View Full Version : Music, love it AND hate it

Bangkok Hibby
23-10-2019, 01:28 AM
It's been one of the most important things in my life. It's excited me, moved me to tears, chilled me, made me happy. Even at my advanced stage I still seek out new music to enrich my life.
More and more though I'm finding it also bugs the life out of me. It's everywhere! Doctors waiting rooms, shops, at breakfast in hotels, restaurants, shopping malls, health spa's, some public transport.
Can't I just have my breakfast, then chill at the sauna in peace? Why is there the need nowadays to have music assault our ears every minute of the day? I usually feel the choice of music is more to suit the staff rather than the customer but my question is do we really need music everywhere?
Apart from "you're an old fart" which I've already taken into consideration I'd be interested in what others feel. Perhaps it's worse abroad than UK?

23-10-2019, 07:55 AM
You've removed the "Old Fart" option so I'm out. :greengrin

Bangkok Hibby
23-10-2019, 08:04 AM
You've removed the "Old Fart" option so I'm out. :greengrin

Aye fair enough but, but....😂😂😂

23-10-2019, 08:10 AM
In public places its not so much they play music more the music they play...Its generally so bland half the time I dont notice it. On the other hand I do notice when theres something out of the ordinary playing eg my asian store had some amazing banging bhangra techno the other day which had me practically dancing in the shop.

I don't use it when running as i prefer just to take in whats naturally around me...I seem to have shifted over to a preference for podcasts and audiobooks when wandering about. It's always going to be a massive part of my life though, it cant not be really..Just not quite as all obsessive as it was.

23-10-2019, 08:18 AM
I have BBC radio 6 music playing from the minute I get up until I start watching sport or other TV. It's also on in my car.

Mrs R has Kiss FM on in her car which raises my blood pressure when I'm in it!

23-10-2019, 09:32 AM
I agree OP - I love MY music and I lean on it as a crutch daily. But I hate having to listen to music I wouldn't ordinarily choose to put on - but then who am I to suggest people in their respective workplaces shouldn't be allowed to listen to the music they like at work.

What really grinds my gears is yobcasting of music - playing it through tinny speakers on your phone in a train carriage, shopping centre, place of business etc should be a murderable offense.

23-10-2019, 09:37 AM
What really grinds my gears is yobcasting of music - playing it through tinny speakers on your phone in a train carriage, shopping centre, place of business etc should be a murderable offense.

It's even more infuriating when it's just one person on their own. Use headphones ya fud.

23-10-2019, 09:41 AM
The stereo in my other half's car broke a while back (I don't have a car). Initially it was horrible as I couldn't deal with driving about in silence. I grew so used to it that I eventually preferred silence to sound when driving and now I quite like driving about with no music on.

I've become a bit lost musically over the past decade. I used to be really interested, now I have no interest. Every now and again I'll hear a song that will spark a wee fire somewhere and I'll listen to it a bit again but most new music is dreadful and it is discovering old stuff that I prefer.

23-10-2019, 09:43 AM
Yeah I'm like others, I can't survive without my music. But it's got to be MY music. In particular some of the stuff that the Easter Road DJ plays just does my head in. Having to listen to Shotgun by George Ezra at any time is brutal but when shuffling down the stairs after another abject home performance is the absolute pits!

23-10-2019, 09:51 AM

It's even more infuriating when it's just one person on their own. Use headphones ya fud.

Surely there's laws against this?

23-10-2019, 10:04 AM
The stereo in my other half's car broke a while back (I don't have a car). Initially it was horrible as I couldn't deal with driving about in silence. I grew so used to it that I eventually preferred silence to sound when driving and now I quite like driving about with no music on.

I've become a bit lost musically over the past decade. I used to be really interested, now I have no interest. Every now and again I'll hear a song that will spark a wee fire somewhere and I'll listen to it a bit again but most new music is dreadful and it is discovering old stuff that I prefer.

Try BBC Radio 6 music.

23-10-2019, 10:08 AM
I agree OP - I love MY music and I lean on it as a crutch daily. But I hate having to listen to music I wouldn't ordinarily choose to put on - but then who am I to suggest people in their respective workplaces shouldn't be allowed to listen to the music they like at work.

Yup.

Love music but hate 99.9% of it.

