View Full Version : Only in Scotland

04-11-2019, 01:18 AM
Trying to take a break from all things hecky.
What are some of the things that make people think this can only happen in Scotland or in Scottish football.
My starter for 10 is going to be that day in Cowdenbeath. Only here would fans have to watch a game on a pitch surrounded by a race track in monsoon conditions.
Can laugh about it now but its still the most soaked I've ever been.

Fuzzywuzzy
04-11-2019, 06:38 AM
- sectarianism is allowed by the authorities
- a high profile club can be liquidated and then bau while others that have suffered the same fate have ceased to exist

Only ever been to cowdenbeath for the racing or a curry!!

Wakeyhibee
04-11-2019, 06:58 AM
Set up a new league format after only 30 years as a knee jerk reaction to falling attendances and when it fails to do what it was set up to do, tinker with the set up for the next 45 years when clubs are going into admin or going to the wall on a frequent basis.

04-11-2019, 07:04 AM
Top league club has new stand delayed because they forgot to order seats ! [emoji23]

Aberdeen issuing a statement because of their “seagull “ problem !

Think it was Stenhousemuir - couple of years a go...who announced two signings from their local McDonalds !

04-11-2019, 07:04 AM
2 teams having their own ends at the national stadium regardless of who they are playing and whether it is the best set up for that particular game.

04-11-2019, 07:07 AM
A governing body which deliberately obstructed one club registering a player for the benefit of another club yet continued in place with only one resignation.

I_Love_Latapy
04-11-2019, 07:07 AM
2 teams having their own ends at the national stadium regardless of who they are playing and whether it is the best set up for that particular game.

04-11-2019, 07:08 AM

That really is incredible. Imagine Man United and Liverpool having their own ends at Wembley. Would be an uproar

04-11-2019, 07:16 AM
A governing body which deliberately obstructed one club registering a player for the benefit of another club yet continued in place with only one resignation.

Especially as there’s a new motorway that would place thousands of fans from Edinburgh or the East right at the entrance to the East stand. But no, they would rather take thousands of fans in hundreds of buses and cars all the way through to the West side of Glasgow to double back to the West stand. All done to allow Celtic to have their end. THEIR END!!!😡 Ridiculous. Sorry replied to the wrong post.

04-11-2019, 07:30 AM
This happened and made me laugh....

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191104/0a24cb9d634647ccf7902356123ad777.jpg

04-11-2019, 07:35 AM
A national stadium outside it's capital

green with envy
04-11-2019, 07:39 AM

The Maracana?

Cataplana
04-11-2019, 07:41 AM
Heard on the radio yesterday that we were the only country not to agree to a professional women's game in the 70s. Even now we are lagging on a professional league.

Cataplana
04-11-2019, 07:42 AM

Malta

JXM73
04-11-2019, 07:42 AM
Playing teams 4 times a season so sky can have their old firm **** fest.

04-11-2019, 07:45 AM
The Maracana?

Good one. To be fair though Rio was the capital up to 1960.

green with envy
04-11-2019, 07:51 AM
Good one. To be fair though Rio was the capital up to 1960.

I never knew that.:thumbsup:

04-11-2019, 07:53 AM
Tens of thousands of people from Scotland and Belfast get together to sing about how much they love or hate all things Republic of Ireland, Often being allowed to belt out banned songs with impunity whilst the BBC, SKY and BT sport technicians frantically turn the volume button up and down hoping the civilised world doesn't hear it and associate it with their brand.

04-11-2019, 07:55 AM
Religious marches through towns and cities about something that happened in another country hunderds of years ago

04-11-2019, 08:04 AM
Only in Scotland would folk allow a team of charity poppy thieves to get away with it!

04-11-2019, 08:04 AM
The Maracana?

The middle of the Amazon jungle is hard to get to

04-11-2019, 08:07 AM
A league that splits in two (know the swiss do it as well).

Refs who mainly follow one of the two big clubs.

A media that sucks up to the two big clubs.

Fans who are not prosecuted for demonstrating their hostility to branches of christianity at games.

norhfc
04-11-2019, 08:16 AM
On the way up to Parkhead many moons ago I saw a guy sitting in what could have once been described as a garden. He had a table and chair set up with a sign,

Crackers and Butter 10p each (Jacobs)

H113EE5
04-11-2019, 08:40 AM

Always a bugbear of mine. Even wrote to the SFA but got sfa as a reply. :fuming::fuming::fuming::fuming::fuming:

Fuzzywuzzy
04-11-2019, 08:40 AM
On the way up to Parkhead many moons ago I saw a guy sitting in what could have once been described as a garden. He had a table and chair set up with a sign,

Butter, piss off!!! Probably stork!!🤣🤮

04-11-2019, 08:45 AM
What are some of the things that make people think this can only happen in Scotland or in Scottish football.
My starter for 10 is going to be that day in Cowdenbeath. Only here would fans have to watch a game on a pitch surrounded by a race track in monsoon conditions.

