View Full Version : Ian Murray MP FOH book

MacGruber
03-10-2019, 07:29 AM
So those pesky Lithuanians kept dragging their heels and moving the goalposts - how frustrating. I mean they got offered £1 for their £20 million dues, why were they not happy. Come to think of it, why should Hearts be paying taxes anyway, education and health are over rated and other folks can pay.

03-10-2019, 07:36 AM
So those pesky Lithuanians kept dragging their heels and moving the goalposts - how frustrating. I mean they got offered £1 for their £20 million dues, why were they not happy. Come to think of it, why should Hearts be paying taxes anyway, education and health are over rated and other folks can pay.Same with those nuisance charities, expecting not to appear on a creditors list, didn't they know they were dealing with the famous?

I'm pretty sure the MP will cover that off too, in the interest of balance like.

03-10-2019, 07:38 AM
****ing weirdo

03-10-2019, 07:39 AM
So those pesky Lithuanians kept dragging their heels and moving the goalposts - how frustrating. I mean they got offered £1 for their £20 million dues, why were they not happy. Come to think of it, why should Hearts be paying taxes anyway, education and health are over rated and other folks can pay.

Final debt $70 million. £40 million of loans from UBIG to Hearts written off or converted to worthless equity. UKIO Bankas had made loans to UBIG but where never paid back. Lithuanian State stepped in with 300 million bailout to fill the hole in Ukio Bankas's balance sheet as a result of default on loans to UBIG.

03-10-2019, 07:50 AM
****ing weirdo

Bit harsh on the OP

03-10-2019, 07:53 AM
I don't understand what's been said, dunno what's sarcasm in the OP and what isn't. What is my tubby, jambo, New Lab, white shirt hanging out of his trousers local MP saying for himself? (Murray, not MacGruber)

Cataplana
03-10-2019, 07:57 AM
Absolute welt of a man.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/big-interview-ian-murray-mp-on-battle-to-save-hearts-hibs-fans-emails-to-lithuania-and-his-all-nighters-1-5016268

None of this was the Yams fault. In fact, most of it was down to jealous Hibbies.

Oh well, I suppose he's got a book to sell, and he knows his audience.

03-10-2019, 08:21 AM
The only offensive thing I can see in that interview is Barry Anderson's typically appalling and fawning 'journalism'. Murray appears to have done quite an impressive job of corralling that mixed bag of evolutionary dead ends into a position that ultimately saved their club. A useful man to have around come the zombie apocalypse.

03-10-2019, 08:25 AM
Absolute welt of a man.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/big-interview-ian-murray-mp-on-battle-to-save-hearts-hibs-fans-emails-to-lithuania-and-his-all-nighters-1-5016268

None of this was the Yams fault. In fact, most of it was down to jealous Hibbies.

Oh well, I suppose he's got a book to sell, and he knows his audience.His audience is well known for inserting their small change into over sized plastic farmyard animals, paying £4k for a 3 quid plastic owl and filling a suitcase or two full of cash for a Russian fraudster so I'm guessing the book will be a best seller.

03-10-2019, 08:29 AM
Did Hibs fans REALLY write letters/emails to Lithuanian creditors? I know it was spoken about on here, I always assumed it was tongue in cheek from folk. Bit sad if Hibs fans were going out their way to contact people in Lithuania

03-10-2019, 08:31 AM
Classic Banderson Jambo interview.

“You’re marvellous. Please tell me more about how marvellous you are and I’ll write it all down. No questions. FTH.”

03-10-2019, 08:32 AM
Did Hibs fans REALLY write letters/emails to Lithuanian creditors? I know it was spoken about on here, I always assumed it was tongue in cheek from folk. Bit sad if Hibs fans were going out their way to contact people in Lithuania

Either way, it had no bearing on the outcome.

Chorley Hibee
03-10-2019, 08:34 AM
This part on the administrators for Ukio and UBIG.

“Every time we got near the finishing line, the finishing line got moved by the Lithuanians. There was no rhyme or reason as to why they didn’t conclude the deal."

