Forrest
Christie
Shankland

13-10-2019, 02:40 PM
What another depressing line up

13-10-2019, 03:03 PM
I actually hope San Marino win in front of a half empty Hampden today. It’s going to take something like that for the SFA to actually make some change!

13-10-2019, 03:08 PM
What another depressing line up

Your heart sinks looking at that team. What have we become?

I can see us huffing and puffing to a 2-0 win.

13-10-2019, 03:14 PM
Who actually cares?

CloudSquall
13-10-2019, 03:16 PM
I actually hope San Marino win in front of a half empty Hampden today. It’s going to take something like that for the SFA to actually make some change!

It will be 0-0 until the 88th minute, we'll score and the SFA will hail it as progress.

13-10-2019, 03:16 PM

Half empty? It’ll be nowhere near half empty.

13-10-2019, 03:18 PM
3, maybe 4 players of any sort of ability at international level.

The majority is utter dross although should still be capable of beating San Marino quite comfortably.

13-10-2019, 03:23 PM
Both teams to score, 8/1. :wink:

13-10-2019, 03:24 PM

I agree - I'll be surprised if there are 20k people at the game today.

£27 a ticket, was it not? For what is, in essence, an utterly meaningless fixture.

Here’s Lucy!
13-10-2019, 03:27 PM
Who actually gives a hoot?

1-0 San Marino.

13-10-2019, 03:27 PM
I agree - I'll be surprised if there are 20k people at the game today.

£27 a ticket, was it not? For what is, in essence, an utterly meaningless fixture.

The Daily Record are reporting that only around 10,000 tickets have been sold for tonights game. Maybe a few walk ups but I'd say no more than 15k tops at that the game the night

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/sfas-ridiculous-ticket-pricing-strategy-20568076

13-10-2019, 03:28 PM
Scotland v San Marino. Two minnows of world football. Actually didn't realise Scotland were playing today. Shows my interest.

Here’s Lucy!
13-10-2019, 03:28 PM
Scotland v San Marino. Two minnows of world football

13-10-2019, 03:32 PM
Tickets are priced from £8 for juniors and £27 for adults. No concessions :shocked:

13-10-2019, 03:36 PM
Paul Hanlon and Ryan porteous are better than the back pairing even McGregor

13-10-2019, 03:40 PM
Who actually gives a hoot?

1-0 San Marino.

You clearly as you have posted on it often enough

Green forever
13-10-2019, 03:46 PM
Sky bet giving 2/1 San Marino +4 or 5/6 San Marino +5.

13-10-2019, 03:47 PM
Strong midfield as usual with a good keeper and right back.The rest patched in again.
Tierney back next match but not much more than the likes of McKenna/Cooper/Bombscare og Hanley to come in.

Here’s Lucy!
13-10-2019, 03:47 PM
You clearly as you have posted on it often enough

Och, don’t be like that! :na na:

Just a wee giggle really.

I’m fully aware that Scotland, being one of the big-hitters in world football, will absolutely destroy the minnows of San Marino.

I’m now thinking 1-0 Scotland (at least) and a performance akin to Holland 1974.

13-10-2019, 04:02 PM
Och, don’t be like that! :na na:

Just a wee giggle really.

I’m fully aware that Scotland, being one of the big-hitters in world football, will absolutely destroy the minnows of San Marino.

I’m now thinking 1-0 Scotland (at least) and a performance akin to Holland 1974.

Do you mean Holland 78?

Here’s Lucy!
13-10-2019, 04:11 PM
Do you mean Holland 78?

Yes, I did mean 1978. :aok:

13-10-2019, 04:13 PM
Mcginn stealing a goal from celtics christie. Up ye's

13-10-2019, 04:18 PM
damn, should have taken SJM first goal 7/1

13-10-2019, 04:18 PM
Provan with a Shankland love in. Doidge could score against San Marino ffs.

13-10-2019, 04:20 PM
Tickets are priced from £8 for juniors and £27 for adults. No concessions :shocked:

Is the £8.00 not a consession? Course it is. If a junior was paying the same amount as an adult then you would have a point, but they don't. So what is your point caller?

green with envy
13-10-2019, 04:21 PM
Provan with a Shankland love in. Doidge could score against San Marino ffs.