23-10-2019, 10:20 AM

Folk have been saying that about popular music since Elvis first strutted his stuff & before. Theres plenty of amazing new music out there its just theres only a few MSM platforms that showcase it. When we get older perhaps we dont get as exposed to it as we would have been in younger days. I dont listen to the radio any more as its as bland as bland can be in general. Online I mainly listen to the shows on https://listen.dublindigitalradio.com as I can get old and new as well as genres I love as well as ones I've never really tried. Theres loads of great new music out there & we have greater access to it online that ever but whether we can be bothered looking for it is another matter.

23-10-2019, 10:35 AM
Folk have been saying that about popular music since Elvis first strutted his stuff & before. Theres plenty of amazing new music out there its just theres only a few MSM platforms that showcase it. When we get older perhaps we dont get as exposed to it as we would have been in younger days. I dont listen to the radio any more as its as bland as bland can be in general. Online I mainly listen to the shows on https://listen.dublindigitalradio.com as I can get old and new as well as genres I love as well as ones I've never really tried. Theres loads of great new music out there & we have greateter access to it online that ever but whether we can be bothered looking for it is another matter.

This is true to be honest.

My brother has a radio show and the guy who presents the show after his showcases new music. Whenever I listen in to my brother's show he'll lead into the next programme and I've heard more good stuff there than anywhere else in recent years. I suppose you just have to put yourself in the right place and you'll hear good new music, and that place certainly isn't in the mainstream.

I'm sure there are statistics about most folk starting to lose interest in new music in their early to mid-thirties and I was certainly bang on the age suggested in an article I read. Different things can lead to that - in my case I got a new job that involved getting the bus to work instead of driving and it was always in the car that I listened to new music. I've never really got into listening to music on my phone, the whole Spotify thing has passed me by and I don't really listen to the radio any more.

There is nothing quite like the feeling of hearing new music that appeals, or getting into a new band or genre. Discovering music in my teenage years is up there with all the other great things discovered during those years.

23-10-2019, 12:16 PM

My brother has a radio show and the guy who presents the show after his showcases new music. Whenever I listen in to my brother's show he'll lead into the next programme and I've heard more good stuff there than anywhere else in recent years. I suppose you just have to put yourself in the right place and you'll hear good new music, and that place certainly isn't in the mainstream.

I'm sure there are statistics about most folk starting to lose interest in new music in their early to mid-thirties and I was certainly bang on the age suggested in an article I read. Different things can lead to that - in my case I got a new job that involved getting the bus to work instead of driving and it was always in the car that I listened to new music. I've never really got into listening to music on my phone, the whole Spotify thing has passed me by and I don't really listen to the radio any more.

There is nothing quite like the feeling of hearing new music that appeals, or getting into a new band or genre. Discovering music in my teenage years is up there with all the other great things discovered during those years.

:agree: Probably somewhere between Hibs and Women in those stakes.

Cataplana
23-10-2019, 02:57 PM
https://www.livescience.com/43926-not-everyone-likes-music.html

23-10-2019, 04:39 PM
That's an interesting article and I'm certainly not someone who doesn't "get" music.

I'd go as far as to say that my drift away from music hasn't been good for me at all. The therapeutic nature of finishing a day's work, getting in the car and cranking up the volume cannot be underestimated. I don't often get an empty house but when I do I get music on and get it up loud. Without fail, it lifts my mood and I miss it when I don't often do that. I need an empty house to do it as my partner hates the volume at which I listen to music (and for the record, she is an ex-professional musician - a drummer no less).

I was at a wedding a week ago on Saturday and my wee girl was fascinated by the band. She kept toddling up to them, standing right in front of the singer and staring up. She loved the racket and the lights and she has always responded well to music. Hopefully she inherits her mother's talent.

24-10-2019, 11:02 AM

I was lucky when I moved over to Dublin in the I was sharing a big house with a couple of musicians & a DJ. In turn we had lots of other musicians and DJs coming in (we had a recording studio in the gaff)..So every day I was getting exposed to new stuff (the band was called Ships well worth a listen (https://open.spotify.com/album/6LRYNvK6fhx0rxgaKVIhlL?si=oX9ujj7WQFael8udboqEKw))

I also lived pretty central in town and so was walking distance to gigs so I would do a couple a week...Since I've moved west its certainly wained a bit again although I do go exploring mainly around the festivals I go to..Tend to go to ones where there arent really headliners so again your exposed to new stuff..

