View Full Version : Who is in charge of deciding which strip we wear?

HibeeHibernian4
20-10-2019, 12:50 PM
Yes I know there are bigger concerns with Hibs right now before people point it out. This is a thread about kits - if you want to talk football then please feel free elsewhere.

They need sacking whoever it is. Yesterday was the final straw on what has been a joke of a past few weeks.

Kilmarnock away in the League Cup: dark navy blue kit vs...grey third kit
Aberdeen away in the League: all red kit vs...grey third kit
Accies away yesterday: mainly white kit with red hoops on the front vs...grey third kit

The first two examples were pointless. Hibs are a club who play in green and white and neither of those kits would've been even remotely clashes. Yesterday was a farce. It was actually harder to see the game than if we'd worn green and white, or even the purple away kit.

This seems to happen every season nowadays. We release a horrendous third kit around autumn and then insist on wearing it as much as possible regardless of whether it is needed or not.

It's absolutely pathetic. Is it commercial? Do we need to wear the kit a certain amount of times to fulfil something in the contract?

Why does it feel like there is absolutely zero accountability in any department of the club at the moment, even on the small scale things such as this?

Kieran Power (who I'm very glad I voted for as fan rep) appears to be the only person giving any answers, and even he is hampered by the lack of information coming out of Easter Road at the moment.

Hibs should be wearing green at every ground apart from Parkhead, where we should have an away kit that doesn't clash with their green and grey effort. If St J have white sleeves on their kit, then fine, add them in too. Anything beyond that is corporate money-grabbing in my book.

If anyone does have any information on the reasons behind this, I'd love to hear it.

20-10-2019, 12:59 PM
Yesterday was poor but clubs just wearing their home kit unless there is a clash is a thing of the past.

I'm not sure what the commercial obligations are but countless teams have worn a change kit at ER in the last few years and we have done likewise when away from home. I have no issue with it except when it causes a potential colour clash like yesterday. Had we worn purple there would have been no issue.

20-10-2019, 01:09 PM
Yesterday was poor but clubs just wearing their home kit unless there is a clash is a thing of the past.

I'm not sure what the commercial obligations are but countless teams have worn a change kit at ER in the last few years and we have done likewise when away from home. I have no issue with it except when it causes a potential colour clash like yesterday. Had we worn purple there would have been no issue.

:agree::agree:

In an ideal world, home kit to be worn at home, away kit to be worn away (except for the derby where both teams should always wear their home strips for the iconic "Maroon vs green and white" imagery), this isn't the 60's. 3rd kits (or alternative kit or whatever marketing spiel of a name is concocted) themselves are money making exercises but nobody is forced to buy them and when they should/should not be worn should be decided based on colour suitability for the players on the field of play.

I didn't think the kit clash yesterday was too horrendous - red and white vs grey - but the was from the highlights so I appreciate that it might have been different in the stadium.

HibeeHibernian4
20-10-2019, 01:10 PM

It shouldn't be a thing of the past though.

And if it is, then we as the paying 'customer' (which is how the boardrooms see us, make no mistake) are owed an explanation of the extra profits we make from wearing a third kit instead of a home kit.

20-10-2019, 01:17 PM

And if it is, then we as the paying 'customer' (which is how the boardrooms see us, make no mistake) are owed an explanation of the extra profits we make from wearing a third kit instead of a home kit.
Unfortunately a lot of the paying customers are mugs otherwise there wouldn't be a third strip.

HibeeHibernian4
20-10-2019, 01:40 PM
Unfortunately a lot of the paying customers are mugs otherwise there wouldn't be a third strip.

This is anecdotal evidence, but I haven't seen one person wearing the new grey top since it's come out, and I've been at every home game and most of the aways. Who is it appealing to? Who is buying it?

20-10-2019, 02:54 PM
In the halcyon days of the 60s and 70s I don't recollect Hibs playing in anything other than their home strip other than briefly wearing an all green top when Hearts had their Ajax strip and in a couple of European games.

Logie Green
20-10-2019, 03:11 PM
Perhaps the Manager thinks it's our 'lucky' strip as I think we've yet to lose wearing it?