I was at that game to, the wettest ive ever been at a game, was soaked through to the skin

04-11-2019, 08:52 AM
A pie on a roll as one of the match day food options. £1.50 at Alloa a few seasons back, barry.

04-11-2019, 08:55 AM
I remember Livingston used to sell pot noodles, surely nowhere outside of Livingston, never mind outside Scotland can match that.

04-11-2019, 09:02 AM
A league where out with the Old Firm no one has won since 1984.

Not healthy..

04-11-2019, 09:12 AM

Not healthy..

Portugal. Not the old firm but pretty much the same scenario.

Aside from that, I agree.

04-11-2019, 09:19 AM
Good thread this, keep it up 👍

04-11-2019, 09:26 AM

4 different teams have win the Portuguese league since 1984 but is dominated by Porto and Benfica.

04-11-2019, 09:26 AM
No hot running water in stadiums

Sorry our stadium 😁

The Baldmans Comb
04-11-2019, 09:57 AM
Clubs that build stands of extra capacity to accommodate visiting Celtc or Sevco fans or just give them most of the stadium.

Motherwell and Livi.

04-11-2019, 10:03 AM
Clubs that build stands of extra capacity to accommodate visiting Celtc or Sevco fans or just give them most of the stadium.

Motherwell and Livi.

Criteria saying 10,000 minimum then not promoting Falkirk / relegating Aberdeen then we are at the stage many clubs can’t get close to 10,000.

JXM73
04-11-2019, 10:10 AM
Wee flag sticks deemed a health n safety hazard or charged £2.50 for some hot water and a tea bag...

04-11-2019, 10:11 AM
New rules introduced about subs leaving the pitch closest to the side where they are but Scottish refs never let this happen.

monarch
04-11-2019, 10:23 AM

A corollary to this is the situation where on the very few occasions we meet Hearts at Hampden we are given the “Celtic “ end and Hearts are allocated the “Sevco “ end. Now what particular mindset within the SFA could contribute to that decision ? 😏

04-11-2019, 10:34 AM
The SFA turning a bling eye to Fifa.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/4904085/sectarian-chants-scottish-football-abandoned-fifa/amp/

04-11-2019, 10:56 AM
Clubs (Aberdeen) boasting about never having been relegated despite finishing bottom of the league

04-11-2019, 11:14 AM
Chips

04-11-2019, 11:30 AM
The SFA turning a bling eye to Fifa.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/4904085/sectarian-chants-scottish-football-abandoned-fifa/amp/

FIFA should have written to SPFL as well as SFA. That is where the real power lies. However, the big teams in that league are only really
scared of UEFA.

04-11-2019, 12:08 PM
Butter, piss off!!! Probably stork!!🤣🤮

Echo!

04-11-2019, 12:21 PM
4 different teams have win the Portuguese league since 1984 but is dominated by Porto and Benfica.

Yep, I didn't say it was exactly the same as us. Those two teams win practically every year.

04-11-2019, 12:24 PM
Wee flag sticks deemed a health n safety hazard or charged £2.50 for some hot water and a tea bag...

...while ignoring the fact that the Celtc Fans had the flag of their adopted country on a 30 foot flag pole on saturday, as they were singing all their terrorist worshiping songs.

04-11-2019, 12:26 PM
There's a hilarious thread on Reddit about Scottish football. If you Google "A Guide to the Bizarre Side of Scottish Football" it should come up. It got deleted by the admins last time I posted it, although it's not particularly explicit, so I can't link the thread directly.

04-11-2019, 02:39 PM
Kingsley.

I remember Livingston used to sell pot noodles, surely nowhere outside of Livingston, never mind outside Scotland can match that.
Quite common at non-league games down here I'm afraid.

I was at that game to, the wettest ive ever been at a game, was soaked through to the skin

I arrived just before half-time because of delays on the trains and people were flooding out (pun only partly intended) by that time, telling me not to bother going in!

04-11-2019, 02:43 PM
This happened and made me laugh....

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191104/0a24cb9d634647ccf7902356123ad777.jpg

Berwick Ravers :greengrin

04-11-2019, 02:43 PM
A small country that prides itself on tourism yet makes buying a ticket to the footie very difficult for the tourist.

donno
04-11-2019, 04:14 PM
2 teams having their own ends at the national stadium regardless of who they are playing and whether it is the best set up for that particular game.Many years ago, the arse cheeks were asked to finance covering Hampden. The Huns stumped up, hence the rangers end. God knows why the other end is called the Celtic end, as they never put their hands in their pockets.

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

Tomsk
04-11-2019, 05:59 PM
The five-way agreement.