To far.🤣

Here’s Lucy!
13-10-2019, 04:21 PM
Great stuff from SJM.

Here’s Lucy!
13-10-2019, 04:22 PM
Doidge could score against San Marino ffs.

Up for debate. :na na:

13-10-2019, 04:25 PM
Is the £8.00 not a consession? Course it is. If a junior was paying the same amount as an adult then you would have a point, but they don't. So what is your point caller?

No, its junior ticket for under 16's. There are no OAP ticket prices. They must pay an adult price. Thats my point caller.

CloudSquall
13-10-2019, 04:26 PM
Reading the BBC updates and the pundits actually have the audacity to be trying to big this performance up.

It's San Marino FFS.

13-10-2019, 04:28 PM
SJM double 2-0

13-10-2019, 04:29 PM
Mcginn stealing a goal from celtics christie. Up ye's

Christie's shot wasn't on target.

pontius pilate
It's a no win game for Clark and the players what I do like is it's full of the younger players yet he gets slated for that. Hopefully we give clark time to turn things around and maybe keep what he has on the park just now with Teirney Griffiths Cooper to work there way back in along with the likes of Gilmour Porteous and Souttar I'd say the future looks ok.

Can we have John McGinn back now please?

Pretty please?

13-10-2019, 04:30 PM
Here's a wild card - if there were a GB/UK team, would McGinniesta be the only Scottish player? :wink: :greengrin

13-10-2019, 04:32 PM
Here's a wild card - if there were a GB/UK team, would McGinniesta be the only Scottish player? :wink: :greengrin

No he’s not an idiot - he’d refuse to play for such a team

Robertson would be in before Rose I think. :dunno:

stuart-farquhar
No, its junior ticket for under 16's. There are no OAP ticket prices. They must pay an adult price. Thats my point caller.

Its not an OAP!!!Its a senior. Get it!!

pontius pilate
13-10-2019, 04:33 PM

I think him and robertson for sure if sparky can rediscover his form he would be in with a shout along with Teirney

13-10-2019, 04:38 PM
They must have looked at the weather forecast, San Marino brought a Brolli with them

13-10-2019, 04:43 PM
Anyone think this match could be abandoned?

Lots of surface water lying on the pitch

13-10-2019, 04:44 PM
Had genuinely forgotten this was on before the pub reminded me it was on (their box is on the blink and they can't show it - not remotely fussed tbh)

Good to see McGinn doing well, our only international quality CM prone to attacking.

13-10-2019, 04:46 PM
Boom!

13-10-2019, 04:47 PM
horrible conditions

££££ SJM :greengrin

££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££ 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

3-0 :thumbsup: SJM hattrick

13-10-2019, 04:48 PM
I miss him sooooooooooooooooo much!!

13-10-2019, 04:49 PM
Hat trick McGinn, nice and easy like this always was gonna be. I have 4-0 Scotland Forrest anytime, so next goal please and then I'll cash out because this will be more than 4

13-10-2019, 04:50 PM
we've got McGinn
super john McGinn
i just don't think you understand
he's stevie clarks man
he's better than zidane
we've got super john McGinn

cam75
Has the bookies just been spanked at 2-0 I stuck on £50 for a hat trick ching ching 👍

cam75
Hope everyone who bets got in on it👍

13-10-2019, 04:51 PM
Shankland was very unlucky not to open the scoring. Really hoping he scores 2nd half

13-10-2019, 04:51 PM

Does it affect you? I mean, if you really want to go, and can afford it then you will go. Let's face it, senior citizens are generally not short of a Bob or two. Yes, some are not, but those who want to be there will be there.

13-10-2019, 04:54 PM
At the game. All Scotland and could have been more. San Marino are dire but you can only play what you’re up against. SJM playing an unusual position for him on the right of midfield tucked in but it’s paid off.

Robbo6-2
13-10-2019, 04:58 PM
Has the bookies just been spanked at 2-0 I stuck on £50 for a hat trick ching ching 👍
His firsts been given to Christie mate

13-10-2019, 04:58 PM
3-0 :thumbsup: SJM hattrick

No good enough for sellick

13-10-2019, 04:59 PM

It was definitely McGinn's goal.

