View Full Version : Scotland qualifying directly

10-10-2019, 06:56 AM
From my reckoning, we have to hope Scotland beat Russia "on aggregate", then win all our remaining games while Russia lose all theirs bar San Marino.

No one seems to be mentioning it in the media, am I wrong? :dunno:

rotherhamrob
10-10-2019, 07:07 AM
From my reckoning, we have to hope Scotland beat Russia "on aggregate", then win all our remaining games while Russia lose all theirs bar San Marino.

Nope you're right, I read it in the media yesterday😉

JXM73
10-10-2019, 07:22 AM

I'll have a pint of what your on please.... delusional

10-10-2019, 07:25 AM
I'll have a pint of what your on please.... delusional

What's delusional about stating a fact?

10-10-2019, 07:31 AM

61-0 should surely do.it, or am I missing something. :greengrin

10-10-2019, 07:32 AM
61-0 should surely do.it, or am I missing something. :greengrin

10-10-2019, 07:58 AM
Sure Hibs still have a mathematical chance of winning the league but its not going to happen so what a pointless post.

10-10-2019, 09:25 AM

LOL it's Scotland naebody really cares TBH

Bad enough watching this pish Hibs team without worrying about those useless *******s aswell :greengrin

Helensburghhibs
10-10-2019, 09:37 AM

Bad enough watching this pish Hibs team without worrying about those useless *******s aswell :greengrin

Speak for yersel!! I actually take the positives. When hibs are pish being a Scotland supporter is so much easier..... As I'm already in the rhythm of dealing with disappointment 😂

Gordy M
10-10-2019, 09:42 AM

Aye nobody cares unless we qualify next year after when we play in the Nations league. Then we will have as many fans at games as any other nation playing in the euros....but obviously not yourself. :aok:

Rocky
10-10-2019, 09:48 AM

I didn't know that, so I find it interesting, thanks for posting.

So having checked the fixtures I think that would mean that we need to beat Russia (by 2 goals or more, or by 1 goal if we score more than 2), San Marino, Cyprus and Kazakhstan, and Russia would need to lose to Belgium and Cyprus. I don't think that's quite as outlandish as folk are making out, although tonight's game and the Cyprus v Russia one are I guess the ones that are most likely to kill it.

20/1 at bookies still seems pretty stingy though

10-10-2019, 09:57 AM
I didn't know that, so I find it interesting, thanks for posting.

So having checked the fixtures I think that would mean that we need to beat Russia (by 2 goals or more, or by 1 goal if we score more than 2), San Marino, Cyprus and Kazakhstan, and Russia would need to lose to Belgium and Cyprus. I don't think that's quite as outlandish as folk are making out, although tonight's game and the Cyprus v Russia one are I guess the ones that are most likely to kill it.

20/1 at bookies still seems pretty stingy though

If we somehow batter Russia tonight then it is absolutely on.

green with envy
10-10-2019, 10:23 AM

And IF my auntie had baws she'd be my uncle. blah, blah,blah.

10-10-2019, 10:33 AM
Would Scotland qualify if they beat Finland?

10-10-2019, 10:39 AM

I decided after 5 years of livnig here to finally go watch Sligo. My tgut feeling was that I get enough 'character building' from watching Hibs, I dont need more of it. But its now the local team & they need the cash so I went along to the semi final of the cup to see them play Dundalk. Was enjoying the occasion then we lost a last minute goal that came off the strikers shin to put us out.......always trust your gut :greengrin

10-10-2019, 11:03 AM
Would Scotland qualify if they beat Finland?

At the moment, Path C has Scotland, Norway & Serbia in the semi-finals - with Bulgaria, Israel & Hungary in contention to make up the last spot (against Scotland at Hampden).
That list of three would change if Finland fall away in their current group but they are doing well - second, behind Italy, with four wins from six in Group J.
Norway v Serbia looks pretty nailed on, although Norway are only two points behind second-placed Sweden in Group F.

With most teams in Path A & B on course to qualify directly, teams from Path C will be bumped up to the playoffs in those categories - so they'd draw lots.

From Uefa today...

On the basis of the current European Qualifiers standings (https://www.uefa.com/european-qualifiers/season=2020/standings/), the following teams would be involved in the play-offs:

Path A (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/la): Switzerland, Netherlands, Iceland, Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary*
Path B (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/lb): Bosnia and Herzegovina, Austria, Wales, Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary*
Path C (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/lc): Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary*
Path D (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/ld): Georgia, North Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus
*In the current scenario, a draw would decide which of Bulgaria, Israel or Hungary would fill the empty slot in Path C, which would compete in Path B and which would go into Path A.

10-10-2019, 11:43 AM
At the moment, Path C has Scotland, Norway & Serbia in the semi-finals - with Bulgaria, Israel & Hungary in contention to make up the last spot (against Scotland at Hampden).
That list of three would change if Finland fall away in their current group but they are doing well - second, behind Italy, with four wins from six in Group J.
Norway v Serbia looks pretty nailed on, although Norway are only two points behind second-placed Sweden in Group F.

With most teams in Path A & B on course to qualify directly, teams from Path C will be bumped up to the playoffs in those categories - so they'd draw lots.

From Uefa today...

On the basis of the current European Qualifiers standings (https://www.uefa.com/european-qualifiers/season=2020/standings/), the following teams would be involved in the play-offs:

Path A (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/la): Switzerland, Netherlands, Iceland, Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary*
Path B (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/lb): Bosnia and Herzegovina, Austria, Wales, Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary*
Path C (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/lc): Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary*
Path D (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/ld): Georgia, North Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus
*In the current scenario, a draw would decide which of Bulgaria, Israel or Hungary would fill the empty slot in Path C, which would compete in Path B and which would go into Path A.

We won't get Hungary as they're hosts and UEFA have said they'll try to keep the hosts apart.

10-10-2019, 11:55 AM

I expect a reversal of the rugby score.

10-10-2019, 12:49 PM

I care.

10-10-2019, 01:15 PM

I care (posting from a pub in Moscow) 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

10-10-2019, 01:27 PM

https://media.giphy.com/media/l2YWAC4zYseVWIh8I/giphy.gif

10-10-2019, 04:57 PM

Cyprus won't beat Russia.

10-10-2019, 04:59 PM

It's not happening. We are pish.

10-10-2019, 04:59 PM
Cyprus won't beat Russia.

Russia only won 1-0 in the home game so not outwith the realms of possibility

10-10-2019, 05:02 PM
Typical Scotland will win tonight, and lose in Cyprus

10-10-2019, 05:18 PM
FT

Kazakhstan 1 Cyprus 2

10-10-2019, 08:07 PM

Epic fail.

10-10-2019, 08:42 PM
Aye

10-10-2019, 08:52 PM
It's not happening. We are pish.

Pessimism justified.