Wouldn't have anything to do with the realisation they were being shafted would it Ian?

Still as shameless as ever about the whole event.

03-10-2019, 08:35 AM
Classic Banderson Jambo interview.

“You’re marvellous. Please tell me more about how marvellous you are and I’ll write it all down. No questions. FTH.”

And with that Jacomo, you just wrote Banderson's CV for him.

03-10-2019, 08:54 AM
Does it cover the bit where he argued that the Lithuanians should not put a value on the stadium as a possible site for redevelopment because the main stand was historic and should be listed - you know, that stand they then knocked down to build the most amazing wonderful unfinished stand in the whole world?

03-10-2019, 08:54 AM
There's nothing particularly bad about the article, but it's bad politics for him to try and marginalise those who disagreed with him as disgruntled Hibs fans or supporters of other political parties. Why antagonise Hibs fans who may not even have otherwise noticed what team you support? Maybe they just thought what he was doing was wrong :dunno:

Still, his majority is expanding as fast as his waistline in recent times so he's clearly pushing some folks buttons.

Cataplana
03-10-2019, 09:01 AM
His audience is well known for inserting their small change into over sized plastic farmyard animals, paying £4k for a 3 quid plastic owl and filling a suitcase or two full of cash for a Russian fraudster so I'm guessing the book will be a best seller.

True, all he has to do is mention how they nearly beat the Scottish Cup winners in 2016, in the early rounds, so actually won the cup that year, and talk about winning the league title 8 months early last season.

Shooting fish in a barrel.

03-10-2019, 09:12 AM
“Murray fought through more red tape than Santa Claus“
Is Anderson in with a shout for journalist of the year?

03-10-2019, 09:23 AM

Worst Use of Metaphor 2019 goes to plastic owl investor Banderson.

Santa doesn't use red tape. That's a metaphor for excess bureaucracy. Santa would use sellotape, he does however, wear a red suit.

03-10-2019, 09:33 AM

No. No he is not. Unless by journalist you mean serial fawning impostor?

Cataplana
03-10-2019, 11:18 AM
Worst Use of Metaphor 2019 goes to plastic owl investor Banderson.

Santa doesn't use red tape. That's a metaphor for excess bureaucracy. Santa would use sellotape, he does however, wear a red suit.

Taken literally, though, it's true.

Ironic though, given that Santa bypassed most junior Jambos that year.

Perhaps pointing out that Murray got laughed at more often than Ian Cathro in his quest to improve Yam fortunes, would be more appropriate?

03-10-2019, 11:26 AM
Murray looks like the fat Hearts fan in school who was either picked last when football teams were being decided or just never got asked to play at all.

03-10-2019, 11:29 AM
Taken literally, though, it's true.

Ironic though, given that Santa bypassed most junior Jambos that year.

Perhaps pointing out that Murray got laughed at more often than Ian Cathro in his quest to improve Yam fortunes, would be more appropriate?

I like it.

Also
'Bandersons writing is the sound of a stick rattling around the swill bucket' (sorry, George Orwell).

03-10-2019, 11:30 AM
Wondering if he mentions the tax payers, NHS and other public bodies whose money they blew trying to be a big team.

What with him being a public servant himself.

03-10-2019, 11:31 AM

That is a terrible line. Did he not work for Rangers news in a former life?

03-10-2019, 11:31 AM
Murray looks like the fat Hearts fan in school who was either picked last when football teams were being decided or just never got asked to play at all.

Whereas Banderson just straight up looks like Beaker.

03-10-2019, 11:32 AM

Maybe he should have gone with "Murray waded through more s***e than Craig Levein produced in the Dens Park toilets"

Cataplana
03-10-2019, 11:34 AM
Maybe he should have gone with "Murray waded through more s***e than Craig Levein produced in the Dens Park toilets"

We have a winner.

(Unless, of course, you know better. Cyril.)

03-10-2019, 11:35 AM
That is a terrible line. Did he not work for Rangers news in a former life?