20-10-2019, 03:33 PM
This is anecdotal evidence, but I haven't seen one person wearing the new grey top since it's come out, and I've been at every home game and most of the aways. Who is it appealing to? Who is buying it?

I don’t like it but I’ve seen quite a lot of folk wearing it. Seen more folk with the two away tops than the home

20-10-2019, 03:36 PM
Almost certainly commercial. Whether that is direct, i.e. it's in the contract, or just to raise awareness of it I don't know but it's not something that upsets me.

I agree we shouldn't be wearing any kit that clashes though.

20-10-2019, 03:39 PM
If it is a hibs strip then does it really matter? I'm surprised people feel so strongly about it.

20-10-2019, 03:42 PM
When clubs make deals with clothing manufacturers they generally agree quotas regarding strips which commits them to having the team wearing them x amount of games during the season. I'm not sure if it's merely a quota or if specific games are agreed.

20-10-2019, 03:48 PM
In the giant Hibs scheme of things this is a first world problem.
I like the grey kit. I’m buying one.

20-10-2019, 03:49 PM
More concerned the players who are wearing the strips that are not going enough.

HibeeHibernian4
20-10-2019, 03:55 PM
If it is a hibs strip then does it really matter? I'm surprised people feel so strongly about it.

Because Hibs' colours are green and white.

If it doesn't really matter then lets change the colours of Easter Road's seats to red. It's still Easter Road so it won't matter if it gets some commercial money.

20-10-2019, 04:44 PM

If it doesn't really matter then lets change the colours of Easter Road's seats to red. It's still Easter Road so it won't matter if it gets some commercial money.

As Kermit once sang, "it's not easy being green (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rRZ-IxZ46ng)", but let's just give it a try.

20-10-2019, 05:28 PM

And purple, yellow, black, variations of the above, and ‘minty thistle’. Come on man. Plenty other things to moan your tits off about.

20-10-2019, 05:30 PM
There is absolutely no need for a third strip. It's all about making money, and nothing else.

PS: For a farcical "change" strip, just look at the horrible thing Manchester City wear.

HibeeHibernian4
20-10-2019, 05:40 PM
And purple, yellow, black, variations of the above, and ‘minty thistle’. Come on man. Plenty other things to moan your tits off about.

No because they are colours we use for away kits - which we used to manage fine without before the rise of capitalism in football.

Hibs' colours are green and white. There is no point arguing it, it's a statement of fact.

Fuzzywuzzy
20-10-2019, 05:45 PM
We need something like this

https://www.footy.com/c/football-kits/ligue-1/saint-etienne/

20-10-2019, 05:55 PM
No because they are colours we use for away kits - which we used to manage fine without before the rise of capitalism in football.

Hibs' colours are green and white. There is no point arguing it, it's a statement of fact.

We were away yesterday. Hibs can have a dozen strips for all I care as long as they are minus one shade in particular.

Capitalism for ****s sake. The singing section have a Paypal account. This site is making money as both of us write.

20-10-2019, 06:03 PM
We don't need an away top or 3rd kit. What other teams kit do we really clash with?

20-10-2019, 06:55 PM
There is absolutely no need for a third strip. It's all about making money, and nothing else.

PS: For a farcical "change" strip, just look at the horrible thing Manchester City wear.

You have to be good to play in the Man City beach number otherwise you would look a right cock.

20-10-2019, 06:58 PM
We were away yesterday. Hibs can have a dozen strips for all I care as long as they are minus one shade in particular.

Capitalism for ****s sake. The singing section have a Paypal account. This site is making money as both of us write.

Ye mean maroon? At least we could have easily seen which players were ours in the 2nd half.

20-10-2019, 10:21 PM
Perhaps the Manager thinks it's our 'lucky' strip as I think we've yet to lose wearing it?

Sadly we got pumped 3-0 of Motherwell whilst wearing it.
I’ve no issue at all with us not wearing green away from home, the issue is why we are not wearing the purple kit which is our best away kit in years. Would have been a far more sensible option yesterday as well against a team in predominantly white

20-10-2019, 10:31 PM
If it makes hibs more money and folk buy a top they like, all for it. Just don't colour clash and it's all good. Nobody is forced to buy the top. I'm a big fan of the purple top, much better than the grey and I'd rather we wore that, but nothing to get in a fizz about.