13-10-2019, 05:01 PM
https://twitter.com/i/status/1183422666491023360

poor soul

13-10-2019, 05:01 PM

BBC gives it to SJM. Good enough for me.

13-10-2019, 05:02 PM
Must be a serious risk of the game being called off now.

Robbo6-2
13-10-2019, 05:03 PM
BBC gives it to SJM. Good enough for me.

Just nosing you up 🤣

13-10-2019, 05:04 PM
good chance a player could get hurt here

13-10-2019, 05:05 PM
I think the game could be abandoned very soon.

13-10-2019, 05:06 PM
Must be a serious risk of the game being called off now.

It does look like it.

Hopefully they'll have Seniors concessions for the replay :wink:

13-10-2019, 05:07 PM
It does look like it.

Hopefully they'll have Seniors concessions for the replay :wink:

Charge the auld codgers double I say. 👍

13-10-2019, 05:09 PM
Bit of a farce if it does get called off. Its a bit of rain.

13-10-2019, 05:11 PM
dunno if it's just my eyes but i don't think it's too bad over at the north side of the pitch

13-10-2019, 05:13 PM
I can see this game getting abandoned pretty soon.

13-10-2019, 05:13 PM
Nice mention for Lawrie Reilly there

Before today, Last Scottish player to score a first half hat trick

13-10-2019, 05:19 PM
With hindsight, we should have demanded 30 million up front for SJM.

13-10-2019, 05:21 PM
4-0 Shankland

13-10-2019, 05:21 PM
c'mon man gies a goal

13-10-2019, 05:23 PM
c'mon man gies a goal

thank you

13-10-2019, 05:23 PM
5-0 Findlay

13-10-2019, 05:24 PM
oooooh san marino better not score now

what a team we are, what a team

Nice to see some passion from the young lads

5 now

13-10-2019, 05:25 PM
we want six
we want six

13-10-2019, 05:26 PM
Does it affect you? I mean, if you really want to go, and can afford it then you will go. Let's face it, senior citizens are generally not short of a Bob or two. Yes, some are not, but those who want to be there will be there.

Yip, the vast majority of 'senior citizens' I know have more disposable income than the average working family man. Anyway, the money they'll have saved by using the free bus pass with cover it.

13-10-2019, 05:31 PM
bet365 had it at six.... boooooo

cam75
13-10-2019, 05:35 PM

Bookies paid out on Miginn👍

cam75
13-10-2019, 05:36 PM
Cheeky £5 on Robertson 19/2 any time now🤞

13-10-2019, 05:37 PM
Horrendous conditions. With so many empty seats. why would you sit in the first few rows getting soaked ? :confused:

13-10-2019, 05:39 PM
Horrendous conditions. With so many empty seats. why would you sit in the first few rows getting soaked ? :confused:

It’s probably the same miserable moaning ****s on here that are not happy unless they’ve something to moan about. ***** stadium ***** game SFA *******s etc etc

13-10-2019, 05:43 PM
6-0

6-0 what a team :cb:saltireflag

Deliberate hand ball outside the box....should be off!lol

This game is showing which of our players have got close control and which have not.

13-10-2019, 05:44 PM
6-0 outstanding free kick from Armstrong!

13-10-2019, 05:47 PM
couple of nice touches from McTominay

FT

Cyprus 0 Russia 3 that's them qualified...so soon

make that 0-4

Belarus 1 Holland 2 FT

13-10-2019, 05:52 PM
I must have the best match thread result this season😄

13-10-2019, 05:54 PM
I must have the best match thread result this season😄

you should be given until xmas at least

13-10-2019, 05:55 PM
Cyprus 0 v 5 Russia FT

13-10-2019, 05:56 PM
I know it was only san marino but shankland played well I thought and was unlucky not to get a couple more. Keeps playing well for scotland and utd and theres not a chance he will be playing in scotland next season

13-10-2019, 05:56 PM
just noticed Russia played against 10 men for 63 minutes

13-10-2019, 05:58 PM
Luke Shanley squeezing in the Scottish cup win to the post match interview 👍🏻

13-10-2019, 06:01 PM
I know it was only san marino but shankland played well I thought and was unlucky not to get a couple more. Keeps playing well for scotland and utd and theres not a chance he will be playing in scotland next season

It's san marino FFS , And he was god awful against ALLOA last Friday in the championship , Lets no get carried away

13-10-2019, 06:03 PM
It's san marino FFS , And he was god awful against ALLOA last Friday in the championship , Lets no get carried away

Read the start of my sentence, he also played well against russia when he came on, does that make it a bit better for you.