That would be a half-life surely?

03-10-2019, 11:36 AM

Hibs. Net Metaphorist of the Week :aok:

03-10-2019, 11:38 AM
Also, Santa wouldn't have 'waded through' any tape, whatever colour it was. He gives presents, he doesn't open them.

The more you look the worse it gets.

03-10-2019, 11:39 AM
There's nothing particularly bad about the article, but it's bad politics for him to try and marginalise those who disagreed with him as disgruntled Hibs fans or supporters of other political parties. Why antagonise Hibs fans who may not even have otherwise noticed what team you support? Maybe they just thought what he was doing was wrong :dunno:

Still, his majority is expanding as fast as his waistline in recent times so he's clearly pushing some folks buttons.
He's a Hearts p*ick, but have seen him speak surprisingly well in the HoC.:faint:

03-10-2019, 11:42 AM
Also, Santa wouldn't have 'waded through' any tape, whatever colour it was. He gives presents, he doesn't open them.

It worse than that he says "fought through" which means he was at war with the red tape? Is this some deep and meaningful socio-political comment about fat, unemployed old men who break into people's houses fighting against the bonds of socialism that bind them?

03-10-2019, 11:42 AM
I'm watching the Boris Johnson statement right now because I'm a sad masochist.

Weirdly there is a Labour MP sitting on the last bench at the back of the Chamber on the Labour side who likes facially like the perfect lovechild of Ian Murray and Gary Sinise.

03-10-2019, 11:46 AM
That would be a half-life surely?

Halfwit more like. :greengrin

In terms of journalistic professionalism in this beautiful game of ours. Came across the famous succulent lamb article from Channel 4s Alex Thompson. Always worth a read to see the interests involved.

https://www.channel4.com/news/by/alex-thomson/blogs/succulent-lamb-rack

Cataplana
03-10-2019, 12:04 PM

Wading through red tape is not the best way to deal with it. Cutting through it would be much more efficient

More pish than Gary Locke on a wet weekend in Dumfries.

03-10-2019, 12:26 PM
I'm watching the Boris Johnson statement right now because I'm a sad masochist.

Weirdly there is a Labour MP sitting on the last bench at the back of the Chamber on the Labour side who likes facially like the perfect lovechild of Ian Murray and Gary Sinise.

Ah ha! Step forward Neil Coyle MP.

03-10-2019, 12:36 PM
Wading through red tape is not the best way to deal with it. Cutting through it would be much more efficient

More pish than Gary Locke on a wet weekend in Dumfries.

'Murray is a riddle wrapped in a mystery inside a fat jambo ****'

03-10-2019, 01:08 PM
Halfwit more like. :greengrin

In terms of journalistic professionalism in this beautiful game of ours. Came across the famous succulent lamb article from Channel 4s Alex Thompson. Always worth a read to see the interests involved.

https://www.channel4.com/news/by/alex-thomson/blogs/succulent-lamb-rack

There's something really quite beautiful about that article. I mean it's not up to Banderson standards obviously, but it's still heart warming.

03-10-2019, 01:28 PM
Why is the prick even mentioning Hibs?

He’s actually going to try and make money off the back of one of the most shameful episodes in Scottish fitba history? And he’s a politician? 😂😂😂

03-10-2019, 01:44 PM
Typical arrogant yam prick, a penny a dozen these days, the best laugh is his constituency office is painted a lovely shade of green. Dickhead.

03-10-2019, 01:46 PM
There's something really quite beautiful about that article. I mean it's not up to Banderson standards obviously, but it's still heart warming.

Impartial journalistic integrity at its best in the email exchange between Jabba and Whyte over the article he wanted him to say was ok. :greengrin

03-10-2019, 02:07 PM
Looks like a yam, sounds like a yam, blethers pish like a yam just surprised he's not a Tory

Cataplana
03-10-2019, 02:11 PM
Looks like a yam, sounds like a yam, blethers pish like a yam just surprised he's not a Tory

He is, in all but name.