Cataplana
21-10-2019, 07:38 AM

I think we should demand one, in the strongest possible terms.:agree:

21-10-2019, 07:41 AM
If it’s not Heckingbottom that chooses it I reckon it’s Doidge.

And he’s probably bevvied and/or buying wine when he chooses it as well.

21-10-2019, 07:42 AM
Green with long white sleeves everytime no excuses

The only other reasons are purely commercial

21-10-2019, 08:41 PM
Whatever strip we wear these days, does seem to come with a huge yellow stripe down the back.:rolleyes:

21-10-2019, 08:45 PM
If it’s not Heckingbottom that chooses it I reckon it’s Doidge.

And he’s probably bevvied and/or buying wine when he chooses it as well.

I’d have had a word with him but I was in my work gear myself so I didn’t.

GreenOnions
21-10-2019, 09:36 PM
One thing that does annoy me though is where teams change their normal shorts to a colour that matches their shirts.

It seems to be mostly international teams that do it and I'm sure I read that FIFA of UEFA had been encouraging it for some reason albeit without enforcing it.

Purple & Green
21-10-2019, 10:29 PM
“Macron” are in charge.

Happy to help.

Yes I know there are bigger concerns with Hibs right now before people point it out. This is a thread about kits - if you want to talk football then please feel free elsewhere.

They need sacking whoever it is. Yesterday was the final straw on what has been a joke of a past few weeks.

Kilmarnock away in the League Cup: dark navy blue kit vs...grey third kit
Aberdeen away in the League: all red kit vs...grey third kit
Accies away yesterday: mainly white kit with red hoops on the front vs...grey third kit

The first two examples were pointless. Hibs are a club who play in green and white and neither of those kits would've been even remotely clashes. Yesterday was a farce. It was actually harder to see the game than if we'd worn green and white, or even the purple away kit.

This seems to happen every season nowadays. We release a horrendous third kit around autumn and then insist on wearing it as much as possible regardless of whether it is needed or not.

It's absolutely pathetic. Is it commercial? Do we need to wear the kit a certain amount of times to fulfil something in the contract?

Why does it feel like there is absolutely zero accountability in any department of the club at the moment, even on the small scale things such as this?

Kieran Power (who I'm very glad I voted for as fan rep) appears to be the only person giving any answers, and even he is hampered by the lack of information coming out of Easter Road at the moment.

Hibs should be wearing green at every ground apart from Parkhead, where we should have an away kit that doesn't clash with their green and grey effort. If St J have white sleeves on their kit, then fine, add them in too. Anything beyond that is corporate money-grabbing in my book.

If anyone does have any information on the reasons behind this, I'd love to hear it.

23-10-2019, 10:59 AM

Correct. We don’t even clash with Celtic.

I don’t even class Celtic as a team who ‘wear’ green. Their kit is predominantly white with a few green hoops on the top.

We literally have one of the most distinctive football kits in the world and we should wear it every single time it’s possible to. We’re no one of the thousands of undestinguishable nondescript sides wearing blue or red.

23-10-2019, 01:08 PM
The purple kit has been popular, so from a sales point of view it doesn't need the exposure, so the grey kit gets the nod.

We will wear the home kit at home.

23-10-2019, 01:39 PM
the Grey yin is gie gid like it

23-10-2019, 05:18 PM
Correct. We don’t even clash with Celtic.

I don’t even class Celtic as a team who ‘wear’ green. Their kit is predominantly white with a few green hoops on the top.

We literally have one of the most distinctive football kits in the world and we should wear it every single time it’s possible to. We’re no one of the thousands of undestinguishable nondescript sides wearing blue or red.

Hibs and Celtic wearing their proper kit back in the day always looked good - two classic kits that didn’t require change for the fixture.

https://i.postimg.cc/0yJyyWMX/C2-D2-E7-F3-C8-AB-4-F51-AF09-36100-CCE89-F1.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

23-10-2019, 05:24 PM
One thing that does annoy me though is where teams change their normal shorts to a colour that matches their shirts.