CloudSquall
13-10-2019, 06:04 PM

San Marino brought on an amateur for his first appearance, I'm pretty sure if we had a .net open day we'd find someone of similiar if not superior calibre.

13-10-2019, 06:07 PM
Read the start of my sentence, he also played well against russia when he came on, does that make it a bit better for you.

He played well cause it was San marino :rolleyes:

He had a few touches against Russia but absolutely nothing to get excited about

Let's get a wee bit perspective here before we get a tad excited

He's bang average playing for a bang average club team in a bang average league

13-10-2019, 06:08 PM
San Marino brought on an amateur for his first appearance, I'm pretty sure if we had a .net open day we'd find someone of similiar if not superior calibre.

Start a thread then ?

13-10-2019, 06:11 PM

Has he been with your mrs or something, you seem like a very bitter wee man

Gordy M
13-10-2019, 06:13 PM

Much as i agree it was only San Marino, there was various posts saying Scotland would struggle, it would be 2-0, San Marino would score, San Marino -4 was a great bet.....etc.....so it was a decent performance and its ok to say that we played well imo.

CloudSquall
13-10-2019, 06:13 PM

And the starting gun is fired :greengrin:greengrin

13-10-2019, 06:14 PM
And the starting gun is fired :greengrin:greengrin

Just seems a bit strange to be so negative over something that should be a good night for the guy

Gordy M
13-10-2019, 06:14 PM

20,000 at the game, given the weather and opposition, wouldnt say that was bad

13-10-2019, 06:15 PM
Much as i agree it was only San Marino, there was various posts saying Scotland would struggle, it would be 2-0, San Marino would score, San Marino -4 was a great bet.....etc.....so it was a decent performance and its ok to say that we played well imo.

Nah it was only san marino so you cant say the guy or the team played well

13-10-2019, 06:17 PM

:hilarious:hilarious

That's a peach coming from you , Mr contradict himself at every god giving opportunity , Refrain from the personal stuff as well :aok:

13-10-2019, 06:19 PM
Nah it was only san marino so you cant say the guy or the team played well

Who said the team never played well ? You inventing stuff again ?

13-10-2019, 06:20 PM
:hilarious:hilarious

That's a peach coming from you , Mr contradict himself at every god giving opportunity , Refrain from the personal stuff as well :aok:

How have I contradicted myself? And if you come across as bitter or negative then I'll say it

13-10-2019, 06:24 PM
How have I contradicted myself? And if you come across as bitter or negative then I'll say it

I'm neither bitter or negative , I said we need a wee bit perspective giving it was San marino we played before we start biggin up Shankland

13-10-2019, 06:28 PM
I'm neither bitter or negative , I said we need a wee bit perspective giving it was San marino we played before we start biggin up Shankland

So have we not to say any of them played well as it was only san marino, which I acknowledged in my opening post, dunno why you got so uptight about it, does mcginn not enjoy his 3 goals because it was only san marino?

13-10-2019, 06:31 PM
20,000 at the game, given the weather and opposition, wouldnt say that was bad

Absolutely no chance there waa 20k there.

13-10-2019, 06:31 PM

Certainly didnt look like it, would have said maybe 12k going by pics my mate had posted on facebook, even that would be generous

13-10-2019, 06:34 PM

Agreed although despite the horrendous results recently, I think we've got the makings of a decent team if we can get the obvious deficiencies sorted - centre backs, right back and up front.

McTominay and McGinn will improve further. We have other decent midfielders and left back and goalkeeper are sorted. I like the look of Shankland.

13-10-2019, 06:35 PM
So have we not to say any of them played well as it was only san marino, which I acknowledged in my opening post, dunno why you got so uptight about it, does mcginn not enjoy his 3 goals because it was only san marino?

Lets not get too carried away, it was a good result and a good few goals against the whipping boys of world football, it'll help with team spirit but we still have to negotiate a play off game against a far better opposition.