03-10-2019, 02:15 PM

It would be interesting to quantify how many of these letters were actually received.......and then contrast that against the number of Gunts that were dancing with joy when it looked like Mercer was going to kill off Hibs.
This man is a knob (he's a politician anyway so that should be a given).

03-10-2019, 02:23 PM
He is, in all but name.

That’s why he gets the posh vote.

03-10-2019, 02:25 PM

Seems pretty poor to highlight this in the book unless he is able to actually quantify it in terms of numbers and also any impact at all it had. Hopefully he has mentioned Bosnian pensions and public sector entities such as NHS/universities/charities etc as well as numerous small businesses etc. by way of balance..

03-10-2019, 02:26 PM
It would be interesting to quantify how many of these letters were actually received.......and then contrast that against the number of Gunts that were dancing with joy when it looked like Mercer was going to kill off Hibs.
This man is a knob (he's a politician anyway so that should be a given).

There’s no danger more than 2 letters got personally sent by someone a hibs fan to ****ing Lithuania and if it did no danger it held up anything. It would have been a laugh and a giggle from the administration of Romanovs banks to the hearts wan... him being interview saying that is just wanting the publicity and support from the flumps to buy his book.

Boy looks like the pig in the little baby bum songs (some people will know what I mean)

Cataplana
03-10-2019, 02:27 PM
That’s why he gets the posh vote.

You're posh if you have fruit on the table when nobody is ill, where he lives.

(WHhere does he live?)

03-10-2019, 02:29 PM
Seems pretty poor to highlight this in the book unless he is able to actually quantify it in terms of numbers and also any impact at all it had. Hopefully he has mentioned Bosnian pensions and public sector entities such as NHS/universities/charities etc as well as numerous small businesses etc. by way of balance..

Unless he can actually quantity the effects I would suggest it’s broight up against the **** at some stage for remarks about the Hibs support.

McSwanky
03-10-2019, 02:30 PM
Is it just me, or does Barry Anderson get gingerer with every passing photo?

03-10-2019, 02:30 PM
You're posh if you have fruit on the table when nobody is ill, where he lives.

(WHhere does he live?)

He’s Shelia Gilmours successor. I know what part of Edinburgh he represents and it’s the posh part that get him the votes.

03-10-2019, 02:37 PM
He’s Shelia Gilmours successor. I know what part of Edinburgh he represents and it’s the posh part that get him the votes.

She was Edinburgh East, Murray is Edinburgh South (hes my MP).

I asked him about all the time he was spending on this at the time and he said he would have done the same for Hibs - which is obviously complete pish.

He does a good job as a local MP, but his views on Independence might get him punted next time (heres hoping).

03-10-2019, 02:58 PM
She was Edinburgh East, Murray is Edinburgh South (hes my MP).

I asked him about all the time he was spending on this at the time and he said he would have done the same for Hibs - which is obviously complete pish.

He does a good job as a local MP, but his views on Independence might get him punted next time (heres hoping).

Who did he succeed then? The lad that was there for ages and scammed his expenses, lazy eye, ****ging some lassie behind his wife’s back, he was labour too - his office is round the corner from where Gilmour lives then sorry, I played football with her laddie Chuckie (hibs fan when not rugby)

Griffiths the other ****ger - just came to me :greengrin

03-10-2019, 03:27 PM
Who did he succeed then? The lad that was there for ages and scammed his expenses, lazy eye, ****ging some lassie behind his wife’s back, he was labour too - his office is round the corner from where Gilmour lives then sorry, I played football with her laddie Chuckie (hibs fan when not rugby)

Griffiths the other ****ger - just came to me :greengrin
Nigel smarmy poser

03-10-2019, 03:29 PM
Is it just me, or does Barry Anderson get gingerer with every passing photo?Just keeps buying the wrong maroonish, plum, jobby brown hair dye and then getting the mix all wrong. Could happen to anyone.

03-10-2019, 03:45 PM

Are you confusing him with Salmond?

03-10-2019, 03:48 PM
He is, in all but name.

