View Full Version : Picture of League Championship Flag being unfurled at Easter Road early 50's

LoaningCrHibbie
09-11-2019, 10:32 AM
I just wanted to share this picture of Hibs League Championship flag being unfurled at Easter Road in the early 1950's.

https://i1336.photobucket.com/albums/o645/william707/IMG-20191024-WA0000_zpsgvscow1i.jpg (https://s1336.photobucket.com/user/william707/media/IMG-20191024-WA0000_zpsgvscow1i.jpg.html)

09-11-2019, 10:38 AM
Have never seen that picture before - thanks for sharing :aok:

09-11-2019, 10:40 AM
Great share. Never seen that either

09-11-2019, 10:42 AM
Great picture, never seen it before so thanks for sharing [emoji106]

Looks like we might have had a seagull problem way back then too but at least we called the cops in to look into it.

09-11-2019, 12:52 PM
Looked like a big crowd there as well, great stuff but now so long ago.

09-11-2019, 01:40 PM
Looked like a big crowd there as well, great stuff but now so long ago.

Sure my father in law said that 60000 crowds in those days, not sure if that's true.

09-11-2019, 01:43 PM
Sure my father in law said that 60000 crowds in those days, not sure if that's true.

It's absolutely true. The terraces were jam packed in those days.

09-11-2019, 01:53 PM
It's absolutely true. The terraces were jam packed in those days.
He was a Gordie who married a Scottish girl, my mother in law, during the war & ended up working in the Lady Victoria pit. When I asked him why he ended up supporting Hibs rather than Hearts he told me it was because of 2 things,
1) it was easier to get to Easter Rd rather than Tyne castle from Dalkeith in those days.
2) Gordon Smith, who he said was the most wonderful footballer he ever watched. He was fortunate to see Hibs win 3 league titles.

Sheep_Nae_Mair
09-11-2019, 08:54 PM

Record Edinburgh attendance 65,860 - Easter Road v. Hearts, 2nd January, 1950.

The Pointer
09-11-2019, 09:01 PM
Great stuff and one for the young 'uns to savour as well as us. Also, no cops under 6' in those days either.

09-11-2019, 09:02 PM
Record Edinburgh attendance 65,860 - Easter Road v. Hearts, 2nd January, 1950.Here's a picture of the very same crowd. Gordon Smith scoring.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191109/46d054ac9b7e02153cfc0e0187f0cd5b.jpg

09-11-2019, 09:46 PM
I just wanted to share this picture of Hibs League Championship flag being unfurled at Easter Road in the early 1950's.

https://i1336.photobucket.com/albums/o645/william707/IMG-20191024-WA0000_zpsgvscow1i.jpg (https://s1336.photobucket.com/user/william707/media/IMG-20191024-WA0000_zpsgvscow1i.jpg.html)

Looks more like spot the ball at Tynecastle.

09-11-2019, 09:47 PM
Looks more like spot the ball at Tynecastle.[emoji23]

09-11-2019, 09:57 PM
Great picture. Unthinkable today that there were plans to increase the capacity at Easter Road to 80,000. Back in the day when it was a level playing field and unlike today when money rules. Not much loyalty left in the game. Sorry I'm getting off the subject. Will the flag ever return to Easter Road. You never know.

09-11-2019, 09:57 PM
Looks more like spot the ball at Tynecastle.

09-11-2019, 10:00 PM
Brilliant

Thanks for posting

At least I have now seen it :greengrin

Wee Ron over to you

wallpaperman
09-11-2019, 10:05 PM
Record Edinburgh attendance 65,860 - Easter Road v. Hearts, 2nd January, 1950.

My Dad, who is now 90, was at the game with his brother in law (who wasn’t really a fan and never attended another game apparently).

He said he joined the queue to get in on London Road, I think somewhere around where the Artisan is, so it snaked from the stadium along either/both of Bothwell Street/Albion Road, up Easter Road and round the corner. Strangely he said it moved steadily and didn’t seem to take that long to get to the stadium.

09-11-2019, 10:36 PM
My Dad, who is now 90, was at the game with his brother in law (who wasn’t really a fan and never attended another game apparently).

He said he joined the queue to get in on London Road, I think somewhere around where the Artisan is, so it snaked from the stadium along either/both of Bothwell Street/Albion Road, up Easter Road and round the corner. Strangely he said it moved steadily and didn’t seem to take that long to get to the stadium.

Wow , amazing.
That's some queue!

09-11-2019, 10:40 PM
Great picture. Unthinkable today that there were plans to increase the capacity at Easter Road to 80,000. Back in the day when it was a level playing field and unlike today when money rules. Not much loyalty left in the game. Sorry I'm getting off the subject. Will the flag ever return to Easter Road. You never know.

Hibs were making a lot of money and paying players very well in the period. I think money has ruled in football since the very early 20th Century. It worked very well for us post war though. Unthinkable how powerful we were and how quickly it changed.

stuart-farquhar
09-11-2019, 10:54 PM
Hibs were making a lot of money and paying players very well in the period. I think money has ruled in football since the very early 20th Century. It worked very well for us post war though. Unthinkable how powerful we were and how quickly it changed.

I had the feeling as a kid going to watch Hibs was right up there with the English clubs and the so cled continentals.

stuart-farquhar
09-11-2019, 10:55 PM

I had the feeling as a kid going to watch Hibs was right up there with the English clubs and the so called continentals.

