View Full Version : Your beer intake...be honest

27-10-2019, 12:54 PM
After following the crap beer thread it made me realise how little beer I consume these days. For example we are near the end of the month and I can count back and state my intake this month has been 8 pints and that’s only because I went to London for a weekend with the wife. The previous month we dined out once with friends and I had four pints.
I don’t drink before or after the game any more either.
My average monthly intake prior to that was probably only 5 or 6 pints a month too. What’s everyone else’s monthly average? I haven’t included spirits of which I have only had a couple anyway.

27-10-2019, 01:02 PM
Far less than it used to be.

I had 8 pints watching the boxing last night and that's my total for the month. I'll probably have a couple before the game on Wednesday with my Dad as well. I can go weeks and months without drinking at all. I rarely drink in the house and if I do then it's 1 or 2 whiskies rather than beer.

I just can't be bothered waking up feeling crap anymore. I feel utterly rubbish today and it's like a wasted day. Heavy Saturday nights and Sunday long runs just don't work together either. The added bonus is I've dropped about 2 and a half stone without changing my diet and only slightly upping my exercise levels (which were always good).

27-10-2019, 01:09 PM
Not much beer/lager but, an abundance of cider every month. Silly amounts of units, if I enjoyed drinking in the house I wouldn't be here anymore.

27-10-2019, 01:34 PM
With the exception of a glass or two of wine with the odd meal I never drink in the house.

I now find that I only enjoy pints if I have 4 or less. Any more than that and I feel bagged up. I will tend to have a few vodkas after that but rarely get to the stage where I get a hangover next day.

I'm 48 and have never really been a big drinker and could quite happily be tea total off I had to be. Like most folk I have had my fare share of bad experiences with alcohol when younger. It's not something I'd like to repeat now I have kids.

27-10-2019, 01:41 PM
After following the crap beer thread it made me realise how little beer I consume these days. For example we are near the end of the month and I can count back and state my intake this month has been 8 pints and that’s only because I went to London for a weekend with the wife. The previous month we dined out once with friends and I had four pints.
I don’t drink before or after the game any more either.
My average monthly intake prior to that was probably only 5 or 6 pints a month too. What’s everyone else’s monthly average? I haven’t included spirits of which I have only had a couple anyway.

Shifted from beer to wine in my thirties. I’m lucky if I will have more than a couple of beers a month, usually only a couple of IPAs or pilsners in the garden when it is hot. The exception is when abroad, as it would be criminal to be somewhere like Prague and not drink beer (though the Moravian wine can be very tasty). As I progress through the years it is also easier on the bladder to drink lower volume :greengrin

Cataplana
27-10-2019, 01:43 PM
On average 3 pints a week. Big drop from 15 years ago when it would be around 40.

Body can't take it anymore, and I prefer to enjoy beer for the flavour now, rather than the effect.

Does leave me a bit bored on holiday, which is the only time I really wish I could hit the pub at opening time and drink till they closed.

27-10-2019, 01:57 PM
Not much beer/lager but, an abundance of cider every month. Silly amounts of units, if I enjoyed drinking in the house I wouldn't be here anymore.

I appear to be using up the leftover units from other posters on this thread so far.

27-10-2019, 02:03 PM
I appear to be using up the leftover units from other posters on this thread so far.

I like this idea, it is a bit like carbon trading. If there are any teetotallers on here I would be interested in maybe using your quota :agree:

27-10-2019, 02:07 PM
I like this idea, it is a bit like carbon trading. If there are any teetotallers on here I would be interested in maybe using your quota :agree:

Worked a treat so far! ☺

27-10-2019, 02:10 PM
Worked a treat so far! ☺

I probably have a deficit problem as it stands, so am needing these teetotallers to roll up soon. Otherwise I will start quantitative easing (not actually sure how that works in real life or in terms of my consumption but it sounds like a plan).

27-10-2019, 02:43 PM
I probably have a deficit problem as it stands, so am needing these teetotallers to roll up soon. Otherwise I will start quantitative easing (not actually sure how that works in real life or in terms of my consumption but it sounds like a plan).

Is quantitive easing in this context not the equivalent of pissing it up against the wall? 😉

27-10-2019, 02:47 PM
When I worked for Tennents as a Drayman I consumed enough in my last 3 years with them that should have had me in a box 6 feet under, days/nights were a blur. Funnily enough, the previous 13 years with them I hardly touched the stuff, I was just yer bang average social drinker, few before a game and a few after it, never touched a drop on Sundays because before the brewery I was a Scaffolder and the job was hard enough without being half cut or hungover.

