View Full Version : Rugby
Portrayed as a game for public schoolboys and farmers in Scotland and, when I was at school in Edinburgh it wasn’t on the curriculum.
The game was played as an after school activity and we had a good side as our gym teacher was and international who went on to coach the national team but I’ve never played a game of rugby in my life.
I was wondering if thus is still the case. Do state schools play rugby?
28-10-2019, 06:56 AM
Portrayed as a game for public schoolboys and farmers in Scotland and, when I was at school in Edinburgh it wasn’t on the curriculum.
The game was played as an after school activity and we had a good side as our gym teacher was and international who went on to coach the national team but I’ve never played a game of rugby in my life.
Think it depends on the school, I went to Trinity and it was very much a rugby school, we weren't allowed to play football, it was all rugby rugby rugby, part of the reason I have a bit of resentment towards the game to this day
28-10-2019, 07:13 AM
I was at Musselburgh Grammar who have close ties with the rugby club.
28-10-2019, 07:25 AM
My school didn't offer it generally. There was a group of 8-10 in my year who just so happened to like rugby and played it outwith school so they encouraged others, including me, to give it a go. Coached by an enthusiastic history teacher. It was great fun at the time.
To my knowledge the school didn't have a rugby team before then or after we all left.
I think generally it's underrepresented at school level. It's remarkable that Scotland actually do reasonably well at rugby considering the small pool of players we have to pick from.
28-10-2019, 07:32 AM
Think a lot of state schools still play rugby and are affiliated to teams which play in the national leagues. In the Lothians Royal High, Boroughmuir, Trinity, Musselburgh, Preston Lodge and North Berwick spring to mind and I imagine it remains big in Borders schools. Used to be the case for a lot of clubs you had to be an FP (former pupil) to play for the senior team but that fizzled out due to difficulties in recruitment and the clubs became open to all.
Cataplana
28-10-2019, 07:52 AM
Lots of state schools played it in the 70s. In Edinburgh, Portobello, At Augustine's, Boroughmuir, Broughton and Liberton all had teams.
Just about every East Lothian school did too. There was no league, but there was a full card of fixtures every year, and we played against independent schools too.
28-10-2019, 08:43 AM
Think it depends on the school, I went to Trinity and it was very much a rugby school, we weren't allowed to play football, it was all rugby rugby rugby, part of the reason I have a bit of resentment towards the game to this day
I also went to Trinity and played Rugby, A pupil's father took the team.
No teacher wanted to get involved with the football, around the time of the EIS strikes
28-10-2019, 08:46 AM
When I was at Firrhill from 79-84, each year had a 1st and 2nd 15.
There was also a football team per year.
A few footballers turned pro, but I'm not sure whether Firrhill produced any high-level rugby players.
28-10-2019, 08:54 AM
Forrester High were well known for rugby, produced some good players and now have a thriving rugby club. Dunno if they play at the actual school now though.
28-10-2019, 09:34 AM
Leith Academy had 2 teams in each year in 1980. I remember playing most of the Edinburgh schools and a few in East Lothian.
28-10-2019, 10:29 AM
I went to school in Bath and it was played by nearly every state school.
Bath is a massive rugby town. And in the 90s when I was in secondary school Bath were like the Man U of the 90s but with rugby.
We played other state schools and private schools.
Edinburgh wise, my Dad went to Liberton in the early 70s and they definitely had a rugby team. (He just didn’t play it, concentrated on footie).
28-10-2019, 11:07 AM
Most rugby for Edinburgh kids happens through the clubs. Currie have a huge youth setup that takes them from P1. Broughton and Trinity have a combined club called BATS and Boroughmuir, Royal High etc are active. And then there's the clubs associated with the private schools: Watsonians, Heriots and so on.
I got some rugby at school PE with Richie Dixon (think that's who Colr was alluding to) but there were no school teams for rugby or football because of the teachers' strikes putting a stop to most extra-curricular stuff (82-88).
McSwanky
28-10-2019, 11:12 AM
Preston Lodge was very much a rugby school back in my days. With Ernie Murray and Bobby Davidson in charge, football was like a bad word!
The Pointer
28-10-2019, 11:34 AM
This is a real misnomer about rugby and outside
Edinburgh and Glasgow was never based on certain social criteria. I played rugby at Boroughmuir as it was on the curriculum but I moved to the west just as my local club was starting up and played with them till I was 58.
Most of our guys were wood cutters, fish farmers, road squad guys, council workers, police, students etc, and most teams we played from Moffat to Mull were of a similar make up. We also never had a formal pitch to play on (don't get me started on that one!) and made do over the years with a succession of farmer's fields (complete with copious amounts of sheep ****!).
One of my favourite teams I played against were Renfrew, who were made up of ordinary blokes including one lad who used to get the bus out from Drumchapel of all places. Like us they didn't have a clubhouse and went to one of the local pubs after the game.
Last thing: remember playing a game against Kirkcaldy and being delighted to find Jim MacArthur was playing full back for them.
28-10-2019, 12:07 PM
Borders schools still prioritise rugby but in fairness they are good for all sports. Girls’ hockey in particular is very well resourced.
The Borders has changed a lot as it has become more commutable for Edinburgh. Add the rise of broadband and home working and there are a lot less farmers kicking around and a lot more English professionals who work in IT :greengrin
28-10-2019, 01:44 PM
I started at Boughmuir in 1971 and the school just played rugby. Played the one game...... lost about 76 nil and we were lucky to get nil. Most of us had never seen a game in our lives. I think I only touched the ball once. Someone threw the ball in my direction and I just kicked it they way I was facing..... right out the park. Packed it in after that as I started going to Hibs away games.
28-10-2019, 04:08 PM
I was at Musselburgh Grammar who have close ties with the rugby club.
Same here and with Mr Groom as sports teacher there was always only ever gonna be one team sport played. Hated rugby at school but got into it whilst in the army, mainly because of the weekends away and drinking sessions.
When I lived in Wick I played rugby at school, didn't really enjoy it but it was always a weekend away game. Anything to get away. Moved to Bo'ness, not a hint of rugby played there and I was crap at football so my sporting career was in tatters 🙄
28-10-2019, 07:05 PM
I was at Broughton from 2002 and rugby was unheard of.
Fuzzywuzzy
28-10-2019, 07:48 PM
Royal High loved a bit or rugby. Sutherland and Ellis took it.
28-10-2019, 09:26 PM
Lasswade High have their own Rugby academy - the kids can choose it as a subject and do training during class time.
I think they’ve just started the same for football (boys and girls teams).
I wish I could’ve done that when I was at school.
28-10-2019, 10:01 PM
Same here and with Mr Groom as sports teacher there was always only ever gonna be one team sport played. Hated rugby at school but got into it whilst in the army, mainly because of the weekends away and drinking sessions.
What an unfortunate name for someone who works with kids :greengrin
29-10-2019, 05:31 AM
I was at Broughton from 2002 and rugby was unheard of.
I was at Broughton from 1960 to ‘65 and rugby was the main sport. We played after school at Wardie playing fields, some distance from the original building in Macdonald Road. Wallace Hamilton was the head PE teacher and was rugby daft. Football was looked down upon a wee bit but some of the other teachers tried to encourage it.
29-10-2019, 05:54 AM
What an unfortunate name for someone who works with kids :greengrin
Aye, but nobody used the word in that context back then. He hated kids anyway. :greengrin