View Full Version : St Johnstone memories...

04-11-2019, 09:59 PM
Looking forward to football this weekend ....What’s people’s memories of games up in Perth ?

A mixed hunting ground for us ..one of my residing memories is being thumped 5-1 up there on a freezing cold night when Hughes was manager..smith in goals - think they had five attempts and five goals ..as as bad a goalkeeping performance as I’ve seen ...

Anyone got brighter memories ??

04-11-2019, 10:01 PM
Winning there last season!!

04-11-2019, 10:03 PM
Winning there last season!!

What a pass that was from Omeonga, matching a great run from McNulty ...would love to have had them both starting this week !

Potty78
04-11-2019, 10:03 PM
Losing 4-0 in a cup tie, I had organised a mini bus from peebles, after the game came back to no bus as it had been towed away. 14 boys went to the pub, the driver and myself had to go collect it. Nightmare. Hoping for better sat!

CloudSquall
04-11-2019, 10:05 PM
It's been one of those bogey grounds for me, not many happy memories, just that screamer of a free kick from Sauzee all those years ago.

I also remember giving Alan Main dogs abuse once, I was having some horrid performances in goals for my primary school team which must have all got a bit too much for me and I decided to release the pent up fury on poor Alan for 45 minutes :greengrin

04-11-2019, 10:05 PM
Walking up the stairs of Muirton Park....cant remember much about the game and I was sober...then getting chased through Perth by some Saintee fans.

That's it.

04-11-2019, 10:08 PM
I think the only game I've been to in Perth was a Scotland U21 game. Back in about 2005ish and I think we got beat.

darwenhibby
04-11-2019, 10:09 PM
In 2000 went there and back in the same day
3-0 to Hibs
Hugh Dallas red carding Jim Weir when he was carried off on a stretcher

04-11-2019, 10:19 PM
Great performance back in about 93, wee Crunchie on fire. 3-0? Maybe 3-1.

One of the worst was Houchy getting sent off in a Cup game for kicking Tommy Turner.

Also the game Daniel Boateng played...jeez he was murder. Yogi's last game was dire as well.

04-11-2019, 10:21 PM
Losing 4-0 in a cup tie, I had organised a mini bus from peebles, after the game came back to no bus as it had been towed away. 14 boys went to the pub, the driver and myself had to go collect it. Nightmare. Hoping for better sat!

Was that the game we went 2 - 0 down early on, I remember going up there, took ages to get in and we were 2 down before we got into our seats!

Potty78
04-11-2019, 10:23 PM
Was that the game we went 2 - 0 down early on, I remember going up there, took ages to get in and we were 2 down before we got into our seats!

98-99 season I think!

04-11-2019, 10:24 PM
Must have been 5 or 6 times anyway and I don’t think I’ve saw us win off the top of my head.

CL0762
04-11-2019, 10:24 PM
Got leathered in the face off Ian Westwater when he was warming the keepers up, just as I took a bite into a pie as well.

Also, sure there was a game up there that got abandoned one year, Earl Jean played for us that day?

davhibby
04-11-2019, 10:25 PM
Looking forward to football this weekend ....What’s people’s memories of games up in Perth ?

A mixed hunting ground for us ..one of my residing memories is being thumped 5-1 up there on a freezing cold night when Hughes was manager..smith in goals - think they had five attempts and five goals ..as as bad a goalkeeping performance as I’ve seen ...

Was that not one of Yogi’s last games?

04-11-2019, 10:26 PM
Losing 4-0 in a cup tie, I had organised a mini bus from peebles, after the game came back to no bus as it had been towed away. 14 boys went to the pub, the driver and myself had to go collect it. Nightmare. Hoping for better sat!Was at this game . League Cup QF when we had been relegated . A real reality check .

04-11-2019, 10:28 PM

Don’t think so...was before the 6-6 wonder fest......

bringbackbenny
04-11-2019, 10:30 PM
One of the worst was Houchy getting sent off in a Cup game for kicking Tommy Turner.

I remember that fondly lol. Houchy was a disgrace that day, cost us the game and arch Jambo Roddy Grant scored a last min winner?