Nowadays, mental health relatively intact, I would probably guess 4 large bottles of beer in house chilling with Wife in front of the telly, nowt this weekend because Im working.

27-10-2019, 02:52 PM
Rarely in a pub unless on holiday, don't have the time, money or metabolism anymore. I pass my quota to a deserving case.

patch1875
27-10-2019, 02:56 PM
I don’t do pints anymore but probably average 4-5 bottles of lager a week usually over a Friday and Saturday.

On the few occasions I go out with the lads each year I probably consume my own body weight each time as we still seem to think we can drink the same as in our 20’s

27-10-2019, 02:57 PM
Is quantitive easing in this context not the equivalent of pissing it up against the wall? 😉

I think you are correct in both contexts.

I suspect I am happiest with some neo-Keynesian expansionism (probably to the waistline) but my liver and doctor may want more rigid discipline.

27-10-2019, 03:01 PM
Probably average out 4 or 5 a week I’d say.

27-10-2019, 03:12 PM
I've not had a drink of alcohol in around 6 weeks, just been talking about it with the wife, not overly fussed nowadays about it.

27-10-2019, 03:18 PM
On the few occasions I go out with the lads each year I probably consume my own body weight each time as we still seem to think we can drink the same as in our 20’s

You can, you just need to be disciplined.

27-10-2019, 03:24 PM
Higher than last season.

27-10-2019, 03:26 PM
Around 10-12 pints and a bottle of rum over the course of Friday and Saturday.
Don't touch it any other day of the week unless I'm on holiday.

Binge drinking.

27-10-2019, 03:41 PM
Probably 5 bottles a week during the winter, rising to 10 in the summer. Throw in a few whiskies and it's pretty unhealthy.

27-10-2019, 03:48 PM
I remember when I used to finish work on a Friday and a group of us went for a few drinks straight from work. That would be about 6 or 7 pints. Saturday would be up early and a couple of pints before the Hibs game, a couple after then home, changed and a couple of bottles of beer whilst getting ready. Out to a mates and another few bottles then head into town were I'd knock back a fair few vodka and cokes and probably another 3 or 4 bottles of beer. On a Sunday we used to always meet to watch one of the TV games and have another few pints before calling it a night and having a takeaway before crashing to bed. Thinking back I was probably knocking back about 16 pints, 12 bottles of beer and in the region of 8 vodka and cokes every weekend. That's before stupid things like shots get taken into consideration. I don't know how I had the time or money tbh.

Great times but I couldn't and wouldn't do it now.

patch1875
27-10-2019, 04:36 PM
You can, you just need to be disciplined.

Easier said than done!

I’m 48 now the hangovers are grim nowadays so that’s why I tend not to drink much.

Give me a bar of chocolate any day.

pollution
27-10-2019, 05:03 PM

Don't worry about it!

If we truly stated the amount of alcohol in total, that would be different.

27-10-2019, 05:14 PM
You can, you just need to be determined.

Ftfy

Fuzzywuzzy
27-10-2019, 05:16 PM
I go through a range of phases after a drink. Munchies, hyper, really annoying and then self pity. ****s my wife right off

Can go months without a drink mind you and will only smoke when I drink. Can't stand smoking otherwise.

27-10-2019, 05:25 PM
Nothing during the week.

Then about 8 G&Ts on a Friday night. Similar-ish on a Saturday. Although this Saturday had a Chippie tea so had to have a couple of cans of lager with that.

Sipping a bud at Wembley watching the NFL. But got the car so will only have a couple.

Normally don’t have a drink on Sundays, unless it’s a glass of red with a roast dinner.

27-10-2019, 05:28 PM
I rarely drink at all unless I'm on holiday. I go out occasionally with work but recently I've been taking the car so I've been sticking to soft drinks. I just can't be bothered feeling rubbish and sleeping until something like midday the following day. It's just not for me anymore.

I had 3 cans of cider last night for the boxing, I had a 4th sitting in the fridge and felt unable to drink it so left it. I always drive to the football as well so I never drink before games and I could easily go several weeks without having any alcohol at all.

27-10-2019, 05:45 PM
Not out much these days, 3 beers in the hoose on a Friday night, 3 or 4 on a Saturday, maybe a beer and a wine on Sundays.