13-10-2019, 06:36 PM

He played for Scotland tonight against San marino and plays in the second tier of Scottish football for Dundee utd and you said if he keeps it up theirs not a chance he will be in Scotland next year , I'm merely stating let's not get carried away and look at the quality of the opponent he is facing on a weekly basis

No uptight from me pal ,

Mcginn is a complete different ball game

13-10-2019, 06:37 PM
Lets not get too carried away, it was a good result and a good few goals against the whipping boys of world football, it'll help with team spirit but we still have to negotiate a play off game against a far better opposition.

I agree 100% and have never said anything to suggest anyone is getting carried away so not sure what the big deal is

13-10-2019, 06:40 PM
He played for Scotland tonight against San marino and plays in the second tier of Scottish football for Dundee utd and you said if he keeps it up theirs not a chance he will be in Scotland next year , I'm merely stating let's not get carried away and look at the quality of the opponent he is facing on a weekly basis

No uptight from me pal ,

Mcginn is a complete different ball game

So plays well and scores loads for his last club, playing well and scoring for his current club, played well on his home debut for his country and scored so I'll stand by my comment that if he keeps it up then he wont be playing in scotland next season

And we were raving about mcginn when he was in the championship so not any different, and I'm not saying he is as good as mcginn as he clearly isnt

13-10-2019, 06:41 PM
I agree 100% and have never said anything to suggest anyone is getting carried away so not sure what the big deal is

There's no big deal bud, you and oor Callum1 seem overy happy clappers re Hibs and Scotland and won't here anything said against either, just pointing out it was a good result but remember who it was against, bit of perspective needed.

13-10-2019, 06:43 PM
There's no big deal bud, you and oor Callum1 seem overy happy clappers re Hibs and Scotland and won't here anything said against either, just pointing out it was a good result but remember who it was against, bit of perspective needed.

I'm just an optimistic person!! I slate players and the team when it's due, scotland played well tonight even though it was only san marino, a team we have struggled to convincingly beat previously with better players available

13-10-2019, 06:43 PM
So plays well and scores loads for his last club, playing well and scoring for his current club, played well on his home debut for his country and scored so I'll stand by my comment that if he keeps it up then he wont be playing in scotland next season

And we were raving about mcginn when he was in the championship so not any different, and I'm not saying he is as good as mcginn as he clearly isnt

Why then did a bigger club not snap him up last season and he ended up at Dundee U in the same division.

Gordy M
13-10-2019, 06:46 PM

There is a reverse side to that though, and it is definitely a thing on here, and that is if either Hibs or Scotland get a good result, sone posters flatly refuse to give credit .....

13-10-2019, 06:47 PM
Why then did a bigger club not snap him up last season and he ended up at Dundee U in the same division.

No idea, I seen him last season and in all honesty wasnt that impressed but he can score goals it seems against most teams he plays and that's what teams like ourselves are crying out for. But if he continues scoring I still cant see him being at utd or in scotland next season

13-10-2019, 06:48 PM

Yes his last club was Ayr united also in the second tier of scottish football , He hasn't played a single second of top tier football so you clearly have high hopes for the boy to make such a bold statement

Scotland played really well tonight but cmon man it was san marino

13-10-2019, 06:49 PM
Yes his last club was Ayr united also in the second tier of scottish football , He hasn't played a single second of top tier football so you clearly have high hopes for the boy to make such a bold statement

Jason cummings hadnt either and a lot of hibs fans I know were annoyed he left when he did and had high hopes for him

Scored in the top tier I mean

13-10-2019, 06:51 PM
No idea, I seen him last season and in all honesty wasnt that impressed but he can score goals it seems against most teams he plays and that's what teams like ourselves are crying out for. But if he continues scoring I still cant see him being at utd or in scotland next season

Christian Doidge scored goals against most teams last season too ?

13-10-2019, 06:52 PM

Think he played top league with Aberdeen.

13-10-2019, 06:53 PM

sssshtttt :greengrin

Maybe aboot 4 games :greengrin

13-10-2019, 06:54 PM

He did that but he wasn't that great for them was he?

13-10-2019, 06:54 PM
Christian Doidge scored goals against most teams last season too ?

