View Full Version : Maxwell for Scotland

08-10-2019, 09:02 AM
EEN saying the national team are looking at a potential call up.

08-10-2019, 09:02 AM
EEN saying the national team are looking at a potential call up.

He’s done fine with us but I’m surprised at that.

yerauldda
08-10-2019, 09:12 AM
He’s done fine with us but I’m surprised at that.

We look pretty limited in terms of options at the moment.. none of the three keepers in the current squad are particularly inspiring.

Just_Jimmy
08-10-2019, 09:36 AM
Really? He's not even the best keeper at Hibs.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

08-10-2019, 09:55 AM

I'd have Marciano in for the Russia game

Heckys Wheel
08-10-2019, 09:59 AM
I'd have Marciano in for the Russia game

He’s Finnish

Just_Jimmy
08-10-2019, 10:02 AM
He’s FinnishHe's no finished. He's just turned 30 [emoji23]

08-10-2019, 10:09 AM
Fair play to him if that happens, I'd be very surprised but he has been decent for us thus far. Commands his box well.

Marshall will remain first choice I should imagine, so if he's just there as back up we could do worse.

FWIW I prefer Marciano in terms of the goalies at the club, but they both probably provide the strongest competition for any one position at the club.

08-10-2019, 10:12 AM
Will be even better now with his haircut

08-10-2019, 10:19 AM
He's done better recently than Marciano has, I'll still never forget someone on here calling him "Midget crap keeper" during pre-season.

I think he has been solid since he came in, Scotland are really limited in Goalkeepers and Central Defenders, it's quite staggering how bad we are in those positions.

08-10-2019, 10:23 AM
File under Ged Brannan and Danny Fox.

Just_Jimmy
08-10-2019, 10:29 AM
Genuine question; What's his connection to Scotland? Maybe I'm missing something but I thought he was Welsh? I assume he's got a parent or grandparent who is Scottish?

Steven79
08-10-2019, 10:31 AM
Genuine question; What's his connection to Scotland? Maybe I'm missing something but I thought he was Welsh? I assume he's got a parent or grandparent who is Scottish?

His dad is from Scotland.

08-10-2019, 10:36 AM
His dad is from Scotland.:agree:

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191008/8f66fcc806c4139a425c7ef4da5577a8.jpg

08-10-2019, 10:37 AM
File under Ged Brannan and Danny Fox.

Ged Brannan didnae play for Scotland...did he?

08-10-2019, 10:53 AM
According to wiki his Dad is English, he qualifies due to a Scottish grandfather .

08-10-2019, 10:53 AM
His dad is from Scotland.

His dad is from bathgate

Steven79
08-10-2019, 11:01 AM
According to wiki his Dad is English, he qualifies due to a Scottish grandfather .

Yeah I seen that but two articles have said that his father is from Scotland.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibernian/hibs-goalkeeper-chris-maxwell-open-to-switching-to-scotland-1-5012430

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/chris-maxwell-scotland-keeping-tabs-on-progress-of-hibs-on-loan-preston-north-end-goalkeeper-1-5019529

08-10-2019, 11:04 AM

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191008/8f66fcc806c4139a425c7ef4da5577a8.jpg

Christ i remember him ! Ally Maxwell , Played on with broken ribs in a cup final IIRC , Never knew that was Chris maxwell auld man !

08-10-2019, 11:06 AM
Christ i remember him ! Ally Maxwell , Played on with broken ribs in a cup final IIRC , Never knew that was Chris maxwell auld man !

Motherwell 4 Dundee Utd 3. Best cup final bar 2016.

dchibs
08-10-2019, 11:09 AM
He’s Finnish

Norway is he finnish

08-10-2019, 11:16 AM

I don't think he is. I'm just kicking off another .net FACT! :greengrin

08-10-2019, 11:20 AM
Yeah I seen that but two articles have said that his father is from Scotland.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibernian/hibs-goalkeeper-chris-maxwell-open-to-switching-to-scotland-1-5012430

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/chris-maxwell-scotland-keeping-tabs-on-progress-of-hibs-on-loan-preston-north-end-goalkeeper-1-5019529

I better get updating wiki ! 😊

08-10-2019, 11:22 AM
Chris Maxwell was in the Wales squad just prior to Euro 2016

08-10-2019, 11:25 AM
Crazy if true. Sounds like we're back to the Berti Vogts days of throwing caps at anyone we can find.

Just_Jimmy
08-10-2019, 12:06 PM

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191008/8f66fcc806c4139a425c7ef4da5577a8.jpgI doubt that Ally Maxwell that won the the Scottish cup in 91 with Motherwell is Chris Maxwell's auld man?

But that myth at least explains the connection. Ha

Just the fact he's been in a Wales squad to counter now

Just_Jimmy
08-10-2019, 12:08 PM
Motherwell 4 Dundee Utd 3. Best cup final bar 2016.My auld man is best mates from school with Steve Kirk (Motherwell legend). He's a top bloke.

Heckys Wheel
08-10-2019, 12:12 PM
I doubt that Ally Maxwell that won the the Scottish cup in 91 with Motherwell is Chris Maxwell's auld man?

But that myth at least explains the connection. Ha

Just the fact he's been in a Wales squad to counter now

His dads name is Ian Maxwell. Chief exec at the SFA.

08-10-2019, 12:13 PM
My auld man is best mates from school with Steve Kirk (Motherwell legend). He's a top bloke.

Did he not once (slightly unnecessarily) hammer the ball into the crowd at Tynecastle and hurt a wee girl?

08-10-2019, 12:57 PM
His dads name is Ian Maxwell. Chief exec at the SFA.

You're wrong. His Dad is actually Maxwell, the former PSG defender. He played for Brazil but he was born in Bo'ness.