It seems to be mostly international teams that do it and I'm sure I read that FIFA of UEFA had been encouraging it for some reason albeit without enforcing it.

My heart sinks every time I see Italy take to the pitch in all white. I just KNOW it will end badly.

24-10-2019, 08:18 AM
If we were playing better, selecting the best players, and getting decent results then this thread would never have started.
IMO the grey strip is perfect. It matches the grey football we are playing with too many grey players and with a grey manager in charge. All need to be more vivid.

HibeeHibernian4
24-10-2019, 10:24 AM
If we were playing better, selecting the best players, and getting decent results then this thread would never have started.

As the person who started this thread, I can assure you that's not the case. This has long been a bugbear of mine, it's become more noticeable since Dempster's arrival. It's all part of Hibs becoming more and more commercialised.

Season 2015/16 saw us wear the purple kit far too often.

Season 2016/17 saw that luminous yellow monstrosity worn at almost every away game - the lowest point of that being away at Dundee United, which saw 22 players run around the park like a packet of highlighters. 2017/18

Season 2017/18, we at least had a smart, black away top. Still worn too often for my liking, but an improvement.

Season 2018/19, we bring out a completely unnecessary (outwith Parkhead) third kit and wear it at a silly number of away games.

Season 2019/20, playing in grey away from home every week, even if it blatantly clashes like it did last Saturday.

What's happening on the park has nothing to do with this, it's all part of Hibs' standards and traditions slipping and it's ***** to see.

24-10-2019, 10:27 AM
As the person who started this thread, I can assure you that's not the case. This has long been a bugbear of mine, it's become more noticeable since Dempster's arrival. It's all part of Hibs becoming more and more commercialised.

Season 2016/17 saw that luminous yellow monstrosity worn at almost every away game - the lowest point of that being away at Dundee United, which saw 22 players run around the park like a packet of highlighters. 2017/18

Season 2017/18, we at least had a smart, black away top. Still worn too often for my liking, but an improvement.

Season 2018/19, we bring out a completely unnecessary (outwith Parkhead) third kit and wear it at a silly number of away games.

Season 2019/20, playing in grey away from home every week, even if it blatantly clashes like it did last Saturday.

What's happening on the park has nothing to do with this, it's all part of Hibs' standards and traditions slipping and it's ***** to see.

Yet we have had threads criticising Dempster for failing to exploit our commercial potential. I guess you were happy with our lack of shirt sponsor then?

HibeeHibernian4
24-10-2019, 10:52 AM
Yet we have had threads criticising Dempster for failing to exploit our commercial potential. I guess you were happy with our lack of shirt sponsor then?

Yes, I was delighted with our lack of shirt sponsor. If it were up to me we wouldn't have one at all, but if we're going to have one then I'm pleased that it's a local, community cause like the foundation.

Having MarathonBet (a company who take much of their profit from people with gambling addictions) as our sponsor was a disgrace. I would rather have no sponsor and lose out on the money than endorse people as predatory as betting companies.

There were people criticising Dempster for that, but they'll be the same people happy to sell Hibs' soul down the river for a few extra quid. Wearing grey, changing Easter Road's name for sponsorship, becoming Red Bull Edinburgh - they'd take it all if we could sign another midfielder. It's embarrassing.

Purple & Green
24-10-2019, 11:11 AM

As someone who keeps records of colours worn, I share your frustration, if not all of your views (most of them though!)

It's not quite as bad as when we've been wearing away colours at home, however....

If we are going to have 3 strips, then have a plan. Maybe we do. All grey maybe works quite well and I've no real objection to always wearing an away kit on the road if it is classy like all white, all purple, all dark green (or vibrant green) even all black or all yellow/neon yellow. I feel though there's no real strategy to our away colours, its just a case of whoever at the club chooses them going "wow I like that" - and compared to other clubs we aren't inventive or imaginative with colours although I concede grey is a bit of a departure.

I have a theory that Lennon liked the neon yellow away strip (and wore it every away game) because it made the players easier to pick out. Grey by contrast isn't vivid, but, it does nearly always stand out against the opposition making it easier for the players to pick each other out...