Occasional beer during the week. I just drink what I want when I want these days unless it's a proper night out once every few months when I manage with the 3 day hangover. Hate getting drunk nowadays but still love the bevvy :greengrin

27-10-2019, 06:22 PM
Not out much these days, 3 beers in the hoose on a Friday night, 3 or 4 on a Saturday, maybe a beer and a wine on Sundays.

Occasional beer during the week. I just drink what I want when I want these days unless it's a proper night out once every few months when I manage with the 3 day hangover. Hate getting drunk nowadays but still love the bevvy :greengrin

The three day hangovers are the killer. Out on Saturday with the lads. Feel normal about Tuesday evening. Mental. Body just can’t recover like it used to.

Going to France with some of my school mates for the rugby in December. Will be great fun but dreading the Monday at work. In fact, I’m going to put in for some Annual Leave.

27-10-2019, 06:41 PM
The three day hangovers are the killer. Out on Saturday with the lads. Feel normal about Tuesday evening. Mental. Body just can’t recover like it used to.

Going to France with some of my school mates for the rugby in December. Will be great fun but dreading the Monday at work. In fact, I’m going to put in for some Annual Leave.

Always used to put in for a day's leave on the Monday when out on a biggie on a Saturday. Last few years it changed to out on a Friday :greengrin

27-10-2019, 07:23 PM
Strangely as I’ve got older hangovers are not something I suffer from even if I do have a mega session. It used to be mega session fall into bed unconscious until next morning then mental hangover. For the last 10 years or more even after a mega all day and night session my problem is not being able to sleep after the first four drunken hours in bed, it just means I’m shattered the next day but not hungover.....strange.

27-10-2019, 07:30 PM
Until recently I used to drink 2 to 3 beer a day. I don't know any Germans who don't have a crate of beer in the house but that's not surprising considering it used to be considered by law as a staple food source over here, meaning it was liable for lower taxes along with the likes of bread, butter and milk. It's perfectly normal to have at least one beer with every meal and a bottle of beer will cost you less than a bottle of water in most supermarkets. Kids can legally drink beer from the age of 14 here provided they're in the presence of a supervising adult and have a much healthier relationship to alcohol for it.

27-10-2019, 07:32 PM
I used to follow Pretty Boy's routine in my late teens/20's but grew up and drinking became pretty irregular. Don't touch beer anymore, but have developed a regular gin habit over the last 10 years. I'll generally have one a night at home... Spanish measures :wink:

27-10-2019, 08:54 PM
Like a lot of people, wine took over from beer as I got older. It got to the stage that when I was driking in the house it was a minimum of one bottle per night when the next day allowed it.

One morning I was lying in bed with a hangover looking at my phone and I saw this book "no more hangovers". Buying it was a no brainer, considering it was written by Allen Carr, who wrote the book that helped me stop smoking.

Long story short, that was six months ago and I haven't had any type of alcoholic drink since. I've never felt better in every way possible...mind, body, energy, happiness, everything! Looking back at all that inebriatetion and all the hangovers, there's no way I would ever do that to my body again

As for beer, I might enjoy a non alcoholic one every now and again. It actually tastes better without the poison :greengrin

27-10-2019, 09:14 PM
I rarely drink alcohol at all, regularly go months at a time without any. Not something I miss, but will have a drink if out socially and not got the car.

I struggle past a 2nd or 3rd pint nowadays. I now get bloated quite badly from various things like wheat & gluten and find that after 2 or 3 pints I’m uncomfortably full and it’s a struggle to drink anything.

27-10-2019, 09:21 PM
Easier said than done!

I’m 48 now the hangovers are grim nowadays so that’s why I tend not to drink much.

Give me a bar of chocolate any day.

I'm the same age, posted from the boozer on Slateford Road.

27-10-2019, 09:24 PM
Strangely as I’ve got older hangovers are not something I suffer from even if I do have a mega session.

Practice makes perfect!

28-10-2019, 09:30 AM
I only drink every 2-3 weeks, normally about 8 or so pints before and after games, I'm getting a lot better at knowing when I've had enough and when to call it quits these days though, just can't be arsed with the hangovers, I only get 2 days off a week and don't want to ruin one of them by feeling rank

28-10-2019, 09:40 AM
Not nearly as much as I used to. I struggle to sleep after drinking more than three beers and feel pretty poor in the morning whereas I don't get that with spirits.

Working in the alcohol industry does wonders for the amount you drink though - I'd rather go out and spend £30 on three really good beers, gins, whiskies or rums and enjoy them and appreciate the effort that goes into them.