CloudSquall
08-10-2019, 01:04 PM
Surely there is an actual Scottish keeper that could be called up?

"Something to think about" , "call ups and caps can be a bonus"

Get that attitude directly tae ****.

08-10-2019, 01:08 PM
You're wrong. His Dad is actually Maxwell, the former PSG defender. He played for Brazil but he was born in Bo'ness.

Nope, you're wrong.

His mum is James Clerk Maxwell. The reason she's so short is that she has had to carry Einstein around on her shoulders all her days, a trait she's somehow managed to pass on to young Christopher.

08-10-2019, 01:11 PM
Did he not once (slightly unnecessarily) hammer the ball into the crowd at Tynecastle and hurt a wee girl?

Sounds like he was provoked tbh :greengrin

I have a vague memory of bob malcom doing the same for motherwell in a game at easter road.

Clarence
08-10-2019, 01:19 PM

Should start calling him Ringo

08-10-2019, 01:33 PM
Nope, you're wrong.

His mum is James Clerk Maxwell. The reason she's so short is that she has had to carry Einstein around on her shoulders all her days, a trait she's somehow managed to pass on to young Christopher.

Ahem.

I think you will find he is actually the son of top actor Maxwell Caulfield who appeared in Eighties American soaps Dynasty and The Colbys.
Ron Gordon reputedly models himself on Blake Carrington so it is no surpise that young Chris now finds himself in favour.

08-10-2019, 01:46 PM
Seemingly he's related to the CEO from the famous coffee empire. The SFA have been promised a sizeable sponsorship deal with 'Maxwell House' when he's given a cap.

08-10-2019, 01:47 PM

Perhaps, but he's certainly the best keeper at Hibs with Scottish heritage.

08-10-2019, 01:48 PM
steven caulker contacting steven reid for a Scotland call up as well

08-10-2019, 01:53 PM
Seemingly he's related to the CEO from the famous coffee empire. The SFA have been promised a sizeable sponsorship deal with 'Maxwell House' when he's given a cap.

You're wrong. His Dad is actually from Maxwelltown in Dumfries, where every child born there is given the surname Maxwell.

08-10-2019, 02:26 PM
I'll just leave this here. It would explain the hairdo anyway... https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191008/a0d564c472259c80aed3c59064c53a04.jpg

bringbackbenny
08-10-2019, 02:28 PM
You're wrong. His Dad is actually from Maxwelltown in Dumfries, where every child born there is given the surname Maxwell.

Incorrect. He's actually Canadian and the grandson of Maxwell Kogan the distinguished WW2 bomber pilot (whos exploits gestated the famous auld Hibee anthem If I had the wings of a sparrow..!). He was proud of his grandad's WW2 heroics and changed his surname by deed poll to grandad's christian name as the surname for the future Maxwell clan.

End of.

Cabbage-Patch
08-10-2019, 03:08 PM
I think Maxwell has done OK and deserves our number 1 spot for now but the fact Scotland are sniffing about really shows how limited our talent pool is.

P. S Maxwell's wiki claims he is 6'1 🤔 I'd say no more than 5'10

08-10-2019, 03:13 PM
I think Maxwell has done OK and deserves our number 1 spot for now but the fact Scotland are sniffing about really shows how limited our talent pool is.

P. S Maxwell's wiki claims he is 6'1 �� I'd say no more than 5'10

Like most of these things it is media driven.

Having said that their is little/no quality keeper behind the good quality Marshall and the decent ex Hearts keeper McLaughlin. They are only ones i would trust.

08-10-2019, 03:19 PM
steven caulker contacting steven reid for a Scotland call up as well

Strange one, thought he was done.
He plays in Turkey now and his club is top of the Super League.

Just_Jimmy
08-10-2019, 03:33 PM
Did he not once (slightly unnecessarily) hammer the ball into the crowd at Tynecastle and hurt a wee girl?Not sure tbh. Certainly not saying it didn't happen but wouldn't be the guy I know him to be.

Just_Jimmy
08-10-2019, 03:38 PM
So what we've decided is that no one really knows how he qualifies. That he's Welsh and he's not actually that good.

If he wasn't at Hibs this would be greeted with "who?".

Mind you. Scotland are probably the one side Hibs would comfortablely beat ATM.

08-10-2019, 03:44 PM
So what we've decided is that no one really knows how he qualifies. That he's Welsh and he's not actually that good.

If he wasn't at Hibs this would be greeted with "who?".

Mind you. Scotland are probably the one side Hibs would comfortablely beat ATM.

Dunno about that. Could you imagine Super John McGinn against our midfield! He'd win the game himself haha.

08-10-2019, 07:06 PM
Perhaps, but he's certainly the best keeper at Hibs with Scottish heritage.

Give Marciano's wee laddie time.

08-10-2019, 09:10 PM
Incorrect. He's actually Canadian and the grandson of Maxwell Kogan the distinguished WW2 bomber pilot (whos exploits gestated the famous auld Hibee anthem If I had the wings of a sparrow..!). He was proud of his grandad's WW2 heroics and changed his surname by deed poll to grandad's christian name as the surname for the future Maxwell clan.

End of.

I call your bluff.

I understand Chris is the son of Maxwell Smart, the star of Get Smart, a Sixties sitcom, where the incompetent secret agent and in this case, Chris's father, is tasked with securing the signing of potentially great striker Allan Smart.

08-10-2019, 09:32 PM
My auld man is best mates from school with Steve Kirk (Motherwell legend). He's a top bloke.

Couldn’t stand Steve Kirk. A really nippy sweetie, always niggling, moaning and greetin’ about something ......... a decent player, mind you. :greengrin

08-10-2019, 10:19 PM
Love to see folk positive about a Hibs player (Loan) being linked with a call up 🙊