We've also only lost once in the five times we've been playing in away colours. Just saying.

24-10-2019, 11:18 AM
Yes, I was delighted with our lack of shirt sponsor. If it were up to me we wouldn't have one at all, but if we're going to have one then I'm pleased that it's a local, community cause like the foundation.

Having MarathonBet (a company who take much of their profit from people with gambling addictions) as our sponsor was a disgrace. I would rather have no sponsor and lose out on the money than endorse people as predatory as betting companies.

There were people criticising Dempster for that, but they'll be the same people happy to sell Hibs' soul down the river for a few extra quid. Wearing grey, changing Easter Road's name for sponsorship, becoming Red Bull Edinburgh - they'd take it all if we could sign another midfielder. It's embarrassing.

Except the Community Foundation is not our sponsor, they've simply got their name on our strips.

Spin it any way you like, the lack of sponsor is a huge cock up. We're probably the only club in the UK that failed to a attract one and it wasn't for moral reasons.

We would have stuck with Marathon bet if we hadn't asked them for more money and priced them out of it.

24-10-2019, 11:23 AM
I remember back in 1996 in the title run in with Newcastle SAF ditched the grey strip at half time away to Southampton 0-3 and changed into blue stripes They ended up losing 1-3

They had lost to Arsenal Aston Villa and Liverpool away from home and failed to beat Notts Forrest wearing the grey strips

A Vision Analyst told SAF that the grey tops white shorts and socks had a psychological affect on the players as the grey strips were merging into the crowd background and it was impossible for the players to pick out their team mates

That’s it by god!!😁

24-10-2019, 11:44 AM

Hibs have had, and worn, away kits since the 1970's (maybe earlier) so I'm failing to see the erosion of our traditions and standards angle as far as having and wearing an away kit go.
Judging by your comments on the 17/18 season, it seems to be more of an aesthetic objection.

3rd strips are indeed a pointless profiteering exercise.

Barman Stanton
24-10-2019, 12:05 PM
Its changed days now. Just like sponsor's and player names are the norm now, so are away strips. Couldn't really care less what strip we wear as long as it doesn't clash. Unfortunately that grey strip against Hamilton was awful. I found it really difficult to make the difference in the strips.

HibeeHibernian4
24-10-2019, 12:08 PM
Hibs have had, and worn, away kits since the 1970's (maybe earlier) so I'm failing to see the erosion of our traditions and standards angle as far as having and wearing an away kit go.
Judging by your comments on the 17/18 season, it seems to be more of an aesthetic objection.

3rd strips are indeed a pointless profiteering exercise.

Season 2013/14 (though I hate reliving it for obvious reasons), saw us wear our away kit just six times in all competitions. Once at Parkhead, twice at Killie, twice at St J and once up at Inverness.

We've already worn an away/third kit five times this season, and it's not even November yet.

There is a clear trend towards Hibs selling out our traditional colours for a quick buck. And to add insult to injury, the fans aren't even told what this profit is. It's just assumed that there is one. There's no transparency at any Scottish club these days, we're simply expected to pay our money, sit down for 90 minutes and like it.

HibeeHibernian4
03-11-2019, 05:44 AM
Bumping this thread once again after yesterday’s shambles. We were the home team, we lost 2-5. Why did we wear a purple kit? A month ago, we played Celtic at Easter Road and wore green and white. Who is in charge of this and why are they not upholding any kind of tradition or standards? They need to be sacked immediately and replaced by a person who won’t sign away our soul in some joke of a kit deal.

03-11-2019, 08:34 AM

What's embarrassing is a Commercial department who can't attract sponsorship. Should be sacked for that alone

Cataplana
03-11-2019, 08:38 AM
Bumping this thread once again after yesterday’s shambles. We were the home team, we lost 2-5. Why did we wear a purple kit? A month ago, we played Celtic at Easter Road and wore green and white. Who is in charge of this and why are they not upholding any kind of tradition or standards? They need to be sacked immediately and replaced by a person who won’t sign away our soul in some joke of a kit deal.