If he was a Tory he'd be a Conservative MP not a Labour MP. Keep up.

03-10-2019, 04:35 PM
i can think of at least 3 reasons why i dislike the squirt

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cl3YvXjWYAAw7vm.jpg

CloudSquall
03-10-2019, 04:42 PM

Anyone that votes for a man who dresses like that isn't welcome at ER, plenty of seats over at the diet follow follow stadium where their staunchness would be more than welcomed.

03-10-2019, 04:51 PM
Can someone answer me this?

How on earth did they manage to keep the land that the stadium is built on? Genuine question. The Lithuanian banks had people who had lost life savings and pensions. The land was/ is worth 10-20 million. And yet they accepted a paltry sum. Never understood why they didn’t go for it all.

03-10-2019, 04:51 PM

Eye candy. If you are Arlene Foster MP.

03-10-2019, 05:00 PM

Jesus wept

03-10-2019, 05:02 PM
Jesus wept

It's the brightest red white and blue I've ever seen. It could render Stevie Wonder blind a second time.

The Baldmans Comb
03-10-2019, 05:10 PM

How on earth did they manage to keep the land that the stadium is built on? Genuine question. The Lithuanian banks had people who had lost life savings and pensions. The land was/ is worth 10-20 million. And yet they accepted a paltry sum. Never understood why they didn’t go for it all.

Its only worth that amount of money as a green field site with full planning permission for houses.

Edinburgh council or if appealed, the Scottish government would never be seen as the guilty party who sold the home of a "well loved'" (haha) local football club and allowed houses to go up in its place.

Its the same with us during the Duff/Gray years or the Old Rangers club or countless other clubs who get into serious financial dificulties in that the value of the land is meaningless as you can't get permission to do anything without jumping through enormous hoops.

The Lithuanians would have realized they had to cut their losses otherwise they would have been left with an enormous white elephant on their hands.

I agree with you though as they did seem to settle for a very paltry amount though I wouldn't imagine the British Nationalist will disclosing the reason for that in his book.

03-10-2019, 05:17 PM

Pretty much.

03-10-2019, 05:19 PM
No doubt glosses over how they got themselves in that situation in the first place.

Instead of profiting from it personally, he should do the honourable thing and donate all the profits to some of the 200 creditors, some of whom will be his constituents. Surely he wouldn't want to make a profit from their misfortunes. That's the sort of thing Banderson should have been asking him about.

Cataplana
03-10-2019, 05:38 PM
It worse than that he says "fought through" which means he was at war with the red tape? Is this some deep and meaningful socio-political comment about fat, unemployed old men who break into people's houses fighting against the bonds of socialism that bind them?

Just another example of the Unionists adopting the language of war to inflame the debate. Read closely and he will mention the Dunkirk Spirit of those few brave Hearts men who stood against tyranny.

He is positively Churchillian in his rhetoric, and it has to be a matter of time till he tells us: "never in the field of human conflict has so much been owed to so few by so many, and still remained unpaid."

'Murray is a riddle wrapped in a mystery inside a fat jambo ****'

He is like finding a rotten apple, at the bottom of a barrel of rotten apples.

03-10-2019, 06:29 PM
Just another example of the Unionists adopting the language of war to inflame the debate. Read closely and he will mention the Dunkirk Spirit of those few brave Hearts men who stood against tyranny.

He is positively Churchillian in his rhetoric, and it has to be a matter of time till he tells us: "never in the field of human conflict has so much been owed to so few by so many, and still remained unpaid."

He is like finding a rotten apple, at the bottom of a barrel of rotten apples.When they speak of fishy barrels I'm sure they had him in mind.

03-10-2019, 06:39 PM
Anyone that votes for a man who dresses like that isn't welcome at ER, plenty of seats over at the diet follow follow stadium where their staunchness would be more than welcomed.

Where should I be handing in my season ticket? :greengrin

xyz23jc
03-10-2019, 06:44 PM
Jesus wept

:yw::jamboak::grr::brickwall:shocked::sick::furiou s::jamboclow :greengrin

Ian Murray MP.....Bell Sniffer of a man!

hibeerealist
03-10-2019, 06:45 PM

I am sure A Salmond Esquire can fill us in on the gaps of this one!!!