Im guessing if I hadnt had all that exposure I would have drifted totally away from listening to as much as i was..Or just stuck to what I knew..

24-10-2019, 11:55 AM
I was lucky when I moved over to Dublin in the I was sharing a big house with a couple of musicians & a DJ. In turn we had lots of other musicians and DJs coming in (we had a recording studio in the gaff)..So every day I was getting exposed to new stuff (the band was called Ships well worth a listen (https://open.spotify.com/album/6LRYNvK6fhx0rxgaKVIhlL?si=oX9ujj7WQFael8udboqEKw))

I also lived pretty central in town and so was walking distance to gigs so I would do a couple a week...Since I've moved west its certainly wained a bit again although I do go exploring mainly around the festivals I go to..Tend to go to ones where there arent really headliners so again your exposed to new stuff..

Im guessing if I hadnt had all that exposure I would have drifted totally away from listening to as much as i was..Or just stuck to what I knew..

Gets me to thinking, a recommendation thread along the lines of "bands you probably haven't heard of" may be decent on here :agree:

24-10-2019, 11:59 AM
Gets me to thinking, a recommendation thread along the lines of "bands you probably haven't heard of" may be decent on here :agree:

That's nearly all of them when you get to a certain age.

24-10-2019, 12:03 PM
That's nearly all of them when you get to a certain age.

I hear you - and being no spring chicken myself, I still enjoy discovering bands from yesteryear. Spotify etc is very good for that :agree:

24-10-2019, 12:34 PM
I hear you - and being no spring chicken myself, I still enjoy discovering bands from yesteryear. Spotify etc is very good for that :agree:

Absolutely. I've probably run out of new music for now which is a bit depressing but Spotify has brought me loads of music that I'd never have heard of otherwise, a lot of which I missed in the 90s and 00s.

So are you going to start that "bands you might not have heard of" thread?!?

24-10-2019, 12:42 PM
Absolutely. I've probably run out of new music for now which is a bit depressing but Spotify has brought me loads of music that I'd never have heard of otherwise, a lot of which I missed in the 90s and 00s.

So are you going to start that "bands you might not have heard of" thread?!?

Nah I can't handle the pressure and ultimate disappointment when naebody replies :greengrin

Feel free to do the honours :aok:

Edit - it's probably more suited to the dug-out (just realised we're in holy territory here)

24-10-2019, 12:54 PM
I'm going to promote BBC Radio 6 Music again because it gives you a mix of brilliant older stuff, current tracks, and music from new and up and coming artists.

It's great if you want to keep in touch with the music scene. Sometimes they play stuff that doesn't cut the mustard with me, but there's never any formulaic, factory churned pop music.

I love it.

wpj
28-10-2019, 05:49 PM
I'm going to promote BBC Radio 6 Music again because it gives you a mix of brilliant older stuff, current tracks, and music from new and up and coming artists.

It's great if you want to keep in touch with the music scene. Sometimes they play stuff that doesn't cut the mustard with me, but there's never any formulaic, factory churned pop music.

I love it.

Only station I really listen to, usually on the weekends. A recent thread about an online radio station (Hermit Crab's post?) Has had me travelling the world of music.
Also Mojo and Uncut have turned me into some new music over the years

28-10-2019, 08:07 PM
I don't listen to the radio much at all, nor watch much TV these days.

28-10-2019, 08:57 PM

Putting all these small clues together, I reckon I know who yer bro is.

Fwiw I turn Radio X on in the morning for Moyles then I’m on five live until Johnny Vaughan comes on at 16.00.

Occasionally listen to your bro, especially when he covers JV, and sometimes John Kennedy when he is doing a playback with someone I fancy listening to.

The music at the times that I listen to X is generally the same stuff all the time, a welcome listen if you’re not used to it btw!

As the evening goes on though, it gets more varied and at times your bro has shone the torch on a decent new tune.

Ps I hope I have the right guy!

Pps @hibbyradge, I occasionally listen to BBC 6 as well. I’ll try get it back into my listening routine for an hour or so in the mid morning.