Prior to 2001 both teams wore their home strips in finals. If people look at highlights of those games they will see it is not hard to tell which team is which.

03-11-2019, 08:44 AM
Prior to 2001 both teams wore their home strips in finals. If people look at highlights of those games they will see it is not hard to tell which team is which.

The Hibs and Celtic kits would be a clash this season.

Look at the images of Brown and Hanlon doing the promotion pre game and tell me that wouldn't cause an issue when a game is being played at a high tempo and players might just be seeing things in their peripheral vision. Celtic having white sleeves, white shorts and green and white socks in block colours is an issue with our home kit.

Cataplana
03-11-2019, 09:14 AM
The Hibs and Celtic kits would be a clash this season.

Look at the images of Brown and Hanlon doing the promotion pre game and tell me that wouldn't cause an issue when a game is being played at a high tempo and players might just be seeing things in their peripheral vision. Celtic having white sleeves, white shorts and green and white socks in block colours is an issue with our home kit.

I'm afraid I can't.

03-11-2019, 10:18 AM

Maybe that’s why their wearing it. If the kit is associated with great and memorable games, the fans will buy it. That is also why nobody is buying it!!

Purple & Green
03-11-2019, 10:32 AM

Point of order. In the league cup semi and final, when there is a clash both teams change. That’s the rules.

Seekyit
03-11-2019, 12:01 PM
Hibs and Celtic wearing their proper kit back in the day always looked good - two classic kits that didn’t require change for the fixture.

https://i.postimg.cc/0yJyyWMX/C2-D2-E7-F3-C8-AB-4-F51-AF09-36100-CCE89-F1.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

That is one classy photo.

Hibiza
03-11-2019, 12:05 PM
Top notch .

ABZHFC
03-11-2019, 02:59 PM
Point of order. In the league cup semi and final, when there is a clash both teams change. That’s the rules.

Is that actually true? Bizarre if so

ABZHFC
03-11-2019, 03:00 PM
I remember it happened in 2017 when they beat us 4-2, we were both in away kits, but it seems like a very strange rule, especially when it's not applied in the Scottish Cup

03-11-2019, 03:01 PM
Is that actually true? Bizarre if so

Seems the fairest way to do it. Otherwise one club would be bumping their gums.

ABZHFC
03-11-2019, 03:19 PM
Seems the fairest way to do it. Otherwise one club would be bumping their gums.

Team who is drawn first is the 'home team', gets the home dressing room and wears their home kit, surely?

Doesn't happen in the Scottish, Motherwell played Aberdeen in the semi finals a few years back and it was only the Dons only in their away kit, likewise when we played Celtic in the 2013 final etc. Would be a real shame if games at Hampden are now marred by this horrible tradition of wearing kits other than our famous green and white, the thought of David Gray's header happening in a grey, third kit? Not for me

HibeeHibernian4
09-11-2019, 08:21 PM
Since we’re all in a happier mood today, I thought I’d bump this thread to congratulate Ron Gordon on sacking the person who decided the strips alongside Heckingbottom.

Blue vs green and white, no clash at all. Lovely stuff. Keep it up Hibs!

Hibeesforever
09-11-2019, 08:28 PM
Since we’re all in a happier mood today, I thought I’d bump this thread to congratulate Ron Gordon on sacking the person who decided the strips alongside Heckingbottom.

Indeed, bring the pride back in the Jersey. Annoyed there is a Scotland game next week.

09-11-2019, 11:06 PM

I bought it the day it came out and had the first in Australasia.

I quite like the grey top, and wear it when going for a beer at the club, where I feel it makes me more attractive to younger women😂

I do agree with others though that Hibs should wear green....every game, including Celtic

Been to lots of games over the years where both clubs wore their first strip.

Getting confused with a Hibs/Celtic ‘clash’ seems to me like getting confused between a horse and a zebra!

09-11-2019, 11:14 PM
What's embarrassing is a Commercial department who can't attract sponsorship. Should be sacked for that alone

I could tell the story of them being atrocious when it comes to people repeatedly offering to sponsor players, but that’s for another time.

10-11-2019, 07:02 PM