03-10-2019, 06:48 PM
No doubt glosses over how they got themselves in that situation in the first place.

Instead of profiting from it personally, he should do the honourable thing and donate all the profits to some of the 200 creditors, some of whom will be his constituents. Surely he wouldn't want to make a profit from their misfortunes. That's the sort of thing Banderson should have been asking him about.

Banderson doesn't do asking questions. He does parroting answers.

03-10-2019, 06:50 PM
Hibs fans even vote for this clown. :faf:

03-10-2019, 06:54 PM

What would possess you to be photographed wearing that.
Politically unaware and such an ugly jacket.
Would have to keep well away from the fire i suspect.

03-10-2019, 07:13 PM
Hibs fans even vote for this clown. :faf:

I don’t

03-10-2019, 10:26 PM
Who votes for him? Is it only a hearts supporting area he represents?

03-10-2019, 10:42 PM
This part on the administrators for Ukio and UBIG.

“Every time we got near the finishing line, the finishing line got moved by the Lithuanians. There was no rhyme or reason as to why they didn’t conclude the deal."

Wouldn't have anything to do with the realisation they were being shafted would it Ian?

Still as shameless as ever about the whole event.

Yup owed about £60 million and got £2 million.

03-10-2019, 10:48 PM
That’s why he gets the posh vote.:agree:the most surprising majority in the whole of Edinburgh's political history in the area he covers. the tories and lib dems must have done anything to keep out the snp vote that year, he will be yesterdays man soon though.

03-10-2019, 10:48 PM

I think it was worth that if they got planning permission for flats. It was made clear to them through the Edinburgh establishment council they would never get that planning permission. They would then be sitting on a decaying asset worth nothing. Why they took the £2 million cash.

03-10-2019, 10:57 PM

How on earth did they manage to keep the land that the stadium is built on? Genuine question. The Lithuanian banks had people who had lost life savings and pensions. The land was/ is worth 10-20 million. And yet they accepted a paltry sum. Never understood why they didn’t go for it all.Well, I do remember this. that great man, Lord Foulkes of Cumnock, you know...the one wi the rosy red nose...was the very man that said the land was virtually worthless as there was not building work taking place in the area, It's too hard to build or plan for housing , flats etc and the bugger got away with it. good auld working class man, looking after the good folk of Gorgie when he checks in at the house of lords for his 300 quid a day.!!! dinnae get me started!! the ex-miners of Cumnock and Auchenleck will be glad to have him as their Lord I am sure.

04-10-2019, 03:36 AM
:agree:the most surprising majority in the whole of Edinburgh's political history in the area he covers. the tories and lib dems must have done anything to keep out the snp vote that year, he will be yesterdays man soon though.

Edinburgh South is a very mixed area - despite having Newington and The Grange, its hard to categorise anywhere including Gilmerton, Moredun, The Inch, Gracemount etc as being posh.

It has been a Labour seat since 1987, when Tory Michael Ancram was punted for ****ger Griffiths - in fact that was the first GE I voted in when I lived up in Gilmerton.

The Tories and Lib Dems dont have that much of a say (3rd and 4th last GE with combined numbers that didnt even add up to the SNP vote in 2nd).

Believe it or not, Murray increased his share of the vote in 2017 and has a huge majority of >15000.

Apparently he does a good job as a constituency MP, which is why he keeps getting re-elected (despite my best efforts).

If he had any sense he would have ditched the pro Union crap ages ago and joined the SNP but sadly this plum is as Unionist as they come.

04-10-2019, 06:02 AM
Eye candy. If you are Arlene Foster MP.

:faf::faf:

Just imagine the love child. Would make Ja Ja Binks look attractive. :greengrin

04-10-2019, 06:08 AM
Edinburgh South is a very mixed area - despite having Newington and The Grange, its hard to categorise anywhere including Gilmerton, Moredun, The Inch, Gracemount etc as being posh.