And hasnt hit the ground running but may come good, I'm not going to get into another debate about doidge as there are plenty already,you dont rate shankland clearly so not really much point in continuing a debate about him either is there?

13-10-2019, 06:55 PM
sssshtttt :greengrin

Maybe aboot 4 games :greengrin

17 according to wiki :greengrin

13-10-2019, 06:56 PM
Jason cummings hadnt either and a lot of hibs fans I know were annoyed he left when he did and had high hopes for him

Scored in the top tier I mean

And where is the wonder kid now, the mighty Shrewsbury in League one.

13-10-2019, 06:58 PM
And where is the wonder kid now, the mighty Shrewsbury in League one.

Did you rate him when he was here?

13-10-2019, 06:58 PM
And hasnt hit the ground running but may come good, I'm not going to get into another debate about doidge as there are plenty already,you dont rate shankland clearly so not really much point in continuing a debate about him either is there?

See i do rate Shankland ( Did i ever say i didn't ?) I don't see him scoring goals at a high level but you do , I was merely pointing out the standard of opponents he was playing against tonight and for his club team is nothing to get carried away with

See and i done all this without name calling you once ?

13-10-2019, 07:01 PM
See i do rate Shankland ( Did i ever say i didn't ?) I don't see him scoring goals at a high level but you do , I was merely pointing out the standard of opponents he was playing against tonight and for his club team is nothing to get carried away with

I said you seemed bitter, not really name calling but apologise anyway

13-10-2019, 07:03 PM
Did you rate him when he was here?

As a goal scorer yes, as a decent footballer not really, he knew how to score but his game intelligence was fairly poor and he left far too early, his football has went backwards, maybe due to his off field nonsense and not applying himself properly.

13-10-2019, 07:04 PM
Guys, Scotland won 6-0, can we not just enjoy it instead of having a go at each other

13-10-2019, 07:05 PM
I said you seemed bitter, not really name calling but apologise anyway

Dinnae apologise we are all hibs fans :thumbsup:

13-10-2019, 07:06 PM
Guys, Scotland won 6-0, can we not just enjoy it instead of having a go at each other

Billy any chance we can get a 'Jonnyboy' this is how it feels update :thumbsup:

13-10-2019, 07:15 PM
Billy any chance we can get a 'Jonnyboy' this is how it feels update :thumbsup:

It needs someone who was at the game to do it

13-10-2019, 07:23 PM
He did that but he wasn't that great for them was he?

No mostly sub I think.

13-10-2019, 07:26 PM

Thought there was attendance given just shy of 21k.

Gordy M
13-10-2019, 07:33 PM

Clarke said in his interview that there was 20k at the match, however that was shot down in flames on here......

13-10-2019, 07:36 PM

:agree: It doesn't happen often and even though its only San Marino the job still had to be done. Not getting deluded about the meaning of it but the tough ones come around regularly so why not enjoy sticking 6 past a team that we should be sticking six past.

13-10-2019, 07:39 PM
Good win tonight players played well and hopefully we can build confidence from here into the next game. It’s all about the playoffs now.

13-10-2019, 08:15 PM

There were less than 10k tickets sold by last night so there's no chance another 10k suddenly decided to head out in a monsoon to take in a meaningless football match. There were stacks of last-minute freebies being handed out to schools and kids football clubs but even the offer of a free ticket was surely unlikely to tempt many of them.

13-10-2019, 08:25 PM
:agree: It doesn't happen often and even though its only San Marino the job still had to be done. Not getting deluded about the meaning of it but the tough ones come around regularly so why not enjoy sticking 6 past a team that we should be sticking six past.

That kind of underlines the pointlessness of these sort of fixtures. When Scotland are clearly so far off the pace when it comes to being competitive on the international stage what does that say about a team they can beat 6-0? I simply don't see the point of a team like San Marino being included in the qualifiers (in fact I'm not sure Scotland should be either!). They are consistently the world's worst international side and routinely ship dozens of goals in every qualifying campaign. This evening was probably the equivalent of Scotland playing the likes of East Stirlingshire and there is nothing to be learned or gained from such an experience.