I really enjoy the schedule I have: Moyles -I can take or leave really. Then onto R5L for Emma Barnet - imo the best political presenter out there. Nihal Arthinayke after her - a huge range of guests that open my eyes and surprise me every day. Then finish off with Johnny Vaughan on Radio X -An absolute must for me. Superb entertainment.

29-10-2019, 08:30 AM
Putting all these small clues together, I reckon I know who yer bro is.

Fwiw I turn Radio X on in the morning for Moyles then I’m on five live until Johnny Vaughan comes on at 16.00.

Occasionally listen to your bro, especially when he covers JV, and sometimes John Kennedy when he is doing a playback with someone I fancy listening to.

The music at the times that I listen to X is generally the same stuff all the time, a welcome listen if you’re not used to it btw!

As the evening goes on though, it gets more varied and at times your bro has shone the torch on a decent new tune.

Ps I hope I have the right guy!

Pps @hibbyradge, I occasionally listen to BBC 6 as well. I’ll try get it back into my listening routine for an hour or so in the mid morning.

I really enjoy the schedule I have: Moyles -I can take or leave really. Then onto R5L for Emma Barnet - imo the best political presenter out there. Nihal Arthinayke after her - a huge range of guests that open my eyes and surprise me every day. Then finish off with Johnny Vaughan on Radio X -An absolute must for me. Superb entertainment.

Well done.

06-11-2019, 10:03 PM
Decent podcast from the BBC asking the question if music helped bring down the Berlin wall and with a decent soundtrack to help the story along.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p057dydf

08-11-2019, 04:59 PM
Decent podcast from the BBC asking the question if music helped bring down the Berlin wall and with a decent soundtrack to help the story along.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p057dydf

I love all types of music. In relation to your theme, I used to really like this one:

https://youtu.be/n4RjJKxsamQ

I don’t think it brought down the Wall but it certainly echoes the sentiment of the time.

08-11-2019, 10:09 PM
I love all types of music. In relation to your theme, I used to really like this one:

https://youtu.be/n4RjJKxsamQ

I don’t think it brought down the Wall but it certainly echoes the sentiment of the time.

It was used in every report about unification in the years following the wall coming down. It was so overplayed that it's one of 3 songs I can't stand anymore that I initially liked, but that's a question probably deserving its own thread.

08-11-2019, 11:27 PM

Indeed. Huge fan of James now. Don't know how I let them slip under my radar.

09-11-2019, 12:51 AM
Indeed. Huge fan of James now. Don't know how I let them slip under my radar.

Very underrated band. :agree: The Verve are another great Manchester rock band from around that era.

09-11-2019, 07:12 AM
It was used in every report about unification in the years following the wall coming down. It was so overplayed that it's one of 3 songs I can't stand anymore that I initially liked, but that's a question probably deserving its own thread.

I remember staying in Germany for a Switzerland v Scotland game in Berne in 1991, there was no escape from that bloody song! 😠

09-11-2019, 10:33 AM

It’s amazing how some many icon moments in time, are associated with music
The Cars (Drive) and the Ethiopian famine, comes to mind

10-11-2019, 09:33 AM
Very underrated band. :agree: The Verve are another great Manchester rock band from around that era.

Are The Verve not from Wigan? 🤓

10-11-2019, 10:32 AM
Are The Verve not from Wigan? 🤓

Yes they are but is Wigan not Greater Manchester.

10-11-2019, 11:09 AM
Yes they are but is Wigan not Greater Manchester.

Ach, it matters not I suppose. I wouldn’t say a band from Dunbar or Musselburgh, for example, were from Edinburgh, nor that the Verve were from Manchester.

Back on topic, I quite like the Verve and also Richard Ashcroft’s solo albums.

10-11-2019, 03:17 PM
I remember staying in Germany for a Switzerland v Scotland game in Berne in 1991, there was no escape from that bloody song! 😠

I'm going to stop coming on this thread because it starts that song going off in my head on endless repeat.

Bangkok Hibby
14-11-2019, 06:42 PM
So to bring the thread back to topic. I'm in the UK just now, having an Italian meal in Glasgow. There is "fairly" loud what I would call freeform jazz playing. Its doing my head in and as nice as the food is I won't be back because of this. So, original question...do we need music everywhere we go? As much as I love music the answer for me is no.