It has been a Labour seat since 1987, when Tory Michael Ancram was punted for ****ger Griffiths - in fact that was the first GE I voted in when I lived up in Gilmerton.

The Tories and Lib Dems dont have that much of a say (3rd and 4th last GE with combined numbers that didnt even add up to the SNP vote in 2nd).

Believe it or not, Murray increased his share of the vote in 2017 and has a huge majority of >15000.

Apparently he does a good job as a constituency MP, which is why he keeps getting re-elected (despite my best efforts).

If he had any sense he would have ditched the pro Union crap ages ago and joined the SNP but sadly this plum is as Unionist as they come.

Get the impression a bit of tactical voting last time out. Used to live in this area and pretty much flip flopped Labour and Tory for years I think.

04-10-2019, 06:37 AM
Get the impression a bit of tactical voting last time out. Used to live in this area and pretty much flip flopped Labour and Tory for years I think.

Its been Labour since 1987, so for the last 8 General Elections - per my answer above.

04-10-2019, 06:39 AM

All of that is accurate (though it was actually a three way marginal for quite a long time too and may yet revert to that at some stage) apart from the bit in bold. Why would it make any sense to him to join the SNP when he's a) not a Nationalist and b) seems to be growing a healthy majority on the back of opposing nationalism and doing his day job?

04-10-2019, 06:44 AM
All of that is accurate (though it was actually a three way marginal for quite a long time too and may yet revert to that at some stage) apart from the bit in bold. Why would it make any sense to him to join the SNP when he's a) not a Nationalist and b) seems to be growing a healthy majority on the back of opposing nationalism and doing his day job?

I have always harboured a wee bit of hope that Murray was secretly an SNP mole and that him moving to SNP could be a way I could reconcile that hes a decent constituency MP with my disgust at scottish Labour unionist crap.

My post was at 4.30 in the morning to be fair :greengrin

04-10-2019, 07:10 AM

Because Unionism is looking more and more like a spent force? A union flag comfort blanket will only provide so much warmth in post - Brexit Scotland.

Considering I disagree with pretty much everything he says or stands for I really quite like Murray. He's everything we need in our politicians - honest, hard-working, consistent and totally dedicated to his constituents. It's just s shame I can't pretend to agree with much of what he says.

And I hope he's highly thought of amongst the Hearts support. When that club needed people to fight it's corner he rallied the troops and did everything in his power to save them. Tbh anyone who has ever enjoyed an Edinburgh Derby should be grateful to him. There were nearly 400,000 people sitting in their hands - he got off his large arse and made a point of doing everything he could.

04-10-2019, 07:24 AM
I have always harboured a wee bit of hope that Murray was secretly an SNP mole and that him moving to SNP could be a way I could reconcile that hes a decent constituency MP with my disgust at scottish Labour unionist crap.

My post was at 4.30 in the morning to be fair :greengrin

4.30 in the morning .net posting is the equivalent of those occasions in your 20s - maybe even 30s - when you woke up somewhere unfamiliar and sensed another body in close proximity...

Anyway, I can guarantee your nationalist sleeper Hail Mary isn't going to come to fruition :na na:.

He's a very good MP in the sense that he's hard working - nurses constituents and the constituency well and while people may not like to hear it he's also a really decent guy. But then that is or was also true of politicians across most parties like Humza Yousaf, Michael Moore, Robin Harper, Margo and Iain Whyte. You get dickheads in all parties, but mostly you just get well motivated people wanting to do what they think is best for all.

I like the fact that he makes it easy for me to vote for him in the next election because he's hostile to Corbyn, pro-Europe, anti-independence and not a Tory or a Lib Dem. I'd be stuffed otherwise.

He's still a Hearts Fud though. :wink:

04-10-2019, 07:31 AM
Because Unionism is looking more and more like a spent force? A union flag comfort blanket will only provide so much warmth in post - Brexit Scotland.