28-10-2019, 10:37 AM
I can go weeks without a drink then have a mad weekend where I binge drink. Stopped drinking completely for a couple of years a while back; not by design, I just couldn't be bothered and I hate hangovers. Guinness is my weakness; when I fancy a pint, an ice cold stout is lovely.

28-10-2019, 12:05 PM
Apart from Hutchy (which I knew anyway) 🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺it seems that consumption is much lower than I expected the replies to indicate. So watching Hibs hasn’t driven us to drink yet 😁

28-10-2019, 12:44 PM
Practice makes perfect!

Last weeks bevy score
Monday - Nil
Ties half bottle red wine
We’d - Nil
Thus 4 lagers & 3 large bailly’s
Fri 4 pints o best & 2 v & c.
Sat 4 pints at the game then we home & my wife and i shared a bottle of vodka
Sun - bottle red wine.
Prob 2 much but I very rarely get hangovers

28-10-2019, 12:55 PM
I don't allow myself to drink Mon-Thurs any more except on holiday. My drinking is split pretty evenly between beer, wine and spirits. 15-20 units most weeks. Less if I stay in at the weekend, more if I go out.

28-10-2019, 01:29 PM
Is there an age at which drinking in the house suddenly becomes appealing?

It's never really done it for me but I always thought when I had a bairn and couldn't just go to the pub whenever I fancied it might become a more attractive option. However I just don't find it enjoyable, as I said above a couple of decent whiskies is about all I'll drink at home and even then it's once in a blue moon. I'd rather sit with a decent cup of coffee and a good packet of biscuits. The idea of sitting half pished in the house just doesn't do it for me.

I think part of it is because I love a good pub. It might be more expensive but I'd rather enjoy a few pints in a pub than sit at home necking however many bottles or cans even if it is a fraction of the price. A couple of pints alone in a pub just watching the world go by is a great way to spend some time imo.

ErinGoBraghHFC
28-10-2019, 01:30 PM
I can go weeks without a drink then have a mad weekend where I binge drink. Stopped drinking completely for a couple of years a while back; not by design, I just couldn't be bothered and I hate hangovers. Guinness is my weakness; when I fancy a pint, an ice cold stout is lovely.

Love a Guinness myself, but that extra cold garbage that’s now commonplace in UK pubs is rank 🤮 completely ruins the taste imo

28-10-2019, 01:38 PM
This week I had 1 pint at the club before the game on Saturday, followed by 8 cans at home on Saturday night. Which I think works out at about 17 units roughly.

Usually I'll drink twice in a week, but only about 10-12 units each time. So although I'm over my weekly recommended limit, it isn't by too far and it's never a particularly heavy session.

28-10-2019, 01:39 PM

It's never really done it for me but I always thought when I had a bairn and couldn't just go to the pub whenever I fancied it might become a more attractive option. However I just don't find it enjoyable, as I said above a couple of decent whiskies is about all I'll drink at home and even then it's once in a blue moon. I'd rather sit with a decent cup of coffee and a good packet of biscuits. The idea of sitting half pished in the house just doesn't do it for me.

I think part of it is because I love a good pub. It might be more expensive but I'd rather enjoy a few pints in a pub than sit at home necking however many bottles or cans even if it is a fraction of the price. A couple of pints alone in a pub just watching the world go by is a great way to spend some time imo.

I prefer a pub and it is much more attractive an option for meeting with friends.

Re the drinking in the house, I like cooking, and a glass of wine and some music whilst doing so is one of life’s simple pleasures.

Mrs Mibbes likes her series from Netflix and HBO and the like. A bottle or two of wine can be easily polished off while bingeing on two or three episodes of whatever we currently like.

28-10-2019, 01:44 PM

I like a bit of people-watching, but the price of alcohol in pubs ruins the experience for me these days. If I go to the supermarket, I can get four bottles of something I really like for less than the cost of the average pint in the centre of town. I can also have my own choice of music and a great seat in front of the TV for the football whilst I drink them.

28-10-2019, 01:58 PM

I think part of it is because I love a good pub. It might be more expensive but I'd rather enjoy a few pints in a pub than sit at home necking however many bottles or cans even if it is a fraction of the price. A couple of pints alone in a pub just watching the world go by is a great way to spend some time imo.It appeals to me, both myself and my Wife work in demanding jobs, we work in the same wards and have similar start/finishing times, mostly Monday to Friday ( I do weekends every 8 weeks) previously we worked under different directorates with varying shift patterns, this meant we were like passing ships in the night. I would be on the bowling green or pissing it up if I was lucky enough to have any free time. I would roll in from the club and she would be in her kip, she would get up for work and I would be in my kip, then along to the club for more bowls.