04-11-2019, 10:32 PM
Seeing John Brownlie come on as a sub for an injured Chris Shevlane who had been playing very well and then watching him lay on two goals for Joe McBride.

04-11-2019, 10:35 PM
Seeing John Brownlie come on as a sub for an injured Chris Shevlane who had been playing very well and then watching him lay on two goals for Joe McBride.

Joe McBride. We could only dream of having a centre forward like that nowadays. Yes dream on unfortunately.

04-11-2019, 10:36 PM

I’m sure Yogis last game was up at Perth but I’m not sure if it was that one.

04-11-2019, 10:38 PM

The 5-1 game was the season before. February game....yogi left in October the same year....

04-11-2019, 10:38 PM
Joe McBride. We could only dream of having a centre forward like that nowadays. Yes dream on unfortunately.

The great thing about Joe McBride was that when a goal was laid on for him he scored it:greengrin

04-11-2019, 10:39 PM
I remember seeing a Saints fan get lifted up there once. They'd scored and a few of them invaded the track. Someone in the Hibs end shouted "away and get flooded oot ya c***" to them (Perth had been hit by very bad flooding in the weeks before the game). One of them went absolutely tonto and found himself being escorted out the ground by the police. It was the first time I'd ever seen someone lose the plot and get lifted in the aftermath of a goal for their own team.

It used to be a favourite away day of mine when I lived in Dundee. There was a great wee pub near the bus station with a pool table, then that pub up near the ground. Neither of them are there any more (I don't think).

04-11-2019, 10:42 PM
Paul Cairney last minute winner up there on a Wednesday in December. Baltic!

David_D
04-11-2019, 11:59 PM
I think it was at Perth. Just seem to remember a free kick from Arpinion? Flying straight into someone’s face in the wall.

05-11-2019, 12:01 AM
The game that shouldn’t have went ahead in the 90s frozen pitch iirc, lost 2 nil

05-11-2019, 12:02 AM

Was at that 5-1 game. Took forever to find a path into the stadium. We resorted to picking up a St Johnstone fan so he could give us directions. :grr:

I remember when we beat them 3-1 at Tynecastle on our way to CIS cup glory. 2 of the goals coming in extra time IIRC.

Auckland Hibs
05-11-2019, 12:12 AM
Two completely differing games spring to mind (as mentioned above):

League Cup QF when we had been relegated (4-0?) - remember the traffic being a nightmare, ended up walking the last couple of miles to the stadium and queuing to get in, pretty sure we were 2-0 down and still hundreds of Hibees paying to get into the stadium.

In 2000, 3-0 to Hibs - fantastic performance, I.E.C bus had some decent entertainment on the way up IIRC :greengrin

05-11-2019, 12:14 AM
In 2000 went there and back in the same day
3-0 to Hibs
Hugh Dallas red carding Jim Weir when he was carried off on a stretcher

That was a great performance.

05-11-2019, 12:43 AM
my biggest memory about Hibernian playing Saint Johnstone has to be the game at Muirton Park when wee Jimmy O'Rourke transferred from us to them. the next week, we played them and I'm sure Willie Ormond was their manager. A Hibs fan ran on the park and draped one of our scarfs round O'Rourke's neck. Wee Jimmy ended up scoring the winner that day for the Saints iirc? gutted when that happened. one of my all time heroes.

05-11-2019, 12:50 AM
the league cup Semi final at the Wonga dome was funny though. can remember a Perth lunatic running onto the park bollock naked. that was a scream. often wondered if he got charged with causing offence ?:greengrin might have been different if we had those new fangled screens to decide if his balls were off or onside at the time.:greengrin

05-11-2019, 09:20 AM
4/12/1971

The old Muirton Park before it became a Morrisons

The Tornadoes were starting to take shape and goals by Hazel and Edwards sealed a 2-0 win in front of 5500 fans

St Johnstone were no mugs and even back then were a useful outfit

I remember we got into the ground early and the shed opposite the main stand was already dominated by the St Johnstone ultras who called themselves The Perth Pack but they soon had to make way for the famous green and white army as the HIBS fans arrived in their thousands sensing something special was about to happen under Eddie Turnbull