Considering I disagree with pretty much everything he says or stands for I really quite like Murray. He's everything we need in our politicians - honest, hard-working, consistent and totally dedicated to his constituents. It's just s shame I can't pretend to agree with much of what he says.

And I hope he's highly thought of amongst the Hearts support. When that club needed people to fight it's corner he rallied the troops and did everything in his power to save them. Tbh anyone who has ever enjoyed an Edinburgh Derby should be grateful to him. There were nearly 400,000 people sitting in their hands - he got off his large arse and made a point of doing everything he could.

We'll have to agree to disagree on our respective positions on the UK or independence which is more of a Holy Ground topic anyway (I don't really go there anymore, if I want pointless circular arguments with people disinterested in logic and facts I can talk to Mrs One Day Soon about almost any domestic subject - but particularly why she has a mobile phone that is almost always not charged/not on/not with her).

I think your observations on what he did to save the club are fair but there's such a sense of entitlement among their support that I suspect they think they were too big and too important to fail anyway. Ar5e5.

04-10-2019, 08:09 AM

800,000 Jambo hands, yeuck!

vuefrom1875
04-10-2019, 08:09 AM
Jesus wept

Blairite prick.

Cataplana
04-10-2019, 08:17 AM

Good to see the split metaphor competition is still running. :not worth

04-10-2019, 08:26 AM

Fair enough, but the constant need to have a pop at Hibs sticks in the throat.

04-10-2019, 08:46 AM
Good to see the split metaphor competition is still running. :not worth

Arlene Foster MP looked lasciviously at Ian. He was a three tiered red white and blue wedding cake in that glorious jacket, and she knew then, that her diet was over. She just had to dive in.

I know, it's not Banderson but it's the best I could do.

04-10-2019, 09:05 AM
800,000 Jambo hands, yeuck!

...with 4.8m fingers.

cocteautwin
04-10-2019, 10:13 AM
Is there any mention in the story of the c£25m they've spent on this incarnation of the bottomless pit funding project?

04-10-2019, 11:12 AM
Fair enough, but the constant need to have a pop at Hibs sticks in the throat.

Hearts fans have pops at Hibs, Hibs fans have pops at Hearts.

I wouldn't have it any other way.

04-10-2019, 11:31 AM
Is there any mention in the story of the c£25m they've spent on this incarnation of the bottomless pit funding project?Unique, atmospheric, no other single tier stand like it, glass in the windows, very wet if you're a journalist.

I could go on, feel free to add.

04-10-2019, 11:43 AM
Its been Labour since 1987, so for the last 8 General Elections - per my answer above.

I am quite old though and remember pre 87. :greengrin

04-10-2019, 12:02 PM
Arlene Foster MP looked lasciviously at Ian. He was a three tiered red white and blue wedding cake in that glorious jacket, and she knew then, that her diet was over. She just had to dive in.

no mention of gorging herself on the honourable member......think i might have taken that too far

Victor
04-10-2019, 12:12 PM
I am quite old though and remember pre 87. :greengrin

It was definitely tactical voting that got him in the last time, as I overheard some of the traditional Tory voters discussing it. They knew the Tory candidate had no choice, would never vote SNP as they were ‘Unionists’ the Lib Dem’s were a spent force due to them propping up the Tory government and therefore Murray was the better of two evils. I think it could go to the resurgent Lib Dem’s at the next election.

04-10-2019, 01:10 PM
It was definitely tactical voting that got him in the last time, as I overheard some of the traditional Tory voters discussing it. They knew the Tory candidate had no choice, would never vote SNP as they were ‘Unionists’ the Lib Dem’s were a spent force due to them propping up the Tory government and therefore Murray was the better of two evils. I think it could go to the resurgent Lib Dem’s at the next election.

Tories voting for Labour who would have thought it.

Cataplana
04-10-2019, 01:31 PM

She felt both sated and sickened at the same time, like some kind of surreal clock based fantasy that only sleep could destroy.

Barry and I went to the same creative reading class, next door to the one where Ian did creative accountancy.