09-11-2019, 10:57 PM

Absolutely amazing. Couldn't imagine having to join a queue that long. A queue fifty yards long nowadays seems to be the norm.

Sheep_Nae_Mair
10-11-2019, 05:54 PM

No problems with scanning bar codes in those days!

Mixu62
11-11-2019, 05:22 AM

I often wonder what might have been if we'd delayed our successful spell by 10 years. Man U got so big because their European success coincided with the dawn of televised football. If we'd caught that wave, instead of being 10 years too early, who knows...

11-11-2019, 07:07 AM
Back then you used to get in with a jam jar

Now I am almost 1k for two STs

Considering renewing now Hecky gone 😂

Barman Stanton
11-11-2019, 07:43 AM
Do any of our league flags exist today?

11-11-2019, 08:35 AM
A football match was a real event in those days, not just a leisure option. There wasn't much else to do.

Even in 1963 when I started supporting you saw great players every week for comparatively little cost at the turnstile. I used to really look forward to going.

11-11-2019, 08:50 AM
Here's a picture of the very same crowd. Gordon Smith scoring.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191109/46d054ac9b7e02153cfc0e0187f0cd5b.jpg

I know the picture has a legend saying that, but I thought the high terrace hadn't been built when that game was played? The picture appears to show the main terrace with the second level. Having said that I always thought it inconceivable squeezing 65k into the gorund without the high terrace. Can any of the historians help?

11-11-2019, 09:05 AM
I know the picture has a legend saying that, but I thought the high terrace hadn't been built when that game was played? The picture appears to show the main terrace with the second level. Having said that I always thought it inconceivable squeezing 65k into the gorund without the high terrace. Can any of the historians help?It's the game the poster quoted and the pictures a press original from the day in question.

No idea about the terrace at that time though.

11-11-2019, 09:32 AM
“Throughout the summer of 1939 HIBS carried out more ground improvements including making part of the south-east terracing already known as the Alps bigger and with more crush barriers”
The Making of Hibernian The Romantic Years Vol 3

“Easter Road had been spruced up to hold 60000 spectators by the middle of 1939”
100 Years of HIBS

11-11-2019, 09:39 AM
“Throughout the summer of 1939 HIBS carried out more ground improvements including making part of the south-east terracing already known as the Alps bigger and with more crush barriers”
The Making of Hibernian The Romantic Years Vol 3

“Easter Road had been spruced up to hold 60000 spectators by the middle of 1939”
100 Years of HIBS[emoji16] beat me to it!

Also quote below from the excellent Hibs historical trust which probably explains the confusion.

"65,860 was set in an Edinburgh Derby against Hearts inspiring the Hibernian Board to draw up plans to expand the overall capacity to nearly 100,000 which would have been achieved by raising both the North and South Terracings to the same height as the East.
These plans were never realised and for the next 30-years, apart from building the ‘Cowshed’ behind the goals, no noticeable ground improvements took place."

11-11-2019, 09:47 AM
[emoji16] beat me to it!

Also quote below from the excellent Hibs historical trust which probably explains the confusion.

"65,860 was set in an Edinburgh Derby against Hearts inspiring the Hibernian Board to draw up plans to expand the overall capacity to nearly 100,000 which would have been achieved by raising both the North and South Terracings to the same height as the East.
These plans were never realised and for the next 30-years, apart from building the ‘Cowshed’ behind the goals, no noticeable ground improvements took place."

Ha Ha!

Apologies

Retired nothing else to do

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/heritage/the-ground

11-11-2019, 09:50 AM
Ha Ha!

Apologies

Retired nothing else to do

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/heritage/the-ground[emoji16]

I was just killing time until the pub opened!

11-11-2019, 12:38 PM
Thanks for the link - very helpful.

Spotted this: 'On 2nd January 1950, a record Hibernian attendance of 65,860 was set in an Edinburgh derby against Hearts. This attendance is also a record for any football match played in Edinburgh.

As the fans had been tightly packed on the terraces to achieve this record attendance, the size of the East Terrace was increased even further.'

Which suggests there was further expansion of the east terrace after 1950 and before the plans for extending the north and south terraces were drawn up.

snedzuk
11-11-2019, 08:48 PM

Looking up at the tannoy saying 'one day, someone will fix that'

Mixu62
12-11-2019, 05:11 AM
Looking up at the tannoy saying 'one day, someone will fix that'

Either that or seagull spotting.

12-11-2019, 01:06 PM

Caption Competition?

12-11-2019, 01:41 PM
Caption Competition?Expectant crowd welcome Easter Roads first ever breeding pair of seagulls.

Baker9
12-11-2019, 02:28 PM
The picture could have been from 1952, the last time we won the league. It may have been unfurled at the end of the season or on the opening day of season '52/'53. The celebration for that league win is one of my earliest memories of Hibs. I was four and lived in the Pennywell Prefabs where some of the neighours has been decanted from Leith. There was a celebration of sorts in our street.

13-11-2019, 03:25 PM
The picture could have been from 1952, the last time we won the league. It may have been unfurled at the end of the season or on the opening day of season '52/'53. The celebration for that league win is one of my earliest memories of Hibs. I was four and lived in the Pennywell Prefabs where some of the neighours has been decanted from Leith. There was a celebration of sorts in our street.

Lucky you It’s something that may never happen again ever To have been there when it happened must of been special