Campbell Ogilvie, an EBT beneficiary from Rangers and President of the SFA while the SFA's independent investigation into the EBT scandal was taking place. He didn't feel obliged to resign.

BBC Scotland's kiddie on boycott of Ibrox - :faf:

Neil Doncaster - where else would someone so utterly inept hold on to such a position of authority.

The Rangers/Celtic old pals act in the broadcasting of Scottish football - where else would people as bad as Pat Bonner and Derek Ferguson get to pontificate on the game.

04-11-2019, 06:04 PM
"Erra macaroon bars".

04-11-2019, 06:06 PM
Being questioned about religion in relation to football.

04-11-2019, 06:14 PM
Yep, I didn't say it was exactly the same as us. Those two teams win practically every year.

Taking this element of the thread a step further, it's 60 years this season since an Edinburgh club last won the top flight in Scotland. Other than in Germany, I wonder if there are many countries in Europe / further afield where the league title has remained outside the capital city for so long?

BurghHibby
04-11-2019, 06:15 PM

Tynecastle new year game 1983 (I think) was worse, Gorgie Road end had no cover.
Was at Central Park that day as well btw.

04-11-2019, 06:42 PM
Having to pay wee schemies to watch your car or are at risk of returning to it left with no wheels. No sure if that happens elsewhere?

04-11-2019, 06:51 PM
There are a couple of Pie and Bovril threads that are good on this subject.

The "Tin Pot" thread on there documents the finest tin pot occurrences in Scottish football and will occasionally bring me to tears. I think my favourite bit on that one was the picture of Connor Sammon being presented with a post-match pizza as a prize for being man of the match.

Th first few pages of the banter years thread are also absolutely superb. Life can be tough as a Hibs fan but it must have been torture for a while for the fans of Rangers (who were a big successful club) to be reduced to the laugh a minute laughing stock that was (is?) Sevco. Mr Custard anyone? Only in Scotland would this gentleman run into trouble after choosing this name for his website. https://www.bluenose.co.uk

Skol
04-11-2019, 06:55 PM
A shot hits the back of the net and rebounds out. The centre half catches the ball and hands it to the keeper who blooters the ball up the park. The ref waves play on having missed the ball in the net and the handball. Then is sent to the world cup as our best referee

Superfurry72
04-11-2019, 06:58 PM

Not healthy..

It’s 1985 (sorry for the pedantry) but it’s a valid point. Only Hearts in 1986 and Aberdeen in 1991 have come anywhere close to changing that stat.

Skol
04-11-2019, 07:22 PM
You forgot that hearts won the league in September 2018.

StevieT
04-11-2019, 08:45 PM
A shot hits the back of the net and rebounds out. The centre half catches the ball and hands it to the keeper who blooters the ball up the park. The ref waves play on having missed the ball in the net and the handball. Then is sent to the world cup as our best referee

Good old Les Mortram. The non goal last season in a game with Mortn v ?? cost me a £150 fine from the compliance officer:grr:

05-11-2019, 06:29 AM
Good old Les Mortram. The non goal last season in a game with Mortn v ?? cost me a £150 fine from the compliance officer:grr:

Why was that?

05-11-2019, 06:34 AM
The five-way agreement.

Campbell Ogilvie, an EBT beneficiary from Rangers and President of the SFA while the SFA's independent investigation into the EBT scandal was taking place. He didn't feel obliged to resign.

BBC Scotland's kiddie on boycott of Ibrox - :faf:

Neil Doncaster - where else would someone so utterly inept hold on to such a position of authority.

The Rangers/Celtic old pals act in the broadcasting of Scottish football - where else would people as bad as Pat Bonner and Derek Ferguson get to pontificate on the game.

How about Sky and all of Charlie Nicholas mates getting jobs. Walker Provan McInally incredible really.

Lozmoz21
05-11-2019, 06:42 AM
Berwick ravers again

green with envy
05-11-2019, 07:01 AM

Was also there and got equally soaked when standing behind the goals away to Alloa, possibly the same season? Took me an age to get dried in the pub after that particular game.

Cataplana
05-11-2019, 07:02 AM
It’s 1985 (sorry for the pedantry) but it’s a valid point. Only Hearts in 1986 and Aberdeen in 1991 have come anywhere close to changing that stat.

Dundee United too, but the point still stands. If you play the OF twice in a season there is a chance of somebody doing a Leicester. Four times in a season their squad size will always triumph.

McHibby
05-11-2019, 07:18 AM

🤣😂😂 Brilliant!

05-11-2019, 07:29 AM
Berwick Ravers :greengrin

Better name!