Here is hoping history repeats itself on Saturday :greengrin

05-11-2019, 09:25 AM

It was a 2-0 defeat, both goals in the 2nd half. We were brutal that day and the main thing I recall (apart from all the Yogi GTF shouts) was that he didn't make a substitution despite the abysmal performance.

green with envy
05-11-2019, 09:50 AM
my biggest memory about Hibernian playing Saint Johnstone has to be the game at Muirton Park when wee Jimmy O'Rourke transferred from us to them. the next week, we played them and I'm sure Willie Ormond was their manager. A Hibs fan ran on the park and draped one of our scarfs round O'Rourke's neck. Wee Jimmy ended up scoring the winner that day for the Saints iirc? gutted when that happened. one of my all time heroes.

I was also at that game, first time i went to an away game out of Edinburgh on my own aged 12 but I think Willie Ormond had left by then as I remember him being the Scotland manager when we beat Czechoslovakia in 1973 to qualify for the WC. Wee Jimmy left in '74.

05-11-2019, 11:16 AM
The first game I saw in Scotland was at Muirton Park. I cant remember who St Johnstone were playing but we were on a family holiday staying near Crieff and we ventured into Muirton. I was 10 at the time, Mum ventured off into Perth shopping while me and my Dad went to the match.

05-11-2019, 12:14 PM
My first ever Hibs game was St.J 0-2 Hibs in November 1974 - goals from Stanton and O'Rourke. Still ma fave two players.

Nothing will ever be as good as then.. :flag:

The Pointer
05-11-2019, 12:38 PM
Walking out to Muirton Park for a cup game in the 70s which I think we lost. Henry Hall was playing for them and Jimmy O'Rourke scored for them. Big Hibs support. Sorry, I see Monktonharp's memory is more detailed than mine!

March last year in driving sleet but fortunately I was in the west stand.

05-11-2019, 12:41 PM
Did Keith houtchen get a red card in a cup game, I was there, but could be wrong lol

05-11-2019, 12:43 PM
Did Keith houtchen get a red card in a cup game, I was there, but could be wrong lol

Either a red card or he was subbed. Gave us the vickies on the way off in any case.

05-11-2019, 12:45 PM
Walking out to Muirton Park for a cup game in the 70s which I think we lost. Henry Hall was playing for them and Jimmy O'Rourke scored for them. Big Hibs support. Sorry, I see Monktonharp's memory is more detailed than mine!

March last year in driving sleet but fortunately I was in the west stand.

In the words of the famous terracing song of the time:-

Henry Hall has only got one ball 'Allelujah!'

Repeat. Repeat.

:singing:

05-11-2019, 12:46 PM
Either a red card or he was subbed. Gave us the vickies on the way off in any case.

Think it was red, and we lost, any idea what year

05-11-2019, 12:50 PM
Think it was red, and we lost, any idea what year

23 February 1991

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=24537

05-11-2019, 12:51 PM
23 February 1991

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=24537

28 years ago 😂

05-11-2019, 04:41 PM
I'm sure I was at their first league game at McD P, cannae be arsed checking who it was against, late 80s early 90s?

05-11-2019, 05:12 PM
Losing 2-0 on a pitch covered in snow so an orange ball had to be used. We drove through blizzard conditions at one point and were amazed the game was on. Soon wished it had been postponed. Looked it up and probably January 1993.

The game we won 1-3 up there was the next game after that in September. What a performance! I think we went top of the league. We must have had about 3,000 fans. The ups and downs of being a Hibee in two games.

05-11-2019, 07:05 PM
1974, the week before, Joe Harper had made his debut at Brockville. We drew 0-0 & Joe was obviously overweight & unfit. The famous 5 of Edwards, O'Rourke, Gordon, Cropley & Duncan was restored at Muirton & we won 3-1 in a canter. Jimmy O scored all 3 & IIRC they were all laid on by Arthur.

Fanforlife
05-11-2019, 07:55 PM
Two completely differing games spring to mind (as mentioned above):

League Cup QF when we had been relegated (4-0?) - remember the traffic being a nightmare, ended up walking the last couple of miles to the stadium and queuing to get in, pretty sure we were 2-0 down and still hundreds of Hibees paying to get into the stadium.