As I suggested on another thread, it might make more sense to dispense with the qualifying campaigns and instead have a three or four-tier tournament which countries take part in according to their world ranking. Scotland would likely be in the third tier tournament but they would at least enjoy some competitive games against sides at their level rather than either playing sides who are way too good for them or sides like San Marino who are simply making up the numbers.

This back door plan to worm some of the lesser lights into the European Championships via the Nations League is not the way forward if we're looking to improve the international game across the board.

13-10-2019, 08:26 PM
It’s a microcosm of life and society in general just now. Entrenched views with no room for a different viewpoint without stating the almost polar opposite over and over again. What a time to be alive.

Logie Green
13-10-2019, 08:29 PM
Nice mention for Lawrie Reilly there

Before today, Last Scottish player to score a first half hat trick

Of the last 6 competitive hat-tricks scored in Scotland matches 4 have been scored by ex-Hibernian players - Colin Stein, Steven Fletcher (2) and John McGinn.

13-10-2019, 08:52 PM
6-0 is 6-0. I thought we would make ahrder work of it.

13-10-2019, 09:14 PM
Of the last 6 competitive hat-tricks scored in Scotland matches 4 have been scored by ex-Hibernian players - Colin Stein, Steven Fletcher (2) and John McGinn.

And I’m pretty sure that Lawrie Reilly was the last Scottish player to score a first half hat trick back in the 1950s.

13-10-2019, 09:19 PM
And I’m pretty sure that Lawrie Reilly was the last Scottish player to score a first half hat trick back in the 1950s.
Yip!

They mentioned that on Sky Sports

Here’s Lucy!
13-10-2019, 09:19 PM

And I’m pretty sure you found that on either Google or the BBC Website. :aok:

13-10-2019, 09:34 PM
Scotland played well and got the job done with some style. Could easily have been 10+. These 3 games were all about gaining confidence and momentum towards the March Play Offs. 1/3 done

13-10-2019, 09:35 PM

Why did you post that?

13-10-2019, 09:41 PM

I'm pretty sure there are certain posters on here who make this a less enjoyable site than it used to be.

13-10-2019, 09:42 PM
There were less than 10k tickets sold by last night so there's no chance another 10k suddenly decided to head out in a monsoon to take in a meaningless football match. There were stacks of last-minute freebies being handed out to schools and kids football clubs but even the offer of a free ticket was surely unlikely to tempt many of them.

Looked way more than 10k on tv. Why would they lie?

13-10-2019, 10:14 PM

Everyone in football lies.

Either that or they're corrupt. Which involves lying.

13-10-2019, 10:27 PM
I'm pretty sure there are certain posters on here who make this a less enjoyable site than it used to be.

14-10-2019, 05:20 AM
At the game. All Scotland and could have been more. San Marino are dire but you can only play what you’re up against. SJM playing an unusual position for him on the right of midfield tucked in but it’s paid off.

Been playing that role for Villa

14-10-2019, 06:25 AM
Been playing that role for Villa

Interesting. Certainly seems to be working for him.

14-10-2019, 07:18 AM
Everyone in football lies.

Either that or they're corrupt. Which involves lying.

Good point.

14-10-2019, 07:42 AM
It’s a microcosm of life and society in general just now. Entrenched views with no room for a different viewpoint without stating the almost polar opposite over and over again. What a time to be alive.

We live in a society

14-10-2019, 07:51 AM
We live in a society

I think that's his point 😁

14-10-2019, 09:48 AM

To be fair, it did look more than 10k there.

Maybe 10k paying customers though, at best. Not the SFA’s finest hour.

WHAM
14-10-2019, 11:03 AM
I was at the game and I could tell from my seat there was way more than 10k there. We actually said during the game the attendance looked about 20k so not far off.

Was quite a few kids there last night so maybe freebies handed out to schools etc which is quite a good initiative for a game against San Marino.

My sons tickets was only £10 which isn’t bad to be fair. Mine was £25 though but I suppose it’s not often we get to see Scotland score 6 goals.

Let’s hope we build some momentum now going into the play offs. March is huge.

Here’s Lucy!
14-10-2019, 12:07 PM
Why did you post that?

Because I got the impression, from the way the post I quoted was worded, that it was information/facts gleaned from memory.