I decided to give up the bowls and also the club for a year in order to re engage with my marriage, that was in 2013 and I haven't set foot in the place since. I lost my social circle, but it was worth it, we now enjoy Saturday nights in, she will have a glass of wine or two and I will have a couple of bottles of beer whilst we chat or watch a film. For health and financial reasons its been brill, for my marriage its been class.

I do on occasion go out with my Brother but he works a lot of weekends plus most of the pubs we frequented are no more so the decision to have a few in the house is made easier, I miss my mates/drinking acquaintances but if truth be told, I value my health & my marriage more... cheers 🍺👍

28-10-2019, 01:59 PM
Gave it up.

28-10-2019, 02:50 PM
Strangely as I’ve got older hangovers are not something I suffer from even if I do have a mega session. It used to be mega session fall into bed unconscious until next morning then mental hangover. For the last 10 years or more even after a mega all day and night session my problem is not being able to sleep after the first four drunken hours in bed, it just means I’m shattered the next day but not hungover.....strange.

I’m the same, always have been. Generally don’t get hangovers, can get home at 3am and am wide awake by 7. Feel absolutely fine but will be shattered by mid afternoon.

28-10-2019, 02:57 PM

I've always had a beer or 3 in the house on Fri/Sat when not out, even going back to my mid-20s. Up until the last 3 or 4 years I still preferred to go out but nowadays I really can't be bothered going out unless it's my call where we're meeting i.e. somewhere with good beer where I can get a seat and get home easily!

But I definitely prefer quality over quantity when drinking in the house, couple of nice craft beers watching the football or maybe an Estrella or 2 with a curry.

28-10-2019, 03:33 PM
Never drink beer now. Just wine. Keep out of the pubs too.
Miserable sod eh?

28-10-2019, 03:43 PM

I'm the same, drinking at home holds no appeal whatsoever.

28-10-2019, 05:12 PM
This months drinking has mostly centred around DaveF's 50th, 8 cans of Heniken and 3 house measures of Kraken and coke and being away for a few days on holiday, where I shared 2 litre bottles of vodka and a bottle of Kraken with my wife. Probably had around 4/5 pints of beer as well throughout the month. I have lowered my alcohol intake in recent months as I've taken on ocassional weekend taxi work.

Like most others, can't imagine how I done it years ago. In my early 20s I spent 7 months working abroad and could probably count on one hand the number of days I didnt head out to the pub in the evening and even then those were probably cause I was too ill to go out.😀

28-10-2019, 05:21 PM
Very rarely drink in the house and often go a week or two without a drop but also binge a lot when catching up with mates I've not seen in a while.

Stag weekends etc. can get excessive.

28-10-2019, 05:25 PM
I dont really have a set pattern.

I generally enjoy a few pints on match days but nothing excessive, but I guess match days for me are often weekends away travelling form the Fylde Coast. Sometimes I drive up and down to Edinburgh in a day and then will settle for just a pint before the game.

During a normal week I can go the whole week and drink no alcohol at all, but other weeks I can have 4 or 5 pints and/or a couple of bottles of wine at the weekend with my other half. It varies enormously.

Do I enjoy a drink? Yes I do, could I live without it? Yeah pretty easily I think but chose not to.

28-10-2019, 05:39 PM

There's nothing like curling up on the sofa with the Mrs when the wee one is in bed, watching a bit of TV, with a roaring fire and a single malt to round off the day.

28-10-2019, 08:03 PM
Love a Guinness myself, but that extra cold garbage that’s now commonplace in UK pubs is rank 🤮 completely ruins the taste imo

Same. I just get the normal Guinness, but it must be nice and cold.

28-10-2019, 08:05 PM

I never used to drink in the house, but don't go to pubs as much these days, so a bevy at home has substituted for it largely. Like you say, the vast price differential has an effect; it's unsurprising so many pubs are closing.

28-10-2019, 09:05 PM
On average 3 pints a week. Big drop from 15 years ago when it would be around 40.

Body can't take it anymore, and I prefer to enjoy beer for the flavour now, rather than the effect.

Does leave me a bit bored on holiday, which is the only time I really wish I could hit the pub at opening time and drink till they closed.

Maybe you should go on different holidays?