.
19-11-2019, 04:39 PM
I was thinking that too.
19-11-2019, 04:41 PM
Efe had a lot of good games for us but he also got away with murder, turning up late for training all the time not to mention going AWOL after the African Nations Cup.
This will be well known in football and maybe not what a new manager would want to deal with.
19-11-2019, 04:45 PM
Strange that we tried to get him less than a month after he left if that was true.
19-11-2019, 04:53 PM
Strange that we tried to get him less than a month after he left if that was true.
Maybe Ross isn't keen on giving him preferential treatment.
19-11-2019, 04:55 PM
If we are not signing him it is not a football decision..he would be our best player . It can only be financial
Efe had a lot of good games for us but he also got away with murder, turning up late for training all the time not to mention going AWOL after the African Nations Cup.
This will be well known in football and maybe not what a new manager would want to deal with.
This would be my reckoning as to why we weren't willing to sign him, Lennon gave him loads of leeway, as he did with Stokes as well, new management team.
Hibs4185
19-11-2019, 05:09 PM
Can’t be financial if St Johnstone are interested. Must be to do with his off field antics.
Still want him back though. Mistake if we don’t go for him
19-11-2019, 05:20 PM
Manager just in the door. Needs to acess the squad himself and see what is needed. EFE a big part of budget for January and we have plenty of centre backs already.
19-11-2019, 05:23 PM
He's a class above what we have currently. Will be gutted if he ends up at some pish like St Johnstone.
Just_Jimmy
19-11-2019, 05:23 PM
Instead he'll go to at Johnstone and be their best player by miles.
Still least we've got Jackson...
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
19-11-2019, 05:31 PM
Instead he'll go to at Johnstone and be their best player by miles.
Still least we've got Jackson...
Why the dig at jackson?
19-11-2019, 05:32 PM
Why the dig at jackson?
Because that's what people do nowadays. They have a dig at the boy who plays for us and eulogise the boy who walked away for more money.
19-11-2019, 05:33 PM
Because that's what people do nowadays.
This is true, ambrose would probably be a good signing but if we dont have much cash I'd rather get another decent striker, if it doesnt happen we will just be stuck with doidge!!!
Just_Jimmy
19-11-2019, 05:47 PM
Why the dig at jackson?Because Efe is better than him.
The other centre halfs have all proven to be solid players for us.
Jackson may well go on to be a good player but so far his body of work is utterly atrocious and if it was between him and Efe it's not even close.
That said, the issue is that PH didn't entertain Efe in summer and instead signed dross.
19-11-2019, 05:48 PM
This is true, ambrose would probably be a good signing but if we dont have much cash I'd rather get another decent striker, if it doesnt happen we will just be stuck with doidge!!!
Yep very true and we’d be stuck with doidge because Oli Shaw’s useless!
19-11-2019, 05:50 PM
Because Efe is better than him.
Jackson may well go on to be a good player but so far his body of work is utterly atrocious and if it was between him and Efe it's not even close.
That said, the issue is that PH didn't entertain Efe in summer and instead signed dross.
He hasn't been that bad.
19-11-2019, 05:52 PM
Dearie me!
Jackson is far from atrocious not Efe but not atrocious
19-11-2019, 05:55 PM
Jackson’s performances have been nowhere as bad as you make out.
Hibs4185
19-11-2019, 06:12 PM
Surely St Johnstone don’t pay more than £1500-£2000 a week? Even if that. If Efe is willing to talk to them with their budget then we should offer £2001. Absolute bargain.
No brainer for me getting him back.!
19-11-2019, 06:54 PM
Aye ok then
19-11-2019, 07:08 PM
No return for Efe
What does it say for those of us who refuse to click on Daily Record links?
19-11-2019, 07:37 PM
Efes no coming!
Might be going to St Johnstone
19-11-2019, 07:38 PM
We have no plans to bring him back
19-11-2019, 08:39 PM
Efes no coming!
Might be going to St Johnstone
Surely not!
19-11-2019, 09:05 PM
No return for Efe
Wouldn't believe anything that comic reported.
eezyrider
20-11-2019, 07:33 AM
================================================== ================================================
Hibs won’t be a making a move to bring defender Efe Ambrose back to the club.
The Nigeria international had been linked with a return to Easter Road, with St Johnstone also interested in the former Celtic man.
But it’s understood that the Hibees have no plans to re-sign Ambrose , who has been without a club since the summer after leaving Derby County.
The 31-year-old departed Leith last January after exercising a clause in his contract that allowed him to leave on a free with six months remaining on his deal.
Ambrose initially joined Hibs on loan from Celtic in February 2016, linking up with his former Parkhead boss Neil Lennon .
Upon the expiry of his Celtic contract that summer, he penned a two-year, permanent deal under Lennon.
Tommy Wright hasn't ruled out a move for Ambrose (Image: SNS)
A popular figure amongst supporters during his loan spell, Ambrose incurred Lennon’s wrath after failing to report back to training in time for pre-season, having been given an extended break.
The centre back made 86 appearances in green and white, scoring six goals before signing for Derby County on a short-term basis following a successful trial.
Prior to signing on in the East Midlands though, Ambrose was in line for a dramatic deadline day return to Hibs just weeks after leaving, but the capital club pulled the plug on a six-month deal due to wage demands.
The freed him up to join Derby the following month, but he failed to make a single first team appearance for the Rams under Frank Lampard.
They reached the play-off final but missed out on promotion to the English Premier League after a 2-1 defeat to Aston Villa at Wembley, with Ambrose’s former Hibs teammate John McGinn heading the winner.
The news could be of significance to St Johnstone, with manager Tommy Wright admitting he’s keen to add some experience to his back line.
================================================== ================================================
EZ