I agree. :aok:

14-10-2019, 12:54 PM
horrible conditions

Found it quite amusing that the weather in Japan after all the fuss was better than the Glasgow weather. Made walking between the boozers of Shawlands a bit of a mare though.

14-10-2019, 01:19 PM
Not a bad result and well done McGinn:thumbsup: Hopefully it is something to build on.

14-10-2019, 01:50 PM

You said he was "bang average" a couple of pages back. That comes into the "not rating" category of statement in my book.

Here’s Lucy!
14-10-2019, 02:04 PM

You said he was "bang average" a couple of pages back. That comes into the "not rating" category of statement in my book.

’Bang average’ is not the same as ‘not rating’.

Andy is correct, he is bang average and would not be such a success against the likes of Celtic and Rangers. Or, on the international field, England, Spain, France, Brazil etc. Jings, it was San Marino last night! :wink:

I don’t rate our own Whittaker but I also know he isn’t (or at least wasn’t) bang average.

14-10-2019, 03:33 PM

Wrong.I remember it though (unlike the song)not well.:greengrin

Here’s Lucy!
14-10-2019, 04:00 PM
Wrong.I remember it though (unlike the song)not well.:greengrin

Fair enough. :aok:

Please accept my apologies, my post sounded a bit stroppy after I read it back to myself. There was no harm or disrespect intended, sir.

Sorry

14-10-2019, 05:08 PM
Because I got the impression, from the way the post I quoted was worded, that it was information/facts gleaned from memory.

So what?

Why did you find it necessary to make that point?

Edit: I see you have apologised.

Here’s Lucy!
14-10-2019, 05:15 PM
So what?

Why did you find it necessary to make that point?

Edit: I see you have apologised.

I was just about to refer you to my apology to ancient hibee when your edit came up.

I thought he was being smart and it turns out it was myself that was doing that very thing!

Thanks for adding the edit, by the way. :aok: Appreciate that.

14-10-2019, 05:25 PM
I was just about to refer you to my apology to ancient hibee when your edit came up.

I thought he was being smart and it turns out it was myself that was doing that very thing!

Thanks for adding the edit, by the way. :aok: Appreciate that.

What I don't understand is why it mattered to you whether he had the information in his head, researched it or just read it in a report.

What he posted was an interesting fact.

Anyway, it's sorted now.

Here’s Lucy!
14-10-2019, 05:31 PM
What I don't understand is why it mattered to you whether he had the information in his head, researched it or just read it in a report.

Anyway, it's sorted now.

Yes, it is.

That’ll teach me to drink on an empty stomach! :wink:

14-10-2019, 05:34 PM

Anyway, it's sorted now.

The fact that the man has dubbed himself ‘Ancient’ and appears to enjoy posting snippets on issues of a certain era would probably be a good pointer. I don’t love Lucy much.

14-10-2019, 06:11 PM
The fact that the man has dubbed himself ‘Ancient’ and appears to enjoy posting snippets on issues of a certain era would probably be a good pointer. I don’t love Lucy much.
Ill bet Lucy is ginger.

Here’s Lucy!
14-10-2019, 06:17 PM

I’ve apologised, admitted my mistake.

If I have offended you, I also apologise.

Ill bet Lucy is ginger.

No, just a dirty blonde.

14-10-2019, 06:36 PM
I’ve apologised, admitted my mistake.

If I have offended you, I also apologise.

No, just a dirty blonde.

The best Lucy :thumbsup:

14-10-2019, 06:46 PM
People arguing about me:greengrin Have I reached my peak.As Iggy says "Ancient" is a clue- or boring old fart as my wife kindly puts it.Anyway Lucy I never take offence(or hardly ever)at anything on here-it's a football forum.

I got Lawrie's autograph in 1954 and when he was at our table at hospitality he signed the page alongside his earlier one-he claimed not to remember me-I was devastated:greengrin A great player who never lost his edge even in later life-never any trouble in his pub.

14-10-2019, 06:49 PM
Auld gits rool ya bass! 😁

Here’s Lucy!
14-10-2019, 07:01 PM
The best Lucy :thumbsup:

Everyone loves Lucy.:greengrin

14-10-2019, 07:11 PM
Everyone loves Lucy.:greengrin

That Lucy was ginger.