Paloschi
05-11-2019, 07:29 AM
Elgin selling Rangers fans more tickets than their actual allocation prompting Elgin fans to sing ‘we are Elgin City, we do what we want!’

jockodile
05-11-2019, 07:41 AM
That really is incredible. Imagine Man United and Liverpool having their own ends at Wembley. Would be an uproar

it is even more sinister when you think the only time we would ever get the "Rangers" end is if playing Celtic. For Dundee Utd same applies but includes us, for Aberdeen so on.

institutional

GordonR
05-11-2019, 08:00 AM
Malta

Even Valletta FC don’t play in Valletta. They and several other teams share the National Stadium.

05-11-2019, 08:15 AM
Fans cry out for the departure of an under achieving Manager then when it eventually happens the mood doesn't brighten and the gloom continues as before.

05-11-2019, 10:46 PM
A league that splits in two (know the swiss do it as well).

Refs who mainly follow one of the two big clubs.

A media that sucks up to the two big clubs.

Fans who are not prosecuted for demonstrating their hostility to branches of christianity at games.

Refs mostly follow one Club. How many times has a ref done a final and not been from the same Region?

05-11-2019, 10:47 PM
Fans cry out for the departure of an under achieving Manager then when it eventually happens the mood doesn't brighten and the gloom continues as before.

Then someone goes on a trip down memory lane wanting old manager back.

Galahibby
05-11-2019, 11:00 PM
The team finishing in 7th place can have more points than the team finishing in 6th place 🤦

Mixu62
06-11-2019, 12:28 AM
Having 42 senior league clubs in a population of 5 million. Surely no other country can match that ratio? A club for every 120k people?

06-11-2019, 12:38 AM
Having 42 senior league clubs in a population of 5 million. Surely no other country can match that ratio? A club for every 120k people?
Hearts have 400,000 season ticket holders apparently so your maths are off.

hibbydog
06-11-2019, 05:08 PM
‘The referee has stopped the game whilst a jobby is removed from the pitch’

Tweet by a lower league club last season. Think it was Spartans

07-11-2019, 12:11 PM
At Hampden last week there was a guy in the concourse touting a ticket just before kick off.

07-11-2019, 01:03 PM
One of the biggest clubs in the country purposely cheated for at least a decade but it took a concerted threat from all of the other club's fans before the governing authorities took any action - even more bizarrely the club that cheated was allowed to continue albeit with a new title, adding the word 'The' to their name !!

StevieT
07-11-2019, 06:29 PM
Why was that?

For criticising the referee whilst being a referee myself.

07-11-2019, 06:37 PM

I had ma puffer jacket on and it got water logged! Had the lurgy for a week afterwards.

Only thing I remember about the game was our young keeper had trouble kicking in the conditions.

07-11-2019, 08:21 PM
Was also there and got equally soaked when standing behind the goals away to Alloa, possibly the same season? Took me an age to get dried in the pub after that particular game.

On the same note, when we were on our exploits in the championship, we played QOS down there, and it pished down all game.

I took a golf brolly with me and stood at the back behind the goal, nobody behind me but was told by a steward to put it down, i ignored him.

2 minutes later a policeman came over and told me to put it down. :confused:

****in jobsworths.

07-11-2019, 09:00 PM
I took the son of a pal along with a group of us to a semi final v Dundee Utd at Hampden. The kid had quite severe allergies but could drink Capri Sun so I had one in my bag. Got searched before the turnstile and the polis told me to put it in the bin. I protested but was told we couldn’t get in with it. Ditched it, went in and they had it on sale in the Stadium.

Irish-Hibee
07-11-2019, 10:31 PM

At least Portugal have had at least 3 or 4 different winners

vuefrom1875
08-11-2019, 12:16 AM
Top league club has new stand delayed because they forgot to order seats ! [emoji23]

Aberdeen issuing a statement because of their “seagull “ problem !

Think it was Stenhousemuir - couple of years a go...who announced two signings from their local McDonalds !

Regarding the "top club" Edinburgh City council have always bent over backwards to help the establishment club...using there dump as a storage facility, and paying them for the privilege. Rant over.

vuefrom1875
08-11-2019, 12:24 AM
Having a sh#thole national stadium only convenient to weggies ,where an offer was made to use Murrayfield as an alternative with superior travel infrastructure...but hey ho knocked back by the GLASGOW football association .

vuefrom1875
08-11-2019, 12:27 AM
Religious marches through towns and cities about something that happened in another country hunderds of years ago

Only in WEGGIELAND.

vuefrom1875
08-11-2019, 12:29 AM
Only in Scotland would folk allow a team of charity poppy thieves to get away with it!

Aye but wait a minute...did they no win WW1?

08-11-2019, 01:49 AM
Regarding the "top club" Edinburgh City council have always bent over backwards to help the establishment club...using there dump as a storage facility, and paying them for the privilege. Rant over.

Making no planning permission except for a football stadium scuppered the bankruptcy and left the Lithuanians with £2 million but owed £70 million.