In 2000, 3-0 to Hibs - fantastic performance, I.E.C bus had some decent entertainment on the way up IIRC :greengrin
Would you be referring to the stripper (female😁)by any chance?😁😁

05-11-2019, 08:02 PM
Couple of games I remember for different reasons
Around time when Sauzee was playing, a snow storm came down and the game was abandoned

Might have been his debut, but can remember Whittaker playing in midfield

05-11-2019, 09:54 PM
Around time when Sauzee was playing, a snow storm came down and the game was abandoned

Midweek game and a brutal drive up through sleet and snow. Started to get farcical in first half but they got to half time which meant we weren’t entitled to refunds. The fact the game was not abandoned until late into the half time interval looked suspiciously like they were keen to sell as much as they could from the kiosks rather than it going to waste..

Robbo6-2
05-11-2019, 09:57 PM

Are you thinking about Dundee when match was abandoned

05-11-2019, 09:58 PM
the league cup Semi final at the Wonga dome was funny though. can remember a Perth lunatic running onto the park bollock naked. that was a scream. often wondered if he got charged with causing offence ?:greengrin might have been different if we had those new fangled screens to decide if his balls were off or onside at the time.:greengrin

Yes it's on YouTube Wullie. I think he hit his tadger on the wall as he quickly got back on to the terracing .

https://youtu.be/jOmOFBcm678

There you go.

You fat barsteward. Not you of course. :greengrin

05-11-2019, 10:25 PM
4/12/1971

the old muirton park before it became a morrisons

the tornadoes were starting to take shape and goals by hazel and edwards sealed a 2-0 win in front of 5500 fans

st johnstone were no mugs and even back then were a useful outfit

i remember we got into the ground early and the shed opposite the main stand was already dominated by the st johnstone ultras who called themselves the perth pack but they soon had to make way for the famous green and white army as the hibs fans arrived in their thousands sensing something special was about to happen under eddie turnbull

here is hoping history repeats itself on saturday :greengrin

asda. 👍

05-11-2019, 10:27 PM
Losing 2-0 on a pitch covered in snow so an orange ball had to be used. We drove through blizzard conditions at one point and were amazed the game was on. Soon wished it had been postponed. Looked it up and probably January 1993.

The game we won 1-3 up there was the next game after that in September. What a performance! I think we went top of the league. We must have had about 3,000 fans. The ups and downs of being a Hibee in two games.

The forecast is looking baltic with snow forecast for Saturday.

delbert
05-11-2019, 11:24 PM

Jimmy scored the winner, only goal of the game, in his first game as a Saints player against us but it was in the fourth minute at the top end of the slope at Easter Road, I think every single Hibs fan present that day knew that Jimmy would score against us, he was just a class act.

06-11-2019, 12:48 AM
could have swore it was at Muirton but age does strange things. someone definitely draped a scarf roond the wee man's neck though.

06-11-2019, 02:24 AM
Muirton days. Meeting a fetching lady and making love to her all night long.

Zero relating to football there.

Yorkshire HFC
06-11-2019, 07:07 AM

I vaguely remember as a boy going for lunch with my mum and dad at friends of theirs in Fife.

After lunch we went to see St Johnstone v Hibs - I'm sure Jimmy O'Rourke was playing for St Johnstone - is that right? I'm also pretty sure Hibs lost.

So no - I don't have a brighter memory!

Sproule Three
06-11-2019, 07:27 AM
I'm sure I was at their first league game at McD P, cannae be arsed checking who it was against, late 80s early 90s?

The season following the attempted takeover - 1990.
Was there too.
Thought we might not get in as it wasn’t all ticket .
The Hibs section behind goal and half main stand full so the rest of us had to go in the St Johnstone family section in the other half.

A novel experience for those used to segregation.Thankfully most folk kept the heid��
Couldn’t remember score but Google tells me 1-1 .
Paul Wright scored for us .
We were ***** that season and finished second bottom. No surprise after the summer of trauma